Navy Federal Credit Union

3.2 out of 5 stars
44 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 08, 2016
NFCU for life
Anonymous Account Holder

I am rebuilding my credit started 2 years ago in the very low 500 range.  Got a secured card had it for 2 years (they never graduated my card nor will they make it unsecured).  I had a 560 when I applied for an unsecured card and I got approved for a 17K limit Go Rewards unsecured card.  2 months later my score is now 640 and I am going back to NFCU for my first home loan.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 18, 2016
Stay away this is not a true credit unio
Anonymous Account Holder

After banking with navy federal for ten years they finally used the old bait and switch to close my credit card account. I was out of work for three months and looking for work frantically. I always paid for insurance on any loan or credit card for disability,death or unemployed situations. I submitted my request after I was laid off and was denied. For what reason I have no Idea. Nfcu would not give a clear answer. After three months of no income I fell behind. I found work finally and made the payments to catch up on everything. Then nfcu closed my accounts and removed the insurance. They are reporting my accounts closed on my credit which has tanked over a 100 points in the past week. I have retained an attorney and plan on fighting this. They charged me for a service to protect me if I was hurt or ever out of work and than as soon as I really needed it they denied me and threw down the hammer. Don't bank with them

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 20, 2017
Better than a retail bank
RyaninNaptown Account Holder

I've had accounts, loans, and a credit card with NFCU for nearly 10 years.  I've not ever had a bad experience with this credit union, but I have also (thankfully) always been able to keep an adequate income and make all payments on time.

I'm not certain if they have the best rates on various things, but I've always been able to talk to a human when I need to, and I can do most everything that I need from their web and app interfaces.  When I'm not near a branch, I always appreciate the refund allowance for 3rd party ATMs (I believe that this refund is dependent on your account type and I'm not sure which accounts offer it).

Their 1.5% cash back credit card is straightforward and easy to redeem via transfer to any of my NFCU accounts or to the credit card itself.

I imagine I'll be a member long into the future.

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
Amazing
Beamer3088 Account Holder

I have been banking with navy federal for nearly 10 years have had love 7 loans with them and have a mortgage with them. Their service is always excellent and they offer great interest rates for CDs !

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
worst card ever
Anonymous Account Holder

everything is the worst

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
Helpful and kind
Anonymous Account Holder

My husband was 0311 in the USMC for 4 years, he then used his GI bill to go to school. When he went to school it was difficult with just me as a waitress providing for us and our 2 year old. Our vehicle payment was almost always late, when it got too much and too late we called NFCU financial department and explained our situation. They were so kind and understood what we are going through, they added a few months to our loan and paused payments due until he was back to work. They also lowered our monthly payment a little to assist us. I can't complain, many banks would drop us. That really showed me they care. 

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
The best credit union ever
Kcbat Account Holder

I don't write very many reviews but I wanted to write this one for Navy Federal they actually saved my life the extending me a generous line of credit with my credit card and they taking care of me and I just wanted to say thank you Navy Federal Credit Union

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Good rates
Nate949 Account Holder

So far, good rates and service. I make about $3000 in interest from this CU every year. Staff is friendly, they make cards for me in the branches, and free checking is nice. 

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
The most UNRELIABLE banking services
Anonymous Account Holder

The atms are almost ALWAYS down. There is generally 1 location within a 10 mile radius. CoOp atms and banks do not accept deposits on behalf of navy federal. Seriously the atms are down no matter what time you try them. Midday at 1pm the atm was down and this is very normal. The bank itself is NOT concerned with their clientele getting effective banking services. They REFUSE to add another atm location in the general area and they REFUSE to update the atm to make it actually competant. Do NOT, i repeat, DO NOT rely on a checking account with this bank. If anything, just have a savings account or deal with their auto/home loans. A checking account is a HUGE mistake!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 06, 2017

They accept mobile deposits for checksa

 
Feb 06, 2017
horrible customer relationship
Anonymous Account Holder

Horrible customer relationship. I will never do business

more ...
Jan 29, 2017
Outstanding
cdrtrek Account Holder

I know for a fact that I am HOME with NavyFCU, believe me when I tell you I am not and never will go anywhere else. 17 years with NFCU and I've had a car loan, two credits cards, checking, savings and more, for me and my wife there is NO other Bank or Credit Union ever. 

more ...
Jan 23, 2017
First time credit card users
Anonymous Account Holder

recently just got a my credit card about 8 months ago and now I have over 700 on my credit score! I just now took out a card loan and they were able to pay for the GAP cheaper than the actual car dealership

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations