Credit Union Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Alliant Credit Union

2.6 out of 5 stars
12 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 02, 2017
Excellent and helpful
Anonymous Account Holder

Very very helpful and quick to resolve issues.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 11, 2016
Old and antiquted
Anonymous Account Holder

Their processes are antiquated. I used them for a car loan. There is no way to make payments via their website. Almost everything is manual.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 15, 2017
Alliant
Anonymous Account Holder

Never in my life had I had problems with a credit union till now, trying to pay off a debt. Their customer service is below par, plus not knowing the consumers rights in paying off a debt. They deal with Greant and Webber which is one of the worst collection agencies holding the consumers rights.

more ...
Feb 02, 2017
Excellent and helpful
Anonymous Account Holder

Very very helpful and quick to resolve issues.

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Scam Artists!
Nycfunnyman Account Holder

AVOID ALLIANT AT ALL COSTS!  AND YOU WILL PAY IF YOU DON'T!!! My God where do I start with these fraudulent scam artists?  They sent me a promotion to spend $500 and get $100 back.  I was very skeptical because anytime I take advantage of a CC offer too good to be true I spend more time fighting them than saving $.  I spent $500 in November and come December the credit did not appear on my statement.  3 calls and two departments later I was assured it would appear on my January statement,  I spent $75 on a purchase prepared to use my credit and of course it did not appear.

So now I cal and speak to a supervisor who tells me it won't appear to February or March.  That's fraud right there.  When I explained I want the credit for $75 (I get 3 to 5% back on other cards) I was told no, you will have to pay that bill and I would be charged interest if I didn't.  So this is how they scam you.  Now I get 0 cash rewards on the $75, I have to pay that bill, then whenever these a holes feel like it they credit me $100.  Then I have to use the card again to get the credit.  This is a scam and these people need to be shut down.

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
no help if you have a possible fraud loa
Barrington21705 Account Holder

The dealer that financed me thru Alliant cu may have committed finance fraud.This has ruined my life And destroyed my credit.I've tried many many times to talk to Alliant cu to help resolve or get to to bottom of this situation ..but it seems they just dont care or may be involved in this possible fraud.So sad...

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
Part of swamp that needs drained.
W1Hackley Account Holder

RUN AWAY. I missed 1 payment in 12 month period, started very next month to send extra on top of payment to get it caught up. Out of blue they reposted my car. (STOLE IT) I was 530 behind on a 810 payment, sending extra. They treated me like I was 2 or payments behind with no effort. THIS IS THE SWAMP THAT NEEDS DRAINED!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 19, 2016

You skipped a payment, and thought you could make up for it by paying extra on future payments? Are you an idiot? I'd bet on it.

 
Nov 11, 2016
Old and antiquted
Anonymous Account Holder

Their processes are antiquated. I used them for a car loan. There is no way to make payments via their website. Almost everything is manual.

more ...
Oct 03, 2016
account closed
xavico1982 Account Holder

They will close your account for no activity. Hides fees and misleading advertising. stay away

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
Really very good credit union
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been with Alliant for about 5 years.  I have had checking account, savings account, credit card and HELOC with them.  The HELOC rate was very competitve and no fees as part of special deal.  I just finished paying off the HELOC and now have a small credit card balance that will be paid off within the next month or so.  Still at 0% interest rate until November 2016.  I have found the customer service to be excellent with every service I have used.  I will stick with credit unions in the future.

more ...
Aug 15, 2016
Lousy customer service
PG82 Account Holder

Alliant is a good CU for the savings account that offers 1% interest rate. It was very easy to open the account online and I got my membership details promptly in a week. Since I had a relationship with them, I also applied for a rewards credit card. Despite my good credit score and a >$5k savings balance, they made a huge fuss and offered a max of $2k credit limit, plus their underwriting team wanted a ton of supporting documents to prove my residency in the US and my future plans. Their customer support is very snarky and has a 'I dont give **** if you take your business elsewhere' attitude. Bad bad experience. Applied to Amex the same day and instantly got approved for a card with $12.5k limit. Yes, a bank that I don't have a relationship with offered a card with 6 times the credit limit with no hassle.

Don't waste time going to this CU for credit cards or loans, stick to the savings account purely for the interest they pay out.

more ...
Aug 14, 2016
ONCE a great place to do business.
Anonymous Account Holder

Alliant was, 10-20 years ago, a great place to do business. My family has used them since the 1940s, Mother at 90 years old still banks here. Unfortunately, many of the good things such as customer service have continually eroded away. It's not a bad bank but the service and personnel care is a shadow of the former glory. I've not received a notice of a member meeting in years. If you have a problem and need to reach management forget it as like many of today’s useless drones, they hide behind an email barrier. Their not as bad as the monster banks but it does appear that they want to be.  I recommend you look for a local credit union where you can get a straight answer when you need it. I'm looking for one now.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations