Navy Federal Credit Union Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
41 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 21, 2017
Battle Buddy Approved
Anonymous Account Holder

First let me say that I am disappointed to read some of the bad experiences people have had with NavyFederal, they are truly troubling. 

As for my own experience with NavyFederal(NF) I have been extremely happy with them. They have been very, very generous to me and my family. For the record though, I will say that my VA refinance process with them was a little less than perfect. I The first two loan processor seemed to be a little incompetent, to busy for me, or both. Needless to say, the 3rd processor got it closed in no time with no issues which made me wonder what had happened with the first two. 

Since starting with NF, I have my mortgage, 2 auto loans, checking, savings, CC, etc with them. I am extremely happy with ALL my products bar none. I don't know that I would want to bank anywhere else and the fact that they have been expanding branches closer and closer to home is only a plus. One HUGE thing, in addition to the nice little bonus they kicked in towards my closing cost when i funded my loan with them, they don't sell their mortgage loans! and they service in house!! This is and continues to be one of the best selling points when it comes to mortgages with them. 

I hope those who have are having negative experiences with them get them resolved satisfactorily. And for those of you who are thinking about trying them, I HIGHY recommend them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 17, 2017
Shady business practices.
loisloisg Account Holder

Navy FCU does everything they can to prevent you from closing an account with them.  They'll lie, stall, keep repeating questions, and try every pathetic tactic they can to get you not to close your account.  I told the Rep that he had 2 more minutes (after a 30 minute conversation was going nowhere) to close my account or I was going to file a complaint with the Feds (CFPB).  The rep relented and agreed to close my account if I would agree to let Navy FCU keep the few dollars that were in my account.  I agreed and then I filed a complaint with the  CFPB because Navy FCU needs to be held accountable for their shady business practices.  I would encourage anyone else that has issues with Navy FCU to report them to the CFPB as well.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 07, 2017
Back with Navy Federal after 15 years
Anonymous Account Holder

If you think you have been blacklisted by Navy Federal, think again.  I thought I was blacklisted.  After going to a local branch, I was able to explain my situation and had my membership reestablished after 15 years.

I will not go into the specifics, however, never give up and always keep trying.

I love Navy Federal Credit Union!

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Outstanding!
Hopforever1 Account Holder

This credit Union has helped me restore my Credit, obtain loans and credit cards!

more ...
Sep 29, 2017
KplusJ Account Holder

Navy federal is ok, good rates because it’s a credit union. In terms of their credit cards they offer generous limits even to those of us with less than stellar credit. Olg negative thing I have to say it this point is their terrible unprofessional handling of my fraud dispute on my credit card. They were terrible and highly inconvenient. Everything is done by paper, so old fashioned and out dated. Every time I have had a dispute with either my discover or chase accounts everything was fine, quick simple and easy. And I’ll add electronic. Navy federal does not not handle their disputes electronically they send you letters to respond to by snail mail before hey even consider crediting your account. With chase and discover I had my money in my account within 1 day, no issues. Navy federal made it as difficult as possible and to be honest they really did absolutely noyhing but inconvenience me when it was all said and done. I ended up fixing the problem myself on my own, with the merchant and pay pal months later. If I hadn’t been persistent I would have just written that money off because navy federal was not going to do their part to get it back. Then they had he nerve to send me a survey saying “we were glad to have helped you” please navy federal you didn’t do s*** to help me. Thanks for nothing. 

more ...
Sep 29, 2017
Navy Federal is the Best!
MaOfficial Account Holder

I opened my Navy Federal account and within a few days had a new Visa Rewards credit card. Within a month I was able to refinance my car at 3.79% APR, and my checking account is wonderful to have. Uploading checks via the mobile app is easy, though I will say you must follow their directions to the T or they will reject it. After reading some other stories from various groups, I'm inclined to say that NFCU is a CU that will come to your aid and help you get your finances right. If you screw them over, there is no comming back! 

more ...
Sep 06, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

They give you a chance!

more ...
Sep 06, 2017
Lousy Customer Service. Disrespectful
troywharton Account Holder

If i could give Zero Stars i gladly would. I was told Navy Federal is a good banking institution, i need to find that person that told me that, and give them piece of my mind. O had this disgusting banking institution for about 8 to 10 months. Paryt of my direct deposit goes there, and i was thinking of opening a Certificate of Deposit and getting a credit card to rebuild my credit. My mother, wrote me a check for $5000. I figured, I'll deposit it into Navy Federal. I called them up, they said, i can take a photo of my check and deposit it. I put my account number on it, took a photo of it through THEIR APP, and deposited it. I received an email stating it was declined, i called, and they said it must have for deposit only. So, i did that, and it was declined. I called them, they said for eDeposit Only at NFCU must be at the back of it, i did that, they declined it. I got another email from the fraud department, they said the check looks fraudulent. I stated, "that check is from my mom, she's not a crook". They proceeded to tell me that my account is now suspended. I NEVER TOLD THEM TO FREEZE MY ACCOUNT. My direct deposit is about to go in there and they froze it. They're saying that the signature on the front of the check doesn't look real, so they're freezing my account, until i can prove it's real. I have to go to their branch, 118 miles away in 1 direction. The reps were rude and disgusting. They were insulting to me and my mother. They were very disrespectful towards my mom. I 100% hate this bank and i wish nothing but bad on them. The rep in the fraud dept was an absolute nightmare. I need to close my account and transfer my money to another bank. Navy Federal are Rude, Insulting, Condescending, Sarcastic... and they say they care about MILITARY? I bust my butt for this country and you insult my mother? MY MOTHER ISN'T A CROOK. How dear you even ATTEMPT to disresprct someone's mom.

more ...
Sep 05, 2017
Extremely customer friendly!!!
QueenCook Account Holder

As a customer of 14 years, I love Navy Federal Credit Union.  With each passing year, it gets better and better with new technology and products.  I was able to open CD accounts, another second checking account for bills, and borrow money to purchase my car all online.  My branch is nearby when I need it.  Also, transferring money to my family members within the credit union is so easy.  I have nothing but a great experience at Navy Federal Credit Union.

more ...
Aug 31, 2017
Fraud department is horriable
Anonymous Account Holder

I will never bank with this company again!!!! My account has been frauded and Navy federal has refused to reverse the fraud charges. Unstead of honoring me as a loyal customer they have only revictized me once again. Terriable service all the way around.

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
Awesome!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I applied for an checking and savings. There was a bit of a mix up with documents to verify my identity but overall good. Then applied for a credit card and got approved the same day. Once applied I called into the cutomer service number to ask them could they give me a response now opposed to the 24hr wait. And sure enough I got approved for 24K limit. Keep in mind i have never had a limit higher than 2k. I am 3 year post BK and my scores are 679/694/638 probabbly a little higher becuase i had paid down my cards a month ago and i have not seen my new scores yet. BUt yes I am loving my new accts with Navy Federal. 

more ...
Jul 07, 2017
Don't see what the fuss is about
SamShep45 Account Holder

A relative talked me into joining this credit union stating how great their customer service is. I've been looking for a debt consolidation loan just to have one payment a month rather than several. Got turned down for the loan but persuaded into opening a credit card. My credit score is higher than my relative's - he was approved for $15,000, I was approved for $2500!! I instantly closed the credit card and my account. Must be a scam somehow, maybe for people with low credit? Would not recommend unless you are desperate.

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
Amazing
Debratheflower Account Holder

After such positive reviews, decided to try Navy Fed for balance transfer card. Approved and grateful!! Looking forward to CLI in about 3 months!

more ...
Jul 02, 2017
Good Rates, Good Interest
Anonymous Account Holder

Although i try my best not to use my CC, NavFed approval amt was astronomical in comparison to no other bank. I couldn't believe it. The interest rate was single digit.  I have been with them for about 5 years and looking to try getting a car thru their financing... i will try posting an update once i go thru the approval process.

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
Bait and switch on new member promotions
Anonymous Account Holder

My son is active duty military they had a promotion for new members.  I joined they wouldn't give any of us the promotion because they said that particular promotion was for active duty only. 

The day after I finished applying I got sent a notice that I wasn't eligable for the promotion but they wouldn't retract my application. 

more ...
Jun 14, 2017
NAVY FED WILL GIVE YOU CRED
KORPORATETHUG Account Holder

Joined Navy Fed back in March 2017 because of all of the good things I had heard about their lending practices (auto, personal, credit).  I am in the credit rebuilding stage so today I checked my scores from CK (TU603 | EQ 630 and decided to apply online today!  INSTANTLY APPROVED FOR $3,700.  I've been working diligently to repair my credit for 12 months now and started with a sub 500 score BUT let me tell you how good GOD is because I know I didn't deserve such a generous credit line. 

more ...
May 26, 2017
I love this credit union
Jeanoway Account Holder

I signed up with Navy Federal a little over a year ago. I opened a checking account and applied for a credit card (the green one). I was approved for an incredible amount and the interest rate remains significantly lower than my Chase, Citi, and Capital One cards (the only other cards I have). I recently transferred a balance to my card and there are no balance transfer fees -- not true of my other cards unless I recently opened them. I have received excellent service, their people in my branches and by phone have been helpful and pleasant to talk with. Their auto loans have very low rates and they cover used and new cars. I recommend them whenever I can.

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
They're fantastic.
starbuckathena Account Holder

I've been with them for almost 20 years and don't want to use another group.

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
WOW Hugh Credit Limit Low Score
Anonymous Account Holder

Been a banking customer for over a year.  Had a 1,000 dollar secured nrewards visa,  never used it much.  Recived a notice from NF they were unsecuring my visa for a 1,000 nrewards visa.  Months later not using the card really I asked for a CLI reading on Dr, of Credit blog, to always ask for a 25,000 dollar increase no matter if you only have a small CL.  Well, after a hard pull they increased my CL to 17,500  Transunion 650.  Many Inquires Pretty clean CR.  Next to my AMEX card this is by far my highest limit.  Wanting to get the cash rewards visa, but will wait.  Thought they would deny a big CL of 25,000, great counter offer.  LOL nfcu

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
So far, so good
SamShep45 Account Holder

I only applied to this credit union because a family member recommended it. They got a debt consolidation loan and a new credit card to try to rebuild their credit. I just got a lease on a new car last month and when they pulled my credit score, it was 680, which I know is higher than my family member's. However, I did not get approved for the loan, though I did for the credit card, and at a rate about 10% less than my other accounts. One disappointing thing was that customer service couldn't tell me the reason for the denial - he said a letter had been sent. I thought that was a little weird, but whatever. After reading through the reviews here, I won't be banking with them, but for loans and such, they seem above average. I will apply for the debt consolidation loan again in 6 mos or so after I've used the new card to build a limit.

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Well worth it
Anonymous Account Holder

Being part of this credit union I can easily cut back on "bank fees". This bank has no surprise fees most banks have. Great rates on loans !

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Battle Buddy Approved
Anonymous Account Holder

First let me say that I am disappointed to read some of the bad experiences people have had with NavyFederal, they are truly troubling. 

As for my own experience with NavyFederal(NF) I have been extremely happy with them. They have been very, very generous to me and my family. For the record though, I will say that my VA refinance process with them was a little less than perfect. I The first two loan processor seemed to be a little incompetent, to busy for me, or both. Needless to say, the 3rd processor got it closed in no time with no issues which made me wonder what had happened with the first two. 

Since starting with NF, I have my mortgage, 2 auto loans, checking, savings, CC, etc with them. I am extremely happy with ALL my products bar none. I don't know that I would want to bank anywhere else and the fact that they have been expanding branches closer and closer to home is only a plus. One HUGE thing, in addition to the nice little bonus they kicked in towards my closing cost when i funded my loan with them, they don't sell their mortgage loans! and they service in house!! This is and continues to be one of the best selling points when it comes to mortgages with them. 

I hope those who have are having negative experiences with them get them resolved satisfactorily. And for those of you who are thinking about trying them, I HIGHY recommend them.

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Great for Auto Loans
RECRANGER Account Holder

I looked around at a lot of places for auto loan rates and Navy Federal had equal to or better rates than anywhere else I could find at the time. They have great staff and respond to any questions I have pretty quickly. I use their checking, not for my primary account, and I have a savings account with them. I know they don't have very many locations which can be an issue if they were your only banking institution, but they have a great online system which makes transfers easy. I use my savings & checking with them as my vacation accounts.

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
Good But crafty
Anonymous Account Holder

 I would have given them 5 stars, But when i appled for a credit card they put a limit on it of $17,600.  Basically cornering me so that attempting to get loans anywhere else will flag my * available credit *.... yes, you can have too much available credit... i doubt I would get approved for a personal loan, even with an 800 credit score, because  I have all my eggs in Navy federals platinum visa credit card,  basket.

more ...
Mar 30, 2017
Absolutely the worst ever!
RWMorris1 Account Holder

First they screwed up on my application to join then couldn't figure out that I had sent them my ID and info correctly just as requested. Then they pulled a switch and bait on the interest rate of a CDS saying it would be 3% and then giving only 1%..., After that it went down hill with everything from lies about how much I could quailify for on a home loan to even agreeing to fund one at all! Baout the only "benefit" of membership in this credit union is a gaurenteed reduction in your credit score so if you are thinking of joining DON'T! If you already have.... find a real credit union to join because these people will screw you over! Am I disdsatisfied? You're darned right I am.... I am going to try to get them to let me cash out of that crappy CD they sold me and move my money back to my Ally account were the savings account pays more than their CD or savings! I am a Disabled Vet and shouldn't be treated like they treat people. If you don't believe me look at the over 300 one star ratings they have on Consumer Reports!

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
Poor system deceptive process
jvlynn20190 Account Holder

This is not a question but more of a statement. Today, I actually cursed at one of your employees. She was unable to do what another representative could. Now first before I go into detail, I do not condone my langue used on your employee but I also do not regret it. This all began with a credit card application. Apparently, your system offered me a card that was unsecured. I had originally called in for a secured credit card assuming my credit was not strong enough for to be approved by NFCU since USAA only approved me for a secured. Fun fact, USAA ran my credit score for an unsecured and it came back qualified for a secured. They only had to hit my credit once. So as any normal person would, I allowed my application to be processed for the unsecured card. At no point was I informed another credit hit would happen if declined and I spoke to several people. Well, I was declined and told I needed $500 in the bank account to be able to get a secured card. That was a headache in itself since you guys are in NO WAY properly set up for fund transfers, unlike USAA. So I get the $500 eventually transferred. Today it posted so I called to get the secured card. Guess what your poorly run institution wanted to do? Hit my credit score again. This is NO WAY is the industry standard and in 99.9% of the case, a credit report pulled is good for 45 days. 

Clearly, since this is not normal, I asked to speak to a supervisor. That supervisor refused to give me your CEO's office so I could file a complaint. In addition, I asked to speak to an underwriter. She refused to transfer me. Then I asked to speak to someone else. She once again refused to transfer me and said: "I am not transferring you to anyone else". This is just a poor choice to do in general when a customer is upset with a rep. So then I said transfer me to someone who would close all my accounts. She said she could do that. She took her time and I firmly said transfer me or I would get ruder. Well, she didn't, so I became outright rude. She disconnected the call. She could have just done as I had asked and transferred the call. There was not a reason for her and I to continue talking. 

I then clearly call back and said hey, I have to close my account because an error on your end is going to cost me a hit on my credit and I don't want that. I was offered an attempt to make an exception and that someone would ask an underwriter to make that exception (which shouldn't be an exception). Well, it couldn't be done because of your poor business practices. I talked to a lady to cancel my account and realized if I canceled that my possible future children wouldn't be allowed an account and if for some reason you guys got your act together I would want to give them the opportunity to have NFCU. So I said screw it, send me back over to the credit card department and I will just take the hit. So I get transferred back and guess what. I have the same offer that was there before which I got declined for. FIX YOUR SYSTEMS. I had to tell the lady NOT to accept the offer because it was not real and that it was not her fault that it was showing. It was the poorly designed system that NFCU has. FIX YOUR SYSTEMS AND YOUR PROCESS!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations