Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chartway Federal Credit Union

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
1.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 14, 2015
Good value
calex009 Account Holder

I've been pleased with my membership at Chartway. They always have good rates and meet my needs.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 24, 2014
Downright disgrace!
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't do business with these people. My boyfriend served 6 years in the Navy and just got out this May. He finally landed himself a job last week and finally started getting back on his feet after a lot of financial issues. While he was overseas from March to late April, he had someone as his power of attorney to pay his bills while he was unable to. He gave Chartway the paperwork concerning that before he went out to sea, and the person he had appointed as his power of attorney did not pay his bills as she was supposed to. The bank repossessed his car last night with NO warning, but insisted they tried contacting him, which was a blatant lie. He now has no car to get to work with, and they want $2200 from him to get his car back and $873 for the cost of the tow. He explained about the power of attorney not paying his bills and that they should have that paperwork, and they denied ever having any record of the paperwork, which is another lie. They also did not care to work with him despite him just being able to find a job. The woman he dealt with was very rude and coarse with him and gave him a very hard time. Meanwhile he deals with mild PTSD and is just trying to get his life on track. This bank doesn't care about veterans, they care about money. DO NOT BANK WITH THESE MONSTERS. 

more ...

Reviews (34)

Add Review
Oct 21, 2016
Painfully Disorganized
Anonymous Account Holder

Had an account there with an auto loan a few years back.  Was not able to pay able to pay online (they didn't support it) and had no local branch after mine closed.  Two months and still no draft on my bank account and a notice I will be repo'ed,  I call yet again and explain to them I have cash and need to make a payment.  They finally mention a partner credit union with GTE I can go in and pay in person.  I get a loan from a different credit union and a cashiers check and pay the auto in full and am told my account is closed and current.  I suppose I messed up by being frustrated and not able to pay on time but would have been convient if one of the other employees had mentioned I could do it locally at a partner branch. This would have solved the issue 100%.

Five years later, get notice about my account being closed due to inactivity.  I call and am told I have a balance (approx $30) in my checking (HAD to have a checking for auto loan).  I give my CURRENT address so they can mail a check and remember it being comfirmed.  Check is sent to the address on file from 5 years prior and never received.  Six months later, I call out of curiosity to see status of check and sent an email that the check is for $430 and need to get notorized and signed affavidit to get second check mailed to current address.   Fill out notorized affadavit (cost $10) send it back and am told "OOPS the amount is in fact the $30 and I will have to get a different copy notorized (again costing $10 and more of my time)".     

In their defense, I did ask them for a good will letter 5 years after the auto repossession in an attempt to improve my credit score while house buying.  I did in fact receive a denial letter in less than a week despite the auto being paid in full immediately after and no further issues with the bank. 

I suppose thanks for the quick response Chartway.  I suppose you should enjoy the remaining $30 in my account that I can't access.

more ...
Oct 03, 2016
Horrible Credit Union
Anonymous Account Holder

This place treats their customers and employees like 3rd class citizens. The branches are disgusting, look outdated and they have turnover like crazy. They are so behind the times in every aspect of banking. They have ridiculous policies to hold on to your money as long as possible. With places such as Navy Federal, Bayport, etc, why would anyone in their right mind bank here?

Avoid Chartway like the plague and use a real credit union.

more ...
Aug 27, 2016
1985 Called and they want their tek back
Anonymous Account Holder

Can't keep up with current technology, tellers are rude and managers have attitudes- forget about trying to get a loan with a good interest rate, go to Bayport or Navy Fed for that.

more ...
Aug 31, 2016

Enter Your Reply

Jun 13, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Fraud alert toll takes forever before someone can talk to you. I was on hold for 30 minutes and was not unable to hold for so long so I called again and the same thing! I have the case number and all but for them to take too long to andwer for unauthorized access to my account means this bank is UNSAFE and should not be existing! Going to move all my accounts to NAVY FEDERAL!

more ...
Apr 02, 2016
Debt Consolidation Loan

I've been a member for many, many years. I have had numerous secured personal loans, auto loans, a checking, and a savings account with them.

I applied for a personal line of credit to CONSOLIDATE my credit card debt last night for $39K & was emailed today with a measley counteroffer of $5K. What a slap in my face. I emailed back & forth several times with the rep and told her that I no longer had the vehicle that I was financing with them. The payoff check should be received from the dealership this week, and I offered to send this proof of this. She never requested it and claimed that the loan officer stood by the original offer.

Please tell me what $5K is going to do to my $39K debt? Not a thing!!!!

I don't see how I can have a $39K car loan balance with them but not a $39K personal loan with them with even more income than I had when I got the car loan in the first place. They don't allow members to speak directly to the loan officers, so I will be mailing a letter to the review committee per her advice.

We will see what happens. I am very disappointed.

more ...
Mar 10, 2016
They are painfully slow to respond.
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened and savings account and you would have thought I was asking for something they do not do everyday.    It was painfully slow - almost a week to just do this. I should have known better but applied for a car loan.   The car I want will be sold before I get an answer.  I would not recommend at all.   

more ...
Mar 03, 2016
More of an annoyance than an actual bank
Anonymous Account Holder

About 80% of the time I've spoken to anyone at Chartway, I've gotten nothing but wonderful help. Sure, some employees were rude or sounded like they had no idea what they were doing, but the good was splendid. However, since I've relocated to Maryland and the closest one is about an hour and a half away, I decided I'd just join a new bank until I sold my car. You'd think you could just cancel your account over the phone/online. Wrong! Just like everything else, you can't do anything you actually need to do online or on the phone. I've needed to pay my credit card balance for months now, and something seems to go wrong every single time. You can't pay an outstanding balance in any way except for through mail. Can't pay over the phone or online. I've sent money orders. Didn't receive them. I'm not about to spend $20 on a check book to use a single check. As a result, my credit is plummeting because Chartway is an atrocious organization.

more ...
Feb 16, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

The Mobile app and online banking sucks!!! they keep changing it and every time ask to update the login info like security questions etc. Also, the wait times are too long everytime I call.

more ...
Aug 26, 2015
Limited Services
Anonymous Account Holder

This is a horrible institution to deal with. Depending on who you get at the toll free call center will determine what services you can use. For example: One month I paid on a loan for my sister (who was out of the country) with my Debit Card / Credit Card. The following month, I was told I couldn't use that method of payment. When I stated I used it lastmonth, I was told that I must have been in touch with someone at a branch because they were the only ones who could do that. I explained that I called the same number that I did this time. Then was told they couldn't transfer me to a branch to make the payment.

more ...
May 25, 2015
Wallsoy Account Holder

I had been with Chartway for more than 15 years with no problems. I am happy with their services and service. I have their credit card with a good rate. I have account with other banks and their services where no good . I will keep my account with Chartway as long I live in Tx.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this credit union overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this credit union?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations