Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
755 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card is a good choice for people looking to establish or rebuild their credit.

What to Like

Cardholders pay no annual fee. Credit lines start small, but can increase over time with reliable payments. The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card also offers $0 fraud liability if your card is lost or stolen, and there’s no balance transfer fee.

Look Out For

Like a lot of cards geared toward establishing or building credit, this card has a relatively high interest rate. You could face high interest costs if you don’t pay off your balance in full each month.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 09, 2016
Update on My Credit Rebuilding Journey
Arabus1987 Cardholder

Cap One took a chance on me in May 2015 when they sent me a pre-approval letter. My credit scores were mid 500s across the board.   I had two medical collections, three state liens (paid and released) two judgments, 4 charged off accounts.  

I applied and was given a $300 limit.  A day later, I received another pre-approval offer.  I applied and was given another $300 limit.  Three months later I requested a CLI and was bumped to $800 on both cards.  I also asked when my cards would be eligible for upgrades.  To my surprise, they were both upgraded to QuicksilveOne.  My credit steps increases' kicked in around November and December.  I was bumped to $1,300. 

Since then I've been approved for Discover IT, Chase Slate (now upgraded to Chase Freedom Unlimited), Chase Freedom, First National Bank of Omaha and a few others. My total credit lines are a little over $11000.  Not a lot but I'm getting there.  I try to keep my utilization below 19%.  My FICO score is 670. 

I can't stress this enough, the ore knowledgeable you are about credit and how it works, the better off you'll be.  I bougt a book called Credit Repair by Robin Leonard.  Between that book and the information I've gotten here I'm in a much better place.   Keep in mind, what works for one won't necessarily work for the other.  Don't get discouraged never give up.  I've gotten the two collections removed, the charged off accounts are gone and I'm working hard to get the public records removed as well. 

I will be forever grateful and a loyal customer with CapOne.  I'm going to break 700 shortly and I plan to keep it there.  My goal in a year is be in a position to get approved for the Quicksilver and Venture.

Set your goals and stick with them.  Never give up!  Good luck to all.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 04, 2016
A solid credit rebuilding card
chillien Cardholder

Because I would like people to get the most value from my review, I will provide a broader picture of my credit profile. TU:712, EXP: 718.1 delinquent acct. No accts in collections. No judgements against me. Only 1 year credit history. No loans. 3 other credit cards I got in 2015: Merrick, US bank and Unity Visa. 3 hard pulls. 1 soft pull. I havent applied for any credit cards before this one in 2016. I decided to apply for this card because I wanted to transition from secured to unsecured cards. I felt my score was now high enough (went from 540 to 712 in a year) so I applied and was denied because of the extended fraud alert I have on my profile. I called Cap 1 and was told that I was denied because they could not contact me on the phone number listed on my profile. I asked to be reconsidered and received a call from them asking if I had applied. I was approved with a $1000 limit. I gave a 3 rating because they hard pulled my credit when reconsidering my application. Something they admitted they should not have done. Also, getting my application to be reconsidered was a bit of a headache. Hope all this info helps. For anyone considering this card, please remember that they examin your entire credit profile, not just your credit scores. Thats why I provided as much info about my credit profile as possible.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 23, 2017
Great card
Tony0467 Cardholder

I applied for it in March, 2016. According to CK, my credit scores were 721 with TU and 765 with EQFX at that time. After I applied, Capital One gave me a $3k CL and after I made 6 months worth of on time payments in full, they increased my CL to $3500. I had a fraud issue with my card in Miami shortly after I got the card and contacted customer service about it. Customer service was very helpful in getting me a new card very quickly and cancelling my old card.Their customer service has always been helpful anytime I ever had a problem and have always had my back. My current credit scores according to CK are 744 with TU and 783 with EQFX. It's a great card for building up your credit rating. Thanks Capital One!!

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
I LOVE YOU CAPITAL ONE
STSAlex Cardholder

you're the reason I was able to go from a 590 to now having a 729 w/in 7 months. Bc of you now I have an Amex everyday & chase freedom & soon appliying for the chase sapphire prefered. You took a chance on me when I couldn't get approved for even a secured card. No matter how great my credit is from now on you will never leave my wallet. Thank you for errrrrthang Lol🤗 

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
First CC on my rebuild journey!
STARGAZER5OF6 Cardholder

I was sent a pre-approval for this card in October of 2016.  Being somewhat surprised becuase I was denied 6 months earlier.  I decided to take my chances and was approved for $300.  Not being in my current rebuild mode/mindset I immediately maxed my new card out.  Not good I know!  I always made my payments on time but paid only the $25 minimum in November and December of 2016.  In January of 2017 I caught my head and officially started on my rebuild journey.  I was given a $100 CLI for a total limit of $400.  In an effort to curb my spending I literally froze my card.  Yes people! I placed my card in a plastic container filled it up with water and placed it in the freezer.  No more easy access! I started making multiple payments per month and was just working on decreasing my balance.  Let's keep it real you don't have much wiggle room with a $400 credit limit so I just focused on getting my utilization down.  I was not looking for another increase for a while and I just continued to focus on being a good steward of my fragile credit situation.  Well just this past friday I logged into the app and was getting ready to make another payment when I saw Capital One gave me another increase to $750!! My goal was to have $1000 CL on this card by January of 2018, so it seems I may have to set another goal, say $2000 limit? This was an awesome surprise and even better since it was so unexpected.  My score has been steadily climbing so I am very happy.  This is my first credit card on my rebuild journey and I will always be grateful to Capital One for the opportunity to prove my credit worthiness again.  So yes, I recommend this card for anyone that can get it and is in the process of rebuilding thier credit!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 23, 2017

Well you certainly took freezing your account to a whole another level.

 
Mar 20, 2017
Great "Gateway" Card
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card a little over 2 years ago. To be honest, I had a couple of credit cards in college and was not responsible with either of them and closed both accounts. I was approved for a very small credit limit of $300 and was even surprised by the approval due to my lack of credit history and poor financial decisions. After making payments for 6 months my credit limit was increased to $500 and then $850 this last year. This is not a high CL card. The best thing about this card is that it has allowed me to responsibly build credit over time without getting into massive amounts of debt. Capital One treats its current customers very well and wants to keep your business. Last fall I applied for the Quicksilver and received a $2000 CL that is now at $2500 6 months later. I also just recently was able to obtain a CL of $5000 through their Venture Card. The only card I have outside of the company is a Discover It card that I was recently approved for with a $2400 CL. It all started with this card. Mind you, I DO NOT HAVE EXCELLENT CREDIT. Currently my FICO scores are in the low 600s. 

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
On the road to re-establishing
dssheltn Cardholder

I applied for this card on a whime. I was immediately approved for $500 limit. Monthly, I paid my bill on time and kept the balance low. On the 6th month, I logged on a saw $3500 limit!!!!!! Just like that...I am working to keep the balance low over the next 6 months and hopefully I will get another limit increase. I make payments to my balance every pay day and keep the balance below $2000 (closer to $1500).

Thanks Capital One for putting me on the road to credit re-establishment!

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Great card
rysela8666 Cardholder

It is a little slow in getting increases in credit, but nevertheless a good card.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

It's good 

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Great 4what we all need! BUILDING CREDIT
Marzmike Cardholder

Takes awhile to get a balance increase. But other wise a wonderful card!

more ...
Mar 19, 2017
Great Starter Card! Helps score!

 Welp here it is here it is 6 months later after having this card....  1st- after 5 months of payments (I paid it off every week) they doubled my credit line.. from $300 to 600. 

2nd the card really helps and impacts your score greatly! Use it wisely! 

Good customersevice and 24/7 available 

more ...
Mar 18, 2017
Approved for $1000 credit limit
Gina1045 Cardholder

After reading reviews I applied with a fico score of 610 income at 35000. Approval odds very good. Approved with $1000 credit limit. 6 months since bankruptcy, a few department cc reporting on time, huge student loan debt, and 1 collection account.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 22,413
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

755 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i