Pennsylvania State Employees Credit Union (PSECU) Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 11, 2017
We have the internet, who needs a branch
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a PSECU member for 20+ years, since I was a teenager actually. (Go, mom!) I have been impressed with them many times over the years. I have had checking and savings accounts with them, as well as a credit card, a personal loan, and a car loan. I have always felt like they were providing a good product and value. I have never felt like they were trying to take advantage of me like I have felt with some banks. They may not have many branches, but when in PA there are ample ATMs in their network, and they have a fairly generous ATM fee reimbursement policy, I almost never pay an ATM fee. I've used my accounts normally while living in several other states for years and conducted all my business through ATMs or online, including deposits in ATMs, mail, and now digitally through my smartphone. Their online banking experience has been pretty solid since there was such a thing as online banking. I really respect that. I have used a lot of other online banking services and I always compare them to PSECU's online experience. Their mobile app has most of the same features but it a little odd at times.

I occasionally look to see if there are other options out there (in the non-PA state I live in) but I have yet to find one that holds up.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 19, 2016
Discontinuing PSL service loan
Anonymous Account Holder

They are closing everyones 20,000 PSL service loan for no reason because they just decided to get rid of it and screw over everyones credit score.

No reason given just that they are closing it for everyone and no longer offering.

What a joke. Not even offer a replacement or anything.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

May 11, 2017
We have the internet, who needs a branch
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a PSECU member for 20+ years, since I was a teenager actually. (Go, mom!) I have been impressed with them many times over the years. I have had checking and savings accounts with them, as well as a credit card, a personal loan, and a car loan. I have always felt like they were providing a good product and value. I have never felt like they were trying to take advantage of me like I have felt with some banks. They may not have many branches, but when in PA there are ample ATMs in their network, and they have a fairly generous ATM fee reimbursement policy, I almost never pay an ATM fee. I've used my accounts normally while living in several other states for years and conducted all my business through ATMs or online, including deposits in ATMs, mail, and now digitally through my smartphone. Their online banking experience has been pretty solid since there was such a thing as online banking. I really respect that. I have used a lot of other online banking services and I always compare them to PSECU's online experience. Their mobile app has most of the same features but it a little odd at times.

I occasionally look to see if there are other options out there (in the non-PA state I live in) but I have yet to find one that holds up.

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Wonderful CU with excellent services
inflammatorywrit Account Holder

I'm a PA state employee and have been using PSECU since 2010. I have a mortgage, auto loan and credit card with them and have had a personal loan and home equity loan with them in the past. I also bank with them. Rates are excellent (9.9% on the card, 3.5% on the 30yr fixed mortgage, low 4's on the auto) and I can always speak to a person when I call them.  I have had them approve me with less than stellar credit - when no one else would touch me. This may be due to being a PA state employee though.  Also the mobile banking is excellent, with easy to use mobile photo deposits which generally post immediately.

There are no brick and mortar branches outside of Harrisburg, but their excellent online services more than make up for this. I suppose one criticism is very low APY on the savings. Oh well. That's the worst I could think of. Highly recommended, if you're eligible to join.

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
Awesome
makaila410 Account Holder

I have a checking and savings account with them...got a account there cause my mom was a member and was easy to get a account. Always great with all they do

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
Great. I've never had any problem.
MrBridgeJumper Account Holder

I orignally went to PSECU when I started college back in 2012. After graduating I had a few different banks that I tried to use, however since I'm traveling alot PSECU was literally the best way to keep my finances together. They sync with MINT very nicely which helps so much for financial tracking. I now have a personal loan, a car loan, credit card, and they are my primary banking facility. Even tho they do not have a physical bank, You can still withdraw cash from almost ALL ATM's They give you back the money for any ATM fees at the end of the month. something like $20 a month. And they allow ATM deposits which is very nice. Between the online application as well as the smartphone application. They have been a great bank for me for years and I will continue to use them.  Interest rates are great. Credit card rate is 9.9% ANYWHERE else is at least 20% for someone my age with no real credit score. 

I would HIGHLY recommend them to all my friends and anyone looking for a great banking service. 

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
Best ever!
Obarnor Account Holder

Been a member for over 20 years and it keeps getting better. 

They refund all your monthly ATM fees. Car shopping is easier than picking a color of car. They give you a blank check and you use that to pay for car. Loan starts when check runs back through the system. 

Online app is smooth and informative.

Overall, I've NEVER had a bad experience. 

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
Discontinuing PSL service loan
Anonymous Account Holder

They are closing everyones 20,000 PSL service loan for no reason because they just decided to get rid of it and screw over everyones credit score.

No reason given just that they are closing it for everyone and no longer offering.

What a joke. Not even offer a replacement or anything.

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
Discontinuing PSL service loan
Anonymous Account Holder

They are closing everyones 20,000 PSL service loan for no reason because they just decided to get rid of it and screw over everyones credit score.

No reason given just that they are closing it for everyone and no longer offering.

What a joke. Not even offer a replacement or anything.

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
****ty!!!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Use a prepaid account before going through them. Worst customer service, 8 day holds on cash deposits at AH ATM. Dont bank with them

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 20, 2017

Are you sure you're talking about the correct Credit Union? My deposits, cash or checks, are always, and have been since day one, been available immediately.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations