Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
565 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 08, 2017
Things To Consider Before Applying
SharkieClarkie Cardholder

This is an update from my prior review back in March 2017. I hope this review would help those that are considering applying for the Amex BCE. Now while this is one of the hardest cards to get an approval, note that, once you get approved for it, it is packed with great rewards and bonuses that will save you more money in the long term. When I orignally gotten an approval for the card, my CK credit scores were at 662, but my FICO score at the tme of application was at 742. So for those thinking about applying, please remember to check the following first so you do not waste a hard inquiry.

- Length of credit history 6 mos and longer ( if any of you have a high credit score from CK but if the length of your credit history is less than 6 mos old. you would need to wait and age your account until your reach 6 mos. and more)

- AMEX likes thin files with no missed payments (during the time of application)

- No Baddies or deregatories on your file

- Is your FICO score specifically with Experian at least within 690's and over, since AMEX tends to pull the reports from them "MAJORITY" of the time. I say 690 is the absolute guarantee of an approval with the best sign up bonuses and interests. Anything less than that, then you are looking at a lower SL and no sign up bonuses. 

I hope this breakdown would help some of you, I am sharing this because I have went through it, applied, got denied, without realizing that I needed to age my accounts for 6 mos. and longer to have an actual FICO score, but I did not wait and I wasted an inquiry. I suggest using your approval odds as your motivation, but check for those factors before you apply to ensure success in getting an approval. My current FICO score from Experian is 721 and I am gardening to get that back up again to where I used to be or higher. But overall, my experience with American Express has been amazing. Their sign up bonuse of getting $100 back if you spend $1000 in the first quarter of your membership saved me a $100 on a new TV that I bought. I also get %10 cashback when I use it for dining at restaurants, and more cashback bonuses when being used wisely. I am very happy and content with the AMEX BCE and back in April they reconsidered by original application for the AMEX Green card and approved me for it as well. So if you applied and did not get an instant approval. Call the reconsideration line and you might get suprised. I hope this thread helps. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 18, 2016
Trouble
brob757 Cardholder

If you pay off your balance be careful as this credit card has trailing interest. I've never had to pay any such thing on any of my credit cards before. It seems sneaky to me. I paid off the entire balance on my card and they charged me $1.47 in interest on the next month's statement. They have sent me a statement every month regardless of whether I had a balance or not since I received this card so thinking my entire balance was paid, I did not pay any attention to them. I had no idea there was a $1.47 balance on my card. After 60 days, with no email, no phone calls etc, they cancelled my account. I received a notification through mail. So, I called AMEX customer service and was informed there was an unusually high cash volume so I could wait or call back tomorrow. I went through this three times on the way to work, the system hung up on me each time. Finally, later that day, I was able to talk to someone. Ask yourself, if you have an important question about your account, do you really want to have to wait half a day to be able to reach someone?

Anyways, the lady on the phone was very nice. I explained to her that it was all a mistake, and I'd never missed a payment in 10 years of having the card and I thought it was silly to cancel a loyal customers account over a mistake that cost less than a gallon of gasoline. She went to work, and assured me that the charge was reversed, and, that my card was reinstated and also apologized for the confusion. She also reassured me that this was not going on my credit record and that I had no reason to worry. She told me I'd receive a letter in the mail letting me know whether a new card was being sent or the old one was simply reinstated.

I was very happy with the result and figured that it must have just fallen through the cracks. I figured they made a mistake, and the fact that this lady was so sweet and helpful made up for that. Except, I was dead wrong. I received a letter in the mail alright, except it was a notice that I was declined for account reinstatement. That was lie number one. That sweet lady on the phone was a liar. She told me my account had been reinstated. Lie number two was that it did indeed go on my credit record. I checked and there it was "60-89 days late"... She reassured me more than once that it would not go against my credit record...

Now let's get this straight. Over $1.47, or, the price you pay for things like milk, a candy bar, a soda, less than a gallon of gasoline, a bottle of windshield washer fluid, a spare key etc etc etc, not only did they Cancel my card that I'd held for 10 years, but they also screwed up my credit report... again, I've never missed a payment on any loan or card.... needles to say, I was less than happy... You would think if that $1.47 was so important to them that they would cancel my card and put a dent in my credit score, they could have sent an email or called, especially being that I have been a customer for some time now.

I tried logging on to view my account to see if the $1.47 had been removed but of course, again, there were technical difficulties. So, I called. I spoke to another lady who looked into it and verified that indeed I had been lied to. She told me that it was stated during my last interaction that my account was reinstated and the charges were wiped clean of my account. The lady was as nice as she could be but unfortunately, being that I was lied to once while being nice, I decided to take a more stern approach this time. I let her know that I do not appreciate being lied to and I do not appreciate the fact that now, thanks to American express and a mistake involving pocket change, I may end up having a strain on my credit record for a long time and end up having to pay higher interest on a car loan or a personal loan etc. I vowed to tell as many people as possible so here I am warning you to stay way from American express. They threw away a good customer for 10 years over less than the price of a candy bar. I know other people they have screwed up with as well. Protect yourself, do not sign up for their cards...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 23, 2017
AMERICAN EXPRESS BLUE CASH EVERYDAY
swsbrz Cardholder

Had to rate it 5 star, tried to leave a 2 star review but CK won't post it...just a screne showing a circle.....yeah this card it absolutely disappointing. Great credit here with 

very low limit offered. Hard to take advantage of the rewards with $500  My highest limit is $7500 on a saphire. 

more ...
Nov 23, 2017
AMERICAN EXPRESS BLUE CASH EVERYDAY
swsbrz Cardholder

I was approved for a very disappointing CL of $500 I have a Saphire card with $7500 15x higher than amex, go figure. 

Very difficult to reap the rewards with such a low limit. Had an introductory offer of $100 credit after spending $1000....would 

have had to max it then pay it a couple times in a short period. 

I've had and made 4 payments so far, never over $200 balence and paid in full. I will give it 6-8 months then cancell if 

no cli. Good luck with this one.

more ...
Nov 23, 2017
AMERICAN EXPRESS BLUE CASH EVERYDAY
swsbrz Cardholder

I have great credit history and biggest CL is Chase Saphire with $7500 limit. 

I was approved for AMEX BLUE CASH EVERYDAY for a lousy $500?? Hard to 

reap the rewards with such a low limit, since I've already taken the HP point decreese

I figured I will give it 6-8 months and if I do not recieve a decent CLI I will just cancell it. 

I've had it 4 months now and never above $200 balence and paid in full all four times....

good luck with this one.

more ...
Nov 21, 2017
YAAAAY I GOT APPROVED FOR MY DREAM CARD
smcbean954 Cardholder

So my friend posted a link for a pre-approval for AMEX and i decided just to try and see because a pre-approval doesnt hurt scores and i was shocked to see that i was pre-approved omg i was sooooooo scared to apply but i did anyways because i only had two inquiries on Experian and i said to myself i will never get approved for a AMEX and BOOM i was approved for 500CL and very small limit but im so happy becuase this was my DREAM CARD 

more ...
Nov 21, 2017

Way to go! You're in with Amex. The beauty of being with AmEx is the ability to apply for their other products without a hard pull (at least that's what its been for me). Treat the card responsibly and it will grow.

 
Nov 22, 2017

Thank for sharing, love Amex!

 
Nov 21, 2017
Unusable
BobbyJTX Cardholder

Although I have an excellent FICO score and only 4% utilization, I was approved for only a $1000 credit limit. Even after 18 months, Amex won't even hear of a credit line increase. Their only reason is that they claim I haven't had the account open long enough. I keep my utilization low, so this card is pretty much useless for me. The perks are great, but not so much if the card is only worthy of occupying my sock drawer.

more ...
Nov 20, 2017
Awesome!
kf4sci Cardholder

Third card from Amex over the years. Customer service can’t be beat and they have some excellent benefits as well. The application is quick & easy. Managing your account online is great and instant! I wore out my card & they had one at my house the next day!

more ...
Nov 20, 2017
Don’t apply based on your CK odds!!!
inoa05 Cardholder

If you're considering applying for this card based on your approval odds from CK don't! AMEX checks your FICO score and doesn't pull from Transunion or Equifax, so to say the creditkarma approval odds are inaccurate is an understatement. I suggest checking your Experian score and most important, check if you have pre approved offers from AMEX before applying.

My review/experience so far..
 When I applied for the Blue Cash Everyday my FICO score was somewhere around 740s-750s. I was approved and decided to apply for the Everyday Card at the same time, I was approved as well and they only counted as one inquiry so that's great! I received my cards roughly a week later via FEDEX overnight, included was my Experian score and report.

A few things I like/dislike so far..

 I like AMEX gives high starting limits and a 3X CLI after 60 days of opening the account. I like they give its members access to their FICO 8 score. The rewards aren’t rotating categories but the cash dollars updates at the end of each statement and you can only redeem in increments of $25. I let it build up anyway so that doesn’t bother me.

 So far I’ve only had 1 merchant that did not accept AMEX and being a large purchase it was disappointing, I ended up paying with a MC instead. Customer service seems to be outsourced, some agents have a strong accent and can be hard to understand at times but they're very friendly, courteous and try hard to make it right and fix whatever issue you might have. It takes about 2 months to start reporting on creditkarma, then reports 1 month late but eventually reports on time. Creditkarma is great for what it is, a free service. I don’t rely on it 100% and have a premium subscription with a reputable company that gives all 3 bureau score/report that updates in real time and so much more. 

more ...
Nov 18, 2017
Easy approval but surprisingly small CL
Tjaco Cardholder

Applied with 727 TU (actual not ck) 720 equifax (actual not Ck) and 748 Experian which is what they actually pulled. I have short credit history (7 months) with no derogs or collections and a tremendous amount of income   Was surprisingly only approved with a 500 cl. I do have other cards that carry a 0 balance so this may have something to do with it. I guess I’ll know a little more about this card in a few months. Approval was surprisingly quick and easy. I’d definitely say this has its perks and should be worth it if I can get a decent cli. 

more ...
Nov 18, 2017
Awesome
Jayzel68 Cardholder

Applied for the card in July 2016. Had a credit score of 720+. Was given a limit of $10,000 after a brief request from my employer. After 6 months, they automatically upped m to $14,200. Even better. after a month, I ordered a gold Galaxy s6 phone from an online company. The shipper left it in front of my door 10 minutes after I left for work. By the time I got home, it was stolen, I remembered Amex had theft protection. I went to the police departmant 2 blocks aways and filed a police report and faxed it to Amex. Within a week of the theft, they removed the charge from my card. I also earned $250 for spending a thousand within 3 months and had 0% APR for the first year as well as 3% cash back at supermarkets. 

Awesome to say the least. I have earned so much from Amex...

more ...
Nov 19, 2017

How did you get $250 when the highest offer for this card I've seen is $200 through referral?

 
Nov 21, 2017

Last year. Maybe they lowered it. I'll send the statement if you want...

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express

565 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i