Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Harborstone Credit Union

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 29, 2016
Never had a problem.
Anonymous Account Holder

If I've ever had a problem, it's been solved. Great staff.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 31, 2013
Mediocre, but not bad.
excelsion353 Account Holder

HBCU is NOT as bad as disgruntled ex Prevail Credit Union members are making it out to be. There are not many HBCU branches or ATMs this is true, but ATM fee's are refunded at the end of the month like clockwork. I'm not sure what the limit on those reimbursements are but I have never exceeded it, I watch them like a hawk.

Whoever says that HBCU is just as bad Key Bank and BOA is either exaggerating (severely) or has never been a BOA customer. We have NEVER been charged ANYTHING extra for our 2 checking accounts and our savings account. There are no deposit requirements or minimum balances, etc. Then only thing you pay for is the initial membership fee held in your savings account which is $25 if I remember right. 

They offer free money orders which comes in handy when I have to pay rent.

I will admit I have limited experience with HBCU products because we use it for only basic functions. I tried using online bill pay and it was just a pita so I gave up on it. I prefer doing my bills manually anyway.

I feel other reviewers are not giving the institution a fair shake, that is why I wrote this review. It is far from perfect, but accusing it of being like BOA or Chase and the like is rediculous. The only bank I have used that is better than this average credit union is USAA.

more ...

Reviews (24)

Add Review
Aug 29, 2016
Never had a problem.
Anonymous Account Holder

If I've ever had a problem, it's been solved. Great staff.

more ...
Jan 26, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I haven't had my account with them for one month and 500 dollars is not being credited in my account the  tellers are giving me the runaround saying that they can't find anything I keep trying to call the manager but she's not picking up the phone today I tried going to the teller and she told me that the managers going to be in that meeting all day which was BS I'm just going to take out my buddy tomorrow and go somewhere else I'm also going to file a lawsuit against them .

more ...
Jan 17, 2015
Great Credit Union
Happyinhawaii Account Holder

We've been members of Harborstone CU since before it was Harborstone. We have lived in many locations outside of Washington State during that period of over 35 years. During that time we have banked at many different commercial banks and credit unions. Even though HCU is not without it's failings, it is by far the best place we've ever kept our money. Even banking with them from out of state has been better than any local financial institution or national institution we have ever had experience with. We presently live in Hawaii, and have tried the two major banks here and we belong to the best CU in Hawaii ( I did the research). Even still, we have resumed using HCU as our main financial institution, having our incomes direct deposited there and using HCU's bill pay service. They are simply the best.

more ...
Oct 11, 2014
Love there Customer Service!
Anonymous Account Holder

Our local branch knows are name and knows how we like are accounts handled. Can't beat local service!

more ...
Sep 13, 2014
Don't understand negative reviews
Anonymous Account Holder

I hav ebeen a customer for 4 years now, and have been quite happy. Good service, good website (except for the pesky security measures).  I have been a memeber of 5 different credit unions and this is tied for first place.

more ...
Jul 11, 2014
Problem After Problem
Anonymous Account Holder

Customer service is a joke. A couple of months after opening the account, we (my husband and I) had some fraud on our account. Someone decided to take some money out at an ATM. After filling out a fraud report, I followed up with Harborstone to see where the money was that they said they were temporarily crediting back into my account while they did their investigation. I found out that they ended up closing my account, informing me that they received video evidence that my husband (whose card was actually used) made the transactions himself....except for the part where they found a woman using the ATM. They mistook his name as a female's (the video showed a female making the charges) and decided that that was enough evidence to close the account and make us responsible for any negative balances. 

On top of that, they fee you to death. I have extra overdraft protection so that if something happens, my bills will still get paid. Harborstone likes to pick and choose what electronic bill payments get paid and what doesn't. While I understand charging a $30 fee once they've covered the bill, I don't understand charging a $30 fee when they decide not to cover a bill..even when you've opted in for the extra coverage. 

Anytime I need to call and even ask a simple question, I get vague responses from people who have no idea what they're doing. Managers are even worse and no one can ever seem to give a simple answer. 

more ...
Jul 07, 2014
Bank Charge crazy
Anonymous Account Holder

Since Frontier was taken over by Harborstone I can't believe the bank charges and the lack of customer service. Everything is the customer's fault, and every thing that can be charged they do. I have been a customer of theirs for over 10 years, yet I do not get respect, help, or consideration - their system 'is automated and there is nothing we can do' is the answer. Even though I have not had problems in the past, I am so dissapointed and they are hundreds of dollars richer at my expense. I am quitting them immediately. There is no loyalty from them any longer.

more ...
Apr 25, 2014
Fantastic service!
bookermerp Account Holder

Been with them for years, customer service is excellent! No fees, if you go to another atm they refund you the fees at the end of the month, joining fee is 5 bucks which they hold in your savings! Excellent!!!!

more ...
Jan 29, 2014
Useless Website
Anonymous Account Holder

My experience with this credit union is short, about 3 months. Signed up becaus of a slightly more atractive interest rate on their checking account. After opening the account online, I received no acknowledgement of where my money was for about 3 weeks. Their website has to be the most unfriendly one I have experienced, right alongside Key Bank's. I regret becoming their customer, and will close my account ASAP.

more ...
Dec 24, 2013
Extremely disappointed
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been with Prevail Credit Union since before it was Prevail - back when it was King County Credit Union. I really liked that bank and had nothing biut positive experiences with them. Since Harborstone took over this credit union they have found reason after reason to charge additional fees for everything under the sun. I think I may have paid one $15 overdraft fee in the 20 years I was with Prevail. With Harborstone rarely a month goes by when I don't see some new charge or fee that I had never heard of before. I'm sick of it. My recommendation is that you take your business elsewhere. I am.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this credit union overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this credit union?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations