Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Randolph-Brooks Federal Credit Union (RBFCU)

1.6 out of 5 stars
16 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 21, 2016
Horroble!!!!!!! Disrespectful!!! ESTHER
Customer67 Account Holder

My Debit card is wore out, it won't work in the RBFCU ATM,but it will work at Wells Fargo and Bank of America, I need a new Card.  Ester,a very heavy, fat Hispanic Woman that works at the RBFCU at 6475 Baywater Dr. decided to look at my account and announced that I had $23 in my Checking in a loud voice,to this I said that the Card is wore out, then Ester decided to order me another Card.  I didn't bother reporting Big Esther to the Manager, for all I knew,Big Esther was the Manager or the Manager was standing there.

more ...
Nov 01, 2016
Horrible!!! Never ever Again
Anonymous Account Holder

WORST EXPERIENCE HANDS DOWN!!!!! I would not recommened AT ALL!!!!! I am seriously shocked that this credit union is still in business. Most of the employees are very nice and helpful. HOWEVER, be very careful wehn applying for credit that did 4 hardpulls on my TransUnion report. I am not happy at all and will be closing my accounts with them. If you want a GREAT bank go with PENFED Credit Union or Navy Federal Credit Union!! 

more ...
Oct 30, 2016
Rude to Customers Greedy & Poor Service
AdanLozanoJr Account Holder

Avoid this bank!  I moved from Navy Federal CU to Randolph-Brooks Federal CU (RBFCU) because they have a branch close to my home -- biggest mistake I ever made!  I've never experienced such poor service from any company (except for AT&T, maybe).  The tellers are rude, hold times for customer service line is way too long, their online banking software is antiquated, and their operating hours are limited to the business day.  There is no chance of getting any type of support after hours.  I set up so that my life insurance premiums could be deducted from my bank account, so they (life insurance) verified my bank by drafting $0.01 (one cent) and I was waiting for my VA disability check to fund the account: my account had a zero balance.  Well, Randolph-Brooks Federal CU charged me a $24 NSF fee.  My life insurance company returned the $0.01 (one cent) to my bank account about three days later.  I called RBFCU and they would not credit me the NSF fee.  They will stick it to you any way they can, given the opportunity.  Anyone choosing this institution would be making a grave mistake.  Beware RBFCU!

more ...
Oct 12, 2016
Sells your mortgage before ink dries!
Anonymous Account Holder

Been with RBFCU for over 15 years... paid off several car loans with them, but never applied for a mortgage with them until summer 2016.

Fortunately we asked the right questions BEFORE it was too late...!!!  

RBFCU admitted they will sell your mortgage as soon as they can --- in fact, they will sell it immediately upon "approval/closing" when possible.

Not exactly what I consider approriate customer care for what would be our single largest financial obligation.

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
Great Customer Service!
MoodyP Account Holder

I have been with RBFCU for over 20 years. Agents are helpful and very courteous I have never had any real problems and if I did they resolved them immediatelly

more ...
Sep 10, 2016
Terrible!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

They charge you a ridiculous "courtesy fee" because their system doesn't post your payment until the next day but ultimately you're at fault for their system being screwed! To top it off they charge you a fee for using your own money to make purchases because they put a hold on it

more ...
Aug 15, 2016
Horrible Fraud Detection
Schodtsl Account Holder

I'd been a happy customer since 2014 but recently my card started tripping their fraud detection and my purchases have been declined. I've been on the phone with their fraud department each day for since last friday ... hold times are about 30 minutes each day. Each time I'm told "We'll reset your card and everything should be fine."

Day 1, declined at a local cafe for breakfast. Thankfully the wnwer was understanding and let me pay later that day. 

Day 2. Online purchases were declined. One pair of short from China, One game from England, one purchase from a nice shop in Palm springs. Declined. 
So, I spend thrity minutes on hold. explain that it was happening again and was assured they'd reset my account and those purchases could then be charged again. 

Day 3, I went online to pay my health insurance and phoine bill. Both declined. I spend another 35 minutes on hold and reach another Fraud rep who says the eact same thing the other two reps said before, "I'll reset your card and in ten to fifteeen minutes you should be able to use it again."

I explained to him that he was using the exact same script the other two reps had used so did he really have any confidence his reset was going to fix it? He had no answer ... "Um Um well it should work."

If this happens one more time ...  I'm moving my accounts.

more ...
Aug 05, 2016
BEWARE One of the worst customer service
00actionsaxon Account Holder

Itshould have been a clue to the horrible customer service when from the moment you open the account you must video chat to someone in "San Antonio" office while implying employees whom actually work in the facility must not be smart enough to open accounts. I have tried several times to report a fraud on my account.... First attempt, I was on the way to a meeting not thinking it would take much time to report, boy was I wrong, 40 minutes later I opted to leave a message with the fraud dept., since I had reached my destination,. the fraud dept. voicemail box was full and the automated system ended the call. The second attempt was through online chat.... she gave me the fraud dept. phone number :| absolutely no help. Third attempt, called the fraud number again, automatically placed on hold for 8 minutes then once again the automated system ended the call. 

There have been MANY other issues but this the straw broke the camels back. As soon as this mess is cleared, you bet I will never do business with this "Union" again. 

more ...
Jun 30, 2016
Something is wrong
Anonymous Account Holder

Something does not seem right about their processing.  They need to be investigated seriously.  

more ...
Jun 12, 2016
Incredibly Frustrating and Badly Managed

Because our car loan experience had gone so well, we decided to take advantage of their "too good to be true" (and it was) credit card offer. This has been the MOST FRUSTRATING experience with a credit card ever!   NO ONE CARES!  They are slow as molasses!   While other credit card companies approve you in minutes, allow you to immediately do your balance transfer and get your card to you in the mail right away, RBFCU takes WEEKS!   We applied, and were approved several weeks ago, in fact, almost a month ago!  At the time, we thought we would do the free balance transfer in time to save the interest that would be charged on our other card.  But for some reason, there was more paperwork and we had to go into a branch and then wait again several weeks and go BACK into the branch!  It is now 5 days after my second visit to the branch.  I can finally see the credit card on my account but I can't do anything with it!  There is no customer service available of course and the one department who you can get ahold of apparently only handles website issues (personally, I think have a crappy website where customers can't do anything IS a website issue but I guess I can't expect him to rebuild the stupid website on a Sunday morning).  So, finally, all I could figure out how to do is transfer my credit balance from my new credit card to my savings account (cash advances are the same APR as balance transfers) and then transfer my savings account balance to my personal checking account (at another bank) and then just pay the card out of my checking.  Well, the transfer from credit card to savings went fine but then the transfer to my checking account is going to take THREE DAYS!!!!!   Too bad, 'cause I was in the middle of it so I tried to complete it.   AND THEN another issue!  The transfer was higher than my daily limit and I'd have to do it through secure message or come into a branch!   OMG!!!!!  This is so incredibly difficult.  By the time I get the money to the card I was paying off, I will have been charged the same in interest as the instant decision cards would have charged me in balance transfer fees!  

FORGET THIS CARD!!!!  Save yourself a lot of stress and go with a bank that operates in the 21st century.  RBFCU's processes and operations are so archaic, you will find yourself tearing your hair out.  They just can't compete with the fast pace of today's world.  My goal is to pay off the car and the card and be done with them.  Way too much trouble!  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations