Suncoast Credit Union

2.5 out of 5 stars
12 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 06, 2013
Car loans, Credit cards and persoal loan
carseller19 Account Holder

I have been a member for over 15 years and they have provided nothing less than exemplary service. When I needed money for a new roof it was no problem. When I needed to raise the limit on my credit card they pretty much handled it right over the phone. Always looking to save members money. I had a car loan at 4.25% and they said " Hey, we can give you 2.5% do you want to switch and of course I said yes. I would highly recommend SSFCU.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 23, 2014
Aggravating Lack of Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

Having been a member with Suncoast since 1986, I was quite surprised to receive a letter today saying they were placing "restrictions" on my account.  They were suspending my ATM deposit privileges and would remain this way for a minimum of one year.  At the end of that year, I could request in writing to have these restrictions removed.  When I called to find out what was going on, I was told "Oh, that was just an informational letter. We need you and your husband to come in and have your ID's scanned to have on file."  I asked when they had sent me a notification that they needed this.  We have had several loans with them and go in on a regular basis and show our ID's for transactions, never a word about needing to have the ID's scanned.  The representative told me they had not sent a notice, they were counting on the letter "restricting" my account to prompt a phone call and get the information.  Really????  Way to go guys. Great way to leave a lasting impression.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Apr 25, 2017
Very customer oriented
Cyndy1018 Account Holder

The people in the credit union are more member-friendly than a for-profit bank...I've never had any problems with the branch in Port Charlotte

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
This is the worst bank ever!
Anonymous Account Holder

They use to be a great back you could put your money in and leave it there and when you came back it would be there .  I have been a member since I was 16 I loved it till the change they said hardly anything would change but here I am. It is no longer a bank I would use if you try and save money they try and steal it and lie to you. I plan on leaving this bank the first chance I get. They did my grandma very wrong and I am all about family so you do one wrong you so use all wrong. 

more ...
Jan 28, 2017
Low Interest Rate, Zero Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

There is no customer service and the individual branches have no responsibility to pick up their phones. To get anything done you've got to go the CEO and or his Regional Vice Presidents. Interest Rates are very good, but service and stress of trying to communicate makes it almost not worth being a member.  There is No Reason the Credit Union should have such poor detached employees.  I'm assuming they are all paid very poorly and or they wouldn't be so indifferent, rude, curt, and indifferent.

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
Expect nothing and still be disappointed
Anonymous Account Holder

This credit union has no partner locations so if you travel or move expect 0% from these guys. Customer service is 0 trying to get them to do anything over the phone is a joke.

We are trying to buy a house in another state and every time we need to transfer money they have an "issue" and need to "call us back" but when asked what the problem actually is it magically works and they can send through the transfer. To be clear we informed the bank before we went out of state we would be going out of state and buying a house and needing to do these things.

Now I could have the keys to my new house today (friday) but to to this banks tranfer system we now have to wait till tuesday. And had to fight to get them to do thier jobs. If I could rate this bank a 0 I would.

I wish these were the first problems we had with them. We have been lied to on multiple ocasions by employees both over the phone and in branch locations. Lied to about availablbility of funds and when called on it, we were told it was too late we already deposited it sucks to be us. The managers didn't even do anything when we were lied to in front of her in a location.

TLDR: go to another bank, they lie and have "problems" that magically fix when questioned.

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Only bank to approve a Credit Card
Anonymous Account Holder

They're the only bank/credit union so far approve me for a Credit Card even with me having 0 credit history, I wasn't approved for a loan sadly but a Credit Card is better than nothing. In comparasion to other Banks their website is primitive and clunky, and lacks a lot of "key" features that you'd see most nation wide banks have either on their website or the phone app. I hope they improve their systems and I hope to bank with them for a long time.

more ...
Sep 10, 2016
Don't deal
olbulyy Account Holder

What does corporate office do about this place ? The staff are rude they have no GOOD skills at all. I am defiantly going to complain about this location to someone higher. going to close my account for a 100% always something going on. i am always stressed . which if should be stress free. they make so much mistakes  

more ...
Sep 10, 2016
the worse bank! ever had!
vbul Account Holder

the worsed bank i ever had it took me 15 year to finnaly to leave them i was very suportive of small credit unions but hell no any more i am done! they dont know what there doing! always making mistakes. i understand you can make mistakes but its a bank! they cost me 150 points on my credit! because of their stupidity

more ...
Jul 23, 2016
Best around with no customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

They are the best bank around but they are not open on the weekends and have absolutely no customer service representatives available on the weekends. If you have a problem with your money and need to feed your family then you are screwed until monday when they open. If you are going to be closed on the weekends then you need 24 hour phone representatives available just like every other bank. I don't know who is responsible for this but they are obviously brainless idiots.

more ...
Jul 10, 2016
Great
Anonymous Account Holder

I've  been a member  since 2010, always great service. I recently  applied for a credit card and was approved  in one day when other companies  turn me down.

more ...
Jul 01, 2016
Worst Bank EVER!!
Anonymous Account Holder

The customer service is terrible. Their people don't even care about their jobs, it's obvious they are just punching a clock.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations