The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
303 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express has plenty of rewards-earning potential.

What to Like

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express is a great card for accumulating rewards on everyday purchases. Cardholders can get 2x points at U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1x), along with a one-time bonus of 10,000 points after spending $1,000 on eligible purchases in the first three months of membership. 

Look Out For

This card has a penalty APR that applies for at least six months after a late payment, so it’s important to stay on-time with your payments.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 05, 2017
I am shocked that I even got approved
Anonymous Cardholder

Credit Karma recommended this card to me and I thought to myself "Amex would never extend credit to me" but I was wrong. In 2010 I lost my job, depleted my savings, and destroyed my credit. However, now I have a good paying job, emergency savings up to 6 months, and I have somewhat recovered from my credit mess. My Experian is at a 634 FICO, Equifax is at 622 FICO, and Transunion is also 634 FICO (these are actual FICO scores not the estimates you get from Credit Karma). My credit consists of a paid judgement, 4 unpaid collections from 2010 (due to fall off this year), 3 chargeoff accounts from 2010, 6 credit cards in good standing and over 2 years old average, 4 paid unsecured loans in good standing, 1 open auto loan in good standing, 2 student loans currently in good standing but delinquent in 2010, 20 credit inquiries almost 2 years old now (yes 20...I know I know), 2 turtle doves, and a partridge in a pear tree......As you can see, my credit is not all that great and I expected to get a denial or a message saying they would review my application and get back to me within 7 to 10 days, but instead I got an instant approval. I was only approved for a $1,000 credit line and $750.00 balance transfer but, as promised, the card came with 0% purchases and balance transfers for 1 year. So if you think your score is too low and your credit might be too crappy for Amex to approve you, compare it to mine and try it. 

Other points I didn't mention above are:

- Total credit limit on all currently open cards: $15,000

- Total balance on all open cards: $1,050

- Auto loan original balance: $12,653 | Current balance: $7234

- Student loan original balances: 1) $3,500 and 2) $2,000 | Current balance: 1) $1,200 and 2) $500

- Annual income $50,000

- Average age of accounts 3 years

- Total age of credit history 8 years

So far no complaints. Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 30, 2017
Bjul2882 Cardholder

Approved for 15K last year. Used in April 2017 for a $4K purchase. Amex dropped my credit limit instantly to 5K which boomeranged my credit score from 720 to 615 because of debt to ratio changed. Have 4 years of 100% paying on time.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 17, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Amex is the worst credit cart ever they can cancel your cart for no reason I had it for 6 year they cancel it for no reason and now they calling me to had another one but it is not going to happen 

more ...
Sep 19, 2017

What's a credit cart?

 
Sep 19, 2017

For no reason? Right.

 
Sep 16, 2017
Solid. Great App
BradfordCC Cardholder

I got approved for 1000 with an 620 FICO to a credit Karma BS 745 TU, etc....

but they use Experian. My Experian is wa higher. So 

I then applied for their platinum card and got approved mbecaus I do a lot of traveling. 

Great card. Be smart pay on time and realize Credit Karmas numbers are not real. They are inflated by 50 to 200 points. 

They are estimates. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 16, 2017

Oh they're real...very real, and a very good tool if used correctly. They're just from a different scoring model is all.

 
Sep 11, 2017
Criminal Blackmail Dont Get It
only126db Cardholder

Have had this card for 3yrs, never late once on anything, never any issues, credit report has only improved, income has gone up....Got an email saying my credit limit was reduced by 75%, got on their chat, was given a number to call in the morning, called and the person gave me the wrong number....Called number on back of card, was eventually told if I pay $800 in 6 days they will raise my limit back up in around 30 days.... I was told that it was because no new purchases had been made recently with the card....How is dinging my credit going to make me say "sure you hurt me I will give you more money" I could see if I had been late once, and was near my credit limit, sure thats a red flag to them, but this was pure blackmail and I dont play that so I canceled the account entirely.

more ...
Sep 12, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Sep 12, 2017

I have a credit score of 685 and have worked very hard for this. Credit Karma claimed I had a VERY GOOD chance of obtaining this card. NOT! Thank you for nothing really except lowering my score because of this!

 
Sep 08, 2017
this card sucks
doublecent Cardholder

Any changes to your credit and 

amex changes your card totaly  I haven't had a card with them in over 20 years and will make it another 20 with out them. 

more ...
Sep 08, 2017
They pull EXp 730, EquiF 650. Approve 5K
Vince5164 Cardholder

Good credit line with fair credit. Customer Representatives are excellent!!

more ...
Sep 06, 2017
Great card 0% tranfer and points
Anonymous Cardholder

Credit limit won't be that high at first but have patience

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 08, 2017

Did your limit increase on its own or did you have to request it?

 
Sep 05, 2017
Liberal Credit Limits/Mediocre rewards
TUTUMOMO Cardholder

This cards is ok. It has no annual fees which is good and AMEX is very liberal with their credit limits however it just doesnt cut it when it comes to points. Its hard to gain and even harder to redeem not even to mention the fact that the dollar amount for redemption is nothing compared to CSP and discover. I just use it so my card stays active because it has my highest limit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 05, 2017

Yah, it's no secret that Amex point redemption doesn't hold a candle to Chase's Ultimate Rewards Portal. Like you, though, my Amex card is my highest limit card. :)

 
Sep 03, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I have this card I love this card that have many ways to earn rewards customer service is awesome you can also get a loan with them if you need extra money at a very low interest rate this is one of my favorite cards never had a problem with it they do not hit you with a bunch of fees they have a lot of great opportunities and offers through their Bank absolutely love my card and the personal loan that I got with them helped me out a whole lot to time of need with a very low monthly pay back thank you American Express you're a great company and I would refer anyone and everyone to get this card I got my approval odds through Credit Karma which I also love Credit Karma

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 05, 2017

Amex rules. Got a limit increase from $7k to $15k...instant approval! No strings, no BS. I shoulda waited and gotten my personal loan from them, but live & learn.

 
Aug 30, 2017
Approved after BR13
Anonymous Cardholder

Great card. Great customer sevice. First card approved for 2 days after chapter 13 discharge.  $1k CL. Time will tell how CLIs go   Been paying off all charges monthly. 

more ...
Aug 28, 2017
The BEST CC I have
Breen716 Cardholder

I have chase cap one abs bank of Avery a rewards but none compare to my amex they increased limit frequently and thier customer service is the best , it has been excepted everywhere I've tried it 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,696
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express

303 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i