Navy Federal Credit Union Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 18, 2018
Ive loved them for years
Pookiesauce Account Holder

The customer service is great. Everytime i walk into the branch I feel welcomed. They offer me better rates when I qualify and Ive had no issues with the upgrading process! Ill never leave NFCU

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 30, 2018
AMAZING!
getatyagirl Account Holder

This is by far the best  credit union I've had, It encourages family membership for youth as young as 13 yrs old to start them off in the right direction. The staff are truly amazing (New Orleans) location, I have a pleasant experience everytime I am in the building. Thanks , you all are doing a wonderful job helping others. 

* NOTE MY OVERALL RATING IS 5 STARS  for some reason it blinks ridiculoously when I go to the 4th and 5th star so I had to press 3. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Dec 24, 2018
Long time customer
Ladysha113 Account Holder

 I love this credit union. They’ve always been extremely helpful & have excellent customer service. Always quick & easy

more ...
Dec 24, 2018
Stryker421 Account Holder

So I had my account hacked awhile back. Luckily, I used the account purely for their credit card, so only petty cash was in the account at the time but I did have a substantial amount of points. The hackers gained access somehow (unknown to this day) and redeemed my points in the form of Apple Gift cards. 

As soon as I learned this, I contacted customer support and they took care of everything! They immediately took the matter very seriously by closing that account, opening up a new account simultaneously, and reissued all new cards. They walked me thru some steps to prevent this from ever happening again and so far it has been wonderful. 

The only annoyance out of this entire matter I had was it took a rather long time for them to issue me the points I lost. Their fraud department dragged their feet with me calling at least once a week for an update. After about a month or so, I was given all my points back thankfully. 

I justed wanted to highlight this bank since even though it’s a credit union and over looked by many, Navy Federal is an amazing bank! 

more ...
Sep 18, 2018
Ive loved them for years
Pookiesauce Account Holder

The customer service is great. Everytime i walk into the branch I feel welcomed. They offer me better rates when I qualify and Ive had no issues with the upgrading process! Ill never leave NFCU

more ...
Sep 14, 2018
You are expected to fix their mistakes
MikeinMD2 Account Holder

Claims department tells me to submit a claim after receiving damaged bills from an ATM, and I do so, following the exact instructions I was given. Claims dept then sends me a message telling me essentially, "Not our fault. You fix it." BEP says it will take up to 6 months (!) to replace the $40 they lost. Just imagine if it were a more substantial ammount of money, this could literally get someone kicked out of their house or to default on a payment. Just awful, uncaring service from one of the country's biggest credit unions. SMH... 

more ...
Jun 17, 2018
totally incompetent
hadenuf Account Holder

In September 2017, I opened a checking & savings account with Navy Federal Credit Union. They accepted over $3500 in deposits. To date,--I have had no access to these accounts. NFCU has repeatedly requested ID documents. I have uploaded, emailed. faxed, and physically mailed--copies of my Photo ID, Social Security card, utility bills with address, and Passport 8 (eight) times. Most recently, (June 12) I visited the Clearwater, FL branch while on vacation. I presented my PA photo driver's license and requested my accounts be closed, and my money returned to me. I had called Customer Service 2 hours previoulsy and was told by Teresa that is what was required. After a speaking with Marie and then the manager-- I was told I would have to physically present my social security card. The manager: Megan, left me sitting while she dealt with another customer. After being in the bank for 55 minutes, I left. I am out of ideas as to how to get my funds returned to me. I have been in touch with Security, Membership--anyone I can think of.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 10, 2018

Get legal counsel

 
May 08, 2018
Fair and quick
COSCRO Account Holder

Very fair lending practices.

more ...
Apr 13, 2018
Unreliable Service
Anonymous Account Holder

Terrible customer service. I closed my accounts because they became too difficult to deal with over the years. I have been a member since 1994. NFCU is not a member of the CO-OP network.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 08, 2018

I don't like NFCU much either, but they are a CO-OP member.

 
Mar 30, 2018
AMAZING!
getatyagirl Account Holder

This is by far the best  credit union I've had, It encourages family membership for youth as young as 13 yrs old to start them off in the right direction. The staff are truly amazing (New Orleans) location, I have a pleasant experience everytime I am in the building. Thanks , you all are doing a wonderful job helping others. 

* NOTE MY OVERALL RATING IS 5 STARS  for some reason it blinks ridiculoously when I go to the 4th and 5th star so I had to press 3. 

more ...
Mar 11, 2018
Anonymous Account Holder

Great people great loans.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations