Bellco Credit Union Reviews

1.1 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 03, 2017
Worst.Banking.Ever.
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had USAA for 18 years for banking services.  We opened a HELOC through Bellco Credit Union and were forced to open a checking and savings account with them as well to utilize the funds from the HELOC.  Bellco signed us up unbeknownst to us for their Bill Pay service and began charging a monthly $6 fee for not using it to pay anything.  Since USAA is my bank and I do not use the Bellco checking for anything, I was unaware of the fee.  The monthly fee overdrew the Bellco checking account and they promptly charged me a $31 NSF fee, at which time I received an email regarding this.  I then had to transfer funds from my USAA account to Bellco to cover the negative balance to avoid further fees; that transfer into Bellco cost me $3.  No one at Bellco could tell me how the service was set up and insisted that I did it and never added any regular payees.  We paid off the HELOC and closed the accounts.  I was then charge more fees to transfer the remaining funds back to USAA.  I actually had a Bellco associate screaming at me over the phone yet refusing to help.  I will tell everyone and anyone I can about the horrendous service, the ungodly online portal and every other experience as I work in financial myself.  I've never experience such horrendous service and the lack of knowledge from the associates, as well as the constant insistence that "another department takes care of that", leave me astonished that they are still in business. 

more ...
Sep 26, 2017
TERRIBLE!!!!
tknight22 Account Holder

Had a Vehicle loan with Bellco (Still undergoing problems with them) After having a family emergency, the customer service is terrible, They denied me any right to catch up on my bills, even after multiple emails and discussion. I am a disabled veteran and have had nothing but BAD come from Bellco. Take the heed of multiple people, DO NOT DO SERVICE WITH THEM!

more ...
Sep 20, 2017
Take Your Business Elsewhere
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been doing banking with Bellco using multiple services (checking, savings, line of credit) for almost 10 years. When I moved to another state, I was prompted to change banks so I closed out my Bellco account in August 2017. It was crazy trying to close out the account (which only had $25 left) - I was put on hold forever and spoke to several agents. Finally, they closed it out, and said the check for the remaining balance (only $25) will be mailed to me. One week later, I received an envelope from Bellco, and assumed it was the check. Upon opening it, I found marketing materials (car loan pitch) with NO check. I waited and waited and forgot about it. Today, Sept 20, 2017 (6 weeks after I closed the account), I called them inquiring about the check. I was put on hold again for almost 10 mins then was told that 1) the $25 check was mailed to me on Aug 8; 2) they will mail me paperwork to authorize stop payment on the check; 3) I have to get the paperwork notarized; 4) return the notarized paperwork back to them to process the replacement check; and 5) the timeline to process replacement check once they receive the paperwork from me is unknown. Just wonderful. Since notarization costs $15, I figured it is not worth the trouble. I told them to keep the $25, and I will get online to warn others about the terrible experience. Consumer beware!

more ...
Sep 11, 2017
Absolutely terrible and disorganized
Reisjsr Account Holder

Lost my title. Lied about it. Can't register my car because of it.

more ...
Aug 18, 2017
Horrible!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I bought a car and went through them and have proof of payment coming out of my account and going to them and they keep sending me letter after letter saying we are late. Funny thing is the amount doesnt even match out loan amount. We have gotten a letter every month and they still cant get this right! AVOID AT ALL COST!!

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
Horrible!!! Customer service is awful!
Anonymous Account Holder

No record of previous phone calls, made payment arrangements with no record of it and they took our truck!  Paid to get it out and still having issues with them!  Do NOT get a loan with them!

more ...
May 22, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Customer service at its worst. Any time you call you get attitude from someone that don't seem to listen to what you are asking. Do not bank here, get a loan here,ect

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
terrible experience
Anonymous Account Holder

Avoid at all costs! Every negative comment posted is 100% true. I want to press charges aganist them for their terrible policies making it VERY DIFFICULT TO PAY!!!! 

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
An absolute mess
Anonymous Account Holder

If you can avoid getting a loan through Bellco, by all means do it. You will be forever thankful. The process of skipping a payment if you are ahead or changing the date of said payment in INSANELY difficult. For two weeks I was trying to skip my payment as I have paid extra for a year. After talking to five different people on the phone (five separate phone calls and waiting on hold) they still took money out of my account for my payment. No one knows what they are talking about and even the management I talked to after being so frustrated was still beyond unhelpful. Save yourself the stress and find someone else to loan through if you have an option. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations