Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citizens Equity First Credit Union (CEFCU)

1.5 out of 5 stars
12 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 26, 2016
terrible
Anonymous Account Holder

tried to get a a problem resolved, i was transfered several time until the last person hung up on me. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCE. 

more ...
Aug 11, 2016
Worst Service from customer care
Anonymous Account Holder

Go only, if u don't have choice.

more ...
Jul 30, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been there for 24+ years I've had several dozen car loans home long and I have their credit card best place I've ever Bank and only since I've been 16 years old oh yeah overdraft fees you don't get them if you know how to bounce a check book dummies only thing I don't like about them is a credit card you only get .67% cashback in your points expire that's your thing that's bad about

more ...
Jul 25, 2016
Not sure if there's perks...
Anonymous Account Holder

Look elsewhere

more ...
Apr 15, 2016
CEFCU Has Turned Into a Bank
soulcatcher Account Holder

I have been a CEFCU customer for over 30 years, recently they are acting more and more like a bank vs a credit union. I attempted to go through CEFCU to refi my mortgage to shorten the term and lower the interest rate. CEFCU delayed for over 90 days blaming the underwritters and constanly requesting information that had already been provided which caused us to have to keep paying for extensions to keep the much lower rate we were able to secure. Then after two apprasals we were told that we would need to pay over an additional $4,000 if we wanted to secure the loan. We refinanced with Quicken and it was done within 45 days and we got the same rate. Nevermind trying to get someone on the phone now, you either go immediately to voice mail or they want you to leave a message and they will call you back. Who does that? It's a credit union not Amazon. Whoever designed CEFCU's new website needs to be fired it is the worse web design I have ever accessed. You cant even pull a statement unless you elect to do estatements what is that all about. CEFCU has forgotten what a credit union is all about and has transformed itself into a bank. Once the car note is completed I will find a credit union that understand why people choose to bank with credit unions vs banks. 

more ...
Mar 31, 2016
The Website Update Changed My Mind
Anonymous Account Holder

I will be looking for a new bank, after 21 years of being with CEFCU.  I can't think of one good thing to say about the new website.

more ...
Mar 02, 2016
Trying to increase my debit limit
Anonymous Account Holder

I called to increase my debit limit and I was told they would have to run a credit check. First of all that is crazy its not a credit increase its a limit on my money that I have invested in the bank and in my account. Its crazy that they would have to run a credit check to increase my debit limit. That is my money I should be able to control however I like. I'm not comfortable with running a credit check that has nothing to be with the money I have in the bank. They don't have an answser for it as well. Not happy with being told that I can and can't do with my money. They need to fix this before more people run into this problem and they lose people. I'm at that point now.

more ...
Feb 14, 2016
New CEFCU online just got worse
Anonymous Account Holder

This so called upgrade has really been a downgrade.  It is Sunday (2/14) morning and the system will not provide security codes to access CEFCU online!  I've tried via email and phone, no response!  And CEFCU doesn't have Sunday hours, so users are just screwed apparently until Monday.  What horrible customer service!  What are the odds that this will actually get fixed today (on Sunday), pretty slim I think!  Looking for a new financial institution for sure!

more ...
Feb 14, 2016
New CEFCU online just got worse
Anonymous Account Holder

This so called upgrade has really been a downgrade.  It is Sunday (2/14) morning and the system will not provide security codes to access CEFCU online!  I've tried via email and phone, no response!  And CEFCU doesn't have Sunday hours, so users are just screwed apparently until Monday.  What horrible customer service!  What are the odds that this will actually get fixed today (on Sunday), pretty slim I think!  Looking for a new financial institution for sure!

more ...
Feb 12, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I called to get an increase in my debit card so that I could book a vacation online. Apparently they only do permanent increases and I would have to have a credit report done to have my debit spending limit increased permanently. I told them that I didn't want that and honestly don't need it but even the manager (that I talked to after being bounced around to several different people) was like sorry, can't help you. Kinda terrible that I can't spend the money I have at a credit union that I have been a member of for 20 years. Will be switching to a bank as soon as possible. Not impressed with the service that I have had in the last few years but this was the last straw.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations