Langley Federal Credit Union (LFCU) Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
6 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 30, 2013
A Solid Company that wants solid custome
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a customer for over 40 years. They don't always have the best rates but I do believe that they just try to represent their share holders the best they can.  I am totally satisfied.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 18, 2014
Go to a Bank or another Credit Union.
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a customer with LFCU since 1975 and find their financial rates outragous compared to other financial sources. I have never missed a payment as I use auto-pay and have a good credit rating however they still charge 1 percentage point more that other CU's and refuse to lower their rate. I am paying off what little I own them, close my accounts and never do business with them again.

I have a credit card that has 7.4% APR and will continue using it for my purchases as they appreciate your business. LFCU is big business and doesn't care about the civilian of military customers other than to rape them as long as they can. Their service SUCKS.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

May 05, 2017
Low Rates.
Sadtler Account Holder

The website is horrible. The rates far exceeded my expectations, they beat USAA by points. If it's a good website you want, go to USAA. If you want great rates LFCU.

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
Be aware of the service after the sale.
Anonymous Account Holder

Be aware of the service after the sale. It can cost you much more than a lower interest rate could save you.

A low rate on an auto loan started my affiliation with Langley Federal Credit Union. It was not worth it. The errors with my account began immediately. They never notified me of my loan account number or repayment terms. I had to call them after a month to set up a payment. I set up an auto pay from another credit union.  There is a 4-day lag between the two credit unions from when the payment is withdrawn to when it posts. The auto pay was set up from my Langley online account, not the other credit union. What is Langley doing with my money in the four business days between when they withdraw it and when they post it? Langley employees told me it is not even visible to their own employees.

When I changed my auto pay amount, Langley disregarded the deleted original payment and began taking both amounts from my originating account. Then they told me they could not return the monies mistakenly taken for four days, and only then to deposit it into my Langley savings account, where I had to go into a branch to withdraw because I still don't have an ATM card from them (after 9 months of opening the account). Twice. Two months in a row this has happened. The second time I watched for the posting. Again, both amounts were withdrawn from my originating account. I went to a Langley FCU branch in Norfolk, VA, to recover my monies. Again, they said they didn't have it. This was three days after it had been deducted from my other credit union's account. On the fourth day I could see where it had been posted to my auto loan online so I called the Langley FCU for a reversal. They told me that, despite what the manager at the Wards Corner branch on Granby Road in Norfolk, VA, had told me yesterday, I would have to come in to a branch to get my money. No-one can explain how any of these errors came to pass, nor can they offer any reassurances that it won't happen again.

I am moving the loan today. 

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
Great Credit Union!
Anonymous Account Holder

Currently Have 6 Loans with them and no issues as long as you pay on time. Love this credit Union this particular credit union loaned to me when

my credit was subpar credit score is now currently 745 and all due to paying bills on time with this credit union

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
A so-so credit union
Anonymous Account Holder

They wont release tax statements till the 31st...  well today is the 31st.. I have never had to wait till the last day of the month to get my tax statement from any other credit union I have been with. 

more ...
Jul 25, 2016
Agresssive and Holtile
Anonymous Account Holder

Management plays dirty underhanded Louisiana Politics under the table. Working enviroment is agressive and hostile, lots of yelling and accusations are the norm.

more ...
Jun 05, 2016
I have been a member since 2007
elrie1 Account Holder

This has been the best bank i have ever been involved with, rates are great. Customer service is not too great.But who cares when you are saving alot of money,even with a low score you can get good rates.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations