Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Bellco Credit Union

1.0 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year


Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 18, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

They made a payment arrangement with my wife over the phone and now have no record of it and just came and took my truck. Stay away they are liers and crooked.

more ...
Sep 19, 2016
Horrible service
Anonymous Account Holder

Customer service is very poor, the phone system is pathetic and will not allow you to go through to a person.

more ...
Aug 30, 2016
Mistakes, dishonesty, horrific cust serv
Anonymous Account Holder

Every person gives a different story, all of it wrong, and resort to dishonesty when you ask for names or proof of the garbage that just came out of their mouth. No supervision and they are free to say or do whatever they please. Could care less about regulations or policies. Do NOT use this company for any reason whatsoever.  They do not return phone calls or follow through with anything. Scary they are allowed to stay in business.

more ...
Aug 25, 2016
Unprofessional at ever turn.
DrJonwatson Account Holder

 I've been trying to sell my car for 10 weeks, 10 weeks ago i was told if i got an offer that they would take i could take up an honor loan and just pay off the rest, so i did all the leg work finally got everything ready the dealership was going to give them 7k leaving me in the hole for 2400, no biggie since on a honor loan theres not much interest and i make good money, so i could get that off no problem, so the day, the day that they were going to send the check out to Bellco Credit Union they decided to tell me that not only to i have to now, have to apply for said loan of 2400 but be approved, then have to pay the total 2400 in full before they send the tittle out, and that it wouldn't matter because the process to get approved for the load id miss a 3rd payment making me up for default meaning i cant sell it anymore untill i make a payment 1200 for missing the last three payments which only 220 is going to the principle but then have to start the processes all over again. If I could  give them less than a star, i would thats what they deserve. And on top of that I found out that they offered me more than the legal APR that you can offer on a car in my state so that they can squeeze as much out of me that they can.  Next car I buy, even if they offered me 0% apr vs 10 with another company, I'd go with another company. No one in there system knows what their talking about, and will just run you around in circles like I have been over the last 3 months. Completely unprofessional at every single turn that I've had an account with them. 

more ...
Aug 04, 2016
Worst Credit Union ever
Anonymous Account Holder

Making my first auto loan payment today.  Spent 40 minutes on the phone with Latoya, just to find out I have to drive 40 minutes to a branch because they didn't recieve my "authorization for automatic withdrawal."  Went online and saw nothing but terrible reviews... Guess I'm in for hard times with these guys.

more ...
Jul 01, 2016
Inconsiderate, and no care for customers
thewhat585 Account Holder

The most inconsiderate company that I have ever had a loan 

through. I have NEVER made a late car payment in my life until I 

lost my job a few months ago. God forbid that unplanned sh**

happens, right. I was told there was nothing that Can be done, 

even though there is a link on my account to click that says "if your 

payment is late, we can help. A bunch of crap. I cannot believe I 

have $75 in late payments also. Unbelievable. Never had to deal 

with a company that has completely no mercy for mankind. Yes, I 

was late. But what I recall is businesses usually try to have some 

sort of consideration and customer service to keep customers 

coming back. I hope many people read the review I left online 

about how inconsiderate and careless of a company this is and 

think twice before getting a loan from you. Well, there's plenty of 

other websites to rant on about you guys so I must go now. Hope 

you all have an unfortunate event happen like losing your job for 

who knows what reason, maybe you animals will then realize that 

stuff happens out of people's control sometimes when you can't 

pay your bills. Goodbye, and go f*** yourselvesđź–•

more ...
May 17, 2016
Fees on fees on fees.
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank will charge you fees for anything and everything possible; not to mention they lose track of payments every other day.

more ...
May 04, 2016
Absolutely TERRIBLE!
Anonymous Account Holder

My fiance and I opened this joint checking account to save money for our wedding reception. We also opened the savings account as I was wanting to open a auto loan later in the year. Right now, I'm on the phone to close all my accounts. 

My fiance went to transfer some money into the account, the error said no more than 1k can be transferred into the account. I thought it might be some security setting. So I called member services, Whitney who answered the phone was adament they have no limits on transferring in. She blamed it on my primary checking account. Which I have had forever, and make large(over 1K) rtransfers into other accounts, but Bellco will not allow it. Hence my phone call, so asked if she could check into it. She then replied that maybe my fiance didn't actually attempt to transfer over 1k!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I ask for a manager, she says they are all busy. I replied, I'm going to close all my accounts and a manager should know why. After waiting on hold for 15 minutes, Chris gets on the phone. He is very nice and tries to help. Says he will call me back. 

In the mean time, I reach out to the banker who opened our account, who was aweome to work with. He said there is a 1k transfer limit so we should use the bill pay function and list Bellco as the payee and we will be able to **transfer** as much money as we want. Which is totally backwards and why did Whitney or Chris in member services know this?  Days later, Chris never called back to follow up. 

This small task of transfering money INTO our account should never be this difficult or stressful. 

more ...
Apr 15, 2016
No stars. Inept, unprofessional.
Anonymous Account Holder

Lost my car payment several times in their processing center. Submitted a "stopped payment" check of mine (after they knew I had stopped it). Allowed me to pay all the bank charges associated with that action. Got a better rate for a second car loan at the dealer. This outfit is a joke and should not be confused with a "real" bank.

more ...
Apr 10, 2016
Worse Than Most Banks
calibeachboy84 Account Holder

I had a vehicle loan through Bellco because of the dealer. Eight months later I traded that vehicle in and got another. That dealer got the best interest rate through Bellco as well. Two months later, I'm diagnosed with cancer and not working. I ask Bellco to defer one payment while I figure out my income situation and disability insurance. Well, another eight months later and I'm driven to bankruptcy and the vehicle loan is the number one reason. They won't because the loan is brand new. Never mind my history with them.

Horrible customer service. Bellco pretended to work with me. They made me do this phone credit counseling and fill out a ton of forms - while I'm fighting cancer, mind you - and then they send a denial letter stating the loan is too new. If you knew this in the first place, why oh why did you drag me through the mud?

What's worse. The other credit union I left having my loans with I always added a very well priced protection plan so that the payment is covered in such a circumstance. Their interest was a few points higher as well, but the customer service and options made it worth it. Stay away from cheap-o Bellco and their inability to treat their member shareholders as humans.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations