Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
372 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

The Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express is a great card for getting cash back on everyday purchases.

What to Like

The Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express offers 3% cash back at U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1%), 2% at U.S. gas stations and select U.S. department stores and 1% cash back everywhere else. The card includes a 0% introductory APR for 12 months on purchases and balance transfers, as well as no annual fees. And to top it all off, if you apply by 1/11/2017 you can earn 10% cash back on Amazon.com purchases over the first 6 months (up to a $200 limit).

Look Out For

This card has a high penalty APR that applies for at least six months after a late payment, so it’s important to stay on-time with your payments.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 30, 2016
Approved for $15K in 60 seconds!
Toasty1221 Cardholder

I can't even believe what I'm typing but I'm still in shock. So my CK approval odds were 'Very Good'. But I still hesitated because I did not want to risk an inquiry as I plan to buy a car in the next few months. But the 'Very Good' odds were too tempting so I went on the Amex website and teetered for a few minutes then said, 'what the hell'. I applied and stared with a heavy heart at the screen as it circled around, waiting for their response. Alas, I was approved. When I saw the limit, I thought it said $1,500 but as I looked closer, it was $15,000! Couldn't believe it. 

A little background on me. My CK profile has my TU at 605 and my EQ at 590... yikes! My personal credit cards are: BOFA $1,500; CHASE Freedom $500; and Victoria's Secret $2,500. I should note that my husband got the AMEX Blue Cash Everyday back in 2014 and added me as an AU so on my AMEX profile, it lists me as a memebr since 2014, even though I got my card this month. Perhaps being on his account helped with my approval as he has never had a late payment. I am also an AU on his CHASE Freedom, Southwest VISA SIG, and CHASE Slate. My BOFA CC gives me a monhtly FICO and it lists it at 693 and when I recieved my AMEX card in the mail, they included a form that listed my FICO and the reason for the CL they gave me. AMEX checks Experian and listed my FICO at 680... which shows me just how off Credit Karma is with my actual credit scores. 

I have a total of 8 late payments on my credit report: one from VS in 2014, one from BOFA in 2015, and six from ACS in 15 which I'm trying to remove. I also have one Collection opened in 2014 from comast that I'm disputing. My average age of credit history is 5yrs 2mos. I have 22 total accounts (lots of student loans). 

So all in all, I don't know what AMEX truly looks for. I can't explain why I was approved for so much but am very grateful and happy. I truly hope this review helps, folks. All the best! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 27, 2016
Not really sure yet
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied with Credit Karma giving me good odds. At first my status was that it was u fee review and I would receive notice in so many days. As most know, this is usually the sign you were not approved; however, the next day I received an email saying I was approved with $1000 line of credit. My credit worthiness is in the fair range as I have been diligently rebuilding my credit but had hoped for a larger line of credit but only for sake of credit score. I am most interested in seeing the cash back rewards & how they stack up 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 10, 2016
Dubious...
Lidia1973t Cardholder

Not a card holder. Interesting that all reviews posted (371) are all from cardholders...and not a single non cardholder. If it smells like a duck, walks like a duck. And looks like a duck...it's probably a duck...buyer beware.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 10, 2016

What are you talking about?

 
Dec 10, 2016
It's everything I expected and more
ricric813 Cardholder

I've had the card for less than 30 days. By being close to Christmas I've been using it of course. So far I made my $1,500 and charges. My statement closing date is the 12th and they have already credited me my $100 bonus for charging $1,000 and 60 days I've also taken advantage of the Amazon perk and so far I have received $43 and had not made one payment yet. This card has replaced my other cards way to go American Express with your blue card. I also love the card design.

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
Awesome
svone Cardholder

Great card applied got approved in seconds 10k 9 months later 30k limit no hard inquiry comes in handy for points and certain purchases my scores on ck were 803 & 798

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
Good card buuuuuut.......
hawthorneboi Cardholder

I applied for the card about 4 months ago just to take advantage of the perks it "comes" with. Sign up bonus. Met. Did I get it. Nope. 0% apr on purchases and balance transfers for the first 12 months was a pretty **** good perk as well plus the fact that it was AE a very well respected card player. I am happy with the card but not happy with being swindled out of the perks (sad deal) maybe my credit was not quite good enough to push me over the hump. Ill be optimistic keep the card, make my payments on time and sit back and hope that one day soon an AE represenative reads this and reaches out to me ;-) . Not only reach out to me but get me my **** perks they promised!!!

more ...
Dec 07, 2016
Approved with lower limit
mk2017 Cardholder

I'm working to improve my credit and reluctantly decided to apply after reading through reviews. I'm trying to decrease my utilization but I don't have the funds to do so quickly by paying down my current amounts due on other cards. I have a 596 CK score and was showing "fair" odds for this card. I applied and got a screen that said I was approved for a lower offer. Same card, same rewards, but no 0% APR period and no welcome offers (for cash back if you spend $1000 in your first 90 days). It also said the limit would only be $500. I accepted! I got an email stating that if I have a balance due every month and pay at least the minimum due each month, I will get a credit limit increase after 5 months. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 08, 2016

Don't worry, everything would be fine in no time. If you look at it from the banks perspective they cannot really just take your word for it that you're a good customer. So 9 times out of 10, a lower limit is an opportunity to gain your trust for starters. Just make sure you don't miss any payments, and make a little over the minimum payment and within 6months to a year. They'll be the ones reaching out to you. Good Luck.

 
Dec 06, 2016
Best of the Best!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Odds said Good.....applied and was APPROVED for $5K!!!    Have a 660 Credit Score.   Other cards include:  Capital One - $4000   BofA - $5000   Discover - $1500

I have been working really hard to establish credit.  It takes time people.   Don't get dejected.   Keep reviewing weekly your Credit Karma report.  Start off small and build your way up.  You will ge there.  Thanks Credit Karma!

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
Easy to apply and fast response
lsmoka1 Cardholder

I've been looking around and was checking out and few other cards but for some reason I applied to this one today. I wanted to wait another few months to get one thru my credit union at a great apr. I said what the hell and tried anyway ck said my odds were very good with a TU at 723 and EF at 703 they approved me for an CL of $8000 I'm glad I took a chance I can't wait to see my rewards!

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
Excellent credit limit
aparis Cardholder

I applied and was instantly approved for $20,000! Yikes!

760 FICO and less than 10% utilization with $86,000 total credit limits. I also have a very good history with Amex (have Amex Gold Premiere Rewards and Amex Everyday).

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
My Primary/Go-To Card
tkarmaacct Cardholder

This was my first real credit card after my student one with Discover. After building my credit to above 720, I applied for my first non student credit card (only my second one in my life). After a lot of consideration, I landed on this card because my girlfriend always talked about how easy it was to talk to AmEx on the phone, and how much she trusted them. I was approved for a big CL and was very happy! The rewards are perfect for me being a younger person (groceries and gas and shopping are just an always thing!) and they have an extensive list of offers you can add when you want to go out to eat locally somewhere or shop or what have you. The app is fantastic and gives you notifications on big purchases if you want or anything really. They provide a FICO score and everything too, which is a must nowadays to stay on top of building credit. I love cash reward systems because you can apply it to anything, so this card was always going to make me happy.

Be aware that the cash rewards are only applicable to your statement in $25 dollar increments, which is a frustrating sometimes, but it's a nice feeling when you finally hit that milestone. I think that's the only thing that would cause a hang up with the card. That and the fact that the rewards are only applicable at supermarkets (not big box stores) and normal gas stations (not the ones connected to a grocery store or bulk store). Once you learn how to use credit wisely, rewards can be a fantastic way to make money and keep building up that credit score. AmEx is there to help! (I accidentally posted this same review under the Preferred version, which I don't have! That one has an annual fee that makes sense if your income is higher!)

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express

372 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i