Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
506 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express is a great card for getting cash back on everyday purchases.

What to Like

Limited Time Offer: Apply by 5/3/17 – Earn 10% cash back on purchases at U.S. Restaurants in the first 6 months, up to $200 back. The Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express offers 3% cash back at U.S. supermarkets on up to $6,000 per year in purchases (then 1%), 2% at U.S. gas stations and 1% cash back everywhere else

Look Out For

This card has a penalty APR that applies for at least six months after a late payment, so it’s important to stay on-time with your payments.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 14, 2017
So far so good.
Golfnmyassoff Cardholder

This seems to be a hit or miss card with people. I read some reviews and some had better scores than me and was denied. I picked up on they look at your EX score which was my highest score (690). I said I'll give it a try and if it doesn't work, I'll just keep working on my credit. Less than 2 minutes later I was approved for 10k. I'm gonna add my wife to mine to help her score out since I'm the one paying the bill. Good luck.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 18, 2016
Trouble
brob757 Cardholder

If you pay off your balance be careful as this credit card has trailing interest. I've never had to pay any such thing on any of my credit cards before. It seems sneaky to me. I paid off the entire balance on my card and they charged me $1.47 in interest on the next month's statement. They have sent me a statement every month regardless of whether I had a balance or not since I received this card so thinking my entire balance was paid, I did not pay any attention to them. I had no idea there was a $1.47 balance on my card. After 60 days, with no email, no phone calls etc, they cancelled my account. I received a notification through mail. So, I called AMEX customer service and was informed there was an unusually high cash volume so I could wait or call back tomorrow. I went through this three times on the way to work, the system hung up on me each time. Finally, later that day, I was able to talk to someone. Ask yourself, if you have an important question about your account, do you really want to have to wait half a day to be able to reach someone?

Anyways, the lady on the phone was very nice. I explained to her that it was all a mistake, and I'd never missed a payment in 10 years of having the card and I thought it was silly to cancel a loyal customers account over a mistake that cost less than a gallon of gasoline. She went to work, and assured me that the charge was reversed, and, that my card was reinstated and also apologized for the confusion. She also reassured me that this was not going on my credit record and that I had no reason to worry. She told me I'd receive a letter in the mail letting me know whether a new card was being sent or the old one was simply reinstated.

I was very happy with the result and figured that it must have just fallen through the cracks. I figured they made a mistake, and the fact that this lady was so sweet and helpful made up for that. Except, I was dead wrong. I received a letter in the mail alright, except it was a notice that I was declined for account reinstatement. That was lie number one. That sweet lady on the phone was a liar. She told me my account had been reinstated. Lie number two was that it did indeed go on my credit record. I checked and there it was "60-89 days late"... She reassured me more than once that it would not go against my credit record...

Now let's get this straight. Over $1.47, or, the price you pay for things like milk, a candy bar, a soda, less than a gallon of gasoline, a bottle of windshield washer fluid, a spare key etc etc etc, not only did they Cancel my card that I'd held for 10 years, but they also screwed up my credit report... again, I've never missed a payment on any loan or card.... needles to say, I was less than happy... You would think if that $1.47 was so important to them that they would cancel my card and put a dent in my credit score, they could have sent an email or called, especially being that I have been a customer for some time now.

I tried logging on to view my account to see if the $1.47 had been removed but of course, again, there were technical difficulties. So, I called. I spoke to another lady who looked into it and verified that indeed I had been lied to. She told me that it was stated during my last interaction that my account was reinstated and the charges were wiped clean of my account. The lady was as nice as she could be but unfortunately, being that I was lied to once while being nice, I decided to take a more stern approach this time. I let her know that I do not appreciate being lied to and I do not appreciate the fact that now, thanks to American express and a mistake involving pocket change, I may end up having a strain on my credit record for a long time and end up having to pay higher interest on a car loan or a personal loan etc. I vowed to tell as many people as possible so here I am warning you to stay way from American express. They threw away a good customer for 10 years over less than the price of a candy bar. I know other people they have screwed up with as well. Protect yourself, do not sign up for their cards...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 22, 2017
Fast approval, decent rewards
trek1363 Cardholder

Applied a few moments ago with a 700TU, no late pays, no collections and was approved for a 10,000 dollar credit limit. I had always held out on applying for another credit card, but this was easy.

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Building up my credit
Cr3ditbuild3r Cardholder

Got approved for started CL 4K after prequalifying with only 9 months of credit history, 707 TU, 722 EQ and 730 EX even though CK gave me only fair approval odds!!

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
JAZZ2311 Cardholder

I applied for this card today after CK said that I had very good odds. I have a CK experian of 718 and TU of 719, was approved for the card today although the CL is only $1000.00. Either way I am super excited to be a member of the AMEX family. I do not own multiple CC's and i only have one other besides this one, however my other CC has a substantially higher CL. This card also is accompanied by several other benefits that were unknown to me prior to applying however I am pleased!!

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Amazing card to have
Anonymous Cardholder

Was approved for my first AMX card with an initial CL of $500. Not too bad. I was expecting a low CL because of my building new credit. Not bad though. 

Great perks and customer service always seems to handle my concerns efficiently. 

When there was fraud on my card, it was completely handled, no issues or holdups

I have since applied for the Everday card and was approved over the phone with a $6000 CL. 

Very happy to be a member of the AMX family, with 2 accounts and successfully building my credit 

more ...
Mar 19, 2017
Great benefits
Lares1957 Cardholder

Gave me the opportunity for high credit limit of 10k thanks AMEX

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Fantastic!!!
toomchz4u Cardholder

Approved for $5000. Also approved for regular Everyday card for $3000 and green card 2 weeks ago... American Express is extremely loyal to its cardholders!!!

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
Johnrb22 Cardholder

I checked the prequalification on the AMEX site and it offered me this along with a gold card and everyday card.  Got approved for blue w/$1000 limit.

-633/635 scores on CK
-3 >90 late payments from nearly 2 years ago (student loans)

-1 paid collections from ~2 years ago (yeah I was volunteering abroad and careless)

-Have had credit cards paid and a low balance for just over a year

-~$30k in loans

more ...
Mar 15, 2017
New Card!
m0t0rhe4d Cardholder

Applied with Good Odds from CK (TU 681 EQ 657) and Good Odds from CreditSesame (681 TU) and got instant approval for $100. Going to take atvantage of $100cash back when spending 1000 in first three months. Excited! Have been building my credit for the past year! Payments are 80% on time due to Student Loans messing up. My wife has had this for a few years and is up to $10,000 in credit limits. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 15, 2017

$1000*

 
Mar 15, 2017
Great card for my usage.
Kelsm Cardholder

I applied received an instant decision. CK indicated a very good chance of approval, so I did and got $1,000 CL. This helps as I have slowly rebuilt my credit scores. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express

506 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i