Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

GTE Federal Credit Union

2.3 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 18, 2017
Absolutely horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

I'd be willing to bet they now pay their customer service reps minimum wage. They serve absolutely no purpose besides making constant mistakes with members' finances( like depositing funds into someone else's account on multiple occasions- not just once). Completely incompetent, and if they don't make minimum wage they definitely should.

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
New customer so far so good
drjhyde Account Holder

So Far no problems, great customer service would recommend to friends and family!

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
I'm happy with this credit union but....
Anonymous Account Holder

They closed a lot of their ATM locations. If you live in northeast Tampa be prepared to drive a long distance. You either have to go out to 56th and Busch, Gunn Highway or travel the always busy Bruce B Downs to Wesley Chapel. I live in southern Lutz so none are convenient. If you withdraw money, there are McDonalds that have Suncoast ATMs with no fees but you can't make deposits. 

more ...
Aug 05, 2016
Karlabarkdoll Account Holder

SLOW new system, I will be taking my business elsewhere and canceling this account. Took 30 minutes to deposit cash. Unbelievable

more ...
Jun 01, 2016
A non-member focused "union"
Anonymous Account Holder

There are many better credit unions out there.  They don't care about their customers and are definitely not a union of them.  One example, any loan has fees to pay online, that's a bit silly these days.  

Another, you can make your car payments for years, and then under hardship the "we can help" department will tell you that they can only help people who don't need it.  They can defer payments for those with income proof, but if you lost your job that doesn't help.

And years back they tried to impose debit card "use as credit card" fees.  It took months of member uproar to get that changed.  I even closed my personal accounts back then.

Don't waste your time with GTE, they are just a bank, and not a true credit union.

more ...
Mar 23, 2016
Dishonest
sgrandison09 Account Holder

They pick and choose which accounts to apply fees to. I have two accounts with them. I purposely overdrawn both accounts at the same time to make sure i wasn't go crazy. Next morning i woke up and i was right all along, they only apply a fee to one account but not to the other. When asked a rep on 3/22/2016 she couldnt even answer my question. When requested to have my savings account linked to my checking to avoid the $35 NSF fee and just get the $7 fee in case, i was also told that the employee from the branch that set up my second account didn't even make the changes. All the times i spoke with previous represenatative they never once told e this information

more ...
Feb 24, 2016
Degrading
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank/credit union is continue going down hill. sad! Had a great attitude and it now stinks. They don't even care when you complain. Saddest application precess for a mortgage. Been twenty days and still not a reply.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations