Digital Federal Credit Union (DCU) Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
30 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 20, 2013
There Great!
Anonymous Account Holder

I became a member of DCU after my discharged chapter 7 bankruptcy in hopes of rebuilding my credit score, at DCU they are amazing, they offer the secured credit card that reports to all credit bureau's with NO annual fee! Simply Amazing!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 21, 2016
False Promises
Anonymous Account Holder

I got an Auto loan approved with DCU for a bit higher rate, as i knew my credit report was not so great at that point. After talking to the customer support personnel, they have promised a reduction in interest rate as a promotional offer (0.5% deduction) with direct deposit and a 0.25% deduction in interest rate, for every 3 consecutive payments on time. Now this is where the promises failed, i made sure that i asked them this question of, does a partial direct deposit come under this promotional offer and they have agreed for this. But, after 90 days of my loan starting, they have revoked the deduction interest rate saying that they would require a full direct deposit, which was never a statement from them. When i contacted them about this issue, they have some customer service people with half knowledge of what is happening and what needs to e done. Neverthless, i was declined this offer and i did not bother about this, as i knew it would lot of time from my personal schedule. After a few months, i made a wrong payment, instead of making a regular one, i made a principal only amount. I agree this was my mistake, remember the 0.25% deduction in interest for every 3 consecutive payments ? Well, they stopped this offer from that time, about 7-8 months now. When i tried to contact the customer support, they have argued that the offer is no longer valid for new customers. I know, i'm a old customer. It took almost 30-45 minutes for me to get this to their head. And now i got another new rule thrown at me, saying that from the time of wrong payment month, it will take another 3 months of consecutive payments to qualify for this offer and it will start from the next 3 payments. Basically, the wrong payment was in February, i had to pay my bill for March, April and May to qualify for this offer and from then i always made ontime paymets. So according to their new rule, there should be a 2 0.25% deduction in interest rate (June, July, Augusta, September, October, November). But here comes the reason for my title, the interest rate is still the same. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND DCU to any of my friends/family. I'm just waiting to get out from DCU. I wish i could give 0 star.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jul 07, 2017
Deceptive practices....
Missbrown84 Account Holder

I applied for membership and paid for my organization affiliation listed on their page as well as a deposit to the checking and savings accounts I was seeking to open. I provided copies of my drivers license, social security card, and utility bill. Was sent the welcome packet and email shortly after with my debut card and membership number and pin. Then a week later they closed my account unexpectedly and cited that they were unable to verify who I was. Wth???

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
awesome
Anonymous Account Holder

i do all my banking with DCU have been for 4 years now i an so glad i moved there great helpful people great auto loan rates now going for a morgage and im sure its going to be a stress free

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Slowest staff I have ever encountered.
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't be in a rush. Also drive up window takes forever as well.

more ...
Jun 25, 2017
Great cust service
Anonymous Account Holder

Very nice customer service always pleasant and willing to help in branches 

more ...
May 29, 2017
Bad Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

Terrible Customer Service. I have been a DCU member for a long time. Supervisor Mike is so rude. He doesn't want to hear my request and he came up with a preset mind and said NO.

more ...
May 25, 2017
Terrible technology, poor training.
Anonymous Account Holder

If you move from out of their area or plan to move away from the area you should AVOID. Their web app goes down constantly and it is impossible to transfer money from outside area bank in a timely manner. All I wanted to do was wire transfer 10k from my original bank to DCU to buy a truck. They made it an absolute end-to-end nightmare. Website never works, and employees are nice but unhelpful. Why they can't allow wire transfers the easy way like every other bank I don't understand. Take it from me, if you need to transfer money to a DCU account from another bank there will probably be a bunch of issues and poor assistance. It's INSANE.

more ...
May 13, 2017
DCU is GREAT! Happy for 5 years !!!
KJ2317 Account Holder

DCU has great credit card rates & car loans! Easy process! Mobile deposits process right away ! Direct deposit goes in 2 days earlier than most banks! I am more than happy with all my accounts at DCU ! Always have great customer service! Always helpful! 

Thank You DCU 

more ...
May 06, 2017
Kept some of my check money for days
Anonymous Account Holder

Been a member for years, never had any of my payroll held for over 5 days, i cash my check every Thurs the same time.. they tell me its their policy and will not help me. The employees who talked to me just wanted to rush me off the phone ans tell me what i want to hear. Makes no sense and I have bills to pay. 

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
Bad
Anonymous Account Holder

Terrible customer service and they won't help you in any way even after you have been a good member for a long time.There are much better credit unions and banks out there.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 10, 2017

Very true. I am closing relation with this entity.

 
Mar 30, 2017
Behind the times in Technology
Anonymous Account Holder

They cannot accept payoffs or payments greater than $2500 in their online portal.  They want me to do multiple deposits into my savings account and then pay off the loan.  Wasted time, wasted steps, lack-luster technology. 

You'd do better with another credit union.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations