Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

GECU

1.0 out of 5 stars
16 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

1.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 02, 2016
They misapplied payment to get more fees
Anonymous Account Holder

This place has become a scum place to bank.  I made my credit card payment and told the teller it was my credit card payment.

Im charged a late fee and extra interest for not making my payment.  I pay every month on the same day and same amount. The teller misapplied my payment and put it in my savings account instead.

no matter how much you explain this to them, gravy doesn't care. Just get them more fees is all they want.

Complete BS.  This is why I no longer bank here except to pay off my high interest credit card that they tricked me into. Staff explained lower rate when I accepted it. I was told the staff made an honest mistake. This was after I used my card to pay for a whole trip.

Gecu should really be shut down. Complaints are of similar nature. Account holders keep getting screwed for extra money.

more ...
Jun 17, 2016
Gecu Collections - LIES!
Anonymous Account Holder

Holy macaroni these people are the rudest most arrogant bunch I have yet to come by!  Caught in lie after lie. Don't trust them. Promise to fix the problem of WRONG FEES only after I paid. Once I paid they refused!

Also learned that GECU car loans have a clause so if you owe them on other accounts (which you will because they make up fees for their errors), you can't get your car title even after the car is paid unless you pay them whatever other fees they through on your accounts!

A salesman from Mission Chevrolet said to NEVER GET A CAR LOAN FROM GECU BECAUSE OF WHAT THEY DO.  I asked them why the dealer does the loans there and I learned that GECU LETS THE CAR DEALERS HIKE IP YOUR INTEREST RATE SO THE DEALER MAKES THE EXTRA MONEY YOU PAY EACH MONTH IN EXTRA INTEREST CHARGES.  So much for GECU looking out for members. I can't wait til our cars and furniture loans are paid off. I WILL NEVER DEAL WITH GECU AGAIN. They should get out of our city.

more ...
Jun 14, 2016
Omg. AWFUL!
Anonymous Account Holder

Staff treats me like I'm an idiot if I question something and gives wrong information that cost me fees. Seriously this credit union sucks!

more ...
Jun 04, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

lack of knowledge and disgusting telephone representative!

more ...
May 17, 2016
VEHICLE LOAN DISASTER
Anonymous Account Holder

I PAID OFF MY TRUCK BUT THEIR MAKING ME PAY OFF MY PERSONAL LOAN WITH THEM TO OR THEY REFUSE TO GIVE ME MY TRUCKS TITLE. THEY ADDED MORE CHARGES TO MY PERSONAL LOAN THAT WAS TO BUY FURNITURE. NOW IF I DONT PAY THAT TO I CANT HAVE MY TRUCK TITLE THO I PAID OFF THE TRUCK. **** CROOKS

more ...
Apr 15, 2016
They're ATM scammed me!
Anonymous Account Holder

Atm didn't give me my money. I went to the branch and learned this happened to others. They gave me a credit. Weeks later my account was missing the money again. Their excuse was they checked and I got the money. TOTAL LIARS!

more ...
Apr 15, 2016
Disgusting. Staff lied to me
Anonymous Account Holder

They have enough complaints so why even bother explaining my situation. Staff lied to me. Gecu wrongfully charged fees to my account. Gecu wouldn't help fix the mistake that was made by them. No more. I'm looking for a new bank. I wish my car loan wasn't with gecu.

more ...
Apr 13, 2016
SO AWFUL
Anonymous Account Holder

I just closed my account. I don't even know where I should begin.

The staff is just mean if you don't do everything their way.

Our family was so screwed over by GECU.

Leaving gecu was the best thing we could have ever done.

yes we got screwed over but no more.

we were so mistreated by gecu and it's rude staff.

gone to evolve credit union which is 1000000 X better!

more ...
Apr 07, 2016
Insufficient funds fees
Anonymous Account Holder

I woke up to find my account drained by insufficient funds fees.  My whole paycheck is gone.  The way they cleared my check was they bounced everything even though I deposited my paycheck first. Then when everything went through, they charged me tons of fees for covering my payments when my check was already in.

I asked for these to be given back. They said No!  Now we have no food for the week and my 14 year old daughter missed her gymnastic sign up since I don't have the money.

gecu should be closed. El Paso doesn't need this in our community!

more ...
Apr 06, 2016
Such negativity!
Anonymous Account Holder

I have put up with GECU but today was too much. The staff treats us bad if we bring up a problem that needs attention. Charges have been taken out of my account for fees when the money was in there. You can't get them to fix it.  Weasels!  They have quite a negative attitude they quickly ruin my day when I have to go there.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations