Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Alliant Credit Union

2.9 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 14, 2016
Really very good credit union
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been with Alliant for about 5 years.  I have had checking account, savings account, credit card and HELOC with them.  The HELOC rate was very competitve and no fees as part of special deal.  I just finished paying off the HELOC and now have a small credit card balance that will be paid off within the next month or so.  Still at 0% interest rate until November 2016.  I have found the customer service to be excellent with every service I have used.  I will stick with credit unions in the future.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 11, 2016
Old and antiquted
Anonymous Account Holder

Their processes are antiquated. I used them for a car loan. There is no way to make payments via their website. Almost everything is manual.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 11, 2016
Old and antiquted
Anonymous Account Holder

Their processes are antiquated. I used them for a car loan. There is no way to make payments via their website. Almost everything is manual.

more ...
Oct 03, 2016
account closed
xavico1982 Account Holder

They will close your account for no activity. Hides fees and misleading advertising. stay away

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
Really very good credit union
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been with Alliant for about 5 years.  I have had checking account, savings account, credit card and HELOC with them.  The HELOC rate was very competitve and no fees as part of special deal.  I just finished paying off the HELOC and now have a small credit card balance that will be paid off within the next month or so.  Still at 0% interest rate until November 2016.  I have found the customer service to be excellent with every service I have used.  I will stick with credit unions in the future.

more ...
Aug 15, 2016
Lousy customer service
PG82 Account Holder

Alliant is a good CU for the savings account that offers 1% interest rate. It was very easy to open the account online and I got my membership details promptly in a week. Since I had a relationship with them, I also applied for a rewards credit card. Despite my good credit score and a >$5k savings balance, they made a huge fuss and offered a max of $2k credit limit, plus their underwriting team wanted a ton of supporting documents to prove my residency in the US and my future plans. Their customer support is very snarky and has a 'I dont give **** if you take your business elsewhere' attitude. Bad bad experience. Applied to Amex the same day and instantly got approved for a card with $12.5k limit. Yes, a bank that I don't have a relationship with offered a card with 6 times the credit limit with no hassle.

Don't waste time going to this CU for credit cards or loans, stick to the savings account purely for the interest they pay out.

more ...
Aug 14, 2016
ONCE a great place to do business.
Anonymous Account Holder

Alliant was, 10-20 years ago, a great place to do business. My family has used them since the 1940s, Mother at 90 years old still banks here. Unfortunately, many of the good things such as customer service have continually eroded away. It's not a bad bank but the service and personnel care is a shadow of the former glory. I've not received a notice of a member meeting in years. If you have a problem and need to reach management forget it as like many of today’s useless drones, they hide behind an email barrier. Their not as bad as the monster banks but it does appear that they want to be.  I recommend you look for a local credit union where you can get a straight answer when you need it. I'm looking for one now.

more ...
Jul 25, 2016
Great rates, good place to keep money
luminiferous Account Holder

Alliant has really good rates (though these days, 1% counts as a great rate).  Their ACH transfer facilities are really nice, so I use them to move money around between my various bank accounts.  They support lots of transfers, good scheduling options, and most importantly, they credit funds sent or received very promptly.  Branch network is very small (basically near United and former Continental hubs), and they don't do shared branching.

The mobile check deposit is nice; in an early version of it, I often had my deposits held for a day or two for manual verification, but a recent update seems to have fixed that.

They also have a 0% intro rate credit card that has no balance transfer fee, which is an unusually good deal.  I don't have it yet, but may want it before I need to make some major home improvement expenses!

more ...
Apr 16, 2016
BevyH Account Holder

Alliant Credit Union is by far the BEST in the business. Top notch customer service, knowledgeable staff members, best rates, and I just love that they are always available 24/7 without waiting on hold. I've been a member before Continental Airlines Credit Union became Alliant Credit Union. Love, love, love the service. My whole family has accounts with this great institution. They do take good care of their members. Thank you Alliant!

more ...
Mar 25, 2016
No communication
pal143 Account Holder

I was processing 2 refinance loans.  One is finally completed after 2 months and the other is still pending because of a bad appraisal.  I requested multiple times for a phone call from Jennifer Vancil, the loan processer, for updates but only received emails after several attempts.  My loan officer Nick Safis is also very untimely when requesting information or return calls.  I read another review regarding Nick that said he has issues return calls in a timely fashion however I went with Alliant because I was referred by a family member.  They also put the incorrect address on the overnight package that contained the payouts from the refinance.  I will not finish the loan that is still pending and will not do business with them again.

Lastly, their closing costs are extremely high I found out after I closed the first loan but searched for a new company to do my second loan with.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations