Digital Federal Credit Union (DCU) Reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars
34 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 28, 2016
They've approved me at decent rates
CallieKin Account Holder

I like DCU. Ive had 2 auto loans through them and a credit card. Customer service (via phone) isn't excellent but the agents have been friendly if a bit clueless at times. Some have been great, some fairly useless. The website is a bit convoluted and the payment center was not easy to find or figure out. The service agents in the branches have been great though even if I have to drive an hour to get to one. In teh end DCU has approved me for products at good rates when I was being denied by every major bank. If I have to jump through hoops a little to get good credit products then so be it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 02, 2017
Ending relation with DCU
DSAGAR Account Holder

1) got my checking account, savings account, credit card with DCU

2) got a auto loan, then started saving money from salary in savings account

3) payed auto loan emi , credit card bill promptly for 6 months. (have 4 more credit cards from different vendors, and have 100% payment history till date, over all credit utilization below 10%)

4) Had a very good credit score near to 750, debt to income ration below 10% (including my auto loan)

5) had a emergency situation and wanted a personal loan, approached dcu

6) got denied, did not want a hard query to just go wasted, asked if they can increase my credit card limit to whatever I qualify for.

7) credit card  credit limit increase was also denied. 

8) Well then , I logged online and PAID OFF THE AUTO LOAN in full. No more business with DCU. 

9) Well if they dont trust me with my credit score, income, debt to income ratio, I dont trust them either. 

10) Relationship with good customers matters. Good luck !

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 05, 2017
Absolutely Perfect
Anonymous Account Holder

I read all the negative reviews on this page, thought I should write my experience. Flash back Dec 2012. I had an Auto note with BB&T for a car loan at 7.5 APR, I approached DCU with a credit score 685, they gave me a car loan at 2.49 - .5 i.e. 1.99% with a direct deposit. Huge win, I have been a DCU customer for past 5 years, 3 auto notes, with 1 closed, I never had a better experience with any other bank in united states

1. Reasonably well-Maintained website

2. Well Average iPhone App

3. Good Customer service

4. Amazing rates

5. Mobile check deposit

6. Thursday credit of paycheck, Bank of America does it on Friday AM. 

Only complaint is DCU should bring back their 1.49 with Direct Deposit Auto APR back, I will have my next auto note on you then!!!! :)

more ...
Aug 05, 2017
Absolutely Perfect
Anonymous Account Holder

I read all the negative reviews on this page, thought I should write my experience. Flash back Dec 2012. I had an Auto note with BB&T for a car loan at 7.5 APR, I approached DCU with a credit score 685, they gave me a car loan at 2.49 - .5 i.e. 1.99% with a direct deposit. Huge win, I have been a DCU customer for past 5 years, 3 auto notes, with 1 closed, I never had a better experience with any other bank in united states

1. Reasonably well-Maintained website

2. Well Average iPhone App

3. Good Customer service

4. Amazing rates

5. Mobile check deposit

6. Thursday credit of paycheck, Bank of America does it on Friday AM. 

Only complaint is DCU should bring back their 1.49 with Direct Deposit Auto APR back, I will have my Porche on you then!!!! :)

more ...
Jul 26, 2017
Incompetence abounds here.
Anonymous Account Holder

Want to make a payment? Ready to pay off a loan? To bad. We don't accept payments over XXXX or allow you to pay off a loan. Enjoy your late fees.

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
It was good, now I'm being audited
brianmwhitney Account Holder

I've had my account (checking/savings and credit card) for a week. Now I'm locked out of my account and can't move money between accounts. My direct deposit will hit that account in days. All I've been told is it is a random audit and there isn't a time frame when it will be completed. WTF?

more ...
Jul 07, 2017
Deceptive practices....
Missbrown84 Account Holder

I applied for membership and paid for my organization affiliation listed on their page as well as a deposit to the checking and savings accounts I was seeking to open. I provided copies of my drivers license, social security card, and utility bill. Was sent the welcome packet and email shortly after with my debut card and membership number and pin. Then a week later they closed my account unexpectedly and cited that they were unable to verify who I was. Wth???

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
awesome
Anonymous Account Holder

i do all my banking with DCU have been for 4 years now i an so glad i moved there great helpful people great auto loan rates now going for a morgage and im sure its going to be a stress free

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Slowest staff I have ever encountered.
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't be in a rush. Also drive up window takes forever as well.

more ...
Jun 25, 2017
Great cust service
Anonymous Account Holder

Very nice customer service always pleasant and willing to help in branches 

more ...
May 29, 2017
Bad Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

Terrible Customer Service. I have been a DCU member for a long time. Supervisor Mike is so rude. He doesn't want to hear my request and he came up with a preset mind and said NO.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations