Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
712 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card is a good choice for people looking to establish or rebuild their credit.

What to Like

Cardholders pay no annual fee. Credit lines start small, but can increase over time with reliable payments. The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card also offers $0 fraud liability if your card is lost or stolen, and there’s no balance transfer fee.

Look Out For

Like a lot of cards geared toward establishing or building credit, this card has a relatively high interest rate. You could face high interest costs if you don’t pay off your balance in full each month.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 26, 2015
Credit Line Increase 5,300 Less than 90days
AverageJoeaj Cardholder

LOVE LOVE LOVE this card. Before I applied for the card I went over some review on CK just to see what it was about. After reading the reviews about the credit limit increase I applied for my card and had it in less than a week. This is my 3rd credit card since I turned 18 a little over 9 years ago. With a CS of 587 you can probably imagine how excited I was over a small credit line of $300 but hey it was MY small credit line so I was greatful for the opportunity. Anyway....that was on 10/12/15. While looking into the reviews on the CC I came across a review where the individual stated that they used the card for everything and made sure the statement balance was at 25 dollars...they did that for 5 months and their credit limit was increased to 3,300. So I said I wanted to give that a try. So I set up small bills for auto pay using my CC...Netflix...hulu...cell phone...ect. Next I slid my card for ALL miscellaneous items...food...gas...ect. Today is Saturday 12/26/15 and as I was checking to make sure monies had been removed from my billing accounts I noticed my available credit line was 5,279.86 YES AFTER ONLY BEING WITH CAPITAL ONE FOR LESS THAN 90 DAYS they increased my credit limit to 5,300. If I could make any suggestions on this card it would be to use your card as much as possible...DON'T max it out. If you get paid bi-weekly then so should your credit card bill...the ENTIRE balance should be paid. And last is to make sure your STATEMENT balance is $25 or less. I'm not even sure and don't care about a APR because the balance is ALWAYS paid ahead of time. It worked for me and hopefully it works for you. Good luck. And may the odds forever be in your favor.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 06, 2016
Does what it's supposed to
sammieesunshinee Cardholder

This was my first card I applied for and was approved for during rebuilding my credit. I was approved for the smallest limit ($300) but I was just happy to be approved for something. After completing the "credit steps" program, I received an auto CLI to $500 which bummed me out because I really thought it was going to be bigger, but then a month later received another auto CLI up to $2300. Only complaint is since they're for rebuilding, the interest is super high so definitely don't want to carry a big balance for long. I dont use this one as much as my Quicksilver One because there are no cash back rewards, but I keep it to help my credit. Thanks for taking a chance on me Cap1 :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 06, 2016
Excellent for rebuilding credit
Anonymous Cardholder

Make on time payments and they will give credit limit increases. $300 to $2000 in less than a year. I also have Quicksilver which is better than this card due to rewards. Just paid this card off so I can merge accounts to only have Quicksilver. Capital One is the absolute best and my credit score has jumped over 100 points in less than a year. Interest is high but I will always carry the Quicksilver in my wallet because they paved the way for all of the cards I now own.

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
I love this card!
Anonymous Cardholder

Helping to rebuild credit. I haven't had any issues. I use the app which is great. I was also approved for a car loan through capital one. The process was pretty easy!!!  I could not believe it!!!

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Be careful
maceycolors Cardholder

I didn't have a score because I had no credit history. I tried applying for other cards like chase, target, kohls, and got denied for all. Saw this card on credit karma and applied and got approved for 300 limit! I made sure to be careful: not maxing out the card and paying on time. After about 2 months I went from no score to 655 (transunion) 663 (equifax). In the beginning of November I took my dog to the vet and the costs were up to $114 (38% of card usage). I figured I'd be okay because I paid it all off the next week (3 weeks early before bill came in). Went to check my score randomly and was shocked to see my score dropped to 629 (trans) 638 (equi). It's now december 6 and my score still hasn't gone back up and still shows the $114 balance. So stay within 10-29% of card usage and pay it off right away if possible. Capital one reports something negative so quick and takes forever to report something good. Very disappointed.

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Dependable and there for me
Anonymous Cardholder

When I thought no one would approve me for credit they did and I am working on getting my credit score up 

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Great opportunity to rebuild credit.
uriahheep0807 Cardholder

I was approved in July with a 300 CL....requested an increase in october, they increased to 400..today auto increased it to 750....I feel like I'm on my way to good credit..

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
GameWithRules Cardholder

I was approved for and received this card with 653 TU / 665 EQ / 000 EX, only one month credit history / 2 new (one month old) secured cards / no negatives. My scores jumped to 663 TU / 681 EQ. So I have gone from no credit score the end of Oct to 663 TU / 681 EQ in 5 weeks. 

I'm going to wait now for 6 months, use all three cards monthly for small purchases that I pay off before due, keep my utilization score at 10% or less, and then apply for a couple of better unsecured cards. My goal is average 720 credit score at 9 month credit history, 750 credit score at one year, and 20k credit reserve at one year.   

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
Cap One gave me a second chance
Setnev Cardholder

About a year and a half ago, I hired a credit agency to go after malicious collectors on my credit report that were fraudulently reporting accounts paid and accounts that belonged to my ex wife. My credit score went from a 400 to 590 in a matter of months. About that time, a year ago, I was getting offers for the Capital One Platinum credit card in the mail and threw them out. I was talking to a buddy of mine who told me that if I wanted to improve my credit score faster, I should apply for it, since it was a pre-approval. I reluctantly applied for the card and was surprised to see I was instantly approved at a $300 credit line. I got my card in the mail 2 weeks later and used it once a month for a tank of gas or Starbucks coffee, never letting my utilization go above 15% on the card and paying off the balance as soon as I got the bill. After 2 months, I got an email from CO saying that they were going to raise my limit from $300 to $500 with good payment history for 5 months. On month 5, I was suprised they raised my limit to $1,300. My credit score went from ~580 at the time of application to now a 654 and I now have a $2000 Best Buy credit card, $2000 Home Depot store card and a few other cards to help my utilization stay low. I want to thank Captial One for helping me rebuild my credit and get banks to trust me. The sent me a Quicksilver Rewards card after 8 months with a $500 credit limit and helped me lower my car payment from $504 a month to $385 by refinancing my car. Anyone who needs to get back on track and show that you're credit worthy, should heed my advice. In less than 2 years, I went from potentials creditors laughing at the prospect of extending me credit to them eager to gain my business. I get offers weekly for credit offers but I have enough credit at the moment and will be continuing to build until I am into the 700's.

more ...
Dec 03, 2016
Company sucks
Seanjr16 Cardholder

I got approved for 3000 then got the card had for a week went to use and wouldn't work called said account was locked said I had to send my license and dpl bill and social security card. To prove who I was I sent straight stuff they asked for and keep saying I am fraudulent. That makes no since so now I have a mark on my credit report for no reason. I can't fraudulent my ID or dpl bill or social security card. Company is a joke and I am looking to file charges for discrimination

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 03, 2016

Plenty of people send in fake documents, it happens all the time - so you saying that you "can't fraudulent" your documents really means nothing. However, most of the people who work in that department have no idea what they're doing, so the best thing to do is to call in and ask for the issue to be escalated and for your documents to be reviewed again by someone else who is more experienced.

 
Dec 02, 2016
Recommend to everyone
ChiefsFan16 Cardholder

So I got one of those things in the mail that said I was pre approved. So I went online and was approved for the $300 limit. I had credit that wasn't so good so this is a great card for helping tlboost credit. This gave my credit a 20 point boost in the following month. When I first started using it was pretty irrisponsible with it. So I let it go for like 5 months. Luckily I got my act together and have paid off my card in full for the last 8 months. Woke up today to a credit increase of $3000. So now I have a $3300 limit. I have never had any pay issues doing it through the app or over the phone. This company has been nothing but good to me. Highly recommend to anyone. Thankful for giving me a second chance after messing up right out of the gate.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 04, 2016

If you don't mind me asking, what was your credit score?

 
Dec 02, 2016
Reliable trustworthy credit card
Anonymous Cardholder

II apply for this card to years ago with the credit limit of $300. Now my credit limit is $3400. What a great card to establish your credit worthiness. My FICA score was 595 when I apply, it is now 705 in just two years. I'm very happy camper! 😀😀😀

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 22,413
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

712 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i