BECU Reviews

2.7 out of 5 stars
15 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 26, 2017
Fantastic prompt service!.
Anonymous Account Holder

I received a pre-approval in the mail for an extreamly low APR Visa credit card. I only had a savings share with them prior and no other relationship with this credit union. They gave me a 0% intro APR and after that it is 9.9% with a 23 day grace period . The reward points are fairly standard , however there are no foreign transaction fees. I called them twice since I had other questions and they answered very quickly and were extremely pleasant and professional . I work for a different institution and have my share of experience leading a team to great service. I've had nothing but great experiences with BECU!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 18, 2017
BECU has become bloated
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been a member since the days when they had a single office on East Marginal Way.  They used to have superior rates but over time, they've become more like a bank than a credit union.  About 2 years ago, they changed the interest rate calculation on their Visa credit cards.  Back when the Federal Reserve interest rates were about 3%, my Visa interest rates was 6.9%.  BECU has changed the calculation to be a base rate plus the Prime rate.  Now, with the Federal Reserve interest rates at 0.75%, my BECU Visa is already up to 7.15%.  I know, I know, this is still a good interest rate but keep reading because I'll make my point at the end of this review.  If you look at their Certificat of Deposit rates and compare them to Alaska Credit Union or Navy Federal Credit Union, BECU has much lower CD rates.  For example, for a 24 month CD, BECU = 0.60%, Alaska CU = 1.29%, Navy Federal CU = 1..45%.  I believe why BECU has become non-competitive with their rates is that they are spending a lot of money on advertising, sponsorships and brick/mortar satellite offices.  I have seen advertisement from them on TV during major sporting events and during prime time TV shows,, apparently in a ttempt to generate more members.  But, as a result, their current customers suffer from poor rates due to BECU's excessive spending.  Personally, I'm in the process of switching over to Navy Federal membership (since I'm a veteran).  For the tie being, I will probably keep my BECU accounts but the bulk of my money will move to Navy Federal.  My suggestion for the reader is to not blindly sign up with BECU but instead do some comparison shopping and I think you'll find that you can do much better than BECU.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 26, 2017
Fantastic prompt service!.
Anonymous Account Holder

I received a pre-approval in the mail for an extreamly low APR Visa credit card. I only had a savings share with them prior and no other relationship with this credit union. They gave me a 0% intro APR and after that it is 9.9% with a 23 day grace period . The reward points are fairly standard , however there are no foreign transaction fees. I called them twice since I had other questions and they answered very quickly and were extremely pleasant and professional . I work for a different institution and have my share of experience leading a team to great service. I've had nothing but great experiences with BECU!

more ...
Aug 05, 2017
Fair to us
sheltiebrat Account Holder

We have had several loans through BECU over the years, and now we have our home loan with them as of about 3 years ago.

. Nothing but great customer service, and I really like that I can get a replacement debit card in a few minutes the same day I walk in as a haven't been known to lose them

more ...
Jul 04, 2017
BECU is the DMV of credit unions
Anonymous Account Holder

If you want to entrut your money with a group of slow, unambitious, dimwits who couldn't cut it as post office employees or burger flippers, then go to BECU. I'd rather put my money under a mattress than deal with the mindnumbing bureaucracy of this allegedly great credit union.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 26, 2017

Perhaps you could qualify your statements on why you feel this is a bad CU instead of dishing out insults. I would also like to know what "entrut" means.

 
May 12, 2017
Piece of crap entitle people credit unio
Anonymous Account Holder

Do not try to get a loan at this credit union. They are not helpful. I have great credit , and all they say is,"call back in 1 or 2 days and we will have everything ready for you". They also check your credit with out your concern. I have been struggling with them for over 2 weeks and they always come up with a different story. Waste of time!!

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
Does not deliver what they promiss
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been with BECU for over 10 years.  i was turned down on a car loan for $13k just because i missed a one credit card payment.  When asked was told that the computer makes the call.  So all their advertising about "u own it", " we are here to support the community" , dont believe tha stuff.  If i got treated like this from BofA or Wellsfargo, i understand.  At least i know what i am getting into.  Very disappointing.

more ...
Mar 29, 2017
Inept and inefficient
Anonymous Account Holder

Services are often down. Customer service is poor. Branch locations cannot do all branch services, as they are not 'full' branches. They locked up my initial deposit because of multiple failures to send a working debit card. They offer great service and competitive rates, but I never felt more like a second rate customer than I have while trying to bank with BECU. 

more ...
Mar 27, 2017
Horrifically bad customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

We are locked out of our account right now - for no apparent real reason.  Have spent many hours trying to regain access to our accounts, and have made no progress with it yet.  Have an appointment with a branch tomorrow - and think that it is unacceptable to be without access to our accounts for ANY period of time.  The fact that such a mistake on their part, cannot be easily rectified, is beyond bad.  We have had accounts with Becu for many decades - and they certainly haven't always treated customers this poorly

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
Horrible experience
Anonymous Account Holder

They put a hold on elderly lady's account for 3 weeks ...its violaiton of law and when asked they were rude and unprofessional.

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
BECU has become bloated
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been a member since the days when they had a single office on East Marginal Way.  They used to have superior rates but over time, they've become more like a bank than a credit union.  About 2 years ago, they changed the interest rate calculation on their Visa credit cards.  Back when the Federal Reserve interest rates were about 3%, my Visa interest rates was 6.9%.  BECU has changed the calculation to be a base rate plus the Prime rate.  Now, with the Federal Reserve interest rates at 0.75%, my BECU Visa is already up to 7.15%.  I know, I know, this is still a good interest rate but keep reading because I'll make my point at the end of this review.  If you look at their Certificat of Deposit rates and compare them to Alaska Credit Union or Navy Federal Credit Union, BECU has much lower CD rates.  For example, for a 24 month CD, BECU = 0.60%, Alaska CU = 1.29%, Navy Federal CU = 1..45%.  I believe why BECU has become non-competitive with their rates is that they are spending a lot of money on advertising, sponsorships and brick/mortar satellite offices.  I have seen advertisement from them on TV during major sporting events and during prime time TV shows,, apparently in a ttempt to generate more members.  But, as a result, their current customers suffer from poor rates due to BECU's excessive spending.  Personally, I'm in the process of switching over to Navy Federal membership (since I'm a veteran).  For the tie being, I will probably keep my BECU accounts but the bulk of my money will move to Navy Federal.  My suggestion for the reader is to not blindly sign up with BECU but instead do some comparison shopping and I think you'll find that you can do much better than BECU.

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
Super fantastic - In person.
Anonymous Account Holder

It was great when I was younger and living close by a branch. I didn't have any special needs as far as banking goes, I had a credit card through them and at one point a personal loan. Application was reasonably quick and easy. But for the love of all things holy - Since I've joined the military and moved out of state this place is haunting me. They take so long to reroute the mail that is coming you even after you change your address. God forbid you lose your card. 7-10 days is more like 2 weeks or more, and if you aren't at your home address you can fax something in that's signed to get it mailed to a different address but they are completely unwilling to work with you. They can't print Visa's at their branches and won't mail it to a branch so even though I could have my power of attorney pick it up and overnight it - that's not even an option. If you are young and you're banking is uncomplicated, they're fine. If you have specific needs, they'll just apologize a hundred times.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations