Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Community First Credit Union

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
1.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 14, 2013
A great place to bank
jeberino Account Holder

Years ago I was with Community First CU. My business had gone under, so my credit wasn't good. I needed a car because the one I had wasn't going to make it through winter. I was hoping to borrow a few hundred dollars and called to get pre=approved for a loan. they looked at my credit, but because I had been a member, also looked at me as a person. Even with my shot credit they loaned me $7,000 which at the time helped buy a very decent vehicle and put me back on track to rebuilding y credit. I will always be grateful to Community First and highly recommend them to everyone I talk with from the area.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 03, 2014
We will be changing
Anonymous Account Holder

We have been customers at Community First for nearly 20 years because this was the preferred financial institution of my employer.  The people at the counters are wonderful but everything else about C1CU has been dissappointing.  We would have lost the home we were purchasing because they were so slow providing the paperwork after approving our loan.  We ended up working with Wells Fargo to do a rush mortgage so that we wouldn't lose out to another buyer.  Any time they have told us they would do something they have NOT followed through and completed it.  Now that I am not restricted by my employer I am changing financial institutions and will be so glad to get away from this one.

more ...

Reviews (20)

Add Review
Sep 30, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been w/this financial institution for decades - unless you have a large banak account and excelletn credit - they will rob you blind - they reserve the primo offers for those that are perfect - DO NOT get sucked into their ads - THEY DO NOT ASSIST AND THEY WILL FINDA AWAY TO SCREW YOU. an example - by consolodating your low interest loans into a higher interest, longer term loan...REALLY WTF EHY WOULD I WANT TO DO THAT - answer - "to lower my monthly payment"...hmm, so I would have a short term fix rather than a long term one...hmm...yeah I respectfully decline!  I think they really should be investigated for fraudulent activities, I have experieced very questionable accounting practices.

more ...
Sep 15, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

They closed my account, sent me a check for the balance. But, I have a "charge off" for $100+ on my credit reportđź–•

more ...
Jul 20, 2016
We'll find a way...not to help.
Anonymous Account Holder

This place boasts about doing all these amazing things for their customers, but the fact of the matter is, they will only help if your bank account is fat, and your credit is high. If you are struggling to make ends meet, and reach out to them to get your finances straight, you will be turned down, no questions asked. I've never had such a worthless bank in all my life. Looking forward to moving on from this place!!!

more ...
Jul 05, 2016
piece of **** service
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't go to community first very rude and lazy

more ...
May 11, 2016
Better then the other local credot union
Anonymous Account Holder

They were easy to work with and helped me refinance my auto loan that I was upside down in. I went from paying 18% to 5% interest. Shoreline would not even look at my situation.

more ...
Mar 30, 2016
Worst banking experience of my life!
Anonymous Account Holder

Community First Credit Union stole $19,200 of my money when they wired it for the down payment on a property they agreed to finance in Missouri and then 17 days later they tell me they do not loan on out-of-state properties. I lost my $19,200 and then had to short sell a motor home I had with them and now they are suing me for the $19,000 balance even though they lost $19,200 of my money. Rotten bunch of crooks that completely ruined my perfecr credit rating of over 40 years. Do not do business with C1st unless you have a really good attorney.

more ...
Feb 18, 2016
Rmathe Account Holder

I was once denied a $200 loan to help between paydays. $200....I was denied. Not surprisingly also denied an auto loan. Even when I came back to them with a decent down payment. Even the dealer financial dept couldn't talk them into it. Wells Fargo gave me a loan no problem.
They also have fees for everything. When I unknowingly ran low on funds in my checking, they pulled money from my savings to cover it. But not before charging me a fee of almost $13 for every transfer. FOR MY OWN MONEY! By the time I realized it, I had $200 in fees and my savings was almost gone. I've also been charged $25 OD fees for going over $1, and trying to deposit money in time to prevent the fee. I hate this bank.

more ...
Feb 10, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

So first of all I got into an argument with the person I was on the phone with because they were CONVINCED I should not be able to make an online payment for my car loan with them.  Two of them denided the possibility as I sar on the very webpage they sent me to make my online payments at.  After I got my account number and made the payment they just hung up on me!   Oh by the way...$15..00 charge to make an online payment!!!!!!

Oh and I did actually go into the branch to make a opayment and pretty much had to have cash - they will not accept a credit card - only debit with cash advance.....RiDICULOUS!!!  How do places like this stay in business???

more ...
Jan 25, 2016
Difficult to work with
Anonymous Account Holder

This institution makes it very difficult to cash a check if you aren't a member, even though the check is issued from one of their members.  I found myself in a predicament and they said they couldn't cash said check at drive thru.  It could only be done inside lobby.  Biggest bunch of baloney ever.  I will never consider becoming a member for this reason alone.  What a joke!!

more ...
Dec 08, 2015
Anonymous Account Holder

Community First has a frustrating fraud detection process. A few weeks ago, I received a lump sum payment, and I used that money to pay off bills and make a number of over-due purchases. Twice, my card was shut off. One of those times I discovered this by having my card declined at the grocery store. The customer service rep I spoke with the next day had the audacity to blame the store, at first, saying that sometimes the stores decline payment if you are spending too much. Trust me--Walmart does not decline debit cards because a customer spends $75!
This final time is the last straw. I placed an Amazon order last night for just over $200. (Christmas is around the corner.) Amazon broke it into several separate orders for shipping purposes. I got an email saying that the last one, for just over $100, was declined. I don't know if it was declined because of the number of orders or if it was because of distance. I do know this is the third, and last, time.
Ironic that you can have money in their institution but they make it so frustrating to spend it! There is a C1CU within walking distance to my house. However, I will be moving my business to the cu 6 miles away.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this credit union overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this credit union?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations