Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Desert Schools Federal Credit Union

1.0 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 02, 2016
Charged $ 9,- for a deposit of $ 1.37
Anonymous Account Holder

I  opened  my  account  only  a  few  months  ago  and  after  one  bad  experience  followed  the  other  I  am  going  to  leave  again:

*  Deposited  Well's   Fargo  cashier's   check -  Desert  Schools  put  a  hold  on  it  for  2  weeks  and  when  I  explained  to  a  supervisor  that  this  was  against  the  rules  of  the  Federal  Reserve,  he  acted  super-arrogant  telling  me  that  their  rules  don't  apply  to  them.   I  filed  a  complaint  and  received  an  apology  letter.

*  Cash  deposits  at  their  ATMs   are  held  for  several  business  days

*   When  I  opened  my  account  I  told  the  guy  several  times  that  my  street  address  is  not  a  mailing  address  and   that  the  mail  would  be  returned  if  sent  to  the  street  address.   they  entered my  PO  box  into  the  system  and  still  sent  my  statements  to  the  street  address.  I  never  received  them,  even  after  several  months.

*   When  I  made  a  deposit  of  $ 6,501.37   ($ 1.37  in  coins,  the  rest  in  $ 100  bills)  they  charged  me  almost  $ 10  for  depositing  the  coins.   The  teller  did  not  mention  that  the  deposit  of  $ 1.37  in  coins  would  cost  me  almost  $ 10,-

*  A  few  weeks  after  opening  my  "free"   account  I  received  a  notice  that  they  would  charge  me  $ 24,-  per  year  if  I  would  not  sign  up  for   "electronic  statements"  and  agree   to  their  electronic  statement  policy.

more ...
Sep 17, 2016
Do not put your money in DSCU! Run..Fast
Anonymous Account Holder

My hub and I moved here from Southern Cal and thought a credit union would be our best bet. So we went to DS. Omg do I regret it! They are the worst in every area possible. They have unrealistic expectations for granting credit and when you do apply for credit, there customer service is so bad they can't even explain or give correct info! They never return phone calls or answer emails. We applied to refi a car and they gave us bad info and we ended up declining and they did 4 hard inquiries on our credit. They are not for the customer! Watch out!! 

more ...
Aug 19, 2016
Lacking in customer service
thatchikkarissa Account Holder

I've had multiple accounts with Desert Schools for over 14 years and their customer service is no longer what it used to be. They no longer treat you like a "member" just a number. There are many other options out there and this is no longer a good one.

more ...
Aug 01, 2016
Will not apply for an auto loan here.ekc
Anonymous Account Holder

I was thinking about banking with desert schools and also applying for an auto loan but based on the reviews, I guess I will be checking out Arizona Federal!

more ...
Jul 12, 2016
Poor Customer Service and Efficiency...
Zeigh Account Holder

I have been a DSCU member for 26 years. Over that time I have maintained an excellent credit rating and held a variety of loans through them in good standing. In the beginning they were friendly, good at their job, and willing to go the extra mile to keep my business. Unfortunately their overall customer service has declined greatly in the last 6-8 years with robotic employees who only narrowly know their job responsibilities, are unable to solve basic business problems, show poor accountability when such trouble arises (“I don’t know.” should NEVER be uttered in business unless it is followed by “But I will find out for you.”), and fail miserably in providing the confidence that someone who holds your money should. Some examples are electrionic checks that they send and vanish, wire transfers that they loose, phone calls not returned, and more. I have written several letters detailing the various problems to their management, but only receive canned apologies in return or a rare caring supervisor that calls back, only to leave for another position or company after providing false promises.

If it were not for the fact that I have so many automatic deposits/payments and three loans with DSCU, I would close all accounts and move to one of their competitors. My suggestion is to avoid DSCU at all costs and choose another bank.

more ...
May 03, 2016
No loyalty
Anonymous Account Holder

T was a customer for 18-years. Had to file BK because of medical expenses. Desert Schools closed my checking account. Sad...SAD ...customer service!

more ...
Mar 25, 2016
Worse CU ever
Anonymous Account Holder

Worst bank ever!  If they are non profit the CEO must be raking in a ton of money in salary.  

Don't apply for any credit here either unless you have unblemished credit.  Even with a 680 score if you have any prior bankruptcy showing, no matter how old it is, they will decline you and hurt your credit in the process.

The reps will hang up on you then when you call back they will say they had a "fire drill" or some other excuse.  Apparently this is acceptable behavior here.

more ...
Mar 24, 2016
Terrible
Anonymous Account Holder

I went into the branch on 32nd St and Bell to cash a check that was given to me, I had all of my ID with me but since I was not a member, they wouldnt cash the check. I made a comment to the teller helping me, I stated, "now I know why you have such bad reviews" I was shocked at her sarcastic, response "we have all good reviews". I would find another bank to do your business. As you can see, they have BAD reviews. The teller, that was helping me should be reprimanded for her sarcastic attitude.

more ...
Mar 24, 2016
They act like a major bank. No CU perks
Anonymous Account Holder

This is the worst bank I have done business with.  Customer service reps will lie to you and hang up the phone on you if they don't want to look into your problems.  They will make it difficult to get deposits in and will hold your money for up to 10 days sometimes then let things bounce because your funds are on hold too long.  NSF fees are a big part of their revenue.  They also charge more than most other big banks in all their fees.  Their website is often down and if you apply for any credit and ask what the minimum score to apply is or anything else they'll tell you they cannot release that but will decline you after the fact.  Truly the worst service I've ever received at any bank.  They are not willing to work with their customers on anything.  Save yourself the headache and just pick another bank to give your business to.

more ...
Dec 08, 2015
Go somewhere else
Anonymous Account Holder

They are unorganized and can't seem to perform simple tasks. I applied for a vehicle loan and was approved, took them entirely too long to figure out what was going on and when I called for an update they had the information incorrect, rather than to CALL me they just let it sit around. You are not a priority there. They do not have it together. Go somewhere else, don't waste your time here. There are plenty of other banks who know what they are doing. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations