Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Apple Federal Credit Union

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
3.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 20, 2014
Sonshyne2148 Account Holder

I have been with Apple since 2005, including when I moved out of state. I am completely satisfied and do not plan to change.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 18, 2012

 I have two substantial loans with APPLE FCU and they rarely report the balances or payment history to the credit bureaus.  I actually have had to file a dispute to get the correct balances reported. I much preferred Synergy Federal Credit Union which is where I was before APPLE FCU purchased them.

more ...

Reviews (20)

Add Review
Oct 18, 2016
Amazing Rates for everything/best creditunion

Applefcu offer the best rate i am building my credit for 15 months now it was 520 among all in that time. I applied and got approved for 2.34% / 60 Mo. TU 737 FICO. I was really surprised. My first car. GUYS this is a great credit union. I can say only good things about it.

more ...
Aug 11, 2016
Great service
Liwaa Account Holder

APFCU is the best lender i deal with!

i have mortgage and auto loan and both are great rate with perfect amount and service.

everything is easy and you can figure out what is the advantages and disadvantages with little knowledge.

I recommended for every one  

more ...
Aug 11, 2016
Awesome! great service, great rates
karar90 Account Holder

Awesome! great service, great rates

more ...
Aug 11, 2016

i agree

Apr 10, 2016
Awesome! great service, great rates
Anonymous Account Holder


more ...
Nov 22, 2015
Does everything to make good business.
PentagonBoy11 Account Holder

I opened this account up a few years ago due to dissatisfaction with another CU. A few years later, when I was rebuilding my credit due to some mistakes, I applied with a 650ish TU score to refi my auto loan. I went from a 8.5% auto loan with a big bank to a 4.49% rate with Apple. Later in the year, I applied for their Holiday Loan and got declined with a 650ish TU but they cross-sold me a signature loan to pay off about $8k in credit card debt instead at 15.74%. That loan was perfect since I had gone through credit conseuling and my payment was $430ish but the loan was only $200 a month, which I have since paid off. I got a new car this year thanks to Apple who approved me for a 3.7% rate with a 690ish TU for an 7 year loan. I could not get the full amount of the sale financed by $2k but I had a down payment prepared anyway, and they made special arrangements that I could have a check in hand to take to the dealer at night. Apple has provided me great customer service and gave me a chance when others would not. 

more ...
Jun 05, 2015
Head and shoulders above.
MaddMaxxxxx Account Holder

I love this credit union. Joined Fairfax County FCU first, quickly switched to apple and haven't looked back.

more ...
Feb 25, 2015
Terrible/Nonexistent Debit Fraud Alerts
WIBonDC Account Holder

I applied and obtained checking and savings accounts with AFCU when I first moved to the DMV area after college when I got my first professional job. The application process was easy and the customer service has always been above average. My account set up was very convenient through the online interface.

The straw that broke the camels back.... I recently (this morning) discovered about $1k of fraud on my checking account. It had been through a series of transactions over the course of 4 days. 10 fraudulent transactions took place and I didn't even recieve ONE notice of questionable charges on my account. The charges were all for the same amount to the SAME user/destination. This even also irritated me even more because after the 3rd or 4th transaction they fraudulent party had then been removing money from an account *which was then in the negative*. So, by the time I noticed the pesky charges my account was at -$500. How does a financial institution NOT pick that up on a fraud radar? Like someone would really be putting themselves in the hole by hundreds of dollars in separate increments. It just baffles me and has now made me the most frustrated I have ever been with a bank/CU.

This is not to say that the customer service (John, at the Vienna branch) was not excellent. He put in a claim to the fraud team as soon as I verrified which charges were not legitimate. He also set me up with a temporary debit card so I could still have access to my account. He truly did ease the pain of this experience by handling it in a professional and timely manner. So I send my most sincere thanks to him for being of service.

As for some other random matters that have bothered me:

- The mobile banking app is the bare minimum for a banking app. Mobile deposits are convenient but practically universal for FI's these days. The UI is not very pleasing and it's not organized in the best possible way (I work in app development for a separate FI and have now become a nit-picker for functional and asethetic aspects of apps). Also, there is no way to see your CC account details, no set up for a passcode/touch entry to the app, among other things.

- $5.00 fee for each ACH transfer (transfers to another FI). Several other CU's that I've been with in the past who do this for free. Other FI's outdo AFCU in the matter of timing as well. ACH transfers with Apple take 3-5 days, where transfers with others have been instant or just 1-2 days.

- Unable to access the full account number while logged into my account online. Incredibly inconvenient while trying to set up automatic payments, direct deposit, or anything else you may need your account number for.

more ...
Jan 15, 2015

They gave me and my husband a chance eventhough none other CU will and we were able to make our first step to recovery.   Jennifer Tillet of Herndon Branch is such a nice person to talk to; she really takes good care of you and answers any questions you miught have like a family, she is always pleasant and real! She never made me feel any less even for my credit. She genuinely wants to help people which I like so much!

Thank You APPLE FCU!

Looking forward to our future now that you are right behind us in our financial needs!

more ...
Jan 13, 2015
can not trust them
Anonymous Account Holder

The Spanish agent who works at the Main Street Branch is to be untrusted. He was help us with are opening up our accounts and loan and was sharing our private information to people who know us outside the branch. That was completely unprofessional and violated our privacy. I had to request he no longer have access to our accounts.   

more ...
Jun 27, 2014
Loudon county mid management is weak!
Anonymous Account Holder

Bad experience with mid level management in Western Region.  I had a time sensitive issue that went six days befire any follow-up! This crefit union now seems like a poorly run regionsl bank.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this credit union overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this credit union?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations