Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Lake Michigan Credit Union (LMCU)

1.8 out of 5 stars
12 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 20, 2016
They Do not care about you
Bpoort Account Holder

This Credit Union is worse than a bank. I am a former banker, and they have several things they do poorly. First of all they have a terrible Online banking website and app, that is difficult to understand, and easy to overdraw your account with. I still do not understand it fully, and I have a BA in accounting, an MBA in business administration and 15 years experience in banking. It seems they allow pending transactions to overdraw your account, and then when they receive the "receipt" for the transaction, they send it through again as "posted" and allow that to overdraw the account as well. I paid more than $100 dollars in NSF fees monthly while I banked there, and now that I have switched, I have paid none in six months at the bank I now use. The staff is nice, and want to help, but the administration and management really do not know what they are doing in terms of banking. I also had a credit card, and due to a loss of my job could not pay it.  Every other Bank and credit card company worked with me, reducing my interest rate to 0%, allowing me to not pay anything at all for several months until I found work etc....everyone but LMCU. They called family members, including my ex-wife whom I had a PPO order against, looking for money, and after just 6 months, filed to take me to court. Even banks that are known for their fees, and poor customer service treated me better than this Credit Union. I wanted a credit union barbecue I heard they were local, part of my community and cared about me as a person, as opposed to a bank that is just out for my money.  Perhaps that is true of some other credit unions, but not this one. Despite their not-for-profit tax status, profit is all they care about, and even more so than the typical nasty banks so many of us dislike. Stay far away from them if you ever fall on hard times, because they could care less about you. 

more ...
Sep 15, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

If you want the worst possible experience trying to get a mortgage for an exciting time in your life to buy a home don't go here this is the worst place to deal with!!!!! LMCU IS THE WORST CHOICE!!! A WORD OF EXPERIENCE ,TERRIBLE!

more ...
Sep 15, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I dont know why this shows OLD rating 1st ,show the ones those r the true ones!!! Beleive ALL THE NEGATIVE IT'S TRUE been trying to get out mtg to close what a fricken joke, Amanda and David worthless they don't return calls do not have a clue where ur loan stands when u do finally talk to them always needing more stuff that is pointless so OUR PURCHASE AGREEMENT DATE TO CLOSE BY HAS EXPIRED COULD LOSE THE HOUSE THANKS TO LMCU They have been "WORKING" on it (sitting on someone's desk) since end of July. DO NOT USE LMCU THEY R HORRIBLE!!!!! Wish I woyld have looked at these reviews before I had!!! WORST PURCHASE EXPERIENCE EVER!!!

more ...
Sep 12, 2016
Non-Reputable Company
Anonymous Account Holder

They slashed my interest rate in half from 2% to 1%, then had the audacity to charge my account a total of $40 when I transferred my HSA funds to a better provider. Avoid these crooks at all cost!

more ...
Jul 19, 2016
Very hard to work with
Anonymous Account Holder

When I joined years ago it was fine but after going through the refinancing program was terrible make you jump through hoops like never before  I will never recommend it  The only reason I proceeded is because I already paid for the Appraisal.  And then with auto insurance they lose your information for insurance I had it faxed called over twice and they still cannot find my insurance.  When I call my insurance agent to fax it over again she has told me that they've had numerous complaints with other clients about them the same issue.  Very rude tellers when I tried to figure the whole thing out.   Do not bank here 

more ...
Jul 18, 2016
AVOID Using LMCU for Mortgage
Anonymous Account Holder

Currently in the process of closing on my house. My fiancee and I have had nothing but issues with them. Both credit scores are great and we have been giving them information they requested within 24 hours. However, LMCU has still managed to drop the ball on us multiple times. Did not get a closing date until two days before, "clerical errors" resulted in delaying the process nearly FOUR weeks, and when they realize they messed up it is near impossible to get in touch with someone to understand the situation. This is the first time that I have used LMCU and it will certainly be the last! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

more ...
Jul 16, 2016
Rediculous fees for payments over the ph
Anonymous Account Holder

They want 15 dollars to pay my auto loan, and another 15 for my credit card if I pay over the phone. I use chase bank because they have been good to me, but 30 dollars to run my card?

more ...
Jun 07, 2016
Fee service machine
raniamir Account Holder

Poor customer service, they trully don't care. Lots of fees. Advirtised 3% interest for checking accounts drops significantly after a couple of months. Was with them for over a year. A royal pain. 

more ...
Jun 01, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Okay credit union except for mortgage servicing department. They apply payments wrong then give you attitude when you try to get it corrected, especially at year end. Watch out last 2 years in a row have made mistakes with Dec & Jan payment. Took 3 months for them to correct.

more ...
May 20, 2016
Worst customer service ever
Ndswimr00 Account Holder

I applied for a mortgage last November. Everything started out fine and I got them all the information they needed. Communication was good. As time went on, the communication dropped (I would call and email and daysat a time before anyone would get back to me). One week before close (May, 7 months after I first applied), they asked to for information that I disclosed to them when I first applied and said that would not be an issue. At this point, communication ceased to exist. I could not get a call back or response to any email. We had to push back the close date and almost lost our house because of their incompetence. The few percentage points that we saved on interest was not worth the hassle we had to go through to get our mortgage. I would highly recommend going with a main stream name to get a mortgage.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations