PNC Cash Rewards® Visa® Credit Card Reviews

PNC Cash Rewards® Visa® Credit Card Reviews
3.6 out of 5 stars
43 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.49% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49% - 24.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 09, 2019
Good rewards with sign up bonus
Stmurphy66 Cardholder

I read other reviews that stated you could not pay your bill online unless you had a PNC checking account. I received my card, contacted customer service to get my online access PIN, registered online, added an external account (Chase) and transferred my first payment online. Was not too difficult. Yeh rewards are worth it for me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 12, 2019
RJames014 Cardholder

I applied for this card through the credit karma app. I have a 766 credit score and I’m used to being approved within a day of applying for a card. After a couple of days I got a call from PNC where they asked for all of the info that was in my application, and they said they were having trouble verifying my age. They told me to fax a copy of my drivers license. I thought this was strange, but I faxed it. I called back after 3 days to get a status on my application. I was told it was still processing. I asked if this was normal to take so long and the person said yes.  After 10 days of checking my email, spam, and texts, I called again, and I was told that I had been approved. I asked if it was normal to not notify applicants of a status change via email. I didn’t get an answer, but the person on the line apologized. When the card arrived a few days later, I called the number on the card to activate it. I also tried to enroll in PNC online as described in the packet that came with the card. I was unable to enroll because I didn’t have a PNC online access PIN. I called the PNC help number again, and there was no option on the computer system to obtain an online access PIN. After the computer system asked me for my SSN for the 5th time for some reason, I finally talked to a human. She told me that you have to call to obtain the online access PIN. It would be nice if that info was in the packet that came with the card. She generated a pin and told me I have to use it within 15 minutes. I tried to use it immediately but discovered that the PNC app is extremely glitchy. As I filled in one field, another field would go blank or the info would move from one box to another. The person on the phone asked if I was using the app and I told her I was. She then told me to use the PNC website. I tried to use the website to enroll, but this was also glitchy. I had to wait a second or 2 after each digit I typed for it to appear on the screen. After finally filling in the required info, the system said I entered it incorrectly. I verified the info line by line and tried to enter it again with the same result. I was then told a PIN would be mailed to me. Why wasn’t it mailed to start with? I’m patiently waiting now with very low expectations.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 14, 2020
Very disorganized organization
jjsemail Cardholder

I applied for the $150 Bonus.

Their records showed me only being offered $100.

An account manager was assigned to my case.

She could only find time to call twice a week - and once a day when she did.

I STILL HAVE NOT TALKED TO HER!

And my phone is almost always with me since I'm in sales.

I'm still waiting over a month to see my what bonus will be applied.

more ...
Dec 19, 2019

I am very disappointed in how PNC mismanaged the application of a credit card. I do not want to have a PNC checking account to pay for this card. Why can’t I use my account from another bank to pay on a credit card, like every other business allows you? Setting up the app was ridiculous too. There should be no reason I need a PIN number to use the app. The online applications are hit or miss too. It took two days before the app accepted my pin, the same pin that PNC mailed to me four times after I had to call and request a pin. Very disappointed. Way too much work for 4% back on gas (plus I cannot see the rebate applied).

more ...
Nov 30, 2019

I was looking for a good gas station rewards program, this is one of best @ 4% cash back. Not sure I'm going to keep, probably going to get a PenFed credit card that offers 5% gas station rewards. The problem is making payments, it Has to be done at a laptop(Mobile app only works if you have a PNC checking account)  and you cannot make more than one payment in a four day period, two really odd and inconvenient things to me. 

more ...
Nov 27, 2019
Aggravating
curt122789 Cardholder

App wont let me put down a negative review. So 5 stars for all the suck

more ...
Nov 16, 2019
Cash Rewards is great, and no yearly fee
BeesusKrice Cardholder

Keep after your payments, and your score will be excellent before you know. I think this is the best card you can get without annual fees!

more ...
Nov 15, 2019
My main card
JettyLife Cardholder

I LOVE my PNC Cash Rewards card. This is my main go-to card for all purchases. The 4% back on gas is huge! To give you an accurate comparison vs other cards cash back percetages, my cash back for 2019 so far is averagnig 2% between all categories. Also, PNC customer service is US based, always helpful and friendly.

more ...
Nov 10, 2019
Love the rewards and you will too!
LesleyF Cardholder

This is an excellent everyday car to use!

more ...
Nov 09, 2019
Great for everyday expenses
SirNitrous Cardholder

Score above 710+ having a account with PNC made paymets easy and simplified everything. Great for gas station, eating out and grocery stores. Up to 4% cash back! Well for your first $8000 in use. If your score is high enough you can get $150 back. Talk to a PNC banker first...

more ...
Nov 07, 2019
Convenient and great cash rewards.
PNCustomer19 Cardholder

I've enjoyed the rewards that have come along with this card, especially compared to other credit cards I have had in the past. The app is very convenient for paying off my balance and keeping track of my expenses. PNC always offers great customer service and is quick to solve any problems I may have. 

more ...
Nov 05, 2019
Great for gas and food
MeImNina Cardholder

This card gives a nice touch for gas and food. I like to pull it out when going to the restaurants. 

more ...
Nov 04, 2019
Great rewards. Industry leader.
Scottzzzz Cardholder

Best cash rewards put there.

more ...
Nov 04, 2019
Best Credit Card with a great Bank
CTroy00 Cardholder

I’ve been with PNC for 7 years now. I got the rewards card omg 2017. I love receiving 4% back on gas. Due, to the fact that I drive a lot. So it really helps me. I have and will continue to recommend this card to everyone I know. 

more ...
Oct 30, 2019
Great for cash back, easy to use.
Ziggarillo Cardholder

Love this card, it's actually what kinda got me into credit cards to a degree. Super easy to pay with pnc app. Love 4% cash back on fuel.

more ...
Oct 29, 2019
Love the cash back options 1-4%.
bullfrogin Cardholder

The mobile app is the best thing ever for paying bills

more ...
Oct 08, 2019
Great for existing PNC clients.
denloch Cardholder

Applied for this card after I recieved a prequalification offer in the mail, offering 0% on balance transfers for 15 months. I have a couple of high interest cards with high utilization that I'm working on paying down, and putting the $100+ a month I'm paying in interest into the principal would help tremendously. Above average reward levels for future usage, as well. 

They must put a lot of weight into some internal scoring system, because with a score of around 635 and around 70% current utilization across my cards, no lender in their right mind should be considering me right now, but they approved me instantly for $6600 and "upgraded" me to a Signature Visa, which now makes it my highest limit card. 

I've been banking with them (direct deposit) for over a decade and financed two cars (one current) with a perfect payment record. 

If you've got an existing good relationship with PNC, that appears to matter to them more than your score when applying for credit. 

more ...
Sep 19, 2019
Mary305 Cardholder

Credit Karma gave me poor odds to get approved for this card. However, I applied anyway knowing the odds wasn't in my favor. I'm in the process of rebuilding my credit and right now its only a 640. Nevertheless, I do bank with PNC and they  approved me for $1000.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 31, 2019

What are your minimum payments monthly?

 
Sep 09, 2019
Good rewards with sign up bonus
Stmurphy66 Cardholder

I read other reviews that stated you could not pay your bill online unless you had a PNC checking account. I received my card, contacted customer service to get my online access PIN, registered online, added an external account (Chase) and transferred my first payment online. Was not too difficult. Yeh rewards are worth it for me.

more ...
Aug 23, 2019
Fantastic Rewards Card for PNC Customers
zoenanai Cardholder

I have been a PNC banker for a few years and got this card in 2017 while doing some in bank transactions. I absolutely love it! 4% back on gas all the time, 3% at restaurants incl fast food and 2% on groceries. Most cards don't recognize Walmart in the groceries category but this card does, which is huge for me because I primarily do my grocery shopping there. 1% on everything else (standard for cashback cards). They also have bonus cash back rewards where you can earn up to 10% back at certain places (like Little Caesars pizza). You have to manually activate whichever ones you want for that particular month.

I've never had problems with customer service or cashing out my rewards. The card automatically connects to your PNC online banking through virtual wallet (app and web) if you're already a customer. The ease of use is fantastic! I don't have to "schedule" a payment, simply transfer funds from whichever account I want to use to pay. The same with cashing out rewards dollars. Super easy and very convenient. The only thing I can say I would like to see different is the minimum $25 balance needed to cash out. It would be nice if there was no minimum but I know other cards do this as well. Overall I'm very happy with this card and will keep it as a daily spend cashback card.

more ...
Aug 16, 2019
Great for fuel rewards and that's it
JohnAE86 Cardholder

I was able to get a 10k line of credit with a score of 760. The approval process was fast and the card arrived sooner than most. Here's where the problems start. I was able to use the card but there was no way for me to pay because I needed a pin which I had to request. They couldn't verify my identity over the phone so they had to send the pin through the mail. I download the app, set everything up and come to find out I can't pay my bill without a pnc bank account. What a nightmare. This is three weeks after I received the card. I called customer support, which picked up faster than other banks, and they told me I had to use online banking on their website to link a bank account. I was finally able to pay my bill but I never could get the app to work. I don't think I would jump through all these hoops again for an additional 1% cashback given my fuel expenses. Oh, I did get my signup bonus, some users said they didn't. I can't speak to their balance transfers. If you spend a lot on fuel and plan on paying your balance in full every month you should be happy with this card, just dont expect anything else out of it.

more ...
Jul 31, 2019
Best Credit card i have
JazzyTay57 Cardholder

I've banked with PNC since college. Every time i called in they offered me this card and i finally said yes. i belive i got approved with 670 credit score. Literally the best credit card i have because i can see my balance every time i log onto virtual wallet where i manage my debit account. when i want to pay my credit card bill i  just transfer money to it, its that sinple! also racking up that cash back helps as well. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 08, 2019

What was ur approval credit limit?

 
Jul 23, 2019
Fighting to get sign up bonus
ANTHONY1020 Cardholder

I applied for this card several months ago under the Credit Karma ad offer of getting $200 after spending $1000. I met all the requirements and for the past few months I’ve been told “I should see the bonus on the next statement”. That was May, June and now July. Still haven’t seen it.

more ...
Aug 08, 2019

I worked for the bank. Eventually it does come... it is usually 4/5 months in to having the card. They do this so people don’t open and close it

 
Aug 08, 2019

same here...first they verify whether you met the spending requirement and then tell it will take 30-90 days....come one, who waits 30-90 days after meeting criteria....worst service

 
Aug 27, 2019

Don't be discouraged! That happened to me with my promised reward for working for Penn State and opening up an account. simultaneously I would get a much needed $200.

Instead..they overcharged me erroneously on 7 overdrafts (pushed weeks old transactions after my balance dipped below the amount needed). I refused to pay and vli Ed my complaints in person. They scoffed and said my credit would be ruined if they charge off the account. 7 years later I got a letter in the mail from a class action lawsuit for $650 from PNC. Apparently I wasn't the only one, I was one of thousands. They are known for this practice. Sometimes you just have to stick to your guns!!!!

 
Jul 08, 2019
pnc rocks
idakno Cardholder

they been badgering me for years to get a card i finally said yes.  Have their virtual wallet and everything is linked together I think it's great

more ...
Jun 25, 2019
Great cash rewards
allllicattt Cardholder

PNC makes it easy to transfer funds to pay off credit card charges. The 4% cash back on gas really adds up.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
PNC Cash Rewards® Visa® Credit Card Reviews

PNC Cash Rewards® Visa® Credit Card