Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 11, 2012
jaredalecia Cardholder

I was approved for this card four months ago with a KC score of 730, almost 2 years of history, $60k income, perfect payment history and pay off cards each month.  My initial credit line was $2,000, which is a bit low if you're trying to stay below 20% utilization, but I just used it for groceries and gas starting out.  AmEx has higher standards than most card issuers, and I was just glad to get approved with a short history.  I have two other cards with $5k limits and used those for most other purchases.  Last week, I called to request a credit limit increase (possible after 60 days of getting the card) and used the automated system to request a new CL of $6,000.  Five seconds later it was approved for triple my previous limit!  Hint: when requesting a CLI, shoot high but not too high.  If it's too low, you'll get approved but stuck with a lower limit than you could have got.  If you shoot too high, you're out of luck anyway.  I'm not expecting double or triple the next time around!  I'll be using this card much more often now that I have a decent CL.  My only complaint is that sometimes (especially with gas purchases), AmEx will put a large hold on your card until the purchase clears ($125 hold for a $55 gas purchase).  Not horrible, but kind of annoying. 

Another thing I like about this card is the social media deals. I've synced my card with Facebook and Twitter and have already gotten some of the great deals offered ($5 free at Redbox and $5 off of $10 spent at McD's!).  Hard to beat good deals like that by just being an AmEx user. 

Quick note: please don't review cards based solely on whether you were approved or not. Being denied doesn't necessarily make it a bad card, and being approved for a high CL doesn't necessarily make it a great card.  Use the card for a while and then leave an informed review. Thanks!

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 30, 2015
AMEX and its former glory
kulEX00 Cardholder

It was back in 2011 when I decided that I needed an "elite" credit card with awesome perks and a high credit limit. My highest CL credit card at the time was a Capital One at $9k. After speaking to some friends in the world of banking and finance and reading a myriad of online reviews, my choices were narroed down to the AMEX Blue Csh Everyday, the Discover it (Discover sent me stuff in the mail weekly...), and the Chase Sapphire. My requirements were simple: no annual fee, rewards whether it be through points of airline miles, and a high credit limit. A little background info about myself in 2011: 28 years old, $76k income, no debt (car paid off, no house yet), 786 FICO, 7 years AAoA, no derogs or negative marks on credit report, 100% payment history, and 5 accounts.

I finally decided on the AMEX card because I already had a Chase Freedom, so I did not need another Chase card cannibalizing each other's points and AMEX was renown for customer service. I applied online and was instantly approved for $8k. Decent start, but I'm okay with it since everyone said you can request an increase 90 days later. My other terms were 14.99% APR (didn't care since I always pay in full at the end of every month) and $100 bonus after spending $1k within 3 months (easily completed). Cool, right?

Three weeks later, I receive a pre-approved offer from AMEX via snail mail for the same card, but with $150 bonus and 12.99% APR. I was hoping to call up AMEX to see if they can honor these terms since I had just applied for their card and was approved three weeks prior. Kind of a nice welcome gesture. Fifty bucks to them would be nothing compared to the merchant fees they would make from me charging all my purchases on the AMEX. Plus, this was around December, so you can imagine the charges I would rack up with Christmas shopping (I spent $4k that holiday season on gifts). I call them up. Denied... I wait a few more days... denied. I thought about cancelling the card at that point and going with Chase Sapphire, but a business trip and a death in the family distracted me, and I let it slide. Strike one for AMEX.

So, the previous incident happened around December. January 2012 rolls around, and I receive an email from AMEX offering me a year of Amazon Prime for free. Dude, who would not take that offer? I did not have Amazon Prime at the time, so I signed up. The terms were that I sign up, pay for Amazon Prime up front using my AMEX card, then AMEX would reimburse me in the form of credit to my statement. Done deal. Or so I thought... Four months roll by, and I check my credit statement. Nothing. I call up AMEX and state my issue. The rep pulled up my account and said that I did not have that offer on my account... I told her I applied for it through the email offer by clicking the link. She said if I did, then it would have flagged it in their system, but she did see that I paid for Amazon Prime using my AMEX. Mind you, I'm no idiot when it comes to computers as I work in software engineering. Luckily, I save most of my emails, so I offered to forward her both the offer email AND the confirmation from AMEX that I had redeemed the offer through their link. Nope, she wouldn't have it. She said she would have another department review it, then contact me with the results in 2 weeks. Fine. Three weeks roll by, nothing. I contact them back to inquire about the status of this review. They said there was no reivew or investigation and it was news to them... So, either the previous lied to me to get me off the phone, or AMEX folk are idiots. So, I restated my issue and offered to forward them the offer email and confirmation email. Nope... They said they would launch another investigation, but for reals this time... Wait three weeks... Nothing... I call them up. Guess what. They have no record of any investigation. I gave up. My time and sanity is worth more than the $90 they would have reimbursed me.

If you lasted this long through my review, then thank you, and I hope you take my experiences into consideration when/if applying for this card or any AMEX card. From what I have been reading in the news with the layoffs at AMEX, I am somewhat not surprised. AMEX won the JD Powers award for best customer service, but I have yet to see any of this famed customer service. To date, it really has been like every other credit card I have except for those random offers they have on their website (e.g. spend $50 at Lucille's and get $10 credit). Nothing AMEX has done has set them apart from Chase or Capital One in my experience. It is August 2015. Chase just sent me my new Freedom card with the chip n pin. Nothing from AMEX yet. They are waiting until the last minute I guess.

Maybe AMEX is scaling back since not a lot of merchants accept them, or because Costco dropped them. Whatever it is, I have not been feeling the love from AMEX. Maybe the rumors have just been hyped up?

more ...

Reviews (1087)

Add Review
Oct 23, 2016
deathbydesert Cardholder

I am going to tell you everything about my application! I got approved with TU 712 EX 693 and EQ 693 with 10 MONTHS of OUTSTANDING Credit History. I have income of about 13K and Net assets which the application asked for (10K-$24,999). I got approved for $1000 CL! My credit utilization is about 20%-30% so a little below the target. I believe they check Experian which I had 2 inquires on and 30% Credit Utilization though that is before an upcoming update which should have brought my Credit Utilization to about 20%.

I hope this helps!

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
American Express has a good reputation
Ralkahn Cardholder

The application was easy but they only offered a $500 limit so we dont use it too often cause we want to be able to earn the rewards for our spending. 

more ...
Oct 21, 2016

The Very Likely approval rating had been taunting me for months now. Today I finally decided to apply, and was approved for $5800! I missed being an AmEx customer since my JetBlue card was taken over by Barclaycard.

TU 705

EQ 707

more ...
Oct 21, 2016

Well I was approved with a score of 688 13 months of good history with capital one for a 1000$
I'm happy

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
angeladixon1 Cardholder

I was finally approved for this card. It took a couple weeks and lots of phone calls due to the fraud alert on my account. I appreciate the extra measures of security, but was also frustrated. Now that I have been approved, I am very excited.

Thanks American Express 👍

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
Gas and groceries
Jeremyb0126 Cardholder

Applied with 640 equifax  50k income approved for $1500 limit not bad 

more ...
Oct 17, 2016
Bad odds of approval

CK said I had "Very Good" odds of approval for this card, I got denied. My credit score was 656. Would read carefully before applying, I don't recommend it. I applied for the Capital One card instead, got approved for 2,000.

more ...
Oct 17, 2016

Credit karma said my chances were very good of being approved for this credit card.  Was declined and my transunion and experian scores were 724/725.  Thanks credit karma for the great suggestion.

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express

1087 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i