Capital One® Platinum Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
666 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card is a good choice for people looking to establish or rebuild their credit.

What to Like

Cardholders pay no annual fee. Credit lines start small, but can increase over time with reliable payments. The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card also offers $0 fraud liability if your card is lost or stolen, and there’s no balance transfer fee.

Look Out For

Like a lot of cards geared toward establishing or building credit, this card has a relatively high interest rate. You could face high interest costs if you don’t pay off your balance in full each month.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 08, 2017
Excellent
Anonymous Cardholder

I was approved for this card with no money down and only a $300 limit after 3 month of use my limit went up to $1000. 8 month later $1900 I use it to bay all my bills gas and food and pay it off every month because of this card and a car payment with capital one at 16 % interested for 3 years . I was able to rebuild my credit have multiple cards now that I'm very responsible with paying off every month . Plus I traded in my old car and got a new one at 4% interest. If not for capital one giving me a chance and me using my cards responsibly I would be were I am now . 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 04, 2016
A solid credit rebuilding card
chillien Cardholder

Because I would like people to get the most value from my review, I will provide a broader picture of my credit profile. TU:712, EXP: 718.1 delinquent acct. No accts in collections. No judgements against me. Only 1 year credit history. No loans. 3 other credit cards I got in 2015: Merrick, US bank and Unity Visa. 3 hard pulls. 1 soft pull. I havent applied for any credit cards before this one in 2016. I decided to apply for this card because I wanted to transition from secured to unsecured cards. I felt my score was now high enough (went from 540 to 712 in a year) so I applied and was denied because of the extended fraud alert I have on my profile. I called Cap 1 and was told that I was denied because they could not contact me on the phone number listed on my profile. I asked to be reconsidered and received a call from them asking if I had applied. I was approved with a $1000 limit. I gave a 3 rating because they hard pulled my credit when reconsidering my application. Something they admitted they should not have done. Also, getting my application to be reconsidered was a bit of a headache. Hope all this info helps. For anyone considering this card, please remember that they examin your entire credit profile, not just your credit scores. Thats why I provided as much info about my credit profile as possible.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 19, 2017
no rewards
CCCC4 Cardholder

Main reason for this review and why i scored it the way i did, is because the CC company hit my credit files twice. I missed the deadline to call the CC company back to process my applicaton since i couldn't use the instant approval process since i have put alerts on my credit files. Well they called me back after the date since i had forgotten about calling them within the time frame. The agent asked if I still wanted to process the app and i said okay. She asked me a few standard questions then placed me on hold . While on hold i got alerts that she ran my credit again. I asked her why this happened when she came back and she said that they no longer had access to my credit file and she had to re run it. I told her she should of notified me ot this since I would of said no. This card is not worth having them re run my credit. 

more ...
Aug 19, 2017
no rewards
CCCC4 Cardholder

Main reason for this review and why i scored it the way i did, is because the CC company hit my credit files twice. I missed the deadline to call the CC company back to process my applicaton since i couldn't use the instant approval process since i have put alerts on my credit files. Well they called me back after the date since i had forgotten about calling them within the time frame. The agent asked if I still wanted to process the app and i said okay. She asked me a few standard questions then placed me on hold . While on hold i got alerts that she ran my credit again. I asked her why this happened when she came back and she said that they no longer had access to my credit file and she had to re run it. I told her she should of notified me ot this since I would of said no. This card is not worth having them re run my credit. 

more ...
Aug 17, 2017
Terrible customer service.
skc74 Cardholder

I bank with Capital One....so when I make a payment it is literally transferred from one account to another AT THE SAME BANK...yet they put holds on my payments....and I have never missed a payment or had any return payments. I will be closing all of my accounts with them and give more business to Amex and Discover.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 19, 2017

Rite... if u got amex, discover, no need to hold onto a credit rebuilding card. LOL

 
Aug 17, 2017
Applied through Credit Karma
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a very low credit score, I've had financial problems for a couple years now. My score did start to come up within the past 6-8 months. Credit Karma said my odds for getting approved for this card was "good" so I took the chance. I instantly got approved for a $300 balance with no deposit down! I haven't gotten approved for a credit card in 7 years so this was huge for me. It says after the first 5 monthly payments made on time, I'll get an increase. I'm excited to rebuild my credit. Thanks Capital One and Credit Karma!

more ...
Aug 16, 2017
Wonderful
Toyia423 Cardholder

I was approved for the card. Paid on time for 6 months and received an automatic increase without knowing!! Great card! 

more ...
Aug 16, 2017
Filed chapter 7
Parrissa Cardholder

This is one card I filed with chapter 7 , how long before should I apply for another it's been about 10 months since BK

thanks

more ...
Aug 19, 2017

In the same boat let me know when you find out ok thx

 
Aug 19, 2017

Well I just applied and for approved for 300 CL my score is 655/656...

 
Aug 14, 2017
Great Card to have !
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card to improve my credit after reading reviews and all the card info that this card had to offer! I got approved for 300 dollar limit then after paying on my card before due date my credit limit went up after about 6 months.I had no clue I just had got an email. My credit has went up a lot since having this card and also paying off other things on my credit. I suggest you get this card can't go wrong but....... side note as I stated I pay off other things on my credit this one card help but it wasn't the main factor!

more ...
Aug 14, 2017

2 years ago I applied got approved with CS of 667 CL was 350, and around 2 1/2 months got upgraded to a quicksilver card and received an increase from 300 to 700, and at five month mark got 1000 Cli..and as of today my CL is at $2100..I highly recommend this card to build credit..my credit has greatly improved since and I'm getting several credit card offers by mail...I also applied for the QuickSilver one..and CL was $750, and as of today it is at $1,100..I highly recommend capital one to anyone that wants to rebuild..also my QuickSilver upgrade has no annual fee, however my QuickSilver one has annual fee and of $75..great cards and company. I also like their customer service and they are very friendly and helpful. 

more ...
Aug 13, 2017
Reasonable interest rates, ALI after 6mo
Chubachad Cardholder

Great card for someone building credit. I got mine with a 603/520 and they gave me a limit increase automatically after 6 months as well. Interest rates honestly aren't that bad. The lady got hers with a 540/510 and same deal auto limit increase etc. Cap One has been great to us and we'll forsure be doing more business throughout the future with them. 

more ...
Aug 13, 2017
Good
Anonymous Cardholder

Great.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 22,413
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

666 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i