Capital One® Platinum Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.9 out of 5 stars
424 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 26.98%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 26.98%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 11, 2018
Great Starter Card
NotMiranda Cardholder

This was my first credit card on my journey to correct some credit errors I had made in my youth. I started off with a score in the high 500s, and Capital One granted me a limit of $300. Better than nothing, right? After about 6 months of responsible use, they raised my limit to $500. 5 months later, it was up to $1500 - the extra available credit helped me get approved for another card, and by then my score had gone up by about 75 points. Being that this is my oldest card, I still have it. I use it once every couple months to keep it active. My score is now over 700, thanks in large part to this card, which will always have a special place in my heart and wallet. Also - I find the app to be very user-friendly and simple to use. They update it frequently, and in the two years I've had a relationship with Capital One, I've not had a complaint about them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 07, 2018
Very Basic Card for Rebuilding ONLY
cagyeman Cardholder

I got this card back in 2015 when I began repairing my credit (job loss/layoff). My score was in the 550 across all 3 platforms so the only

other option was a secure card. I went ahead and applied and somehow was approved for 2 of the same card, one with a 300 limite and the

other at 500.  I just began to make small purchases for a couple years and about every 6 months or so they would raise the limit slighty, by about 150-200 at a time, so very miniumal.

This is NOT meant to be a reward card or carry many benifts. You have VERY basic benefits like travel insurance, auto collison damage waiver, no foreign transaction fees, and extended warranty. 

No points, travel or awards accure and this card typically (from mine and what I've reserached) carries a fairly high APR. My advice is get the card, get your credit in order, and move on to something else.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 18, 2019
Amazing company
JamieLeighN Cardholder

I applied initially for this because of my approval odds. I have had the card for less then a year and have had no problems with this company at all. I have even had my credit limit increased already. Their app is awesome and makes payments super convenient for me.

more ...
Apr 19, 2019

You just receive the card this year?

 
Apr 21, 2019

If he did, he would not have recieved an increase already. They do it in 6 months

 
Apr 18, 2019
This is a great card to have.
Blessed1906 Cardholder

Just by me applying and getting approved for the card my , first month of having it my credit scored went up 39 points. I am so happy to have this card. I have had no issues with this ard at all. I do suggest everyone should try this card. My payments post within a day. My advailbale credit is their for me within the next day. Greaat service.  I will be standing with this company. They also have no annual fees . I look forward to getting their unsecured card in a few months. 

more ...
Apr 17, 2019
It’s ok to rebuild credit
Bella779 Cardholder

This is good to rebuild credit..but they do not give CLI at all. My limit has been $500 since I opened the card in 2015, and my score has improved since opening. Even tried combining cards which they said they don’t do anymore. Will be closing 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 18, 2019

Dont know how that happened? Started off with $300, 6 months later went to $800, 6 months later went to $1300, and now I'm at $2300. CAP 1 dose like for people to make more than minimum payment. Maybe that's tour issue.

 
Apr 15, 2019
Awesome card
Campers7 Cardholder

I applied for this card in February of 2019, 1 year after filing bankruptcy with 2 capital one cards. Thought I would of been denied being that I only a a secured card from Discover with a $300 limit. Seeing that I also have a fraud alert on my credit profile I was not approved automatically. After going through the verification process to my surprise I was approved. 1 week later I got a letter in the mail stating I was approved for $3,000. Capital One gave me not 1 but 2 chances to help build my credit! Waiting for my 5 months of on time payments to see what my credit line increase would be like. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 15, 2019

Quick question if you don't mind. What was your credit score when you applied for it?? I received a letter from them stating I am pre-approved for the card but does not mention what would be the credit line. I am looking forward to applying, but if my score does not get me a decent amount then I will avoid getting a hard inquiry on my credit. Thanks in advance! :)

 
Apr 15, 2019
Great starter card
MPhil2019 Cardholder

My credit score was 725 when I was repaying my school loans and when I paid the rest off in full last year, it went down to 636. I wasn't sure I would qualify for the card but I was and provided you pay off the balances in full every month -- your credit score goes up. (Now I'm up to 672!) No annual fee or rewards, but helps to establish a credit history and set up for applying for a better card later on.

more ...
Apr 15, 2019

CS went up by 53 points in 4 months 🎉 ready for the next few months I’ll be at my goal remember to pay on time keep utilization below 30% which I’ve kept mine @ 18% and this last month 0% at closing. Best card for rebuilding credit

more ...
Apr 13, 2019
No hassle starter card does what it say
Dudebroman Cardholder

Started at 518. In 2 years with this card alone now 740 and also own a home. Always always always pay bill on time is my advice to credit card newbies.

more ...
Apr 12, 2019
Good card
JJJawww Cardholder

Approved for 300 then uped to 500 after 6 mo just like they say. With no credit then now 680, 685 and 691

more ...
Apr 12, 2019
Friend2019 Cardholder

Regardless of the response for a cli, the actual people here can’t do anything for you. I was recently denied and tried calling to see if I could talk to a person and see if I could do anything immediately to get them to reconsider. Nope, the computer makes the decisions. What a joke.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 15, 2019

What was you score in credit karma

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 22,413
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card