Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Navy Federal Credit Union

3.3 out of 5 stars
35 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 08, 2016
NFCU for life
Anonymous Account Holder

I am rebuilding my credit started 2 years ago in the very low 500 range.  Got a secured card had it for 2 years (they never graduated my card nor will they make it unsecured).  I had a 560 when I applied for an unsecured card and I got approved for a 17K limit Go Rewards unsecured card.  2 months later my score is now 640 and I am going back to NFCU for my first home loan.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 18, 2016
Stay away this is not a true credit unio
Anonymous Account Holder

After banking with navy federal for ten years they finally used the old bait and switch to close my credit card account. I was out of work for three months and looking for work frantically. I always paid for insurance on any loan or credit card for disability,death or unemployed situations. I submitted my request after I was laid off and was denied. For what reason I have no Idea. Nfcu would not give a clear answer. After three months of no income I fell behind. I found work finally and made the payments to catch up on everything. Then nfcu closed my accounts and removed the insurance. They are reporting my accounts closed on my credit which has tanked over a 100 points in the past week. I have retained an attorney and plan on fighting this. They charged me for a service to protect me if I was hurt or ever out of work and than as soon as I really needed it they denied me and threw down the hammer. Don't bank with them

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Dec 03, 2016
Horrible but my issue was resolved
Brittney5677 Account Holder

After a long day of work I spent MY ME TIME on the phone with Navy Federal for an HOUR before my issue was resolved wtf!!! Definitely whiching banks on Monday when they open!!! 😒😒😒😒

more ...
Nov 25, 2016
So far so good
timmyC1982 Account Holder

I have been with USAA for 15 years and still use their products but I am breaking up my bank accounts and using USAA for spending, NFCU for bills and PenFED for savings. With NFCU they right off the bat gave me a personal loan, checking line of credit for $10,000 and refinanced a loan for a truck that I needed to get out of my soon to be ex-wife name.

As of right now I think I am customer for along time.

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
Stay away this is not a true credit unio
Anonymous Account Holder

After banking with navy federal for ten years they finally used the old bait and switch to close my credit card account. I was out of work for three months and looking for work frantically. I always paid for insurance on any loan or credit card for disability,death or unemployed situations. I submitted my request after I was laid off and was denied. For what reason I have no Idea. Nfcu would not give a clear answer. After three months of no income I fell behind. I found work finally and made the payments to catch up on everything. Then nfcu closed my accounts and removed the insurance. They are reporting my accounts closed on my credit which has tanked over a 100 points in the past week. I have retained an attorney and plan on fighting this. They charged me for a service to protect me if I was hurt or ever out of work and than as soon as I really needed it they denied me and threw down the hammer. Don't bank with them

more ...
Nov 11, 2016
Great
Anonymous Account Holder

I called customer service to help with an issue with my credit card . The rep was so pleasant and explain ed everything step by step to me.

more ...
Nov 06, 2016
Navy Federal Credit Card
Anonymous Account Holder

Best Credit Card I ever had.  Gave me 10K up front.  Low interest.  Low payments.  Easy to pay down and the point system is wonderful!  Points paid for my entire vacation to Florida.  From airline tickets, hotel, and rental car.  

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
Good in some ways, Horrible in others!
BrittnieBella Account Holder

I decided to open my account with navy federal because my boyfriend of 4 years who is in the Marines has said absolutely nothing but great things about them. They had helped him increase his credit score and were always reliable. I had tried a few different banks and the fees were just outrageous so I finally decided to switch. I closed my old accounts and opened entirely new accounts with NFCU. They were great! I transferred all my money to the accounts. Normally I use direct deposit for my paychecks, unfortunately the new information did not update in time and I had received a check instead. No big deal....    so I than proceeded to deposit my paycheck into my NFCU checking account on a Sunday. Monday came around and they released 200 of the check and the rest was still pending. Okay, no big deal. Well Tuesday I go to log into my account and there is an error message. So I call the number & a NFCU rep explains to me that my check was flagged as suspicious. They have completely restricted my entire account, I can't access any money that I have in there for at least 5-7 business days. I never received an email at all on this. I was upset and frustrated, one because I was not notified and this is a normal paycheck from one of the biggest corporations in the US. And two because I had already had to wait to get my check in the mail, deposit it and now still have to wait. I have bills to pay and almost everytime I call NFCU for an update or anything they can not tell me. They have showed little to no sincerity....    I have worked in customer service related jobs for at least 6 years and so I am just really disappointed. I feel like when I talk to them they don't hear what I am trying to say or don't care. It has been a whole week since I deposited my check and they are saying I will not receive it for another 4-5 days....     I get another paycheck in 4-5 days so that would make two whole weeks with no pay and behind on my bills. I am running low on gas and luckily my boyfriend has been generous enough to help me. I just think this whole process is completely unfair. & I am scared that when my direct deposit goes in on Friday the account will still not be open and I will not have money for rent. Ugh...!!!! I don't know what to do. I have had total faith in NFCU and was really looking forward to starting fresh. 

more ...
Oct 15, 2016
BHasbrouck Account Holder

This credit union gave me a personal loan with 17%. I wanted to pay off my credit cards. I've been paying on time every month and aftet 2 years my balance only went down by 1k. The loan is a 60 month agreement for 7k.

more ...
Oct 01, 2016
NFCU is amazing
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been with this credit union for as long as I've been in the service (almost 6 years) and Navy Federal has yet to disappoint me. I have a lot of things tied up with navy federal and i've even recommended family and friends with them because of my experience. I was approved for the nrewards card with an $8,000 CL. I was declined a couple years ago for a credit card and since I've rebuilded my credit, I was able to get a credit card. I've only had the account for a couple weeks and I was able without hassle to get a product change for the card I really wanted. The representative explained what the card was all about, even switched it to the visa signature line because of the credit limit I was given. Everything transferred over and I can still use the card I have now until the other one comes in. I'm not sure what the big fuss is and the negative reviews, but personally I love what Navy Fed is doing for me. Between generous amounts of credit and loan approvals for my emergencies, I cant complain not one time. 

more ...
Sep 24, 2016
Terrible Credit Union
Anonymous Account Holder

They do not care about you. When you get locked out of your account after one password attempt, they will send constant notices to your residence to change your password and advise you that your account is locked. They will make you call in and go through the steps of unblocking your account. BUT when someone else tries to take out a loan in your name, when someone deposits a fraudulent check into your account, when someone illegally withdraws $1000 dollars out of your account, you do not get any call, letter to your home, or even an email. Navy Federal is by far the absolute worst bank I've ever had the displease of dealing with. Their fraud department is nothing but a joke and their customer service reps are rude and provide little to no help. Thank you Navy Federal for ruining my life and making me pay back the money YOU allowed to fraudulently enter and and exist my account without my knowledge. 

more ...
Sep 16, 2016
outstanding service and helpfull
MT1NAVYRetired Account Holder

I have been member since 1985, had 3 mortgages the first as an E-5 in 1987, the last in 2004 just after retiring( as a E-6) and 1 refi, 8 car loans (4 new and 4 used). I have had outstanding servive all these years and in all cases the paperwork has been easy and a quick turnaround.My last loan was for a used car after my car was totaled Feb 2016 I appled over the phone that day had pre approval next morning and found a car 2 days later and drove off lot that day.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations