Randolph-Brooks Federal Credit Union (RBFCU) Reviews

1.8 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 03, 2017
Horrible!
Anonymous Account Holder

This is the worst credit union ever! Stay away from this credit union. They will rip you off with NSF fees and all their workers are incompetent! They have no knowledge about the system they are so called train to know about. And please don't ask for a supervisor because it's only going to get worst. They reported my auto loan over 30 days late when it wasn't! They actually went in the system and said it's not 30 days late, but told me to write a letter to their disputes department, if I want it removed.  You **** right I want it removed! And I shouldn't have to do the footwork (write a letter) to repair RBFCU mistake. Unbelievable! 

more ...
Jul 12, 2017
Worst bank I have ever had
Anonymous Account Holder

Had a courtesy fee applied for 24 dollars for 5 dollars at the same time my direct deposit was received but no help from customer service or supervisor, plus app sucks and does not keep you updated as should, had many charges drop off only to be charge again effecting my available balance so they can charge you their courtesy fees... Rbfcu crooks

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Great place
DBrowninTX Account Holder

Keep your account current, and understand scheduled funds do not show on the app and you will be good. All of my credit info is correct, updated every 30 days like clockwork. Customer service in the branches is amazing, agree its a little lacking on phone.

more ...
Jul 02, 2017
Once great, far from it now!
Anonymous Account Holder

We've been a loyal members of RBFCU since the mid-80s.  Even though we've moved around the country since then, we've kept our primary accounts at RBFCU.  They had great customer service, great rates, and it was easy to do long-distance banking.  During the past 10 years, I've noticed a distinct decline in RBFCU's customer orientation.  It used to be that if I didn't get the service I thought I deserved fromt them, I could call up one of the managers that I had known back when we lived in the Hill Country.  However, that contact has long since retired.  Now if they do something stupid, I have no where else to turn.  

They've had some real serious problems deploying their new phone system a couple of years ago.  When I'd call about my credit card, there were several card numbers that didn't really exist.  Even after asking them about it, that problem persisted for almost a year.  I've also had unending problems with the security of my RBFCU Mastercard.  Either the security was too tight, and I'd have to call when I was making an unusual charge.  Or it was too loose, and unauthorized charges would be made and they didn't catch it.

The most recent, and the resaon that I'm going t cut my ties with RBFCU, stems from my attempt to set up an account for an unincorporated association of which I will take over treasury responsibility for starting next year.  I spoke to a RBFCU representative and she said that I would need to send in the necessary information about the association (primarily IRS Form 990 and it's EIN, as well as a list of the directors).  I sent in the information.  About 2 days later I get back an e-mail stating that they won't be able to set up the account.  In part they state:  "As we are restricted as a credit union on how we can qualify organizations for membership, we will not be able to qualify your organization, and therefore we will not be able to open an account at this time."

Interesting, since the association already has an account set up at another Texas-based credit union.  The organization has over 150k in balances, but apparently RBFCU doesn't need that business, and won't even try to accommodate a long-time customer.  I called to complain, and asked that the complaint be sent up the chain of command, but I haven't heard anything back, and frankly, I don't expect that I will.  I wish the old RBFCU was still around.  RBFCU has gotten too big for it's own good.

more ...
Jun 16, 2017
TERRIBLE.
Anonymous Account Holder

The WORST customer service I have ever experienced (Most of this is about the call center). I have been a member for a long time (I believe 6 years) and I stopped using my account as frequently. I recently started using it again and boy, was that a mistake. I was negative $9.85 due to PayPal drafting out of my account a few days after I had made the transaction. I didn't realize that it took a few days to come out and since I have most of our money with another bank, I didn't have a lot in there. I will own up to my mistake of thinking that PayPal would draft the money that I spent right away...but they charged a $24 fee for being negative $9.85!!! & i had money available on my credit card to cover it. I called letting them know that I take responsibility for my mistake.. aka it was my fault... hoping they could refund it as a one time courtesy since this is not a frequent thing for me. I have had to go from representative who told me as I was being transferred "they are just going to tell you the same thing.", to their supervisor, to that person's supervisor and all the way to the vice president of the call center and not one of them refunded me.  They literally did not care that I was crying or anything. They said they provided me a courtesy by paying the transaction and that if they refund me, then they will have to refund other people too and that it would be unethical. This CU makes billions and they can't refund $24 due to a mistake. I am incredibly disappointed in RBFCU and their awful customer service to the point that I will be closing my accounts and looking to transfer my auto loan and credit card. I even went into a branch after all this occurred to withdraw the money I had in there and told them I was closing my accounts due to customer service and not one person cared that I was leaving them after all these years. I know they could care less if I leave their bank because I am just one person, but I hope to spread the word that.... Their customers CLEARLY do not matter to them. They used to be so much better. It's evident they aren't anymore due to all the other reviews I see. Anyways, do not bank with them. Take your money to a bank that cares about their customers

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Switching to another bank
Anonymous Account Holder

Mobile app does not update your balances so your stuck paying a ridiculous amount of fees. Apparantly its a tool for us to use but does not gurantee that your account is updated, in order for us to view our current balance we will have check out the website. It's ridiculous. Switching to a different bank now.

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

So upset, been trying to get balance info updated on credit bureaus with no success. This is affecting my fico score and interest rates on new house im buying. This is the second time this has happened

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
STAY AWAY
Anonymous Account Holder

HORRIBLE customer service. they wil nickle and dime you. dont take it just from me. read all the reviews. they clearly suck.

stay way from them.find another bank.

more ...
Mar 30, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

This credit union is the worst. They are FOR PROFIT and years of relationship would not matter. Just go to PENFED or NFCU, they are tried and tested and the best in taking care of veterans. RBFCU will rip you off, put so much hard hit on your credit report when applying for a loan and does not have common courtesy saying "it is not the banks fault so we cannot refund your money." They love overdrafting your account for a menial amount of money. It does not matter if it's 3 dollars or 5 dollars. They will charge you 24 bucks for it bec "it is not the banks error." according to their representatives. This credit union is as heartless as you can imagine. Don't fall for their tricks, this is a business that doesn't build a relationship. RBFCU exist to take your money, anyway they can.

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Love randolph
Anonymous Account Holder

I don't know what all these people are talking about i love randolph. They approve my line of credit and great interest rates on my car and i love the fact that i can reactivate my card when found.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations