Capital One® Platinum Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
359 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 26.48%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 26.48%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 14, 2019
AWWWWESOME!!!!
SteadyRising920 Cardholder

This card WILL REALLY HELP your credit score, IF, you pay your bill ON TIME, by THE DUE DATE. Believe me! My score was in the poor range (still there, BUT, CLIMBING out) This card boosted my score up as followed: TransUnion = Up by 53pts / Equifax = Up by 58pts / Experian = Up by 67pts. All I can say is, THANK YOU JESUS, THANK YOU CAPITAL ONE, AND, THANK YOU CREDIT KARMA. I am determined to continue to pay on time, keep my credit usage BELOW (30%) and simply just be more responsible in my finances. Great card for a second chance. THANK YOU! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 01, 2019
Bad Credit Rebuild only
txtwinmom Cardholder

I had this card for 3 years and it was great to get my score back up, but after 2 years of on time payments and low balance, they would never give me a increase. I paid off the card and they charged me interest on a paid off card! I closed the account. Luckily I have graduated to better cards.  Just know what you are getting into when you get this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 09, 2019
Excellent card to rebuild credit!
Flogrown22 Cardholder

Great card to rebuild or start a line of credit. Have nothing but great things to say about the card/sevice. The payment app is very usefull as well, has everything you need in it and nothing that you don't. Help boost my score over 80 points!

more ...
Oct 08, 2019
5 star credit card for rebuilding
4evervet Cardholder

This card has been amazing with helping me rebuild my credit!! Thank you!!

more ...
Oct 07, 2019
decent card with no frills

I applied for this card through CK and received the card right away. I have had one increase in one year to $500. I pay off the card every month before it's due. I use the card often but, have not gotten an increased amount above $500.

I like the ZERO YEARLY FEE card and I do not pay interest because I pay it off every month! Funny thing is, my credit score hasn't moved more then three points at CK but my credit score are 0ver 650 on my TU & EXP..... I don't get that at all! Oh yeah, I own everything I have from my home, car and toys outright. I only use the card to help my credit scores.

more ...
Sep 29, 2019
Great card
Alijr206 Cardholder

Capital one is a pleasure to work with. Great customer service.

more ...
Sep 27, 2019
Okay card
shortcut3352 Cardholder

I had a captial one secure card, and after I owned it for about 8 months and with good standings I applied for a regular card. I was approved with a $200 limit. I made on time payments for 6 months and my limit was raise to $500. There's no annual fees, and after every 6 months you could request a credit limit. 

more ...
Sep 26, 2019
MoneySaver69 Cardholder

This is a great card for re establishing credit. I got $300 CL with a 530 credit score and have it over a year now and my CL is now $1100. If you call them after you make a payment with a consistent bank account they will make the credit available immediately if you request it. LOVE IT!

more ...
Sep 26, 2019
Excellent for responsible rebuilding!
NoTecMom Cardholder

I lost my excellent credit history during the recession. Apparently I had a Capital One card before which was charged off. Anyway, I applied and received a 2,000 credit limit. After making my 5th payment and responsible use, my CL increased to 5,000 (I was suppose to only get 500). The interest rate is high so after my 0% intro rate expires in 2020, I'll move on to other offers. Excellent card for responsible rebuilding! Thanks Cap One!

more ...
Sep 23, 2019
This is a LOL card.
creditvanity Cardholder

They ran a credit check on all credit bureaus ever existed for a small amount of credit line. HAHAHA. Been with them for almost two years and was offered platinum, the offer went to trash. Never again I will let them ran credit checks. LOL.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 27, 2019

... it's a line of credit. They of course will cheek all credit you have...

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 22,413
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card