Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Community First Credit Union

1.4 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 25, 2016
dafnie Account Holder

Rude. Rude. Rude and Rude again. I've dealt with a lot of banks and lenders but I promise you - Community First CU of FL - just the don't bother. The rates are competitive but there are much better banks/credit unions/lenders out there.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Horrific customer experience.
Anonymous Account Holder

Placed on hold for 30 minutes while in the process of attempting to speak with representative.  Not the first time this has occurred.

more ...
Oct 25, 2016
Worst bank I've dealth with
Anonymous Account Holder

They managed to turn our purchase of our dream home into an anxiety filled nightmare.  We are both professionals and had no problem with credit.  We applied for the mortgage and were approved no problem.  So the mortgage 'specialist' told us to go ahead and waive our financing conditions on the purchase of our new home.  In turn, the person purchasing our current home waived his conditions, and same for the people we are purcahsing from.  A few days later we went into the Trunk road branch to sign the paperwork, only to discover their 'specailist' had mistakes all over it (regardless of her recieving a copy of the purcahse agreement).  After she corrected one of her mistakes (the address we were purcahsing) from an address that did not exist, to the one we were purcahsing, all the sudden she said her underwritter wanted to do an inspection before approving the mortgage (after we had waived our condition, being told we were already approved!!)

For two weeks we waited to hear back, got the run around repeatedly about needing to produce all quotes for additional work we wanted done, before she could even tell us if the purcahse it's self would be arrpoved.

The only reason we did not RUN from this credit union was the fact they were going to slap us with a $8700 penalty/extortion for paying off our current mortgage early.

Don't walk away from these people.. RUN!

more ...
Sep 30, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been w/this financial institution for decades - unless you have a large banak account and excelletn credit - they will rob you blind - they reserve the primo offers for those that are perfect - DO NOT get sucked into their ads - THEY DO NOT ASSIST AND THEY WILL FINDA AWAY TO SCREW YOU. an example - by consolodating your low interest loans into a higher interest, longer term loan...REALLY WTF EHY WOULD I WANT TO DO THAT - answer - "to lower my monthly payment"...hmm, so I would have a short term fix rather than a long term one...hmm...yeah I respectfully decline!  I think they really should be investigated for fraudulent activities, I have experieced very questionable accounting practices.

more ...
Sep 15, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

They closed my account, sent me a check for the balance. But, I have a "charge off" for $100+ on my credit reportđź–•

more ...
Jul 20, 2016
We'll find a way...not to help.
Anonymous Account Holder

This place boasts about doing all these amazing things for their customers, but the fact of the matter is, they will only help if your bank account is fat, and your credit is high. If you are struggling to make ends meet, and reach out to them to get your finances straight, you will be turned down, no questions asked. I've never had such a worthless bank in all my life. Looking forward to moving on from this place!!!

more ...
Jul 05, 2016
piece of **** service
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't go to community first very rude and lazy

more ...
May 11, 2016
Better then the other local credot union
Anonymous Account Holder

They were easy to work with and helped me refinance my auto loan that I was upside down in. I went from paying 18% to 5% interest. Shoreline would not even look at my situation.

more ...
Mar 30, 2016
Worst banking experience of my life!
Anonymous Account Holder

Community First Credit Union stole $19,200 of my money when they wired it for the down payment on a property they agreed to finance in Missouri and then 17 days later they tell me they do not loan on out-of-state properties. I lost my $19,200 and then had to short sell a motor home I had with them and now they are suing me for the $19,000 balance even though they lost $19,200 of my money. Rotten bunch of crooks that completely ruined my perfecr credit rating of over 40 years. Do not do business with C1st unless you have a really good attorney.

more ...
Feb 18, 2016
Rmathe Account Holder

I was once denied a $200 loan to help between paydays. $200....I was denied. Not surprisingly also denied an auto loan. Even when I came back to them with a decent down payment. Even the dealer financial dept couldn't talk them into it. Wells Fargo gave me a loan no problem.
They also have fees for everything. When I unknowingly ran low on funds in my checking, they pulled money from my savings to cover it. But not before charging me a fee of almost $13 for every transfer. FOR MY OWN MONEY! By the time I realized it, I had $200 in fees and my savings was almost gone. I've also been charged $25 OD fees for going over $1, and trying to deposit money in time to prevent the fee. I hate this bank.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations