Capital One® Platinum Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
661 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card is a good choice for people looking to establish or rebuild their credit.

What to Like

Cardholders pay no annual fee. Credit lines start small, but can increase over time with reliable payments. The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card also offers $0 fraud liability if your card is lost or stolen, and there’s no balance transfer fee.

Look Out For

Like a lot of cards geared toward establishing or building credit, this card has a relatively high interest rate. You could face high interest costs if you don’t pay off your balance in full each month.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 07, 2017
Choose CapOne when rebuilding!
croque0114 Cardholder

Approximately a year ago I decided to turn my life around. After the youthful carelessness and the irresponsibilites, it was time to buckle down and see things straight. I was preapproved for a CapitalOne Platinum exactly 6 months ago for $300. Six months ago my credit score was around high 400s and low 500s yet CapitalOne took a chance and decided to throw me a bone. The limit was low, so i used the card wisely. Used it for all of my revolving expenses, my phone, netflix and gas. I didn't pay it all the way every time, but I would say about 4 out of the 6 months I got it down to 0. Only 3 months into having the card I decided to request for a CLI and they gave me $100 more. Then on my 6th month mark, they bumped me up to $750 without requesting. I think CapOne increases your limit if you are using your card frequently. The more you use it the more they feel obligated to increase your limit. Also, updating your income also helps them decide whether to increase you or not. My score is now 630s and I couldn't be happier. Today, I chatted with a Cap One rep to see if I can convert this card to quicksilver, and they did. Now my Platinum Credit Card is a Quicksilver Cashback card! Thanks Capital One!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 04, 2016
A solid credit rebuilding card
chillien Cardholder

Because I would like people to get the most value from my review, I will provide a broader picture of my credit profile. TU:712, EXP: 718.1 delinquent acct. No accts in collections. No judgements against me. Only 1 year credit history. No loans. 3 other credit cards I got in 2015: Merrick, US bank and Unity Visa. 3 hard pulls. 1 soft pull. I havent applied for any credit cards before this one in 2016. I decided to apply for this card because I wanted to transition from secured to unsecured cards. I felt my score was now high enough (went from 540 to 712 in a year) so I applied and was denied because of the extended fraud alert I have on my profile. I called Cap 1 and was told that I was denied because they could not contact me on the phone number listed on my profile. I asked to be reconsidered and received a call from them asking if I had applied. I was approved with a $1000 limit. I gave a 3 rating because they hard pulled my credit when reconsidering my application. Something they admitted they should not have done. Also, getting my application to be reconsidered was a bit of a headache. Hope all this info helps. For anyone considering this card, please remember that they examin your entire credit profile, not just your credit scores. Thats why I provided as much info about my credit profile as possible.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 15, 2017
Amazing company
Starthunder9 Cardholder

I've had this card for almost a year- they up your credit limit after 5 consecutive payments.
I missed a payment last month, they actually called me asking if something happened because it wasn't normal for me to miss a payment. It was super awesome for them to check on me instead of freaking out about making a payment, I'm really impressed with their service. Definitely recommend.

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
4cthefuture Cardholder

I had the secured version of this card. I started at 200 and a few months later was approved for 500. This has helped me raise my score over 200 points. I love this card.

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
Started off good then meh...

While I appreciate Capital One giving me an opportunity to rebuild, I have outgrown this card in 6 months. I run it up, pay well over the minimum twice a month leave a balance to show usage. I recently app 2 other major credit cards and was approved for limit well over my $500 SL. Cap One is slow and difficult to get CLI especially if your on their credit steps. From my frustration, I applied and got QS1, again at $500. Then I found you could product change which I upgraded my Platinum to a QS. In another 6 months I'll see if I can merge the cards together. Into the sock drawers these will go, but you can get your credit back on track very, very quickly. 

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
Use it for small purchases
Anonymous Cardholder

Use it for small purchases and pay off. They give great credit increases with this and this helps out credit score a bunch

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
Great card
Anonymous Cardholder

Sometimes all you need is a chance. I don't normally do reviews but this was worth doing. I thought I would never get a proved but took a try and was blessed with 1000 credit limit. I will always be thankful to God and capital one for giving me a second chance to rebuild my credit.  Great bank Thank you!!!

Nadine

more ...
Sep 15, 2017

What was your score at if you don't mind giving.

 
Sep 15, 2017

I have a 623 score , they gave me 500, then raised it 2X in less than 1 yr and now it's 2,000. Just applied for another one and got another 1,000

 
Sep 11, 2017
Great card. Great service.

Only card I could get to start rebuilding my credit after divorce. Still have it. Use it for everything. I keep paying it off. They keep reading my limit.

more ...
Sep 11, 2017
jmpaulsen Cardholder

Worst customer service and company I have ever dealt with.  I have 2 credit cards with them (both have never been late and both have a $0 balance).  Also have a car loan with them (never late).  I asked for an extension due to being effected by Hurrican Harvey and they refused my request because THEY felt that my reason was not good enough.  Don't EVER do business with this company, they don't care about their good customers at all, they would rather lose your business then help out when you call before the payment is due to do the right thing.

more ...
Sep 10, 2017
Very good for rebuilding credit!!
LadyDi71 Cardholder

I was approved in march 2017 for $300 credit line. I paid on time. Not the full amount but more than the minimum balance . Its sept. 2017 and they gave me a $200 increase and my score went up almost 80 points to a 648. I am very pleased with capital one!!

more ...
Sep 10, 2017
Love this card
Anonymous Cardholder

My credit was low around 5ish and now 615 build it baby making progress.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 22,413
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

661 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i