Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BECU

2.6 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 21, 2016
Awsome!
Anonymous Account Holder

I love BECU! I have banked with them for the past 8 years and have not had any problems. I banked with chase before the fee's blew me away. I was getting multiple fee's everytime I looked it seemed. I was fed up and that is when I found BECU. They are honest and dont have any fee's that are hidden. After all banks make money on your money that they loan so we should we get fee's for letting them hold our money. Overall BECU is a great company and would recomend them to anyone!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 13, 2016
Good Credit Union without essentials
Anonymous Account Holder

The credit union has given full and appropriate information when asked.  The employees have always been friendly and forthcoming.  

They do not have a simple and essential service for their members.  They do not have the ability to put a signer on a depost account without making that person and owner of the account.  This is important in some situations.  This is available at other institutions.  

I hope they add this service in the future.  It isn't hard.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Dec 03, 2016
Customer oriented policies
Anonymous Account Holder

You can do most of your banking online. For the few times I have had to call customer service over the last four years the experiences were positive. If you live in Washington state BECU is easily the best option.

more ...
Oct 24, 2016
Slower than molasses home loan process
Anonymous Account Holder

We sold our house to a buyer that used BECU for their home loan.  While the employees working on the loan answered emails and phone calls with a reasonable turnaround, they had to back out the closing date twice.  From what we could tell it was nothing more than being overloaded with work and not being able to schedule an apprasial.  On the flip side we went with Home Street, for our new home purchase (our third with them) and they not only got everything done quicker, but we were waiting on BECU to close so we could close on our new home.

Facts: offer to sell home accepted august 30, 2016 with an expected close date of October 10th.

Offer to buy new home accepted on October 3rd, set to close as early as October 31st

BECU backs out close date to October 19th, can't get apprasial schedule

BECU backs out apprasial again to the 19th with a close date of November 4th

The next home we sell, one of the first things we will look at is if BECU is the buyer's bank, if so it may be a deciding factor to select someone else.

more ...
Aug 19, 2016
Terrible Customer Service. Out of touch
Anonymous Account Holder

There are far better Credit Unions in the Seattlee area most of which you can acess from the BECU Offices.  There rating is 0nly 3 of 5 stars for a reason.  That should be the only interaction you havre with these greedy lying customer destructive idiots.  Don't believe the nonsence they advertise about their fees.  They are heartless and unforgiving and the further you get your money from them the better off you will be.  Metropolitan Credit Union has far higher ratings.  It is no mystery why to me.  After several years of being a customer they care nothing for you.  BECU has the worst customer service i have ever experienced with any bank or credit card.  BECU doesn't even have a credit card free of foreign exchange fees and they charge you extra to get points on your credit card purchases.  Barbaric.  They are so out of touch and their employees are as a rule customer service idiots.  Their lax hiring standards are revealed by the incredible disregard for customer service and their greedy unforgiving fees.  Very Nazi like.  I agree with another writer i read here - Run don't walk your money away from these buzzards.

more ...
Aug 12, 2016
It sucks! Takes money randomly!
Anonymous Account Holder

The worst!

more ...
Jun 22, 2016
Run don't walk away!
Anonymous Account Holder

I have to concur with others that this place needs someone to go in and clean house. By cleaning house, I mean fire management and retrain the rest of the staff that is retrainable. This is supported by the fact is that most of the employees are snarky and dishonest, that is if you can get ahold of them. 

We do have a banking account here that we do not use as we became disenchanted when attempting to open it. We decided to give BECU a second chance recently and filed an application to refinance. We are in our golden years, have perfect credit and have never had an issue with the several homes we have purchased. 

Ultimately we found their fees excessive and interest rates above the industry standard for a refinance on a 15 term. They had already charged us for the appraisal that had never taken place and we had put a hold on the application after we were hit with sticker shock concerning their fees. Instead of putting the application on hold, Carole Sullivan and John Smith at BECU (these two need to be terminated from their current position) continued and put hard-hits on our credit. We then contacted then and withdrew our application and requested a refund for the appraisal that never took place.

It is now several weeks and emails later and despite empty promises we have had to file a dispute with our credit card company to recoup funds stolen by BECU employees.

If you are considering doing business with these knuckleheads I suggest you run and not look back lest you turn into a pillar of salt!

more ...
Jun 22, 2016
Run, don't walk away!
RT996 Account Holder

I have to concur with others that this place needs someone to go in and clean house. By cleaning house, I mean fire management and retrain the rest of the staff that is retrainable. This is supported by the fact is that most of the employees are snarky and dishonest, that is if you can get ahold of them. 

We do have a banking account here that we do not use as we became disenchanted when attempting to open it. We decided to give BECU a second chance recently and filed an application to refinance. We are in our golden years, have perfect credit and have never had an issue with the several homes we have purchased. 

Ultimately we found their fees excessive and interest rates above the industry standard for a refinance on a 15 term. They had already charged us for the appraisal that had never taken place and we had put a hold on the application after we were hit with sticker shock concerning their fees. Instead of putting the application on hold, Carole Sullivan and John Smith at BECU (these two need to be terminated from their current position) continued and put hard-hits on our credit. We then contacted then and withdrew our application and requested a refund for the appraisal that never took place.

It is now several weeks and emails later and despite empty promises we have had to file a dispute with our credit card company to recoup funds stolen by BECU employees.

If you are considering doing business with these knuckleheads I suggest you run and not look back lest you turn into a pillar of salt!

more ...
Jun 01, 2016
Awesome
Anonymous Account Holder

I have banked with BECU for 21 years and never had an issue. The visa is low interest 6.9 , I have had a car loan and I don't get eaten up with fees on my accounts. On line or in person banking has been flawless. I wouldn't bank anywhere else.

more ...
Apr 13, 2016
Good Credit Union without essentials
Anonymous Account Holder

The credit union has given full and appropriate information when asked.  The employees have always been friendly and forthcoming.  

They do not have a simple and essential service for their members.  They do not have the ability to put a signer on a depost account without making that person and owner of the account.  This is important in some situations.  This is available at other institutions.  

I hope they add this service in the future.  It isn't hard.  

more ...
Feb 21, 2016
Awsome!
Anonymous Account Holder

I love BECU! I have banked with them for the past 8 years and have not had any problems. I banked with chase before the fee's blew me away. I was getting multiple fee's everytime I looked it seemed. I was fed up and that is when I found BECU. They are honest and dont have any fee's that are hidden. After all banks make money on your money that they loan so we should we get fee's for letting them hold our money. Overall BECU is a great company and would recomend them to anyone!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations