Capital One® Platinum Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.9 out of 5 stars
390 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 11, 2018
Great Starter Card
NotMiranda Cardholder

This was my first credit card on my journey to correct some credit errors I had made in my youth. I started off with a score in the high 500s, and Capital One granted me a limit of $300. Better than nothing, right? After about 6 months of responsible use, they raised my limit to $500. 5 months later, it was up to $1500 - the extra available credit helped me get approved for another card, and by then my score had gone up by about 75 points. Being that this is my oldest card, I still have it. I use it once every couple months to keep it active. My score is now over 700, thanks in large part to this card, which will always have a special place in my heart and wallet. Also - I find the app to be very user-friendly and simple to use. They update it frequently, and in the two years I've had a relationship with Capital One, I've not had a complaint about them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 07, 2018
Very Basic Card for Rebuilding ONLY
cagyeman Cardholder

I got this card back in 2015 when I began repairing my credit (job loss/layoff). My score was in the 550 across all 3 platforms so the only

other option was a secure card. I went ahead and applied and somehow was approved for 2 of the same card, one with a 300 limite and the

other at 500.  I just began to make small purchases for a couple years and about every 6 months or so they would raise the limit slighty, by about 150-200 at a time, so very miniumal.

This is NOT meant to be a reward card or carry many benifts. You have VERY basic benefits like travel insurance, auto collison damage waiver, no foreign transaction fees, and extended warranty. 

No points, travel or awards accure and this card typically (from mine and what I've reserached) carries a fairly high APR. My advice is get the card, get your credit in order, and move on to something else.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 17, 2019
Good Starter Card

This card is a good starter card if your trying to start credit. its a secure card so you wont get a credit increase but its good for a starter card

more ...
Jun 15, 2019
Very Poor Credit Upgrades
MCJ7967 Cardholder

Capital one will rarely increase your credit, much better to switch to Discover  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 17, 2019

This is a secure card and they don't increase credit limits on secure cards.

 
Jun 14, 2019
Love Capital One
rangseral Cardholder

I've had this card for a little over a year, had three raises and called today about upgrading to the Capital One Silver. It was easy. I always pay my bill in full. I was told though that I don't get the bonus since I upgraded but that's okay with me. Just wanted the cash back since its my go to card for all my purchases.

more ...
Jun 13, 2019
Great so far!
KKSlide Cardholder

Applied and was approved for $500 in May 2019 with Tu 545, EX 595, and FICO 617. After getting two connections removed, my scores went up to TU 640 and EX 640. I only put my phone bill on the card to stay under 10% utilization. I paid if off in full immediately after getting my statement. My scores are now TU 670, EX 668, and FICO 699!

more ...
Jun 15, 2019

I want to apply too to build my scrore more than 554, I want to ask did you get the co-signer and did you owe anything to any company when applied this card?
Thank you!!

 
Jun 15, 2019

I had no cosigner. I also don't owe any other companies. This is my first credit card. I suggest going to the captial one site to see if you are preapproved. CK said I had poor odds of getting this card and only suggested the secured card. If you aren't preapproved, you can start with the secured card and upgrade later. I hope this helps.

 
Jun 17, 2019

Did you pay any upfront cost/deposit to get this card?

 
Jun 12, 2019
Honeymoon is over
Fantastic580 Cardholder

This card is great for helping build credit. After almost 3 years, credit limit is stagnant at a meesely $700. Since applying I have 4 other cards now with a combined $39K. It is a great starter card if you are building, but definitely not a keeper in the long run.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 16, 2019

When did you apply for this card?

 
Jun 12, 2019
Shavon2004 Cardholder

Capital one will not increase my limit after Two years of having this card. My credit has improved since the time I signed up but they keep denying me so I opened a discover card and they started me with a higher limit and better rewards. I will not swipe this card again. Plus the interest rate is high as hell. 

more ...
Jun 15, 2019

This is very true, Discover card is so much better, this Capital One with its low credit limit only hurts your credit if you use it.

 
Jun 16, 2019

I have had this card over a year I have 109 on time pymts utilization is never above 3% they will not give me a increase scores are 667 667 650 this card Really Sucks

 
Jun 17, 2019

This card is a card that can't be increase cause its a secured card.

 
Jun 11, 2019
Great company
ScrapMTL Cardholder

After having had the card, I've moved all my banking services with capital one. Excellent service and excellent app. This is the card you want for building your credit.

more ...
Jun 11, 2019
No Credit in My Wallet
DebtFreeSteve Cardholder

I got totally debt free at the end of 2015. When I tried to cancel & close my Capital One credit card they made me jump through a bunch of hoops. My Credit Score was 836 and these leaches hated the thought of losing a good paying customer. Can't blame them since their business is built on leaching cardholders. Until you live a debt fee lifestyle you will never know how good life really is.

Here is a weird and bogus thing about Credit Scores. For more than three years I have had absolutely no active or open accounts. No credit cards, no loans, no nothing! Everything is paid for including my real estate. Guess what my credit score is…?

Dave Ramsey tells people six months after they are debt free their credit score will fall to zero. That is bogus, too.  My credit score is 670 & 671. How could that be with absolutely no, notta, zero, zip… I mean NO credit or borrowing activity in over three years? I’ll tell you how. Companies like Capital One want you to remain eligible for credit. The credit score is manipulated to keep you in the borrowing game. 

more ...
Jun 11, 2019
Good for credit building
Jennepher Cardholder

I have a score of 584. I was super nervous about applying. I thought I had to get a secured card but I was approved for $300 with this card. I have accounts on collection and not the best credit history. Give this card a try.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 11, 2019

Why don't you just stop living on credit?

 
Jun 09, 2019
Doesn't report paid off balances
AuQ Cardholder

It's fraudulent didn't report my paid off balance a week before it was due. I called told someone the problem. He said I'm sorry it was over sited...WTH. still no change in my score. I'm so disappointed in capital one

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 22,413
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card