Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
596 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express is a great card for getting cash back on everyday purchases.

What to Like

$100 statement credit after you spend $1,000 in purchases on your new Card within the first 3 months. The Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express offers 3% cash back at U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1%), 2% at U.S. gas stations and 1% cash back everywhere else

Look Out For

This card has a penalty APR that applies for at least six months after a late payment, so it’s important to stay on-time with your payments.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 08, 2017
Things To Consider Before Applying
SharkieClarkie Cardholder

This is an update from my prior review back in March 2017. I hope this review would help those that are considering applying for the Amex BCE. Now while this is one of the hardest cards to get an approval, note that, once you get approved for it, it is packed with great rewards and bonuses that will save you more money in the long term. When I orignally gotten an approval for the card, my CK credit scores were at 662, but my FICO score at the tme of application was at 742. So for those thinking about applying, please remember to check the following first so you do not waste a hard inquiry.

- Length of credit history 6 mos and longer ( if any of you have a high credit score from CK but if the length of your credit history is less than 6 mos old. you would need to wait and age your account until your reach 6 mos. and more)

- AMEX likes thin files with no missed payments (during the time of application)

- No Baddies or deregatories on your file

- Is your FICO score specifically with Experian at least within 690's and over, since AMEX tends to pull the reports from them "MAJORITY" of the time. I say 690 is the absolute guarantee of an approval with the best sign up bonuses and interests. Anything less than that, then you are looking at a lower SL and no sign up bonuses. 

I hope this breakdown would help some of you, I am sharing this because I have went through it, applied, got denied, without realizing that I needed to age my accounts for 6 mos. and longer to have an actual FICO score, but I did not wait and I wasted an inquiry. I suggest using your approval odds as your motivation, but check for those factors before you apply to ensure success in getting an approval. My current FICO score from Experian is 721 and I am gardening to get that back up again to where I used to be or higher. But overall, my experience with American Express has been amazing. Their sign up bonuse of getting $100 back if you spend $1000 in the first quarter of your membership saved me a $100 on a new TV that I bought. I also get %10 cashback when I use it for dining at restaurants, and more cashback bonuses when being used wisely. I am very happy and content with the AMEX BCE and back in April they reconsidered by original application for the AMEX Green card and approved me for it as well. So if you applied and did not get an instant approval. Call the reconsideration line and you might get suprised. I hope this thread helps. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 18, 2016
Trouble
brob757 Cardholder

If you pay off your balance be careful as this credit card has trailing interest. I've never had to pay any such thing on any of my credit cards before. It seems sneaky to me. I paid off the entire balance on my card and they charged me $1.47 in interest on the next month's statement. They have sent me a statement every month regardless of whether I had a balance or not since I received this card so thinking my entire balance was paid, I did not pay any attention to them. I had no idea there was a $1.47 balance on my card. After 60 days, with no email, no phone calls etc, they cancelled my account. I received a notification through mail. So, I called AMEX customer service and was informed there was an unusually high cash volume so I could wait or call back tomorrow. I went through this three times on the way to work, the system hung up on me each time. Finally, later that day, I was able to talk to someone. Ask yourself, if you have an important question about your account, do you really want to have to wait half a day to be able to reach someone?

Anyways, the lady on the phone was very nice. I explained to her that it was all a mistake, and I'd never missed a payment in 10 years of having the card and I thought it was silly to cancel a loyal customers account over a mistake that cost less than a gallon of gasoline. She went to work, and assured me that the charge was reversed, and, that my card was reinstated and also apologized for the confusion. She also reassured me that this was not going on my credit record and that I had no reason to worry. She told me I'd receive a letter in the mail letting me know whether a new card was being sent or the old one was simply reinstated.

I was very happy with the result and figured that it must have just fallen through the cracks. I figured they made a mistake, and the fact that this lady was so sweet and helpful made up for that. Except, I was dead wrong. I received a letter in the mail alright, except it was a notice that I was declined for account reinstatement. That was lie number one. That sweet lady on the phone was a liar. She told me my account had been reinstated. Lie number two was that it did indeed go on my credit record. I checked and there it was "60-89 days late"... She reassured me more than once that it would not go against my credit record...

Now let's get this straight. Over $1.47, or, the price you pay for things like milk, a candy bar, a soda, less than a gallon of gasoline, a bottle of windshield washer fluid, a spare key etc etc etc, not only did they Cancel my card that I'd held for 10 years, but they also screwed up my credit report... again, I've never missed a payment on any loan or card.... needles to say, I was less than happy... You would think if that $1.47 was so important to them that they would cancel my card and put a dent in my credit score, they could have sent an email or called, especially being that I have been a customer for some time now.

I tried logging on to view my account to see if the $1.47 had been removed but of course, again, there were technical difficulties. So, I called. I spoke to another lady who looked into it and verified that indeed I had been lied to. She told me that it was stated during my last interaction that my account was reinstated and the charges were wiped clean of my account. The lady was as nice as she could be but unfortunately, being that I was lied to once while being nice, I decided to take a more stern approach this time. I let her know that I do not appreciate being lied to and I do not appreciate the fact that now, thanks to American express and a mistake involving pocket change, I may end up having a strain on my credit record for a long time and end up having to pay higher interest on a car loan or a personal loan etc. I vowed to tell as many people as possible so here I am warning you to stay way from American express. They threw away a good customer for 10 years over less than the price of a candy bar. I know other people they have screwed up with as well. Protect yourself, do not sign up for their cards...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 23, 2017
New to Amex
tornadolover77 Cardholder

Just in case you wanted to know odds of getting card, it said I had a fair chance. I was rebuilding my credit and had the capital one platinum card. I wanted a cash rewards card and my husband has the chase freedom unlimited card which we love. I had a trans union score of 680 and Equifax of 671. Fico was 722. I got approved for 1400 credit line. I have not used this card yet but I'm sure it will be great. I got approved for this card immediately so if you have at least a fair chance, take a shot.

more ...
Aug 22, 2017
Good card to have!
ZWolfangel12 Cardholder

I think the points earned are a little stingy, however, if you use your card at certain merchants, you get credits on your statement (usually about 10% of the charged amount). I'd recommend!

more ...
Aug 22, 2017
Worst card ever. Will rip you off
Anonymous Cardholder

Rude Customer Service. They will rip you off after promo rate expires. No respect for service member (Active duty). I have 10 other credit cards. Paid them off and discontinued using it. If you can, avoid using amex at all.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 23, 2017

Rip you off how, exactly?

 
Aug 22, 2017
No CL Increase
Cautiously Cardholder

I applied for and received this card with a $1000 CL back in May (2017). I applied for a CL increase on the 61st day based on other reviewers who said they applied for and received a CL increase on the 61st day. It was DENIED! I'll try using my other cards for a while. But I do like that AMEX used the date from a previous account I had as the "Member Since" date which was back in 1997!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 22, 2017

AMEX starting you at 1K is in itself telling you barely made the cut. Care to share the reasons for the CLI denial? And your fico score?

 
Aug 21, 2017
Never received my cash back credits!
frackreynolds Cardholder

I applied and was instantly approved for this card on March 27, 2017 with a $2,000 credit limit. Credit Karma had my TransUnion score at 732 and my Equifax score at 733. But after almost 5 months of using this card, I am not impressed. I applied for this card specifically for the cash back rewards offered. Since opening, I have spent thousands of dollars on this card and have yet to see one cent of my accrued rewards! I have called customer service 5 times to inquire why I am not receiving them and they always say, "We're taking care of this. They will appear on your next statement." And after every new statement that they don't appear on (SURPRISE) I give them another call only to hear, "I'm sorry, they'll be on your NEXT statement." I am extremely dissapointed in American Express. I would be up to hundreds in statement credits if I had gone with Capital One instead.

more ...
Aug 19, 2017
BIGDADDYZIFFEL Cardholder

This card is great for a no annual fee cash back credit card 3% on Groceries 2% on Gas 2% on Department Store purchases as well as 1% everywhere else but you have to cash out your rewards in $25 blocks and you only have 3 choices for receiving your rewards either by Statement Credit or a Gift Card or by merchandise on the rewards page while Citi with the Double Cash will let you earn 2% on everything and let you get a statement credit, or cash either direct deposited or a check mailed, or a gift card same with Chase and Discover Bank of America Cash Rewards let's you get your cash back in a statement credit or a check or direct deposited to a BofA account

more ...
Aug 17, 2017
Was approved when I wasn't sure I would
Un1xguy Cardholder

I have paid on time each month and they report to the credit bureau each month.

more ...
Aug 17, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied, received, and increased my over all credit limit by $500 from my previous Capital One card, which did it's purpose to get me to this point !

more ...
Aug 16, 2017
One of the best cash back cards
TCT4000 Cardholder

Easy application process, basically free money if you pay off the balance every month. 

more ...
Aug 15, 2017
Awesome card to have!
Shavano7 Cardholder

All scores in mid to high 700's. Rebuilding credit after nasty divorce.. 3rd card with SMEX, instant approval for 10k. Thanks Amex!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express

596 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i