Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

America First Credit Union (AFCU)

2.4 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 20, 2016
Best bank (credit union) I have ever had
SecondStar3 Account Holder

I switched to AFCU from Wells Fargo! I love the fact that is is 100% free checking and savings. There are no hidden fees or random charges EVER! 

After showing them how reliable i am and I could keep my accounts current they let me Finance a car loan. I now have a great interest rate through them, a line of credit, and a credit card through this AFCU! 

I'll never look for another place to hold my money or loans again!!! Will use them for life. I also have a savings account for my kid and they have the best interest rates around for that!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 22, 2016
12 Year member, not anymore.
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been with AFCU for well over a decade, but something shifted in the organization over the last 5-6 years, and it's not a good thing. Customer service is a dumpster fire; they do not follow up, and I have to spend time managing the wrong information that they provide. I'm taking my business to another financial institution that knows how to build relationships with people and problem solve from a customer/partnership perspective not their convenience of staff and operations.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jun 22, 2016
12 Year member, not anymore.
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been with AFCU for well over a decade, but something shifted in the organization over the last 5-6 years, and it's not a good thing. Customer service is a dumpster fire; they do not follow up, and I have to spend time managing the wrong information that they provide. I'm taking my business to another financial institution that knows how to build relationships with people and problem solve from a customer/partnership perspective not their convenience of staff and operations.  

more ...
Apr 29, 2016
Scammers
Anonymous Account Holder

Do not get a car loan with these scammers. We missed 2 payments and they reposessed our car worth 3200 and they made an insurance claim for 6500 in repairs which is twice the blue book value of the car. How can it cost twice what a car is worth to repair it. Also the car was undamaged when they towed it away. So in short they are trying to double bill us for the same car twice. 14,000 for an original loan of 6000. Total fraud. I have started an investigation with the National Credit Union Admanistration and suggest you do the same if you are in the same boat. Borrower beware.

more ...
Apr 20, 2016
Best bank (credit union) I have ever had
SecondStar3 Account Holder

I switched to AFCU from Wells Fargo! I love the fact that is is 100% free checking and savings. There are no hidden fees or random charges EVER! 

After showing them how reliable i am and I could keep my accounts current they let me Finance a car loan. I now have a great interest rate through them, a line of credit, and a credit card through this AFCU! 

I'll never look for another place to hold my money or loans again!!! Will use them for life. I also have a savings account for my kid and they have the best interest rates around for that!

more ...
Apr 18, 2016
their phone service is horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Great when you go into the locations in person but when trying to get ahold of someone on the phone forget about it they will make you wait all day they never answer 

more ...
Feb 20, 2016
"DON'T USE THEM, HORRIBLE"
Anonymous Account Holder

Use to be a good credit union, but they have lost everything that made them a good option. 

The advice they provide is always in their interest, they are misleading, dishonest, immoral, mean-spirited, and will do everything they can to steal your property and leave you penniless. I have never dealt with anyone less professional or more morally corrupt. Do not trust this Credit Union, warn your friends.

more ...
Feb 05, 2016
Great Experience
keltypack Account Holder

I switched to AFCU nearly 20 years ago when the Utah banks were pushing hard to punish credit unions with extra taxes. The bank advertising worked! I closed all my bank accounts and moved exclusively to credit unions. AFCU has been my primary CU since then.  I also use my employer credit union, but AFCU has better rates.  (The convenience of an on-site CU keeps me using the employer CU.)  AFCU doesn't charge for accounts. They don't charge for me to talk to a teller. With the CU network, I don't have to pay ATM fees all over the US.  I'm very happy with AFCU and will continue using them.

more ...
Feb 04, 2016
America First CU - Car Loan Warning!!
Anonymous Account Holder

WARNING - Before taking out a car loan with America First Credit Union, read on:

America First Credit Union will hold on to your car title - even if you pay it off in full!  They will do this if you have other loans with them, and at their discretion they "feel" that you may not be paying on your other loans as you should.  In other words, you cannot sell this car.  Before you make your last car payment to them make sure that you are in person and have money in hand and switch with them as they hand you the title.  They happily took our $1200 payoff and then declined to give us the title until we pay off our other loans with them, EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE NOT TIED TO THE CAR OR THE TITLE.

more ...
Dec 18, 2015
Anonymous Account Holder

They make a lot of mistakes and don't try to fix their mistakes. They just tell you they don't know. I would never have an acoount there again. They just don't care!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations