The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
266 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 23.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 15, 2017
Great Card
JiuJitsuislife Cardholder

Applied for this card and was approved for $1k a year ago. After using the card on a regular basis and making regular payments (about 3-5 per month) my credit limit was increased to $3k in just 6 months. Continued using the card on a regular basis, making payments on a regular basis and today 6 months after my initial increase, AMEX increased my limit by $6k. I now have a $9k credit limit! My score when i applied for this card was about 650 and since then has increased to about 730 in one year.

Great card, use regularly and make more than the minimum payment and your limit and credit scores will increase. AMEX has no limits on the amount of times you can make payments. This has helped me tremendously. I would recommend even if you have a very low limit, make a payment as soon as that charge reflects on your account. You dont have to wait until your statement appears in the mail. Stay on top of making those payments and your limit and scores might increase. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 30, 2017
Bjul2882 Cardholder

Approved for 15K last year. Used in April 2017 for a $4K purchase. Amex dropped my credit limit instantly to 5K which boomeranged my credit score from 720 to 615 because of debt to ratio changed. Have 4 years of 100% paying on time.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 14, 2017
Love the benefits!
Gummiebearluv Cardholder

Hubby did quick (1 min) or less app online. First Amex card and approved $10,000 CL and no annual fee. 0% interest thru March 2019. Cards came in less than a week for both of us. Amex pulled from Experian, 707 score

more ...
Nov 13, 2017
Great Rewards Credit Card !
QueenTash Cardholder

This was my second credit card. My score was 597 on both Transunion and Equifax with a Fair approval rating upon applying. They approved me for a $500 limit. No annual fee and no APR for the first year. You get points for every use which can be used for just about anything. Your credit limit increases on its own or upon request. I think this is a great credit card to have. Its my first rewards credit card and I can not be more pleased.

more ...
Nov 07, 2017
User Beware -Increasing Minimum Payments
nomadnoor Cardholder

I got this card easily with a 740+ credit score.  However, I noticed the minimum payments increasing from $55 dollars to over now $150+ a month. I chatted with customer service to ask why as my experience with my credit card through USAA is not the same - the minimum payment has never increased in all the years I have had the card.  I am HIGHLY disappointed at the way American Express has misled me and probably other credit consumers.  Do not get this card.  

more ...
Oct 27, 2017
Love the rewards
Anonymous Cardholder

The rewards are great I also have the preferred blue cash card highly recommend both cards

more ...
Oct 16, 2017
BS!only allows 1 balance transfer
Akmm Cardholder

Only a 5k. Limit so transferred high rate card paid off then wanted to transfer again to pay off higher interest card & they wouldn't allow it even though it says 12 months no interest for ALL transfers even though you pay 3% on transfer

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 18, 2017

Not true, I made 2 balance transfers within a 30 day period.

 
Oct 14, 2017
So far, so good.

This is my first American Express card. I was a bit  nervous because many reviews discussed not being able to use the card widely. So far, I haven't had an experience where my American Express card wasn't excepted. Still need to meet minimum spends in order to get bonus offer.

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Not stingy with limits .
ElMae Cardholder

I started out with this as my first actual credit card I only had a Macy’s store card prior to this card . I had a score of 681 when I applied expecting to get approved for a very low limit . I received a 2,000 limit from the start .Not amazing comparatively , but definitely gives you flexibility . After about 6 months of owning this card my credit score had risen to 720. I continued to charge more than I should , but I make payments of $500 a month to my card and they seem to be satisfied with the rate at which I was paying it off so they then raised my limit to 2800 and 4 months later to 5800. So within about a year I’ve been given almost a 4,000 dollar increase without requesting it once. I’ll admit I don’t pay it off in full I’m a student just out of college and I’m a bit irresponsible with my money , but I also pay $500 a month to the card almost consistently and occasionally when I have an extra 1,000 dollars I pay that to the card as well . I think they reward people who take it seriously. I don’t just spend and try to get by on the minimum payments I’m actively trying to pay them back 1,000 every 2 months . I know people have said Amex is fickle on things like limits and declining transactions , but I’ve never had this happen and I do get close to my limits . They have a helpful tool that allows you to check ahead of time if you are approved to the spend the money ? I mean how easy is that ? Before I go out to dinner I just open my Amex app put in a higher number than I intend to spend they let me know I’m good to go and I enjoy my dinner. I guess some people don’t want to be bothered with checking and some people are in a different station in life where they can’t be bothered but a decline would be embarrassing I would think . They are just such an efficient company and owning an Amex is just very little stress you just know you are able to always count on it . I have a Chase card which won’t raise my limit which is fine I understand . Amex is not stingy with limits . I know 5800 isn’t much to some people , but it’s enough for me right now .

more ...
Oct 21, 2017

It's interesting to me that they must approve purchases. This is the first I've ever heard of that.

 
Oct 21, 2017

That's not what the check spending tool is for. It's used to see how much, if any, you may spend over your credit limit.

 
Oct 10, 2017
Good reward bonus
Jarhead2700 Cardholder

Card has a really great bonus. You can recieve 15000 if someone invites you to apply; they would also recieve 15000 so win win. If you make 20 transactions in a period you earn an extra 20% on your points for the month. The only drawback is not everywhere accepts the card so it's hard to reach 20 transactions.

more ...
Oct 03, 2017
Sec2nd Cardholder

Nice start. ..I applied for the card to help my credit ratio.now I'm afraid to use the card after all the horrible reviews of the card issuers may reduced credit limit..

more ...
Oct 03, 2017

Do right by your card, and it'll do right by you, regardless of what others say. :)

 
Oct 07, 2017

I have 3 Amex credit cards and 1 Amex charge card. I have never had a problem. I use my cards and make my payments on time.

 
Oct 23, 2017

AmEx is a great company. They approved me in 2013 when citi & chase showed a**. I have two cards . I would recommend use 10+ transactions every month of 30%-40% and make on time payments few days before your due date. Your credit limit will multiple by 200-300% within six months. GL!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,696
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The Amex EveryDay® Credit Card from American Express

266 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i