Capital One® Platinum Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
599 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 17, 2017
Applied through Credit Karma
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a very low credit score, I've had financial problems for a couple years now. My score did start to come up within the past 6-8 months. Credit Karma said my odds for getting approved for this card was "good" so I took the chance. I instantly got approved for a $300 balance with no deposit down! I haven't gotten approved for a credit card in 7 years so this was huge for me. It says after the first 5 monthly payments made on time, I'll get an increase. I'm excited to rebuild my credit. Thanks Capital One and Credit Karma!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 09, 2017
It's fine for what it is
wkugirl497 Cardholder

$300 limit you can't do much with, but it's a good card to get you start back on a credit journey. Thanks to owning this card (and four months later upgrading to the Quicksilver - the one with no annual fee), my score increased and I was able to get approved for the Chase Freedom Unlimited with a $3,500 limit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 21, 2017
Easy to apply - almost anyone approved!
Mph226 Cardholder

I applied and was approved in seconds, despite my lower credit score and lack of credit history. Initially, I was approved for $500…but I made my payments on time for 3 months and my credit limit was increased to $1,000. Easy application. Easy account set-up and maintenance. You can also pick the date you’d like to make your monthly payment.

more ...
Nov 21, 2017
Great customer service!
HorseChic8 Cardholder

Had this card for a few years and when times were tough, they were friendly and helped me out as much as they could. Great customer service! Highly recommend!

more ...
Nov 21, 2017
Srt8joe Cardholder

I have had this card now for 10 months, paying my balance in full every month I've received a credit line increase as promised. But the best part after the last two months of hard work on my credit report paying off bad debt i called capital one today and asked about a card upgrade not expecting to get one and to my surprise i got approved to upgrade to a full blown quicksilver card.... i am in shock and really proud at the same time. I would absolutly recommend this card to anyone trying to rebuild.

more ...
Nov 20, 2017
Good Card
JW0517 Cardholder

I own 2 Capital One cards and haven't had any issues or concers with them. I've had a recommendation with good approval odds on credit karma for another Capital One card for quite some time, so I finally applied for another one and was denied. Dang it! Now I'll have another inquiry on my report....with no new card to show for it!

more ...
Nov 17, 2017
Great! Then ok...
ScottNFL22 Cardholder

After BK, I applied and was approved for $300 CL! Great! Kept balance at under 30%, 5 months later bumped to $400 then $500! Great! 6 months later another bump to $750! Great! I read all the reviews, everyone talks about huge jumps so I was overly excited for my next big jump! 6 months later, it only went up to $850. Eh...ok. I called and they said I was eligible to switch card to their rewards card. The no fee one. Now that’s pretty awesome. I have a 650 CS, and that card is for people over 700, so that’s great! However I did not get any perks that come with a new card (instant rewards with in the first 3 months). They said I’d have to apply for the card...that they JUST gave me to get the new card rewards. Eh...ok. Well, now I’m about 3 weeks away from my next bump so we will see. 

overall experience, I’m very satisfied. They didn’t have to give me a card in the first place. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 20, 2017

Congrats Scott! In my personal experience with Cap One, they like to see heavy usage then give higher CLI. The last increase they gave me was of $2500. I was expecting alot more with the amount of usage I was giving it but they're not obligated to give em anyway. I left a more detailed review that some have found usefull, if you're ever interested in reading it click on my username.. it's around there. Good luck on your credit journey!

 
Nov 16, 2017
Easy to be approved butunwilling to help

I have had the card for 3 years and pay just over the min usually but this time I paid off the full balance before the due date and with most credit cards if you pay the full balance off by the due date you DO NOT PAY INTEREST. I requested that they remove the interest and they would not. I have been a solid good customer and should have gotten the intrest waived, bad customer service and unwillingness to help. They wor differently then other credit cards and you have to pay 2 statments off in full and then the 3rd time you pay in full they will not charge interest. that is ridiculous.

more ...
Nov 14, 2017
Excited that I was approved! Unsecured:)
chastitygarcia Cardholder

I've recently started getting a handle on my credit by understanding how the system works. My score has gone from 513 to 654. The inquiry dropped me to 650 but I was surprised to find that I was approved and received my unsecured card. I love seeing my score climb. I've raised it to 650 in less than 5 months. It's possible to fix your credit yourself, closely monitoring with CK. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 20, 2017

I agree, there's no need to pay to fix your credit. Disputing "inaccuracies" helps alot as well but got to be very carefull, if one is close to falling off (7 yesrs) by disputing it you could reset it all over again. Good luck on yoir credit journey Garcia!

 
Nov 14, 2017
Runnnn Cardholder

Typical high interest card, phone center no help not knowledgeable of there product at all....stay away

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 14, 2017

What's the cons? because I was just about to apply but you have the most recent comment

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 22,413
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

599 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i