Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Pentagon Federal Credit Union (PenFed)

2.6 out of 5 stars
22 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 16, 2016
I LOOOVEEEE This Credit Union...
ShanyaRene Account Holder

I had my account with them for many years...never really used it...the most I had in there was 25.00.

Well, I was trying to buy s condo...and no BIG Banks would approve me for under 50,000. The Condo was only 30,000.

Another bank told me to try a credit union...I forgot about my PENFED account...which at that time, had only 5.00 in it.

I said what do I have to lose, so I did an application with them, and to my surprise, I was approved.

After I closed on the condo, they offered me a credit card for 10,000...I could not believe it!  Then, I got a 10,000 signature loan with them as well.

They gave me a 500.00 over draft protection loan too.  With all this good luck...or should I say BLESSINGS...I said let me refi my Car....and they did...interest MUCH lower than I had with CAP ONE. I later asked for a credit increase...They did...to 13,000.

I can't speak for anyone else...but they sure have helped me...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 02, 2016
OK for very basic banking services.
Anonymous Account Holder

The Good: Basic accounts (checking, savings, money market, credit cards).

The Mixed: Awesome rates for other services -- but bad service outside of car loans (not bad people, just organizational incompetence with extended service tasks).

The Bad: Occasionally basic banking service rates fluctuate wildly (but still better than the competition). The website is laughably silly.

The Outstanding: Handling overseas credit card outages. Many domestic banks don't even understand what is going on or how to deal with credit card companies about this sort of thing (posting foreign travel or residency notes on the account and actually paying attention to them, handling foreign addresses that don't fit in the US-centric address fields in a program, etc.). Their constant experience dealing with overseas servicemen is obvious here.

Bottom line: Basic banking is just fine, and even their goofy website is sufficient for the basics (but don't expect much support in the website beyond basic account handling and transfers).

Meh.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 25, 2017
Conservative, yet flexible.
Lovemylibrary Account Holder

I love PenFed...I had great customer service with refinancing my car.  Good follow-up, they respond everytime I send an email.  Simply be honest, and they will work with you.  I would highly recommend giving them a try. Good, solid credit union.  

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Conservative yet flexible.
Lovemylibrary Account Holder

They will work with you...simply be honest.  Good, personal service.  They always follow through, letting you know that they've received your email. Quick and very efficient.

Great experience all around...I got my car refinanced.  If I ever purchase a new vehicle, I would definitely use PenFed.  Would recommend.

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
PenFed should get fired
Anonymous Account Holder

PenFed is not honest.  They are very Thief

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
PenFed is not honest
Anonymous Account Holder

PenFed is Well Fargo.  Period. 

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
PenFed is WORSE than Well Fargo
Anonymous Account Holder

PenFed made me feel nightmare. I am angry because PenFed decline almost everything my bills but I have money there.  They must be not honest. I like my old belvior federal credit union.  I had no problem with belvior federal union credit but they transfer to PenFed. That's suck worse.  They are very slow and not good management and steal fee and late but I have money there I am serious. PenFed should be fraud! Same Wells Fargo.  That's enough for now   I have zero tolerance with PenFed.  I will look at other new bank. 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Great Customer Service Easy to work with
joesidelinger Account Holder

They worked with me on balance transfers and helped with establishing all my accounts They are very pleasant if you have questions. The online and mobile apps are fantastic.

more ...
Dec 03, 2016
Poor customer service. Look elsewhere!
Anonymous Account Holder

Their Rewards Program website has been unusable for over two months. Customer service just tells me to keep waiting until they fix a technical problem. Don't expect to be able to use your rewards points anytime soon.

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
Fair
lostdown Account Holder

Rates as reasonable, online process was simple and clean, their loan practices appear to be conservative, but that's ok, it brings consistency to members.  Approved for credit card with $10k limit, mid-700's credit score working on building up my credit.  Installed the iOS app, worked as expected, no issues.  I prefer to bank with organizations that support the military although overall, my highest loyalty is with USAA but I already have a card with USAA.

more ...
Oct 15, 2016
Penfed Credit Union is the best Credit U
Anonymous Account Holder

Penfed Credit Union is the best Credit Union , their Visa Platinum Reward card is best 

more ...
Oct 15, 2016
Frustrating
Anonymous Account Holder

Had me resend same documents over and over and over for a HELOC. Never seen anything like this. Complete incompetence.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations