GreenSky Personal Loans Reviews

GreenSky Personal Loans Reviews
2.9 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 01, 2020
Awesome Company
Aflor42 Borrower

They explain everything well. Romesse understand my issue and was extremely professional and caring! I could not thank her enough for her help!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 06, 2020
eveyboone Borrower

I didn't have much of a choice when I financed with Greensky. I was getting laser hair removal from Ideal-Image and Greensky is the financing company they use. I financed with them about 18 months ago. The original amount was $2,980. I am now only down to $2,130. after almost 2 years of paying $100 a month. when I logged into my account, I saw that Greensky is charging me a monthly $59 financing fee on top of my payments. So basically they make it so that you can never get out of debt with them. I'm just waiting to get my tax refund this year so I can pay them off and be done. I feel like I've been taken complete advantage of.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jul 08, 2020
Predatory Loan

I received a $4,200 loan for emergency home improvements about six weeks ago. I was told/read in the contract that there would be no interest as long as I paid the loan off in 18 months. Sounded fair to me, and I was prepared to pay it off well within that time period.  

Over the course of the first four weeks, I paid $500 into this loan, double the monthly amount needed to pay it off in 18 months — so imagine my surprise today when I checked my balance and see that I still owe $3,977. Lo and behold, in just six weeks, I was charged nearly $200 in "Finance Fees" — meaning that 40% of my payments were going back into my balance as a "fee." This fee seems to be different from the "deferred interest," which was accumulating in a separate column. 

Given that I was only technically supposed to have paid $250 in this amount of time, it seems almost designed to cancel out the borrower's payment. This makes it nearly impossible to pay off a balance in 18 months, as the longer this goes on, the more of your payments are sucked back up into fees, reupping your balance. Luckily, I had the cash to pay off this loan before any more "fees" could pop up — but I would be in some serious trouble right now if I did not, and I imagine the bulk of people fall under this category. (Though the payment is still "pending" so I guess we'll see...) 

The only reason I even signed up for this loan in the first place is because I was told repeatedly that I'd pay no extra interest or charges (other than a $40 account opening fee) if I paid off my balance within 18 months — and it seemed safer financially to spread these payments out over time rather than draining my savings with a bulk payment (as the total cost of the project was more than double what I financed). 

How is this even legal?! I've seen some questionable loans before, but this is just straight-up predatory. 

more ...
Jun 01, 2020
This is a home improvement loan.

Michelle, my representative was wonderful and patient.  I had a very good experience with my application process.

more ...
May 12, 2020
Exceptional Customer Service

Quick and easy with EXCEPTIONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE !!!! Michelle G. in Kentucky was the best customer service representative I have ever dealt with. I was amazed at how attentaive she was to any and all issues we had during the applicartion process. GIVE that girl a raise and ADD at least FIVE more stars to the Customer Srevice Rating below !!! Michelle G. is a Super Star at Green Sky Finance. I wish she was here so I could give her a hug, she's that good. Thanks for all your help yesterday Michelle!!! -Will and Chari inTexas

more ...
May 01, 2020
Excellent promotional
Karabeee Borrower

The statement explains it all and the customer service rep "Vega" went above and beyond with kindness and patience. 

more ...
May 01, 2020
Don’t do it!! They will scam you
Shmoneyteam Borrower

They are ridiculous with their finance charges do not do it find another creditor! 

more ...
Apr 30, 2020
Exactly What We Needed

This loan was a promotional 0% interest for 12 months for a new roof for our house. We paid it off in 10 months and owed no interest. The process was simple, and I was approved in minutes. I would recommend this to another who needed house repairs, or work done. Customer service was more than adequate about any questions I had, and closing my account.

more ...
Apr 09, 2020
Easy
Leahjb12 Borrower

We needed a loan for a basement project and Green Sky was the company our restoration company did financing through. They were very helpful, informative and we got the funding we needed to fix our basement. 

more ...
Apr 02, 2020
I have had a excellent service

They are friendly, the loan is excellent easy to apply for. And always helpful.

more ...
Apr 01, 2020
Awesome Company
Aflor42 Borrower

They explain everything well. Romesse understand my issue and was extremely professional and caring! I could not thank her enough for her help!

more ...
Mar 30, 2020
Payment plan for a nw commercial roof
mrmelon Borrower

Angela was very professional and helpful in helping me with a 3 month defferal on payments because I am in the hospitality business.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.