State Employees Credit Union of Maryland (SECU) Reviews

1.3 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 25, 2017
Scammers!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Run!!

more ...
Sep 21, 2017
Don't go here, you will regret it!
Anonymous Account Holder

You are simply better off going somewhere else. 

more ...
May 14, 2017
SECU MD is HORRIBLE --- stay away!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

They are just a shell company so good luck getting support.  Their systems are horrible, expect normal transactions to be messed up.  ANd they do not accept any external funds tranfers.

Real amateur loser operation!

more ...
May 12, 2017
Crooks
Anonymous Account Holder

Outdated technology and 90"s process. 

Long lines and their so called teller machine are broke all the time.

you don't have much privacy discussing your account. 

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Poor Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

Be aware the SECUMD's electronic "Bill Pay" service is operated by a third-party vendor, not SECUMD itself, despite the fact that SECUMD's logo is attached at the top of the Bill Pay page.  To repeat, Bill Pay is NOT operated or maintained by SECUMD despite being fully integrated with SECUMD electronic banking website.  If you have a problem with payments made through Bill Pay, it's going a nightmare to fix--SECU can't fix it for you.

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
I hate this credit union already!
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had this account for a month and I can say I don't like it already. The branch hours are awful.  Everything with them is so difficult down to the automated system to attempt to speak to a live person. They are trying so hard to downsize on employees that they are really turning away their customers that may need that extra support of a live agent. 

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
The audacity! !!
Anonymous Account Holder

I went to cash a check my father wrote out to me in the Salisbury, MD branch. It took them forever to cash the check. I found out that they called my then 81 year old father and asked him multiple questions to the point to where he told them they had better cash the check he wrote to his daughter. I'm not sure who these people think they are, but they certainly had the right one that day. My father was not happy with them and he let them have it! They acted like it was their money. That was very unprofessional and in my opinion illegal. I hope that branch closes as there are no tellers in there anymore anyway, just machines. It's terrible. I will never have accounts with them! I wish I could give them 0 stars.

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
Terrible bank! Close your accounts!
Anonymous Account Holder

They cashed a check on my elderly father's account and this person was NOT on the account. They had no other explanation besides it slipped through the cracks! That's a bunch of BS!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations