Capital One® Platinum Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
697 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card is a good choice for people looking to establish or rebuild their credit.

What to Like

Cardholders pay no annual fee. Credit lines start small, but can increase over time with reliable payments. The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card also offers $0 fraud liability if your card is lost or stolen, and there’s no balance transfer fee.

Look Out For

Like a lot of cards geared toward establishing or building credit, this card has a relatively high interest rate. You could face high interest costs if you don’t pay off your balance in full each month.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 09, 2016
Update on My Credit Rebuilding Journey
Arabus1987 Cardholder

Cap One took a chance on me in May 2015 when they sent me a pre-approval letter. My credit scores were mid 500s across the board.   I had two medical collections, three state liens (paid and released) two judgments, 4 charged off accounts.  

I applied and was given a $300 limit.  A day later, I received another pre-approval offer.  I applied and was given another $300 limit.  Three months later I requested a CLI and was bumped to $800 on both cards.  I also asked when my cards would be eligible for upgrades.  To my surprise, they were both upgraded to QuicksilveOne.  My credit steps increases' kicked in around November and December.  I was bumped to $1,300. 

Since then I've been approved for Discover IT, Chase Slate (now upgraded to Chase Freedom Unlimited), Chase Freedom, First National Bank of Omaha and a few others. My total credit lines are a little over $11000.  Not a lot but I'm getting there.  I try to keep my utilization below 19%.  My FICO score is 670. 

I can't stress this enough, the ore knowledgeable you are about credit and how it works, the better off you'll be.  I bougt a book called Credit Repair by Robin Leonard.  Between that book and the information I've gotten here I'm in a much better place.   Keep in mind, what works for one won't necessarily work for the other.  Don't get discouraged never give up.  I've gotten the two collections removed, the charged off accounts are gone and I'm working hard to get the public records removed as well. 

I will be forever grateful and a loyal customer with CapOne.  I'm going to break 700 shortly and I plan to keep it there.  My goal in a year is be in a position to get approved for the Quicksilver and Venture.

Set your goals and stick with them.  Never give up!  Good luck to all.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 06, 2016
Does what it's supposed to
sammieesunshinee Cardholder

This was my first card I applied for and was approved for during rebuilding my credit. I was approved for the smallest limit ($300) but I was just happy to be approved for something. After completing the "credit steps" program, I received an auto CLI to $500 which bummed me out because I really thought it was going to be bigger, but then a month later received another auto CLI up to $2300. Only complaint is since they're for rebuilding, the interest is super high so definitely don't want to carry a big balance for long. I dont use this one as much as my Quicksilver One because there are no cash back rewards, but I keep it to help my credit. Thanks for taking a chance on me Cap1 :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 27, 2017
Excellent
MzSiobhan Cardholder

Great credit card to start you off . I have a Wells Fargo  credit card and I applied the day after Christmas and was approved for $500. I made my payments on time, always paid it off every month and I just received an email today that my credit limit increased to $750. Overall, verify satisfied with the card 

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
Fits my needs
KCname Cardholder

Paid the 50 dollars to get the card, and it helped me over the course of a year build my credit high enough to get almost any other card i wanted. suited my needs perfectly. 

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
great first credit card
Anonymous Cardholder

I has no credit history (not good, not bad, just no history whatsoever) and received a 'pre-approved' offer in the mail. I applied and was approved for a $500 card. Used it, paid it off in full and after 3 months limit was auto increased to $750. I have continued to use it and statement #10 just showed a credit line increase to $1250. Great product, great customer service!

more ...
Jun 25, 2017
Will not increase your credit limit
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for two years and they have not increase my credit limit. Quicksilver has multiple times. I am seriously considering closing this account.

more ...
Jun 25, 2017
READ THIS

I have this caard and am loving it. BUT found SELF LENDER on YouTube. Credit score irrelevant. Not a scam. Just look them up Google.

more ...
Jun 25, 2017
Another way to build credit

I have this card and am loving it. I just heard about SELF LENDER on YouTube. It doesn't matter what your CS is. Check it out on google.

more ...
Jun 25, 2017
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

If you want to improve your credit credit card you would like my credit score improved greatly with the card thank you capital one

more ...
Jun 24, 2017
Hopefully great card
Nudae Cardholder

I applied for this card and got a 3000 dollar credit limit. I am hoping this was a great choice

more ...
Jun 25, 2017

$3,000?

 
Jun 26, 2017

300 I hope

 
Jun 24, 2017
Awesome
pcornish06 Cardholder

I've had this card for almost a year. My credit score was 525. My CL started at $300 and 6 months later they gave me an increase of $200. Now, almost 1 year later, my credit score is 675 and CL is $500. I have not asked for a increase on my limit. I am currently buying a house and I sign paper next week. All thanks to capital one taking a chance and me paying my bill on time. Starting over is hard but you can do it with help from capital one.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 27, 2017

How long did it take to increase cs? Trying to buy a home also. Ty

 
Jun 23, 2017
Amazing experience so far!
Anonymous Cardholder

I checked the Capitol One website for "pre-qualification" and was ultimately approved for $2,000 limit, despite a 655 credit score. I have made several purchases, paid off the balance each month and in only 3 months my score went up to 689. I am beyond happy with the results of this card. Capitol One also has an awesome online bill pay! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 22,413
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

697 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i