Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
497 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.


Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express has plenty of rewards-earning potential.

What to Like

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express is a great card for accumulating rewards on everyday purchases. Cardholders can get 2x points at U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1x), along with a one-time bonus of 10,000 points after spending $1,000 on eligible purchases in the first three months of membership. This card also offers a 0% introductory APR for 12 months on purchases and balance transfers.

Look Out For

This card has a high penalty APR that applies for at least six months after a late payment, so it’s important to stay on-time with your payments.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 20, 2016
MarthaGalvez Cardholder

Okay the reviews are SO mixed that I'm going to be as DETAILED as I can be to help you make your decision. I read reviews for about 4 hours last night prior to making the decision, and maybe 2 reviews out of like 25+ pages made me take the leap. First off, I was approved for $1k limit. Took 30 seconds of the wheel spin, followed by a page saying, "We couldn't come to an immediate decision for approval. We will mail a letter to the address submitted on your application with a decision within 7-14 business days." I had read that so many people got e-mails not long afterward with an approval. Exactly that happened to me. I applied at 11pm, and got the approval e-mail at 11:30pm. You find out what your limit is once you create an account through the link provided in the e-mail. I did see the option to request a credit line increase once signing in, but you have to wait to receive your card to request it since it asks for a 4-digit code on the card. The hard inquiry will only cost you two points (IT TOOK ME FOREVER TO FIND THIS IN A REVIEW), and they pull Experian (ALSO TOOK FOREVER TO FIND). I kept reading that their lowest Experian score accepted is 660, but keep in mind I read some as low as 620's being approved... however I might bring it up at to at least 650 prior to applying, just my suggestion. So far the inquiry only shows up on Experian as of this morning. I'm 25 years old, 3 open collections totaling about $2k. Credit Karma scores are TU 653 & EQ 657. MyFico scores that I pay for were as follows when I applied: Fico TU 622, Fico EXP 663, Fico EQ 631. I know, pretty low right (for Amex, anyway)? Luckily Experian is my highest, and I do also pay for Experian, which matched MyFico at 663. When applying, I was asked for the usual obvious information such as name, DOB & social, along with annual income (mine is $50k), job's company name (auto repair field) and phone number. Job information was optional, but I decided to fill it out. Also was given the option to fill out which accounts I held such as checking/savings and it gives you a range of amounts to select in regards to your balance/savings. I selected the lowest balance range option, so don't be afraid to be honest. 10 inquiries on Experian, 4 of those within the last year. I have one auto loan in good standing since opening, I'm 24 out of 48 months in on that, and it's a high interest loan. I have two school loans totaling $15k, currently in good standing for 10 months, and interestingly enough I have 120+ days late on both those accounts (that was 2 years ago). They were on a deferment for a year after being that late, and then I began paying 10 months ago and those payments have all been made on time. My current total utilizaton is right at 30%, and my cards are as follows: Capital One Quiksilver $2.2k, Capital One Platinum $2.3k, Sony Visa (partnered w/ CapOne) $2k, Credit One Bank Visa $750.00, Ramona Tires $1k, FingerHut Web Bank $900. All of those accounts began at $300-$500 within the last 14 months, so I'm fairly new to credit cards. I have never been late on any of those accounts, and have been granted multiple credit limit increases on most of those accounts. In August of 2014, I was at a verly low 511, and that was with a high interest car loan in good standing for a mere 6 months. I was one of those people within the last 15 months, and I have turned around my credit for the better. You don't HAVE to high super high income nor a flawless credit report, high credit limits on current cards, nor a particularly exceptional Experian score to be approved. Just be sure that you have your current accounts are at least a year old, and that they've all been in good standing for a minmum of a year. I'm officially an Amex member, and I'm beside myself. I'll update the credit limit increase request after I receive my card and give it a try request one online through my account. I'll post it as a reply on this review. Hope this helped!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 07, 2016
I feel Fancy! 😍
nursingstudent17 Cardholder

Applied on a whim to add to my growing card collection, always wanted an AMEX. Applied with a 690 Experian score (the one they check), as a student, with 25K income. A few medical debt dings, but my score has been on the up and up. I pay off all my cards and never just the minimum unless it's a 0% apr card. Instant approval for 10K! Wow, upgrade over my Discover It (3800). I thought they would be stingier. Thanks AMEX!

Only downside - points can only be withdrawn in $25 increments. And 1% back total and 2% back grocery is OK. I was drawn in by the $100 bonus and 1 year 0% no apr, but it's not a better card overall than my Chase Freedom Unlimited or Discover It Chrome. I just wanted an AMEX. 😂

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 23, 2016
wherley82 Cardholder

Applied for this card with "very good" chances ck scores are 758 trans and 748 eq. They pulled experian which is 758 fico, clean ex report 31% utl and 3 inquirys. Instantly approved for 10,000$  18 months 0% financing and 16% apr after. 

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
👍🏻 Perfect
Anonymous Cardholder

Approval in feu minute excellent Service

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
ontheroadto850 Cardholder

I was approved with a 640/680 credit score, have a few blemishes on my account but have been working on my credit and have been paying bills on time as well as maintaining credit cards with zero balance. Excited that I now have an Amex and can build my credit even further. 

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
1000 cl. Odds were very good
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied with a 638 ck score. Was approved on the spot.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Approved with Good Odds
fcollectors Cardholder

665 Eq 653 TU and 669 Exp. I have Cap One, Discover, Citibank and several store cards and an auto loan for 40K. Was approved instantly 1k limit. Also approved for a blue card and Gold card on the same day.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016

I got approved for this and apped for the gold card and the starwood card. Denied me for the gold and are processing the starwood. I hope I'm as lucky as you.

Oct 24, 2016

Good luck! Worst case build some account history, pay in full each month and reapp with a soft pull in two months. Remember the Gold card is a 'charge card' so you have to PIF every month, otherwise there's penalties and you won't be doing yourself any favors for your account history.

Oct 16, 2016
Amex rocks!!
bowling932 Cardholder

Applied >9 month ago started with $1000.00. A couple of months ago they increased my limit to $3000.00. I was invited me to apply for the Gold Premier Rewards  card approved instantly. Recently applied for Gold Delta Sky Miles card got $1300.00 limit instantly. I have graduated to credit heaven!

more ...
Oct 12, 2016
Great card for balance transfers.
cali113 Cardholder

Update from my original review. There was only one hard pull on my credit report although the cards were processed 5 days apart. I applied for the Delta Skymiles gold card and was approved instantly for $10k. Then I applied for this card and received an "in progress" screen. I called in and the said it will take 5 business days to process. I received an email in the 5 day saying I was approved but it was only for $1000. 

more ...
Oct 10, 2016
Enermax32 Cardholder

91 days in, applied for CLI, went from $1200 to $3600....overall UTI reported is 5% ...I PIF each month, after statement cuts ...scores low 700s, recuperating from app spree in July...

more ...
Oct 09, 2016
Great customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card to diversify my credit portfolio. After cleaning some old collection accounts I've been hovering around  680 CS for he last year with the goal of breaking 720 before mortgage shopping. I applied with TU691/EQ668 CK "good" odds and instantly approved for $1K. Same day I applied for AMEX Hhonors and got a pending response. I called customer service the following day and they approved instantly, also at the $1k Very helpful service. I average about 5000.00 a month in CC spending between two CapitalOne cards QS: 5150 QS1: 4500 and rarely carry a balance. Salary about 160k. 

I'm not too concerned about the 1K spending limit, from my initial experience And seeing CS reps willing to take action and make changes on the spot, I am optimistic they will consider credit increase with responsible and frequent card management. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Oct 15, 2016

Where do you work geesh

Oct 08, 2016
MyReview Cardholder

I was originally over the moon to receive this card in January of this year. I am rebuilding credit and was given a $4500 limit. I've kept the utilization low and paid in full quite a few times. Two weeks ago, I made a puchase of $900. Today, I received an email that my limit was REDUCED to $1200. Never missed a payment ... not even one-day late. DEVASTATED ... now my card is maxxed out.

more ...
Oct 16, 2016

How's your overall credit profiles? Any baddies popped up recently? Your other cards balance went up recently?, opened few new credit cards/loans? Couple of balance transfers/cash advances?...Issuers tend to take Adverse Actions when your credit profile changed suddenly, especially when you on some shaky grounds to began with.

Oct 21, 2016

I ended up calling them because my credit is the same that they initially approved me on. I sent in my income info and they reinstated my credit line. What I didn't appreciate was the lack of warning. What a bad way to build a business relationship. Thank you for your insight. It was much appreciated.

Oct 21, 2016

JohnnyyRain ... I know I mentioned it above, but I really do appreciate you! I looked through some other replies of yours and you are so knowledgeable and helpful!! Be blessed.

Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,696
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express

497 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i