Milestone® Gold MasterCard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.6 out of 5 stars
93 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $35-$99
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 23.90%* Variable

Our Take

If you have fair credit and are looking for a card to establish or rebuild your credit health, the Milestone® Gold MasterCard® is worth your consideration.

What to Like

The Milestone® Gold MasterCard® offers credit lines starting at $300 and consumers still working on establishing or building their credit can qualify. The card will report to all three major credit bureaus, making it a good option for building credit.

Look Out For

This card comes with an annual fee ranging between $35 and $99 (depending on credit), and a one-time $25 fee for each authorized user. It also has a relatively high interest rate, so it’s important to pay off your balances in full each month.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 01, 2016
Help your credit rating
Anonymous Cardholder

If you have low or fair credit, this card is not too hard to get.  The application process was quick and easy.  I had an answer within minutes.  This card is helping me to build my credit rating.  There is an annual fee, but when no one else will give you a credit card this is to be expected.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 29, 2017
Use only to rebuild credit.
tampa300 Cardholder

I've had the MIlestone card for 2 years now. They approved me just 2 months after Chapter 7 discharge in 2015 with $300 credit limit. I've never had issues with the card as i've used it properly and responsibly. It's not a long term card to have by any means. They charge me a $99 annual fee that hits the card in one shot every November. If it were broken down to 12 monthly charges of $8.25 like some of these type of cards do, I could live with it better, but that $99/fee all at once hurts! 

Another thing I don't like is that if you make a huge payment to pay down the balance to zero, they can hold the funds for days and days showing "pending" on your account even well after the check clears at your bank. It's not right, especially when you specifically pay down the card to zero because you need to rent a car the following week or make a similar large purchase. There's absolutely no excuse to hold payments hostage like that after the bank has cleared the funds to them. 

I'm cancelling the card before the next $99 annual fee hits and moving on. I now have both Cap One Quicksilver and Platinum Cards and I swear by them as one of the best credit cards out there so I no longer need the Milestone card, however it DID serve it's purpose of helping to restablish my tarnished credit so they get 3 stars for that. If your credit is shot and you need to rebuild, get the card, suck up the big annual fee and after a year or 2, move on to better cards and drop it. Go for the Cap Ones, they treat you right!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 14, 2017
Credit building only
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is only good for building credit if you don't have credit or recovering from bad credit. Use this to re-establish your credit, then get rid of it.

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
Tcv1ann Cardholder

Annual fee is outrageous. Took the hit of canceling th card and paid it off

not worth it with a 300 limit 

more ...
Sep 09, 2017
Still waiting
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card over a month ago and still have not received the physical card. I called customer service and they said it'd take up to three weeks. Its a few days shy of a month and a half. How am I meant to make a payment with no information?terrible. 

more ...
Sep 06, 2017
Only Should be to Better Your Credit Sco
22wmr Cardholder

I have had the card for almost a year, it does help improve your cresit even though it does have a yearly fee. Honeatly, the website could be ao much better!

more ...
Sep 06, 2017
ShamyB Cardholder

Be careful with Milestone.  I closed this card and paid off the balance in April of 2017.  They billed me an anual fee for May 2017 - April 2018 of $75 then proceeded to add intrest fees and late penalties to the account for 3 months. I spoke to them several times and asked them to fix it and they each time said they would. In the meantime they reported to credit bureas that i was late with payments and delinquent it crashed my already fragile credit rating.  So just be wary and cautious they can possibly hurt not help you if you are working on bringing your credit rating up.

more ...
Sep 03, 2017
Decent Card for starting out!
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't know why this card is getting 1.5 stars. It wasn't hard to get approval, ITS USED TO BUILD CREDIT...not give you a huge credit limit! Yes the fees are crazy but that's the price you pay before building your credit! Started out with 560ish score, I've had this card (with other cards) for about 5 months and my score is over 625 now.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 18, 2017

How many other credit cards do U hav

 
Aug 24, 2017
Scam atrists.
Anonymous Cardholder

They start you off with a low limit and don't give increases. If you have a problem with the card , theyre not eager to help you.

more ...
Aug 19, 2017
Wow!
jackieovirgo Cardholder

I applied for this card about a year ago so far I haven't had no problems. The annual fee is high! I only use this card to build my credit.
Thanks

more ...
Aug 19, 2017
Wow!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card about a year ago so far I haven't had no problems. The annual fee is high! I only use this card to build my credit.
Thanks

more ...
Aug 16, 2017
Bad business decision
Nreeldeep Cardholder

Incredible $99 annual fee which is immediately taken from your initial $300 balance. No credit limit increase. Ever. Go with Capital one Quicksilver, which gives cash back on all purchases or Platinum which will raise your credit limit automatically after 6 months of on time payments.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,734
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Milestone® Gold MasterCard®