GreenSky Personal Loans Reviews

2.1 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 25, 2018
zero interest, yes please
Anonymous Borrower

Paid my first loan off on a very flexible and friendly payment plan and then applied and got approved for a second one last month. You actually deal with people here, not a corporation!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 25, 2018
THE WORST & SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN.

You will suffer from stress and feeling like you have made the worst decision of your life if you move forward with this company. Greensky has the poorest business ethics - do your research and you will see for yourself. Check BBB, Google, and so on. They will mismanage your account, disregard your needs and lie to you.

I have a log of 37 calls made to them during my three month renovation. Simply making a purchase at Home Depot requires authorizations. Average call time is 30-40 minutes. They pass you around and place you on holds that are unreasonable. 

PLEASE GIVE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY AND GOOD CREDIT TO ANOTHER LENDER. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 23, 2019
Worst Loan company ever!!!
dumbpeople Borrower

Impossible to cancel an approved loan.  I have tried 3 times to cancel my loan.  Loan is still open, and there has been 2 unauthorized transactions on it which I had to get removed which is still in the process of doing that.  I am currently waiting their response from a BBB complaint.  Do not use this company.

more ...
Apr 19, 2019
Horrible
Greg3112 Borrower

Feel like I was taken advantage of with this promotional nonsense where your first 6 months of payments only go to interest and your principal goes up worst decision ever.

more ...
Apr 16, 2019
Deceptive, bad customer service
damzel Borrower

Told me I was getting an interest-free payment plan, instead ran my credit and opened a credit account with Green Sky Credit who charged me interest, claiming they would credit the interest at the end of the term. They sent me a check for the interest after i paid, AND IT BOUNCED! I have since been waiting for Green Sky customer service to solve this for over a month and a half. Green Sky says it is their Ideal Image account manager who is "solving" this. I am furious, waste of my time. The treatment i got at Ideal Image was fine, but is the deceptive sales practice of "iinterest--free payment plan" which was not acceptable, as well as the lack of proper customer service resolution from Green Sky, the company they set me up with.

more ...
Mar 09, 2019
Great rate for solar financing.
mrwvtxman Borrower

Greenssky had a great rate and was easy to get the money you need.

more ...
Mar 05, 2019
The Worst! Do Not Sign Up!
flee89 Borrower

As a mechanic, I signed up through MAC Tools. Green Sky Credit was the company that was handling the credits. I have been making weekly payments every week ever since I was approved in August 2018. Just recently I found out my account was closed through Credit Karma. I spoke to my Mac Tools dealer and he called Mac Tools corporate on 2/26/2019. Corporate called Green Sky Credit, but since they needed me to answer personal information questions, I was advised to call and let them know my account should not have been closed. I called today 3/5/2019 and spoke to Joanna or Joanne. Right off the bat, she was rude talking to me. I asked why my account was closed when Mac Tools said it should not have been. I asked for them to reopen my account because it was a mistake. She said my account was closed because I was not making payments. So I logged into the Green Sky Credit account and checked all my history. It shows all payments were paid on time. Since they closed my account, my credit dropped 114 points! I'm still trying to fight this.

more ...
Nov 07, 2018
ts1809 Borrower

Horriblel company to ever have to deal with...save yourself some time and sanity and DO NOT I repeat DO NOT ever use them. I hate to even have to give them 1 star.

more ...
Oct 20, 2018
Stay Away
Probizman1 Borrower

On the verge of preditory loans. Your first several payments are nothing but fees and interest. They can't process my bill pay service in less than two weeks, without sending me an e-mail telling me my payment is overdue. And I schedule my payment 2 weeks early.

I would give them less than one star if that was an option.

more ...
Sep 13, 2018
Home Improvement Loan
Tkbuntyn Borrower

DO NOT GET A LOAN THROUGH THIS COMPANY. They literally steal money out of your account. I am in the middle of a dispute with them as I write this. My loan is paid off, but they continued taking money out of my account and did not apply the payoff money to my account. I can’t believe this is through Home Depot. I’ve dealt with a lot of creditors and this is by far the WORST experience I’ve ever had. 

more ...
Aug 25, 2018
THE WORST & SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN.

You will suffer from stress and feeling like you have made the worst decision of your life if you move forward with this company. Greensky has the poorest business ethics - do your research and you will see for yourself. Check BBB, Google, and so on. They will mismanage your account, disregard your needs and lie to you.

I have a log of 37 calls made to them during my three month renovation. Simply making a purchase at Home Depot requires authorizations. Average call time is 30-40 minutes. They pass you around and place you on holds that are unreasonable. 

PLEASE GIVE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY AND GOOD CREDIT TO ANOTHER LENDER. 

more ...
Jul 26, 2018
SCAM

Loan was at recommendation of our eletrical company.  Assured by electrial company flat 0% interest for 12 months.  Regions Bank is listed on the GreenSky paperwork.  Took it to Regions to review.  Was assured everything was above board.  Paid first payment with 10 days of loan.  First statement showd $95 interest.  Received a second statement that was only an additional interest charge of $114 before the second payment was due.  Called customer service and she could not explain why the interest amount increased when the balance had been reduced by one payment.  She said maybe it was because they calculate interest daily. Said they charge the interest and will "waive" interest charges after one year if we pay it off by the one year mark.  What a load of garbage.  MY HUSBAND WAS RIGHT FROM THE BEGINNING.  He had a feeling it was a scam.  We are paying this off immediately.  Next stop - Better Business Bureau.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.