Digital Federal Credit Union (DCU) Reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars
35 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 18, 2017
Great service, greater rates.
cjamesb Account Holder

I don't understand these negative reviews.  I was jus starting to rebuild credit, I had a a pretty low score..  DCU got me back on track with a auto loan at 3.74 down from my 27.99.. Got me a 5k card with 13.5 intrest. Those rates are unheard of with someone with credit like mine was.  Now I am abot to buy a house, many thanks to DCU with their giving me a chance and allowing me to rebuild my credit with them.  Recently got a personal loan for $5,000.00 the money was in my account the day after replying, I never even had to go to the branch. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 25, 2017
Terrible technology, poor training.
Anonymous Account Holder

If you move from out of their area or plan to move away from the area you should AVOID. Their web app goes down constantly and it is impossible to transfer money from outside area bank in a timely manner. All I wanted to do was wire transfer 10k from my original bank to DCU to buy a truck. They made it an absolute end-to-end nightmare. Website never works, and employees are nice but unhelpful. Why they can't allow wire transfers the easy way like every other bank I don't understand. Take it from me, if you need to transfer money to a DCU account from another bank there will probably be a bunch of issues and poor assistance. It's INSANE.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 09, 2017
They are great to work with
Anonymous Account Holder

I have used DCU remotely for 30 years as my prime bank.  Their people have always been helpful and freindly.  I have had numerous Car loans through them, it does take a bit more forethought since they do not have a local office.  For getting cash I can use local CU ATMs and for deposits I can now use the photo deposit through the phone.

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
They are great to work with
Anonymous Account Holder

I have used DCU remotely for 30 years as my prime bank.  Their people have always been helpful and freindly.  I have had numerous Car loans through them, it does take a bit more forethought since they do not have a local office.  For getting cash I can use local CU ATMs and for deposits I can now use the photo deposit through the phone.

more ...
Oct 24, 2017
DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT USING DCU
Anonymous Account Holder

DCU has the WORST customer service I have ever experienced. The bank lied to me about my credit limit and has never followed through with customer service requests. This credit union does not care about their customers, I would never recommend them to anyone. To whomever is this do yourself a favor and learn from my mistake. 

more ...
Oct 23, 2017
Having loan from DCU has been great!
abhi9av Account Holder

I felt the application and approval was were easy. They gave me a great rate for my loan and I love their customer service. I completely rely on them and have recommended it to many other friends.

more ...
Oct 12, 2017
Unnecessary overdraft charges
Anonymous Account Holder

No settings to avoid overdraft by rejecting transaction. Would not let me pay off my account with ease. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 03, 2017

That's not how it works. It's called balancing your account, not spending more that what you have and paying attention....

 
Oct 12, 2017
They charge overdraft for denying
Anonymous Account Holder

They charge overdraft for denying a transaction too. The customer representatives were very rude.

more ...
Oct 12, 2017
They charge overdraft for denying
Anonymous Account Holder

They charge overdraft for denying a transaction too. The customer representatives were very rude.

more ...
Oct 12, 2017
Scam
Anonymous Account Holder

Will not let me pay-off my loan

more ...
Sep 20, 2017
vbesack Account Holder

DCU is a horrible organization to bank with. I financed my solar loan through them and then set up autopay when it was done. I've received two late payment notices, one in January and another one just a week ago. When I called to ask why I was receiving these since I'm on autopay, I was informed that solar loans are set up as 4 loans and that when one is paid off, the other kicks in and autopay won't cover the payment. I was NEVER told this. Not only that, but they tried to blame me for not making the payment on time and tried to claim that I had changed the settings online. I never logged in after I set up autopay.

They are a sham and I've spoken to my solar company to avoid using DCU.

more ...
Aug 05, 2017
Absolutely Perfect
Anonymous Account Holder

I read all the negative reviews on this page, thought I should write my experience. Flash back Dec 2012. I had an Auto note with BB&T for a car loan at 7.5 APR, I approached DCU with a credit score 685, they gave me a car loan at 2.49 - .5 i.e. 1.99% with a direct deposit. Huge win, I have been a DCU customer for past 5 years, 3 auto notes, with 1 closed, I never had a better experience with any other bank in united states

1. Reasonably well-Maintained website

2. Well Average iPhone App

3. Good Customer service

4. Amazing rates

5. Mobile check deposit

6. Thursday credit of paycheck, Bank of America does it on Friday AM. 

Only complaint is DCU should bring back their 1.49 with Direct Deposit Auto APR back, I will have my next auto note on you then!!!! :)

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations