Chartway Federal Credit Union Reviews

1.6 out of 5 stars
11 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 16, 2017
Used to be good under another name.
Anonymous Account Holder

WAS an AMAZING place under utah central credit union, but now they nickle and dime you now under their new name(s).

They have gone through so many changes in the past few years with little to no warning, how many hands it has changed through, how much it is becoming like a bank. Sad to see it go this way. they were great, just not anymore.

I still like the great deals they have and higher interest on savings account vs other places, but I think I am ready to try a new place. Not worth the extra 0.05% I get here. If you want to deal with the possible troubles I dealt with, then I wish you the best, as they were and still are good for some things. Hopefully they will get better with chartway federal credit union in charge. For me, I am worn out from them.

While on my mission I had no idea they were charging me $8 a month fee for having a free account open. You can imagine my surprise when 11 months out I had no money for food after a surprise transfer when my math and careful spending log book says I have more than enough.

long story short I emailed family who told me what was going on and at the very least heritage west (at the time) refunded most of what was taken. Problem: My account is free and must have been a computer error.... odd since it happened right as I left for a 18 month mission.

Let me do the math. 11 months times $8 a month equals $88 dollars taken without reason or warning. That is a lot for someone who can't earn any money or look at their account while on a mission.

more ...
Aug 15, 2017
No loyalty to their customers
Anonymous Account Holder

Been with the Credit Union for 20 years!  I have direct deposit, paid off a 3,000 secured loan without missing a payment, and they wouldn't even give me a 500.00 line of credit on my checking account!  They have no problem giving you overdraft protect, so that they can charge you outragous fees for a 10.00 overdraft!  Stay away!!!! Go to Navy Federal if you can!!!

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
Horrible online banking&customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Never had a hard time registering for online accounts. You have to register an account just to make payments then you have to call Chartway to have them register an account for you to view account details. You can't set up and register your own online banking. They keep saying they will email me info but I have not received one email from them. I tried to reset my password just to see I would get an email to reset password......nothing! Called customer service and they keep telling me to reregister with new email, login, and password it keeps saying can not verify account.

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

 I had over $100,000 in the bank went in and asked for a money order the guy wanted to charge me three dollars for a money he wanted to charge me three dollars for a money order been with them since I was 19  years old change names several times now  62 now told the guy write me a check as that other one to another credit union gave me a check that day for my money order Utah branch suck

more ...
May 13, 2017
Serious erosion in service quality
Anonymous Account Holder

There was a time when this credit union cared about its members. However, in recent months, I have noticed a sharp decline in service and overall caring and have moved the bulk of my business elsewhere.

more ...
Apr 28, 2017
Horrible and greedy
Anonymous Account Holder

We had to go through this bank for a truck loan and we had to return the truck. We said we would pay back the money WHEN WE HAD IT! They agreed and now we are getting a letter from a collection agency instead of you knownthe bank asking what's going on...if we can set up payments yet. Now they won't even be civil towards us even though THEY never even gave us the information in order to send the money once we financially could. NEVER WORK WITH THIS BANK! They are horrible and greedy! They say they have your back when in fact all they want is your money even though you can't pay right away! 

more ...
Apr 11, 2017
They don't make it easy to pay!
Anonymous Account Holder

I refinanced an auto loan through Chartway and I'm now regretting it. They don't accept online payments (unless you have a deposit acct with them that you can pay from). They now charge you a $5 fee to pay over the phone. They only send a statement/bill every 3 months instead of monthly, which has caused me to be late on my payments several times as I was not aware I wouldn't be getting a monthly bill. Yes, I can go into one of their "partner" branches but it's not at all convenient for me! Oh, btw, the partner branch near me is the credit union I had BEFORE I refinanced with Chartway. Funny ole world, ain't it?

I would not recomment doing business with this place, at least not for an auto loan. 

more ...
Apr 09, 2017
very friendly and helpful
Anonymous Account Holder

when I have had a problem they resole it in a timely manner

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
Painfully Disorganized
Anonymous Account Holder

Had an account there with an auto loan a few years back.  Was not able to pay able to pay online (they didn't support it) and had no local branch after mine closed.  Two months and still no draft on my bank account and a notice I will be repo'ed,  I call yet again and explain to them I have cash and need to make a payment.  They finally mention a partner credit union with GTE I can go in and pay in person.  I get a loan from a different credit union and a cashiers check and pay the auto in full and am told my account is closed and current.  I suppose I messed up by being frustrated and not able to pay on time but would have been convient if one of the other employees had mentioned I could do it locally at a partner branch. This would have solved the issue 100%.

Five years later, get notice about my account being closed due to inactivity.  I call and am told I have a balance (approx $30) in my checking (HAD to have a checking for auto loan).  I give my CURRENT address so they can mail a check and remember it being comfirmed.  Check is sent to the address on file from 5 years prior and never received.  Six months later, I call out of curiosity to see status of check and sent an email that the check is for $430 and need to get notorized and signed affavidit to get second check mailed to current address.   Fill out notorized affadavit (cost $10) send it back and am told "OOPS the amount is in fact the $30 and I will have to get a different copy notorized (again costing $10 and more of my time)".     

In their defense, I did ask them for a good will letter 5 years after the auto repossession in an attempt to improve my credit score while house buying.  I did in fact receive a denial letter in less than a week despite the auto being paid in full immediately after and no further issues with the bank. 

I suppose thanks for the quick response Chartway.  I suppose you should enjoy the remaining $30 in my account that I can't access.

more ...
Oct 03, 2016
Horrible Credit Union
Anonymous Account Holder

This place treats their customers and employees like 3rd class citizens. The branches are disgusting, look outdated and they have turnover like crazy. They are so behind the times in every aspect of banking. They have ridiculous policies to hold on to your money as long as possible. With places such as Navy Federal, Bayport, etc, why would anyone in their right mind bank here?

Avoid Chartway like the plague and use a real credit union.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations