Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
552 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.99% - 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express is a great card for getting cash back on everyday purchases.

What to Like

$100 statement credit after you spend $1,000 in purchases on your new Card within the first 3 months. The Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express offers 3% cash back at U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1%), 2% at U.S. gas stations and 1% cash back everywhere else

Look Out For

This card has a penalty APR that applies for at least six months after a late payment, so it’s important to stay on-time with your payments.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 11, 2012
jaredalecia Cardholder

I was approved for this card four months ago with a KC score of 730, almost 2 years of history, $60k income, perfect payment history and pay off cards each month.  My initial credit line was $2,000, which is a bit low if you're trying to stay below 20% utilization, but I just used it for groceries and gas starting out.  AmEx has higher standards than most card issuers, and I was just glad to get approved with a short history.  I have two other cards with $5k limits and used those for most other purchases.  Last week, I called to request a credit limit increase (possible after 60 days of getting the card) and used the automated system to request a new CL of $6,000.  Five seconds later it was approved for triple my previous limit!  Hint: when requesting a CLI, shoot high but not too high.  If it's too low, you'll get approved but stuck with a lower limit than you could have got.  If you shoot too high, you're out of luck anyway.  I'm not expecting double or triple the next time around!  I'll be using this card much more often now that I have a decent CL.  My only complaint is that sometimes (especially with gas purchases), AmEx will put a large hold on your card until the purchase clears ($125 hold for a $55 gas purchase).  Not horrible, but kind of annoying. 

Another thing I like about this card is the social media deals. I've synced my card with Facebook and Twitter and have already gotten some of the great deals offered ($5 free at Redbox and $5 off of $10 spent at McD's!).  Hard to beat good deals like that by just being an AmEx user. 

Quick note: please don't review cards based solely on whether you were approved or not. Being denied doesn't necessarily make it a bad card, and being approved for a high CL doesn't necessarily make it a great card.  Use the card for a while and then leave an informed review. Thanks!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 18, 2016
Trouble
brob757 Cardholder

If you pay off your balance be careful as this credit card has trailing interest. I've never had to pay any such thing on any of my credit cards before. It seems sneaky to me. I paid off the entire balance on my card and they charged me $1.47 in interest on the next month's statement. They have sent me a statement every month regardless of whether I had a balance or not since I received this card so thinking my entire balance was paid, I did not pay any attention to them. I had no idea there was a $1.47 balance on my card. After 60 days, with no email, no phone calls etc, they cancelled my account. I received a notification through mail. So, I called AMEX customer service and was informed there was an unusually high cash volume so I could wait or call back tomorrow. I went through this three times on the way to work, the system hung up on me each time. Finally, later that day, I was able to talk to someone. Ask yourself, if you have an important question about your account, do you really want to have to wait half a day to be able to reach someone?

Anyways, the lady on the phone was very nice. I explained to her that it was all a mistake, and I'd never missed a payment in 10 years of having the card and I thought it was silly to cancel a loyal customers account over a mistake that cost less than a gallon of gasoline. She went to work, and assured me that the charge was reversed, and, that my card was reinstated and also apologized for the confusion. She also reassured me that this was not going on my credit record and that I had no reason to worry. She told me I'd receive a letter in the mail letting me know whether a new card was being sent or the old one was simply reinstated.

I was very happy with the result and figured that it must have just fallen through the cracks. I figured they made a mistake, and the fact that this lady was so sweet and helpful made up for that. Except, I was dead wrong. I received a letter in the mail alright, except it was a notice that I was declined for account reinstatement. That was lie number one. That sweet lady on the phone was a liar. She told me my account had been reinstated. Lie number two was that it did indeed go on my credit record. I checked and there it was "60-89 days late"... She reassured me more than once that it would not go against my credit record...

Now let's get this straight. Over $1.47, or, the price you pay for things like milk, a candy bar, a soda, less than a gallon of gasoline, a bottle of windshield washer fluid, a spare key etc etc etc, not only did they Cancel my card that I'd held for 10 years, but they also screwed up my credit report... again, I've never missed a payment on any loan or card.... needles to say, I was less than happy... You would think if that $1.47 was so important to them that they would cancel my card and put a dent in my credit score, they could have sent an email or called, especially being that I have been a customer for some time now.

I tried logging on to view my account to see if the $1.47 had been removed but of course, again, there were technical difficulties. So, I called. I spoke to another lady who looked into it and verified that indeed I had been lied to. She told me that it was stated during my last interaction that my account was reinstated and the charges were wiped clean of my account. The lady was as nice as she could be but unfortunately, being that I was lied to once while being nice, I decided to take a more stern approach this time. I let her know that I do not appreciate being lied to and I do not appreciate the fact that now, thanks to American express and a mistake involving pocket change, I may end up having a strain on my credit record for a long time and end up having to pay higher interest on a car loan or a personal loan etc. I vowed to tell as many people as possible so here I am warning you to stay way from American express. They threw away a good customer for 10 years over less than the price of a candy bar. I know other people they have screwed up with as well. Protect yourself, do not sign up for their cards...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 26, 2017
Good card
Mns38 Cardholder

Applied with a 684 Fico score, $50k income a year.  And was approved for $2k. Made payments on time and a couple extra payments. And got credit limit increases to $6k 5 months later. 

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
Ok card
Benonapit Cardholder

Approved on 693 , i made 5k a month and i dont know why i only approved for $1000.
But they also apprpved w the everyday card for $500

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 23, 2017

What was your utilization on your other credit cards when you applied? I have heard that this could be a factor.

 
Jun 22, 2017
Kig of cards
Sharif1973 Cardholder

This card is the best card I have the customer service is very nice ,I applyed for it I got approved in second with$ 6000, very nice ,6 months later I got 6000 more even better

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
5 years Post Bankruptcy Approval
GG1981cc Cardholder

I had an American Express in the early 2000's.  I ran into some bad luck and did a settlement for less. The account was closed (2005). I try avoid doing bankruptcy and managed to go couple years without doing it. In 2012 my Chapter 7 was finally filed and discharged. I didn't include the American Express in the bankuptcy since it was closed in 2005. In November 2015 I got my first caredit card post bankuptcy. It was a Capital One Platnium. Capital One gave me another card shortly after. I applied for a American Express Credit Card in 2015 and it said that I was denied because of my Bankruptcy record. Fast Forward to June 2017, I applied for the American Express and this time I was approved. My EXP Fico score was 705. That's what they used. My Transunuion Fico is 734, I now have a total of 5 credit cards. I pay my balance off each month and my utilization is always within 1-2%. This American Express card gave me a $10,000 limit which is fine. If I have to do a big purchase this cards gives me plenty utilization to use without affecting my score. Currently I have about $20,000 in total credit aviliable. I been paying off my credit cards balance every month since I got my first post bankruptcy credit card which was like 18 months ago. Seems like I'm doing everthing right and I expect it to stay that way.  

I went into large detail because I know there's a large debate about if you could get an American Express post Bankruptcy or not, My Chapter 7 Discharged is only 5 years old. Also, I don't have a mortgage nor auto loan. Just thought to throw it out there. I guess it comes down to circumstances. In my case it was good that I did a settlement back in 2005 with American Express instead of including it on the Bankruptcy couple years after. Now that I have this American Express Credit Card, I could be more selective. I don't care for Chase or Citi. Happy, Happy, Happy

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
Approved with fair credit

Didn't think I would get approved for an Amex, but needed to increase my overall credit limit for a large purchase so i gave it a shot. CK said i had good approval odds. My Income is $50k, FICO is 660, and was approved for $500. It's a low limit, but better than being denied.
Other than this card, I have 2 Capital One credit cards and the Chase Freedom Unlimited card for a total credit line of $2,350

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 25, 2017

How much you make and a credit score of 660 have norhing to do with their decision,. This is where people are wrong, lenders look for other things such as ; FICO score ( NOT CK scores ), credit history, old accounts, closed accounts, credit inquiries just to name a few. Also, 50,000 is nothing, cant even rent an apartment.

 
Jun 17, 2017
ZMO Cardholder

Admittedly, I now have a very good score; averaging 790.  I've had only one credit card over the past 10 years.  Prior to that, I closed two other cards when I decided to go back to school.  About six weeks ago I paid off one of my two student loans, so I decided to apply for this Amex card.  I applied online and approval took less than a minute; with a $10,000 limit and $250 signup bonus.  I'll update after I've used the card for 3-4 months.   

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Quick approval
ZMO Cardholder

Admittedly, I now have a very good score; averaging 790.  I've had only one credit card over the past 10 years.  Prior to that, I closed two other cards when I decided to go back to school.  About six weeks ago I paid off one of my two student loans, so I decided to apply for this Amex card.  I applied online and approval took less than a minute; with a $10,000 limit and $250 signup bonus.  I'll update after I've used the card for 3-4 months.   

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Quick approval
ZMO Cardholder

Admittedly, I now have a very good score; averaging 790.  I've had only one credit card over the past 10 years.  Prior to that, I closed two other cards when I decided to go back to school.  About six weeks ago I paid off one of my two student loans, so I decided to apply for this Amex card.  I applied online and approval took less than a minute; with a $10,000 limit and $250 signup bonus.  I'll update after I've used the card for 3-4 months.   

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Quick approval
ZMO Cardholder

Admittedly, I now have a very good score; averaging 790.  I've had only one credit card over the past 10 years.  Prior to that, I closed two other cards when I decided to go back to school.  About six weeks ago I paid off one of my two student loans, so I decided to apply for this Amex card.  I applied online and approval took less than a minute; with a $10,000 limit and $250 signup bonus.  I'll update after I've used the card for 3-4 months.   

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 18, 2017

For the fourth time!

 
Jun 16, 2017
It is impossible to make payments.
Dexleeon Cardholder

I am somebody who likes to pay off a credit card the day I use it. American Express refuses to allow you to do this easily. You have to call them and get special permission or wait until it's due so that they can get a fee out of you.

more ...
Jun 17, 2017

I'm not sure why you are having trouble. Like you I don't carry balances and pay my cards off when I get my paycheck. I have had no issue making a payment online with AmEx before the due date. I have the same card as you do.

 
Jun 17, 2017

Have you tried contacting AmEx to figure out what the problem may be? I always pay before the due online and have never had an issue.

 
Jun 19, 2017

I think with American Express, after your first billing statement cuts, you should be able to make payments as soon as you use the card. But before that you would need to call in to make payments in advance.

 
Jun 19, 2017

I have this card and the AMEX EveryDay card and I don't have a problem paying my balances early. Admittedly, it does take about two business days for the purchase to finalize and how in the online balance (not pending anymore) but if I am not mistaken, that is about the same with all credit cards...even my debit card purchases remain pending for about a day or two before the bank can do anything with those (like if I wanted to dispute a charge). You surely don't have to wait until the end of the billing period but give it an extra day or two and you'll be fine.

 
Jun 24, 2017

It seems like the problem is you, stop being a cry baby and just be grateful that at least you have the card. Smh

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express

552 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i