Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.6 out of 5 stars
111 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.74% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.74% - 25.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 01, 2018
Dont rely on your CK approval odds
inoa05 Cardholder

If you're considering applying for this card based on your approval odds from CK don't! AMEX checks your FICO score and doesn't pull from Transunion or Equifax, so to say the creditkarma approval odds are inaccurate is an understatement. I suggest checking your Experian score and most important, check if you have pre approved offers from AMEX before applying.

My review/experience so far..

 When I applied for the Blue Cash Everyday my FICO score was somewhere around 740s-750s. I was approved and decided to apply for the Everyday Card at the same time, I was approved as well and they only counted as one inquiry so that's great! I received my cards roughly a week later via FEDEX overnight, included was my Experian score and report.

A few things I like/dislike so far..

 I like AMEX gives high starting limits and a 3X CLI after 60 days of opening the account. I like they give its members access to their FICO 8 score. The rewards aren’t rotating categories but the cash dollars updates at the end of each statement and you can only redeem in increments of $25. I let it build up anyway so that doesn’t bother me.

 So far I’ve only had 1 merchant that did not accept AMEX and being a large purchase it was disappointing, I ended up paying with a MC instead. Customer service seems to be outsourced, some agents have a strong accent and can be hard to understand at times but they're very friendly, courteous and try hard to make it right and fix whatever issue you might have. It takes about 2 months to start reporting on creditkarma, then reports 1 month late but eventually reports on time. Creditkarma is great for what it is, a free service. I don’t rely on it 100% and have a premium subscription with a reputable company that gives all 3 bureau score/report that updates in real time and so much more. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 02, 2019
Don’t give the advertised offer
Jeen1 Cardholder

The first thing I was attracted to was the $150 welcome bonus offered when you spend $1,000 within the first 3 months. After spending WELL over $1,000 in less than the 3 months time frame I never received the welcome bonus or any information pertaining to it. After contacting customer service numerous times they are blatantly not honor the welcome bonus which is STILL posted/offered on all of their websites.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 11, 2019
Zero benefits with short balances
emmerised Cardholder

Not worth it. 

more ...
Sep 16, 2019

Hmmm. I got a lot of benefits with long balances. Definitely worth it.
Maybe you have a Xema card.

 
Sep 21, 2019

Maybe you have bad credit

 
Sep 09, 2019
awesome
oldmanpop1 Cardholder

great card if you use it wisely

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 12, 2019

how much score do I need to get this card ?

 
Sep 06, 2019
Offers good cash back rewards
Ladybug190 Cardholder

This my firsy American Express card. I applied throught credit karma and received a $2k limit. Application process was easy and an instant approval. Card arrived fast. No issues as of yet!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 19, 2019

Hi, what range was your CK score when you applied for this card?

 
Sep 05, 2019
Run!!!
Sippirain Cardholder

My credit limit was cut in half for NOT USING my card as much as they wanted me tok and my credit score plummeted. About 6 months later they closed the account becasue they say I wasn't using the card enough. WTF!

Thankfully all 3 credit scores are now almost at 800.

more ...
Sep 05, 2019

undefined

 
Sep 16, 2019

Thank you for your review. The exact same thing recently happened to me even though I used the card the previous month, but not the last!!! I put a monthly online membership fee to auto charge to the card to keep it open. I'm sorry that happened to you. If you had put something small on it every month at minimum it probably would have stayed open.

 
Sep 16, 2019

Oh and my score is over 800 too and they still cut my limit in half. I've always paid on time. The card is 12 years old and this is how they treat a card member.

 
Sep 20, 2019

How often were you using the card? Generally if you use it once every three months, it shouldn't be closed.

 
Sep 01, 2019
Good card but?
Flexxx1969 Cardholder

The card itself is not bad aside from the fact you can only receive the rewards above $25 dollars and it takes forever to get them sometimes as long as a couple months. My Capitol One Savior card is much better.

more ...
Sep 03, 2019

Hi i love my amex card i couldn't get that cap one card not approved but got approved for the amex card with a 2k limit now my limit is 10k my score was 694 on experian 700 equifax 700 trans.

 
Sep 04, 2019

Amex has deals I take advantage of that cap one Savor does not. I have the Savor card too. Some of the Amex deals far exceed rewards dollars and are directly applied to the account within a few days.

 
Aug 31, 2019
Terrible card!!!
Thalkett74 Cardholder

We have had this card for 4 years now. Never once have they offered a credit increase /line credit increase. NOTHING!!! They hound you for you payment 2-3 days before its due and they are rude as hell. My wife and I are paying this card off and NEVER again will we get any credit card from AMEX!!! Don't take a card with them they are not worth it. Then if you are late a few days on payment, they threaten to take you to collections. Glad we went with DISCOVER and CITI.

more ...
Sep 01, 2019

I had mine for 6 years and love it. I pay ON TIME, because that's what is expected of me. I haven't had a CL increase until I requested one online and got the amount I requested. Amex card is a great card unless of course you don't pay them, and who would expect them to be nice if you don't hold up your end of the bargain.

 
Sep 03, 2019

Hi i got a cli i also asked for a cli of 5k my limit is now 10k and i pay my bill way before the due date my due date is the 6th i pay the 2nd with no missed payments for 2 yrs.

 
Aug 30, 2019
I own this card i love it.
blujay20 Cardholder

I own this card i was approved in jan 2018 they started me off with 5k limit now it's 10k$ limit with a error on my credit report i had to call there recon line and got approved you got do that if you got a fraud alert on your report for some reason i love my amex card and ther so nice.

more ...
Aug 20, 2019
Only card I am using right now.
Reviewer98 Cardholder

I've had this card for around 5 months now. It's very good for beginners. My sister with no credit history got approved for $2k. I was shocked when I got approved for $10k, I thought they made a mistake. My other cards have a $2k and $750 limit with interest, so I have stopped using those completely in favor of this one. I make payments on time and try to pay it off completely each month and my limit has just been upped to $15k. Love this card. I'll keep using it until the 0% interest deal wears off. I did not have any issues with the welcome bonus like some other reviewers did. I believe it goes towards your statement balance at the time.

more ...
Aug 19, 2019
I'm highly impressed!
xxE0l8l03xx Cardholder

Other than the fact that I cant use it everywhere, this card is amazing! American Express really does walk it like they talk it. Never let's me down and they stay on top of CL increases!! I highly recommend this card without a doubt.

more ...
Aug 10, 2019
Great card
Chalakito24 Cardholder

i was approved for $2,000 but it’s ok I will rebuild my credit but American is doing a great job given an opportunity to the people with fair credit . Love my Card ❤️

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 18, 2019

How was your score looking when you applied ?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express