Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
732 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card is a good choice for people looking to establish or rebuild their credit.

What to Like

Cardholders pay no annual fee. Credit lines start small, but can increase over time with reliable payments. The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card also offers $0 fraud liability if your card is lost or stolen, and there’s no balance transfer fee.

Look Out For

Like a lot of cards geared toward establishing or building credit, this card has a relatively high interest rate. You could face high interest costs if you don’t pay off your balance in full each month.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 09, 2016
Update on My Credit Rebuilding Journey
Arabus1987 Cardholder

Cap One took a chance on me in May 2015 when they sent me a pre-approval letter. My credit scores were mid 500s across the board.   I had two medical collections, three state liens (paid and released) two judgments, 4 charged off accounts.  

I applied and was given a $300 limit.  A day later, I received another pre-approval offer.  I applied and was given another $300 limit.  Three months later I requested a CLI and was bumped to $800 on both cards.  I also asked when my cards would be eligible for upgrades.  To my surprise, they were both upgraded to QuicksilveOne.  My credit steps increases' kicked in around November and December.  I was bumped to $1,300. 

Since then I've been approved for Discover IT, Chase Slate (now upgraded to Chase Freedom Unlimited), Chase Freedom, First National Bank of Omaha and a few others. My total credit lines are a little over $11000.  Not a lot but I'm getting there.  I try to keep my utilization below 19%.  My FICO score is 670. 

I can't stress this enough, the ore knowledgeable you are about credit and how it works, the better off you'll be.  I bougt a book called Credit Repair by Robin Leonard.  Between that book and the information I've gotten here I'm in a much better place.   Keep in mind, what works for one won't necessarily work for the other.  Don't get discouraged never give up.  I've gotten the two collections removed, the charged off accounts are gone and I'm working hard to get the public records removed as well. 

I will be forever grateful and a loyal customer with CapOne.  I'm going to break 700 shortly and I plan to keep it there.  My goal in a year is be in a position to get approved for the Quicksilver and Venture.

Set your goals and stick with them.  Never give up!  Good luck to all.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 06, 2016
Does what it's supposed to
sammieesunshinee Cardholder

This was my first card I applied for and was approved for during rebuilding my credit. I was approved for the smallest limit ($300) but I was just happy to be approved for something. After completing the "credit steps" program, I received an auto CLI to $500 which bummed me out because I really thought it was going to be bigger, but then a month later received another auto CLI up to $2300. Only complaint is since they're for rebuilding, the interest is super high so definitely don't want to carry a big balance for long. I dont use this one as much as my Quicksilver One because there are no cash back rewards, but I keep it to help my credit. Thanks for taking a chance on me Cap1 :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 27, 2017
First card!
Kiijet2y Cardholder

After being denied for 2 or 3 credit cards already, I took CK's advice and applied for this card, I had a Very Good chance rating, I was approved and I am so excited! Having such a new credit life, it's been hard to get a credit card. I am hoping to build my credit score up and as well we my CLI :D Will update later!

more ...
Apr 27, 2017
Finally!!
RonnieBoiii Cardholder

Was pre approved 2 months ago at around a 550 score and was denied. Since then, I've gotten a Best Buy card, and started a savings loan at SelfLender. Today when I checked CK, my approval odds went from good to very good with a 558, 552 credit score. I made the jump and applied. I was approved! Will update in the future!

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
finally approved!
augustkiwi Cardholder

I used credit karma recommendation to apply last week and was denied but a week later (today) i received a pre approval in the mail. I took the chance and applied with the special reservation number and i was approved!! $300 to start and will be using for small purchases (gas and groceries) so that i can hopefullly get the increase they promise after 5 on time payments. I've heard getting in with Capital One is the best thing you could ever do and im so thankfully they FINALLY took a chance on me! its been years of me wanting and applyig LOL . i plan to use this card WISELY 

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
Awesome to get started to rebuild credit
bkev420 Cardholder

Thank you very much for helping me restore my credit and taking a chance on me. 

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Shaun00 Cardholder

I just applied for this card today April 25,2017 because the stimulator said my credit would increase but it decreased by 3 points for both. Not happy about this at all

more ...
Apr 25, 2017

Did you get approved? If so, your score will increase as you own and responsibly use the card

 
Apr 26, 2017

It will decrease a few points when you apply for a card regardless of your approved or not. It will jump up when you start making payments. "On time"

 
Apr 24, 2017
Great card for beginners!
vcparker1115 Cardholder

I totally destroyed my credit in college, and when I finally started paying attention to it, it had dropped to the low 500's. After getting it up to about 550 (average for all three), I tried applying for this card via CreditKarma's recommendation. I wasn't expecting much, because I had opened three store credit cards in college that I ignored after putting money on, which is part of the reason my credit was so messed up - but lo and behold, they approved me on the spot for $500!

So I started using it smartly. I only used it for normal purchases, gas and groceries, so I knew I could pay it off every month. Not actually using the "credit", just using it to build my score. Because I pay it off before the billing cycle, I have never been charged interest. There is also no annual fee. I haven't tried transferring balances from other credit cards because I need to raise my on-time payment ratio still.

Either way, after getting this credit card, but credit started jumping up a little bit each month. i was able to apply for another credit card a few months later and was approved for four times the amount when my credit reached the low 600's.

Best part about this card is that after I had paid 6 bills, they sent me an email letting me know I got a credit increase to $2,000! Which is my biggest line of credit yet (besides student loans, of course). After that my credit soared! I now have a score of 640 (average)! It keeps going up a little bit every month and it all started with this card. So grateful for the chance they took on my bad credit! I've never had to deal with customer service because I've never had a problem with it. Great card!

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
Great for rebuilding Credit
wcaceres04 Cardholder

I applied for this card to rebuild my credit 5 months ago. I started off years ago with a 640+ credit score and after a repo and many loans in the debt line I ended up with a very low 500's credit (trans & experian) and was rejected on Amazon and Costco credit. So I made the $300 deposit and utilized the card right away paying bills (auto pay) and every day purchases: groceries, cash, dining etc. I paid off the entire full amount each month for 5 months. I did not wait for the due date to pass, I just paid it off right away.

Now, just last week I checked my credit amount and saw that I was given a full credit increase of +$300 and this was with me not asking for a credit increase. So I called them to make sure that there were no errors, and sure enough they said that since I have been making all my payments in full (5 months) they gave me the credit increase. They also said that I do have the opportunity to increase it even more as time comes. I also checked my credit score and it went up +61 points on my transunion and +41 on my experian. I am almost out of the 500 mark and well into the 600+ 

It takes time, but if you use your card for bills and everyday purchases and pay the entire full amount each month, it will do you good. I am still working hard to get my credit back to how it use to be, but this card is well worth it. Make the deposit and use it for 5 months and pay it off each month on time or before the due date is due. I thought I was not able to recieve any credit increases, but Capital One proved me wrong. Customer service is great and will help you at any time. Also download the app on your phone to track your purchases and make your payments.

My goal next is to apply for one more card for another credit line to work with. My biggest goal is to buy a house in a few years, but Capital One has really helped me get back on to my feet.

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
Great Card when your credit is not good.
Anonymous Cardholder

Interest is high but worth it. They went from $300 to $500 in six months. You can't ever be late on a payment. I recommend to pay more then the required monthly payment. I am expecting another $200 increase in another six months. Pay off your balance if you can. Keep this card for a emergency. Try not to use it. Unless you can pay it off at the end of the month.    

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
Delay
tweez1113 Cardholder

I have had this card since January, paid on time or early the full balance, I check my credit report and notice capital one is two months behind on reporting my payments and only shows parts of my payments. So if you are trying to build credit or raise the $ limit chose wisely! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 22, 2017

got it around February this year, paid it on time and never seen any report. My husband and I are patiently waiting...

 
Apr 22, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

It's excellent 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 22,413
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

732 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i