Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Navy Federal Credit Union

3.2 out of 5 stars
40 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 08, 2016
NFCU for life
Anonymous Account Holder

I am rebuilding my credit started 2 years ago in the very low 500 range.  Got a secured card had it for 2 years (they never graduated my card nor will they make it unsecured).  I had a 560 when I applied for an unsecured card and I got approved for a 17K limit Go Rewards unsecured card.  2 months later my score is now 640 and I am going back to NFCU for my first home loan.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 18, 2016
Stay away this is not a true credit unio
Anonymous Account Holder

After banking with navy federal for ten years they finally used the old bait and switch to close my credit card account. I was out of work for three months and looking for work frantically. I always paid for insurance on any loan or credit card for disability,death or unemployed situations. I submitted my request after I was laid off and was denied. For what reason I have no Idea. Nfcu would not give a clear answer. After three months of no income I fell behind. I found work finally and made the payments to catch up on everything. Then nfcu closed my accounts and removed the insurance. They are reporting my accounts closed on my credit which has tanked over a 100 points in the past week. I have retained an attorney and plan on fighting this. They charged me for a service to protect me if I was hurt or ever out of work and than as soon as I really needed it they denied me and threw down the hammer. Don't bank with them

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 21, 2017
Good rates
Nate949 Account Holder

So far, good rates and service. I make about $3000 in interest from this CU every year. Staff is friendly, they make cards for me in the branches, and free checking is nice. 

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
The most UNRELIABLE banking services
Anonymous Account Holder

The atms are almost ALWAYS down. There is generally 1 location within a 10 mile radius. CoOp atms and banks do not accept deposits on behalf of navy federal. Seriously the atms are down no matter what time you try them. Midday at 1pm the atm was down and this is very normal. The bank itself is NOT concerned with their clientele getting effective banking services. They REFUSE to add another atm location in the general area and they REFUSE to update the atm to make it actually competant. Do NOT, i repeat, DO NOT rely on a checking account with this bank. If anything, just have a savings account or deal with their auto/home loans. A checking account is a HUGE mistake!

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
horrible customer relationship
Anonymous Account Holder

Horrible customer relationship. I will never do business

more ...
Jan 29, 2017
Outstanding
cdrtrek Account Holder

I know for a fact that I am HOME with NavyFCU, believe me when I tell you I am not and never will go anywhere else. 17 years with NFCU and I've had a car loan, two credits cards, checking, savings and more, for me and my wife there is NO other Bank or Credit Union ever. 

more ...
Jan 23, 2017
First time credit card users
Anonymous Account Holder

recently just got a my credit card about 8 months ago and now I have over 700 on my credit score! I just now took out a card loan and they were able to pay for the GAP cheaper than the actual car dealership

more ...
Jan 21, 2017
Unnecessary Credit Inquiries
Anonymous Account Holder

The first thing I didn't like about this Credit Union is that as soon as i opened an account with them, i had a hard inquiry on my account. Instantly and not warned. I was still sitting at the desk with the representative when Credit Karma sent me the immediate notification about a new hard inquiry on my account. The representative told me it should've only been a soft pull but obviously this was not the case. I've also had other fellow military friends get hard inquiries as well. The second thing happened was when I applied to a credit card. I received no information from them for two weeks and i called them twice. They asked for additional information which i provided then i waited...and waited...I had a 790 credit score at the time. Another hard inquiry and another call later and they have me confirm the information i gave them a week prior. I get denied due to the fact that im a reservist. I was active duty, but would be in the reserves after training.

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
Shady business practices.
loisloisg Account Holder

Navy FCU does everything they can to prevent you from closing an account with them.  They'll lie, stall, keep repeating questions, and try every pathetic tactic they can to get you not to close your account.  I told the Rep that he had 2 more minutes (after a 30 minute conversation was going nowhere) to close my account or I was going to file a complaint with the Feds (CFPB).  The rep relented and agreed to close my account if I would agree to let Navy FCU keep the few dollars that were in my account.  I agreed and then I filed a complaint with the  CFPB because Navy FCU needs to be held accountable for their shady business practices.  I would encourage anyone else that has issues with Navy FCU to report them to the CFPB as well.  

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
Best customer service ever
Anonymous Account Holder

Always a pleasure to deal with

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
Awful Customer Service
arielivy24 Account Holder

I called to find out the 2017 deposit schedule; when it would be available to view for public viewing.  They currently have the 2016 deposit schedule up (you don't need to sign in to your account to see it).  I was told that because I don't have official access to an account (we are going to fix that but it is irrevelevent to the actual request of PUBLIC information)--I was not allowed to know when it would be available to see.

Thanks for the worst customer service experience over the SIMPLEST information ever.

more ...
Dec 03, 2016
Horrible but my issue was resolved
Brittney5677 Account Holder

After a long day of work I spent MY ME TIME on the phone with Navy Federal for an HOUR before my issue was resolved wtf!!! Definitely whiching banks on Monday when they open!!! 😒😒😒😒

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations