Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Pennsylvania State Employees Credit Union (PSECU)

2.4 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 28, 2016
Nothing but good experiences since 2013
Anonymous Account Holder

I applied when I started college in 2013. I currently have a savings, checking, and money market account with them, as well as their Secured Visa. Their rates are better than a lot of "physical" banks I've looked at, and the Visa card made it possible for me to build credit, as I had none prior. Their online banking system makes it very easy to transfer funds between accounts, and their mobile app lets you deposit checks without going to a branch or ATM. You can use the ATM at pretty much any credit union for free, and they'll pay your other ATM fees up to a certain amount each month, which is great. Every time I've called their cusomer service, the people have been easy to understand on the phone and very friendly and helpful.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 15, 2016
Inconvenient
Anonymous Account Holder

I seldom use this credit union. It doesn't work as conveniently as other credit unions or banks. There's one ATM I can use to load funds. When I initially started this account I needed to HAVE my member number in hand to speak about my account. If you don't you have to answer aprox. 10 questions! and yes your this includes your full social security number. A real nuisance. I was also informed that I would need to get a new card if I wanted to change my PIN. Other credit unions get their direct deposit a day earlier than regular banks. This one was the complete opposite. I got my direct deposit a day after regular banks. OH!! I almost forgot, when I signed up I used a promotional code. They told me after that I don't qualify because I used the method of making a payment to a local program to gain membership. Basically, they told me I'm not a REAL NEW MEMBER and I don't qualify for the same benefits as others, I had it at three stars and now lowered it to two. I had to reach out to the BBB for a resolve.

The purpose of this post was the following:

Applied for a Personal Service Loan (PSL) CK credit scores 649TU/668EQ one recent inquiry. PSECU approved me for the minimum as I requested. YAY! I just needed a little extra help this month and was going to go to one of those high interest locations if I did not get approved. Really ecxited for this approval. It's not much but it's what I needed. Hope this helps you out on your search.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 10, 2016
Great. I've never had any problem.
MrBridgeJumper Account Holder

I orignally went to PSECU when I started college back in 2012. After graduating I had a few different banks that I tried to use, however since I'm traveling alot PSECU was literally the best way to keep my finances together. They sync with MINT very nicely which helps so much for financial tracking. I now have a personal loan, a car loan, credit card, and they are my primary banking facility. Even tho they do not have a physical bank, You can still withdraw cash from almost ALL ATM's They give you back the money for any ATM fees at the end of the month. something like $20 a month. And they allow ATM deposits which is very nice. Between the online application as well as the smartphone application. They have been a great bank for me for years and I will continue to use them.  Interest rates are great. Credit card rate is 9.9% ANYWHERE else is at least 20% for someone my age with no real credit score. 

I would HIGHLY recommend them to all my friends and anyone looking for a great banking service. 

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
Best ever!
Obarnor Account Holder

Been a member for over 20 years and it keeps getting better. 

They refund all your monthly ATM fees. Car shopping is easier than picking a color of car. They give you a blank check and you use that to pay for car. Loan starts when check runs back through the system. 

Online app is smooth and informative.

Overall, I've NEVER had a bad experience. 

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
Discontinuing PSL service loan
Anonymous Account Holder

They are closing everyones 20,000 PSL service loan for no reason because they just decided to get rid of it and screw over everyones credit score.

No reason given just that they are closing it for everyone and no longer offering.

What a joke. Not even offer a replacement or anything.

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
Discontinuing PSL service loan
Anonymous Account Holder

They are closing everyones 20,000 PSL service loan for no reason because they just decided to get rid of it and screw over everyones credit score.

No reason given just that they are closing it for everyone and no longer offering.

What a joke. Not even offer a replacement or anything.

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
****ty!!!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Use a prepaid account before going through them. Worst customer service, 8 day holds on cash deposits at AH ATM. Dont bank with them

more ...
Jun 15, 2016
Inconvenient
Anonymous Account Holder

I seldom use this credit union. It doesn't work as conveniently as other credit unions or banks. There's one ATM I can use to load funds. When I initially started this account I needed to HAVE my member number in hand to speak about my account. If you don't you have to answer aprox. 10 questions! and yes your this includes your full social security number. A real nuisance. I was also informed that I would need to get a new card if I wanted to change my PIN. Other credit unions get their direct deposit a day earlier than regular banks. This one was the complete opposite. I got my direct deposit a day after regular banks. OH!! I almost forgot, when I signed up I used a promotional code. They told me after that I don't qualify because I used the method of making a payment to a local program to gain membership. Basically, they told me I'm not a REAL NEW MEMBER and I don't qualify for the same benefits as others, I had it at three stars and now lowered it to two. I had to reach out to the BBB for a resolve.

The purpose of this post was the following:

Applied for a Personal Service Loan (PSL) CK credit scores 649TU/668EQ one recent inquiry. PSECU approved me for the minimum as I requested. YAY! I just needed a little extra help this month and was going to go to one of those high interest locations if I did not get approved. Really ecxited for this approval. It's not much but it's what I needed. Hope this helps you out on your search.

more ...
May 31, 2016
Terrible !
Anonymous Account Holder

While on hold, your told to let them know of any troubles your having & that is completely false.

more ...
Feb 28, 2016
Nothing but good experiences since 2013
Anonymous Account Holder

I applied when I started college in 2013. I currently have a savings, checking, and money market account with them, as well as their Secured Visa. Their rates are better than a lot of "physical" banks I've looked at, and the Visa card made it possible for me to build credit, as I had none prior. Their online banking system makes it very easy to transfer funds between accounts, and their mobile app lets you deposit checks without going to a branch or ATM. You can use the ATM at pretty much any credit union for free, and they'll pay your other ATM fees up to a certain amount each month, which is great. Every time I've called their cusomer service, the people have been easy to understand on the phone and very friendly and helpful.

more ...
Jan 18, 2016
Terrible , the online is truly pointless
Anonymous Account Holder

If you get your password wrong your locked out , which is good protection but if your gonna lock people out of there account there should be a call center 24/7 or open little later . Also You shouldn't always need a unlock code if I have all the information to unlock it my self. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations