Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Kinecta Federal Credit Union

1.8 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 17, 2017
Worst Bank EVER
Anonymous Account Holder

I just have a regular business checking account. My debit card is CONSTANTLY blocked for business purchases because they "THINK" it's fraud. Despite the fact that I purchse from this company regularly around the same amount each time.

I also have direct deposit from a retail employer. Despite the fact that I shop there 3-4 times a week, my debit card is blocked AGAIN because they think it's fraud.

Sat on hold for 45 minutes this morning. Never got a return "call-back" even though I was in line for one. So I called them again .... hold for another 34 minutes.

This bank is ridiculous and so not worth the frustration of just randomly having my card blocked .... so not worth it. It's too hard to get a hold of somone for unblocking and then if it happens in the evening or on  a weekend, you're TOTALLLY SCREWED until the next open business day.

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
They lost my loan after four years
Anonymous Account Holder

Called twice on January 24th to discuss auto loan account. Spoke with two people. I was told I was not on the account or the loan. I was told for my wife to add me she would have to refinance the loan. The information for the account came up under my name but somehow I was disassociated from the account and loan. I have paid the loan monthly for years. I am the primary borrower.  I had always been on the account and the loan, and they had previously discussed the account with me and accepted payments and set up an online account for me. Now they are stating any paperwork associating me with the account has been misplaced. The burden is on me to prove I am associated with the car that I drive daily, pay monthly, and have discussed multiple times previously.  This lack of paperwork accuracy and the attitude of it's not our problem the merger went so poor and we lost your paperwork is part of larger communication issues in the organization as the employees will attest to.  This is important for sake of good credit history for me, primary borrower, to accurately be listed on a loan that is nearly paid off. 

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Was great, but now unacceptable
Anonymous Account Holder

 I've been a member since '96... They were wonderful for the first 10-15 years and that's why they get a 2 out of five, but service quality has plummeted. Initially I was never charged fees unless I accidentally overdrafted, wired money or other reasonable costs were incurred. Over time they began to nickel and dime me to the point of frustration. Laziness kept me with them despite the decline and the fact that it is nearly impossible to get a human on the phone. Things reached the point of no return when they were unwilling to process a large wire transfer (with plenty of time before the deadline, but needed the next day) - requiring me to give notice that I was coming to the bank the next day to withdraw funds in cash. This was an amount they did not keep on hand, so I was initially told I wouldn't be able to get my funds at all. Then magically the wire became possible after hours of arguing. Today I am trying to be credited back for an accidental significant double payment I made on my Kinecta credit card in November. They have repeatedly promised to credit it back to my savings, but it hasn't happened. I have high hopes that I'll get my money back today, but again hours on the phone. Needless to say, my banking has moved to another bank (City National) with amazing customer service. 

more ...
Jul 20, 2016
SHADY AND TRUSTWORTHY
Anonymous Account Holder

never get a car loan from them They repossed my car saying have not paid for three months which was a lie got the car back

I am going thru my credit as soon as I can

more ...
Jul 20, 2016
Friendly, Helpful and rarely waiting.
marissthedish Account Holder

I have visited 3 but frequent 2 to pay my moms car loan. Such friendly staff I decided to I open an account there, I am very pleased with them. I recommend as a secondary account- they have helped me fix my credit And I look forwArd to financing a car with them in the future. I say see for yourself and hopefully you will have the same experience I have had with them over the past 4 years. 

more ...
Jun 18, 2016
Surprised and very satisfied
SnoWhite1980 Account Holder

I was scared to try a place I had never heard of, but they were advertising 1.99% refinance on my current 7.99% auto loan.  I was annoyed at the process of actually getting papers taken care of - I think I got over 40 emails from ppl asking the same crap each time....BUT, after that two weeks, I have not had an issue and I am actually considering a second auto loan through them.  

more ...
Jun 04, 2016
Skhan633 Account Holder

This is worst company ever the biggest scam of my life. They just rip you off putting more interest and charges on your loan. Beware of then someone please take action against them I like to sue this company seriously!

more ...
Apr 05, 2016
Worst Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

Everything was good going inside for personal service, but recently I was locked out completely from using my debit card, even at their branch ATMs, twice I tried to make a purchase and they would not go through(very embarrassing).. They do not have 24 hour customer service if they accidentally locked your account..so I'm stuck without money...problem is, I have called over 20 times during different hours of the day and I've been on hold over 20 minutes every time until eventually they hang up..this is the worst customer service i have ever dealt with..I will close my account as soon as I can.

more ...
Apr 01, 2016
This credit union is shady
Anonymous Account Holder

After approved for a refi car loan the salesman argued with me that I had to get gap ins. Very rude and after my complains the process seemed to come to a halt until I kept calling them. Unprofessional and not trustworthy, unlike any credit union you would expect. 

more ...
Mar 07, 2016
Can't say anything good about them
Anonymous Account Holder

I have tried to give this credit union a chance and stayed with them for many years, but something is always going wrong. I was told my new credit card was approved and I would receive it in a reasonable amount of time, however weeks later I was told they had not even gotten it through the system yet. In the end, it took over a month and a half to recieve a card after being approved. Transactions do not always go through and are often delayed. The customer service is terrible and extremely impersonal. I am closing my account with them as soon as possible.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations