Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BECU

2.8 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 01, 2016
Awesome
Anonymous Account Holder

I have banked with BECU for 21 years and never had an issue. The visa is low interest 6.9 , I have had a car loan and I don't get eaten up with fees on my accounts. On line or in person banking has been flawless. I wouldn't bank anywhere else.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 18, 2017
Can be great - can be really bad
Anonymous Account Holder

For most everyday activities and services the credit union customer support is very good.  However if you have an issue that is not linear - then the support is terrible.  Example - daily items are  quickly and accurately resolved.  If you have a complaint or need help with an error or issue the bank created - the service is terrible, they do not believe that the customer can be right and they will not provide a yes or no answer.  Exmple.  I had an issue with a stop payment - and called the bank after I stopped the payment on line.  The money had not yet been withdrawn and no further action required.  However, the next day the bank made the payment and held my money for over 5 days - did stop the payment - still withdrew the money from my account and took 5 days to return to my account ... the manager was rude and indicated this was their process even thought it does not provide any information on holding money after withdrawing in error.  Another example - my son had his account hacked and all money withdrawn - the money was not returned until 3 weeks later.  As was in college out of state - this was a very big issue ... and so on. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 18, 2017
BECU has become bloated
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been a member since the days when they had a single office on East Marginal Way.  They used to have superior rates but over time, they've become more like a bank than a credit union.  About 2 years ago, they changed the interest rate calculation on their Visa credit cards.  Back when the Federal Reserve interest rates were about 3%, my Visa interest rates was 6.9%.  BECU has changed the calculation to be a base rate plus the Prime rate.  Now, with the Federal Reserve interest rates at 0.75%, my BECU Visa is already up to 7.15%.  I know, I know, this is still a good interest rate but keep reading because I'll make my point at the end of this review.  If you look at their Certificat of Deposit rates and compare them to Alaska Credit Union or Navy Federal Credit Union, BECU has much lower CD rates.  For example, for a 24 month CD, BECU = 0.60%, Alaska CU = 1.29%, Navy Federal CU = 1..45%.  I believe why BECU has become non-competitive with their rates is that they are spending a lot of money on advertising, sponsorships and brick/mortar satellite offices.  I have seen advertisement from them on TV during major sporting events and during prime time TV shows,, apparently in a ttempt to generate more members.  But, as a result, their current customers suffer from poor rates due to BECU's excessive spending.  Personally, I'm in the process of switching over to Navy Federal membership (since I'm a veteran).  For the tie being, I will probably keep my BECU accounts but the bulk of my money will move to Navy Federal.  My suggestion for the reader is to not blindly sign up with BECU but instead do some comparison shopping and I think you'll find that you can do much better than BECU.

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
Super fantastic - In person.
Anonymous Account Holder

It was great when I was younger and living close by a branch. I didn't have any special needs as far as banking goes, I had a credit card through them and at one point a personal loan. Application was reasonably quick and easy. But for the love of all things holy - Since I've joined the military and moved out of state this place is haunting me. They take so long to reroute the mail that is coming you even after you change your address. God forbid you lose your card. 7-10 days is more like 2 weeks or more, and if you aren't at your home address you can fax something in that's signed to get it mailed to a different address but they are completely unwilling to work with you. They can't print Visa's at their branches and won't mail it to a branch so even though I could have my power of attorney pick it up and overnight it - that's not even an option. If you are young and you're banking is uncomplicated, they're fine. If you have specific needs, they'll just apologize a hundred times.

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
Great in good times, terrible in bad
Indiana77 Account Holder

BECU was pretty good while I used them and had no issues. After getting divorced and unfortunately defaulting on a credit card, they now refuse to accept any reasonable off to settle the debt. Initially I offer 90% with a few terms which they agreed to, they reneged when I asked for confirmation in writing. Due to other circumstance I offered what I could between 40-80% and they would not even consider it. So just be careful if you have a financial problem while owing debt to BECU you may be forced into bankruptcy where most other institutions would gladly accept 10-50% to settle a debt. (I know because I did)

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Personal and Direct
Anonymous Account Holder

I love BECU! They are nice and know what they are talking about. I have 2 credit cards and an auto loan with them. 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Can be great - can be really bad
Anonymous Account Holder

For most everyday activities and services the credit union customer support is very good.  However if you have an issue that is not linear - then the support is terrible.  Example - daily items are  quickly and accurately resolved.  If you have a complaint or need help with an error or issue the bank created - the service is terrible, they do not believe that the customer can be right and they will not provide a yes or no answer.  Exmple.  I had an issue with a stop payment - and called the bank after I stopped the payment on line.  The money had not yet been withdrawn and no further action required.  However, the next day the bank made the payment and held my money for over 5 days - did stop the payment - still withdrew the money from my account and took 5 days to return to my account ... the manager was rude and indicated this was their process even thought it does not provide any information on holding money after withdrawing in error.  Another example - my son had his account hacked and all money withdrawn - the money was not returned until 3 weeks later.  As was in college out of state - this was a very big issue ... and so on. 

more ...
Dec 18, 2016
Best bank I've used - on my side
Anonymous Account Holder

I"ve been really happy with BECU. It feels like they are on my side at every turn, which I attribute to them being not-for-profit and being innovative about how to serve people better. The only problem I have had with them was in applying for home loans, where they seemed overly conservative.

more ...
Dec 03, 2016
Customer oriented policies
Anonymous Account Holder

You can do most of your banking online. For the few times I have had to call customer service over the last four years the experiences were positive. If you live in Washington state BECU is easily the best option.

more ...
Oct 24, 2016
Slower than molasses home loan process
Anonymous Account Holder

We sold our house to a buyer that used BECU for their home loan.  While the employees working on the loan answered emails and phone calls with a reasonable turnaround, they had to back out the closing date twice.  From what we could tell it was nothing more than being overloaded with work and not being able to schedule an apprasial.  On the flip side we went with Home Street, for our new home purchase (our third with them) and they not only got everything done quicker, but we were waiting on BECU to close so we could close on our new home.

Facts: offer to sell home accepted august 30, 2016 with an expected close date of October 10th.

Offer to buy new home accepted on October 3rd, set to close as early as October 31st

BECU backs out close date to October 19th, can't get apprasial schedule

BECU backs out apprasial again to the 19th with a close date of November 4th

The next home we sell, one of the first things we will look at is if BECU is the buyer's bank, if so it may be a deciding factor to select someone else.

more ...
Aug 19, 2016
Terrible Customer Service. Out of touch
Anonymous Account Holder

There are far better Credit Unions in the Seattlee area most of which you can acess from the BECU Offices.  There rating is 0nly 3 of 5 stars for a reason.  That should be the only interaction you havre with these greedy lying customer destructive idiots.  Don't believe the nonsence they advertise about their fees.  They are heartless and unforgiving and the further you get your money from them the better off you will be.  Metropolitan Credit Union has far higher ratings.  It is no mystery why to me.  After several years of being a customer they care nothing for you.  BECU has the worst customer service i have ever experienced with any bank or credit card.  BECU doesn't even have a credit card free of foreign exchange fees and they charge you extra to get points on your credit card purchases.  Barbaric.  They are so out of touch and their employees are as a rule customer service idiots.  Their lax hiring standards are revealed by the incredible disregard for customer service and their greedy unforgiving fees.  Very Nazi like.  I agree with another writer i read here - Run don't walk your money away from these buzzards.

more ...
Aug 12, 2016
It sucks! Takes money randomly!
Anonymous Account Holder

The worst!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations