BCU

5.0 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 10, 2017
I wouldn't use any other institution.
csaltz Account Holder

I've had an account with this credit union for about 5 or 6 years now and I use them as my primary bank for direct deposit and paying bills. I opened my very first credit card with them, the Simply Visa, and was granted $500 and 15.9% APR (which is a little high but I didn't have great credit since I was fresh out of high school) and only a $20 minimum payment. About 2 years later, I went to them for an auto loan before I decided on a car and they gave me $10,000 (again, my credit still wasn't great becuase I was a broke college kid and my credit card was always maxed out but I never had a late payment). After buying my car, they threw in GAP and roadside assisstance with an APR of only 8.6%!! About a year after that, I was approved for a personal loan of $5,000 with a monthly payment of $130 and APR of 12.25%. That mobile app is very clean and easy to use and I can simply pay all three of my lines of credit with them. 

I'm very glad I joined them. Getting my direct deposit 2 days early is great and I've never had an issue with their customer service. 

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Customer satisfaction at it finest !!
BigCHubb Account Holder

The benifits this credit union provides are way more useful than the ones I used to have.

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
This credit union is by far the best yet
HolmanClifford Account Holder

They take time to explain, they are fast and great with customer service, I have even had other become a member.

more ...
Nov 20, 2016
Simply outstanding!
Larkowitz Account Holder

A few weeks ago I needed to withdraw cash when I stumbled upon a BCU ATM. I had never even heard of them before that day. I looked up some info on what they offered and I liked it so I decided to join. BCU verified my info and gave me my member number and account information online, on the spot. (I always had to send documents and wait with other CUs) I was also approved for their Simply Visa card the same day I joined! Transactions are posted incredibly fast, they offer transfers to external accounts, you get your paycheck two days early, customer service has been really good so far, no hidden fees. (there are few, if any, depending on what you're doing.) Right now I waiting so to see if I get approved for a personal loan to consolidate some old credit card debt with a lower rate, but they make me feel confident about it. I'm expecting good results. 

Before I discovered credit unions, I was using Discover Bank. (they're good but, no bank will ever be a credit union kind of good) But it's an online bank so I also needed a local bank where I could make fast deposits if needed. So I kept an account with Banco Popular too. (most credit unions in PR charge about $10 a month for their investment account you must open to be a member, not like the ones in the US) After a friend recommended me to open an account at a CU I opened one with LMCU, and time later I opened an account with Alliant CU. Each of those banks/CUs offered different services that were important to me: 

- Banco Popular - Easy, fast deposits at a branch or ATM.

- Discover Bank - Free ACH transfers, rewards for using your debit card

- Alliant CU - 1% interest rate on savings (best I had so far) free ACH transfers too.

- Lake Michigan Credit Union - 3% interest rate on checking (after meeting some requirements) 

Now thanks to Baxter Credit Union I might actually close all of those accounts. They offer everything I want, in a single place:

- Convenience of having a local branch.

- Free ACH transfers

- Rewards for using your debit card

- 1.25% savings rate with Rainy Day savings, which doubles to 2.50% after the first year.

- 2% interest rate with Powerplus Checking after meeting the requirements.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 25, 2016

Update: They also approved my personal loan. :)

 
Nov 08, 2016
Multi Loans with no issue
Tiff04any Account Holder

BCU is pretty amazing when it comes to loans. The process is really easy and everyone is so helpful. I have filled out paperwork and within a day grabbed the check to buy the new vehicle. Setting up payments for the loan is easy and can be done right away. Banking is easy. No hidden fees. Customer Service is amazing as well.

more ...
Sep 24, 2016
fast service
rt1213 Account Holder

fast  posting of  transactions

more ...
May 21, 2016
Great Credit Union
BernieSanders Account Holder

I've been with them for a year. I joined initially because my company will deposit funds with them a couple days earlier than most banks, so I get paid on Wednesday instead of Friday. They've been pretty fantastic the whole time I've been rebuilding credit. However, the customer service is pretty sub-par. Currently TU - 698 EQ - 657 - Ex Fico 649. They approved me for a $5,000 Travel rewards card. I requested an immediate CL increase of $12,000 and they approved it instantly!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations