The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
395 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express has plenty of rewards-earning potential.

What to Like

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express is a great card for accumulating rewards on everyday purchases. Cardholders can get 2x points at U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1x), along with a one-time bonus of 10,000 points after spending $1,000 on eligible purchases in the first three months of membership. 

Look Out For

This card has a penalty APR that applies for at least six months after a late payment, so it’s important to stay on-time with your payments.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 20, 2016
APPROVED 01 / 20 / 2016 AGAINST ALL ODDS
MarthaGalvez Cardholder

Okay the reviews are SO mixed that I'm going to be as DETAILED as I can be to help you make your decision. I read reviews for about 4 hours last night prior to making the decision, and maybe 2 reviews out of like 25+ pages made me take the leap. First off, I was approved for $1k limit. Took 30 seconds of the wheel spin, followed by a page saying, "We couldn't come to an immediate decision for approval. We will mail a letter to the address submitted on your application with a decision within 7-14 business days." I had read that so many people got e-mails not long afterward with an approval. Exactly that happened to me. I applied at 11pm, and got the approval e-mail at 11:30pm. You find out what your limit is once you create an account through the link provided in the e-mail. I did see the option to request a credit line increase once signing in, but you have to wait to receive your card to request it since it asks for a 4-digit code on the card. The hard inquiry will only cost you two points (IT TOOK ME FOREVER TO FIND THIS IN A REVIEW), and they pull Experian (ALSO TOOK FOREVER TO FIND). I kept reading that their lowest Experian score accepted is 660, but keep in mind I read some as low as 620's being approved... however I might bring it up at to at least 650 prior to applying, just my suggestion. So far the inquiry only shows up on Experian as of this morning. I'm 25 years old, 3 open collections totaling about $2k. Credit Karma scores are TU 653 & EQ 657. MyFico scores that I pay for were as follows when I applied: Fico TU 622, Fico EXP 663, Fico EQ 631. I know, pretty low right (for Amex, anyway)? Luckily Experian is my highest, and I do also pay for Experian, which matched MyFico at 663. When applying, I was asked for the usual obvious information such as name, DOB & social, along with annual income (mine is $50k), job's company name (auto repair field) and phone number. Job information was optional, but I decided to fill it out. Also was given the option to fill out which accounts I held such as checking/savings and it gives you a range of amounts to select in regards to your balance/savings. I selected the lowest balance range option, so don't be afraid to be honest. 10 inquiries on Experian, 4 of those within the last year. I have one auto loan in good standing since opening, I'm 24 out of 48 months in on that, and it's a high interest loan. I have two school loans totaling $15k, currently in good standing for 10 months, and interestingly enough I have 120+ days late on both those accounts (that was 2 years ago). They were on a deferment for a year after being that late, and then I began paying 10 months ago and those payments have all been made on time. My current total utilizaton is right at 30%, and my cards are as follows: Capital One Quiksilver $2.2k, Capital One Platinum $2.3k, Sony Visa (partnered w/ CapOne) $2k, Credit One Bank Visa $750.00, Ramona Tires $1k, FingerHut Web Bank $900. All of those accounts began at $300-$500 within the last 14 months, so I'm fairly new to credit cards. I have never been late on any of those accounts, and have been granted multiple credit limit increases on most of those accounts. In August of 2014, I was at a verly low 511, and that was with a high interest car loan in good standing for a mere 6 months. I was one of those people within the last 15 months, and I have turned around my credit for the better. You don't HAVE to high super high income nor a flawless credit report, high credit limits on current cards, nor a particularly exceptional Experian score to be approved. Just be sure that you have your current accounts are at least a year old, and that they've all been in good standing for a minmum of a year. I'm officially an Amex member, and I'm beside myself. I'll update the credit limit increase request after I receive my card and give it a try request one online through my account. I'll post it as a reply on this review. Hope this helped!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 29, 2017
Listen to Credit Karma
jotobb7588 Cardholder

They said I had a very good chance of getting this card, so I jumped and was approved! Small line of $1000, but that's all I need to build up to the next level. Very happy I'm using this app to get my credit where I want and need it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 22, 2017
Ok card
Iceiceice Cardholder

Applied for the blue but my credit was not as good at the time so they gave me this one but so far not a bad card ! Going for the better card later.

more ...
May 19, 2017
Fast Approval--- Excited !!
skatechick Cardholder

I have been only rebuilding my credit for about 2 months now.  I have had removed or paid off 3 collections and made sure all my payments are made on time.  I have pulled my credit up from 580- 614 in about 6 wks.   

I do not have any credit cards so I was hesitant to apply but after reading how much getting a card can "help" your credit score I have been trying.   Was turned down by Capital one and JCPenny  haha.  ....

Anyway-  I used a cool site called "CARDMATCH" and they recommended 3 AMex cards for me.....  I picked the one with no annual fee and applied.   

Instant approval for $1000, card is on it's way.   So thankful they gave me a chance !  Thanks AMEX

more ...
May 18, 2017
Yet to find out.
Stellabingy876 Cardholder

I applied yesterday and got approve for 2k, I'm super excited and can't wait to enjoy the benefits ...I'll keep you guys posted real soon.

more ...
May 16, 2017
Great second card
Anonymous Cardholder

Great second AMEX card

more ...
May 16, 2017
The app is so easy to use.
xKiki143x Cardholder

I enjoy using the Amex app it make it easy to make a payment or check transactions. Haven't had any issue with Amex for the 2 years I've had the card. I'm glad that I decided to get it!

more ...
May 16, 2017
Great second AMEX card!
ronidaddy1 Cardholder

I recently got the Blue card from Amex for 1K. Nice card, charged a few things and quickly paid it off. On the recommendation of KC, I applied for this card, and was immediately approved for 6K. I wil continue to make timely payments and ask for an increase in 6 mo. My scores are 680 to 690..

more ...
May 17, 2017

You don't have to wait 6 months! You can ask 61 days after activating!! Then every 6 months! 😉😉 ask for 3x your limit, they're very good extending large CLI'S 😃

 
May 21, 2017

Hi did CK say if your credit was fair or good to apply

 
May 15, 2017
Great Card To Building Your Credit
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for the amex every day card on the 13th of May was instantly approved after they reviewed my application. TU 665, Exp 693 EQ 623. CK indicated I had a fair chance so I went for it.  I have been trying to become an amex customer for three years now being turn down twice.  I learn you must have a Exp score of 690 or higher to be approve.  After six months of payments I'm going for a higher amex card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 17, 2017

61 days after activating your card you can ask for a CLI, typically are willing to triple your original CL. Ex: start with 2k 👉 6k after 61 days! Its all over the forums man 😉

 
May 14, 2017
So Far, So Good
samack1105 Cardholder

Surprise approval! I was, honestly, surprised that I was approved. My credit isn't necessarily bad....I just don't have a lot of it (3 Credit Cards and 1 Paid Off Installment Loan) My scores are TU:667 EQ: 713 EX: 654 and CK said that I had a 'very good' chance of getting this card. I applied on line, and it stated that they needed an aditinal 14 days to consider my application. I decided to call; after identity verification, I was approved with an 1K CL. I've only used the card x2 since I've had it and so far so good. Oh, and I applied for the AMEX Platinum Reward Card, a week after I received this card and was approved. If there is a card that CK recommends as 'very good', give it a chance. 

more ...
May 12, 2017
15 month 0% APR
shaicandie Cardholder

Applied with score of 718 from TU. My credit was destroyed in 2008 (think 504 credit score). I've been rebuilding my credit since then. I generally apply for 3 new cards each year and use them all, they generally carry a balance because I want to show I will make payments (my credit is really costing me, but it's working out for me). I applied for AE primarily for the balance transfer offer that I received by mail - 0% for 15 months. Applied online using invitation code and entered the information for 4 balance transfers at the same time. I've already read this helps! Application was approved for $12K CL. Prior to this my highest CL was $6K (only thanks to my mother adding me as an authorized user on her Chase Sapphire Preferred card a few months ago). A few minutes later, received email to call and answer a question about a transfer I requested. Phone wait time was excellent, about 4 minutes. Question answered, no funny business. Received my card by mail within a week and to my surprise, CL was $15K. Pretty satisfied at this point. Balance transfers were approved a few days ago. Awaiting for the payments to go through. Flawless.

more ...
May 11, 2017
The application is flawed & trash
grippin762 Cardholder

Getting approved for this card was very quick and easy.  I have another CC with American Express that is my everyday go-to card (miles), which I've had no issues at all.  I solely got this card at the recommendation of Credit Karma for a good card on balance transfer.  The reviews looked great, along with my past experiences with AE.  During the application process you are never asked how much you need to transfer (something that would have been nice to know in the beginning....I've never done a transfer before).   I was approved for a FRACTION of the amount I needed.  I call AE and ask for an increase in credit, simple enough.  What followed was nothing short of a circle-jerk.  After several calls and waiting for over a week, I was finally given an answer: "Sorry sir it's American Express policy that your credit limit can not be increaded within six months of having this card".  So...unless you only need to transfer $1500 or less...this is NOT the card for you.  Just getting the card cancelled ( I have no use for this, if it won't accommodate the amount I need) was a HUGE hassle.  I was transferred 5-6 times and their phones systems were crackling and in-and-out. 

Needless to say this has left with with a VERY SOUR taste in my mout for AE at all.  I'm now considering transferring my miles to a new card and leaving the company alltogether.

AVOID>

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 11, 2017

Enjoy your hard inquiries haha dumb guy

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,696
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express

395 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i