The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
447 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express has plenty of rewards-earning potential.

What to Like

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express is a great card for accumulating rewards on everyday purchases. Cardholders can get 2x points at U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1x), along with a one-time bonus of 10,000 points after spending $1,000 on eligible purchases in the first three months of membership. 

Look Out For

This card has a penalty APR that applies for at least six months after a late payment, so it’s important to stay on-time with your payments.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 05, 2017
I am shocked that I even got approved
Anonymous Cardholder

Credit Karma recommended this card to me and I thought to myself "Amex would never extend credit to me" but I was wrong. In 2010 I lost my job, depleted my savings, and destroyed my credit. However, now I have a good paying job, emergency savings up to 6 months, and I have somewhat recovered from my credit mess. My Experian is at a 634 FICO, Equifax is at 622 FICO, and Transunion is also 634 FICO (these are actual FICO scores not the estimates you get from Credit Karma). My credit consists of a paid judgement, 4 unpaid collections from 2010 (due to fall off this year), 3 chargeoff accounts from 2010, 6 credit cards in good standing and over 2 years old average, 4 paid unsecured loans in good standing, 1 open auto loan in good standing, 2 student loans currently in good standing but delinquent in 2010, 20 credit inquiries almost 2 years old now (yes 20...I know I know), 2 turtle doves, and a partridge in a pear tree......As you can see, my credit is not all that great and I expected to get a denial or a message saying they would review my application and get back to me within 7 to 10 days, but instead I got an instant approval. I was only approved for a $1,000 credit line and $750.00 balance transfer but, as promised, the card came with 0% purchases and balance transfers for 1 year. So if you think your score is too low and your credit might be too crappy for Amex to approve you, compare it to mine and try it. 

Other points I didn't mention above are:

- Total credit limit on all currently open cards: $15,000

- Total balance on all open cards: $1,050

- Auto loan original balance: $12,653 | Current balance: $7234

- Student loan original balances: 1) $3,500 and 2) $2,000 | Current balance: 1) $1,200 and 2) $500

- Annual income $50,000

- Average age of accounts 3 years

- Total age of credit history 8 years

So far no complaints. Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 09, 2016
Great Card. But...
hawthorneboi Cardholder

I applied for the card about 4 months ago just to take advantage of the perks it "comes" with. Sign up bonus. Met. Did I get it. Nope. 0% apr on purchases and balance transfers for the first 12 months was a pretty **** good perk as well plus the fact that it was AE a very well respected card player. I am happy with the card but not happy with being swindled out of the perks (sad deal) maybe my credit was not quite good enough to push me over the hump. Ill be optimistic keep the card, make my payments on time and sit back and hope that one day soon an AE represenative reads this and reaches out to me ;-) . Not only reach out to me but get me my **** perks they promised!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 27, 2017
My 1st Amex Card.
Robert4967 Cardholder

Applied for this Card earlier this Yr. Was approved for it Real quick. Started out with a 1k cl.  I now have the Blue Card and well Thank-you Amex..

more ...
Mar 24, 2017
ORGAZMIC
ninez Cardholder

Credit karma said my odds were "good" compared to the "very good" on the Amex bce. Got 10,000 with a 734! The bce card only gave me 500??????? Either way I love American Express 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 26, 2017

You can always call them and have them readjust your credit limit on the BCE and move some of the limit to your Amex Everyday.

 
Mar 22, 2017
758 credit score, approved for $10,000
shiloh90 Cardholder

758 credit score, approved for $10,000, application was very easy and recieved card in 3 days

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
American Express is great
aboaz628 Cardholder

I applied for this card 2 weeks after applying and being approved for the Amex Blue Card. I waited the mandatory 5 days, and was just approved for the everyday card as well. They check Experian, which is currently at 690, 0% utilization, and 90K income. American express is the way to go, if you are weary of your chances, call the applicaiton number, and they are happy to help and usually work with you to get it approved. Very happy to have 2 Amex cards in my wallet, will no longer need any others. 

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Amex family
Mzvirg0 Cardholder

Ck said my odds for this card were very good. Applied and was instantly approved for a $1600 cl. Expected more but that works for me. I also have the Amex plenti card and my cl started at $3000 so to hold 3 Amex cards is a plus for me. TU 690, EF 735

more ...
Mar 19, 2017
not honest
Henry136 Cardholder

Amex does not honor the sign up bonus I applied got approved did over $1000 in 3 month and the say they don't see a sign up bonus on their end amex not fair business first time I have such a story with a credit card company

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 27, 2017

Call?

 
Mar 19, 2017
Approved, but Not Instantly.
PatmanBegins Cardholder

CK rated this as a Good chance for approval. My scores were ranged in the high 600s, very close to 700 mark. I have 3 small medical collection, under $3k total. 2 CC accounts; CapOne and BofA. 100% On time payment, and 7% Utilization. Income is 40K. I applied, did not get approved instantly. Said that I'll be notified. Within an hour, I got an email saying I was approved for 1k. Good enough for me. Happy to get my foot in the door with Amex.

more ...
Mar 19, 2017
Got this and blue cash everyday
snhay3 Cardholder

Applied for blue cash everyday card with "good" odds. 637 tu/640 eq via ck. 80k income. Was approved for $1000. Decent enough as I'm rebuilding credit. Applied for amex everyday 3 days later (found you need to wait at least 5) with "fair" odds and was approved for $5000. Glad for the opportunity to responsibly use their product as Amex is a large player. They use experian and I'm not sure of my score there. Hope for this to be a long relationship. Received blue cash card and waiting on everyday card. Would like to take advantage of initial rewards offered.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017

Go online at Amex.com and you can move your credit limit over to your blue cash if you wish that's what I did

 
Mar 20, 2017

Sweet. I may do that when I receive the card and spend my 1k sign up bonus for 3 months. Would I get 2 with 5k limit or just the one.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,696
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express

447 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i