Credit One Bank Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
663 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 13, 2018
Great card after bankruptcy1
SCAsurvivor Cardholder

I had to file bankruptcy after incurring hundreds of thousands dollars in medical bills.  A couple months after I took a chance and applied for a Credit One card.  I was approved with an opening credit line of $300, and after two months they increased it to $700.  i am pleased with their servies and grateful they gave me a second chance. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 21, 2018
ItMeB16 Cardholder

WORST CREDIT CARD EVER!!!! PLEASE RUN!!!! I went out of town & used the card at Walmart & my card was immediately declined. I received a text to confirm the transaction. I received another text stating my card was cleared and ready to use again. Well, it wasn’t. Customer service was closed. I called the following morning only to discover that if you’re out of town & use it at Walmart they automatically place a block on your card and to remove this block you must FAX a copy of you Drivers License & a recent utility bill to their ‘home office’ it gets better, it takes 2-3 days for them to receive your fax & an additional 7-10 days for them to review it & release the hold on your card!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have NEVER heard of it taking ANY company 13 days to confirm I AM WHO I SAY I AM!!! Besides I answered every security question, social security #, address, phone number, last transactions!! I’M DONE!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 20, 2019
Good way to re-establish credit
amazingmama66 Cardholder

Good after bankruptcy. Only comment is that you cant make multiple payments in excess of two per month. This keeps you always in an owe state.

more ...
May 20, 2019
Good way to re-establish credit
amazingmama66 Cardholder

Good after a bankruptcy. My only comment is they limit how many payments you can make in any month. Keeping you with a balance if you want to pay it off.

more ...
May 19, 2019
Ridiculous.
Pathetic99 Cardholder

Good luck trying to pay off the account. They continuously send some sort of fee even though the account has been closed for months!! The people at customer service will hang up on you when they realize they’re wrong. 

more ...
May 18, 2019
elteec Cardholder

It’s ok but trying to access my accounts online to pay my bill is always a struggle. I’ve been trying now for a week to no avail. 

more ...
May 17, 2019
SH*T
Anj2000 Cardholder

I've had this card for a year and half. At first everything was fine. Then my first problem with them is when I made my regular payment and decided to try and make another they locked me out of my account and made me wait a week to verify 2 deposits. Horrible customer service that never has an answer for you. This very last time with them I was on hold for a manager for 15 minutes! Terrible. Oh and then I learned that the round down when there is change in an available balance. Now I don't know if this normal practice but it just makes me wonder how much money has been skimmed off the top.

more ...
May 16, 2019
Nope
Jepatton Cardholder

Their customer service is terrible!!! Horrible!!! There are MAJOR Discrepancies between their app and what the customer service rep tells you. When you try to get them to explain why they don’t reallg have an answer. They flat out told me that they couldn’t speak for what’s on the site or the app. I’m paying this one off and never banking with them again! 

more ...
May 16, 2019
absolute crap
terawoodhull Cardholder

they are happy to take your money and close an account on you, but wont help pay off the actual balance because you have to wait 24 hours to make additional payments , they say press 1 for english and noone speaks good english, they will not listen and help you.

more ...
May 16, 2019
Garbage support
Whitefrost Cardholder

I got this card to rebuild my credit. First I try an online purchase and my account get locked 4 times. I call the support 4 times before it finally goes through.
Then I pay my balance in full 6 days after getting the card with the Express payment. 7 days later I go to use it and my card declines. I call then up and they locked my account for "suspicious activity" and want a signed letter head from my bank verifying I made the transaction then I have to wait 7-10 days for then to check it. Kind of ironic how they do this BS when my scheduled payment is in 5 days. So I guess I'm just going to incrue these late fees and credit damage for their own issue.

My advice don't use this garbage *** Indian credit card unless you wanna spend 90% of the time on the phone unlocking your account.

more ...
May 15, 2019
Damaging and awful customer service
stantonjones Cardholder

If you pay you balance off regularly or in large sums, they make it inreasingly difficult for you to pay the card. No more than 4 payments on the card in a month. Letter (not statement) from your bank that you own the account and it must have a banker signature and contact number and proof of payments to CreditOne in the letter. THey want you to keep a balance so they can rape you on the interest and fees. 

more ...
May 13, 2019
Piece of wet feces
VT365 Cardholder

 Basically the bank sucks. They will charge you fees for paying on the account on time. They will lock you out from paying and then charge you fees. They will return you payment and charge you fees. Don’t utilize there services. I beg of you. The customer service sucks. All numbers are automated unless you use lost or stolen card and then you will wait for 20 minutes before they come to the line. They should be investigated by the SEC for fraud

more ...
May 13, 2019
Poor customer service.
tremmug Cardholder

Poor customer service. Language barrier is a big negative. I pay via their website each month. Website is inoperable very often which means you have to call in to make your payment. Then when you have no choice but to call in to make your payment they try and charge you a fee to make the payment by phone. I have 2 cards with them. I have one almost paid off and as soon as they are paid off I plan on canceling the cards. I have never been late and still pay high interest and no credit increases for a long time. I have had the cards for almost 5 years. Don't waste your time your only begging for problems.

more ...
May 12, 2019
Katfalt Cardholder

 I got this card in hopes of establishing my credit after a divorce. It has been a nightmare terrible. First of all it got declined every time I try to use it even though I own the card for fraud security… Then after that Emily had the car three months and they have taken 200 points off of my credit score. I sent every payment on time, but they keep sending it back! Last week I sent $300 and they sent it back yet again and suspended my online account so I can’t access it. So I contacted them and they said they need a bank validation letter from my bank-  something my bank had never heard of self and basically impossible to get it done. 

more ...
May 11, 2019
Worst company And card in existence
Vthomp Cardholder

no no stay away from them please. Their customer service line is a complete joke. Nobody can help you in any way with anything ever all they do is repeat to you the information you can access yourself in your online portal. If you have a problem with something good luck. They also are unable to locate payments you make even with black and white proof of payment. Snail mail is their preferred method of contact when it comes to discrepancies and account issues. Absolutely terrible save yourself the aggravation.  

more ...
May 11, 2019
vince6363 Cardholder

I currently have this card they, fell on hard times and I'm gonna go with a credit couseling service that negotiates interest rates to help pay off your debt, however these bums will not work with you! DONT GET THIS CARD TAKE THIS WARNING TO HEART!

more ...
May 11, 2019
vince6363 Cardholder

Will not work with you if you fall on hard times, they will not work with credit counseling like other credit card companies that will lower your interest rate to help you.

more ...
May 10, 2019
Preys on folks w/ shaky credit
Gyella Cardholder

Don't get this card. Their fees are stupid and they don't credit your account once you make a payment for 5 business days even though they take the money out of your account immediately. These type of cards should be illegal and companies like this should have a special place in hell for predatory lending. DO NOT GET THIS CARD!

more ...
May 10, 2019
Useful to Restore Your Credit
MzTri3 Cardholder

I was pre-approved for this card after my divorce and coming out of bankruptcy. My pre-approval was instant and I was able to use my card right away. Credit line increases are offered after consistent payments and no late fees. My only downfall to owing this card is their interest rate. I contacted Customer Service about lowering my interest rate and have yet to receive an answer. Once I pay this card off, I will not be using it again.

more ...
May 09, 2019
No customer service
Munchkin59 Cardholder

When I first got this card in my husband's name, it was ok. Recently I had to contact customer service and all I get is a recorded message of my balance and when next payment is due. There are no actual person who answers any calls. They have no automatic payment features and the day you make a payment, they take it out that very day. I will be paying this off and shredding the  card. One more thing, their number now comes up as a spam call. Buyer beware!

more ...
May 08, 2019
Denied CLI
sharonaj1312 Cardholder

This card is crap!

I have a $700 credit limit with them and have had this card for over a year. I've had perfect payment history and was using the card monthly up until December 2018 when I decided to pay off all of my credit cards as I was going out for a mortgage pre-approval in January. Today, I requested a credit line increase and was denied with the reason stating that there's been no activity in the last 90 days. I've never heard of such a thing before and I have many credits card with much higher limits. 

more ...
May 08, 2019
Denied CLI
sharonaj1312 Cardholder

This card is crap!

I have a $700 credit limit with them and have had this card for over a year. I've had perfect payment history and was using the card monthly up until December 2018 when I decided to pay off all of my credit cards as I was going out for a mortgage pre-approval in January. Today, I requested a credit line increase and was denied with the reason stating that there's been no activity in the last 90 days. I've never heard of such a thing before and I have many credits card with much higher limits. 

more ...
May 06, 2019
Horrible.
Bacety Cardholder

They make you jump through hoops to pay your bills. Customer service is horrible. I don't recommend this card to anyone. Most people who have this card thought they were getting a Capital One card, same logo and similar name. Something should be done about that.

more ...
May 06, 2019
1 WORD. RUN!
Depote Cardholder

If you desperate enough to apply with this bank go ahead but I will reassure DO NOT RELYING ON ANY OF THEIR CARDS. You will be at the register full of groceries only to be declined. I spent 4 hours at VERIZON store and was decline 7 times and I spoke to at least 15 different Indians. after they process my phone and went to swipe my card it declined. The Indians who handles their “customer service” said I was shopping at high theft store. A VERIZON STORE. Another Indian said it appear I was using a clone card. The Verizon employees had to get on the phone on my behalf and tell these people that I’m standing with my card with a chip and ID matching my card. I had the card for about 3 months and it declined at least 20 times talk about embarrassing

more ...
May 04, 2019
Quick and helpful card for poor or new c
andyw123 Cardholder

This card was easy to get! Tons of tools to help establish good credit. They reward you for paying on time. Highly recommend!!

more ...
May 04, 2019
Helping me rebuild my credit-thank you!
QueenMumMum Cardholder

My credit score is embarrassingly low! Credit Karma's website offered this card and I was immediately approved. I was so happy! I had become ill years ago and defaulted on a few things making my credit rating low, so this REALLY meant a lot to me - and I vow not to let THEM down now. The entire process was exceptional. I have them deduct a flat $50 per month out of checking-they even email to remind me. I use it frequently, everywhere. I am grateful and you should be too. Not one single solitary issue, and their website is self-explanatory and easy. Thank you Credit One Bank. 

more ...
May 02, 2019
Bottom of the Barrel
LB2019 Cardholder

They lose your notification settings constantly so you have to log in and reenter your information and settings.  When they lose your settings, you stop getting notifications.  God forbid you have a busy life and rely on the notifications to remind you when a payment is due because if you miss a payment they will report it on your credit report ASAP.  My adivce to them is update your website to retain your user settings more efficiently. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 04, 2019

I've had the card for a year and have never seen anything like this.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations