Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

America First Credit Union (AFCU)

2.8 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 18, 2016
their phone service is horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Great when you go into the locations in person but when trying to get ahold of someone on the phone forget about it they will make you wait all day they never answer 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 30, 2017
Plan on closing my account ASAP
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a member for over 15 years, but everytime I have tried to get a loan or extend my credit they are difficult to work with. I have fairly good credit too, you would think thy would help out loyal customers, and want my business. I feel like there was a time where their customer service was really good too, but it is just hit and miss with who you get. They are outdated and I am much happier with my Bank. I will be closing my account soon becuase I hate how I am treated when I walk into certain branches. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 30, 2017
Plan on closing my account ASAP
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a member for over 15 years, but everytime I have tried to get a loan or extend my credit they are difficult to work with. I have fairly good credit too, you would think thy would help out loyal customers, and want my business. I feel like there was a time where their customer service was really good too, but it is just hit and miss with who you get. They are outdated and I am much happier with my Bank. I will be closing my account soon becuase I hate how I am treated when I walk into certain branches. 

more ...
Jan 20, 2017
Out Dated
Anonymous Account Holder

With so many other credit unions out there to choose from, America First would be last on my list. This day in age, you need and updated website and app. I can't get any of the things that my other financial institutions offer. Very basic things like a bio-metric scanner (finger or eye) and alerts for charges/deposits are two simple things that I feel like every institution should have. I'm not even an angry customer, it's more just that things are so out dated that I had to leave for another institution.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Been with them for 15 years and LOVE it!
Anonymous Account Holder

I've never had a bad experience with them in my time here. The staff has always been helpful 

more ...
Dec 22, 2016
Over promise under deliver
XanderXone Account Holder

would have thought they would be more understanding. That's why I went with them in the first place. Whether it's charging me with their expensive insurance whilst the truck I just bought sits in a shop for two months (my truck was covered by the shop's insurance) or requiring me to have full coverage insurance on my truck when I am deployed to serve this great country.... ya the title "America First" is a little misleading then.

Also, their "low interest auto loans" are slightly misleading. They advertise 3.2 percent, I have excellent credit but pay much more than that on both my vehicles. They find every reason to bump the rates up.

Everything else though I have been happy with. The branches always have great staff.

more ...
Jun 22, 2016
12 Year member, not anymore.
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been with AFCU for well over a decade, but something shifted in the organization over the last 5-6 years, and it's not a good thing. Customer service is a dumpster fire; they do not follow up, and I have to spend time managing the wrong information that they provide. I'm taking my business to another financial institution that knows how to build relationships with people and problem solve from a customer/partnership perspective not their convenience of staff and operations.  

more ...
Apr 29, 2016
Scammers
Anonymous Account Holder

Do not get a car loan with these scammers. We missed 2 payments and they reposessed our car worth 3200 and they made an insurance claim for 6500 in repairs which is twice the blue book value of the car. How can it cost twice what a car is worth to repair it. Also the car was undamaged when they towed it away. So in short they are trying to double bill us for the same car twice. 14,000 for an original loan of 6000. Total fraud. I have started an investigation with the National Credit Union Admanistration and suggest you do the same if you are in the same boat. Borrower beware.

more ...
Apr 20, 2016
Best bank (credit union) I have ever had
SecondStar3 Account Holder

I switched to AFCU from Wells Fargo! I love the fact that is is 100% free checking and savings. There are no hidden fees or random charges EVER! 

After showing them how reliable i am and I could keep my accounts current they let me Finance a car loan. I now have a great interest rate through them, a line of credit, and a credit card through this AFCU! 

I'll never look for another place to hold my money or loans again!!! Will use them for life. I also have a savings account for my kid and they have the best interest rates around for that!

more ...
Apr 18, 2016
their phone service is horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Great when you go into the locations in person but when trying to get ahold of someone on the phone forget about it they will make you wait all day they never answer 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations