NASA Federal Credit Union Reviews

2.3 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 02, 2017
New Mobile App is Great!
Anonymous Account Holder

I love their new mobile app.

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
Great rates and great service
cubsoxbull Account Holder

Not sure about all the negative reviews. I applied for their credit card  and used the balance transfer feature. No additional fees and a nice 7.99% locked rate until my balance is paid off. 

more ...
May 14, 2017
NEVER EVER EVER AGAIN!
Anonymous Account Holder

They are the worse bank I have ever had! Just because they are a credit union doesn't mean they are good. Customer Service is the worst I have ever experienced..

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
TERRIBLE; STAY AWAY
Anonymous Account Holder

Horrible  customer service horrible bank! charges you for nothing, the customer support is incompetent and cannot solve any issue without a very lengthy process to reveal no resolution whatsoever.   This is a terrible bank.

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
Vintage app and online banking
cadet326 Account Holder

I've been a member at NASA Federal Credit Union on and off for 15 years. Back when I first opened the account, I felt proud to be a member of an institution affiliated with our nations space agency. In some small way, it made me feel affiliated. When I first joined, it was a joint checking account with my (now) ex-wife. At some point about a year into the account being opened, I went to the ATM and withdrew $300 dollars (that was the unchangeable limit back then). The next 3 days, I again withdrew $300 per day. I had the money available in my account. I didn't live near a branch at the time, so ATM withdrawals were the only way I could get cash from my account. A week later, I checked my account balance, and noticed that none of the withdraws were reflected in my account. $1200 in withdraws, there sat in my account $1200 never touched. I thought for sure something was up, so I spoke to someone on the phone, and they informed me that no withdraws had been made from my account, and that perhaps the ATM made a mistake. I figured I just won the lottery! I went back to that ATM and tried again, and sure enough I was able to withdraw $300 from the ATM. I went inside the Credit Union Branch (at the time was in North Carolina and used a local CU down there since it was "in network"), and explained to them what was going on. They assured me that there were no issues with the ATM and that my bank must be slow to process the withdraw requests. So, I forget all about it, and then 2 weeks later go back and withdraw another $1200 dollars. I then checked my balance, and still no withdraws were reflected in my account balance. I was 20 at the time, and thought I had just become the luckiest guy in the world. I had in my possession an ATM card that seemed to be magic. It just kept giving me money. Neither the Bank nor the ATM company said there was an issue, and they both blamed each other for the mistake. Well, a month later I get 30 phone calls in a row until I answer. It's Nasa Federal Credit Union. They told me they are closing my accounts and barring me for life from ever having an account there again. They explained to me that I misused my debit card, and that they had the right to discontinue offering services to me. The entire conversation was rude, and accusatory. And it left me in a pretty tight spot. Even though the money was in my account to recover, by closing the account, they cut off my access to the rest of my funds. 

I made it into a branch about a month later to get more information. Turns out these morons issued me a debit card with my name on it linked to someone else’s account. With my withdraws and purchases I debited about $4,000 out of someone else’s account. Instead of recognizing their mistake and owning it, they retaliated against me. Fortunately I was able to prove that I had brought this issue to their attention, and even got correspondence from the CU down in NC confirming my side of events. NASA finally reopened new accounts for me, but I seldom used them. So infrequently in fact that eventually the accounts were closed. I just recently went to open new accounts because they were offering great rates on auto financing. It took 2 weeks for them to open an account and demanded a bunch of ID verification documents. My Social Security Card had been misplaced. They told me I could go to the SS office and order a new one, and they would accept the order confirmation paper as proof of ID. I uploaded it, and was still told I needed to produce my SS card. Luckily it turned up, but thought it was ridiculous that I had to jump through so many hoops, like a utility bill, Driver’s License, Social Security Card, and Birth Certificate. I wasn’t applying for a passport, it's just a **** savings account. The process took about 2 weeks, and it made me regret my decision. I now have the accounts open and am using them actively. However, the mobile app and online banking are antiques. My iPhone even opens the app with an error saying the developer needs to update it to make it compatible. You can tell by the layout, icons and design that they app is their original iOS design. Their Debit card design is exactly how I remember it from 15 years ago as well. They are definitely stuck behind the times. Someone needs to breathe new life into their mobile/and online platform if they expect to establish new membership and compete with other credit unions or government banks like Navy FCU, or USAA. the 3 branch Farmers bank in my small Carroll County town has a better mobile app.. Just sayin.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 02, 2017

Wow, what a horrible experience. With as much good web/software development talent out there (myself not excluded) it's a shame a corporate entity like this would be so stingy when it comes to offering their members a convenient experience on par with their competitors. It's really disappointing to see how little they value their members. I've always been an avid supporter of furthering our space program, but maybe I should just hold out and see if SpaceX opens a financial institution. After reading your review, that's enough for me to make a solid decision on whether to open a credit line here.

 
Dec 23, 2016
Bad customer service.
Anonymous Account Holder

Very bad customer service.

Those poeple treat customers like pigs.

I though a credit union will be better than the regular awful corporate banks.

I was wrong , cause they are the same..

more ...
Dec 11, 2016
Absolutely Terrible - Stay away
Anonymous Account Holder

Setup Autopay to make payments and they cancelled it without notification. Afterwards I payed online and they declined my payment without cause nor notification. Terrible benefits.

Pros:

- I got a really nice credit limit

Cons:

- Telephone hours are bad

- eBranch Online is horrible

- Mobile app is horrible

- Overall exeperience is terrible

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
Terrible, don't do it!
kingston73 Account Holder

This is the most horrible bank I have ever dealt with, stay away from them at all cost!  Dishonest, zero customer service, just horrible in every way possible.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations