Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
588 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express is a great card for getting cash back on everyday purchases.

What to Like

$150  statement credit after you spend $1,000 in purchases on your new Card within the first 3 months. The Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express offers 3% cash back at U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1%), 2% at U.S. gas stations and 1% cash back everywhere else

Look Out For

This card has a penalty APR that applies for at least six months after a late payment, so it’s important to stay on-time with your payments.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 08, 2017
Things To Consider Before Applying
SharkieClarkie Cardholder

This is an update from my prior review back in March 2017. I hope this review would help those that are considering applying for the Amex BCE. Now while this is one of the hardest cards to get an approval, note that, once you get approved for it, it is packed with great rewards and bonuses that will save you more money in the long term. When I orignally gotten an approval for the card, my CK credit scores were at 662, but my FICO score at the tme of application was at 742. So for those thinking about applying, please remember to check the following first so you do not waste a hard inquiry.

- Length of credit history 6 mos and longer ( if any of you have a high credit score from CK but if the length of your credit history is less than 6 mos old. you would need to wait and age your account until your reach 6 mos. and more)

- AMEX likes thin files with no missed payments (during the time of application)

- No Baddies or deregatories on your file

- Is your FICO score specifically with Experian at least within 690's and over, since AMEX tends to pull the reports from them "MAJORITY" of the time. I say 690 is the absolute guarantee of an approval with the best sign up bonuses and interests. Anything less than that, then you are looking at a lower SL and no sign up bonuses. 

I hope this breakdown would help some of you, I am sharing this because I have went through it, applied, got denied, without realizing that I needed to age my accounts for 6 mos. and longer to have an actual FICO score, but I did not wait and I wasted an inquiry. I suggest using your approval odds as your motivation, but check for those factors before you apply to ensure success in getting an approval. My current FICO score from Experian is 721 and I am gardening to get that back up again to where I used to be or higher. But overall, my experience with American Express has been amazing. Their sign up bonuse of getting $100 back if you spend $1000 in the first quarter of your membership saved me a $100 on a new TV that I bought. I also get %10 cashback when I use it for dining at restaurants, and more cashback bonuses when being used wisely. I am very happy and content with the AMEX BCE and back in April they reconsidered by original application for the AMEX Green card and approved me for it as well. So if you applied and did not get an instant approval. Call the reconsideration line and you might get suprised. I hope this thread helps. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 18, 2016
Trouble
brob757 Cardholder

If you pay off your balance be careful as this credit card has trailing interest. I've never had to pay any such thing on any of my credit cards before. It seems sneaky to me. I paid off the entire balance on my card and they charged me $1.47 in interest on the next month's statement. They have sent me a statement every month regardless of whether I had a balance or not since I received this card so thinking my entire balance was paid, I did not pay any attention to them. I had no idea there was a $1.47 balance on my card. After 60 days, with no email, no phone calls etc, they cancelled my account. I received a notification through mail. So, I called AMEX customer service and was informed there was an unusually high cash volume so I could wait or call back tomorrow. I went through this three times on the way to work, the system hung up on me each time. Finally, later that day, I was able to talk to someone. Ask yourself, if you have an important question about your account, do you really want to have to wait half a day to be able to reach someone?

Anyways, the lady on the phone was very nice. I explained to her that it was all a mistake, and I'd never missed a payment in 10 years of having the card and I thought it was silly to cancel a loyal customers account over a mistake that cost less than a gallon of gasoline. She went to work, and assured me that the charge was reversed, and, that my card was reinstated and also apologized for the confusion. She also reassured me that this was not going on my credit record and that I had no reason to worry. She told me I'd receive a letter in the mail letting me know whether a new card was being sent or the old one was simply reinstated.

I was very happy with the result and figured that it must have just fallen through the cracks. I figured they made a mistake, and the fact that this lady was so sweet and helpful made up for that. Except, I was dead wrong. I received a letter in the mail alright, except it was a notice that I was declined for account reinstatement. That was lie number one. That sweet lady on the phone was a liar. She told me my account had been reinstated. Lie number two was that it did indeed go on my credit record. I checked and there it was "60-89 days late"... She reassured me more than once that it would not go against my credit record...

Now let's get this straight. Over $1.47, or, the price you pay for things like milk, a candy bar, a soda, less than a gallon of gasoline, a bottle of windshield washer fluid, a spare key etc etc etc, not only did they Cancel my card that I'd held for 10 years, but they also screwed up my credit report... again, I've never missed a payment on any loan or card.... needles to say, I was less than happy... You would think if that $1.47 was so important to them that they would cancel my card and put a dent in my credit score, they could have sent an email or called, especially being that I have been a customer for some time now.

I tried logging on to view my account to see if the $1.47 had been removed but of course, again, there were technical difficulties. So, I called. I spoke to another lady who looked into it and verified that indeed I had been lied to. She told me that it was stated during my last interaction that my account was reinstated and the charges were wiped clean of my account. The lady was as nice as she could be but unfortunately, being that I was lied to once while being nice, I decided to take a more stern approach this time. I let her know that I do not appreciate being lied to and I do not appreciate the fact that now, thanks to American express and a mistake involving pocket change, I may end up having a strain on my credit record for a long time and end up having to pay higher interest on a car loan or a personal loan etc. I vowed to tell as many people as possible so here I am warning you to stay way from American express. They threw away a good customer for 10 years over less than the price of a candy bar. I know other people they have screwed up with as well. Protect yourself, do not sign up for their cards...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 21, 2017
Easy service. Great App. Free Fico Score
fabakis Cardholder

Easy to manage. Generally has a 0% APR offer and the bonuses are good. I was offered an upgrade to the Preferred card, earning 6% at Grocery stores, which is where I generally use this. 

more ...
Sep 19, 2017
Decent, but not what I needed.
mcasshl247 Cardholder

Great opening of 0% interest for 12 Months. I applied for this card for the use of debt consolidation. My credit score averages 723 with no late payments and I was only approved for $1K limit. I needed $4K to get rid of my high interest credit card payment and obviously this came quite shy of my needs.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 20, 2017

Did you request a CLI? I was initially approved for 6K and after my 2nd statement I requested a 12K increase, now my limit is 18K in only 2 months

 
Sep 18, 2017
Haoshu101 Cardholder

I applied for it and received a 1k limit. I cancelled it because it was nothing. My scores were very good averageing in 730s but still.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 19, 2017

Closing an account might make you feel good but it does absolutely nothing positive for your credit. Your scores might be in the 730s but AMEX started you at that limit for a reason. Anyway, you could have just not used it or ask for an increase X3 in 61 days.. before you know it you have 10K+ CL

 
Sep 16, 2017
A good first learning experience.
drjohnzoidberg Cardholder

It's accepted at most places, and it's nice to have 0% interest for a year. It's a credit card, and you need to be careful.

more ...
Sep 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Okay need a higher credit increase 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 18, 2017

X3 CLI after first 60 days of opening the account isn't enough? Not many other companies are so generous. I got a 5 digit CLI last week.

 
Sep 16, 2017
Accepted in most places But!
Ahrens04 Cardholder

The rewards on this card are very deciving; which is why I chose this card. You must purchase in a "qualifiying" store in order to recieve benifits fro that purchase. Almost all our purchases don't qualify. AMEX now wants me to sign up for $550.00 annual fee claiming I'll get advanced benifits. Also, AMEX will not raise your credit limit without a "hard" credit check. Of the cards we have, this is by far the worst. I would Highly Recomend concidering other cards before getting this one.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 18, 2017

Im not sure about the rewards claim but atleast to me, AMEX did a soft pull for a 5 digit increase last week.

 
Sep 14, 2017
Excellent.
Bouxbatons Cardholder

Great for building credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 15, 2017

You will most likely be denied if you apply for this card with "building credit" scores, or only be approved for $500-$1000 CL, which is AMEX way of say you barely qualified.

 
Sep 14, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is great for gas & grocery purchases. It also allowed me to build a relationship with American Express, and I was soon eligible for other cards.

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
Instant Approval
AMBATX Cardholder

So far so good.....I got approved instantly for a relatively low $2,800 CL initially - which I'm OK with for now, since I'm mid-way through my credit repair journey.  I fully plan to use the 3X CLI after 61 days though to give me a boost.  Credit Karma had me at "Fair" approval odds....I went directly to the AMEX website and was 'preapproved' by them directly for this card, which made me feel a little better (probably a silly thought process) but at least I knew I had AMEX direct 'preapproval' vs a 3rd party like CK.  

Started off with 580ish scores about 6+ monthsa go, up to 690ish now with some due diligence and focus.  Like many folks, I made some dumb mistakes when younger that are still biting me in the a** today (they're almost aged off all 3 credit reports, can't wait for that day).  1 Chase Charge Off.  a few 30 days past-due.  all derogatory marks are a few years old now.  

Scores are 670 (EX) which AMEX used.  680 EQ.  701 TU.  Income is around $250,000.  

As a side note: I also applied for the AMEX Gold Premier Rewards card on the same day to avoid the 2 hard pulls and was approved instantly for that one as well.  

more ...
Sep 16, 2017

very informative!

 
Sep 20, 2017

250k a year and can't get your sh*t together, sure buddy...I think you added a zero...poser

 
Sep 10, 2017
READ THIS BEFORE APPLYING
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied through CK and received an initial limit of 4k, since upped to 12k.  Having said that, I've not received the sign-up bonus of $150 following many months of owning the card despite meeting all qualifications, (having not owned any card before, spending the correct amount, etc.).  I've spoken with customer service about it several times and everytime I am given a different story.  First I was told that they would transfer the bonus into my account within the week.  That's since changed to an opened investigation whose time to complete lengthens nearly every time I inquire about it.

I am not a lawyer but as a piece of advice I'd recommend anyone who intends to apply with Amex getting a screenshot of the offer.  Further, following the application approval, (in compliance with the laws of your state), ask customer service in a call you record to confirm the offer is attached to your card.  If you've already applied and are given the runaround as I've been, consider submitting a complaint with the CFPB and/or attorney general for fraud.  Finally, if you prefer to avoid being forced to use potentially-bias arbitrators to settle disputes, look into how to opt-out of Amex's arbitration clause (hint: it's time-sensitive).

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 12, 2017

When I applied the offer was $100 bonus after spending 1K in the 1st 3 months, and the bonus would be applied as credit to my balance in 6-8 weeks once I spent that amount. Well it turns out I spent 1K in the 1st week of having the card and paid it off before the payment was due. Before I got my 1st statement I had already received not the $100 bonus in balance credit, I got $150 instead! I must be doing something right?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express

588 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i