Capital One® Platinum Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
720 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card is a good choice for people looking to establish or rebuild their credit.

What to Like

Cardholders pay no annual fee. Credit lines start small, but can increase over time with reliable payments. The Capital One® Platinum Credit Card also offers $0 fraud liability if your card is lost or stolen, and there’s no balance transfer fee.

Look Out For

Like a lot of cards geared toward establishing or building credit, this card has a relatively high interest rate. You could face high interest costs if you don’t pay off your balance in full each month.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 09, 2016
Update on My Credit Rebuilding Journey
Arabus1987 Cardholder

Cap One took a chance on me in May 2015 when they sent me a pre-approval letter. My credit scores were mid 500s across the board.   I had two medical collections, three state liens (paid and released) two judgments, 4 charged off accounts.  

I applied and was given a $300 limit.  A day later, I received another pre-approval offer.  I applied and was given another $300 limit.  Three months later I requested a CLI and was bumped to $800 on both cards.  I also asked when my cards would be eligible for upgrades.  To my surprise, they were both upgraded to QuicksilveOne.  My credit steps increases' kicked in around November and December.  I was bumped to $1,300. 

Since then I've been approved for Discover IT, Chase Slate (now upgraded to Chase Freedom Unlimited), Chase Freedom, First National Bank of Omaha and a few others. My total credit lines are a little over $11000.  Not a lot but I'm getting there.  I try to keep my utilization below 19%.  My FICO score is 670. 

I can't stress this enough, the ore knowledgeable you are about credit and how it works, the better off you'll be.  I bougt a book called Credit Repair by Robin Leonard.  Between that book and the information I've gotten here I'm in a much better place.   Keep in mind, what works for one won't necessarily work for the other.  Don't get discouraged never give up.  I've gotten the two collections removed, the charged off accounts are gone and I'm working hard to get the public records removed as well. 

I will be forever grateful and a loyal customer with CapOne.  I'm going to break 700 shortly and I plan to keep it there.  My goal in a year is be in a position to get approved for the Quicksilver and Venture.

Set your goals and stick with them.  Never give up!  Good luck to all.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 06, 2016
Does what it's supposed to
sammieesunshinee Cardholder

This was my first card I applied for and was approved for during rebuilding my credit. I was approved for the smallest limit ($300) but I was just happy to be approved for something. After completing the "credit steps" program, I received an auto CLI to $500 which bummed me out because I really thought it was going to be bigger, but then a month later received another auto CLI up to $2300. Only complaint is since they're for rebuilding, the interest is super high so definitely don't want to carry a big balance for long. I dont use this one as much as my Quicksilver One because there are no cash back rewards, but I keep it to help my credit. Thanks for taking a chance on me Cap1 :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 22, 2017
It's fantastic- very grateful for chance
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied online on Sunday, notified on Thursday my card was sent, 

card in mailbox on Saturday!

more ...
May 22, 2017
Amazing! Hopped my credit up, fast!
Anonymous Cardholder

Got this card in December/ January and with utilization and making my payments consistently it's helped my credit sky rocket! I had terrible credit from being young and irresponsible and this not only made it available for me to even have the option to open an account but to grow the account as I stayed accountable and kept up with payments! HIGHLY recommend!!

more ...
May 20, 2017
It does help your credit.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for almost 2yrs., as June 2017 it will be. I received a letter December 2015 stating there would be no credit limit increase on the card as January 2016, but yet I see it advertised on Credit Karma, that this card would be a good one for me to have AND after five months of on time payments you would receive an increase, well it's been two years and I still have a $200 limit....other than that it's a good card.

more ...
May 20, 2017
Did not help my credit or give me more !
Iceiceice Cardholder

I've had this card 6 months now made over 10 payments on time paying even way before it was due. No increase in credit ! Has not really helped my credit any ! I have 5 other cards that are way better probably try closing this one later on.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 20, 2017

10 payments on time over 6 months? You mean 6 on time payments and 4 extra? I had the same card, 580eq at the time, used it for 7 months paying it off each month in full and then called for an increase. My EQ was at 630 by then and was given a $4000. bump. Great Card!

 
May 20, 2017
Good for building credit!
bless80 Cardholder

The bigger deposit usually gets you more available credit. I've used this card for six months (starting with $211 in available credit now $511 after paying on time). Having it linked to a checking account makes payments quick and painless.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 21, 2017

This isn't the secured card.

 
May 19, 2017
Credit score at 595
Anonymous Cardholder

Love this card I got approved for 300 I've only had it for 3 months and I got a 100 increase! I pay my card even be for my due date and I've seen my credit score rise about 22 points this card is a must have!! Its awesome for rebuilding your credit!

more ...
May 19, 2017
Absolutely LOVE this card!!!!
Twotee1970 Cardholder

I applied for this card and my TransUnion score was 607. Even though the initial credit limit is $300, Capital One gave me a second chance even with a previous charge account! I am now more credit responsible and will only use for small purchases and then immediately pay it off! Good luck to those rebuilding credit, looking forward to watching credit score go up!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 20, 2017

So you had a previous charge off with them? How long ago?

 
May 19, 2017
So far great!
Cherie1801 Cardholder

Trying to rebuild credit.

Started with 400 credit score.

Gave me $300 credit.

Waited til 4th month applied for increase. Gave me $100 increase.

Next month did same thing. Increased $350.

Total of credit line $750 right now with a 530 score. 

Less than 6 months of rebuilding!!!

Pay bill on time and more than minimal

more ...
May 17, 2017
Ideal for new credit building
ddoucette Cardholder

I got this card about 9 months after my first secured card. My credit was low - mid 600s. I applied with a good - very good approval, and was instantly approved with $300. I used the card vigorously for only 5 months and was rewarded with a $2500 limit increase, making my credit line with this card worth $2800. This card has helped me raise my score to over 700. The only thing it doesn't have is rewards, but I can get that with another card later. This card was a huge help, and I am very grateful.

more ...
May 16, 2017
Easy to use
Anonymous Cardholder

The app makes it easy to use and track. I got a limit of 300$ I have paid my balance off each month it's due, so far it's been 2 months and no issues. Patiently waiting to see if I get an increase. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 22,413
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

720 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i