State Employees Credit Union of Maryland (SECU)

1.5 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 24, 2017
Poor Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

Be aware the SECUMD's electronic "Bill Pay" service is operated by a third-party vendor, not SECUMD itself, despite the fact that SECUMD's logo is attached at the top of the Bill Pay page.  To repeat, Bill Pay is NOT operated or maintained by SECUMD despite being fully integrated with SECUMD electronic banking website.  If you have a problem with payments made through Bill Pay, it's going a nightmare to fix--SECU can't fix it for you.

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
I hate this credit union already!
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had this account for a month and I can say I don't like it already. The branch hours are awful.  Everything with them is so difficult down to the automated system to attempt to speak to a live person. They are trying so hard to downsize on employees that they are really turning away their customers that may need that extra support of a live agent. 

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
The audacity! !!
Anonymous Account Holder

I went to cash a check my father wrote out to me in the Salisbury, MD branch. It took them forever to cash the check. I found out that they called my then 81 year old father and asked him multiple questions to the point to where he told them they had better cash the check he wrote to his daughter. I'm not sure who these people think they are, but they certainly had the right one that day. My father was not happy with them and he let them have it! They acted like it was their money. That was very unprofessional and in my opinion illegal. I hope that branch closes as there are no tellers in there anymore anyway, just machines. It's terrible. I will never have accounts with them! I wish I could give them 0 stars.

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
Terrible bank! Close your accounts!
Anonymous Account Holder

They cashed a check on my elderly father's account and this person was NOT on the account. They had no other explanation besides it slipped through the cracks! That's a bunch of BS!

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Worst credit union
Anonymous Account Holder

The employees are poorly trained and do not understand customer service or banking. They "peopleless" deposit system and ATM do not work. The employees are rude, totally unknowledgeable. Absolute worst service next to Bank of America. I desperately wanted to like the people and the bank but they are so inefficent and make mistake one after the other. Nothing works, literally nothing. From day one until I closed my account three months later. Utterly incompetent. 

more ...
Oct 06, 2016
Stop making me activate new debit cards!
Anonymous Account Holder

I like using a credit union rather than a bank, and I appreciated the low interest rate I got on my auto loan from SECU. However, for the second time in less than a year they've forced me to activate a new debit card. This is a major hassle because it means that I have to contact every single merchant and utility company that I use my debit card with to update my information. Even more annoying is that they shut off my card BEFORE the new one is activated with minimal notice (e.g., a single phone message less than 24 hours before shutoff - nothing in the mail, no other advance notice). SECU has provided no explanation for why I have to waste my time constantly updating my information or worrying that my debit card is suddenly going to stop working. I can see having to switch it once for security reasons, but twice??? In less than 12 months?? Super annoying!

more ...
Jul 19, 2016
Amateur
Anonymous Account Holder

I've received misinformation from this credit bureau twice and have only been involved with them for 5 months. It was explained to me outright when I opened an account that I would have until the 15th of the month to make a payment without penalty, but they stamp a delinquent notice with the 11th and send it out threatening to report me if I dont pay by the 15th. I understand they want their money, but after the first infraction you are ready to report me?  This is the first company I've ever been involved in where I could tell up front how little they care for their client's business. Once this auto loan is paid off I'll never be a part of this bureau again. Please avoid this place at all costs, I almost feel like I signed up with Verizon again.

more ...
Apr 18, 2016
Horrible has gotten worst over the years
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a member since the mid 1970's and customer service has really gotten bad over the past 8-10 years.  Just got off the phone with a young lady who was hostile and argumentative.  With so many other Credit Unions available, SECU has just lost a long standing member.  I would suggest to the Board that they take a long hard look at how the SECU is currently being run.  One other issue, SECU has make it almost impossible for those in rural areas to do any banking with them.  The mobile van unit was curtailed and now all the SECU ATM's have been removed.   I am not driving over an hour away just to reach a branch location.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations