Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
462 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable

Our Take

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express has plenty of rewards-earning potential.

What to Like

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express is a great card for accumulating rewards on everyday purchases. Cardholders can get 2x points at U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1x), along with a one-time bonus of 10,000 points after spending $1,000 on eligible purchases in the first three months of membership. This card also offers a 0% introductory APR for 12 months on purchases and balance transfers.

Look Out For

This card has a high penalty APR that applies for at least six months after a late payment, so it’s important to stay on-time with your payments.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 10, 2016
No Complaints!!
ModernLove Cardholder

I received this card on January 4, 2016, so I thought I would post an update. At the time CK had my approval chances at 'poor', yes....poor. But I logged onto AmEx and checked for pre-qualified offers and this card popped up. My Experian was 671 (they pull Experian) and I was approved in seconds with a 1K credit limit. After receiving the card in the mail I called and requested a credit lmit increase and was instantly bumped up to 3K. So far the card has been fantastic. I have no complaints. I use it almost daily and I have been racking up the rewards points. Customer service has been stellar, (both on the phone and webchat)!! I thought I received the 'spend 1K in 3 months and get 10K Membership Points' deal, but after calling I was informed I got the 'spend 2K in 3 months and get 20K Membership Points' deal. Woo-hoo!! I've already spent $1500, so another $500 by April 4th will be no problem at all! Looking forward to getting those 20K Membership Points (a round trip flight from Chicago to Colorado is only around 5K points). I make big payments on this card every payday, so my utilization remains low despite the heavy use. The reason I decided to provide an update is because AmEx FINALLY reported to the credit bureaus just this week....it takes them awhile. I've only been to one place that did not take AmEx, a mom and pop breakfast place. I highly recommend this card. If I can get an AmEx (started with a 528 FICO) you can too. Good luck!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 09, 2016
Great Card. But...
hawthorneboi Cardholder

I applied for the card about 4 months ago just to take advantage of the perks it "comes" with. Sign up bonus. Met. Did I get it. Nope. 0% apr on purchases and balance transfers for the first 12 months was a pretty **** good perk as well plus the fact that it was AE a very well respected card player. I am happy with the card but not happy with being swindled out of the perks (sad deal) maybe my credit was not quite good enough to push me over the hump. Ill be optimistic keep the card, make my payments on time and sit back and hope that one day soon an AE represenative reads this and reaches out to me ;-) . Not only reach out to me but get me my **** perks they promised!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 23, 2017
Approved, Unexpected!
Anonymous Cardholder

Was approved 1/23/17 at 1K, CK score of 670. Already own Discover CL-$2900, Cap One Spark- $3K, QuickSilver- $2750.

more ...
Jan 22, 2017
Surprised
BTACU07 Cardholder

Applied to this card with a less-than perfect credit score, despite CK's tool, I was approved for a low $1K limit, but plan on asking for a CLI after 60 day period and seeing where it goes. Excited to be a part of the AMEX membership. Also combined the hard pull with an inquiry for an Amex PRG and was also approved for this card. 

more ...
Jan 21, 2017
Quick Approval In Minutes !!
VintageRoyal Cardholder

God where do I start? lol I'm gonna keep it short and simple if u have a steady income I say go for it. I wasn't sure if I was gonna be approve for it but of course credit karma said my odds were very good! So I applied and got approved! Recommend if your score is (690 or something or lower not a %100 sure) mines was 709 when I applied for it! Just knowing that u have extra money on stand by to spend! And their minimums is only $35 month if I'm not mistaken but it's always good to pay extra on your due date ! I say only use 25-30% of whatever they start u off with. Some people do it for the points (after u spend $1,000 in your first 3 months) (they give you 10,000 and points and when u make 20 purchases u get double the points , still new to it) but other than that use it wisely or if u want to spoil yourself like i did haha! I love American Express so far hopefully one day I will get that gold card next!

more ...
Jan 21, 2017
I love this card!!!
SummerWoods Cardholder

I've been wanting an America Express but have been hesitant to apply because I'm working on my credit. All my friends have an American Express and swears by this card. Credit Karma gave me a "very good" chance for approval. I had a 680 TU, 640 EQ, 668 EX score, and I had a bankruptcy in 2009. I applied and was approved for a 5k Credit limit! I was so happy. Also, American Express pulls from your Experian report. I'm now a proud American Express card holder! 

more ...
Jan 21, 2017
2 for 2
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied 2 months ago and was approved for the Blue Cash Amex Card. Tr 648 Eq 656.  To date there is no hit on my credit for the inquiry. I just applied for the Amex Everday and recieved the note to call an 800 number to verify address. Then instant approval. Tr 666 Eq 656 So far my experience with the Blue Cash Card has been good. I've received my rewards in a timely manner and my balance transfer process went smooth and quick.  I'm hoping for the same experience with the Amex Everyday card. 

FYI, CK had me at very good odds for the Blue card and when I used the prequalification application, Blue was the card that came up. However, the Amex Everyday card did not come up when I did the prequalification form today before applying. CK had me at good odds of approval. 

more ...
Jan 21, 2017
Excited to have this one.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been trying to apply for an amercian express card for the past year. I have been denied immeditaly for every card I have applied for. My TU is 669 and my Equifax is 661. These scores have been in the same range since I started to apply for Amex. My credit utilization is at about 23% with quite a few inquieries on my report within the past year as well. I finally saw I had good approval odds for this card, so I went for it even though I didnt think I would be approved. Turns out, I was approved right away! My CL is sort of low, $500, but it is a start. I am so exctied to have this card and use its rewards. I felt so good about myself after getting this one approved, I decided to apply for the Delta Skymiles card, which I had very good approval odds for. That application was in progress for the past few days since you can only apply for one credit card every 5 days with Amex. I called this morning to find out the status of this card, and the man told me I was approved for $1000 and my card would be expedited to me! YAY! Always got declined and now I have 2 AMEX! So happy about this. Very happy about the rewards I will earn as well. 

more ...
Jan 20, 2017
Officially Approved!!
Tamiii Cardholder

Applied 1/20/16 @ 11:45pm..approved 20 seconds later.

CreditKarma Scores:677/673

Amex Approval: 1k

Annual Income: 100k

Happy to be approved, will call back after receiving card for possible increase.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 21, 2017

Hello Tamiii.
Need advice..my CK scores are 678 & 688...but it says i have a poor chance....Why
I have great factors per CK

 
Jan 20, 2017
Surprised!
Anonymous Cardholder

American Express usually has a very strong reputation of being unforgiving when coming to negative history on credit reports. I have a discharged bankruptcy from 2014, no collections and perfect payment history since the BK. I make $110k yearly and I was approved with Amex for 5k. Cards are as follows: Cap1 Quiksilver Signature - $5400; SunTrust Travel - $3,500, CU Card - $15k, Discover It - $2,500. Excited to have Amex onboard to replace the Discover. 

more ...
Jan 19, 2017
Deceiving rewards program.
mlc1311bcc Cardholder

Unless you use the reward points on airline tickets you need 1670 points to get $10.00 credit instead of 1000 points on other cards.

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
AMEX = worth the effort
KnowNos Cardholder

Approved 16 Jan, 2017 with 747 Experian, 684 TU and 677 Efax for $2K CL / $1.5K $ @ 17.89%.  Semi-retired.  SS and rental income $17K and ~ $17K biz income.  Credit rebuild 'project initiated July 2016. (low 500's 7/16).  Capital One $300 card added in July, used paid steady thru 12/17.  Bumped to $400 CL in Dec.  Applied Discover It 12/31/16 > approved for $4K CL & $2K.  Applied for AMEX 'Everyday' AFTER going to AMEX site & using their 'soft inquiry' process to see if I'd pre-qualify...successfully.  Applied as assured of approval.  Even w/a charge off of AMEX Platinum from a crash and burn Y2000 startup dissolution, divorce, and subsequent some hard times. Whenin doubt about, check to see if CC .co has a pre-qualify app/process and don't 'waste' a hard inquiry and rejection when you can 'know' BEFORE you apply that you will be approved.  Be smart.  Be patient.  Keep your numbers below 9% utilization.  You can do this.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,696
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express

462 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i