Navy Federal Credit Union Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 19, 2019
Best banking experience hands down.
Membody Account Holder

You can call them about any service 24/7. I called with loan application questions at 2am and, sure enough, I got to speak with a human being. They actually answer my questions and help me learn about credit, credit cards, loans, etc.

They gave me a massive 25K credit limit on my very first unsecured credit card and beat every other auto loan rate quote I got for my first car.

The mobile app is super easy to use and I literally have never needed to visit a branch, ever. I think the closest one is 75 miles away in Miami anyway, lol.

Navy Fed helped me to grow from someone without a clue about finances into a responsible borrower within a matter of 2 years.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 02, 2019
Becky is the Worst
Superhuntress11 Account Holder

I was just on the phone for 1 hour and 6 hours and with Navy Federal. I spoke with 4 people, the last I spoke with being Becky on the phone (a supervisor). It was the most horrible phone call of my life. She was awful, verbally abusive,  and after that phone call I want to crawl into a hole and die. She was unable to help me, interrupted me repeatedly, raised her voice, blatantly lied about the previous representatives had said, claimed I was lying after I told her what the last two representatives said (check the tapes of the conversation for proof), refused to provide any real help or support, threatened me, refused to allow me to speak with anyone else, refused to close my Navy Federal account, and told me to call back because she refused to speak with me. Becky was by far the worst customer service representative I have ever encountered and top 3 worst human being I’ve ever encountered.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 11, 2019
Thieves
Yankorramos Account Holder

Garbage... I have had this bank for almost 9 years and the one time I dispute a charge I keep getting the run around. I had a transaction declined but somehow Navy Federal won't give me my money back asking me documentation that doesn't exist for declined transactions. Chase has been a much better bank and their service makes NFCU's pale in comparison. I'm leaving this atrocious bank.

more ...
Aug 14, 2019
Mortgage department-poor communication
tigg456 Account Holder

I have been with NFCU since 2001 and have used them twice before for my mortgage loans.  I never had an issue with them until this loan I am currently in the process for.  The loan department has a serious communication problem and it's extremely unprofessional how they have dealt with me.  I literally have to BEG someone to reach out to me to explain what is going on with my loan.  I am a veteran and I recommend that my fellow veterans utilize a bank that has the courtesy to reach out to you, not just email, and explain things to you.  And make you feel as though they care about your business.

I notice that things began to change with this institution once them began to relax the restrictions for potential new account members. 

more ...
Jul 19, 2019
snail paced and poor communication
AirborneRN Account Holder

When you apply for a mortgage count on waiting months for it to process. I used this bank because they opened a branch in my town. The staff was pleasent and attentive when I applied to refinance my mortgage. Then everything switiches to Pensacola, FL. You will get an email from a processor and after you complete many forms your file will sit for months. I have not spoken to my current loan processor even though I have called her numorous times. I have waited 4 months now and I have no idea if I am even close to closing. I paid fees up front and if I switch to another bank I will lose $500. I will accept the lose and call USAA at the end of this month. I am a retire Army officer and a medical professional. I make a six figure income and have a credit score in the 700s. There is no excuse for this debacle of a bank. 

more ...
Jul 11, 2019
Easy 2 Join & Get In Touch With
9CLINE Account Holder

.Joined with Navy background online, only apped for membership and Platinum card. Since joining I've had to call to ask about a return charge from a vendor. The customer service for me was quick, simple 2 use, and easy to talk to. She was professional and super friendly while she explained to me how their system worked for these situations and when I could expect to see the credit back to my account. I actually enjoyed dealing with them. I'm sorry some folks had a bad experience with them,usually we hear good things about this CU.

more ...
Jul 02, 2019
Becky is the Worst
Superhuntress11 Account Holder

I was just on the phone for 1 hour and 6 hours and with Navy Federal. I spoke with 4 people, the last I spoke with being Becky on the phone (a supervisor). It was the most horrible phone call of my life. She was awful, verbally abusive,  and after that phone call I want to crawl into a hole and die. She was unable to help me, interrupted me repeatedly, raised her voice, blatantly lied about the previous representatives had said, claimed I was lying after I told her what the last two representatives said (check the tapes of the conversation for proof), refused to provide any real help or support, threatened me, refused to allow me to speak with anyone else, refused to close my Navy Federal account, and told me to call back because she refused to speak with me. Becky was by far the worst customer service representative I have ever encountered and top 3 worst human being I’ve ever encountered.

more ...
Jul 02, 2019
Becky is the Worst
Superhuntress11 Account Holder

I was just on the phone for 1 hour and 6 hours and with Navy Federal. I spoke with 4 people, the last I spoke with being Becky on the phone (a supervisor). It was the most horrible phone call of my life. She was awful, verbally abusive,  and after that phone call I want to crawl into a hole and die. She was unable to help me, interrupted me repeatedly, raised her voice, blatantly lied about the previous representatives had said, claimed I was lying after I told her what the last two representatives said (check the tapes of the conversation for proof), refused to provide any real help or support, threatened me, refused to allow me to speak with anyone else, refused to close my Navy Federal account, and told me to call back because she refused to speak with me. Becky was by far the worst customer service representative I have ever encountered and top 3 worst human being I’ve ever encountered.

more ...
Jun 14, 2019
They take care of their customers
Bakla916 Account Holder

They took a chace on me and i got my banking and credit history back on track and i thank them for it

more ...
May 09, 2019
NFCU BEST CREDIT UNION EVER !!!
KasichPitBuLL Account Holder

i have a IRA with navy... SUPERRRRRRRRR... I have platinum Visa, SUPERRRRRRRRRRR 1st card I got SL, $6600. Apped and approved For Cash Rewards last week, Approved $25,000... I also have checking account, savings account, money market, and certificate... All at lowest APR on my credit cards, And Highest rates returns of CD, and IRA... hands down, sooooo much better than any regular bank, etc.... I'm also of member of USAA... And Navy blows them out of the water... My scores are veryyy good, and I keep a wicked clean file... 800's across the board.. DTI, less than 10%... I have a Cap 1 truck loan, I may refi with Navy, but I'm already at a nice rate with them... Although Navy would be .80 % lower...!! Go NaVYYYYYYYYY..!!!!!!! Customer service on the phone is SUPPPERRRRRR EXcellent also...!!!

more ...
Mar 19, 2019
Best banking experience hands down.
Membody Account Holder

You can call them about any service 24/7. I called with loan application questions at 2am and, sure enough, I got to speak with a human being. They actually answer my questions and help me learn about credit, credit cards, loans, etc.

They gave me a massive 25K credit limit on my very first unsecured credit card and beat every other auto loan rate quote I got for my first car.

The mobile app is super easy to use and I literally have never needed to visit a branch, ever. I think the closest one is 75 miles away in Miami anyway, lol.

Navy Fed helped me to grow from someone without a clue about finances into a responsible borrower within a matter of 2 years.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 08, 2019

Curious. What is your credit score?

 
Mar 15, 2019
Love the Service!!
Cruises72 Account Holder

I have been with Navy Federal for many years and absolutely love them! Great customer service. I recently ordered something online and my account was hacked. Navy Fed was WONDERFUL in helping me to resolve this and get my money/account back right!  The rates and service can not be beat! Customer for life!!!

more ...
Dec 24, 2018
Long time customer
Ladysha113 Account Holder

 I love this credit union. They’ve always been extremely helpful & have excellent customer service. Always quick & easy

more ...
Dec 24, 2018
Stryker421 Account Holder

So I had my account hacked awhile back. Luckily, I used the account purely for their credit card, so only petty cash was in the account at the time but I did have a substantial amount of points. The hackers gained access somehow (unknown to this day) and redeemed my points in the form of Apple Gift cards. 

As soon as I learned this, I contacted customer support and they took care of everything! They immediately took the matter very seriously by closing that account, opening up a new account simultaneously, and reissued all new cards. They walked me thru some steps to prevent this from ever happening again and so far it has been wonderful. 

The only annoyance out of this entire matter I had was it took a rather long time for them to issue me the points I lost. Their fraud department dragged their feet with me calling at least once a week for an update. After about a month or so, I was given all my points back thankfully. 

I justed wanted to highlight this bank since even though it’s a credit union and over looked by many, Navy Federal is an amazing bank! 

more ...
Sep 18, 2018
Ive loved them for years
Pookiesauce Account Holder

The customer service is great. Everytime i walk into the branch I feel welcomed. They offer me better rates when I qualify and Ive had no issues with the upgrading process! Ill never leave NFCU

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations