Digital Federal Credit Union (DCU)

2.4 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 02, 2016
061jrs Account Holder

For the majority of people in order to be eligible to be a member you will have to join an organization from a list they provided. I joined outreach for schools and the cost was $10. Plus $5 minimum amount needed in savings account to join. So 15 bucks for me membership.

This place approved me for visa with $1,000 when NOBODY else would due to lack of credit history and too few accounts. Thought I was going to have to buy a secured card but nope! Currently have ck tu 633 with three accounts open and tons of inquiries with one item in collections (cable bill/ ex girlfriend issue).

They did deny my refi on my car but a very polite cs rep called and said with only 7 month long credit history and one account in collections they just can't do it but if I show 6-8 more months of on time payments they'll " definitely honor my request for refi at that time.". Hopefully he knows what he's talking about. Either way nobody else gave me a visa even with calling and very politely laying it on thick to all the recon lines. Dcu gave me one with a line of 1k. So I'm well on my way and super stoked I didn't have to cough up 200$ for secured card.

They do one hard inquiry for membership. Then another for any product. But with that second inquiry you can apply for multiple products like visa, refi,etc. As long as its within 45 days of second inquiry they'll just use that multiple times.

Free checking
Free ATM using their machines or in their partner network if you have direct deposit and a loan of sorts with them or sign up for e statements. Two of three your choice.

Will reimburse $5 monthly for using foreign Atms.

Free monthly fico score

Tomorrow I'm going to get a quote for car insurance and maybe drop progressive.

Talked to cs twice and they were friendly and helpful. Website seems decent (nothing cutting edge) and they have an app. Overall I'm happy to have a bank now did I mention they gave me a visa when nobody would!

On other forums people obsess over the great rates they got on refi, even people with decent/ good refi, but especially people with outrageous loans they needed to ditch. I've read people going from 24% to 4%. And people going from 4% to 1.75.

Hopefully they'll offer good car insurance and I can save some cash and six months from now get out of my car loan which I think is the worst car loan anyone has ever had. Ever! The visa should help too.

Super stoked with nothing bad to say.

Thank you dcu!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 21, 2016
False Promises
Anonymous Account Holder

I got an Auto loan approved with DCU for a bit higher rate, as i knew my credit report was not so great at that point. After talking to the customer support personnel, they have promised a reduction in interest rate as a promotional offer (0.5% deduction) with direct deposit and a 0.25% deduction in interest rate, for every 3 consecutive payments on time. Now this is where the promises failed, i made sure that i asked them this question of, does a partial direct deposit come under this promotional offer and they have agreed for this. But, after 90 days of my loan starting, they have revoked the deduction interest rate saying that they would require a full direct deposit, which was never a statement from them. When i contacted them about this issue, they have some customer service people with half knowledge of what is happening and what needs to e done. Neverthless, i was declined this offer and i did not bother about this, as i knew it would lot of time from my personal schedule. After a few months, i made a wrong payment, instead of making a regular one, i made a principal only amount. I agree this was my mistake, remember the 0.25% deduction in interest for every 3 consecutive payments ? Well, they stopped this offer from that time, about 7-8 months now. When i tried to contact the customer support, they have argued that the offer is no longer valid for new customers. I know, i'm a old customer. It took almost 30-45 minutes for me to get this to their head. And now i got another new rule thrown at me, saying that from the time of wrong payment month, it will take another 3 months of consecutive payments to qualify for this offer and it will start from the next 3 payments. Basically, the wrong payment was in February, i had to pay my bill for March, April and May to qualify for this offer and from then i always made ontime paymets. So according to their new rule, there should be a 2 0.25% deduction in interest rate (June, July, Augusta, September, October, November). But here comes the reason for my title, the interest rate is still the same. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND DCU to any of my friends/family. I'm just waiting to get out from DCU. I wish i could give 0 star.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 15, 2017
Easy refinance.
Anonymous Account Holder

All done online. 20 second phone call.

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
So far so good
Anonymous Account Holder

I'm impressed with their interest rate, although there isn't a branch near me their are plenty of local co- branches available for ATM use

more ...
Feb 23, 2017
bad customer service and bad credit card
Senyy Account Holder

The DCU credit card is nothing special and I got approved for it when I was younger. Now that I have experience owning better credit cards, I realize that this one is probably the worst that I have. This review is mainly focused on how frustrating its been to close my accounts at DCU. I have a checking, savings, and a DCU credit card which I never use. I paid off the card and sent all required forms to close the accounts. I later find that I still owe some money which is fine. One man I spoke to over the chatline named Derek completely confused me and said there was a $10 fee to make a payment over the online payment center that they have. I wanted to make one last payment directly to my visa which ive done every month since Ive had the card. He told me to make the payment to my savings account and then transfer it to my visa. I was still confused about where this $10 fee was coming from and he was no help at all. He had to ask a supervisor. I go ahead and just do what he instructed. Over the next couple days, I check my DCU accounts again and my accounts as well as my payments have disappeared. I finally talked to someone on the phone (Mominah who was a big help-she had good customer service). Turns out they closed my accounts but not my visa before I was able to transfer that last payment. She informed that they shouldnt have done that because I still owed a balance but for some reason they did. I had to make another payment and now I have to wait for a check for the first payment that went through that they closed. Its true that some people tell you different things and because of their mistake, I have to go back and forth. Im glad that once this last payment goes through, all my accounts at dcu will be closed.  

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Best in bank including less charges
Anonymous Account Holder

Free checks, surcharge free atms, more faster in deposit and so on.

more ...
Feb 02, 2017
Ending relation with DCU
DSAGAR Account Holder

1) got my checking account, savings account, credit card with DCU

2) got a auto loan, then started saving money from salary in savings account

3) payed auto loan emi , credit card bill promptly for 6 months. (have 4 more credit cards from different vendors, and have 100% payment history till date, over all credit utilization below 10%)

4) Had a very good credit score near to 750, debt to income ration below 10% (including my auto loan)

5) had a emergency situation and wanted a personal loan, approached dcu

6) got denied, did not want a hard query to just go wasted, asked if they can increase my credit card limit to whatever I qualify for.

7) credit card  credit limit increase was also denied. 

8) Well then , I logged online and PAID OFF THE AUTO LOAN in full. No more business with DCU. 

9) Well if they dont trust me with my credit score, income, debt to income ratio, I dont trust them either. 

10) Relationship with good customers matters. Good luck !

more ...
Mar 09, 2017

Why did you post the same review 3 times?

 
Mar 12, 2017

to drop their rating i guess

 
Jan 25, 2017
Very Bad Experience- No auto finance.
kothagadi Account Holder

I have been customer of DCU since last 3 years. Recently I had some bad expreince. I have an auto loan with them and they wanted a new title and all of a sudden they hiken my rate of intrest from 1.99% to 18-20%. After I saw this on my account i got realized and called them to see whats going on they said they wanted new title and stating DCU as lien holder and they have told that they would be removing that 18% and charged money after they the new title. I have provided them with new title and they reverted back the intrest to 1.99% but they are not willing to pay that extra intrest charged. I have requested for the auto payment option but this was never taken care aswell. mobile app crashes and it doesnt work outside USA if you are out on vacation outside US..They are just around to squeeze as much money as possible beware!!!!!!!!!

Sri

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Great service, greater rates.
cjamesb Account Holder

I don't understand these negative reviews.  I was jus starting to rebuild credit, I had a a pretty low score..  DCU got me back on track with a auto loan at 3.74 down from my 27.99.. Got me a 5k card with 13.5 intrest. Those rates are unheard of with someone with credit like mine was.  Now I am abot to buy a house, many thanks to DCU with their giving me a chance and allowing me to rebuild my credit with them.  Recently got a personal loan for $5,000.00 the money was in my account the day after replying, I never even had to go to the branch. 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
FAKE Credit Union
biswa0 Account Holder

I wanted to apply for refinance auto loan, once i applied online which said 1.74% with checking account. I got a mail saying your loan is being processed, some one will call you. Instead of someone calling i got a mail that your loan is approved to proceed further to register yourself for saving account.

I got registered with themselves by paying a DONATION amount and a deposit. On successfully registration, i got a mail to call there call center, where they asked registration number. I had to ask many time for offered APR finally i hear the APR(3.99%) they offered is higher than current rate which is no where close to 1.74% as listed in there website. They said your credit score is lower, for which i just had the credit score from EXPERIAN WEBSITE that my scores are more than 732 which was also in track with the letter sent to me couple of months back from BoA when they pulled my credit report for credit card. 

When i asked to SHARE THE CREDIT REPORT, as they have done a hard pull, they BACKED OUT. As i had EXPERIAN REPORT(taken a day before) by myself before the call, there score had a DIFFERENCE of 60-70 points. WHICH CLEARLY TELL THEY FAKE THE CREDIT SCORE TO INCREASE THE APR. Also when i asked to CLOSE THE SAVING ACCOUNT they DONT WANT TO RETURN THE DONATION. The customer care DISCONNECTED the call  ABRUPTLY by telling let me clarify with supervisor.

more ...
Jan 25, 2017

*****UPDATE*********
Had a personal call with DCU executive. have given a feedback about the process. He was kind enough to process my refunds without condition. Also gave me insight of the approval process and criteria. After the call i was convinced and decided to keep the account for future loans. I dont find way to update earlier review, hence the comment

 
Mar 09, 2017

DCU's score was probably a real fico whereas the score you received on your own was probably a vantage score. Most le lenders use fico scores because they've been around a lot longer than vantage scores. Also, there are different variations of fico scores. One for credit card lending, one for mortgage and another for auto. Just because the score DCU used didn't match the one you previously saw doesn't mean it was not accurate. It's more possible that the higher score you were looking at was probably the "fako" score.

 
Jan 07, 2017
Terrible service from LOAN DEPT
Anonymous Account Holder

If you will EVER look for a loan, do NOT BOTHER..  I have been a customer for 19 years (my 19th anniversary was days after the initial online loan application.)

My loan was DENIED on the basis that I was "slow to pay" on a car loan 15 years ago with this same bank.  all credit cards and loans have been paid off for years.  NO consideration for customer history and was told that a "local bank" might help me better.  (I moved out of Massachusetts, have lived on West Coast and East Coast, and in total have lived in 4 states and always kept DCU as a secondary bank.)

USELESS.  The only response was a parroted repeat of that I had not had a lot of credit use after paying off debts.

No offer of a lesser amount, higher interest rate, offer of secured loan or anything else.  was told to TRY ANOHER LOCAL BANK.

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Audit with no warning
luminiferous Account Holder

DCU claims membership is widely open, as long as you join one of their associated non-profits.  After my account had been open for a month, my account was locked and I had to send in lots of documentation (W2, pay stubs, social security card, driver's license).  To make matters worse, nobody in their call center could help, and the only way to get a response to my inquiries was to involve the BBB in the back-and-forth!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations