Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.6 out of 5 stars
121 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 01, 2018
Dont rely on your CK approval odds
inoa05 Cardholder

If you're considering applying for this card based on your approval odds from CK don't! AMEX checks your FICO score and doesn't pull from Transunion or Equifax, so to say the creditkarma approval odds are inaccurate is an understatement. I suggest checking your Experian score and most important, check if you have pre approved offers from AMEX before applying.

My review/experience so far..

 When I applied for the Blue Cash Everyday my FICO score was somewhere around 740s-750s. I was approved and decided to apply for the Everyday Card at the same time, I was approved as well and they only counted as one inquiry so that's great! I received my cards roughly a week later via FEDEX overnight, included was my Experian score and report.

A few things I like/dislike so far..

 I like AMEX gives high starting limits and a 3X CLI after 60 days of opening the account. I like they give its members access to their FICO 8 score. The rewards aren’t rotating categories but the cash dollars updates at the end of each statement and you can only redeem in increments of $25. I let it build up anyway so that doesn’t bother me.

 So far I’ve only had 1 merchant that did not accept AMEX and being a large purchase it was disappointing, I ended up paying with a MC instead. Customer service seems to be outsourced, some agents have a strong accent and can be hard to understand at times but they're very friendly, courteous and try hard to make it right and fix whatever issue you might have. It takes about 2 months to start reporting on creditkarma, then reports 1 month late but eventually reports on time. Creditkarma is great for what it is, a free service. I don’t rely on it 100% and have a premium subscription with a reputable company that gives all 3 bureau score/report that updates in real time and so much more. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 04, 2019
Customer service was rude and wanted tax
BusinessOwner41 Cardholder

They want your federal tax returns. They did not require them before issuing the card and then after a month told me they needed them. I of course said no to that. Had I have known that they would have asked me for federal tax returns I would not have applied. Putting 4 years of federal tax returns out on the internet or even stored on their systems so they can be hacked later is just not a good idea. The value of the card is not worth the risk. No other card company has asked for my federal returns.  752 Fico score and don't need the hassle or risk. When I talked to them they said they had to have them or they might cancel me. I said to cancel my card I was not longer interested in it. Even though the card was paid in full they canceled the card and put it on my credit report that they had cancelled it when I had cancelled it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 23, 2019
Very good card with no annual fee
achunt2143 Cardholder

The rewards on this card are pretty good. Applied through credit karma. My first american express card. I had excellent approval odds so I figured I should apply. I was instantly approved for $3900. A couple months later I was given an increase to $10500. And no APR for 12 months is great too!

more ...
Jul 21, 2019
Kinda Disrespected
JKing1996 Cardholder

I have a score of 720 and I responsibly manage $10,000 of credit. I think it goes without saying that I felt pretty disrespected after getting approved, but only for $1,000. Super upsetting in my opinion.

more ...
Jul 21, 2019
Never again
Rawhide55 Cardholder

I always paid on time my credit score was 690-730. I was going on a cruise and was going to use this card exclusively. I had a $15k cl and my balance was $13k+.I decided to pay $3k to have enough money to use on this particular cruise. As soon as the payment posted they dropped my cl to $10. I had to scramble to get some money for my vacation. Customer service was no help.

more ...
Jul 20, 2019
Good in Super Markets
ZackAttack8203 Cardholder

This is a really good card for 3% cashback at super markets. I strongly recommend getting this card because 3% can go a long way for getting food and/or supplies from supermarkets (WALMART AND TARGET aren't supermarkets

more ...
Jul 21, 2019

you can get 3% back from walmart if you do walmart grocery pickup

 
Jul 22, 2019

That’s good to know. Thank you for sharing this information!

 
Jul 09, 2019
Love this card!
Melzee0909 Cardholder

I got my sign on bonus quickly. I like this card a lot and use it for everyday purchases.

more ...
Jul 15, 2019

how long after you reached the $1000 min spend did you get the bonus?

 
Jul 15, 2019

Its going to depend on your spending habits. If you buy a lot of merchandise up to 1,000, it will take longer due to the risk of returning merchandise. On the other hand, if you buy a lot of restaurant meals, it will happen pretty quickly, especially if you blow way over $1,000.

 
Jul 09, 2019
Ok
Hessdan Cardholder

My daughter passed away in December 2018! Add a job switch 1 month prior and our credit card balances began to increase. Tough times but we never made a single late payment on any accounts.

  All of my credit cards were fine with the exception of one. American Express reduced my credit lines to the level I owed and effectively killed my credit scores! Suddenly I was at 100% of the line! I called to cancel my cards and they warned me it could hurt my credit scores! I politely told them you all ready have!

 I will continue to make payments till the accounts are paid off but will never use Amex again! Fair weather friends!

more ...
Jul 04, 2019
So far, so good
BxGirl95 Cardholder

The last credit card I applied for was about 12 years ago so I decided it was time to add an AMEX into the mix. The application process was very simple and I was immediately approved for 25k. It’s only been 2 months, but in that short time my credit score went from 785 to 811. I’m not a big credit card user, but I’ve read several reviews that state AMEX will lower your credit limit due to inactivity, so I make small purchases and pay it off as soon as it pops up on my account. So far I’ve had no issues to report and I hope it stays that way.

more ...
Jun 21, 2019
BAD CARD
storedeals1 Cardholder

They will give lure you with a good offer for a balance transfer balance, if you still have credit left after the the balance transfer and you don't use the card, they will automatically lower you limit, it really does not matter to these people if you pay on time, if your credit score goes higher, they have bad customer service.

more ...
Jun 30, 2019

You probably aren't disclosing information regarding your credit situation as of late. Maybe you missed a payment with another card or account. They lost trust in you.

 
Jul 16, 2019

Same thing happened to me. I wasn't using the card too much so they lowered my credit limit.

 
Jun 19, 2019
Deceitful marketing
ErikaFW Cardholder

I Applied for this card in order to do a balance transfer, which this card was recommended for. I read all of the fine print and it said nothing about only being able to initiate a balance transfer one time. I also only got approved for about half of the amount of the balance I need to transfer. I called them and asked them if I could transfer a balance, pay it off, then transfer another balance that way I can  Applied for this card in order to do a balance transfer, which this card was recommended for. I read all of the fine print and it said nothing about only being able to initiate a balance transfer one time. I also only got approved for about half of the amount of the balance I need to transfer. I called them and asked them if I could transfer a balance, pay it off, then transfer another balance that way I can still Use the card. They said no and that I can only do one balance transfer with this card and that there is no way that I can increase that credit limit. Now I am stuck with a useless credit card, a hard inquiry on my credit report, and no way to actually transfer my balance off of my current card with a 25% interest-rate.  Use the card. They said no and that I can only do one balance transfer with this card and that there is no way that I can increase that credit limit. Now I am stuck with a useless credit card, a hard inquiry on my credit report, and no way to actually transfer my balance off of my current card with a 25% interest-rate.  I explained all of this to American express and how they marketed this card In a deceitful manner and now they have lowered my credit score and I am stuck with a useless credit card and they do not care. The woman on the phone told me there is nothing that she can do. If you need a regular credit card, sure this will work, if you need to transfer a balance or want this card in order to help your credit score,  DO NOT DO IT. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 19, 2019

Why in the heII would you transfer a balance to a rewards card and use it at the same time and pay even more interest? Get a low interest rate credit card for balances. Use a rewards card for rewards and pay the monthly balance in full. You probably need to focus on eliminating your balances before using rewards cards.

 
Jun 17, 2019
UnAmerican customer service
BigBoo1267 Cardholder

Watch your balance like a hawk

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 18, 2019

I do, and it's always accurate. Very American!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express