The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
347 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express has plenty of rewards-earning potential.

What to Like

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express is a great card for accumulating rewards on everyday purchases. Cardholders can get 2x points at U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1x), along with a one-time bonus of 10,000 points after spending $1,000 on eligible purchases in the first three months of membership. 

Look Out For

This card has a penalty APR that applies for at least six months after a late payment, so it’s important to stay on-time with your payments.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 20, 2016
APPROVED 01 / 20 / 2016 AGAINST ALL ODDS
MarthaGalvez Cardholder

Okay the reviews are SO mixed that I'm going to be as DETAILED as I can be to help you make your decision. I read reviews for about 4 hours last night prior to making the decision, and maybe 2 reviews out of like 25+ pages made me take the leap. First off, I was approved for $1k limit. Took 30 seconds of the wheel spin, followed by a page saying, "We couldn't come to an immediate decision for approval. We will mail a letter to the address submitted on your application with a decision within 7-14 business days." I had read that so many people got e-mails not long afterward with an approval. Exactly that happened to me. I applied at 11pm, and got the approval e-mail at 11:30pm. You find out what your limit is once you create an account through the link provided in the e-mail. I did see the option to request a credit line increase once signing in, but you have to wait to receive your card to request it since it asks for a 4-digit code on the card. The hard inquiry will only cost you two points (IT TOOK ME FOREVER TO FIND THIS IN A REVIEW), and they pull Experian (ALSO TOOK FOREVER TO FIND). I kept reading that their lowest Experian score accepted is 660, but keep in mind I read some as low as 620's being approved... however I might bring it up at to at least 650 prior to applying, just my suggestion. So far the inquiry only shows up on Experian as of this morning. I'm 25 years old, 3 open collections totaling about $2k. Credit Karma scores are TU 653 & EQ 657. MyFico scores that I pay for were as follows when I applied: Fico TU 622, Fico EXP 663, Fico EQ 631. I know, pretty low right (for Amex, anyway)? Luckily Experian is my highest, and I do also pay for Experian, which matched MyFico at 663. When applying, I was asked for the usual obvious information such as name, DOB & social, along with annual income (mine is $50k), job's company name (auto repair field) and phone number. Job information was optional, but I decided to fill it out. Also was given the option to fill out which accounts I held such as checking/savings and it gives you a range of amounts to select in regards to your balance/savings. I selected the lowest balance range option, so don't be afraid to be honest. 10 inquiries on Experian, 4 of those within the last year. I have one auto loan in good standing since opening, I'm 24 out of 48 months in on that, and it's a high interest loan. I have two school loans totaling $15k, currently in good standing for 10 months, and interestingly enough I have 120+ days late on both those accounts (that was 2 years ago). They were on a deferment for a year after being that late, and then I began paying 10 months ago and those payments have all been made on time. My current total utilizaton is right at 30%, and my cards are as follows: Capital One Quiksilver $2.2k, Capital One Platinum $2.3k, Sony Visa (partnered w/ CapOne) $2k, Credit One Bank Visa $750.00, Ramona Tires $1k, FingerHut Web Bank $900. All of those accounts began at $300-$500 within the last 14 months, so I'm fairly new to credit cards. I have never been late on any of those accounts, and have been granted multiple credit limit increases on most of those accounts. In August of 2014, I was at a verly low 511, and that was with a high interest car loan in good standing for a mere 6 months. I was one of those people within the last 15 months, and I have turned around my credit for the better. You don't HAVE to high super high income nor a flawless credit report, high credit limits on current cards, nor a particularly exceptional Experian score to be approved. Just be sure that you have your current accounts are at least a year old, and that they've all been in good standing for a minmum of a year. I'm officially an Amex member, and I'm beside myself. I'll update the credit limit increase request after I receive my card and give it a try request one online through my account. I'll post it as a reply on this review. Hope this helped!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 29, 2017
Listen to Credit Karma
jotobb7588 Cardholder

They said I had a very good chance of getting this card, so I jumped and was approved! Small line of $1000, but that's all I need to build up to the next level. Very happy I'm using this app to get my credit where I want and need it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 22, 2017
No APR for 12 months, great customer ser
MiisJade Cardholder

I really like this card, customer service is amazing! I forgot to pay my bill the first month, and was freaking out cause I didn't want it to go on my credit report. When I called, they removed the late fee, and removed the late mark, then help me set up my account with email reminders. Thank you!

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
Worth A Shot!!!
KreditCam Cardholder

I was very skeptical about getting approved for this card for 3 reasons: fairly average credit scores, not a significantly high annual income, and it's an amex REWARDS card! lol

My credit scores across the board are 699. CK said i'd have a "very good" chance of approval, which surprised me. My credit isn't bad, but is relatively short on history.

I have 1 credit card (open sky, $200 limit), 1k cc in collections for 5 years, 30k in various other credit lines (mostly school loans) never missed any payments. I have 2 closed CCs that are completely paid off (never in collections) with some late payments from 7 years ago. I also put 21k for annual income (pt job, college student). Credit history on average is 3 years 9 mos.

In conclusion: I was approved for a 2k limit in about 30 seconds.

If you're on the edge about giving this card a try because of your income or not so great credit score, it might be worth a shot!!!

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
Completely Shocked
Youndie26 Cardholder

CK listed my odds as good, I have always wanted an AMEX card, but recently started building credit. my credit history is 5 months old,  688TU, 680 EQ when I signed up for experian to check my EX score, it showed that my history is too short and I dont have a score yet. I took a leap of faith and applied for this card. I received a message stating that they are sorry, they can't approve it, but i need to call in to verify some information. I automatically knew why i was denied the card, So i did not bother calling. 7 days later i received a mail from AMEX (that i almost threw away without even opening lol) To my biggest surprise it was an AMEX CARD !!!!! I went online to activate it, my CL is 1k ($1000) very small I know, but its a start and I am very happy about it. My only other card is a secured credit card from Capitol One with a CL of $300 and I am an authorized user on another secured Capitol One credit card of $500 CL. 

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Awesome
Dmw995 Cardholder

I got approved for this card with a 665 equifax score. Im a student and still building credit . Low limit for now but im sure i can get a CLI within 6 months . 

more ...
Jun 16, 2017
Excellent
Anonymous Cardholder

My credit scores are 668 and 735. I have a cpl of negative remarks on my credit and I was still approved for a 1k credit limit. Quick processing.

more ...
Jun 15, 2017
Great Card
JiuJitsuislife Cardholder

Applied for this card and was approved for $1k a year ago. After using the card on a regular basis and making regular payments (about 3-5 per month) my credit limit was increased to $3k in just 6 months. Continued using the card on a regular basis, making payments on a regular basis and today 6 months after my initial increase, AMEX increased my limit by $6k. I now have a $9k credit limit! My score when i applied for this card was about 650 and since then has increased to about 730 in one year.

Great card, use regularly and make more than the minimum payment and your limit and credit scores will increase. AMEX has no limits on the amount of times you can make payments. This has helped me tremendously. I would recommend even if you have a very low limit, make a payment as soon as that charge reflects on your account. You dont have to wait until your statement appears in the mail. Stay on top of making those payments and your limit and scores might increase. 

more ...
Jun 14, 2017
Approved in mid 600s
Dhani76 Cardholder

CK said I had a "GOOD" chance of being approved, although I learned the hard way to take these projections with a grain of salt. Applied anyway & was instantly approved. CL only $500.....I see others have been approved for the same on here.....but I will take it if it means a relationship with AMEX. so far customer service is great. no complaints.
Looks like they pull from EXP, which is my report in the best standing.

more ...
Jun 13, 2017
Update after 3 months
NYKnicksTape Cardholder

So here is an update 3 months into having the card.  Started with a $500 limit, about 670 credit report, 100% ontime payments for all cards and 1 derog on my account due to bankruptcy which was 6 years ago.  Last week I tried the 60 day CLI "trick" and was denied.  I spoke to customer rep in the credit increase department and he started it was because I have a bankrupcy on file.  Confused I asked why was i approved for the card in the first place he stated "its a different criteria to get the card, verses a CLI"  I ask so I am suck with a $500 limit?  No auto CLI? Anything?  goes on to state again "with a bankrupcy we cannot provide a CLI"  After I pay off some pending charges I will get rid of the card.  I know its advised against to close a card but for me its more of a pride thing.  Really, what can i do with a $500 credit line?  If I charge $200 om already at a 40% utilization.  This is the lowest credit line I have. My next lowest is $1,500.

more ...
Jun 13, 2017

They gave you a legitimate reason...dunno what more you want. Bankruptcy is a huge red flag. C'est la vie.

 
Jun 13, 2017

Dude they did nothing wrong in this situation, and credit utilization doesnt work on each individual card. It is the total of all cards combined. Stop whining.

 
Jun 17, 2017

I think the responses are harsh. First and foremost, we don't know the reason NY Knicks Tape had to file BK, but for whatever reason, he has his opinion about this card and I agree with him and I don't feel as if he is whining. You can have a Capital One card and have filed BK, they will give you CLI all the time, every 6 months. I would not close the card, if you feel insulted, just don't use it, because it will at least build your credit for other cards you would like to apply for in the future.

 
Jun 20, 2017

Lmao @ Jourayce's "stop whining" comment. I thought the point of posting reviews is to alert others about our experiences. I guess when its not popular opinion about American Express you should "stop whining." All I did is let others know my situation so they can choose wisely if they actually want to sign up for this card and get hit with an hard inq. I know there are many CK users who have filed for BK and will eventually have a credit score high enough to apply for an American Express card. I don't think its whining by telling them they may never see a CLI if BK is on their record no matter how clean they keep their credit report.

@keepitreal2017 yea, i finally calmed down, came to my senses and will not close it but I will use it rarely and pay it right off right away after each use.

 
Jun 12, 2017
2nd Amex
lss826 Cardholder

I already submitted a review for the blue cash everyday. I love that card. I decided to try for this card. Scores are low 700s. The blue cash card had a 2k limit initially. This one was approved for 8k! It's been a long time since anyone has given me a limit like that. I truly appreciate Amex giving me the opportunity to do better with my credit this time around

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
I can't believe it....really!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for 2 credit cards in Sunday and 2 Charge Cards on Monday and I was approved for ALL OF THEM! I had a 698 & 630. For this card I received a 2K limit and the Blue Cash Preferred I received 5K.

I also received the Green Card & Gold Premiere Rewards AMEX's.

The next week my score went up to 704 & 646. They didn't do any hard inquiries which was the best thing. I saw that the more open or new accounts is better. Hope this helps! This really happened and I wanted to have AMEX forever. They said I could even get my son a card when he turns 15 to help with money management and building good credit!

more ...
Jun 13, 2017

The inquiries will appear on your report 3 months from now and it will affect your score. Also each inquiry will last on your report for 25 months.

 
Jun 15, 2017

Took a long while for the inquiry to show on my report. Maybe 4 months? My score went down a few points as well.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,696
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express

347 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i