Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

State Employees Credit Union of Maryland (SECU)

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 28, 2013
30 year customer
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been a SECU customer for over 30 years. Like all financial institutions they have annoying aspects but in the case of SECU, I find them much less cumbersome or costly than those provided by the mega-banks. I've bounce maybe 3 checks in 30 years and like most folks I find the consequences overly punitive, however that is the nature of the beast. I've financed several mortgages with them (the last entirely online), have a credit card and direct deposit both my and my wife's paycheck directly into our account. For those of you who need someone to hold your hand through personal banking, SECU may not be your best choice. I'm very comfortable with leveraging the technology and often go a year without walking into a branch. When I do, I find the folks very friendly and helpful. SECU provides excellant online services which allows me to bank when I have the time and that "ain't" during the work day

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 02, 2012

I had a savings account with this credit union for years and refinanced my truck through them and paid it off.  In late 2010, I requested a pre-approval letter for a modest sum to purchase a new house.  I had already purchased and moved into my new home before SECU even got back to me.  It took them four months just to give me a pre-approval letter.  Needles to say, I closed my account and took my business elsewhere. 

more ...
 

Reviews (21)

Add Review
Apr 18, 2016
Horrible has gotten worst over the years
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a member since the mid 1970's and customer service has really gotten bad over the past 8-10 years.  Just got off the phone with a young lady who was hostile and argumentative.  With so many other Credit Unions available, SECU has just lost a long standing member.  I would suggest to the Board that they take a long hard look at how the SECU is currently being run.  One other issue, SECU has make it almost impossible for those in rural areas to do any banking with them.  The mobile van unit was curtailed and now all the SECU ATM's have been removed.   I am not driving over an hour away just to reach a branch location.

more ...
Feb 16, 2016
this banks is up to no good!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

My husband and I on my mother in laws account.Her health has not been good for the past few years so we have started handling her finances.She called my husband and I in tears telling us that someone called her from SECU and told her that she had a $8.500 dollar loan threw them that she had not started any payments on and if she didn't give them at least $160 that they were going to freeze her account and lock her out of and close it out and she said she never took out any loan for $8.500 that the only loan she had recently had threw them was an auto loan but that had been paid off. Suspecting a scam I asked for the number that called her so I could speak with them to see to see what was going on. Called the # and I got a recording saying they were SECU debt collection division that they were now closed but to leave my name, account #, and SSN on the recording and they would call back during normal buissness hours. Just from this place wanting her to leave that kind of information on a recording alone I wrote it off as a scam but now fearing scam people had her info we wanted to put temporary hold on her account from anything electronic being withdrawn from it.Tried to call customer service about the issue all they told us (in a very snippy and unhelpful tone)was that they don't do temporary holds that we either had to come in and fill out a stop payment form or close out the account!!! And for both we would have to come into the SECU branch (closest SECU branch from were my husband and I live is over an hour away!!!) Looking over her bank statements we noticed on top of some strange activity that there had been a $8.500 line of credit on her account (which she never remembered taking out) Went to the branch for answers with her statement and they were just as unfriendly and unhelpful as the customer service # we called!!! They acted totally unconserned about the wired stuff and her bank statment and told us she had taken out an $8.500 line of credit for overdraft protection that it had all been used up and that she owed them $8.500 + interest and that she had not paid one dime back towards that line of credit that she needed to start making her first payment by the 15th of the month and that the minimum payment was $160 and that we better pay it now because she was already behind a month (they made it quite clear all they cared about was getting there money!!!!) When my husband and I tried to ask more questions about other things on her statement and how long ago she had taken out this line of credit they got very snippy with us and refused to answer any questions. We asked to see copy's of when she singed for this line of credit and how long ago it was and they told us the only thing they could do is mail it to us ( it never came in)!!!!Yesterday I decided to take another look at her statements and I discovered that on the 15th of every month SECU has been taking out a withdraw of $160 from her checking for her line of credit account and I have only gotten as far back as 2013 on her statements but they were withdrawing the $160 even then so she has been paying $160 a month towards the line of credit account for at least 3 years that we know of right now after they told us she had not paid a dime on it. We even had asked them if this was overdraft protection shouldn't she only pay back what was used and once a deposit went it they money would get paid back and they told us that they do not deduct from deposits made to her account that she was responsible for making sure it got paid back but I have the proof right here that they flat out lied to us!!!! We also can not find or get them to show us any proof of were she agreed to this over draft protection line of credit so we will be fighting this!!!!! This bank needs to be investigated!!!!

SOMTHING IS NOT RIGHT WITH THIS PLACE!!!!!They really rub me the wrong way.

more ...
Nov 17, 2015
WORST BANK EVER!
Poematria Account Holder

I have banked a some okay banks...and even Bank of America. But this bank tops the list of worst banks! They have some made up fees and I have never heard of!  The worst customer service ever! We asked for the supervisor and she began to yell and argue with us! The Mobile banking app was inactuate and several fees to hit our account then were taken away. The supervisor pretty much called us liars!  Whatever you do, do NOT put your money in the bank!!!!

more ...
Nov 10, 2015
Unreliable, it's not what it used to be!
Anonymous

I have been a SECU member for over 15yrs. I have been trying to refinance my mortgage for the last couple of months. My credit scores were in the 700s. The mortgage processor (Tiffany) and manager (Renee) are very unreliable and that is putting it mildly. If you don't call them, they won't call you about the status of your loan or call you back if you have concerns. So basically you have to push your loan through or it will never happen. Though they have a good interest rate, I would not recommend my worst enemy to refinance with SECU. You will get frustrated with the entire process and get no help from anyone. 

more ...
Nov 10, 2015
Unreliable
Anonymous

I have been trying to refinance my mortgage for the last couple of months. My credit score were in the 700s. The mortgage processors and manager are very unreliable and that is putting it mildly, If you don't call them, they won't call you. So basically you have to push your loan through or it will never happen. Though they have a good interest rate, I would not recommend even my worst enemy to refinance with them,

more ...
Oct 11, 2015
Customer service is horrible
cwl7454 Account Holder

Initial dealings were fantastic because of one branch manager takiing care of everything and going out of her way to insure everything was processed in a timely manner. Unfortunately, over time, they are getting to be like alot of the big banks. One branch manager who will go out of the way for you, but other employees drag the ratings down by their actions, or maore apptely, inactions. Unwilling/unable to provide copy of canceled check showing endorsements or deposit information. Told me I needed to have a lawyer request it. When I inquired as to who regulates them, never recieved a response; had to find out on my own in order to file a complaint. This seems to be a regular response; or lack of response; from them, and it never seems to improve, which tells me that apparantly mangement could care less. State regulator advises that they are required to provide Bank & accout number to me for this presented check.

Apparantly need a new board of directors or COO, which ever.

more ...
Sep 01, 2015
Poor customer service in auto loans repo
Anonymous Account Holder

I have email, called, unfortunally I could not physically go into a branch because I live in California.  I went through a period of homelessness due to losing my job and being over 50.  I understand a credit union to demand payment and a chance to ruin your credit, as they did.  But when i got back on my feet finanically, I asked SECU to rethink charging out my auto loan.  They were in agreement and I started making payments again in June 2015.  I was happy they came through for me.  Not so fast! After telling me they would help me with the loan. they charged it out to collections.   Shame on you SECU.  Your customer service needs a serious boost.  Answer your emails!

more ...
Aug 19, 2015
Anonymous Account Holder

Nothing but positive experiences with SECU.

more ...
Aug 13, 2015
Great
Anonymous Account Holder

Best bank! Had them for over 10 years. 

more ...
May 25, 2015
Customer since 2007, completely satisfie
Amebaitar Account Holder

I have been with SECU since 2007. I have never had any issues with them. I find that most issues customers have are usually self inflicted. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this credit union overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

State Employees Credit Union of Maryland (SECU) is available to members of select schools, employees of select business, or anyone employed by the state of Maryland. Available financial services and products include checking and savings accounts, auto loans, credit cards, home equity, mortgages, and business banking. SECU’s website features various financial calculators, educational articles, and a list of frequently asked questions. Account access is available twenty-four hours a day with online banking and mobile banking. These free services allow members to check account balances, view cleared check images, transfer funds, pay bills, or access electronic statements. Members can also manage their accounts using the automated telephone system, ExpressLine. Customer service is available over the phone, by email, or in branch locations.

Founded in 1951, State Employees Credit Union of Maryland is the largest credit union within Maryland. SECU has more than $2.1 billion in assets and 248,000 members.