Credit One Bank Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.1 out of 5 stars
555 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 25, 2019
Credit building life saver
Jaleesazzzzz Cardholder

I've had this card for 5 years now and my credit limit increases periodically. I've always had great experiences with customer service. If you do your part and pay your bill on time this is a credit way to establish credit

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 21, 2018
ItMeB16 Cardholder

WORST CREDIT CARD EVER!!!! PLEASE RUN!!!! I went out of town & used the card at Walmart & my card was immediately declined. I received a text to confirm the transaction. I received another text stating my card was cleared and ready to use again. Well, it wasn’t. Customer service was closed. I called the following morning only to discover that if you’re out of town & use it at Walmart they automatically place a block on your card and to remove this block you must FAX a copy of you Drivers License & a recent utility bill to their ‘home office’ it gets better, it takes 2-3 days for them to receive your fax & an additional 7-10 days for them to review it & release the hold on your card!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have NEVER heard of it taking ANY company 13 days to confirm I AM WHO I SAY I AM!!! Besides I answered every security question, social security #, address, phone number, last transactions!! I’M DONE!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 22, 2019
Rotten customer service.

Bank is very shady. Obviously trying to trick people into believing they are affiliated with Capital One.
Not even close. Stay away. Avoid this bank.

more ...
Jul 21, 2019
No problem so far
Summer458 Cardholder

I applied for this credit card 5 months ago so I can help boost my credit score and it has been a good card for me. I haven’t had to contact customer service so I can’t speak on that but, everything else is good. After three months I got an increase, I never had a problem with payment and I only used the standard payment option. I read that using this card out of your state will cause decline purchases but I took a trip out of state and I had no problems. My credit score has increased so much that I felt comfortable applying for a capital one card and got approved for it. I love it so far. It has helped me a lot. 

more ...
Jul 20, 2019
Sucks
Guitarman38 Cardholder

I have 3 credt cards (This being one of them). I have never had a problem with th eother two. I have had this pathetic CreditOne Visa since April of 2018 and began requesting a credit line increase in the fall of 2018 and made my last request 15 mins ago (7/20/19) and I have been turned down every single time! I have NWVER been late with payments on this card (or any of the others), my credit score is in the 600's. ALL of my monthly debts have ALWAYS been paid on time. Credit One has my credit score listed in the 500's!!! All 3 major bureaus have it in the 600's. If you can't get a card anywhere else then I guess get this one BUT if you have any options other than this one, leave this one alone!

more ...
Jul 20, 2019
Gcate1 Cardholder

Don't do it!!!
I had this card they will find everyway possible to keep your credit score DOWN! To keep you there and if you do finally get over them they will give you the moon to stay.. No annual fee any more and if they can do this when you figure it out.. Why not do it from the start?? Also offered a 1% cash back to stay but they will pound your credit score to death.. I do not recommend this card at all.... BUYER BEWARE!!!!

more ...
Jul 20, 2019
I love it. Great card to have.
Copperpen10 Cardholder

I love the card. I have both visa and master card. The customer service is great. As long as you pay your bill on time they raise your credit limit every few months. I’ve never had a bad experience with them. I would definitely recommend them. 

more ...
Jul 20, 2019
Sucks
aklatt39 Cardholder

I set up an online account & every time I tried making a payment it would get kicked back & my account would be suspended. I deleted my banking info several times but it never once worked. When I called in to customer service I was told the account number was for a cancelled account. Not True.
They of course will take a payment by phone but it will cost you a $10 fee.
Shady business practices to say the least. After 2 months of continuous problems I finally just shut down the account.

more ...
Jul 19, 2019
Can't really complain
dbmiller63 Cardholder

The interest is high and they'll charge you a fee to give you a credit increase but what do you expect when rebuilding credit. Recommend only using it for what you can pay off every month and close it before the monthly fees start charging.

more ...
Jul 19, 2019
no problems
shadyjc Cardholder

unfortunately, i had to file for bankruptcy many years ago and this company was one of two that offered me a decent interest rate to help rebuild my credit. have been a customer for 8 years now and have never had a problem ever with anything. you have to remember the card is only as good as you make it

more ...
Jul 19, 2019
This is the worse company
Styaway1 Cardholder

Do not get this card if u like your Mental health and money u will be taking advantage of and they will still from u took me for 400 dollars when a purchase I make was refund they sent me a check and charged it as a cash advance against a different card scum bags stay away 

more ...
Jul 19, 2019
barry1266 Cardholder

This card is a great card! The only thing that I wish was not part of the relationship is the Annual Fee! Customer Service is attentive and very helpful!

more ...
Jul 19, 2019
Disaster
SWoods2019 Cardholder

If your card ever has any fraudulent charges they cant dispute them because they have no fraud team. If you want to just keep the card open and not use it them you will pay an 8 dollar fee every month. I have tried to cancel the card three times only for them to keep it open. The last time I called to cancel they said it was done, a month later someone purchased something on amazon. I called to dispute the charge and they told me that only way to get my money back is to call amazon. If the card had just been cancelled when I asked 4 months ago I wouldn't be paying 150 dollars for someone else's purchase. I initially stopped using the card because they would randomly put holds on my account for no reason, so I would have to constantly call in to reactivate my card. If you're trying to build your credit stray away from this card, it's nothing but a money hole.

more ...
Jul 19, 2019
It's a decent card for credit repair.
mmpreply Cardholder

The interest rate is a little painful, But, They reward you well for making those payments and keeping your account in good standing.
I went from $500 on 1 card to 2 now. One with $1500 and the other with $1300.

So if you are going to get this card, make sure you can afford double the minimum payment every month

or you will get caught in the interest pit.

more ...
Jul 19, 2019
Selinasmed Cardholder

I have 2 cards with this company. They have given one card consistent increases, but the other one none and they tried to say because my account usage didn’t meet their criteria no increase was given. So basically, don’t pay off a balance of they’ll hold it against you and not give increases because you’re a responsible credit user.

more ...
Jul 16, 2019
Worst card ever
gabriel4101 Cardholder

Rewards you earn, you will never receive. Lost my card. Ordered and reported lost 3 weeks ago. Still no replacement. This company is retarded and I do not recommend

more ...
Jul 15, 2019
Credit One is a piece of crap
kdclubb Cardholder

Allows fraudulent charges and won't look into it. They allowed charges that put my card over the limit, at the same place 4x. 

more ...
Jul 15, 2019
Not sure why all the negative reviews...
JayJenks Cardholder

Sooo I’m not sure why there are soo many negative reviews. I read a lot of reviews before I applied for this card. I was VERY skeptical to begin with because of the reviews, but I applied and got approved anyway. 

I have had this card for almost a year, so far, I have had no issues. 

The annual fee is coming up, which I’m not looking forward to that. But everything has been going smooth. I have only received 1 credit limit increase, so I went from 400 to 550. Nothing major. I have paid everything on time. You can make a payment 1 of 2 ways. Account number and Routing number (not sure how long it will take for available credit to update as I have not used this method). Or you can pay with a debit card. Paying with a debit card requires you to use the “express payment “ option, which has a $10 fee tacked onto it, but the available credit updates in like 5 minutes.

I have no problems with this card.

more ...
Jul 18, 2019

Has this been a good credit card for real? I’m skeptical but if I could get someone’s honest opinion I would love to go for it!

 
Jul 19, 2019

I haven’t had any bad experiences with this card.
I would go for it.
I almost didn’t apply because of the negative reviews. But next month will be a year for me, and I can’t think of any bad things.....besides the annual fee.

 
Jul 12, 2019
DO NOT GET THIS CARD
credituser911 Cardholder

There are really no positives to getting this card, its better to get a secured card then this as you will end up paying a ton of fees. 

You pay about $8 - $9 per month for their "annual card fee"

You will pay for $6 for some BS "credit protection" 

Roughly $15 per month to keep this card.

***ALSO THEY DO NOT HAVE AUTO PAYMENT*** 

You have to pay manually each time, and not each month will you get a statement so they will get you on late fees. 

And once you understad the evil of this credit card, you can't really cancel it or close it since it will impact you negativly

Best thing is not to open this card. 

STAY AWAY

Overall stay away. 

more ...
Jul 10, 2019
WORST CARD EVER
LORIBENO Cardholder

I HAVE A A+++ RATING FICO. THEY DO NOTHING TO HELP. SUB OUT ALL CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENTS, MAJOR LANGUAGE BARRIER, CHARGED ME FOR A $630 TRANSACTION THAT WAS DISPUTED. THANK GOD THE MERCHANT WAS HONEST AND IS GIVING ME THE CASH DESPITE HIM ISSUING ME EVERYTHING CAPITAL ONE ASKED AND THEY STILL DIDNT HELP ME. THEY ARE HORIBLE! DO NOT USE THIS CARD

more ...
Jul 07, 2019
lo6icsense Cardholder

Don't get this card. I have two cards with them. They put one of my cards on restriction for paying too much on the card. I paid my card off with the same back account I've been making minimum payments on. I finally had the money to pay it off and they restrict my card asking for a letter mailed from my bank saying that I authorized the payment. Keep in my mind I have two cards from them. Had the cards for at least 2 years. Made payments every month with the same back account. Now they want to put my card on hold for paying it off!  Stay away...

more ...
Jul 05, 2019
CREDIT ONE IS AWFUL!
HonestReviewer Cardholder

I've had two Credit One cards for 4+ years, a Visa and a MasterCard. I pay more than the minimum payment each month and have been 100% on time for the entire time I've had them. The problem is - once you've repaired your credit, you're stuck with the high interest and high fees and they will not raise your credit limit.  I've made numerous requests over the past year and even though my credit report shows "Excellent" credit, with a score of 780 they refuse to increase the measly $1,200 credit limit on either of my cards and can't give me a reason why other than "we have no offers for you".

This is ridiculous! I've been waiting for an offer they will never extend and paying extremely high fees and interest on these cards that are now actually hurting my credit! I've kept these cards in an effort to not disrupt my credit report but now I'm completely fed up! I'm going to have to take the hit, open new credit cards and close these which is a pain. 

Based on years of dealing with Credit One, I can confirm that the majority of the complaints on this company are absolutely true.  If you're looking to repair your credit, there are fare better credit card companies out there that won't rip you off as bad as Credit One. Save yourself the headache and avoid Credit One altogether!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 14, 2019

With 780 score, why would you not get a real card?? Look to get a good transfer card and pay these bums off. Get Discover or Citi !!!

 
Jul 04, 2019
lmteichma Cardholder

I applied two payments in April and in May totaling up to $318 which more than covers my minimum payment of $25 per month. I assumed that the excess money would be applied for June and now they’re saying I also owe $25 for July. They assessed a late fee for skipping my payment in June and are charging me $50 to activate my card again, since July is due. I repeat $318 in two months and I was assessed a late fee. Do not use this card...they steal your money and I was penalized for making early, larger payments. Theives! I give them zero stars. Horrible.

more ...
Jul 01, 2019
Fees for EVERYTHING
ENH76 Cardholder

This card worked well for me in re-establishing my credit but the downside is that this particular bank charges you for everything. Credit increase, CHARGE! Replacement card, CHARGE! Personalized image on card, CHARGE! Authorized user, CHARGE! It’s like you guys already charge high APR percentages now you want to further exploit my past credit problems. I feel there’s better choices in secured cards like Capital One and Discover who eventually increase your limit after responsible use and Merrick is a good unsecured choice for those with past credit issues.

more ...
Jun 30, 2019
Thievery!
Rumer1 Cardholder

Do not apply for this card! This credit card company is pure thieves! They will charge you interest the second you start making purchases! They make money on every purchase you make that means you will always owe some sort of Interest! stay far away from this card!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations