First Tech Credit Union Reviews

1.3 out of 5 stars
11 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

May 06, 2017
Cheat!! Avoid GAP insur. on Auto loan
prashant4u Account Holder

GA insurance is fake. You can cancel GAP, other providers do on pro ratio basis. You cant lower your rates without loosing GAP or you should pay again for GAP. There are no processes. I wonder why its a credit union when it is working like a pure commercial company with focus on money...

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
Will trick you into charges
Anonymous Account Holder

If you have another option don't get insurance here. I didn't even agree to the quote, they had the nerve to bill me. When I queried the bill they said I had till the 27th to dispute but sent me to collections I. The 18th. What bully tactics. Stay away. 

more ...
Mar 24, 2017
pulled credit report with authorization
Anonymous Account Holder

And, when we asked why, there response was "We are a bank, we can do that whenever we want".  Very disappointing.

more ...
Oct 15, 2016
No employee accountability
estewart92 Account Holder

They can talk to you anyway they want to and not provide assistance. I called due to a lost credit card and was met with a rude employee who snarkly stated the obvious and refused to give me information on where the card was mailed to. i ask for a supervisor and she disconnects my call. i call back and a rep gets me to a supervisor who tells me that they cant see who i just spoke to on the phone in reference to my account. if you have rogue employees and no way of tracking customer complaints that is dangerous. i cant think that to be true and that the supervisor lied to me in order to get me off of his phone. he told me to mail in a letter. I am closing my accounts and will not recommend first tech to anyone.

more ...
Oct 13, 2016
Service has become poor since the Merger
John97223 Account Holder

Their online banking is the worst I've ever used.  Pages don't load.  Can't access statements.

Recently transaction notices have become delayed.  Why does it take over 12 hours to recieve a text message that a transaction has taken place.

I'm still a customer but I will consider switching if service doesn't improve.

more ...
Sep 18, 2016
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

I don't know what technology they are first in, but it's not information technology.  I've left the bank for Ally as their "improvements" are horrible.  Stay away from this bank!

more ...
Sep 10, 2016
Used to be the best, now like any other
Anonymous Account Holder

Back before Addison bought First Tech, it was the best credit union on the planet. Their rates were awesome, no fees for anything, instant availability of funds. Now I transfer from app or make e-deposit and it takes 3-5 days to post. Rates on their credit cards went from 6% to 20% and all the perks (you could cycle through your limit multiple times per month and make instant payments) and all that is gone. I have nothing nice to say about this credit union before. Decades of being with them means nothing, all the help got transferred down to california so nobody is a local who wants to help and build a long-term relationship. I had to transfer all my accounts because of the way they've run it into the ground. Too bad, I just pulled cash out of my investment accounts and it'll sit in someone else's bank.

more ...
Aug 28, 2016
Quality has fallen off a cliff
Anonymous Account Holder

I arrived to the US about 2 years ago as an imported tech worker. At that time I thought First Tech were great because, even though I had no credit history, they let me open an account and gave me a credit card with a decent limit. I just had to show the offer letter from my employer. However, since then I have had two fairly serious complaints and a third minor complaint

The first complaint is that, as others have posted, First Tech "upgraded" their online banking and since then it has been terrible. The main problem for me has been that balances take weeks to update. Credit card entries appear in duplicate for a while and then eventually rectify themselves. It's very difficult to know what your current financial situation is because of all of the delays and temporary duplicate entries. I cannot believe that they managed to mess up their system so badly. Before it was very responsive. No new features to speak of have been added to compensate for the poor performance of the new system.

The second complaint I have is that even though I had been a customer for a year and a half, First Tech were not able to give me a car loan that was remotely competitive with another local credit union (BECU). The best rate they could offer was almost twice what I could get from BECU, so even though it's less convenient to have my loan account with another institution, I had to go that way.

My third complaint, not as serious as the other two, is that at some point First Tech changed their credit cards from Visa to MasterCard. In doing this, they caused a fair amount of inconvenience (updating credit cards, etc.) and there was no customer benefit at all. This was purely a business decision to suit themselves. If they wanted to do this, they should have minimized customer impact by doing the changeover as customers' cards expired, rather than forcing the change on everyone.

What have First Tech done to rectify all this? Very little. About six months ago, there was an email at some point from the CEO (or some other senior manager) saying thanks for 'bearing with them' during the problematic online banking upgrade, but that's been it. No visible changes have occurred. I would not advise new potential customers to go with First Tech. I will move my business elsewhere as soon as I identify the best alternative.

more ...
Jul 14, 2016
Consumer Credit Fraud!!!
ESBlake Account Holder

This Credit Union should be shut down.  I had settled an account, over 6 months age and just yesterday received yet another statement showing a balance.  I will be forwarding on to an attorney.  They agreed to write-off and settle on this.  Last quarter I got a statement showing this balance, I called and was assured that it would be resolved and that I would get a NEW statement this quarter showing a zero balance.

Time to get the attorneis spun up, apparently they would prefer to deal with them than a person.

When you hit hard times and need some understanding these folks are the farthest place you want to be from.  When you are trying to recover and trying to work with them, these people are the rudest uneducated bunch of banking hacks I have ever seen.

"Uncle Vinny" from the streets of Chicago had better terms and treated you with more respect than these people.

more ...
Jun 07, 2016
ONLINE BANKING PAYMENT SYSTEM IS AWFULE
Anonymous Account Holder

they used to have a simple online system that you could tell in one page what was going on. what was due and what was paying.

the new system makes it so you can not tell what is going on unless you look at 5 different pages, and even then things get lost.

bring back the old system

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations