Randolph-Brooks Federal Credit Union (RBFCU)

1.8 out of 5 stars
16 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Apr 25, 2017
Switching to another bank
Anonymous Account Holder

Mobile app does not update your balances so your stuck paying a ridiculous amount of fees. Apparantly its a tool for us to use but does not gurantee that your account is updated, in order for us to view our current balance we will have check out the website. It's ridiculous. Switching to a different bank now.

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

So upset, been trying to get balance info updated on credit bureaus with no success. This is affecting my fico score and interest rates on new house im buying. This is the second time this has happened

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
STAY AWAY
Anonymous Account Holder

HORRIBLE customer service. they wil nickle and dime you. dont take it just from me. read all the reviews. they clearly suck.

stay way from them.find another bank.

more ...
Mar 30, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

This credit union is the worst. They are FOR PROFIT and years of relationship would not matter. Just go to PENFED or NFCU, they are tried and tested and the best in taking care of veterans. RBFCU will rip you off, put so much hard hit on your credit report when applying for a loan and does not have common courtesy saying "it is not the banks fault so we cannot refund your money." They love overdrafting your account for a menial amount of money. It does not matter if it's 3 dollars or 5 dollars. They will charge you 24 bucks for it bec "it is not the banks error." according to their representatives. This credit union is as heartless as you can imagine. Don't fall for their tricks, this is a business that doesn't build a relationship. RBFCU exist to take your money, anyway they can.

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Love randolph
Anonymous Account Holder

I don't know what all these people are talking about i love randolph. They approve my line of credit and great interest rates on my car and i love the fact that i can reactivate my card when found.

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Understaffed and never helpful
Anonymous Account Holder

Love credit unions, this is the worst I've used in 35 years of banking. Always horribly understaffed, never a real banker to talk to, never see the same bankers. I'll be closing out my accounts

more ...
Nov 01, 2016
Horrible!!! Never ever Again
Anonymous Account Holder

WORST EXPERIENCE HANDS DOWN!!!!! I would not recommened AT ALL!!!!! I am seriously shocked that this credit union is still in business. Most of the employees are very nice and helpful. HOWEVER, be very careful wehn applying for credit that did 4 hardpulls on my TransUnion report. I am not happy at all and will be closing my accounts with them. If you want a GREAT bank go with PENFED Credit Union or Navy Federal Credit Union!! 

more ...
Oct 30, 2016
Rude to Customers Greedy & Poor Service
AdanLozanoJr Account Holder

Avoid this bank!  I moved from Navy Federal CU to Randolph-Brooks Federal CU (RBFCU) because they have a branch close to my home -- biggest mistake I ever made!  I've never experienced such poor service from any company (except for AT&T, maybe).  The tellers are rude, hold times for customer service line is way too long, their online banking software is antiquated, and their operating hours are limited to the business day.  There is no chance of getting any type of support after hours.  I set up so that my life insurance premiums could be deducted from my bank account, so they (life insurance) verified my bank by drafting $0.01 (one cent) and I was waiting for my VA disability check to fund the account: my account had a zero balance.  Well, Randolph-Brooks Federal CU charged me a $24 NSF fee.  My life insurance company returned the $0.01 (one cent) to my bank account about three days later.  I called RBFCU and they would not credit me the NSF fee.  They will stick it to you any way they can, given the opportunity.  Anyone choosing this institution would be making a grave mistake.  Beware RBFCU!

more ...
Oct 12, 2016
Sells your mortgage before ink dries!
Anonymous Account Holder

Been with RBFCU for over 15 years... paid off several car loans with them, but never applied for a mortgage with them until summer 2016.

Fortunately we asked the right questions BEFORE it was too late...!!!  

RBFCU admitted they will sell your mortgage as soon as they can --- in fact, they will sell it immediately upon "approval/closing" when possible.

Not exactly what I consider approriate customer care for what would be our single largest financial obligation.

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
Great Customer Service!
MoodyP Account Holder

I have been with RBFCU for over 20 years. Agents are helpful and very courteous I have never had any real problems and if I did they resolved them immediatelly

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations