Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
576 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express is a great card for getting cash back on everyday purchases.

What to Like

$100 statement credit after you spend $1,000 in purchases on your new Card within the first 3 months. The Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express offers 3% cash back at U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1%), 2% at U.S. gas stations and 1% cash back everywhere else

Look Out For

This card has a penalty APR that applies for at least six months after a late payment, so it’s important to stay on-time with your payments.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 08, 2017
Things To Consider Before Applying
SharkieClarkie Cardholder

This is an update from my prior review back in March 2017. I hope this review would help those that are considering applying for the Amex BCE. Now while this is one of the hardest cards to get an approval, note that, once you get approved for it, it is packed with great rewards and bonuses that will save you more money in the long term. When I orignally gotten an approval for the card, my CK credit scores were at 662, but my FICO score at the tme of application was at 742. So for those thinking about applying, please remember to check the following first so you do not waste a hard inquiry.

- Length of credit history 6 mos and longer ( if any of you have a high credit score from CK but if the length of your credit history is less than 6 mos old. you would need to wait and age your account until your reach 6 mos. and more)

- AMEX likes thin files with no missed payments (during the time of application)

- No Baddies or deregatories on your file

- Is your FICO score specifically with Experian at least within 690's and over, since AMEX tends to pull the reports from them "MAJORITY" of the time. I say 690 is the absolute guarantee of an approval with the best sign up bonuses and interests. Anything less than that, then you are looking at a lower SL and no sign up bonuses. 

I hope this breakdown would help some of you, I am sharing this because I have went through it, applied, got denied, without realizing that I needed to age my accounts for 6 mos. and longer to have an actual FICO score, but I did not wait and I wasted an inquiry. I suggest using your approval odds as your motivation, but check for those factors before you apply to ensure success in getting an approval. My current FICO score from Experian is 721 and I am gardening to get that back up again to where I used to be or higher. But overall, my experience with American Express has been amazing. Their sign up bonuse of getting $100 back if you spend $1000 in the first quarter of your membership saved me a $100 on a new TV that I bought. I also get %10 cashback when I use it for dining at restaurants, and more cashback bonuses when being used wisely. I am very happy and content with the AMEX BCE and back in April they reconsidered by original application for the AMEX Green card and approved me for it as well. So if you applied and did not get an instant approval. Call the reconsideration line and you might get suprised. I hope this thread helps. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 18, 2016
Trouble
brob757 Cardholder

If you pay off your balance be careful as this credit card has trailing interest. I've never had to pay any such thing on any of my credit cards before. It seems sneaky to me. I paid off the entire balance on my card and they charged me $1.47 in interest on the next month's statement. They have sent me a statement every month regardless of whether I had a balance or not since I received this card so thinking my entire balance was paid, I did not pay any attention to them. I had no idea there was a $1.47 balance on my card. After 60 days, with no email, no phone calls etc, they cancelled my account. I received a notification through mail. So, I called AMEX customer service and was informed there was an unusually high cash volume so I could wait or call back tomorrow. I went through this three times on the way to work, the system hung up on me each time. Finally, later that day, I was able to talk to someone. Ask yourself, if you have an important question about your account, do you really want to have to wait half a day to be able to reach someone?

Anyways, the lady on the phone was very nice. I explained to her that it was all a mistake, and I'd never missed a payment in 10 years of having the card and I thought it was silly to cancel a loyal customers account over a mistake that cost less than a gallon of gasoline. She went to work, and assured me that the charge was reversed, and, that my card was reinstated and also apologized for the confusion. She also reassured me that this was not going on my credit record and that I had no reason to worry. She told me I'd receive a letter in the mail letting me know whether a new card was being sent or the old one was simply reinstated.

I was very happy with the result and figured that it must have just fallen through the cracks. I figured they made a mistake, and the fact that this lady was so sweet and helpful made up for that. Except, I was dead wrong. I received a letter in the mail alright, except it was a notice that I was declined for account reinstatement. That was lie number one. That sweet lady on the phone was a liar. She told me my account had been reinstated. Lie number two was that it did indeed go on my credit record. I checked and there it was "60-89 days late"... She reassured me more than once that it would not go against my credit record...

Now let's get this straight. Over $1.47, or, the price you pay for things like milk, a candy bar, a soda, less than a gallon of gasoline, a bottle of windshield washer fluid, a spare key etc etc etc, not only did they Cancel my card that I'd held for 10 years, but they also screwed up my credit report... again, I've never missed a payment on any loan or card.... needles to say, I was less than happy... You would think if that $1.47 was so important to them that they would cancel my card and put a dent in my credit score, they could have sent an email or called, especially being that I have been a customer for some time now.

I tried logging on to view my account to see if the $1.47 had been removed but of course, again, there were technical difficulties. So, I called. I spoke to another lady who looked into it and verified that indeed I had been lied to. She told me that it was stated during my last interaction that my account was reinstated and the charges were wiped clean of my account. The lady was as nice as she could be but unfortunately, being that I was lied to once while being nice, I decided to take a more stern approach this time. I let her know that I do not appreciate being lied to and I do not appreciate the fact that now, thanks to American express and a mistake involving pocket change, I may end up having a strain on my credit record for a long time and end up having to pay higher interest on a car loan or a personal loan etc. I vowed to tell as many people as possible so here I am warning you to stay way from American express. They threw away a good customer for 10 years over less than the price of a candy bar. I know other people they have screwed up with as well. Protect yourself, do not sign up for their cards...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 24, 2017
Wow
Melj1636 Cardholder

I have a 602 and ck stated I had a "fair" chance. Applied and got approved! I'm amazed but it happens I guess. Haven't received card yet so I'll update in a month or so. 

more ...
Jul 23, 2017
Instantly approved
UNCLERYMAN Cardholder

Credit Karma recommended this card to me. I decided since I do not have a credit card that gives you reward points that I would go for it. I was instantly approved with a credit score of 700. My credit limit is only 2k but that is fine for now.

more ...
Jul 23, 2017
My third Amex card which i use for food
Captainhook56 Cardholder

$$$ no yearly fee and the money back is great

more ...
Jul 21, 2017
Love getting double points
Riamjj Cardholder

Real time info on WEBSITE, easy to use card and site, great customer service.

more ...
Jul 21, 2017
Lovin 0% APR for 12 months!
Gixxr750 Cardholder

On July 2nd I left a review of how fast I was approved, so now I return to share my exprience with using the card. I only had 1 merchant thus far, that did not accept AMEX. Other than that, I transferred over my balance from my Citi Card, it took all of 4 days. Has of now, I'm at a zero balance with my other cards. So, I pretty much use this card for everything! With a 0% APR for the next 12 months, it would be foolish not too! 

more ...
Jul 19, 2017
It only awards cash back for dining out.
Anonymous Cardholder

Literally, I'm only getting cash back rewards for restaurants and coffee shops purchases.

I have made huge purchases in Sears and never got a penny in cash back. Neither for pumping gas in several of the participating gas chains they have in their rewards program list.

When contacted the customer service department for an explanation, their answer made less sense than their own terms and conditions.

more ...
Jul 21, 2017

You'll get your rewards cash...it just takes time.

 
Jul 21, 2017

I think by the second or third statement you should see the earned cash back rewards If you want to maximize the cash back value of the card. Use it for groceries (3%), dept stores like Macy's and participating gas stations will give you 2% back.

 
Jul 19, 2017
Great Card for Everyday!
ArchersPapa Cardholder

I am currently rebuilding credit. TU 655, EXP 648. I applied based on a recommendation from CK and I was instantly Approved for 3k Limit. Definitely use if for everyday uses (Gas, Eating Out.) and pay it off asap. Definitely love the benefits of being an AMEX holder.

more ...
Jul 19, 2017
Great so far.

Per the credit report that came with the card, I have a score of 691 (using experian data, 741 on the transunion CK score).  I received a $10,000 CL which is by far the largest allowed to me.  So far their have been no issues with the card I really can't complain.  I will try and update later after more use.

more ...
Jul 17, 2017
Good
Anonymous Cardholder

Had this card for over a mount and noticed that it hasnt reported to any of my credit bureaus.

more ...
Jul 17, 2017

Same thing happened to me with Chase Sappire Preferred card...credit score took a small ding because it appeared I was denied (new inquiry with no resulting new card reporting) but then it began to report in the second month and my score self corrected.

 
Jul 20, 2017

same thing with me, close to 2 months now and still no report

 
Jul 24, 2017

Takes 90 days to report

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express

576 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i