Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Navy Federal Credit Union

3.2 out of 5 stars
36 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 08, 2016
NFCU for life
Anonymous Account Holder

I am rebuilding my credit started 2 years ago in the very low 500 range.  Got a secured card had it for 2 years (they never graduated my card nor will they make it unsecured).  I had a 560 when I applied for an unsecured card and I got approved for a 17K limit Go Rewards unsecured card.  2 months later my score is now 640 and I am going back to NFCU for my first home loan.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 18, 2016
Stay away this is not a true credit unio
Anonymous Account Holder

After banking with navy federal for ten years they finally used the old bait and switch to close my credit card account. I was out of work for three months and looking for work frantically. I always paid for insurance on any loan or credit card for disability,death or unemployed situations. I submitted my request after I was laid off and was denied. For what reason I have no Idea. Nfcu would not give a clear answer. After three months of no income I fell behind. I found work finally and made the payments to catch up on everything. Then nfcu closed my accounts and removed the insurance. They are reporting my accounts closed on my credit which has tanked over a 100 points in the past week. I have retained an attorney and plan on fighting this. They charged me for a service to protect me if I was hurt or ever out of work and than as soon as I really needed it they denied me and threw down the hammer. Don't bank with them

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 17, 2017
Shady business practices.
loisloisg Account Holder

Navy FCU does everything they can to prevent you from closing an account with them.  They'll lie, stall, keep repeating questions, and try every pathetic tactic they can to get you not to close your account.  I told the Rep that he had 2 more minutes (after a 30 minute conversation was going nowhere) to close my account or I was going to file a complaint with the Feds (CFPB).  The rep relented and agreed to close my account if I would agree to let Navy FCU keep the few dollars that were in my account.  I agreed and then I filed a complaint with the  CFPB because Navy FCU needs to be held accountable for their shady business practices.  I would encourage anyone else that has issues with Navy FCU to report them to the CFPB as well.  

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
Best customer service ever
Anonymous Account Holder

Always a pleasure to deal with

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
Awful Customer Service
arielivy24 Account Holder

I called to find out the 2017 deposit schedule; when it would be available to view for public viewing.  They currently have the 2016 deposit schedule up (you don't need to sign in to your account to see it).  I was told that because I don't have official access to an account (we are going to fix that but it is irrevelevent to the actual request of PUBLIC information)--I was not allowed to know when it would be available to see.

Thanks for the worst customer service experience over the SIMPLEST information ever.

more ...
Dec 03, 2016
Horrible but my issue was resolved
Brittney5677 Account Holder

After a long day of work I spent MY ME TIME on the phone with Navy Federal for an HOUR before my issue was resolved wtf!!! Definitely whiching banks on Monday when they open!!! 😒😒😒😒

more ...
Nov 25, 2016
So far so good
timmyC1982 Account Holder

I have been with USAA for 15 years and still use their products but I am breaking up my bank accounts and using USAA for spending, NFCU for bills and PenFED for savings. With NFCU they right off the bat gave me a personal loan, checking line of credit for $10,000 and refinanced a loan for a truck that I needed to get out of my soon to be ex-wife name.

As of right now I think I am customer for along time.

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
Stay away this is not a true credit unio
Anonymous Account Holder

After banking with navy federal for ten years they finally used the old bait and switch to close my credit card account. I was out of work for three months and looking for work frantically. I always paid for insurance on any loan or credit card for disability,death or unemployed situations. I submitted my request after I was laid off and was denied. For what reason I have no Idea. Nfcu would not give a clear answer. After three months of no income I fell behind. I found work finally and made the payments to catch up on everything. Then nfcu closed my accounts and removed the insurance. They are reporting my accounts closed on my credit which has tanked over a 100 points in the past week. I have retained an attorney and plan on fighting this. They charged me for a service to protect me if I was hurt or ever out of work and than as soon as I really needed it they denied me and threw down the hammer. Don't bank with them

more ...
Nov 11, 2016
Great
Anonymous Account Holder

I called customer service to help with an issue with my credit card . The rep was so pleasant and explain ed everything step by step to me.

more ...
Nov 06, 2016
Navy Federal Credit Card
Anonymous Account Holder

Best Credit Card I ever had.  Gave me 10K up front.  Low interest.  Low payments.  Easy to pay down and the point system is wonderful!  Points paid for my entire vacation to Florida.  From airline tickets, hotel, and rental car.  

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
Good in some ways, Horrible in others!
BrittnieBella Account Holder

I decided to open my account with navy federal because my boyfriend of 4 years who is in the Marines has said absolutely nothing but great things about them. They had helped him increase his credit score and were always reliable. I had tried a few different banks and the fees were just outrageous so I finally decided to switch. I closed my old accounts and opened entirely new accounts with NFCU. They were great! I transferred all my money to the accounts. Normally I use direct deposit for my paychecks, unfortunately the new information did not update in time and I had received a check instead. No big deal....    so I than proceeded to deposit my paycheck into my NFCU checking account on a Sunday. Monday came around and they released 200 of the check and the rest was still pending. Okay, no big deal. Well Tuesday I go to log into my account and there is an error message. So I call the number & a NFCU rep explains to me that my check was flagged as suspicious. They have completely restricted my entire account, I can't access any money that I have in there for at least 5-7 business days. I never received an email at all on this. I was upset and frustrated, one because I was not notified and this is a normal paycheck from one of the biggest corporations in the US. And two because I had already had to wait to get my check in the mail, deposit it and now still have to wait. I have bills to pay and almost everytime I call NFCU for an update or anything they can not tell me. They have showed little to no sincerity....    I have worked in customer service related jobs for at least 6 years and so I am just really disappointed. I feel like when I talk to them they don't hear what I am trying to say or don't care. It has been a whole week since I deposited my check and they are saying I will not receive it for another 4-5 days....     I get another paycheck in 4-5 days so that would make two whole weeks with no pay and behind on my bills. I am running low on gas and luckily my boyfriend has been generous enough to help me. I just think this whole process is completely unfair. & I am scared that when my direct deposit goes in on Friday the account will still not be open and I will not have money for rent. Ugh...!!!! I don't know what to do. I have had total faith in NFCU and was really looking forward to starting fresh. 

more ...
Oct 15, 2016
BHasbrouck Account Holder

This credit union gave me a personal loan with 17%. I wanted to pay off my credit cards. I've been paying on time every month and aftet 2 years my balance only went down by 1k. The loan is a 60 month agreement for 7k.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations