Milestone® Gold MasterCard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.8 out of 5 stars
70 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $35-$99
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 23.9%

Our Take

If you have fair credit and are looking for a card to establish or rebuild your credit health, the Milestone® Gold MasterCard® is worth your consideration.

What to Like

The Milestone® Gold MasterCard® offers credit lines starting at $300 and consumers still working on establishing or building their credit can qualify. The card will report to all three major credit bureaus, making it a good option for building credit.

Look Out For

This card comes with an annual fee ranging between $35 and $99 (depending on credit), and a one-time $25 fee for each authorized user. It also has a relatively high interest rate, so it’s important to pay off your balances in full each month.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 09, 2016
Aluvzu2 Cardholder

It's a good card to start out with. The only down fall is the credit limit is $300 and it never goes up, but when u get one card and pay a few month then u will get the better cards capital one or credit one are the best with credit limits and increases.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 14, 2017
Terrible after 1 year.
Sumpin17 Cardholder

When I applied for the card, I received a $35 annual fee. After the first year, they changed the fee to $99. It is ridiculous - for a card with a $300 limit, the fee shouldn't take up a third of the amount possible to spend.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 18, 2017
Not a good card for paying off quickly

I pay my balance off every month. Therefore, I expect the card to be available to be quickly. Not with this card.

What they don't like to tell you about this card is that when you do that, they put a hold of four calendar days on the payment. This is even after they show the payment has cleared. I called their customer service centre and they told me there was zero they could do about it.

Next billing cycle, I am closing this out.

more ...
May 05, 2017
Stay away from this company'
Anonymous Cardholder

It's really broking English .And they have in there system wrong my social sec....number how can they approved with wrong social number .don't be stupid its not right card for credet

more ...
May 01, 2017
Bad
tampa300 Cardholder

When you make a payment to bring balance down to zero it takes a WEEK or more to reflect on your account. Even after your bank has cleared the funds to them they won't let you access the credit. Shady company. 

more ...
Apr 29, 2017
Use only to rebuild credit.
tampa300 Cardholder

I've had the MIlestone card for 2 years now. They approved me just 2 months after Chapter 7 discharge in 2015 with $300 credit limit. I've never had issues with the card as i've used it properly and responsibly. It's not a long term card to have by any means. They charge me a $99 annual fee that hits the card in one shot every November. If it were broken down to 12 monthly charges of $8.25 like some of these type of cards do, I could live with it better, but that $99/fee all at once hurts! 

Another thing I don't like is that if you make a huge payment to pay down the balance to zero, they can hold the funds for days and days showing "pending" on your account even well after the check clears at your bank. It's not right, especially when you specifically pay down the card to zero because you need to rent a car the following week or make a similar large purchase. There's absolutely no excuse to hold payments hostage like that after the bank has cleared the funds to them. 

I'm cancelling the card before the next $99 annual fee hits and moving on. I now have both Cap One Quicksilver and Platinum Cards and I swear by them as one of the best credit cards out there so I no longer need the Milestone card, however it DID serve it's purpose of helping to restablish my tarnished credit so they get 3 stars for that. If your credit is shot and you need to rebuild, get the card, suck up the big annual fee and after a year or 2, move on to better cards and drop it. Go for the Cap Ones, they treat you right!

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
RIP OFF!!
Anonymous Cardholder

The charges are ridiculous... and for very little in return.

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Difficult to work with
Unhappy4card Cardholder

I had a card with this company to rebuild my credit & cancelled immediately. They charged the annual fee immediately & immediately reports to the credit bureau this balance ($75). I did not receive the card until 3 weeks later when I set up my online access & saw this. I called the company to make a payment right away. This didn't reflect on my available balance until 1 week later. In the end, I terminated this card even though I paid the annual fee. I was not satisfied with what this card offered me & do not recommend this card to anyone unless you want to have your credit remain ****ty forever. 

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
Unbelievably poor customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

High rates and fees, low, low credit limit. Inept customer service representatives that barley speak English. Stay away from this bank. Capital One approved me for $5000.00 this low rent card approved me for $300.00

more ...
May 12, 2017

5000? What was your credit rating at the time of approval for capital one

 
May 21, 2017

I think he meant $500, or else it wouldn't have populated as an option for him with higher credit. If he did get approved for $5,000 through CapOne and then tried this out, he probably didn't read the info before applying especially in the "pre-qualification" info before actually applying for the card. The Pre-qualification told me I'd likely get approved for $300 for the gold standard card.

 
Apr 17, 2017
One star is all that they deserve
Anonymous Cardholder

First year it was $75 fee, second year, without any warning or document saying so, I was charged $99 making the small line of credit go over and I was charged the over the limit fee. This is the biggest rip-off! I have another Master Card adn Two other Visas, never late, low average balances, had I known that this card had such low line and was such a scam, I would not have accpeted their offer. Run people, run!!

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
Unorganized company
M909 Cardholder

Don't even bother applying. They call you at least 3 times a day every day to make payment even when you send it through the mail or is still processing, and to make it worse, it takes over 3 weeks to receive it. Customer service is a joke.

more ...
Apr 13, 2017
DO NOT OPEN THIS CARD!
Lovetheanomaly Cardholder

Closing it 3 months later... I have yet to even make a purchase with it.
Just paying off the initial fees has been a hellish experience.

Thier customer service is abysmal and I regret ever applying for this card.

BUYER BEWARE!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,734
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Milestone® Gold MasterCard®