Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Telhio Credit Union

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
2.5 5

Reviews (7)

Add Review
Jul 13, 2016
Simple Banking that gets the job done
BuckeyeGuy93 Account Holder

As long as you keep track of your expenses (like any reasonable adult should) you will have no problems with Telhio. There are very few fees and you can avoid all of them very easily. The staff is very personable and a nice departure from the usually stiff bank employees at PNC and Huntington. I see reviews of people on here who clearly misunderstand how banking works and the limitations put on accounts by the federal government, not the credit union itself. For any reasonable person with a modicum of sense, Telhio is a great place to bank.

Simple banking aside, they also helped me out with consolidating my credit card debt and they even let me borrow against a car I had already paid off so that I can keep the interest rate really low. You can really tell that the employees really want to help you out, not just their bottom line. I do wish they had more branches, but thankfully they are apart of Shared branching so I can access my account just about anywhere. Would absolutely recommend this credit union 

more ...
Dec 04, 2015
Very old banking style....
chantelorraine Account Holder

Transactions don't post immediately (even when using debit) and take days to show up.  NO atm deposits and only a few locations throughout the city. I'm no longer interested because there are random fees and its more of a hassle than a celebration.  Closing my account soon...

more ...
Jul 22, 2015
OSUMatthew Account Holder

I would highly recommend avoiding this credit union. Maybe I'm spoiled by my primary bank, but I've had a number of issues with Telhio over the years. This includes everything from charging me paper statement fees (after opting out both in person and online), to introducing all sorts of little nickel and dime fees that mysteriously pop up and really add up, to closing the only location on my side of town (Hilliard) right after I signed up.

All that aside, I recently thought I would go through Telhio for my mortgage, because they advertise themselves as a local bank eager to help. I've got stellar credit and a 20% downpayment, and was readily pre-approved after driving all the way out to Reynoldsburg and meeting with the lender multiple times. So I made an offer on a house, and signed the application paperwork etc, and thought it was a done deal. However, I just got a call from the lender saying I was denied because I only have two open credit cards, because I thought it was financially prudent not to open up a bunch of credit cards. Apparently they need three open credit cards, and failed to disclose this tidbit upfront, before wasting weeks of my time, running up the closing date, charging me a $375 upfront fee, dinging my credit with multiple inquiries, and pre-approving me saying I was more than qualified on multiple occasions.

Needless to say, I'm pretty incensed at their handling of the whole affair, and I will be closing my accounts there. I highly recommend avoiding this institution, not because of their fees, the lack of convenient locations, their delay in processing any deposits/transactions, their inadequate mobile site, but because they are not a trustworthy bank, as they have  proven time and again. They will not be there when you need them. 

Most recently, I noticed several 5$ charges appearing in my account for "Membership Fees". I was never notified of any fee strutcture relating to that, so I drove halfway across town last Saturday to the only branch that's open on a weekend, so I could speak with someone there. I was promptly informed that they couldn't help me because there wasn't a manager there, but was promised one would look into it on Monday. I still have yet to hear anything back from them, and I don't expect to. This bank is shady, don't waste your time and money here.

more ...
Jun 28, 2015
Easy, painless, if you're responsible.
Thisismarty3 Account Holder

No hand holding here. You should be responsible to log on and know what you have available before you spend. This credit union is not the 1st to charge you an overdraft fee if you go over your limit. In other words, don't spend what you don't have. Yes you get charged interest at the beginning of a loan. Duh!!! Payments are applied towards interest,late fees 1st the rest of your payment goes towards principle.  You should always send more than the minimal due! You pay more of the principle which leads to lower finance charges each month. It doesn't take much to educate yourself on how your finance/bank/credit union works. After all it's your money, don't you want to know where it's going?

more ...
Feb 27, 2015
Do not use this credit union
Anonymous Account Holder

Do not use this Credit Union. Customer service is Terrible. You can't make deposits at Grove City ATM. You will not get alerts (spending, balance or overdrawn). Automatic withdrawals from checking account are randomly withdrawn from savings.

more ...
Jun 06, 2014
hidden charges
Anonymous Account Holder

beware you are charged intrest at beginning of  loan and intrest charged ontop of intrest. Then told you would not understand how it works.

more ...
Mar 03, 2013
I don't recommend!
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank is from the dark ages.  

I have a Huntington account as well, and I find I am constantly comparing Telhio to Huntington and Huntington wins every time.  I wanted to bank through Telhio because I wanted to support the idea of a credit union that was local, but I just can't get over how backward Telhio is compared to Huntington- it like banking for old people.  My mother in law might like banking there and she'd probably understand how they do things better than me, but I'm used to more modern, efficient systems like Huntington.  


Bill Pay:

It takes forever to pay bills because they mail everything.  The few options to set up epay on bills are tedious and I gave up on trying to set up my account to epay my credit card bill- it just wasn't worth it.  Paying bills by mail through Telhio can take up to a week.  Doesn't seem worth it if you your bill is due at a certain time, does it?  If you do set up snail mail payments through them, they don't automatically take the money out of your account.  It only comes out when they mail the bill a week later.  At Huntington, they take it out of your account right away, even if they have to snail mail a bill.  This is good because then you don't use that money- it is dedicated to paying that bill.  I found out the hard way that with Telhio this isn't the case.

Online access: It is more regulated than the Pentagon.  It seems ridiculous for a small local credit union to have more online restrictions than Huntington.  Are they too cheap to pay for security measures on their end, so they pass it off to us- making us answer a million odd security questions to just see the balance on our account?  It's like they don't really think you want to use online banking, so they make it as difficult as possible to use.  Huntington is so easy.  I don't want to like Huntington better, but it is better.

Transfers: We have an income source come in through a savings account, but we often need to transfer money from the savings to checking to use it the money out and about on the town.  With Huntington, you can connect your checking and savings accounts.  One will dip into the other with ease.  With Telhio, we were informed that isn't possible.  We have to physically get online and transfer the money (refer back to online access here).  However, my husband found out the hard way at the grocery store when he realized he hadn't transferred money from the savings to the checking.  He tried to do the transfer on his smart phone and realized that he was blocked from doing so because we had exceeded our number of transfers for the month.  He had to wait until Monday, then go in and speak with the bank people personally to make that transfer.  And- we didn't get groceries.  He had to tell the people at the grocery store that he couldn't pay for them.  Even though we had hundreds of dollars sitting in our savings account, we had no way to access that money until Monday.  Our money!  Good thing my husband has more of a flexible schedule, my working hours and demanding schedule would not allow me to go in to speak with anyone at Telhio- they close before I get off work!  Huntington has a branch in the Brewery district that is open until 7!

Overall ease of use: We knew credit unions were inconvenient, but wow (see transfers above) when it is YOUR money and you can't check your balance easily (see online banking above) and can't transfer money easily- why are you at that bank?  Forget the bank machine issues and even their awful hours- it's your money and you can't do anything with it?  That's how they banked in the 1950s.  I wanted to support local banks that I "own," but I live in a modern world.  I'm too busy for this.  It hurts to say this, but Huntington will get my business from now on...

more ...
Dec 09, 2013

Telhio is not a bank it's a credit union. From your reply you obvious don't know the difference. You're comparing a billion dollar financial business to a not for profit "local credit union". 

Jul 13, 2016

The amount of transfers you can have from the savings account online is actually set by the government. It is called "Regulation D" and limits transactions from the savings account to 6 a month. It is meant to prevent people using up all of their savings, in the governments mind anyhow.

Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this credit union overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this credit union?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations