Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
544 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74% - 24.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express is a great card for getting cash back on everyday purchases.

What to Like

$100 statement credit after you spend $1,000 in purchases on your new Card within the first 3 months. The Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express offers 3% cash back at U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1%), 2% at U.S. gas stations and 1% cash back everywhere else

Look Out For

This card has a penalty APR that applies for at least six months after a late payment, so it’s important to stay on-time with your payments.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 11, 2012
jaredalecia Cardholder

I was approved for this card four months ago with a KC score of 730, almost 2 years of history, $60k income, perfect payment history and pay off cards each month.  My initial credit line was $2,000, which is a bit low if you're trying to stay below 20% utilization, but I just used it for groceries and gas starting out.  AmEx has higher standards than most card issuers, and I was just glad to get approved with a short history.  I have two other cards with $5k limits and used those for most other purchases.  Last week, I called to request a credit limit increase (possible after 60 days of getting the card) and used the automated system to request a new CL of $6,000.  Five seconds later it was approved for triple my previous limit!  Hint: when requesting a CLI, shoot high but not too high.  If it's too low, you'll get approved but stuck with a lower limit than you could have got.  If you shoot too high, you're out of luck anyway.  I'm not expecting double or triple the next time around!  I'll be using this card much more often now that I have a decent CL.  My only complaint is that sometimes (especially with gas purchases), AmEx will put a large hold on your card until the purchase clears ($125 hold for a $55 gas purchase).  Not horrible, but kind of annoying. 

Another thing I like about this card is the social media deals. I've synced my card with Facebook and Twitter and have already gotten some of the great deals offered ($5 free at Redbox and $5 off of $10 spent at McD's!).  Hard to beat good deals like that by just being an AmEx user. 

Quick note: please don't review cards based solely on whether you were approved or not. Being denied doesn't necessarily make it a bad card, and being approved for a high CL doesn't necessarily make it a great card.  Use the card for a while and then leave an informed review. Thanks!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 18, 2016
Trouble
brob757 Cardholder

If you pay off your balance be careful as this credit card has trailing interest. I've never had to pay any such thing on any of my credit cards before. It seems sneaky to me. I paid off the entire balance on my card and they charged me $1.47 in interest on the next month's statement. They have sent me a statement every month regardless of whether I had a balance or not since I received this card so thinking my entire balance was paid, I did not pay any attention to them. I had no idea there was a $1.47 balance on my card. After 60 days, with no email, no phone calls etc, they cancelled my account. I received a notification through mail. So, I called AMEX customer service and was informed there was an unusually high cash volume so I could wait or call back tomorrow. I went through this three times on the way to work, the system hung up on me each time. Finally, later that day, I was able to talk to someone. Ask yourself, if you have an important question about your account, do you really want to have to wait half a day to be able to reach someone?

Anyways, the lady on the phone was very nice. I explained to her that it was all a mistake, and I'd never missed a payment in 10 years of having the card and I thought it was silly to cancel a loyal customers account over a mistake that cost less than a gallon of gasoline. She went to work, and assured me that the charge was reversed, and, that my card was reinstated and also apologized for the confusion. She also reassured me that this was not going on my credit record and that I had no reason to worry. She told me I'd receive a letter in the mail letting me know whether a new card was being sent or the old one was simply reinstated.

I was very happy with the result and figured that it must have just fallen through the cracks. I figured they made a mistake, and the fact that this lady was so sweet and helpful made up for that. Except, I was dead wrong. I received a letter in the mail alright, except it was a notice that I was declined for account reinstatement. That was lie number one. That sweet lady on the phone was a liar. She told me my account had been reinstated. Lie number two was that it did indeed go on my credit record. I checked and there it was "60-89 days late"... She reassured me more than once that it would not go against my credit record...

Now let's get this straight. Over $1.47, or, the price you pay for things like milk, a candy bar, a soda, less than a gallon of gasoline, a bottle of windshield washer fluid, a spare key etc etc etc, not only did they Cancel my card that I'd held for 10 years, but they also screwed up my credit report... again, I've never missed a payment on any loan or card.... needles to say, I was less than happy... You would think if that $1.47 was so important to them that they would cancel my card and put a dent in my credit score, they could have sent an email or called, especially being that I have been a customer for some time now.

I tried logging on to view my account to see if the $1.47 had been removed but of course, again, there were technical difficulties. So, I called. I spoke to another lady who looked into it and verified that indeed I had been lied to. She told me that it was stated during my last interaction that my account was reinstated and the charges were wiped clean of my account. The lady was as nice as she could be but unfortunately, being that I was lied to once while being nice, I decided to take a more stern approach this time. I let her know that I do not appreciate being lied to and I do not appreciate the fact that now, thanks to American express and a mistake involving pocket change, I may end up having a strain on my credit record for a long time and end up having to pay higher interest on a car loan or a personal loan etc. I vowed to tell as many people as possible so here I am warning you to stay way from American express. They threw away a good customer for 10 years over less than the price of a candy bar. I know other people they have screwed up with as well. Protect yourself, do not sign up for their cards...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 22, 2017
Money back everyday card!
19itachi90 Cardholder

I went to apply for this card because it has a cash back rewards along with no annual fee. Seemed to have low interest rates from most cards I've seen.
3% back in supermarkets
2% back on gas
And 1% on every other purchase.
I am using this card strictly for gas and occasionally for groceries.
I had a 708 credit score and got a $500 line of credit which seems kinda low compared to another credit card I have (and had a lower score at the time) but got $1000 line a credit through them.
Seems to be a decent card so far though.
It says you can earn a higher line of credit if you make payments on time and pay at least the minimum payment due. So we will see...

more ...
May 22, 2017
Experience
ashley092507 Cardholder

Just approved, I first received a notification that they’d let me know within 14 business days to come to a determination. Confused by that because per Credit Karma my approval odds were (good).I had contacted customer service to question the reason being. AMEX advised it was due to credit fraud protection that I have.  

My credit score for the following are:

-      TransUnion = 736

-      Equifax = 738

-      Experian = 655

AMEX uses Experian score, FYI. Just a heads up if your Experian score is low, I wouldn’t recommend applying until above 650. Not saying you won’t get approved however the odds aren’t great. Just wait it out until your score is above, verses having an inquiry and not approved.

The representative did state that everyone is typically approved for $1,000 and after two months you’re able to get a credit increase. I was approved for a promotion spend $500 within 3 months get $150 cash back. YAY!!

The only down fault I had come across was (Refer friends, get rewarded). My co-worker advised me to get this AMEX card, yet when I called back after I was approved [same day] I was told by the rep that it’s already too late because I was already approved. Keep this in mind when you’re applying to have the person’s information handy so they’re able to gain the reward.

Per AMEX the promotion follows: Refer Friends, Get Rewarded

You can earn: 75 Reward Dollars for each approved referral – up to 550 Reward Dollars per calendar year.*

Refer Now

The rep did state I should call back once I receive my card to see if I’m able to (refer a friend) .. I’ll update once I do so to inform of the outcome. 

more ...
May 21, 2017
Great everyday card
depplep Cardholder

I've had this card 6 months now. TU692, EQ688, originally I was given a $2k credit line. I just asked for an increase today and got approved for $5k. Customer service has been great and the rewards do add up. I got the 0% for 12months on interest and balance transfers as well as 10% back at Amazon for 6 months and $250 statement credit after spending $100 in the first 3 months. I am thinking of applying for the Hilton Honors Amex before the extra points offer expires in another week. Great card and so far accepted everywhere I've tried to use it.

more ...
May 20, 2017
MICHELEC1234 Cardholder

WHEN I APPLIED FOR THIS CARD THE TERMS SAID 0 APR % FOR 12 MONTHS BUT WHEN I RECIEVED THE CARD IN THE MAIL THERE WAS NO 0 INTREST FOR 12 MONTHS SO I CALLED TWICE AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY NEVER SAID THAT BUT ON LINE IT DOES AND I ALSO PRINTED IT OUT JUST TO HAVE PROOF.  THIS COMPANY IS VERY DISCEVING IF THEY DONT MAKE IT RIGHT SOON I WILL BE CONTACTING BBB ON THEM

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 21, 2017

This was done to me on my amex everyday

 
May 19, 2017
Great so far!
Paulie0511 Cardholder

I applied for this card after applying for the Amex Starwood Preferred Guest and receiving an initial CL of 10k for that card. I wanted a good travel card, but was still looking for a decent day to day card. After reading 100+ reviews I decided to apply for this card as well, to use on an everyday basis. Credit Karma had given me *good approval odds so I applied and received an initial CL of $1,600. I had a Transunion 667 and Equifax 656. I have have been rebuilding my credit over the past 2 years after a terrible divorce and several years of paying off lots of debt. It feels good to finally have my credit back on track. The cash back goes directly to your statement as well, and I love that!!!  Thank you American Express for the opportunity to do business with you. 

more ...
May 19, 2017
Great card
CardPro Cardholder

Works almost everywhere I have tried to use it. I get statement credits all the time. The $100 credit was nice. Good all around card. Highly recommended.

more ...
May 19, 2017
HORRIBLE customer service
hellocards Cardholder

AMEX is the worst company that does not defend their customers out of all credit card companies I had dealt with.

They were running a deceiving promotion on there website for 10% cash back on restaurant purchases and now they claim that never existed during the time I had applied.

Took me 3 attempts to get the clear answer (still not sure what happened). The first time I was even told a wrong answer to my question-but of course they say they have no record of that chat. What the heck..?

Your rewards also show up like 3 months after you make your purchases which is odd.. I'll just say I'm never using this card again. CHASE would be always my first choice. AMEX SUCKS  GUYS.. seriously

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 20, 2017

That promotion ended on the third.

 
May 18, 2017
Painless Process!
Tam6566 Cardholder

Just applied online and then I had to do a phine verification due to a credit fraud alert. The representatives were professional and it took less than 10 minutes. I'll do an update once my card comes in. I applied for the card in order to do a 0% balance transfer. Since I did a pre-approval, I got 0% up to 15 months instead of 12. I hope this review help someone because previous reviews certainly helped me. Good Luck!

more ...
May 16, 2017
Good Company
tay94 Cardholder

I applied in February and was approved for 5000.00 in like 30 seconds with a credit score of TU=690 EQ=695 Fico=688 I make $35,000 a year and did the 3 times credit limit increase trick where you ask for a cli on the 61'st day and they increase it 3 times the limit you already have I was approved immediately for the $15,000 customer service is great I love AMEX 

more ...
May 16, 2017
LOVE!! My favorite card!!
MaritaLCogle Cardholder

Never, in a million years, did I think i would every be approved for a AMEX. Got the recommendation from Credit Karma, applied, they called verified my address ( new address ), and told me I was approved!!! Blew me away Payments apply instantly, and I LOVE THE CASH BACK!!!! Such a great card, which it had a higher limit, so I could use just this card and non of the others, but we're working on it

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 19, 2017

What was you credit limit and score

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express

544 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i