United Federal Credit Union Reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 07, 2013
Convenient and Helpful!
302rx7 Account Holder

I have a branch right up the stree from me. They are always welcoming, kind, and helpful. They don't push hard to sell you anything. I have helpped many friends switch over and they love United aswell.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 29, 2015
Worst Banking Experience
Anonymous Account Holder

Terrible services, terrible customer service, nickel and diming on every front. This is the sketchiest and worst experience from a financing company that I've ever had. There are much better companies out there - I am closing my accounts ASAP. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Apr 04, 2017
great place to get credit
sallygirl10 Account Holder

I have very low credit and they still worked with me to help build my credit  they have alot of great services

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
great place to get a car loan
kyan321 Account Holder

I have my car loan through them at the time th,ey had a deal where you didnt even have start the payment for an extra three months, I really liked that and I got very low rates this is a good place to build your credt

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
great company
kyan321 Account Holder

This place really cares about its customers I had the upper managment take care of my problems and they will go out of there way to make things right, I had a late payment and they made shure they looked at everthing to make shur they could fix it and they did, I am very happy with them

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
So far, so good
steffuhnee630 Account Holder

I recently had my car financed through this CU and I have not had a problem with any payments. The staff is very friendly when I call (and I never have my account number ready) and answer my questions. I don't use a card to pay my car note because of the fee charged so I send a personal check each month, so the 10 day grace period is awesome just in case the mail runs late. So far, so good!

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
Amazing
blondiegirl321 Account Holder

I acually had the CEU of the company contact me to fix a payment dipute, This company acually does care about the little guy, I could have lost my home but they made shure that I was treated fairly, I would recomend this company very highly

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
Nonsense
Anonymous Account Holder

UFCU is horrific. Every time you call you will receive a different answer. the staff is rude and unprofessional. As the mistakes on their side pile up, the attitude and rudeness increase.

I closed my account with ufcu when I was 21, they failed to close my account and it was overdrafted basically one hundred dollars. This put me in a system called Chex Systems making it impossible for me to open a bank account. 

Four years later and Im still trying to pay this bill. First they told me it was sent to collections. I spent two years trying to find it within different collection agencies they would send me to. Finally I paid nearly three hundred dollars for a debt finder to locate the bill and was told that It never left the branch and was never sent to collections in the first place. Then I began calling UFCU and have not stopped. Every time I have called they have told me to pay the bill a different, more time consuming way. Today I called as I was instructed to have a friend or family member pay the bill with their routing number(As I don't have a checking account because of chex systems), when I called with my friend to pay the bill, I was instructed to mail the bill to michigan and told the person who I had just spoken to was incorrect. Now I am going to mail a money order to this hellhole and I am beyond sure, I will never see that bill paid, they will lose my bill and act like I never sent it.

Over the four years I have been screamed at, told to shutup, and continuesly told I am the one who is confused. It was has been one of the most tumultuous experiences of my life. This place is a horrendous joke. My fingers are crossed so hard that I can finally be rid of this chapter of my life.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Rip Off Artists
Anonymous Account Holder

I took out a car loan with UFCU last year as the interest rate was really good.  I had a SIGNED CONTRACT in my hand and when they set up my account online the terms, payments amount, etc. were different than what was on my contract.  It took many phone calls and going to supervisors ... to get them to admit they made a mistake on the contract and when they corrected the mistake, of course, it made me owe more.  I told them in no uncertain terms this was not acceptable but still had to compromise with them and owe more money, just kept the monthly payments the same.  Then, today I am fighting on the phone with them about an insurance payment they tried to take out of my account without sending me a bill and they are charging me $30 overdraft fee.  Turns out the insurance company I was forced to work with, by UFCU, in order to get my car loan, is trying to take money out of my UFCU account without sending me a bill or any notice.  Now, after 1/2 hour on the phone with UFCU, I have to call that insurance company to try to get this figured out.  I told them since they are the ones who FORCED me to have this insurance, they should make sure it is a trustworthy company and they should be the ones to work this out with them, but they did not agree.  The insurance company used their inside information with UFCU to try to take money from my UFCU account WITHOUT MY PERMISSION.  They never sent me a bill informing me of any amount due, due date, nothing and I never gave them permission to take money from my account.  I SO wish I could afford an attorney.  I know much of what has gone on here has to be illegal.  No one needs this kind of extra, unnecessary hassle in their life.  These companies seem to forget WE are the customer ... by being a customer to them, we are doing them the favor and yet they treat us like garbage, ripping us off left and right.

more ...
Sep 16, 2016
UFCU - Despicable !
ddhtg Account Holder

Effected a wrongful repossession on a Friday afternoon, then on realizing the error, dumped the vehicle in the street in front of my house on the Monday morning - damaged. 

Had to go thru lawyers cost extra $5000. No interest from UFCU branch levels to senior managements to assist or get to the bottom of my complaints. 

They were unable to explain any of their financial figures and added almost $3000 one year for insurance they claimed wasn’t in place for a period of 6 month which they say occurred 1 year prior? This was done after the fact- despite receiving proof showing the contrary. They added the amount to the capital and forced me to pay. When I informed them I would sue, they responded saying they would make the full loan payable immediately if I sued. In a bizarre twist of fate their lawyer committed suicide!

Each time I went to speak with them at branches in Van Buren and Fort Smith AR, they basically told me off and showed me the door. Hard to believe but true none the less. 

During the period of litigation UFCU took payments I was making on the vehicle - placed those into a separate account - showed my account as unpaid and not applying my payments to the account. Then tried to repo the vehicle. All this while hiding the fact that the payments were being made. Even now that period shows as late payments on my credit report and they have refused to correct it.

If you want to get screwed royally - then do business with these idiots. When you question what they are doing on your account you will come to have an experience similar to mine. 

My experience with this institution is/was very bad and I had to endure it to the bitter end under a constant threat of repo. I paid every penny "over claimed" to them - received no compensation for their actions at all - except their utter rudeness and malicious behavior. 

Even now after settling the vehicle I have still not received the paperwork. I will remain an avid spokesman for this institution - how when and where I can. 

My facts are documented, recorded and shared with the BBB and other Government bodies alike and believe people should be made aware of rogue institutions like this one!

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Bought a truck that had some issues, dealership kept the truck for 2 months, for that period of time, united federal credit union charged me for lapse in insurance. They are forcing me to pay for this by raising my monthly payments even after sending proof the truck was not in my possession. They are crooked and taking advantage of the people and offer no resolution. A real "Pay or lose your asset" attitude. Will never ever ever ever use this credit union again and head warning to anyone else who might be thinking of a loan.

more ...
Aug 03, 2016
Horrible Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

My car loan is through them.

The loan officer I have to deal with is usually very rude, so I hate calling or dealing with her. I try and call the customer service people instead, and they tend to be more helpful. When I call the number I have been given by my loan officer, it has looped me around saying the same things over and over 5 or 6 times before I hang up. I push the number i need to get to where it needs to direct me and it repeats it normally 2 or 3. I hate going into the banks near me, because they take forever to greet me or even notice me. Half the time they seem put out to help me. I'm in the process of refiancing my car.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations