Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

State Employees Credit Union of Maryland (SECU)

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
2.1579 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 28, 2013
30 year customer
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been a SECU customer for over 30 years. Like all financial institutions they have annoying aspects but in the case of SECU, I find them much less cumbersome or costly than those provided by the mega-banks. I've bounce maybe 3 checks in 30 years and like most folks I find the consequences overly punitive, however that is the nature of the beast. I've financed several mortgages with them (the last entirely online), have a credit card and direct deposit both my and my wife's paycheck directly into our account. For those of you who need someone to hold your hand through personal banking, SECU may not be your best choice. I'm very comfortable with leveraging the technology and often go a year without walking into a branch. When I do, I find the folks very friendly and helpful. SECU provides excellant online services which allows me to bank when I have the time and that "ain't" during the work day

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 02, 2012

I had a savings account with this credit union for years and refinanced my truck through them and paid it off.  In late 2010, I requested a pre-approval letter for a modest sum to purchase a new house.  I had already purchased and moved into my new home before SECU even got back to me.  It took them four months just to give me a pre-approval letter.  Needles to say, I closed my account and took my business elsewhere. 

more ...

Reviews (19)

Add Review
Nov 17, 2015
Poematria Account Holder

I have banked a some okay banks...and even Bank of America. But this bank tops the list of worst banks! They have some made up fees and I have never heard of!  The worst customer service ever! We asked for the supervisor and she began to yell and argue with us! The Mobile banking app was inactuate and several fees to hit our account then were taken away. The supervisor pretty much called us liars!  Whatever you do, do NOT put your money in the bank!!!!

more ...
Nov 10, 2015
Unreliable, it's not what it used to be!

I have been a SECU member for over 15yrs. I have been trying to refinance my mortgage for the last couple of months. My credit scores were in the 700s. The mortgage processor (Tiffany) and manager (Renee) are very unreliable and that is putting it mildly. If you don't call them, they won't call you about the status of your loan or call you back if you have concerns. So basically you have to push your loan through or it will never happen. Though they have a good interest rate, I would not recommend my worst enemy to refinance with SECU. You will get frustrated with the entire process and get no help from anyone. 

more ...
Nov 10, 2015

I have been trying to refinance my mortgage for the last couple of months. My credit score were in the 700s. The mortgage processors and manager are very unreliable and that is putting it mildly, If you don't call them, they won't call you. So basically you have to push your loan through or it will never happen. Though they have a good interest rate, I would not recommend even my worst enemy to refinance with them,

more ...
Oct 11, 2015
Customer service is horrible
cwl7454 Account Holder

Initial dealings were fantastic because of one branch manager takiing care of everything and going out of her way to insure everything was processed in a timely manner. Unfortunately, over time, they are getting to be like alot of the big banks. One branch manager who will go out of the way for you, but other employees drag the ratings down by their actions, or maore apptely, inactions. Unwilling/unable to provide copy of canceled check showing endorsements or deposit information. Told me I needed to have a lawyer request it. When I inquired as to who regulates them, never recieved a response; had to find out on my own in order to file a complaint. This seems to be a regular response; or lack of response; from them, and it never seems to improve, which tells me that apparantly mangement could care less. State regulator advises that they are required to provide Bank & accout number to me for this presented check.

Apparantly need a new board of directors or COO, which ever.

more ...
Sep 01, 2015
Poor customer service in auto loans repo
Anonymous Account Holder

I have email, called, unfortunally I could not physically go into a branch because I live in California.  I went through a period of homelessness due to losing my job and being over 50.  I understand a credit union to demand payment and a chance to ruin your credit, as they did.  But when i got back on my feet finanically, I asked SECU to rethink charging out my auto loan.  They were in agreement and I started making payments again in June 2015.  I was happy they came through for me.  Not so fast! After telling me they would help me with the loan. they charged it out to collections.   Shame on you SECU.  Your customer service needs a serious boost.  Answer your emails!

more ...
Aug 19, 2015
Anonymous Account Holder

Nothing but positive experiences with SECU.

more ...
Aug 13, 2015
Anonymous Account Holder

Best bank! Had them for over 10 years. 

more ...
May 25, 2015
Customer since 2007, completely satisfie
Amebaitar Account Holder

I have been with SECU since 2007. I have never had any issues with them. I find that most issues customers have are usually self inflicted. 

more ...
Mar 10, 2015
Worse customer service
TravelinTim Account Holder

My father had money at SECU of MD when he died in November last year.  Even when I provided SECU with the death certificate and court documents showing I was the executor of the estate, they never returned my phone calls asking for access to his money.  After two months of being ignored I filed a complaint with the Maryland Office of the Commissioner of Finance Regulations, and once the state was involved it still took SECU almost two weeks to finally close the account and sent me a check. In total this was a three month delay from the day my father died before they finally gave the estate access to his money, no excuse given, they just didn't care about customer service at all. If you love your family, don't leave money with SECU when you die.

more ...
Dec 02, 2014
Poor Customer Service & Communication
Anonymous Account Holder

We have a mortgage through SECU. We went with SECU because they had the best rate in our area at the time. In the process of purchasing a home, it was always a hassle to get in touch with our loan officer. We'd leave messages and not receive a return call. When we did receive a return call, it was often a week or two later. Our loan officer went on vacation and we had to wait for her return to get the service that we needed. Near the time of closing on our home purchase, we had to run around again for the paper work that we needed. Now the we have the mortgage, I've used their online messaging service ("Contact Us) to try to get some answers concerning our loan and no one responds. The monthly payment on our fixed-rate mortgage increased with no prior notice or explanation. If I could go back in time, I would not have gone with SECU.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this credit union overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this credit union?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

State Employees Credit Union of Maryland (SECU) is available to members of select schools, employees of select business, or anyone employed by the state of Maryland. Available financial services and products include checking and savings accounts, auto loans, credit cards, home equity, mortgages, and business banking. SECU’s website features various financial calculators, educational articles, and a list of frequently asked questions. Account access is available twenty-four hours a day with online banking and mobile banking. These free services allow members to check account balances, view cleared check images, transfer funds, pay bills, or access electronic statements. Members can also manage their accounts using the automated telephone system, ExpressLine. Customer service is available over the phone, by email, or in branch locations.

Founded in 1951, State Employees Credit Union of Maryland is the largest credit union within Maryland. SECU has more than $2.1 billion in assets and 248,000 members.