Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews

Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews
3.6 out of 5 stars
132 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.49% - 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.49% - 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

1 star reviews (28) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 20, 2019
Misleading on balance transfers
Anonymous Cardholder

Misleading and false advertising with balance transfer being approved

more ...
Aug 16, 2019
JOKE
memabee Cardholder

Received an offer in the mail claiming a $0 transfer fee and 3% cash back for the first year. Applied and received an instant approval with a $14000 credit limit.  Problem, the transfer fee was actually 3% and, you guessed it, no 3% cash back!!!  Reason, really didn't get one other than, it wouldnt be fair to other customers?!?!?  What a joke of a company, I still have the offer, to bad you can't put pics in the reviews.  Account was closed as Chase offered absolutely nothing. We have better cards, with better cash back, from companies who honor their offers.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 18, 2019

You’ll see in the fine print these offers are contingent upon having stellar credit .. what were your scores and credit history when applying? Does it makes sense for someone with poor credit let’s say in the low 600s to get the best APR available? Absolutely not. Chase like a lot of other creditors that have great offers usually make them available for people with great credit .. can’t hate on chase because you didn’t read the fine print and irony here being that there is plenty of fine print when it comes to credit cards

 
Jul 31, 2019
Horrible
MichelleS1992 Cardholder

The app and website almost never work. I have only had the card for a month and can not make a payment. My payment has been returned 3 times due to "not enough funds" in my account, which is not true. I will NEVER get another chase card again.

more ...
Jul 31, 2019

I've had the card for 2+ years. Everything works, payments process correctly. Either make sure you have funds in your account or check to make sure you have the right account. Chase has been in business a long time, if they couldn't accept payments, they wouldn't be in business anymore.

 
Aug 06, 2019

I've never had issues with making payment. They gladly take my money lol.

 
Aug 18, 2019

You can’t wall into a bank and make a payment? Poor excuses

 
Jul 29, 2019
Pathetic
SKM94 Cardholder

I applied this card from credit karma suggestions. They took almost 2 weeks to reply they did credit check when I applied then they  asked some documents and again did they did credit check for the same reason then 2 weeks later got my credit card with limit of only  $1300 with credit score of 730 then I contacted the customer service and they said they will increase my asked me some questions and then bam again credit check and they denied the increase of credit there was 4 credit check in last 1 month and funny thing is this 3 of them are from chase just from 1 credit card  I got multiple hard inquiries that I haven’t gotten in 2 years I only 1-2 credit card every 2 year to increase my credit line so I could reach a higher credit score.

more ...
Aug 16, 2019

What documents did they request

 
Sep 06, 2019

Dispute it

 
Jun 20, 2019
Very low credit line!
Davoud321 Cardholder

Compared to other cards it has a low credit line! You can definitely get another card with a very higher credit line and more features.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 01, 2019

I got a very high credit line with Chase. I can definitely can get a smaller line with another card so it depends on your available credit and other cards you have.

 
Jun 04, 2019
customer service is a joke
badfire2u Cardholder

got to talk to over 15 customer service Representatives over a wrong SSN on an application I sent in for the freedom card. not a single one of them told me the same story all of them acted as if nothing was written down from the last representative. I was informed I was approved for the card till 11 days later when I find out that they never sent it and I was still listed with the wrong SSN. still was told I could fix the old application without harm to my credit score so I did because of anger at this point. I do it all again call back 15 WEEKDAYS later to find out they lost my SNN in the fax, fantastic. they tell me they have another way to fix it and ask for the real SNN I give it to them they then proceed to do a hard inquiry without my knowledge.  I think I got to talk to every single department they have at chase and the end all they did was lower my score more for a refill of a new application because of my SSN. apparently, all you need to do to file a hard inquiry under someone's name is to use the power of Facebook and then add a random SSN and its legal to chase, wonderful. even got to go to credit reporting errors were the women so nicely told me she has no idea if they are legally required to tell you when they're running a hard inquiry and "because the other info is right other than the SSN it's not an error" WUT! (an error is not an error)  that can be removed from my score. I now get to live in fear till I close the account that if anything goes wrong, I will not be able to fix it since this is such a small thing and nothing inside the company walls can be done to fix it. incompetence is all I got and when I did get help it was misleading and miss informed help because hope is just a dream you hold onto in a time of chaos.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 21, 2019

I had the same experience with Capital One!

 
May 08, 2019
Chase pulled my credit 2x for one app!

I applied for this card and Chase pulled my credit the day I applied and again on the next day. When I saw multiple hard inquiries on my credit report I called them. Since I am now their customer I expected to call them and they would correct the issue. WRONG. Not only were they unapologetic, they informed me that they have the right to do 3 HARD PULLS ON A SINGLE APPLICATION. Unless you are ok with the effect this could have on your credit score, I would recommend you DO NOT APPLY WITH CHASE!

more ...
May 09, 2019

That’s horrible

 
May 10, 2019

thats fine still, they will only count as one pull, as far as points lost from the pulls. Your ok

 
May 10, 2019

That’s very true, chase will drop your score a good 20 points. Be very careful before applying.
They will dinnie your application if you charged off in the last ten years,

 
May 10, 2019

TeamBeaterz not true! When I look at Credit Karma, I have 3 hard inquires. One is from an auto loan from last year and the other two are hard pulls from Chase on TWO consecutive days. I only submitted ONE application. They confirmed that the fine print authorized them to pull up to 3 times. I'M NOT FINE.

 
May 10, 2019

Bruh they Pull Experian and Transunion in Most states and sometime A CRA will report a day after one another

 
Jun 04, 2019

happened to me to wish I had seen this review before getting a chase card

 
May 02, 2019
Worst card ever!
rallen415 Cardholder

I filed a dispute because a charge that was on my card was invalid. They made me jump through hoops and then denied the dispute twice for technicalities like you didn’t answer the phone when we called (because their number was marked as spam and blocked by my spam blocker app). And we sent you a letter in the mail (never got it because I have e-statements and the letter went to a mailbox that you can only access from a desktop). So then they tell me I have to travel a whole hour to the nearest Apple store to get a document from them to use when I mail in my dispute. I do all of that and they deny it again saying while you have a valid claim, the charge will still remain on your account. They didn’t even tell me why it would remain..just because they said so. Don’t waste you time or hard earned money on this card.

more ...
May 02, 2019
Worst card I ever had
rallen415 Cardholder

I filed a dispute because a charge that was on my card was invalid. They made me jump through hoops and then denied the dispute twice for technicalities like you didn’t answer the phone when we called (because their number was marked as spam and blocked by my spam blocker app). And we sent you a letter in the mail (never got it because I have e-statements and the letter went to a mailbox that you can only access from a desktop). So then they tell me I have to travel a whole hour to the nearest Apple store to get a document from them to use when I mail in my dispute. I do all of that and they deny it again saying while you have a valid claim, the charge will still remain on your account. They didn’t even tell me why it would remain..just because they said so. Don’t waste you time or hard earned money on this card.

more ...
Apr 30, 2019
Not worth it
NJ1971 Cardholder

I applied for this card, got approved for a $1000 credit line. NEVER got the card. Chase closed the account for reasons unknown. My credit took a HUGE hit. I will NEVER again do business with Chase. Customer service rep was rude, suggested I do another application. No thanks, I know everything I need to know about Chase.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 30, 2019

u most have a old debt with them?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews

Chase Freedom Unlimited®