Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

El Paso Area Teachers Federal Credit Union (TFCU)

1.0 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

1 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 15, 2016
AWFUL
Anonymous Account Holder

They hold your checks. Can't use your money!

debit cards issues, card constantly not working. 

Phone number on card is useless, they claimed not to know who TFCU is!

card blocked AGAIN!

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
Negative attitude by manager on westside
Anonymous Account Holder

They created an issue on my car loan. I put in my check and they held the funds. Who does this?  

My car loan didn't get the payment as a result and my other payments bounced. I got fees at both ends.

Iasked the manager to remove the fees for what happened. Plain and simple he tells me No.

my whole check once they released the funds got eaten up with fees. I just closed my account.  I WILL TELL EVERYONE ICAN ABOUT HOW BAD THIS PLACE IS.

 Can't wait to get my car paid off and be out of this place.  

more ...
Aug 11, 2016
Manners Please!
Anonymous Account Holder

I have never been spoken to do rudely.

I called into questions fee the credit union billed me for. Upon doing this the representative just got so defensive instead of being calm and explaining what it was for.

I spoke to a higher up and it got more crazy. She was trying to put me down saying they're billing me the thirty bucks (or whatever it was) so that I could learn responsibility.  She said that it's not that they want my money, they just want to show me to be responsible. If that's the case, I told her why don't you donate the fee to a charity.  She quickly said they can't do that.

In all honesty I don't care about a fee that's deserves. This was not deserved. They deposited my payment in the wrong account with the teller. The thing that upset me was it was not my mistake but rather the tellers error.

youd think they'd at least give you a break when it's questionable. Not at this place. TFCU is starting to really change for the bad.

im opening a new account elsewhere.

more ...
Jun 30, 2016
SICKENING!
Anonymous Account Holder

What do you get when you trust teachers federal credit union?  We'll I got screwed!

The women on the phone explained things one way but yet I do what she said and I end up with ninety dollars worth of fees.

when I called to get this fixed they not only refused but got nasty with me. The phone place manager and all.

complete scam!  Don't fall into their fee trap by banking here.  They're staff treats us bad upon complaining.

bank anywhere but here

more ...
May 17, 2016
I'm not going to bank here anymore
Anonymous Account Holder

I put a deposit and then two payments went in. They paid them but made me pay an extra $60 in charges. They make the payment I made go in second and the charges go in first and they say it's courtesy pay. Whatever the heck that is!  My deposit was already in though. When I called them they just get sour and lecture me about their system. Just gross the manner that they spoke to me. I'm outta of this craphole. This is the third time they did this and it just keeps costing me. Biggest gripe is how they talked to me on the phone. They won't credit extra charges even when I proved the time my cash deposit went in. So rude in how they treated me. They talked to me like I was 5. What bank talks to customers like this. My complaint is like the one under here that they want me to be more responsible. What about them being more polite and fixing their mess up. My **** deposit was in first and it was cash. I'm opening a new account tomorrow at a proper bank. TFCU should treat customers better.

more ...
May 05, 2016
Exact same complaint here
Anonymous Account Holder

I wanted to like Teachers FCU but they don't make it easy. Fees come out of nowhere and trying to inquire about them makes them upset. Want to ruin your day, call them and complain about a fee. They take it personal and become argumentative.

There are good credit unions and this is NOT one of them.

more ...
May 05, 2016
Noticing the same treatment
Anonymous Account Holder

I too have seen the phone support to be like this.

it seems they always want to control you and the conversation. The second it gets off of you agreeing with them, I've had them get ugly with me too.

TFCU is not what it used to be.

more ...
May 03, 2016
Horrific Fees!!!!!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I too have been getting hammered with fees. Called to ask and they seemed surprised that I questioned them. The most annoying supervisor spoke to me. She said "ma'am those are the fees and we can't remove them. You have to pay them."  I said okay, explain to me why their on my account. She gave me some nonsense that my deposit got applied after my check even tho my deposit was put in first. When I tried explaining I just got an upset supervisor who could give a ****. They don't get anymore nasty. She was just nasty to me. The fees stuck and now I'll share my experience for years and years to come to avoid El Paso Teachers Federal Credit Union. Most banks would at least listen or explain it do the customer could understand. She was just nasty.  The whole phone staff is always nasty if you address a problem. When my loan is paid I'm leaving this crap hole

more ...
Apr 27, 2016
FEES AND ARROGANT PHONE STAFF
Anonymous Account Holder

We've banked here for four years. They've always been good at Joe Battle location. Recently we started getting some fees on our account. Seems to be a bank error, only asked them to explain and they got rude. When my wife called to also inquire, she got another rude rep who told her there's nothing they can do that it was our fault. No proper explanation though. Phone staff was just rude. We paid them and we're closing out account. Thank god we finished paying out car loan here, that was a problem too with the odd error but defensive phone staff when we'd address the problem. Will bank elsewhere!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations