GreenSky Personal Loans Reviews

2.2 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 07, 2018
Simple, straight forward and honest!
Anonymous Borrower

Simplest review I've ever taken in my adult life! GreenSky Credit is honest and easy to deal with! There are no back charges, hidden fees or nothing of that matter! Works as advertised! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 19, 2018
I guess we were tricked...
mmz19 Borrower

Hired a contractor to do a job and they set us up with Greensky. We completed an application and the funds went directly to the contrator. Have been making payments for 6 month and noticed that the balance hasn't changed. I contacted them today and was told that it was a promotional period and the $756 we paid went POOF in the wind. Since the promotion is ending today, the monthly payment is due to increase $45 and they will then apply some to the principle from now on. Not sure who I should be ****ed at...the contractor, Greensky or myself for trusting people to help me out. WTF

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Nov 07, 2018
ts1809 Borrower

Horriblel company to ever have to deal with...save yourself some time and sanity and DO NOT I repeat DO NOT ever use them. I hate to even have to give them 1 star.

more ...
Oct 20, 2018
Stay Away
Probizman1 Borrower

On the verge of preditory loans. Your first several payments are nothing but fees and interest. They can't process my bill pay service in less than two weeks, without sending me an e-mail telling me my payment is overdue. And I schedule my payment 2 weeks early.

I would give them less than one star if that was an option.

more ...
Sep 13, 2018
Home Improvement Loan
Tkbuntyn Borrower

DO NOT GET A LOAN THROUGH THIS COMPANY. They literally steal money out of your account. I am in the middle of a dispute with them as I write this. My loan is paid off, but they continued taking money out of my account and did not apply the payoff money to my account. I can’t believe this is through Home Depot. I’ve dealt with a lot of creditors and this is by far the WORST experience I’ve ever had. 

more ...
Aug 25, 2018
THE WORST & SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN.

You will suffer from stress and feeling like you have made the worst decision of your life if you move forward with this company. Greensky has the poorest business ethics - do your research and you will see for yourself. Check BBB, Google, and so on. They will mismanage your account, disregard your needs and lie to you.

I have a log of 37 calls made to them during my three month renovation. Simply making a purchase at Home Depot requires authorizations. Average call time is 30-40 minutes. They pass you around and place you on holds that are unreasonable. 

PLEASE GIVE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY AND GOOD CREDIT TO ANOTHER LENDER. 

more ...
Jul 26, 2018
SCAM

Loan was at recommendation of our eletrical company.  Assured by electrial company flat 0% interest for 12 months.  Regions Bank is listed on the GreenSky paperwork.  Took it to Regions to review.  Was assured everything was above board.  Paid first payment with 10 days of loan.  First statement showd $95 interest.  Received a second statement that was only an additional interest charge of $114 before the second payment was due.  Called customer service and she could not explain why the interest amount increased when the balance had been reduced by one payment.  She said maybe it was because they calculate interest daily. Said they charge the interest and will "waive" interest charges after one year if we pay it off by the one year mark.  What a load of garbage.  MY HUSBAND WAS RIGHT FROM THE BEGINNING.  He had a feeling it was a scam.  We are paying this off immediately.  Next stop - Better Business Bureau.  

more ...
Jun 25, 2018
zero interest, yes please
Anonymous Borrower

Paid my first loan off on a very flexible and friendly payment plan and then applied and got approved for a second one last month. You actually deal with people here, not a corporation!

more ...
Jun 09, 2018
Anonymous Borrower

This company did not give us amortization schedule.  No definite interest and number of payments given.  I suspect that GreenSky is in cahoots to scam desperate people.  When I asked how long this loan was for there was no definite answer. 

more ...
Jun 06, 2018
easy peasy
Anonymous Borrower

I have a pretty good credit score so wasn't exactly worried about qualifying, but I was pleasantly surprised with the GreenSky process.  Zero interest was my main reason for being drawn to GreenSky,  I highly recommend if you're in a pinch and want some home repairs done asap.

more ...
May 07, 2018
Simple, straight forward and honest!
Anonymous Borrower

Simplest review I've ever taken in my adult life! GreenSky Credit is honest and easy to deal with! There are no back charges, hidden fees or nothing of that matter! Works as advertised! 

more ...
Mar 19, 2018
I guess we were tricked...
mmz19 Borrower

Hired a contractor to do a job and they set us up with Greensky. We completed an application and the funds went directly to the contrator. Have been making payments for 6 month and noticed that the balance hasn't changed. I contacted them today and was told that it was a promotional period and the $756 we paid went POOF in the wind. Since the promotion is ending today, the monthly payment is due to increase $45 and they will then apply some to the principle from now on. Not sure who I should be ****ed at...the contractor, Greensky or myself for trusting people to help me out. WTF

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 25, 2019

Same thing happened to me. Unfortunately, I can't sue the contractor, because of the wording on the contract. I'm thankful, I'm not out $13000, but only $2600, because I cancelled the project, due to the contractors failure to not tell me for 3 months, the permit was rejected. Now, I have to make payments to this **** company, Greensky. Sales people use this tactic to get you into a loan, and not tell you what all the fine print means on the contract. I'm making extra payments to get this **** loan paid off, as soon as I can. I'm ****ed.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.