Navy Federal Credit Union Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
41 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 21, 2017
Battle Buddy Approved
Anonymous Account Holder

First let me say that I am disappointed to read some of the bad experiences people have had with NavyFederal, they are truly troubling. 

As for my own experience with NavyFederal(NF) I have been extremely happy with them. They have been very, very generous to me and my family. For the record though, I will say that my VA refinance process with them was a little less than perfect. I The first two loan processor seemed to be a little incompetent, to busy for me, or both. Needless to say, the 3rd processor got it closed in no time with no issues which made me wonder what had happened with the first two. 

Since starting with NF, I have my mortgage, 2 auto loans, checking, savings, CC, etc with them. I am extremely happy with ALL my products bar none. I don't know that I would want to bank anywhere else and the fact that they have been expanding branches closer and closer to home is only a plus. One HUGE thing, in addition to the nice little bonus they kicked in towards my closing cost when i funded my loan with them, they don't sell their mortgage loans! and they service in house!! This is and continues to be one of the best selling points when it comes to mortgages with them. 

I hope those who have are having negative experiences with them get them resolved satisfactorily. And for those of you who are thinking about trying them, I HIGHY recommend them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 18, 2016
Stay away this is not a true credit unio
Anonymous Account Holder

After banking with navy federal for ten years they finally used the old bait and switch to close my credit card account. I was out of work for three months and looking for work frantically. I always paid for insurance on any loan or credit card for disability,death or unemployed situations. I submitted my request after I was laid off and was denied. For what reason I have no Idea. Nfcu would not give a clear answer. After three months of no income I fell behind. I found work finally and made the payments to catch up on everything. Then nfcu closed my accounts and removed the insurance. They are reporting my accounts closed on my credit which has tanked over a 100 points in the past week. I have retained an attorney and plan on fighting this. They charged me for a service to protect me if I was hurt or ever out of work and than as soon as I really needed it they denied me and threw down the hammer. Don't bank with them

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 03, 2017
Awesome!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I applied for an checking and savings. There was a bit of a mix up with documents to verify my identity but overall good. Then applied for a credit card and got approved the same day. Once applied I called into the cutomer service number to ask them could they give me a response now opposed to the 24hr wait. And sure enough I got approved for 24K limit. Keep in mind i have never had a limit higher than 2k. I am 3 year post BK and my scores are 679/694/638 probabbly a little higher becuase i had paid down my cards a month ago and i have not seen my new scores yet. BUt yes I am loving my new accts with Navy Federal. 

more ...
Jul 07, 2017
Don't see what the fuss is about
SamShep45 Account Holder

A relative talked me into joining this credit union stating how great their customer service is. I've been looking for a debt consolidation loan just to have one payment a month rather than several. Got turned down for the loan but persuaded into opening a credit card. My credit score is higher than my relative's - he was approved for $15,000, I was approved for $2500!! I instantly closed the credit card and my account. Must be a scam somehow, maybe for people with low credit? Would not recommend unless you are desperate.

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
Amazing
Debratheflower Account Holder

After such positive reviews, decided to try Navy Fed for balance transfer card. Approved and grateful!! Looking forward to CLI in about 3 months!

more ...
Jul 02, 2017
Good Rates, Good Interest
Anonymous Account Holder

Although i try my best not to use my CC, NavFed approval amt was astronomical in comparison to no other bank. I couldn't believe it. The interest rate was single digit.  I have been with them for about 5 years and looking to try getting a car thru their financing... i will try posting an update once i go thru the approval process.

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
Bait and switch on new member promotions
Anonymous Account Holder

My son is active duty military they had a promotion for new members.  I joined they wouldn't give any of us the promotion because they said that particular promotion was for active duty only. 

The day after I finished applying I got sent a notice that I wasn't eligable for the promotion but they wouldn't retract my application. 

more ...
Jun 14, 2017
NAVY FED WILL GIVE YOU CRED
KORPORATETHUG Account Holder

Joined Navy Fed back in March 2017 because of all of the good things I had heard about their lending practices (auto, personal, credit).  I am in the credit rebuilding stage so today I checked my scores from CK (TU603 | EQ 630 and decided to apply online today!  INSTANTLY APPROVED FOR $3,700.  I've been working diligently to repair my credit for 12 months now and started with a sub 500 score BUT let me tell you how good GOD is because I know I didn't deserve such a generous credit line. 

more ...
May 26, 2017
I love this credit union
Jeanoway Account Holder

I signed up with Navy Federal a little over a year ago. I opened a checking account and applied for a credit card (the green one). I was approved for an incredible amount and the interest rate remains significantly lower than my Chase, Citi, and Capital One cards (the only other cards I have). I recently transferred a balance to my card and there are no balance transfer fees -- not true of my other cards unless I recently opened them. I have received excellent service, their people in my branches and by phone have been helpful and pleasant to talk with. Their auto loans have very low rates and they cover used and new cars. I recommend them whenever I can.

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
They're fantastic.
starbuckathena Account Holder

I've been with them for almost 20 years and don't want to use another group.

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
WOW Hugh Credit Limit Low Score
Anonymous Account Holder

Been a banking customer for over a year.  Had a 1,000 dollar secured nrewards visa,  never used it much.  Recived a notice from NF they were unsecuring my visa for a 1,000 nrewards visa.  Months later not using the card really I asked for a CLI reading on Dr, of Credit blog, to always ask for a 25,000 dollar increase no matter if you only have a small CL.  Well, after a hard pull they increased my CL to 17,500  Transunion 650.  Many Inquires Pretty clean CR.  Next to my AMEX card this is by far my highest limit.  Wanting to get the cash rewards visa, but will wait.  Thought they would deny a big CL of 25,000, great counter offer.  LOL nfcu

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
So far, so good
SamShep45 Account Holder

I only applied to this credit union because a family member recommended it. They got a debt consolidation loan and a new credit card to try to rebuild their credit. I just got a lease on a new car last month and when they pulled my credit score, it was 680, which I know is higher than my family member's. However, I did not get approved for the loan, though I did for the credit card, and at a rate about 10% less than my other accounts. One disappointing thing was that customer service couldn't tell me the reason for the denial - he said a letter had been sent. I thought that was a little weird, but whatever. After reading through the reviews here, I won't be banking with them, but for loans and such, they seem above average. I will apply for the debt consolidation loan again in 6 mos or so after I've used the new card to build a limit.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations