Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
753 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card is a good choice for people looking to establish or rebuild their credit.

What to Like

Cardholders pay no annual fee. Credit lines start small, but can increase over time with reliable payments. The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card also offers $0 fraud liability if your card is lost or stolen, and there’s no balance transfer fee.

Look Out For

Like a lot of cards geared toward establishing or building credit, this card has a relatively high interest rate. You could face high interest costs if you don’t pay off your balance in full each month.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 09, 2016
Update on My Credit Rebuilding Journey
Arabus1987 Cardholder

Cap One took a chance on me in May 2015 when they sent me a pre-approval letter. My credit scores were mid 500s across the board.   I had two medical collections, three state liens (paid and released) two judgments, 4 charged off accounts.  

I applied and was given a $300 limit.  A day later, I received another pre-approval offer.  I applied and was given another $300 limit.  Three months later I requested a CLI and was bumped to $800 on both cards.  I also asked when my cards would be eligible for upgrades.  To my surprise, they were both upgraded to QuicksilveOne.  My credit steps increases' kicked in around November and December.  I was bumped to $1,300. 

Since then I've been approved for Discover IT, Chase Slate (now upgraded to Chase Freedom Unlimited), Chase Freedom, First National Bank of Omaha and a few others. My total credit lines are a little over $11000.  Not a lot but I'm getting there.  I try to keep my utilization below 19%.  My FICO score is 670. 

I can't stress this enough, the ore knowledgeable you are about credit and how it works, the better off you'll be.  I bougt a book called Credit Repair by Robin Leonard.  Between that book and the information I've gotten here I'm in a much better place.   Keep in mind, what works for one won't necessarily work for the other.  Don't get discouraged never give up.  I've gotten the two collections removed, the charged off accounts are gone and I'm working hard to get the public records removed as well. 

I will be forever grateful and a loyal customer with CapOne.  I'm going to break 700 shortly and I plan to keep it there.  My goal in a year is be in a position to get approved for the Quicksilver and Venture.

Set your goals and stick with them.  Never give up!  Good luck to all.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 04, 2016
A solid credit rebuilding card
chillien Cardholder

Because I would like people to get the most value from my review, I will provide a broader picture of my credit profile. TU:712, EXP: 718.1 delinquent acct. No accts in collections. No judgements against me. Only 1 year credit history. No loans. 3 other credit cards I got in 2015: Merrick, US bank and Unity Visa. 3 hard pulls. 1 soft pull. I havent applied for any credit cards before this one in 2016. I decided to apply for this card because I wanted to transition from secured to unsecured cards. I felt my score was now high enough (went from 540 to 712 in a year) so I applied and was denied because of the extended fraud alert I have on my profile. I called Cap 1 and was told that I was denied because they could not contact me on the phone number listed on my profile. I asked to be reconsidered and received a call from them asking if I had applied. I was approved with a $1000 limit. I gave a 3 rating because they hard pulled my credit when reconsidering my application. Something they admitted they should not have done. Also, getting my application to be reconsidered was a bit of a headache. Hope all this info helps. For anyone considering this card, please remember that they examin your entire credit profile, not just your credit scores. Thats why I provided as much info about my credit profile as possible.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 26, 2017
basic card, high interest, no rewards
djb214 Cardholder

this card as you know has high interest rate but for those that pay balances in full shouldnt worry, this card has no rewards but what should you expect if you're trying to rebuild. i applied for this card feb '16 with a CK score of about 520, a lot of bad debt had just fell off my report month prior with only one old auto loan on report as delinquint. i wasnt expecting to get approved but i was approved for min. $300 limit. not much but again my credit was bad. after 6 months i received an auto limit increase to only $500, then 6 months later i requested an increase online, proocess was quick, asked a few questions about my income, job and spending and i received another increase to $1500. i applied on CO website and process was easy and fast. recived card about a week later. i've used customer service online and over phone to dispute charges and general questions and never had a problem. i would reccomend this card to anyone trying to rebuild, hopefully you have the bad debt removed from your report before applying to better help chances. good luck

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Best way to build your credit!
LauraGM1977 Cardholder

I applied and was surprised how easy it was! I was  immediately approved, credit score jumped 19 points first month. Climbing every month!

more ...
Feb 23, 2017
???
Cap1crap Cardholder

Unsecured credit line increases are not available upon request on Secured Card accounts.. I've paid my balance in full multiple times a month for 5 months. not like other reviews I've seen. any suggestions?

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 23, 2017

U dnt get the increase until your 6 statement

 
Feb 23, 2017
Thankful for this card
KileJames23 Cardholder

I've made tons of poor choices with credit, but capital one approved me for a $300 limit with a low 600s score. After 4 months I requested a CL increase and was raised to a $400 limit. My score has risen to the 640 range, and I'm confident it will go higher as I learn to manage my credit better. I won't ever miss a payment or allow collections to appear on my report again. Im happy someone took a chance on me. I have a few collections accounts still on my report and I'm working dillegently to pay them off and get them removed.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Good CS. Easy application
abqsilver Cardholder

Applied with incrediby limited credit history. Approved for 2300. CS is pleasant. 

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Great card
Iriedawta Cardholder

It's a great card to build credit up. Credit has gone up drastically but payment. Takes waaaa too long to clear. 6-7 days when they take it out of my bank immediately. This is online payment. Ppl with check mailed in is cleared in 2 days. What's wrong g with this picture?

more ...
Feb 23, 2017

Mine takes 3 days

 
Feb 26, 2017

Mine takes less than a day to clear. I have a traditional bank account through Chase and USAA but I like paying my Cap1 cc bill with my NetSpend prepaid debit card because funds clear within hours and Cap 1 gets their money immediately and they update my CC within those few hours.

 
Feb 22, 2017
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied with a CK score of 587 approved with $1000 limit. 

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
I love my Capital One Card!
Anonymous Cardholder

For someone starting their credit I strongly advise this credit card. Super easy to use and pay with their mobile app. Shouldn't have any worries as long as you pay as you spend! Has helped my credit score in just 5-6 months! Definitely recommend it you guy! 

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Great for what I need.
bgilham Cardholder

Poor credit after young and dumb mistakes. Quickly got approved for just enough to use it for what I need it for and not enough to get into trouble.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 22,413
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

753 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i