FAIRWINDS Credit Union Reviews

2.1 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jun 18, 2017
Liars
Anonymous Account Holder

I refinanced with them and I was told that the "insurance" you get with your auto loan helps decrease my interest rate. About a year has passed and I've realized that the FEES for insurace are more than the interest I pay for the loan. Instead of paying 2.6% I am paying over 5%. They proudly announce that I have paid so little on interest over the course of the year.

more ...
May 01, 2017
Close The Apopka Branch
Anonymous Account Holder

Absolutely mind boggling.
It cost nothing to smile and be kind,afterall aren't you there to provide a level of professionalism to Members. This Branch is the worst sadly, noone cares.

more ...
Apr 10, 2017
Used to want to work with their customer
NegativeNancy1 Account Holder

I had this bank for 4 years now. When I purchased my used car I used Fairwinds as my lienholders and they were able to work with me before, giving me a decent payment plan but then they kept adding on all these fees and chargers that slowly incraesed my payments over time and added on more to my loan, making it impossible to pay it off when they had originally planned for me to pay it off. I should have paid off my car in 2 years but here I am 4 years later not even close to being done. A year ago, they added on over $900 to my loan because I switched insurance providers and they didn't really give me an explanation as to why. It increased my payments by $100 and I thought that was the end of it but then they did it again this year, adding on $783. And they will continue doing this until I get the insurance they want, but I can't afford the insurance and I can't afford these rediculous payments, and I will never seem to be able to pay off my car! My car is 12 years old and I'm paying almost $300 a month for it. It wasn't until recently that they told me the money they were adding on was insurance but I didn't know that so I've been paying twice the insurance I should be. I also can't seem to get papers proving my insurance through them so I can't cancel my current insurance. Sadly, I can't leave Fairwinds becuase my car is 12 years old and no other bank will take my car and I don't want to get a cash loan. But once I pay off my car I will NEVER do business with Fariwinds again nor reccomend anyone to them.

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Secret Fees and Charges!
Anonymous Account Holder

They convinced me to sign up as a naive college student at my university. I opened a small account with them and had it for about a year. Apparently they were charging me a bunch of fees they didn’t tell me about when I applied. They drained my funds to zero and gave me no notice for months until a debt collector contacted me about the unpaid overage charges. They claimed to have contacted me, but I got no calls or emails from them. They have pulled this scheme on many other college kids at my university. DO NOT TRUST THEM.

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Best service I have ever had in a bank.
Anonymous Account Holder

They have always been there when I needed anything. I could be out shopping for a car, call them and they would contact me back within the hour with authorization. Never any issues. 

more ...
Jan 23, 2017
Terrible!
Lumart Account Holder

They will try to get your business, once they get you they will not work with you to fulfill your needs. 

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
Horrible
lcarsonwynn Account Holder

I been with this bank for over 10 years and when I apply for something...there is always an excuse for denial. This credit union is just another bank. They no longer care about the relationship established over the years that a credit union used to value. I will be taking my money out and going elsewhere. Might as well go to a regular bank since I am getting regular bank issues.

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
Great credit union bad for savers!
drjhyde Account Holder

Been member for over 30 years, Great customer service, My only beef is their CD rates could be better!

more ...
Oct 15, 2016
Horrible!!! Not what it used to be!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't bother! I've been with them over 22 years and LOVED them but recently they have changed a LOT! They charge all kinds of fees that they never charged before and don't disclose they are charging them, and their customer service is terrible! Even when they make an error and apologize for it, they still treat me like it was my fault and refuse to help me saying they've "already extended too many courtesies!"  I never asked for courtesies. I only asked that they fix the results if their error which they admitted to! I don't believe that's the proper way to treat a loyal customer of over 22 years with 13 accounts and multiple loans over the years! Do yourself a favor and find another credit union that will value your business! That's what I will be doing!!!

more ...
Sep 19, 2016
Terrible, clsoing checings
Anonymous Account Holder

They have terrible fees they charged me an pverdraft fee AFTER they allowed me to take money out of my atm and while i was on vacation i had to call them and have them explain why they did this and she replied "she did not know when they apply the overdraft fee"  i wikl be closing my checkings account with them and using my chase account.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations