Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
239 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.99% - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.99% - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 01, 2018
Dont rely on your CK approval odds
inoa05 Cardholder

If you're considering applying for this card based on your approval odds from CK don't! AMEX checks your FICO score and doesn't pull from Transunion or Equifax, so to say the creditkarma approval odds are inaccurate is an understatement. I suggest checking your Experian score and most important, check if you have pre approved offers from AMEX before applying.

My review/experience so far..

 When I applied for the Blue Cash Everyday my FICO score was somewhere around 740s-750s. I was approved and decided to apply for the Everyday Card at the same time, I was approved as well and they only counted as one inquiry so that's great! I received my cards roughly a week later via FEDEX overnight, included was my Experian score and report.

A few things I like/dislike so far..

 I like AMEX gives high starting limits and a 3X CLI after 60 days of opening the account. I like they give its members access to their FICO 8 score. The rewards aren’t rotating categories but the cash dollars updates at the end of each statement and you can only redeem in increments of $25. I let it build up anyway so that doesn’t bother me.

 So far I’ve only had 1 merchant that did not accept AMEX and being a large purchase it was disappointing, I ended up paying with a MC instead. Customer service seems to be outsourced, some agents have a strong accent and can be hard to understand at times but they're very friendly, courteous and try hard to make it right and fix whatever issue you might have. It takes about 2 months to start reporting on creditkarma, then reports 1 month late but eventually reports on time. Creditkarma is great for what it is, a free service. I don’t rely on it 100% and have a premium subscription with a reputable company that gives all 3 bureau score/report that updates in real time and so much more. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 07, 2018
Okay so far
Jessie11210 Cardholder

Applied for this card with all 3 credits scores around 740s and got approved for $8,000. I honestly didnt need that much but I applied cause there’s no annual fee, cash back is 1-3% depending on what you purchase, which I didn’t realize till after I got the card I thought it would just be on my overall purchase but still pretty good. Best advice pay way more than minimum payment or just buy what you know you can pay in full at the end of month and you’ll be fine!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 10, 2018
Good cash back card.

Nice looking card. Amex has always taken care of me when frauded. I like this card. My only gripe is a lot of my large purchases aren't cash back eligible. If I spend almost 5 grand on something I'm expecting my rewards balance to go up at least 50 bucks (1% on all other purchases). Only to be disappointed when it only goes up 15 bucks or so.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 11, 2018

Amex is always a month behind on the cash back.

 
Dec 06, 2018
Good Card
peebleweeble Cardholder

I have this card and use it often for groceries and gas. They place your rewards on your next statement so the best way to acquire your reward credits is through gift cards. You will receive them in 7-14 days instead of the 45 - 60 credit on your account.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 06, 2018

I get a statement credit every time, takes a couple of days.

 
Nov 30, 2018
Move on to next option.
JAM1325 Cardholder

Near excellent score, last new credit card was approximately 18 months ago and I was approved for 9800$ then by capital one, approved for 2000$ this time. I make more money, I have a better credit score, I have no negatives since last card...why 1/5 the credit limit?!?! I make more in one paycheck than what they approved for my credit limit! Mistake, wish I could go back and choose another card.

more ...
Nov 25, 2018
AMEX discontinue rewards after 6 months
drtuttle15 Cardholder

Amex will stop rewarding cash back and points after 6 months of using the card. I noticed after a while that they stopped awarding the cash back for no reason at all. Made purchases in Restaurants and Gad stations I frequent usually and I was no longer receiving the cash back rewards I was getting for the same purchases in the first 6 months of having the card. I had two cards and cancelled all inmediately after noticing the scam and several times I claimed to Amex I wasn’t getting rewarded for any of my purchases. Avoid all Amex cards, they seem too good to be true.

Huge disappointment. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 25, 2018

Yeah, sure they will. Had the card over 5 years and with the offers they have now included, the reward dollars are better than ever. So no, after 6 months they do not stop awarding dollars. Might want to check your statement and talk to customer service.

 
Nov 25, 2018
Lukewarm reception
GreenEdge Cardholder

I applied less than a year ago and instantly received a CL of $8000.  Just remember they pull from Experian and not TU or EQ so Creditkarma isn't exactly a reliable source for approval odds.  I docked off two stars because of two reasons: First, even though I worked hard over the years to build up my credit score to ~ 760's - 780's across TU, EX, and EQ and got approved with a 777 EX score, I never received the $150 sign-up bonus at all.  I had a retcon with a representative twice over it and was told, yes, I did receive the bonus. It's an error and they'll have it fixed. It's already almost a year and still nothing so not a fan of the bait and switch strategy with this offer!  I even applied for Chase Freedom Ultimate the next month after American Express and received my $150 immediately.  Secondly the perks and bonuses offered isn't all that grand unless I heavily charge with this card.  Overall it's an okay credit card from my experience. 15 mos. no interest plus instant approval with a good starting CL was an excellent start but everything right after is just lukewarm. Learn from my experience and take it into consideration.

more ...
Nov 24, 2018
Do not get this card!
environmental1 Cardholder

Very inflexible with everything. Missed a payment by literally 6 hours over Thanksgiving week. Still charged a $27 dollar late fee that they would not waive. Much better options out there. Capital One or Discover. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 24, 2018

It's a bad card because you were late paying. If you are 6 hours late for your flight, do not fly that airline? 6 hours late for your exam, do not attend that university? 6 hours late for a date, do not date that girl? Maybe Amex should say, do not take environmental1 as a customer.

 
Nov 20, 2018
Read the fine print!!Beware!
CHB3 Cardholder

American Express lies about the offers they advertise. I already had the blue cash card, but frequently stay at hotel so I applied for Hilton honors card and the bonus offer advertised on their website and got approved for the card however no offer was applied. I filed dispute with them threatening to cancel the card because of the deception of the offer. It took three weeks and they ruled to not apply the offer. So therefore I have lost confidence in American Express and cancelled the Hilton card and it’s $95 a year . Plus many vendors do not even accept Amex. So I avoid using this dishonest company with horrible customer service 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 20, 2018

It seems that you are OK with the Blue Cash card and wrote about another card. Not very helpful here. Is there anything else you want to add? What you bowled in your last game or how your fantasy football team is doing?

 
Nov 19, 2018
Just awesome!
LaraLoo Cardholder

I had fair approval odds for this credit card in Nov 2017, but was approved with a $500 CL when I applied. It's been a whole year, and my current CL is $2,500 - If I had known to ask for more, I would've; they only take CLIs into consideration every 6 months. They have great customer service, and a very efficient phone app (where you can ask for a CLI too.) I must praise the phone app for its convenience and overall easy navigation. I can do almost everything on it, and see most of my information (not pie charts of my spending, those are on the wesbite.) I can also say that the free FICO score is accurate, because I'm paying for an experian subscription that refreshes my credit score when there is any change - although Amex doesn't refresh as frequently. Overall, this is a great card with great cash back rewards, just make sure you read what stores/vendors are eligible.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 03, 2018

Hi on amex cards you can get a cli 3 times for year i was approved for 2000$ my limit now is 10,000$ i'm not going to use it just did it to raise my score a lot of users hear don't like it they cry about they was denied not knowing it could be there reports causing them to be denied like if you got a fraud alert with no contact info you want get approved.

 
Nov 18, 2018
Awesome
MrPurple01 Cardholder

Got approved for $10,000 with 750 score which was what I expected. I like the 2% return on gas since I fill up my tank once every two days. It actually comes with free roadside assistance which was an excellent feature to apply. 

more ...
Nov 08, 2018
Great customer service, meh rewards
ladysquierrr Cardholder

As I remember it I was in the 660s across all bureaus when I applied and was approved for this card with a $2000 credit line. Keeping track of the cash back categories got exhausting after a while, but it's cool that you get 3% back on groceries. Not so cool that there's an annual cap on what you can earn. (Citi's Double Cash card doesn't have a cap; neither does QuickSilver One.) My husband and I used this as our 'exploit' card that we paid off in full just to reap the rewards but now we use the Double Cash instead since that has no caps. I have to say Amex was really good about identity protection. My card was hacked and fraudulently charged twice. After I told them what had happened with both transactions, they were quick to refund my money and shut down/replace my card number. They even overnighted my new card for free so I didn't have any spending downtime (since I used the card for groceries and gas).

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 08, 2018

Check out the deals. I use this card for things that aren't even in bonus categories. Cell phone bill discounts, department store discounts, cable bill, restaurants, travel, gas, etc. Sign up for them and use them. Can get a few hundred back every year just on these deals.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express