Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
494 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express has plenty of rewards-earning potential.

What to Like

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express is a great card for accumulating rewards on everyday purchases. Cardholders can get 2x points at U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1x), along with a one-time bonus of 10,000 points after spending $1,000 on eligible purchases in the first three months of membership. This card also offers a 0% introductory APR for 12 months on purchases and balance transfers.

Look Out For

This card has a high penalty APR that applies for at least six months after a late payment, so it’s important to stay on-time with your payments.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 20, 2016
APPROVED 01 / 20 / 2016 AGAINST ALL ODDS
MarthaGalvez Cardholder

Okay the reviews are SO mixed that I'm going to be as DETAILED as I can be to help you make your decision. I read reviews for about 4 hours last night prior to making the decision, and maybe 2 reviews out of like 25+ pages made me take the leap. First off, I was approved for $1k limit. Took 30 seconds of the wheel spin, followed by a page saying, "We couldn't come to an immediate decision for approval. We will mail a letter to the address submitted on your application with a decision within 7-14 business days." I had read that so many people got e-mails not long afterward with an approval. Exactly that happened to me. I applied at 11pm, and got the approval e-mail at 11:30pm. You find out what your limit is once you create an account through the link provided in the e-mail. I did see the option to request a credit line increase once signing in, but you have to wait to receive your card to request it since it asks for a 4-digit code on the card. The hard inquiry will only cost you two points (IT TOOK ME FOREVER TO FIND THIS IN A REVIEW), and they pull Experian (ALSO TOOK FOREVER TO FIND). I kept reading that their lowest Experian score accepted is 660, but keep in mind I read some as low as 620's being approved... however I might bring it up at to at least 650 prior to applying, just my suggestion. So far the inquiry only shows up on Experian as of this morning. I'm 25 years old, 3 open collections totaling about $2k. Credit Karma scores are TU 653 & EQ 657. MyFico scores that I pay for were as follows when I applied: Fico TU 622, Fico EXP 663, Fico EQ 631. I know, pretty low right (for Amex, anyway)? Luckily Experian is my highest, and I do also pay for Experian, which matched MyFico at 663. When applying, I was asked for the usual obvious information such as name, DOB & social, along with annual income (mine is $50k), job's company name (auto repair field) and phone number. Job information was optional, but I decided to fill it out. Also was given the option to fill out which accounts I held such as checking/savings and it gives you a range of amounts to select in regards to your balance/savings. I selected the lowest balance range option, so don't be afraid to be honest. 10 inquiries on Experian, 4 of those within the last year. I have one auto loan in good standing since opening, I'm 24 out of 48 months in on that, and it's a high interest loan. I have two school loans totaling $15k, currently in good standing for 10 months, and interestingly enough I have 120+ days late on both those accounts (that was 2 years ago). They were on a deferment for a year after being that late, and then I began paying 10 months ago and those payments have all been made on time. My current total utilizaton is right at 30%, and my cards are as follows: Capital One Quiksilver $2.2k, Capital One Platinum $2.3k, Sony Visa (partnered w/ CapOne) $2k, Credit One Bank Visa $750.00, Ramona Tires $1k, FingerHut Web Bank $900. All of those accounts began at $300-$500 within the last 14 months, so I'm fairly new to credit cards. I have never been late on any of those accounts, and have been granted multiple credit limit increases on most of those accounts. In August of 2014, I was at a verly low 511, and that was with a high interest car loan in good standing for a mere 6 months. I was one of those people within the last 15 months, and I have turned around my credit for the better. You don't HAVE to high super high income nor a flawless credit report, high credit limits on current cards, nor a particularly exceptional Experian score to be approved. Just be sure that you have your current accounts are at least a year old, and that they've all been in good standing for a minmum of a year. I'm officially an Amex member, and I'm beside myself. I'll update the credit limit increase request after I receive my card and give it a try request one online through my account. I'll post it as a reply on this review. Hope this helped!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 11, 2016
False Advertisement
wrkuout2 Cardholder

I applied for this card because it CLEARLY states that it has a 0% APR  interest for the first 15 months on all BALANCE TRANSFERS and purchases.  I received the card in the mail with a letter to call for balance transfer.  I called to complete balance transfer and they told me this card is not eligible for that promotion at this time despite what it clearly states here on creditkarma and on AMEX's own website.  Very disappointed - it was the whole purpose that I applied for the card.  Customer Services stated they would start a dispute but it would take 6-8 weeks to get an answer back.   Really 6-8 weeks at this day and age.  Whatever!z

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 29, 2016
Denied...? UPDATE
GambitKing5150 Cardholder

TU 738 EQ 732 EX 657 (?) CK odds "Good"...DENIED!!! I understand Amex pulls from EX and that may be the reason but Jeesh. Pay off balances every month, good credit age, no BK, no delinquency, total debt under $5k, earn six figures. Have Capital One $3K, BOA $500, Chase 

Freedom $500...and oh, a AMEX DELTA SKYMILES $1000!!!!! Go figure. 

Well, a Month later, with no substantial movement in my scores, I decided to take another shot and low and behold...approved for $1000. It's incredibly smaller than some of the cl amounts I've read about here but I'm sure I'll get approved for a significant cli in the spring. The customer service was awesome, got the card to me in two days!!! Now I have two Amex cards and a Amex high yield savings account. Next up, going for the gold charge in the spring as soon as I cross the 760 threshold in the spring of 2017! Watch this space. 

more ...
Nov 29, 2016

utilization,utilization and UTILIZATION

 
Dec 01, 2016

You're right. Going for the Gold in the spring, utilization will hover around 4-7 percent. Trying to stay below 10, but may hit 15 every so often.

 
Dec 02, 2016

Go for the CLI on day 60 with any AMEX card. It's automatic.

 
Dec 02, 2016

Just set reminders, thx!

 
Nov 29, 2016
Denied...? UPDATE
GambitKing5150 Cardholder

TU 738 EQ 732 EX 657 (?) CK odds "Good"...DENIED!!! I understand Amex pulls from

EX and that may be the reason but Jeesh. Pay off balances 

every month, good credit age, no BK, no delinquency, total 

debt under $5k, earn six figures. Have Capital One $3K, BOA $500, Chase 

Freedom $500...and oh, a AMEX DELTA SKYMILES $1000!!!!!

Go figure. Well, a Month later, with no substantial movement in my scores, I decided to take another shot and low and behold...approved for $1000. It's incredibly smaller than some of the cl amounts I've read about here but I'm sure I'll get approved for a significant clip in the spring. The customer service was awesome, got the card to me in two days!!! Now I have two Amex cards and a Amex high yield savings account. Next up, going for the gold charge in the spring as soon as I cross the 760 threshold in the spring of 2017! Watch this space. 

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
UPDATED REVIEW
GambitKing5150 Cardholder

TU 738 EQ 732 EX 657 (?) CK odds "Good"...DENIED!!! I understand Amex pulls from

EX and that may be the reason but Jeesh. Pay off balances 

every month, good credit age, no BK, no delinquency, total 

debt under $5k, earn six figures. Have Capital One $3K, BOA $500, Chase 

Freedom $500...and oh, a AMEX DELTA SKYMILES $1000!!!!!

Go figure. Well, a Month later, with no substantial movement in my scores, I decided to take another shot and low and behold...approved for $1000. It's incredibly smaller than some of the cl amounts I've read about here but I'm sure I'll get approved for a significant cli in the spring. The customer service was awesome, got the card to me in two days!!! Now I have two Amex cards and a Amex high yield savings account. Next up, going for the gold charge in the spring as soon as I cross the 760 threshold in the spring of 2017! Watch this space. 

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
CK said my approval odd were fair.
TonySanfran Cardholder

Applied and got a 3500.00 credit line.  Then a couple days later I applied for the Amex green card. Approval odds were fair. Got that card as well.  689 Fico score.  And 679 experian score. 

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Amex is great
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card with very good odds. I applied on 11/18/2016 and got the message that said a decision could not be made right now and to wait for 7-14 days. Turns out my app was sent to the fraud department for verification before processing. Got a call on 11/28 rep verified some information and I was approved. I was also approved for a Amex green card as well.Tu:670 Eq:675 and Ep: 690. No recent inquiries for credit cards either just auto.

I was afraid to apply because I have two charge offs from 2007 and I was still approved. But everything else is positive and I have a good record now with payment history and so forth. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 30, 2016

How much were you approved for?

 
Nov 27, 2016
So far so good.
Lvhrd Cardholder

CK said chances were very good. Applied and took seconds for approval. T675. EQ 667. Approved for $1000. So far so good.

more ...
Nov 25, 2016
The best card you can have
Amex30 Cardholder

I have a credit score of 740 and was immediately approved with a 10000 limit. I get my rewards right away and that can't be beat.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 26, 2016

Enter Your Reply

 
Nov 24, 2016
THE BEST IN SHOW!
LadyLann Cardholder

Excellent reward card and besides...AMEX have not only this points earning beast of a card BUT their customer service is the best in show. For the few times i have had to call, they were very good. They speak to you like smart people should be spoken to...intelligently!! If you can get this card, get it and you will not regret it!!  Tootles until next time! 

more ...
Nov 23, 2016
AMEX is terrible
AvrgCreditDude Cardholder

I haven't had my card a week and I already have issues. This card is extrememely easy to get approved on so don't think you're getting anything special. I have been told "no we don't accept that" multiple times and now I have almost $200 in fees I'm fighting on. Before this I've had Chase and other smaller Credit Union Credit Cards and I've never had these problems. Go with a Chase Slate or a Citi Double Cash. I wish I had, I hate this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 27, 2016

Do you mind ellaborating on the fees you're fighting?

 
Nov 22, 2016
I was lucky?
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied with a poor chance of approval. Scores are both low 600s. Approved for 1000 cl. Very happy. I also have a capital one quicksilver. Cl 300. Had it for 4 months always paid on time in full. Didn't think I would get approved

more ...
Nov 23, 2016

When you say LOW how low since 617 could be considered low next to 622? I think exact scores are helpful in this forum. Cheers with the new card.

 
Nov 23, 2016

607 and 604

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,696
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express

494 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i