Capital One® Platinum Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
408 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 26.98%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 26.98%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 03, 2018
Great for rebuilding!
Lisaismovingup Cardholder

I applied for this card in October 2017 with a credit score of about 580 across the board. Credit karma suggested my approval odds were good. I was approved for a 300 CL. I keep my utilization low (below 30%) and now just 3 months later, my score is in the 650's for both transunion and Equifax. I should add that I have an old cap one credit card in collections on my report.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 27, 2018
Good starter cards
lovetocolor Cardholder

So CK said my odds are poor. I applied in September 2017 and was approved. Chapter 7 bankcruptcy in 2014 due to career change, major income reduction and making poor financial decisions in my 20's. This was the first card I've applied or had since 2014. Equifax scores were 699 and Transunion 693 at the time. Stated 27k for income. I have a 3k limit. Scores are now 702 Equifax and transunion 699. Fico Equifax is 652 and was just approved for Discover it card with $1600 limit. I'm not sure how accurate CK's approval is. So far this card has been great. I keep under 10% utilization and pay in full every month so the high APR isn't applicable for me. Just be smart with credit cards. Keep utilization low and only put on credit what you can pay by the statement due date. Make cards work for you and help your credit! Try not to pay them interest! It's horrible having to rebuild your credit. Good luck in your journey!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 10, 2018
Horrible customer service
sarina09 Cardholder

I’ve had my account with capital one for over 9 years now. I’ve always made my payment on time and I called today to ask if I was able to skip one payment for this month and pick back up in January and they said I can’t and would be charged a late fee. I’m working part time and in school full time until last month and money is a little tighter than normal this month. I have an account with another card company I’ve had for 5 years and they went above and beyond and even waved my interest fee for that month without me asking. You would think after 9 years a $50 payment could be waved, but that’s not the case with Capital One’s customer service or lack there of. Needless to say, once my card is paid off I will be closing it and never using Capital One again. 

more ...
Dec 07, 2018
RJ210 Cardholder

Great card to have!   , it's so easy to pay off with the app.

I really like.! 

more ...
Dec 07, 2018
Perfect
CurleyDread Cardholder

Great card to have. I love that when you make a purchase, it sends you a text message of how much you spent and where. And NO ANNUAL FEE is always the best

more ...
Dec 06, 2018
Pre-approval led to approval
WarCulture Cardholder

I recieved a pre-approval for this card in the mail with scores around 662. I have one 30-day late from 3 years ago, and no credit cards at that time. I was approved for 2k, I immediately applied again after another offer for this card w/ 1% cashback rewards popped up. I was approved for that card at 1k. About 4-5 months later both limits were raised by 500 without request. I later closed the card with no rewards and blended it to the one with 1% cashback. I've had no trouble with charges, and I've maxed both cards out before. I do not recommend maxing any cards out unless you can PIF. Best of luck!

more ...
Dec 06, 2018
Great!
ElleEhss Cardholder

Was super easy to apply, the app is fantastic, it's so easy to pay off with the app. I really like. Customer service has always been very helpful when I need it!

more ...
Dec 05, 2018
Lies.
Sateva Cardholder

They don't report to the credit bureau's. I've been waiting for my score to include their card but it hasn't been on there yet.

more ...
Dec 05, 2018

It takes them 1 month and a half. I have a Quicksilver&Savor it took around that time.

 
Dec 06, 2018

Yes they do! They just as long as any other card

 
Dec 04, 2018
F'n awesome.
jhouppert Cardholder

So I got this as a secured credit card. Messed up my credit when I was a young adult. Now at 31, I give them a $200 deposit for a $200 limit. Credit score of about 450. 6 month's later I'm up to 640 credit score, and after 6 month's of using this card responsibly they have me a $300 credit increase, for a total of $500 limit without me even asking. Could ask for anything better. 2 thumbs up, best way to rebuild credit of you were young and dumb like me. So happy.

more ...
Nov 30, 2018
Great card for rebuilding credit.
Mbaldwin622 Cardholder

When I originally applied for this card my credit score was horrible and was only approved for a 500 credit line. After making my first 6 payments on time they jumped me up to a 2500 credit limit! I would recommend this card to people trying to rebuild their credit.

more ...
Dec 08, 2018

What was your credit score?

 
Dec 09, 2018

What was your credit score when you applied?

 
Nov 29, 2018
Approved me!

I use to have a capital one platinum card and due to my poor finacial choices I let my balance be charged off because I let it get away from me. Now I understand how things work and want to build my credit score back up. I applied with a score of 580 and got approved for a $300 credit line, this time I'm going to do right and build my score up so I can purchase a house in the future. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 22,413
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® Platinum Credit Card

408 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i