Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Teachers Federal Credit Union (TFCU)

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
1.5 5

Reviews (24)

Add Review
Sep 22, 2016

horrible credit union. terrible customer service. I would not recommend this horrific disgrace of a bank to my worst enemy. Mortgage process is a complete nightmare. No communication, impossible to get in touch with the person who is handling your file , you  constantly have to call yourself to get an update on it , I get hung up on, transferred to random different places . Disorganized, and terrible experience 

more ...
Sep 14, 2016

Credit report immediately pulled upon inquiring about "low" mortgage rates online.  They fail to inform you that you are required to be in Nassau or Suffolk county to become a member, which is a requirement for all applications.

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Very Disappointed
Anonymous Account Holder

I applied for a mortgage preapproval and received it within days in May. I did not find a residence before the 45 days when the preapproval expired. Finally, found a residence in August, applied for preapproval and it is taking a week. The home is a short sale and my preapproval depends on whether I am accepted or not. Absolutely no help from TFCU. All I am told is that it's a busy time and it's first come, first served. I have been with the credit union for 30 years and this is my third mortgage. I cannot express how disappointed and frustrated I am. After this is completed, I will move all of my banking elsewhere.

They were much better when they were a small bank and took care of their members. That is not the case any longer.

more ...
Jun 29, 2016

Received approval letter on a motorcycle loan. Shopped for the bike. Put the required 10% deposit down and got the insurance. Went to get the check and was told that the bike was older than 7 years and they would not grant the loan. They tried to pushing a personal loan at 10%. No where on the application does it state the required age of the bike. Very shady institution.

more ...
Jun 20, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

DO NOT USE THIS BANK!!!!!NAbsolutely the worst bank I have ever had. I have had multiple issues with this bank. The customer service representatives are rude and unhelpful. My last incident with them was they took OVER $1600.00 out of my account WITHOUT NOTIFYING ME over an account mistake made months earlier. the mistake was not my fault at all and the bank representatives were rude and unwilling to help me, the only reason i realized was because i happened to look at my transactions and realized the money taken out several days ago. when i called they told me they were planning on sending a LETTER. so you mean to tell me, it was too much of an inconvenience to call me and let me know what was going on. the best part of this, was that the bank had no authorization to take the money in the first place. 

more ...
Jun 01, 2016
RoyBradley Account Holder

$96 dollars in overage fees for a lousy $20 and on top of that, they didn't pay the merchant!!!! I never write reviews but I would hate to see this happen to someone else! what a scummy way to make money from a loyal banker, but not for long

more ...
May 16, 2016
TFCU is horrible. Stay away
Anonymous Account Holder

I applied for a mortgage because their rates were relatively low. Do not be fooled by their rates, you pay with your time and frustration.  I should have read the negative reviews on their simple checking accounts before I moved forward with them for a morgage.

At every step, they almost seem to go out of their way to delay the process. Its amazing they function as a bank at all, seeing how disorganized and inefficent they are. 

Save yourself the grief and stay away.

more ...
Mar 16, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Customer service sorely lacking everytine I have to use the platform. I've had my card compromised 4 times on 4 years, they never call me and insist my VM doesn't work when I ask them why they say they called but I never got a call. I've had them for 17 years and I'm sad to say it's time to give them up. 

more ...
Mar 07, 2016
Don't bank with them
Anonymous Account Holder

If you are going to bank with them, you have to check your statement often, too many charges for the wrong reason, get ready to spend hours on the phone to correct these mistakes. DON'T BANK WITH THEM.

more ...
Feb 24, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

The worst bank ever my account was compromised and it was a horrible experience DO NOT BANK HERE!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this credit union overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this credit union?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations