Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
148 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 01, 2018
Dont rely on your CK approval odds
inoa05 Cardholder

If you're considering applying for this card based on your approval odds from CK don't! AMEX checks your FICO score and doesn't pull from Transunion or Equifax, so to say the creditkarma approval odds are inaccurate is an understatement. I suggest checking your Experian score and most important, check if you have pre approved offers from AMEX before applying.

My review/experience so far..

 When I applied for the Blue Cash Everyday my FICO score was somewhere around 740s-750s. I was approved and decided to apply for the Everyday Card at the same time, I was approved as well and they only counted as one inquiry so that's great! I received my cards roughly a week later via FEDEX overnight, included was my Experian score and report.

A few things I like/dislike so far..

 I like AMEX gives high starting limits and a 3X CLI after 60 days of opening the account. I like they give its members access to their FICO 8 score. The rewards aren’t rotating categories but the cash dollars updates at the end of each statement and you can only redeem in increments of $25. I let it build up anyway so that doesn’t bother me.

 So far I’ve only had 1 merchant that did not accept AMEX and being a large purchase it was disappointing, I ended up paying with a MC instead. Customer service seems to be outsourced, some agents have a strong accent and can be hard to understand at times but they're very friendly, courteous and try hard to make it right and fix whatever issue you might have. It takes about 2 months to start reporting on creditkarma, then reports 1 month late but eventually reports on time. Creditkarma is great for what it is, a free service. I don’t rely on it 100% and have a premium subscription with a reputable company that gives all 3 bureau score/report that updates in real time and so much more. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 04, 2019
Customer service was rude and wanted tax
BusinessOwner41 Cardholder

They want your federal tax returns. They did not require them before issuing the card and then after a month told me they needed them. I of course said no to that. Had I have known that they would have asked me for federal tax returns I would not have applied. Putting 4 years of federal tax returns out on the internet or even stored on their systems so they can be hacked later is just not a good idea. The value of the card is not worth the risk. No other card company has asked for my federal returns.  752 Fico score and don't need the hassle or risk. When I talked to them they said they had to have them or they might cancel me. I said to cancel my card I was not longer interested in it. Even though the card was paid in full they canceled the card and put it on my credit report that they had cancelled it when I had cancelled it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 25, 2019
Will screw up your credit score
Edtomas222 Cardholder

They decreased my credit limit after a year of owning one never had a single late payment always paid few hundreds over the minimum due 

also they don’t negotiate  lower down your interest rate like other companies 

more ...
Mar 24, 2019
American Express is NOT GOOD AT ALL!!!
Vic2019 Cardholder

American Express sucks. They invite you to $10000 credit limits, for example, and then, when you have a $4000 debt, for example,  that you are paying with no late payments included, the will reduce your credit limit into $5000 in order to make you pay. They will destroy your credit without consideration. They won't notify you before, they will just do it. They offer you big credit limit, make you bite and then they will try to take all the money you took as a loan, and they will try to do it in one second...and if you do not pay, they going to take the money from the companies that insured their way to exist. I will never have another card from that guys. Not recommended, not at all. Don't like the way they do business. By the way, if you call them, they will put someone from INDIA to take care of you, you won't understand a word, trust me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 25, 2019

Very true

 
Mar 23, 2019
Horrible !!!
luis000 Cardholder

I own this credict card, the cash back, you only can use when you make $ 25 or more, and you need to process it to be availabe to use, I have Discover and the Caskback is automatic ready to use it does not matter if you have $ 2, you can use it. And the offer to "PLAN IT" payments, is a pay system, but ... the report tou balance !!!!! is like you are not making payments !!! . For example is you spend $600 Amex offer 3 payments of $200/mounth , ok is fine , but the report the balance !!!!! is NOT A PAYMENTS SYSTEM . if I have a payment plan . my payments is $200 a month. if I not pay $200 . report my balance=$200, or if  I pay $100 . report my balance $100.... don't get this Credit card

more ...
Mar 23, 2019
Great and simple
Emilianolgu Cardholder

The AMEX Blue Cash was my 2nd Credit card ever, and I love it. 3% back on groceries, 2% back on gas & certain stores, and 1% back on everything else.

I look forward to holding this card my entire life, and upgrading it to the Blue Cash Preferred for 6% back on groceries & 3% back at Gas stations & certain stores once I have a family! I would recommend anyone who does not have a family yet to get this card. If you have some hungry mouths and spend more than $31 at the grocery market per week, get the Blue Cash Preferred! 

more ...
Mar 17, 2019
nice card customer service is excellent
jimmyd787 Cardholder

my scores are 825,813 amd 840  i was approved for $13,800.

more ...
Mar 15, 2019
American Express is great!
Anonymous Cardholder

Highly recommend

more ...
Mar 13, 2019
Low lines of credit
Baraq7613 Cardholder

This card gave me my lowest limit yet. I have other cards with over 10k limits. This one only gave me 1000. My credit scores I the 740s 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 13, 2019

If you have a ton of cards and a revolving balance, most banks will give you a small line on new cards. And if you already have an Amex card, it's almost guaranteed you'll get a smaller line on that second card. You did not provide any of this information, so maybe the you should get 1 star as a customer.

 
Mar 13, 2019
Great Grocery Card, Great Benefits
Nathan201 Cardholder

This card is straight forward. It's great for groceries, and it has great benefits that I've used multiple times now. American Express' customer service has always been good for me, and all of the claims process is done in house and is easy to fill out as well

more ...
Mar 11, 2019
Great starter card and everyday card
Drlosi Cardholder

I didn't have bad credit, I just had no credit. Spent 30 years paying cash or using my debit card. Decided I needed to play the game if I wanted a good credit score. 7 months after I got my very first credit card (Cap One $2,500 limit), I applied for a Blue Cash card. I was disappointed they didn't offer me the bonus, but beggars can't be choosers. I was only approved for $500 with a 669 Experian score. I used the card for gas and groceries and little oddball stuff. Made one payment a week and only let $20 go to statement each month. Made my payments and after 5 months they raised my limit to $1000. I kept doing the same thing, make a payment a week and only let $20 go to statement each month. After 10 months they raised my limit to $3,000 with a 708 Experian score. Amex has been great on the customer service and their phone app is easy to use. Payments post almost immediately. I plan on upgrading the card to the Preferred card after I have had it for a year as I spend more than $66 a week on average for groceries. So far I have run into only two places that haven't taken an Amex card, Great Clips and most doctors offices. It is a great card and Amex will treat you right if you treat your credit right. Highly recommend. 

more ...
Mar 11, 2019
Best Credit Card Company!
kf4sci Cardholder

I destroyed my credit by not using it for several years. It’s been rough trying to get it back. American Express has been good to me! Customer service is fantastic! Payments are quick & easy and post immediately. No hidden fees, ridiculous interest or games, just a good place to do business with. I started with a rather low credit limit but it doesn’t matter as you can make payments as often as you like keeping your balance low.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express

148 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i