Capital One® Platinum Credit Card Reviews

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
350 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 26.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 26.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 22, 2019
Aannddyy123 Cardholder

I got this card about 6 months before writing this review. My credit scores were in the 660-670 range and within the time from then to now with using only a small portion of the 300 limit and paying it in full every month my scores are both over 700. I was due for the 300 to 500 limit increase and when I checked my available credit today it never went to 500. It actually went to over 3k. So if you use the card smart and show you're responsible they will gift you with a nice credit limit increase. But beware with the higher intrest rate you can bury yourself in a hole if you're not careful. But overall very good card experience so far. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 01, 2019
Bad Credit Rebuild only
txtwinmom Cardholder

I had this card for 3 years and it was great to get my score back up, but after 2 years of on time payments and low balance, they would never give me a increase. I paid off the card and they charged me interest on a paid off card! I closed the account. Luckily I have graduated to better cards.  Just know what you are getting into when you get this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 16, 2019
If You Are Serious To Rebuild Good Card
mitchell1343 Cardholder

I've had the card about 2 years now. I never been late on a payment. If I had a rough month I would use some bill money and make a $200-300 payment and after the billing cycle pay my other bills with it. For the most part I didn't need to but just a trick to be on time. I started out with a $300 credit limit, went to $500, then $1000 and at about 18 months they raised me to $2000. So far my credit score went up about 75 points. If I had my balance about 20% it would be much higher. Working on that. If you are serious it's the best card to rebuild credit. Their app is awesome, use it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 16, 2019

What you mean about having your balance at 20%? I’m learning lol sorry

 
Nov 16, 2019
Holds you back

This is card is only for credit establishment. They do NOT increase your limit at anytime.  They say they do but they do not.  DO NOT APPLY THINKING YOUR GOING TO GET MORE THAN A $200 limit. You are not.  They report to the credit bureaus but the points do not go up fast nor in a big point jump.  Except for when you first start.  This is a good card to establish credit. That is it.  It will raise your score and it will help but not very much and again THEY DO NOT INCREASE YOUR LIMIT.  IF YOU WANT A LARGER LIMIT THAN 200. Deposit more than 200. The limit is 1000 I believe. I wish I had known.  This is the crap they don't tell you.  You want a larger CL deposit more than 200, that is the minimum. If you do open this card make your initial deposit immediately, they take that as your first payment and report it to the credit bureaus. They do report every month and you will see changes. Establish credit and apply for another account with a greater spending limit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 16, 2019

I believe you replied to the wrong card. This is an unsecured card.

 
Nov 14, 2019
Helpful and affordable
BLWelch94 Cardholder

Originally approved for only $400 wasnt long before my on time payments bumped me up to a higher credit line. Affordable payments, easy to use app, and just a life saver in general.

more ...
Nov 11, 2019
Best card by far !!
Onfire14 Cardholder

I started researching cards n best way to rebuild credit i was at a low 502 n i got the secured card in mid may by that november i had always paid my bill in full as i used it an i recieved a 300 limit increase an have raised my credit score greatly n even was able to by a new car thru capital one !!! This is a great card an a great way to build your credit !! Thanks capital one !!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 14, 2019

What is your score now?

 
Nov 10, 2019
They are all the same, scum
nduane33 Cardholder

This or any card is bull **** if you have bad or good credit you fill out your app online then they take your info and sell it to who ever, in the mean time you get a big denial letter telling you how sorry they are, sure thier sorry but people don't know this ****, I mean if we use someone like a actor or a company's name, they are entitled to compensation 

Where is our compansation, when company's take our info and sell it to other company's? 

more ...
Nov 09, 2019
Great card!
t51292 Cardholder

I got a card and did research, mostly read a lot of reviews. Capital One had the best. I had a 518 with no credit and I have had this card since March and now it has risen to 660. I keep it paid every pay day and have already received a credit increase. Easy to use phone app makes it convenient. I am really proud of myself and am excited about continuing to build my credit. Thanks Capital One. 

more ...
Nov 08, 2019
BEST CARD EVER FOR CREDIT BUILDING
Deerah1 Cardholder

I started with a 500 credit score with a $300 on this card.  every six months my limit increased.. And it increased by a lot. 

Score is at 759 now, and i was pre approved for an upgrade to Venture and Venture One. 

NO PROBLEMS WHATSOEVER.. even started earning miles on pending charges.   Amazing.   I'm not sure how anyone cannot like this card.. You shouldn't be owning a credit card, if you can't pay it off in full. 

more ...
Nov 05, 2019
Bad company
Upsetgl Cardholder

Do not use this card. Some how when they close your account. Your credit score goes down. Shouldn't it go up 20 or more pts. Mine went down 30 pts.

more ...
Nov 05, 2019

You do not understand how credit works. When you close an account your score will drop. A factor that comes into your credit score is how long you've had lines of credit open and paid on time. When you close credit cards it will always lower your score.

 
Nov 06, 2019

No... Companies want to see open lines of credit so they can see a pattern of you paying for things on time etc. If you pay for everything with cash and pay off stuff with no recent activity your credit will drop...

 
Nov 10, 2019

You don’t close an account, you pay it off and don’t use it!

 
Nov 10, 2019

Good to know

 
Nov 04, 2019
A little freedom
StaysInVegas Cardholder

I applied for this card less than a year after filing C7 bankruptcy. At this point in rebuilding my credit, I enjoy that it is a simple credit card. I only use it if I have the cash to make my payments. I received a $3000 credit limit right off the bat! This card allows me to breathe again. My C7 was due to medical bills, previously I had GREAT credit and history. I don't know if this went into the approval process or not, but I'm a very happy customer. The mobile app is excellent as well, very easy to use and make payments with.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 22,413
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Capital One® Platinum Credit Card Reviews

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card