America First Credit Union (AFCU) Reviews

2.2 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 17, 2017
Not what they promised
creditbuilder49 Account Holder

I was concerned when the house appraisal for a HELOC came in artifically low.  They assured me that if property tax notice shows something different down the road they will gladly change the loan limits without any problem.  That was a lie!  That time came and now they refuse to do anything about it - other than require an entirely new loan, new credit inquiry, etc.  Had this been the case I would have not opened the HELOC until the original appraisal was corrected.  Now I will have to deal with another inquiry that will impact my credit rating.  I have contacted their service department and the issue is quickly dismissed with a cold 'sorry....'    No good will, no explanation, no investigating, etc.  The organization used to be the best at offering excellent customer service.  After 25 years of being a very loyal member and keeping substantial assets at AFCU I've learned they are no longer the great credit union they used to be.  It's really sad they have lost what made them so great at first.  BUYER/LOANER/SAVER BEWARE!

more ...
Aug 10, 2017
Bankers and Underwriters take their time
Anonymous Account Holder

When they tell you a certain time frame it's never accurate. Always waiting longer than they say to hear back. They are also terrible at calling you back or letting you know the activity of your account and the status on things. Very disappointed and have been for a long time now. Mainly it's their underwriters. Customer service has always been good though! 

more ...
Jul 09, 2017
Very inconvenient
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't bank here

more ...
Jul 01, 2017
The worst company out of anyone
Clark3643 Account Holder

Please never use this credit union for anything the Visa dispute manager Laura is the worst person I have ever worked with. The supervisor named Levi with ID# 8825 is the worst person to deal with if you have had bad charges on a card they will make your credit report horrible for charges on your card that other banks will provide a credit to while viewing. Please these are horrible people and don't care if it messes your credit score up for the next couple months while they investigate the charges!!! 

more ...
May 02, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Account Holder

My whole process of my new car loan with America First has been a joke.  Wrong information from customer service leading me to waste my time.  Now I find out I have to do an external transfer and then pay the bill that way.  They are almost forcing you to have to switch your money over there so that you can make your montly payments.  I much prefer Mountain America or Utah Community Credit Union, I have never had a problem with either one of those.  America First has been the most complicated car payment access I have ever set up.  It is ridiculous and very frustrating.

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Great Credit Union or the Wasatch Front
RECRANGER Account Holder

I've had my checking account through AFCU since 2005. I've had several loans through them, credit cards, savings, and money market savings accounts. They have great customer service, and follow up on all issues I've ever had. I've used them all over the US, which can be a bit of a pain for ATM fee's outside Utah. If you are living in Utah, especially the Wasatch Front, they are all over the place. The only place I'd consider over/in competition with America First in Utah is Mountain America Credit Union.

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
Plan on closing my account ASAP
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a member for over 15 years, but everytime I have tried to get a loan or extend my credit they are difficult to work with. I have fairly good credit too, you would think thy would help out loyal customers, and want my business. I feel like there was a time where their customer service was really good too, but it is just hit and miss with who you get. They are outdated and I am much happier with my Bank. I will be closing my account soon becuase I hate how I am treated when I walk into certain branches. 

more ...
Jan 20, 2017
Out Dated
Anonymous Account Holder

With so many other credit unions out there to choose from, America First would be last on my list. This day in age, you need and updated website and app. I can't get any of the things that my other financial institutions offer. Very basic things like a bio-metric scanner (finger or eye) and alerts for charges/deposits are two simple things that I feel like every institution should have. I'm not even an angry customer, it's more just that things are so out dated that I had to leave for another institution.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Been with them for 15 years and LOVE it!
Anonymous Account Holder

I've never had a bad experience with them in my time here. The staff has always been helpful 

more ...
Dec 22, 2016
Over promise under deliver
XanderXone Account Holder

would have thought they would be more understanding. That's why I went with them in the first place. Whether it's charging me with their expensive insurance whilst the truck I just bought sits in a shop for two months (my truck was covered by the shop's insurance) or requiring me to have full coverage insurance on my truck when I am deployed to serve this great country.... ya the title "America First" is a little misleading then.

Also, their "low interest auto loans" are slightly misleading. They advertise 3.2 percent, I have excellent credit but pay much more than that on both my vehicles. They find every reason to bump the rates up.

Everything else though I have been happy with. The branches always have great staff.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations