Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
737 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card is a good choice for people looking to establish or rebuild their credit.

What to Like

Cardholders pay no annual fee. Credit lines start small, but can increase over time with reliable payments. The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card also offers $0 fraud liability if your card is lost or stolen, and there’s no balance transfer fee.

Look Out For

Like a lot of cards geared toward establishing or building credit, this card has a relatively high interest rate. You could face high interest costs if you don’t pay off your balance in full each month.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 09, 2016
Update on My Credit Rebuilding Journey
Arabus1987 Cardholder

Cap One took a chance on me in May 2015 when they sent me a pre-approval letter. My credit scores were mid 500s across the board.   I had two medical collections, three state liens (paid and released) two judgments, 4 charged off accounts.  

I applied and was given a $300 limit.  A day later, I received another pre-approval offer.  I applied and was given another $300 limit.  Three months later I requested a CLI and was bumped to $800 on both cards.  I also asked when my cards would be eligible for upgrades.  To my surprise, they were both upgraded to QuicksilveOne.  My credit steps increases' kicked in around November and December.  I was bumped to $1,300. 

Since then I've been approved for Discover IT, Chase Slate (now upgraded to Chase Freedom Unlimited), Chase Freedom, First National Bank of Omaha and a few others. My total credit lines are a little over $11000.  Not a lot but I'm getting there.  I try to keep my utilization below 19%.  My FICO score is 670. 

I can't stress this enough, the ore knowledgeable you are about credit and how it works, the better off you'll be.  I bougt a book called Credit Repair by Robin Leonard.  Between that book and the information I've gotten here I'm in a much better place.   Keep in mind, what works for one won't necessarily work for the other.  Don't get discouraged never give up.  I've gotten the two collections removed, the charged off accounts are gone and I'm working hard to get the public records removed as well. 

I will be forever grateful and a loyal customer with CapOne.  I'm going to break 700 shortly and I plan to keep it there.  My goal in a year is be in a position to get approved for the Quicksilver and Venture.

Set your goals and stick with them.  Never give up!  Good luck to all.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 04, 2016
A solid credit rebuilding card
chillien Cardholder

Because I would like people to get the most value from my review, I will provide a broader picture of my credit profile. TU:712, EXP: 718.1 delinquent acct. No accts in collections. No judgements against me. Only 1 year credit history. No loans. 3 other credit cards I got in 2015: Merrick, US bank and Unity Visa. 3 hard pulls. 1 soft pull. I havent applied for any credit cards before this one in 2016. I decided to apply for this card because I wanted to transition from secured to unsecured cards. I felt my score was now high enough (went from 540 to 712 in a year) so I applied and was denied because of the extended fraud alert I have on my profile. I called Cap 1 and was told that I was denied because they could not contact me on the phone number listed on my profile. I asked to be reconsidered and received a call from them asking if I had applied. I was approved with a $1000 limit. I gave a 3 rating because they hard pulled my credit when reconsidering my application. Something they admitted they should not have done. Also, getting my application to be reconsidered was a bit of a headache. Hope all this info helps. For anyone considering this card, please remember that they examin your entire credit profile, not just your credit scores. Thats why I provided as much info about my credit profile as possible.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 21, 2017
Capital One iPhone App is just great.
CurtisTheGeek Cardholder

They gave me a $2,500 limit initially. Then raised it to $3,000 after 5 months.  After my first year, they doubled my limit to $6,000. 

very please with their customer service too as they did waive my interest charges a few times when I got overwhelmed with work and did not remember to pay my full balance. 

more ...
Jan 19, 2017
Excellent

This card is a great opportunity to help build your credit. Increased my score to over double my initial credit limit within 5 months. Make sure your payments are made on time, the minimum is usually $25 atleast for me it was. Use it to buy for things you already have the money for and then pay immediately 😃. Thank me later and all the best!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 21, 2017

I totally agree!!!

 
Jan 19, 2017
Doesn't help me
Justcallmebeck Cardholder

When I got this card, my intentions were to use it as a credit building card. It doesn't even show up on my credit score anywhere and I've gotten statements and used it a bit, and still nothing. This card is supposed to report to the three agencies, but it hasn't done anything for me.

more ...
Jan 20, 2017

It usually takes one or two months for capital one to report new accounts. Just be patient and pay on time every month and you will be sorry for ever doubting capital one!

 
Jan 21, 2017

How long have you had the card? It takes a little time to show up on your credit report.

 
Jan 18, 2017
Interest rates out of the roof!!
Anonymous Cardholder

First credit card aside from a Student Credit card. Got approved for $3,000 but the interest rates are sky high! My minimum payment literally spiked from $35 to $150 within one month! 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Plain and simple.
Invader7 Cardholder

Not impressed with hard inquiries for a secured card. The card is secured so why should it matter? Deposits took longer than expected to post even though they were posted to my checking account right away. Called customer service to ask about my deposits and was told I can only have a 300 cl even though I deposited 1000. Guy had no clue what he was talking about and said he could refund my money and cancel the card... had to talk to his supervisor and explain that this is a secured card and cl is based on my deposit. After a long hold she came back to tell me I was correct. That guy almost cost me my relationship with Cap One. Would have loved to have given 5 stars, but can't.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 19, 2017

Actually you have it wrong, this card is the regular Platinum Capital One card...you put your review on the wrong card. There is also the Capital One Secured Platinum card, but that is not this one. You should post your comment on that card's reviews, not this one.

 
Jan 18, 2017
So fare so good
idrussell Cardholder

It's a card that gave me a chance even with a bankruptcy I'm work on making on time payments but they gave me a really start on improvements 

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
First card out of Chapter 7
Rykstone Cardholder

My chapter 7 was discharged in December 12, 2016.  I applied for this card January 2nd on a whim and received an email stating they would call me.  Later that day(few hours later) I received a call from Capital One fraid department verifying that I indeed did the app.  I told them yes and they said my app was procesing.  Thinking I was denied, I received an email on January 4th 2 days later that my card was going to be mailed out.  I called to find out about credit limit and to my suprose it was $3000.  This is less than 1 month out of Chapter 7 with a 565 starting score.

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Love the card they gave me a chance after I messed up my  Credit when I was young no hassle easy to talk to pay off my  Credit in full every month thanks Capital one 

more ...
Jan 15, 2017
NO PERKS LIKE 1% BACK! NOTHING AT ALL
whiskey43 Cardholder

NO PERKS! NO REASON TO HAVE THIS CARD AT ALL! I DO NOT HOLD A BALANCE MONTH TO MONTH AS NO ONE SHOULD! I PAY BILL IN FULL EACH MONTH AND PAY NO INTEREST AND YOU GET NOTHING BACK FOR PURCHASE! MOST CARDS AT LEAST OFFER YOU 1% BACK. NOT THIS CARD....KEEP LOOKING FOR A BETTER CARD

more ...
Jan 16, 2017

That's because this is a beginner's credit card. For people that have no credit or bad credit

 
Jan 16, 2017

Lol that's what happens when you don't do your research

 
Jan 21, 2017

As STS said, had you done your research you would have known that. If your score will allow you to get a better card, apply for the better card.

 
Jan 14, 2017
Great for building credit from scratch.
Thirdrailjolt Cardholder

I only got my first credit card not long ago from my local financial institution and have a thin file to no real credit history yet. I wanted to help build my credit with on time payments and higher limit to make my utilization lower. It was either going to be this or the secured version of this card, would have done quicksilver one if it wasn't for the annual fee. Thankfully Captial One approved me for the unsecured version and while there's no cashback or rewards it's good to help build credit at first before trying to get a card with cash back or other rewards. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 22,413
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

737 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i