Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Teachers Credit Union (TCU)

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
3 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 21, 2012
Very friendly and understanding!
knewman0930 Account Holder

I love going into the banks because the customer service is awesome! My auto loan experience with the company was pleasant as well! Very understanding and fair which is what I believe more banks should be!

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 16, 2012
No Mercy
Anonymous Account Holder

Posting this is the only bit of justice that I get. Word of mouth is strong, so if you read this, share this experience so that others will not make the mistake and get a loan from TCU!

I missed a month on my car payment due to an error in my records and then I was 6 days late paying for the subsequent month. Despite my rock hard, two year record, they repossessed my car at 11pm. I was blindsided. 

When I noticed my mistake in my bookkeeping after the tow truck left, I was sure it was also mistake on their end, as I had paid my last payment. It turns out, they received my payment, but made the repo order the SAME day. They would never admit to any wrong doing, they never said the tow was premature, or that they are sorry. Instead, they kept my payment, which was unlawful, as it is an implied acceptance of a lift in the default on my loan. I have never heard of, and never will hear of a company that repos after a missed month and a late payment! 

They claim they could not get a hold of me, but they NEVER had my phone number in their records. Who's fault was that? They claimed they sent me multiple pieces of mail, which was a blatant lie. To make matters worse, they wanted $5,000 in order to get the car back and proceed with the loan, no negotiations. They would, however, let us get another loan and buy out the car that way. Thank God my husbands' work credit union had mercy on us. TCU drove our credit down by 90 points with all of their reports to the credit bureaus. Just when I think nothing could get worse, it turns out they towed my car to a establishment THREE HOURS away from my home. So it took a day and 6 hour round trip to get it back from a seedy area. 

Please spread the word and beware! They claim they care about their customers, but all their care about is the bottom line and they show NO MERCY. They do not take into consideration 2 years of solid payment history when a customer makes an honest mistake!!!! No one knows the pain, financial hardship, and humiliation until your car is repossessed, so please, spare yourself. It could happen to anyone.

more ...

Reviews (14)

Add Review
Sep 26, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

They filed my tax deposit for the wrong year and then called me to amend their mistake only to pin the blame on me. Now I have to get my lawyer involved. Stay away from this bank.

more ...
Aug 03, 2016
They always go the extra mile for me.
Anonymous Account Holder

Friendly and helpful.

more ...
Jul 20, 2016
Worthless online experience
Anonymous Account Holder

Completely worthless.  Two seperate logins for banking and loan payment.  Multitude of security controll implemented all willy nilly to make it virtually impossible to recover password.

I'm a security analyst here in Indy and I can professionally say, they are dropping the ball on the availability of their site.  I will never get another loan through this fisher price credit union.  

Thank God for USAA.

more ...
Aug 05, 2015
tcu customer service is a joke
Anonymous Account Holder

mickey mouse internet banking - acct to acct transfers limited to $500, thus one has to make multiple transfers to get the job done. improved website is not any improvement. no one can answer questions about it. what a waste of customer's time.

more ...
Aug 02, 2015
The BEST bank to turn you loans DOWN.

I can see some reviews here are genuine, the others are by the paid agents to support TCU in the social media.

My experience with TCU has not been good. They are only good if you use them as your salary deposit account.

If you need any other banking needs, such as, credit card, line of credit (secured or unsecured), then you better look elsewhere. TCU is not made to serve you.

more ...
Mar 10, 2015
Great credit union
Anonymous Account Holder

I've had nothing but positive experiences with TCU. I've financed several cars, had checking and savings accounts and other than long lines at the drive thru occasionally, I've got no complaints, and they've just added Apple pay!  To those who had issues with repos and overdraft fees, it's no different at any other bank.  What do you expect?  Pay your bills and you won't have any problems at TCU.

more ...
Nov 06, 2014
Anonymous Account Holder

Had gotten a letter my payment was late my first payment so I called to fix it and they told me they would call me back later that day they repossessed my car at 9pm and then told me I had to fax them pay stubs and proof of income and now after I already had the approval for the loan for a months they won't release my car back to me. Honestly I would not advise anyone to use TCU they r a joke 

more ...
Feb 15, 2015

Contact me if you are able... We are in the same boat!

Aug 20, 2014
Have had them for 5 years now
Anonymous Account Holder

5 years going on 6 my wife and i are pleased and have no interest in going somewere else.

more ...
Apr 26, 2013
Agree with no mercy
Anonymous Account Holder

I am a 20 year old student so I'm already pretty broke. I had no idea I was over drafting on my debit card for couple of days and TCU apparently does not notify you when this happens either. This wouldn't be a big deal if they didnt charge an additional 33 dollars for each overdraft. So now in addition to paying my school bills I have to pay off the unforgiving people at tcu. My family has been with this bank for 20 years so this is how they treat loyal customers. I would never recommend this bank to a friend. 

There is also only one ATM on my campus and it is frequently out of order. 

I will soon be joining Chase.

more ...
Sep 10, 2013

Chase will probably be worst overdraft fees will follow you there as well, if you have ISF in your account. Try using on line banking for daily check and balances.

May 29, 2014

Sounds like you need to be more responsible for your own finances. This is a good life lesson for you. The people at TCU have been nothing but helpful to me. I highly recommend TCU.

Nov 21, 2012
Very friendly and understanding!
knewman0930 Account Holder

I love going into the banks because the customer service is awesome! My auto loan experience with the company was pleasant as well! Very understanding and fair which is what I believe more banks should be!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this credit union overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this credit union?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations