Chartway Federal Credit Union Reviews

1.7 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 16, 2017
Disappointing
Sundowner67 Account Holder

I did not select Chartway; the credit union was the financier my auto loan was sold to by my dealership a few years ago. And for servicing my auto loan they were OK. You can do most of what you need to do online and they did send me my documentation after the vehicle was paid off. The site was a bit antiquated, disjoint, and clumsy, but you can get around.

Now here's where things get ugly. Because they didn't have a good way to identify the payoff amount (some banks tell you it will be X dollars if you pay it by Y date, so you know exactly what you have to do), I overpaid by about $80 on purpose to make sure I would cover the needed amount for the last payment, which I submitted in advance of the actual scheduled loan completion. Afterward, I contacted the credit union's online support and got into a chat with a tech that assured the account would be closed and my overage refunded.

I got busy and didn't really pay attention to it for a year and when I was going through some records realized I never got my money back. I went back online to find 1) my account was still active and 2) that monthly fees had eaten away my remaining funds. I never got a notification this was happening, I never got an email when the account was about to hit 0, and I never heard back from the customer service person that had taken my initial request to close the account, nor did I hear back from the company after I sent an inquiry about it recently. Free money for them, right? I thought the whole point of credit unions was to have better treatment than you get at the big banks. So, beware the fees and move your loan to a bank with better systems and support if you get stuck with them like I did.

more ...
Oct 07, 2017
Incompetence at every turn
bevp01 Account Holder

Do your own due diligence because they won't.  Having both a savings account and an auto loan with Chartway I struggled with them for a year.  They constantly assessed maintenance fees to my account when they shouldn't have and customer service isn't properly trained.  I finally threw in the towel and transfered both accounts to another bank.

more ...
Sep 26, 2017
Chartway Credit Union Insurance
Anonymous Account Holder

They require insurance on a Travel Trailer which they did not notify us of until 8 weeks after the loan had been processed. I had inquired about insurance requirements and was told none was needed.

They then charged us an exhorbitant insurance premium for the first 8 weeks.  Not paying it and sent the information to the Attorney Generals office.

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

My husband is in the military and she deployed at times so he added my name to the account so they can discuss the account with me. There has been 2 instances where they would not let me make a payment on the account because they claimed they didn't see a note that allows them to talk to me. This has to be some kind of legal issue. 

more ...
Sep 03, 2017
Painful - Insulting
tfig218 Account Holder

Under their prior administration, they were responsive. Now, if you get a response, it is inconsistent and rude.

more ...
Aug 16, 2017
Used to be good under another name.
Anonymous Account Holder

WAS an AMAZING place under utah central credit union, but now they nickle and dime you now under their new name(s).

They have gone through so many changes in the past few years with little to no warning, how many hands it has changed through, how much it is becoming like a bank. Sad to see it go this way. they were great, just not anymore.

I still like the great deals they have and higher interest on savings account vs other places, but I think I am ready to try a new place. Not worth the extra 0.05% I get here. If you want to deal with the possible troubles I dealt with, then I wish you the best, as they were and still are good for some things. Hopefully they will get better with chartway federal credit union in charge. For me, I am worn out from them.

While on my mission I had no idea they were charging me $8 a month fee for having a free account open. You can imagine my surprise when 11 months out I had no money for food after a surprise transfer when my math and careful spending log book says I have more than enough.

long story short I emailed family who told me what was going on and at the very least heritage west (at the time) refunded most of what was taken. Problem: My account is free and must have been a computer error.... odd since it happened right as I left for a 18 month mission.

Let me do the math. 11 months times $8 a month equals $88 dollars taken without reason or warning. That is a lot for someone who can't earn any money or look at their account while on a mission.

more ...
Aug 15, 2017
No loyalty to their customers
Anonymous Account Holder

Been with the Credit Union for 20 years!  I have direct deposit, paid off a 3,000 secured loan without missing a payment, and they wouldn't even give me a 500.00 line of credit on my checking account!  They have no problem giving you overdraft protect, so that they can charge you outragous fees for a 10.00 overdraft!  Stay away!!!! Go to Navy Federal if you can!!!

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
Horrible online banking&customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Never had a hard time registering for online accounts. You have to register an account just to make payments then you have to call Chartway to have them register an account for you to view account details. You can't set up and register your own online banking. They keep saying they will email me info but I have not received one email from them. I tried to reset my password just to see I would get an email to reset password......nothing! Called customer service and they keep telling me to reregister with new email, login, and password it keeps saying can not verify account.

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

 I had over $100,000 in the bank went in and asked for a money order the guy wanted to charge me three dollars for a money he wanted to charge me three dollars for a money order been with them since I was 19  years old change names several times now  62 now told the guy write me a check as that other one to another credit union gave me a check that day for my money order Utah branch suck

more ...
May 13, 2017
Serious erosion in service quality
Anonymous Account Holder

There was a time when this credit union cared about its members. However, in recent months, I have noticed a sharp decline in service and overall caring and have moved the bulk of my business elsewhere.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations