Credit One Bank Reviews

Credit One Bank Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.0 out of 5 stars
542 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

3 star reviews (41) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 26, 2019
Customer service is not Great
BLK56 Cardholder

The card isnt bad to have its good to start building your credit, but Customer Service is often times difficult to communicate with. I have had a charge on my card that I did not make and  to dispute I was told I need to first call the company that charged the amount then write a letter etc...the customer service rep I spoke to could not tell me if this was something new that they just implemented went straight to giving me account information...10 mins later after trying to get an anwer to that question I just told her to send me to the survey at the end of the call so I could leave my review...very poor service for a customer that has been with this company for 4 years...

more ...
Oct 24, 2019
mediocre
maddytay03 Cardholder

They don't tell you that you can only make 4 pymts in a 30 day period. I am trying to pay off my credit card but because i have made 4 pymts from Sept. 31st.- Oct 15th. Now that i am trying to pay off the card i have to wait till Oct. 31st. Nowhere does it state that you cannot make more 4 pymts in a 30 day. Customer service was no help, this information is not listed or doucemented anywhere for the public to know.

more ...
Oct 13, 2019
Okay....Let me explain....

I got this card basically because no one else would seem to take a chance on  me. So, when I got my card, I was plenty excited. I added my daughter onto my card as well. She uses it more than I do, which was a mistake on my end because she keeps running the darn thing up. 

I digress.

My college student daughter uses this card and I pay it off monthly. I do think it sucks that I have to pay a $10 express payment fee, but the payment doesnt even seem to post on time when it says it will in the first place. It is just a waste of money when that actual ten bucks could go to the overall balance. I hate that. Customer Service is terrible and I can barely understand what they are saying in English. And then they get mad at you for not understanding their words. It's really a trip. 
So I said, well, I'll make my payments on time and avoid talking to them. I once watied on the phone for forty five minutes just to add this card to my Apple Pay. Ugh! I was on the phone from the time I drove from Illinois to the time I made it to the Indiana border and went to Wendys. Finally, someone came on the phone to help me. I barely understood her, but we got through it. I had to answer the security questions, which I didn't even set up yet and she accused me of lying when I told her that I didn't. She said, "Well maybe your authorized user set it up." For the record, she doesn't even know or have my log in information. Right before my top blew, I hung up the phone. 

BUT! All of that, and it still not the worst experience I've had. I'm grateful to this card company for giving me a chance when no one would. Because of them, I now have my first REAL card, which is Discover Card. I get 0% interest for the APR AND after that is over, its 13%. If it werent for Credit One bank, I would have a much harder time. My credit scores are now in the 700s and I am happy for the first time. I wish I could get a card with a much higher limit, which is what I would like to do, and I'm aiming for CHase or Citibank, as they seem to give out the most generous credit limits. We shall see. I want to give this company three stars. 

I read many of the complaints and as long as you pay your payments ontime and don't have to talk to them all that much, you should be fine. But if you have to talk to them, good luck. If you're late on your payment, then God have mercy on your soul.....

God I miss my Capital One card......sigh...

Oh well, c'est la vie!

BUT!

more ...
Oct 11, 2019
Decent product for the market segment
JRMwv Cardholder

Pay on time, do not expect miracles when dealing with customer service, if you have more tahn one card from them never pay both the same day. Candidly, try to self-serve online and avoid their customer service time unless it is a must.

more ...
Sep 22, 2019
Heavy on fees
R78vet Cardholder

My due date is on the 20th of the month.  I made my payment on the 20th, have a conformation number and the next day I get hit with a late charge.  I am still waiting to find out why!

more ...
Sep 11, 2019
Good For Starting Over
Burreritscold Cardholder

Great card for starting over and great customer service until you want to cancel!  I would NOT recommend this company due to the change in attitude when I would not keep the card even with a credit for 6 moths of the yearly fee. I now have a card with no fee and have no reason to keep this.  The rep was great until I would not take the deal.  He then bluntly stated my card was closed and hung up on me.

more ...
Aug 26, 2019
High fees
Leese66 Cardholder

My number one complaint is the $99 yearly fee! This is primarily a card to help people with less than favorable credit scores but once your credit improves you're stuck with the high fees.

more ...
Aug 24, 2019
Credit limits could be better
Anonymous Cardholder

It would be great if the credit limits on both Visa and Mastercard had higher limits.

more ...
Aug 21, 2019

The guys over at Credit One Bank are awesome for helping you build credit.  They were the first to give me a card after my house was forcelosed in 2008.  They helped me build my credit with consistent credit line increases.   JUST BE CAREFUL.   If you are poor then these guys can also put you back in the debt house.   Every credit limit increase comes with a fee.   I also noticed they have a really nasty habit of adding fees to your card statement.   The most common is a $120/year fee billed monthly (about $10/mo).   You can call and ask them to remove the fee they will pretend it's a mistake but the fee will usually start appearing on your statement again after 2-4 months.   Eventually I had to cancel my card because I just got tired of calling them every couple of months.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Credit One Bank Reviews

Credit One Bank