Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews

Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews
3.6 out of 5 stars
132 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.49% - 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.49% - 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

1 star reviews (28) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 15, 2019
Horrible
LeviLambert Cardholder

Applied, approved for $3600, great. Card shows up really quick, then chase pulls my credit 2 more times, and then cancels card. Score dropped over 30 points from their BS. Horrible experience.

more ...
Nov 17, 2019

there something you did that chase has not forgot or you where over the five twentyfour rule

 
Dec 05, 2019

Chase had a class action suit for illegal practices. They lost and will not forget the people who won.

 
Nov 15, 2019
Jorjik Cardholder

This card is ok,but the customer care is suck..

more ...
Nov 14, 2019
Incomplete account documentation
cgchad Cardholder

I've had this card less than 1 month and already made a good size payment, and that's where the issue began.
What they don't tell you in any documentation is that they will show your balance as lowered by the payment amount, but if you look at your available credit it won't show the payment.

From what the customer service rep told me, they place all new accounts into a payment hold for the first 4 months. On my case nearly a week from payment date to phone call had lapsed and they said it would still be additional time before it cleared.

I ended up calling since I didn't know anything about this "payment hold" and to prove my payment has cleared they did a conference call with my bank, it was only after that that they released the hold..

They said that I would need to repeat that process over the next 4 months.. Other cards I have have never had more than a 2 business day hold.

I'm probably going to take a hit on my credit, but this account is getting closed, and probably before the first bill even is cut.

more ...
Nov 15, 2019

thats a common procedure banks do when you make large payments from external bank accounts, i wouldnt close this card for that reason because you will see it happens elsewhere, atleast keep the card thru the promo apr 0 percent on purchases and balance transfers

 
Nov 15, 2019

I just don't understand why people want the money posted to their acc't immediately. I suppose if your living hand to mouth then you would need access to the money right away, but waiting for the payment to clear for a few days for 4 months doesn't' seem like a big problem to me. I have a couple other cards that aren't posted the same day or a couple of days. I'm not living on credit so it doesn't bother me.

 
Nov 16, 2019

Is this something new they started?.....have 3 cards with them and never recall having to wait more than 2-3 days for payment to clear.

 
Oct 29, 2019
PRICEY!
Theath1130 Cardholder

The fees on this card do NOT make any sense. It's super expensive and you'll be paying off your debt forever. Luckily, my balancew will be PIF at the end of this month & I vow to never use them again. Discover is a much better card & bank. 

more ...
Nov 18, 2019

PIF every month and you won’t have these problems. Discover will charge you interest too if you don’t.

 
Dec 09, 2019

This is a "Fee Free" card... What are you talking about...

 
Oct 20, 2019
Super low credit limit
Paco311 Cardholder

Made my credit score go down. Canceled it right away and score went up. Pathetic credit limit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 07, 2019

If you don’t mind me asking what was your credit score?

 
Oct 09, 2019
Don’t apply it, very bad card
Z8638 Cardholder

They had closed my 2cards for no reason, very bad customer service, I had very good pay history, no any single late payment at all, my credit score was 780, I only called once for increasing credit limit, and it was approved right away, few days later, I was told that my 2 accounts are closed for no reason. Never going to apply such bad credit card and bank account, very disappointed. I wish I can give them 0 star. 

more ...
Oct 15, 2019

There’s always a reason.

 
Oct 25, 2019

How long had it been since you used your cards that were closed

 
Nov 05, 2019

They got hacked and did u close out at zero. Maybe its because of what the question above is asking yoj. No use act closure.

 
Oct 04, 2019
Closed my account without explanation
breadblade Cardholder

I had this card for ~3 months and they closed it without explanation. I am not going to do business with Chase again.

more ...
Oct 27, 2019

They only close your card for non-payment.

 
Nov 08, 2019

Second person to say this. Reconsidering applying !

 
Oct 04, 2019
Horrible
Kingbroker Cardholder

I applied and was approved for $6200, I downloaded the app and did everything on a Friday. On Monday I was told they were shutting it down and closed it. What a waste of an inquiry, and my time

more ...
Oct 25, 2019

For what reason?

 
Nov 02, 2019

When they close your account, they have to send you an adverse action letter explaining why. What reason did they give?

 
Sep 19, 2019
Crappy
1madashell Cardholder

I called to confirm I could transfer a balance from one account to a new one and was told YES.  So I applied, was approved and then received a letter than balance could not be transferred.  So now I’ve cancelled the new account and I’m taking the HIT on my credit!   Chase customer service did not back what the customer service person told me.  Crappy customer service.  Do not trust this company 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 16, 2019

If the transfer was berween 2 chase backed cards you can't transfer. Chase backs a ton of different cards so watch out for that.

 
Aug 20, 2019
Misleading on balance transfers
Anonymous Cardholder

Misleading and false advertising with balance transfer being approved

more ...
Aug 16, 2019
JOKE
memabee Cardholder

Received an offer in the mail claiming a $0 transfer fee and 3% cash back for the first year. Applied and received an instant approval with a $14000 credit limit.  Problem, the transfer fee was actually 3% and, you guessed it, no 3% cash back!!!  Reason, really didn't get one other than, it wouldnt be fair to other customers?!?!?  What a joke of a company, I still have the offer, to bad you can't put pics in the reviews.  Account was closed as Chase offered absolutely nothing. We have better cards, with better cash back, from companies who honor their offers.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 18, 2019

You’ll see in the fine print these offers are contingent upon having stellar credit .. what were your scores and credit history when applying? Does it makes sense for someone with poor credit let’s say in the low 600s to get the best APR available? Absolutely not. Chase like a lot of other creditors that have great offers usually make them available for people with great credit .. can’t hate on chase because you didn’t read the fine print and irony here being that there is plenty of fine print when it comes to credit cards

 
Jul 31, 2019
Horrible
MichelleS1992 Cardholder

The app and website almost never work. I have only had the card for a month and can not make a payment. My payment has been returned 3 times due to "not enough funds" in my account, which is not true. I will NEVER get another chase card again.

more ...
Jul 31, 2019

I've had the card for 2+ years. Everything works, payments process correctly. Either make sure you have funds in your account or check to make sure you have the right account. Chase has been in business a long time, if they couldn't accept payments, they wouldn't be in business anymore.

 
Aug 06, 2019

I've never had issues with making payment. They gladly take my money lol.

 
Aug 18, 2019

You can’t wall into a bank and make a payment? Poor excuses

 
Jul 29, 2019
Pathetic
SKM94 Cardholder

I applied this card from credit karma suggestions. They took almost 2 weeks to reply they did credit check when I applied then they  asked some documents and again did they did credit check for the same reason then 2 weeks later got my credit card with limit of only  $1300 with credit score of 730 then I contacted the customer service and they said they will increase my asked me some questions and then bam again credit check and they denied the increase of credit there was 4 credit check in last 1 month and funny thing is this 3 of them are from chase just from 1 credit card  I got multiple hard inquiries that I haven’t gotten in 2 years I only 1-2 credit card every 2 year to increase my credit line so I could reach a higher credit score.

more ...
Aug 16, 2019

What documents did they request

 
Sep 06, 2019

Dispute it

 
Jun 20, 2019
Very low credit line!
Davoud321 Cardholder

Compared to other cards it has a low credit line! You can definitely get another card with a very higher credit line and more features.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 01, 2019

I got a very high credit line with Chase. I can definitely can get a smaller line with another card so it depends on your available credit and other cards you have.

 
Jun 04, 2019
customer service is a joke
badfire2u Cardholder

got to talk to over 15 customer service Representatives over a wrong SSN on an application I sent in for the freedom card. not a single one of them told me the same story all of them acted as if nothing was written down from the last representative. I was informed I was approved for the card till 11 days later when I find out that they never sent it and I was still listed with the wrong SSN. still was told I could fix the old application without harm to my credit score so I did because of anger at this point. I do it all again call back 15 WEEKDAYS later to find out they lost my SNN in the fax, fantastic. they tell me they have another way to fix it and ask for the real SNN I give it to them they then proceed to do a hard inquiry without my knowledge.  I think I got to talk to every single department they have at chase and the end all they did was lower my score more for a refill of a new application because of my SSN. apparently, all you need to do to file a hard inquiry under someone's name is to use the power of Facebook and then add a random SSN and its legal to chase, wonderful. even got to go to credit reporting errors were the women so nicely told me she has no idea if they are legally required to tell you when they're running a hard inquiry and "because the other info is right other than the SSN it's not an error" WUT! (an error is not an error)  that can be removed from my score. I now get to live in fear till I close the account that if anything goes wrong, I will not be able to fix it since this is such a small thing and nothing inside the company walls can be done to fix it. incompetence is all I got and when I did get help it was misleading and miss informed help because hope is just a dream you hold onto in a time of chaos.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 21, 2019

I had the same experience with Capital One!

 
May 08, 2019
Chase pulled my credit 2x for one app!

I applied for this card and Chase pulled my credit the day I applied and again on the next day. When I saw multiple hard inquiries on my credit report I called them. Since I am now their customer I expected to call them and they would correct the issue. WRONG. Not only were they unapologetic, they informed me that they have the right to do 3 HARD PULLS ON A SINGLE APPLICATION. Unless you are ok with the effect this could have on your credit score, I would recommend you DO NOT APPLY WITH CHASE!

more ...
May 09, 2019

That’s horrible

 
May 10, 2019

thats fine still, they will only count as one pull, as far as points lost from the pulls. Your ok

 
May 10, 2019

That’s very true, chase will drop your score a good 20 points. Be very careful before applying.
They will dinnie your application if you charged off in the last ten years,

 
May 10, 2019

TeamBeaterz not true! When I look at Credit Karma, I have 3 hard inquires. One is from an auto loan from last year and the other two are hard pulls from Chase on TWO consecutive days. I only submitted ONE application. They confirmed that the fine print authorized them to pull up to 3 times. I'M NOT FINE.

 
May 10, 2019

Bruh they Pull Experian and Transunion in Most states and sometime A CRA will report a day after one another

 
Jun 04, 2019

happened to me to wish I had seen this review before getting a chase card

 
May 02, 2019
Worst card ever!
rallen415 Cardholder

I filed a dispute because a charge that was on my card was invalid. They made me jump through hoops and then denied the dispute twice for technicalities like you didn’t answer the phone when we called (because their number was marked as spam and blocked by my spam blocker app). And we sent you a letter in the mail (never got it because I have e-statements and the letter went to a mailbox that you can only access from a desktop). So then they tell me I have to travel a whole hour to the nearest Apple store to get a document from them to use when I mail in my dispute. I do all of that and they deny it again saying while you have a valid claim, the charge will still remain on your account. They didn’t even tell me why it would remain..just because they said so. Don’t waste you time or hard earned money on this card.

more ...
May 02, 2019
Worst card I ever had
rallen415 Cardholder

I filed a dispute because a charge that was on my card was invalid. They made me jump through hoops and then denied the dispute twice for technicalities like you didn’t answer the phone when we called (because their number was marked as spam and blocked by my spam blocker app). And we sent you a letter in the mail (never got it because I have e-statements and the letter went to a mailbox that you can only access from a desktop). So then they tell me I have to travel a whole hour to the nearest Apple store to get a document from them to use when I mail in my dispute. I do all of that and they deny it again saying while you have a valid claim, the charge will still remain on your account. They didn’t even tell me why it would remain..just because they said so. Don’t waste you time or hard earned money on this card.

more ...
Apr 30, 2019
Not worth it
NJ1971 Cardholder

I applied for this card, got approved for a $1000 credit line. NEVER got the card. Chase closed the account for reasons unknown. My credit took a HUGE hit. I will NEVER again do business with Chase. Customer service rep was rude, suggested I do another application. No thanks, I know everything I need to know about Chase.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 30, 2019

u most have a old debt with them?

 
Apr 23, 2019
Will decrease your limit without warning
Gwenrp Cardholder

Do not charge too much on this card or you may get a decrease on your limit without warning. I received a letter in the mail stating my credit line was decreased from 10,000 to 6,800. Fine if my balance was lower but my balance was at about 6,200. Totally blown away, I attempted to call customer service. It was like speaking to robots regarding the situation. Apparently they run a credit review (randomly) dont even have a frequency to how often that is done. If your debt ratio is too high they'll lower your limit. I tried inquiring what was showing up on my credit report besides my Chase card to which they couldnt answer. I've never been treated lk I shouldnt be using the credit card that was issued to me. So livid that my balance is now so close to the max available. Will pay this down and not use it anymore.

more ...
Apr 23, 2019

should have only utilized 3000 of that plus pay atleast half off in a fast way

 
Apr 27, 2019

You’re using more than 50% credit utilization. The preferred is 10-30%.

 
Apr 29, 2019

Every financial institution will do that. As others said, you're using too much of your limit. The rule of thumb is, less than 30% of limit on each account, and less than 50% of total limit between all accounts

 
Apr 12, 2019
Poor customer policies here, avoid Chase

I had a Chase card. It was in good standing and closed by the company without proper notification. No email, no phone call, and they only sent one letter which was never recieved. They were also unwilling to reopen it despite the fact that I caught the situation after only 11 days. Their logic? It was already closed, so I had to apply for a new one. No exception or alternative. I will never do business with Chase again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 29, 2019

No financial institution will ever do it without reason. There was likely something within your credit history that their back office didn't like, so they didn't want to take the chance of your last mistake to happen with them too.

 
Apr 10, 2019
not the best
muth6969 Cardholder

they just up and closed my account because I was not using it enough. Informed me even if I tried to use it now, they would still close it. I have or had 2 different chase cards. I was getting good points on 1 and just keeping this 2nd card as a back up to increase my total credit amount. I've used up all my points from the 2nd card & got several hundred dollars in gift cards & now I'm going to close it as well.

more ...
Mar 28, 2019
horrible experience
Glin13 Cardholder

I was instantly approved and received my card quickly via mail. It was only used 2 days and then my card would decline my purchases. I checked my account only to find out my card was randomly closed 2 days later, with no notice. I called customer service and never got a direct nor helpful reply as to why this was happening. Do not waste your time! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 28, 2019

What was your credit score and did you bank with them?

 
Mar 19, 2019
Horrible Customer Service
Aldawg42 Cardholder

I put in a dispute for a $500 bank charge that should have never happened.  Chase initally removed the charge pending an investigation.  A month later, I was recharged the same amount and was sent a letter in the mail saying that their investigation confirmed that it was a ligitimate change and if I wanted to continue the dispute, I had the let them know by a date THAT WAS IN THE PAST.  I called them as soon as the letter arrived in my mailbox and ask them to reopen the case.  I said I would send more evidence that it was an erroreous change.  Everytime I would email asking for an update, I got the same canned reply, and never a followup, so had the call them many times.  One time I called and was told that the correction would appear in the next billing cycle.  When I called back a month later, was told the case was closed for months and could not be reopened (even though was told in previous calls that they were still working on it).  One customer service person actually told me that as long as I give someone my credit card number, they have the right to charge whatever amount they want, regardless of whether I approved the amount or not.  To say dealing with Chase Freedom Unlimited customer service was nightmarish would be a huge understatement.  I ended up having the take the bank to small claims court, which I won.  Soon after, I cancelled my Chase Freedom Unlimited as well as many of my other Chase Credit Cards.

more ...
Apr 11, 2019

Good for you! I’m glad you won the case. I’ve had that happen to me as well. Although it was a long time ago. I can understand your frustration. These businesses have to realize if it wasn’t for us they wouldn’t be in business. Congratulations!

 
Apr 11, 2019

I’m glad someone other than me will stand up for your rights and not let people take advantage. Good for you. 👍👍👍

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews

Chase Freedom Unlimited®