Alliant Credit Union Reviews

2.7 out of 5 stars
11 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 05, 2017
secured loan is a great credit tool
creditgeek88 Account Holder

alliant shared secured loan is a great credit tool. look it up on google. 20-40 pt boost.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 14, 2017
Accounts closed
Anonymous Account Holder

Process to setup an account is quick and easy and as long as you don't maintain the expectation to be able to access your money in the way that you would like or make the requested changes within a reasonable timeframe, it's great! Attempting to get a hold of a knowledgable and effective customer service agent is a joke and anyone that I have spoken with sounds like they are being forced to work there. It is literally impossible to pull more than $1000 in cash within 24hrs out while operating within the confinds of their rules. Sure it's your money, but you can't have it all. By the way, if an emergency occurs requiring you to freeze your account to prevent further damage, don't worry, the after hours team will add a note to the account so that someone can check on it Monday. I wish I had done more research into this company before opening an account. I have wasted more time and money than I care to share. While no bank is a great option, there are certainly better options than Alliant.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 13, 2017
So far so good.
Anonymous Account Holder

Good.

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
secured loan is a great credit tool
creditgeek88 Account Holder

alliant shared secured loan is a great credit tool. look it up on google. 20-40 pt boost.

more ...
May 04, 2017
Low % rates & 0% transfer fees.
karmaes Account Holder

Amazingly low interest rates.  My new SUV has a 1.27% rate and my used truck is only a 1.99% interest rate.  Also, I received a cash $100 bonus for each loan they deposited in my saving account without a problem. Large credit line $24k and 0% on balance transfers.  Ultimately reverting to a 11.24% interest.  Purchases are 11.24% with a grace period.  Also, I receive a 2% bonus on all purchases.  I do have a representative at the Credit Untion that I can easily reach and she is great.  FYI: My credit score is excellent.  As I recall they use Experian. 

more ...
Apr 29, 2017
Good rates, outdated website
benjaminhammond Account Holder

Overall I've been quite happy. Their savings rates are top notch, and their setup for my HSA was pretty good allowing me to invest it with low fees or get an OK rate of return to have it sit there in an insured account. Their website is kinda clunky, iPhone app is worse. They just out of the blue upgraded a credit card I was no longer using from 1% to 2% cash back... so that was cool!

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
Horrible auto loan experience
Anonymous Account Holder

Do not use unless you're ready to move at a snail's pace, as that's what they're accustomed to here, apparently. We chose a car and wrote a purchase agreement days ago, we were told that the check would be overnighted to our dealership, arriving Friday to get the car. They dropped the ball and the deadline passed for overnight delivery and now the check can be sent the next day, arriving Saturday. Of course, on Saturday, we find out that the check wasn't sent for Saturday delivery and would instead be arriving Monday. Which is terrible because we work 12 hour shifts so there's literally no way to get the car until this time next week. So nice to have a car paid for and no way to drive it! We even tried to get out of the loan and just finance through the dealer and they told us there was no way to. Thanks a lot.

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
Accounts closed
Anonymous Account Holder

Process to setup an account is quick and easy and as long as you don't maintain the expectation to be able to access your money in the way that you would like or make the requested changes within a reasonable timeframe, it's great! Attempting to get a hold of a knowledgable and effective customer service agent is a joke and anyone that I have spoken with sounds like they are being forced to work there. It is literally impossible to pull more than $1000 in cash within 24hrs out while operating within the confinds of their rules. Sure it's your money, but you can't have it all. By the way, if an emergency occurs requiring you to freeze your account to prevent further damage, don't worry, the after hours team will add a note to the account so that someone can check on it Monday. I wish I had done more research into this company before opening an account. I have wasted more time and money than I care to share. While no bank is a great option, there are certainly better options than Alliant.

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Alliant
Anonymous Account Holder

Never in my life had I had problems with a credit union till now, trying to pay off a debt. Their customer service is below par, plus not knowing the consumers rights in paying off a debt. They deal with Greant and Webber which is one of the worst collection agencies holding the consumers rights.

more ...
Feb 02, 2017
Excellent and helpful
Anonymous Account Holder

Very very helpful and quick to resolve issues.

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Scam Artists!
Nycfunnyman Account Holder

AVOID ALLIANT AT ALL COSTS!  AND YOU WILL PAY IF YOU DON'T!!! My God where do I start with these fraudulent scam artists?  They sent me a promotion to spend $500 and get $100 back.  I was very skeptical because anytime I take advantage of a CC offer too good to be true I spend more time fighting them than saving $.  I spent $500 in November and come December the credit did not appear on my statement.  3 calls and two departments later I was assured it would appear on my January statement,  I spent $75 on a purchase prepared to use my credit and of course it did not appear.

So now I cal and speak to a supervisor who tells me it won't appear to February or March.  That's fraud right there.  When I explained I want the credit for $75 (I get 3 to 5% back on other cards) I was told no, you will have to pay that bill and I would be charged interest if I didn't.  So this is how they scam you.  Now I get 0 cash rewards on the $75, I have to pay that bill, then whenever these a holes feel like it they credit me $100.  Then I have to use the card again to get the credit.  This is a scam and these people need to be shut down.

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
no help if you have a possible fraud loa
Barrington21705 Account Holder

The dealer that financed me thru Alliant cu may have committed finance fraud.This has ruined my life And destroyed my credit.I've tried many many times to talk to Alliant cu to help resolve or get to to bottom of this situation ..but it seems they just dont care or may be involved in this possible fraud.So sad...

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this credit union overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this credit union?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations