Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews
3.3 out of 5 stars
87 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 20, 2019
Good in Super Markets
ZackAttack8203 Cardholder

This is a really good card for 3% cashback at super markets. I strongly recommend getting this card because 3% can go a long way for getting food and/or supplies from supermarkets (WALMART AND TARGET aren't supermarkets

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 04, 2019
Customer service was rude and wanted tax
BusinessOwner41 Cardholder

They want your federal tax returns. They did not require them before issuing the card and then after a month told me they needed them. I of course said no to that. Had I have known that they would have asked me for federal tax returns I would not have applied. Putting 4 years of federal tax returns out on the internet or even stored on their systems so they can be hacked later is just not a good idea. The value of the card is not worth the risk. No other card company has asked for my federal returns.  752 Fico score and don't need the hassle or risk. When I talked to them they said they had to have them or they might cancel me. I said to cancel my card I was not longer interested in it. Even though the card was paid in full they canceled the card and put it on my credit report that they had cancelled it when I had cancelled it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 26, 2020
I was only approved tor $1000 w/ 735 CS.
Michelledis Cardholder

My other 6 cards are well iover10 grand each. Hopefully I still get my $200 for spending $1000 in the first 90 days. I'll let you know.

more ...
Jan 25, 2020
fwenn07 Cardholder

Approved quickly but horrible experience and small credit Line!

more ...
Jan 08, 2020
Finally approved!
Stryker9 Cardholder

Wanted to re-establish my credit with an American Express card and was approved for a5K credit line. Thank you so much!

more ...
Dec 28, 2019
This card is all lies.
angelrainey22 Cardholder

You don't find out the truth until you apply and then the cards and the rules get sent to you afterwards. Run for your life. I have many better Visa and MasterCards that keep it real the entire time. I will never apply for an Amex again. PS- My credit score is 832. Look elsewhere

more ...
Dec 28, 2019

Not sure what "rules" you are referring to but everything is spelled out at least twice during the application process.

 
Jan 04, 2020

Explaining what you mean by "truth" and "rules" would be helpful.

 
Jan 19, 2020

?

 
Jan 20, 2020

What do you mean?

 
Dec 20, 2019
Great so far
Meg302 Cardholder

I applied with a score of 715 my annual income is 195k a year I was approved for $15 k and applied thru credit carma, so far so good customer service has been great. I gut my card with in 5 days however my envelop was already opened by the time I received it, I called customer service they fedex me my new card with in 48 hours .

more ...
Jan 05, 2020

I'm interested in obtaining this card but would like to know if they ask for tax return. I read a review from someone complaining about it and want to know more information. Thanks

 
Jan 16, 2020

they might if you have a really high income. can you prove your income if it is high? most customers aren't asked for proof

 
Dec 09, 2019
No annual fee with great rewards
Dman47 Cardholder

Got this card in the mail. Nice intro bonus along with great % cash back for a no annual fee card. Started out at $2k credit then randomly jumped to $5k credit. Amex is a good company to do business with.

more ...
Jan 05, 2020

Did they ask for tax return ?

 
Jan 16, 2020

they might if you report a really high income. are you ballin like that?

 
Dec 05, 2019
American Express is the best
Olabren Cardholder

I've been a member since 1989 and I've always had the best service. This card in particular is a good one to have although they have higher cashback % on other cards. I received a generous credt balance with unsolicited increase in a few months.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 12, 2020

They need to be more specific what the actual problem was

 
Dec 03, 2019
would not recommend
Lgmrz Cardholder

Customer service was very unsettling. Way too many "glitches in the system" as they said for any basic security issue. I've had a bad experience owning this card for only a few of months, more headache than benefits !!!

more ...
Dec 03, 2019

Thanks, because of this review I've decided not to apply.

 
Dec 05, 2019

You based your decision on 1 review? My experience has been very good. System works great and customer service is excellent. Amex offers are unmatched in the industry.

 
Dec 02, 2019
Trash
superkamiguru Cardholder

I only applied for this card so that, upon approval, I could make use of the option to immediately make a purchase before the physical card arrived with the card number and a temporary CID.  This seemed perfect, as it would enable me to use the card to take advantage of a black friday deal that would enable me to pay off over time and get the $200 bonus since the item costs over $1k.  However, attempting to do so got my account locked.  I called a rep who said they cannot unock it until I get the physical card, but by then the deal will most likely end, thus the only reason I got the card is out the window, I just wasted a hard credit pull for nothing.  They also said maybe I could get the shipping expedited so I could at least have a chance to race against time getting the card before the deal ends.  I tried once and they said I had to wait 24 hours.  I waited 24 hours and called again only to be told that they couldn't expedite shipping the card after all.  By the time I get the card and can get my account unlocked the deal will most likely be over, meaning I cannot use the card for the only purpose that interests me.  I wasted my time and a hard credit pull just to be given the runaround.  Ridiculous.

more ...
Dec 21, 2019

Maybe don't get what is theoretically a loan on your credit account solely for the purpose of taking advantage of a black friday deal? Or just get the card early? it sounds like you had a number of options and instead are complaining about something that happened because you got a card and made a 1000 dollar draw on it before it ever arrived.

 
Dec 26, 2019

😳

 
Jan 03, 2020

Not really their fault lol

 
Jan 07, 2020

I agree with superkamiguru. Amex advertises cards this way during online check-outs, it seems like an attractive deal, but the card number never comes through. Then you call customer service and it sounds like they are telling everyone the same. This offer is a lie imo.

 
Dec 01, 2019
Not the best

Overall, this card is fine. I use it mostly for groceries. The one thing I hate about it is that you have to wait until you have $25 worth of cash back to redeem it. For someone who doesn’t make/spend a lot of money, this can take forever to get to. My other cards (discover it and chase freedom) let me use cash back at any amount.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 05, 2019

Agree, with Discover I can use my cash back at any amount. :)

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express