Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

SchoolsFirst FCU

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
5 5

Reviews (34)

Add Review
Oct 05, 2016
Love it
Anonymous Account Holder

They are amazing and helpful, I've never banked anywhere else but why would I want to!

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

totally awesome bank woulde'nt bank no where else

more ...
Sep 29, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been a member for the last 13 years, when the bank was knows as Orange County Teachers Federal Credit Union or "OCTFCU" ever since I can remember it's been an amazing bank I've had car loans with them and credit cards with them. I wouldn't never trade my bank for another, they are the best

more ...
Jul 04, 2016
decimusblack Account Holder

I am glad to see so many people are part of Schools First , Ive been a member for four years now,  it is a great establishment very knowledgable staff, I was in the same position like many others. I had screwed my credit up went through many banks so very young and immature, they gave me a chance and I am grateful everyday. to this day i've have cleaned up my credit, and not looking back. 

more ...
Jun 14, 2016
I have been a member for 4 years.

SFFCU provide great service, and provide every everything you need. I have never had a bad encounter with any staff on the phone or at the actual branch. I love that I get to speak to a live person and not have to push buttons for an anser. Highly recommend SFFCU.

more ...
Mar 06, 2016
Schools First is Awesome

 I open a saving account over 17 yrs ago when i first moved to CA.  I applied for checking account and it took a while for them to accept me because of my credit.

however every since i have been happy with schools first.  I have recently gotten credit cards and loans.  They gave me a chance when others turned me down

Thanks schools first  :)

more ...
Dec 06, 2015

It's a Great Credit Union! They gave me a chance to re build my credit, without them, I wouldn't have gotten my sons new car! Thank You ScoolsFirst

more ...
Nov 17, 2015
Favorite Bank
Cyberguycpt Account Holder

When I first came to School First I was in a financially horrible situation. I did not even have a single credit card to my name. I did however have a car loan that I had perfect payment history and school first decided to give me a chance. I first started with a no interest school uniform loan and made sure to make payments on time. After about a year with them I applied and for a school employee credit card and to my surprise I was approved for $1000. The biggest thing that I liked about the application process was that they took all my information and said to give them a few hours to make a decision. I didn't feel like I was just the sum of my social security number and past history, but an actual human being looking for compassion on there road to redemption. Now about two years later my credit score has gone up about 80 points, I now have about 14 cards all with low or non existent balances, and Schools First just increased my to $4000 and lowered my interest from 16% which wasn't bad for a credit card, down to 11% which is even better. I'll  never be able to repay Schools First for helping turn my financial situation around but hopefully my review will get them a few more customers in the door. Please if you are a school boards employee or a family member of one do yourself a favor and join this bank they are actually in the top 10 of banks and may even be #1 with credit unions. 

more ...
Sep 18, 2015
The best financial institution around!
Bmg4eva Account Holder

I absolutely love this bank. I crawled into this bank with my tail between my legs after some really poor decisions when I was young. No bank was willing to take a chance on me - but Schools First did. I promised to take care of certain things and in return, they gave me a limited checking account. In the span of one year, I fulfilled all the promises I made to them and I have been given full checking account privileges. Additionally, I had opened a secured credit card. Just today, I took the chance and applied to convert it to an unsecured card. Not only did I get approved, but Schools First congratulated me on my 70 point increase since they last checked my score and for all the hard work I had clearly put into improving my credit. I was awarded a $2000 limit. I am so thankful to this bank for taking a chance on me and allowing me the opportunity to rebuild my credit when no one else did. I am forever grateful.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this credit union overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this credit union?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations