Suncoast Credit Union Reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 29, 2017
really care about the customer
Anonymous Account Holder

i have been with this bank for 5 years. the cusomter service is always quick and helpful. the tellers are always smiling and friendly and have repeatedly gone above and beyound for me. I've never had an overdraft fee with them or any hidden fees. i even had zero dollars in my account for like 4 months and it was no problem. they arent like the other big and scary banks and over the years they have earned themselves a very loyal customer.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 28, 2017
Low Interest Rate, Zero Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

There is no customer service and the individual branches have no responsibility to pick up their phones. To get anything done you've got to go the CEO and or his Regional Vice Presidents. Interest Rates are very good, but service and stress of trying to communicate makes it almost not worth being a member.  There is No Reason the Credit Union should have such poor detached employees.  I'm assuming they are all paid very poorly and or they wouldn't be so indifferent, rude, curt, and indifferent.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 27, 2017
No customer service & fake !!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I applied for a personal checking and savings account and was approved, then I wanted to start the process of getting my car loan and credit card trasffered over to Suncoast from my other credit union I was approved the first day I went into the branch and was told to bring in more documents to complete the process and when I returned and subitted the necessary paperwork, I was then denied and I feel that the reason they denied me was not the real reason. I am working on my credit and it has gotten better than it was before. I will not be going back to get my car loan and credit card transffered. 

more ...
Aug 29, 2017
low rates. decent service
Anonymous Account Holder

If you're looking for low rates and decent service then Suncoast is good. They do have a disclaimer that homoe loans will take over a month. My auto loan was fairly quick 

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
really care about the customer
Anonymous Account Holder

i have been with this bank for 5 years. the cusomter service is always quick and helpful. the tellers are always smiling and friendly and have repeatedly gone above and beyound for me. I've never had an overdraft fee with them or any hidden fees. i even had zero dollars in my account for like 4 months and it was no problem. they arent like the other big and scary banks and over the years they have earned themselves a very loyal customer.

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
people are friendly and professional. I
Anonymous Account Holder

Very high  CD ratres.

more ...
May 24, 2017
AWFUL!!!
MissLiss5517 Account Holder

The service is really terrible.  I was charged errenous fees but received no help when calling in.  The one visit I made to a branch to deposit rolled coins, I was turned away!  I applied for a credit card (with a credit score over 700) and was denied!  I recomend GTE.  They are so nice and have helped me with a credit card with a generous limit.

I'm closing my accounts with Suncoast today and I would really recomend anyone interested in joining a credit union, look elsewhere!

more ...
May 19, 2017
Thieves!!
Elementary1959 Account Holder

take your money out!!! Don't trust them! I am a teacher and SFCU always advertised they help teachers! Liars! I had a mortgage...divorce... Foreclosure! They would not help me at all. Took me to court to get their money. Will not work with you. Go to Bank of America!! Amazing company.

more ...
May 06, 2017
TERRIBLE!
Unwrittn Account Holder

I've been with this company for more than 16 years and their service has gone WAY DOWNHILL since they became public.  I pulled out a $25k HELOC on a home appraised at $329K and it took them 4 months to close!  And the only reason I finally got to close on the loan was because I told them to cancel it - I was tired of jumping through hoops!  They kept demanding that deceased people come to the closing to prove I was the owner of the home - MY NAME WAS ON THE PROPERTY!!  And then they cancelled the loan because I left the home temporarily while repairs were being done.  I called - they apologized.  Then I switched ** Insurance and it took them months to tell me they didn't get the policy - cancelled again!  Called again!  And now I'm getting letters letting me know I'm ahead on my payments so I'll be paying $____ in interest for the amount of time I'm ahead.  Like I'll forget there's interest on the loan?  Or they're afraid I won't pay that part?  I finally stopped arguing with them and let them cancel the loan - this time it's because they didn't get a declaration page on time....took them several months to notify me.  

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Very customer oriented
Cyndy1018 Account Holder

The people in the credit union are more member-friendly than a for-profit bank...I've never had any problems with the branch in Port Charlotte

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
This is the worst bank ever!
Anonymous Account Holder

They use to be a great back you could put your money in and leave it there and when you came back it would be there .  I have been a member since I was 16 I loved it till the change they said hardly anything would change but here I am. It is no longer a bank I would use if you try and save money they try and steal it and lie to you. I plan on leaving this bank the first chance I get. They did my grandma very wrong and I am all about family so you do one wrong you so use all wrong. 

more ...
Jan 28, 2017
Low Interest Rate, Zero Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

There is no customer service and the individual branches have no responsibility to pick up their phones. To get anything done you've got to go the CEO and or his Regional Vice Presidents. Interest Rates are very good, but service and stress of trying to communicate makes it almost not worth being a member.  There is No Reason the Credit Union should have such poor detached employees.  I'm assuming they are all paid very poorly and or they wouldn't be so indifferent, rude, curt, and indifferent.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations