The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
314 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express has plenty of rewards-earning potential.

What to Like

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express is a great card for accumulating rewards on everyday purchases. Cardholders can get 2x points at U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1x), along with a one-time bonus of 10,000 points after spending $1,000 on eligible purchases in the first three months of membership. 

Look Out For

This card has a penalty APR that applies for at least six months after a late payment, so it’s important to stay on-time with your payments.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 05, 2017
I am shocked that I even got approved
Anonymous Cardholder

Credit Karma recommended this card to me and I thought to myself "Amex would never extend credit to me" but I was wrong. In 2010 I lost my job, depleted my savings, and destroyed my credit. However, now I have a good paying job, emergency savings up to 6 months, and I have somewhat recovered from my credit mess. My Experian is at a 634 FICO, Equifax is at 622 FICO, and Transunion is also 634 FICO (these are actual FICO scores not the estimates you get from Credit Karma). My credit consists of a paid judgement, 4 unpaid collections from 2010 (due to fall off this year), 3 chargeoff accounts from 2010, 6 credit cards in good standing and over 2 years old average, 4 paid unsecured loans in good standing, 1 open auto loan in good standing, 2 student loans currently in good standing but delinquent in 2010, 20 credit inquiries almost 2 years old now (yes 20...I know I know), 2 turtle doves, and a partridge in a pear tree......As you can see, my credit is not all that great and I expected to get a denial or a message saying they would review my application and get back to me within 7 to 10 days, but instead I got an instant approval. I was only approved for a $1,000 credit line and $750.00 balance transfer but, as promised, the card came with 0% purchases and balance transfers for 1 year. So if you think your score is too low and your credit might be too crappy for Amex to approve you, compare it to mine and try it. 

Other points I didn't mention above are:

- Total credit limit on all currently open cards: $15,000

- Total balance on all open cards: $1,050

- Auto loan original balance: $12,653 | Current balance: $7234

- Student loan original balances: 1) $3,500 and 2) $2,000 | Current balance: 1) $1,200 and 2) $500

- Annual income $50,000

- Average age of accounts 3 years

- Total age of credit history 8 years

So far no complaints. Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 30, 2017
Bjul2882 Cardholder

Approved for 15K last year. Used in April 2017 for a $4K purchase. Amex dropped my credit limit instantly to 5K which boomeranged my credit score from 720 to 615 because of debt to ratio changed. Have 4 years of 100% paying on time.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 16, 2017
Wow, I'm so surprised!
jeffdoyle Cardholder

I've been working on my credit for a very long time. It's been stuck at 650 forever, and a few months ago for some reason went down to 600. 3 months ago I applied for the chase freedom while my score was 630 and they gave me a $500 credit limit. I've been wanting to apply for this card for a very long time and I wish I would of done this card over the chase freedom card because to my surprise I was approved for $8,000 today!!!! My credit score is 667 today. If you are thinking about doing this card, just do it!

more ...
Aug 17, 2017

Yeah, my Equifax FICO is 670, transition FICO 623, Experian FICO 630 - I was denied. They check against Experian. CK said I had very good chances of approval. I have a BK from 7 years ago.

 
Aug 18, 2017

my Experian FICO is 698...I was approved but only for 1k. what's your highest limit on all of your cards?

 
Aug 18, 2017

How much is your gross annual income? That seems to be a big factor on the limit they'll approve you for for all CCs.

 
Aug 13, 2017
Good Entry Level Amex Card
Wanderingshoes Cardholder

Was an authorized user for 6 months before I applied for this on my own. Got approved with a $1K Credit Limit. First month, I paid off everything before the due date. I had multiple payments showing and reached $1,500 in spending that first month. Second month, I used the card overseas, charged about $4k to the card but always paid whenever I made a purchase so the ending statement showed $3.99 due to a pending purchase. A week after the final statement of the second month, I applied for a CLI and got approved for $3k. About 2 weeks later, I applied for a Gold Premier Rewards Card and was also approved.

Any issues I had, wrong spelling of my name on the card, fixing the name on the website account, or any queries I may have were answered via live chat or when they couldn't solve it was solved via a phone conversation with their customer rep. 

I'm only giving it 4 stars because there are still places, especially when traveling overseas where Amex isn't accepted. I do have backup cards but the non-acceptance does get inconvenient at times.

more ...
Aug 12, 2017
Interesting
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been trying to improve my credit for the last few years. It has gone from a 510 to a 660 so I guess I'm doing a good job. Earlier this year I applied for a Chase Freedom Card and a Discover and was approved for both. However, this card has been a card I have wanted for a long time.  I would start the application but never finish it. I was really worried about taking a hit in my credit score. But I finally finished it today and was approved. I liked this card over the Amex Cash card because of the versatility in point usage. I will update later when I get the card and start using it. I went to the Amex website and checked if I was prequalified on their site and I was prequalified for the Green card, Cash and this one. I chose this one and hopefully I dont regret it later. 

more ...
Aug 06, 2017
False Advertising.
Anonymous Cardholder

When I applied for the Amex EveryDay Credit Card, I saw that it had low interest rates on a Balance Trasfer.  This is a lie, this card Does NOT allow balance trasfers.  I've thrown the Amex Card in my Safe, but will NEVER use it. There is NO Customer Service Live Chat or Messaging to Customer Service Option like on my Favorite Discover Card. Don't wast your time on Amex.  If they lie about a simple Balance Transfer, I'm curious what eles the are hiding?

more ...
Aug 08, 2017

Hmm. I 'Live Chat / Message' with them all the time. Never had an issue.

 
Aug 13, 2017

I live chat and call them on the phone when I have issues. Longest wait I had was 10 seconds before customer rep answered the phone.

 
Aug 05, 2017
Awesome
Fidel444 Cardholder

I applied for this card on the recommendation of Credit Karma with a FICO Scores of 673 645 650.   To my surprise I was approved for a 5k credit line needless to say I'm very happy.   I've been working on my credit this past year and if someone told I'd be approved for AMEX 6 months I wouldn't have believed them.   I'll continue to work on my scores.   If your like me apprehensive on apply for fears of being denied don't be.    Good luck!  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 09, 2017

Why so different than the opinion above your opinion above yours

 
Aug 02, 2017
vango420 Cardholder

They cancelled the balance transfer and tried sticking me with the fee

more ...
Aug 01, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Nice

more ...
Jul 31, 2017
Great card for homeowners
Kphilip Cardholder

Great card for rewards which add up fast. I had good not great credit and have always been a cash and carry after some big bumps from my first marriage. This was the first real card ( decent APR) I applied for and was instantly approved with a 5000 limit. Great rewards and best point to dollar redemption is Home Depot! 10,000 points = $100 GC. So since I do not use credit I use it for purchases wherever they accept AMEX and pay the balance at end of month. Dinged my credit for 2-3 points from hard inquiry. Now I will admit I have the corp AMEX as well but even though we go through a credit check to get it they did not report but I am able to rack up points so it helps to cover those unexpected catastrophes like when a water heater or washing machine goes out. Covered the cost of both and a new dishwasher. Definitely recommend this card. 

more ...
Aug 01, 2017

Can you tell me if I have to pay the full amount each month or only the minimum payment? Thanks

 
Aug 02, 2017

This card only requires the minimum payment. It is an Amex credit card.
Amex charge cards require full balance (unless you choose the pay over time option).

 
Jul 31, 2017
Good card
SoCalCred Cardholder

I've had this card for a few months now, and I don't hate the card.  I haven't had any issues with the card not being accpeted.  The points are added farily quickly, and I like that my online account shows all cards on my account.  American Express seems to be a fairly good company.

more ...
Jul 30, 2017
Bjul2882 Cardholder

Had 15K credit limit never late never missed payment.Just because i didnt use card for 6 months dropped my credit limit way down to were it looked like i was maxed out on my line of credit which brought my credit score way down. Beware of Amex and large purchases.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,696
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express

314 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i