Randolph-Brooks Federal Credit Union (RBFCU) Reviews

1.7 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 03, 2017
Worst Financial Institution in South Tx
FraudExaminer Account Holder

Beware of this credit union. They are underhanded and unethical. They post DEBITS befor posting CREDITS to intentionally. This is very very bad for a small business because if the checking account dips below 0 for ONE STINKING SECOND they rape the small business of $24 courtesy pay fees! It doesn't matter that they have electronic CREDITS waiting to be posted! And to make matters worse, they post the largest DEBITS ahead of smaller ones so they can rape the account for $24 for EACH INSTANCE...even though seconds later the account is fine! They have cost our small business hundreds upon hundreds of dollars just this year! Do NOT DO BUSINESS WITH RBFCU. You will regret it!

more ...
Oct 12, 2017
Believe the negative reviews
Anonymous Account Holder

RBFCU used to be a stellar credit union. Now they treat loyal customers like non-paying dirtbags. Their banking systems are laughable at best. Check your statements and how they are reporting on your credit. They can and are incorrect sometimes. I am spending way too much time calling them to fix their errors.

more ...
Oct 11, 2017
Sucks now; was good once upon a time
Onyxcatcher Account Holder

If you want to get hit with overdraft fees for items that are pending but you can't see them, then hit again when they post, knock yourself out. I have proof showing no transactions were pending yet was told it's only available on certain devices;

how would I know that?  So as a consumer im charged  with multiple fees for items pending then dropping off then posting? After nearly ten years I asked for one fee to be removed because of there ILLEGAL TRANSACTION SHUFFLING, and was told no. I sure hope the $24 in their pocket is worth the number of people that will be looking elsewhere for banking. Then again I'm sure they could care less and don't read these reviews.

Pretty sad when a local credit union actually makes BOA look like a better option! 

more ...
Oct 11, 2017
Sucks now; was good once upon a time
Anonymous Account Holder

If you want to get hit with overdraft fees for items that are pending but you can't see them, then hit again when they post, knock yourself out. I have proof showing no transactions were pending yet was told it's only available on certain devices;

how would I know that?  So as a consumer im charged  with multiple fees for items pending then dropping off then posting? After nearly ten years I asked for one fee to be removed because of there ILLEGAL TRANSACTION SHUFFLING, and was told no. I sure hope the $24 in their pocket is worth the number of people that will be looking elsewhere for banking. Then again I'm sure they could care less and don't read these reviews.

Pretty sad when a local credit union actually makes BOA look like a better option! 

more ...
Oct 04, 2017
Best bank I have ever had.
onegoodpunk Account Holder

Very down to earth banking. I get an actual local person on the phone every time I have questions or need anything. Best auto loan rates around. 

more ...
Sep 23, 2017
Worst bank ever.
Anonymous Account Holder

They have a major flaw in their banking system.

On thier mobile app it does my auto populate your pending transactions till after they are recipeted, causing major NFS fees. Plus, thier merchant takes 3 days to pull from account, Slow outdated system, considering this is a bank & should be able to pull next day since they should have plenty of transactions coming in/out. The 3 day delay caused accounting problems for small businesses. 

Also, 

On the app you if you disable the "quick balances" widget. It doesn't cancel the "quick balances" feature for other people logged into your quick balances account. Beyond annoying. 

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
Horrible!
Anonymous Account Holder

This is the worst credit union ever! Stay away from this credit union. They will rip you off with NSF fees and all their workers are incompetent! They have no knowledge about the system they are so called train to know about. And please don't ask for a supervisor because it's only going to get worst. They reported my auto loan over 30 days late when it wasn't! They actually went in the system and said it's not 30 days late, but told me to write a letter to their disputes department, if I want it removed.  You **** right I want it removed! And I shouldn't have to do the footwork (write a letter) to repair RBFCU mistake. Unbelievable! 

more ...
Jul 12, 2017
Worst bank I have ever had
Anonymous Account Holder

Had a courtesy fee applied for 24 dollars for 5 dollars at the same time my direct deposit was received but no help from customer service or supervisor, plus app sucks and does not keep you updated as should, had many charges drop off only to be charge again effecting my available balance so they can charge you their courtesy fees... Rbfcu crooks

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Great place
DBrowninTX Account Holder

Keep your account current, and understand scheduled funds do not show on the app and you will be good. All of my credit info is correct, updated every 30 days like clockwork. Customer service in the branches is amazing, agree its a little lacking on phone.

more ...
Jul 02, 2017
Once great, far from it now!
Anonymous Account Holder

We've been a loyal members of RBFCU since the mid-80s.  Even though we've moved around the country since then, we've kept our primary accounts at RBFCU.  They had great customer service, great rates, and it was easy to do long-distance banking.  During the past 10 years, I've noticed a distinct decline in RBFCU's customer orientation.  It used to be that if I didn't get the service I thought I deserved fromt them, I could call up one of the managers that I had known back when we lived in the Hill Country.  However, that contact has long since retired.  Now if they do something stupid, I have no where else to turn.  

They've had some real serious problems deploying their new phone system a couple of years ago.  When I'd call about my credit card, there were several card numbers that didn't really exist.  Even after asking them about it, that problem persisted for almost a year.  I've also had unending problems with the security of my RBFCU Mastercard.  Either the security was too tight, and I'd have to call when I was making an unusual charge.  Or it was too loose, and unauthorized charges would be made and they didn't catch it.

The most recent, and the resaon that I'm going t cut my ties with RBFCU, stems from my attempt to set up an account for an unincorporated association of which I will take over treasury responsibility for starting next year.  I spoke to a RBFCU representative and she said that I would need to send in the necessary information about the association (primarily IRS Form 990 and it's EIN, as well as a list of the directors).  I sent in the information.  About 2 days later I get back an e-mail stating that they won't be able to set up the account.  In part they state:  "As we are restricted as a credit union on how we can qualify organizations for membership, we will not be able to qualify your organization, and therefore we will not be able to open an account at this time."

Interesting, since the association already has an account set up at another Texas-based credit union.  The organization has over 150k in balances, but apparently RBFCU doesn't need that business, and won't even try to accommodate a long-time customer.  I called to complain, and asked that the complaint be sent up the chain of command, but I haven't heard anything back, and frankly, I don't expect that I will.  I wish the old RBFCU was still around.  RBFCU has gotten too big for it's own good.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations