Capital One® Quicksilver® Cash Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Capital One® Quicksilver® Cash Rewards Credit Card Reviews
3.3 out of 5 stars
113 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.49% - 25.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.49% - 25.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 23, 2019
Great for building credit
EW406 Cardholder

Approved initially at a 647 score for $300 limit. They said if i paid six consectuvie months I would qualify for a higher credit limit of $500. After paying off my balance in full every month for 6 months, they upped my credit limit to a whopping $2,300! Now sitting at a 720 score and have reestablished a healthy credit score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 22, 2019
Juannationarmy Cardholder

If you apply through credit karma, credit karma will apply for a different card called the capital one Quicksilver one and you will not get the bonus. I was on the phone with capital one 6 times and they do not want to give me the $150 bonus for spending 500. I am very ****ed at credit karma for this bs it's so bad I will never apply for a card through them. You're better off doing it through the banks website to be sure. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 18, 2020
Wyatt777 Cardholder

I initially applied for the $1000 credit limit used it for almost a year making all payments. No late fees I was bumped up to $2500 A couple months after first applying. I got an email last week saying my card has been suspended. I called and asked why? They said due to an error or my income to debt ratio was off.... ? I was like are they just dropping me because they aren't making any money off of me?? Makes no sense. They gave me the answer twice on the phone "A detailed letter will tell you why" still haven't got that letter. Just baffles me that they would do that. That sounds like something they would do if someone DIDNT pay their credit card back....????

more ...
Feb 16, 2020
Waste of time
mugman1021 Cardholder

Maybe a good card for poor credit individuals but not if you have good or great credit as I do. This was my first CC out of college, I have cards now with 50k 25k and 35k limits. Cap one wouldnt raise me above 5k. Said thats just how they do business regardless of my credit situation. I took my business elsewhere!

more ...
Feb 16, 2020
Best card to start and have
Willie78245 Cardholder

Great card app lets you see what you spend and you can setup if card is use it will send you a text for eveytime it's used. If you pay bill on time increases will happen sometimes you have to ask for increases but they will give you them geat card good services 

more ...
Feb 15, 2020
They only want to get into your wallet
a1locc25 Cardholder

They never honored any if their promotion. Customer is trash at very best. An if you keep a balance and then pay it off they still charge you interest even if you pay it off in full the previous billing cycle. I don't use the card anymore because honestly screw them. Why would I want to make a horrible company that doesn't care about you or standard credit act practices money. Don't get the card or any if their cards. Chase and Citi are so much better choices and earlier to be approved.

more ...
Feb 14, 2020
Happy they gave me a chance!!
Keneshialove86 Cardholder

I applied for the cc with ck good approval back in August 2019. My TR 634 and EQ 641. My limit was only $300 but i figured that's ok I'm here to build my credit nothing more nothing less. So after 5 months of on time payments it was to go to $500 by January. Well it went to $2300!!! I was completely shocked. I never leave a balance and i kept my utilization at around 5%. The only issue i have is that when it went to $2300 my TR shot up to 713 and my EQ dropped to 622. I contacted CK via email they don't know why that happened so I'm basically waiting till the end of Feb just to see if it goes back up there shouldn't have been a drop. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 17, 2020

What do you mean by upto 713? Are you referring to your credit score? Also, what do you mean by your EQ dropped by 622? Do you mean it went down to 622.

 
Feb 13, 2020
Credit booster
Countryteam Cardholder

This card is useful for building your credit. Apply if you don't have any credit history or working on gaining points. It was recommended to me by my credit tutor who helped me boost my credit 200 points up in 1 month to qualify for a mortgage I desperately needed. Royalblade @ Protonmail com is his email.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 17, 2020

There's NO way your score went up 200 points in one month. 😒

 
Feb 11, 2020
Its a good card, but....
LittleBlackDog Cardholder

Its a great card, good rewards, my only problem is the high interest rate THAT NEVER GOES DOWN!  I would rather get a lower interest rate!

more ...
Feb 12, 2020

If you're worried about the interest rate, you're playing the (credit card) game wrong.

 
Feb 16, 2020

I have ALMOST PERFECT credit and They still want 25+% Apr...thats crazy. I have WAY better credit card thru bank. No annual fees and 12% interest, which we pay in full each month anyhow.

 
Feb 10, 2020
Use it everyday
JonChat Cardholder

Great card got approved when my score was hovering around 600, I started off with a $300 limit and have gotten bumped up to $3300. I've lost it twice and cutomer service was excellent

more ...
Feb 08, 2020
Difficult payment options
kamisamaz Cardholder

This account is very high interest, but you can get 0% or low interest balance transfer. The issue is later, if you still use the card while making payments. There is no way to set up payments to cover Interest Saver payments, so you have to log on each month after your statement is issued to determine how much to pay. Credit card companies do this on purpose to drive you toward using the card and then bury new charges under the balance transfer amount and making it difficult to pay the new charges to avoid interst from accruing, and this card is worse than most for consumers due to this. My card will get paid in full following the balance transfer period and I'll not use the balance transfer service with this card again. Overall limit is good (20k), but from now, this card is a monthly repayment card only, which wasn't the actual reason I acquired it. If the payment options were fixed to allow Interest Saver by default, I'd use it robustly forever.

more ...
Feb 07, 2020
Pay your bills, and the card is fine.
Xah Cardholder

Capital one offered to upgrade me to this card with the same terms and conditions as my old card so I took the opportunity (along with an increase in credit limit) and as long as you pay your bills and stay under 10%, you won't have an issue and your credit score will rise. (As is with 98% of cards)

more ...
Jan 28, 2020
Very open to being hacked.
Hairyburger Cardholder

Capital One's credit card holder data and operating system have been penetrated by hackers, apparently Middle Eastern, since mid-2019. They continue to make fraudulent charges, even on replacement cards issued after a first fraudulent charge. I reported serveral fraudulent charges on my Platinum card, and there was another fraudulent charge on the replacement card EVEN BEFORE I received it in the mail.

more ...
Jan 28, 2020
This card is a great to start
DBear503 Cardholder

I started off with $500 limit. I like the rewards. Best to redeem a purchase as you get the most out of your points. Sign up and install the capital one ap and make easy payments, track spending, and lock your card. Interest is a bit high but all and all good for what it's worth. Better than credit one!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 13, 2020

Way better than credit one!

 
Jan 25, 2020
Glad it's in my wallet!
sourpuss29 Cardholder

I was recently upgraded to the QuickSilver card after only having my Capital One Platinum MC for approximately three and a half months. I simply called to inquire as to how long I would have to wait to get a different card, and BOOM!...they switched me to the one I wanted all along. I've used my QS a LOT over the past two weeks, and the thing I love most about it is that the cash back is available right away, as opposed to having to wait until the statement cuts to see it reflected. I look forward to having a nice, long relationship with Capital One. :)

more ...
Jan 23, 2020
Great Card
lschulz101 Cardholder

I originally received this card a few years ago.  I've maxed out a few times, I make payments larger than the minimum due, and I have never missed a payment.  I started with a 350 credit limit, and now it is over $2000.  I never thought I'd reach that limit.  My last credit increase was $1,000, normally I had only rec'd a $100-300 at a time.  This card has great rewards.  I purchase everything I can on this card, gas, groceries, entertainment, etc.  I then transfer the money from my checking to my card to pay off my purchases.  I'm not perfect, like I said, "I've maxed out a few times and gobbled up most of my limit on others, but I always pay it down.  Keep consistent in your payments, make them larger than the minimum, even if it's only $5-$10 and you will see your credit limit increase steadily.  Thank you, Capital One!

more ...
Jan 21, 2020
Subprime
jgilligan26 Cardholder

Inability to work with longstanding custumer with excellent credit score to upgrade to no annual fee. Closed card.

more ...
Jan 16, 2020
Perfect
TexasJohnny05 Cardholder

This and Discover are te most professional people to work with in this industry.  I've had two occasions with Capital One where I saw a charge that wasn't mine.  They immediately credited back my account and launch an investigation. Turns out I was right so it all worked out, but they did the heavy listing.  When I applied, through Credit Karma's recommendation and user reviews, I was re-building my credit and my score was around 670.  They gave me this card with a $10,000 credit limit. Then I applied for their Discover SAVOR card and it also came with a $10,000 line of credit.

Great cards and great people.

more ...
Jan 15, 2020
We refuse to use it
Toniaprotectsu Cardholder

My credit is excellent but Capitol One is an embarrassment. We had a problem with a vendor, at first Capitol One acted like they would take care of it. I sent them tons of paperwork, more than they requested, they closed the complaint without investigation and i spent to much of my valuable time chasing them. I have the call recorded which when they found that out refused to speak with me further and hung up on me, i have that also recorded. They lied and said they never got the paperwork yet 3 minutes before in the same conversation they said they received it all. I have a letter from them saying because I didnt supply the paperwork(i have on recorded call they admit i did) they are closing the complaint and i am responsible for the charges. We paid the charges and have not used them since. Chase bank gave me much better terms, 3 times the credit limit at much less interest and no annual. I will cancel the card soon but didnt want to ding my credit by doing so . My FICO score is between 790 and 814 depending on who you ask. You would think they would want to keep people like us, so imagine how they lie to people really working on their credit. Run from this company!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 28, 2020

For the same reason I will never have a Capitol One Card again. They never handle things properly and then let it all fall on the consumer.

 
Jan 11, 2020
Straightforward and simple

Have had it 4 1/2 years and have never had a problem, paying in the cap one app is a breeze. Their app is very good.

more ...
Jan 08, 2020
HORRIBLE Customer Service
NotHappyx Cardholder

I have yet to speak to someone who completely understands English and can help me.  I have to repeat myself over and over and all they want to do is send out a replacement card.  That's their standard response.  I am looking now to transfer to another credit card.  The customer service is horrible and I will never deal with them again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 23, 2020

That's unusual. I've had to call several times and I have always received excellent customer service. My card was compromised once and another time, I lost it. They overnighted a new card for me each time. I have never had a bad experience with customer service, in fact, I'd rate them one of the best.

 
Jan 06, 2020
Love this card!
AbbyHAZ Cardholder

After suffering layoffs and a bunch of nonsense, I applied for this card in October of 2018 and I was delighted when I got approved and could restart the credit-building process. At the time, I was approved with a TU/Equifax score of about 580. They started me with a $300 limit and it was raised to $500 within a matter of months. I've paid 100% on time and pay multiple times per month. I just got approved for a second Capital One card (the Platinum card-- I did not have to put a deposit down). This is a great card and while the cashback option doesn't yield big perks for me with a $500 limit, it's still nice to have this for times of emergencies. Just over a year later, my credit score has gone up to 670 (fair) and I'm hoping to hit the 700s in the next 6 months or so. 

more ...
Jan 03, 2020
Credit Karma Take UNRELIABLE
abaig Cardholder

I just wanted to review this to say that the Credit Karma take on this is completely unreliable. I found this out accidentally. Credit Karma's take on this card for me is Poor Approval Odds. I applied through Capital one's website. I was trying for the Quicksilver One but I didn't realize that I actually applied for Quicksilver. When I realized my mistake I thought for sure I'd be rejected because of Credit Karma's 'Poor Approval Odds'. But I was approved within a few days. I would have tried applying for a different or better rewards card if I knew how unreliable Credit Karma's evaluation is. I should be getting my card in a few days. Haven't used it yet

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 04, 2020

I wouldn't call it "unreliable." I'd call it "fortunate." More than likely something specific got you approved, especially if it took, as you said, "a few days." That means a human being had to actually dig into why your application should be considered instead of the automated system being able to flag you for approval. Just because you got this one doesn't mean you could have gotten any card, but it does suggest you may be able apply for riskier offers, especially if this card increases your favor with creditors.

 
Dec 28, 2019
Great for rebuilding credit

Let me start out by saying that I was approved for this card at the young age of 20 with a horrible credit score....
Also, might I add when I was 18 I had two cards with capital one that I let go by not paying the balance, so they charged them off as bad debt as expected!
So, Yes two years later I was pre approved for another two set of Capitol one cards which I still hold current to this day 6 years later!
They are willing to work with anyone in my experience the 6 years I've held this card.
The apr was not great because of my past charge off with them but i knew that going into to it.... I mean (just control your finances better) and it shouldn't be a problem!
They do give a pretty decent raise in credit and give you the option to request a higher limit in the app itself... So thats a plus for me!
I really don't have anything bad to say about this card or the company and all the people I see complaining on here just sound like they dont know how to manage their money properly or they just dont understand how applying for a credit card works.... either way I highly recommend this card and this company!

more ...
Dec 28, 2019
Great for rebuilding credit

Let me start out by saying that I was approved for this card at the young age of 20 with a horrible credit score....
Also, might I add when I was 18 I had two cards with capital one that I let go by not paying the balance, so they charged them off as bad debt as expected!
So, Yes two years later I was pre approved for another two set of Capitol one cards which I still hold current to this day 6 years later!
They are willing to work with anyone in my experience the 6 years I've held this card.
The apr was not great because of my past charge off with them but i knew that going into to it.... I mean (just control your finances better) and it shouldn't be a problem!
They do give a pretty decent raise in credit and give you the option to request a higher limit in the app itself... So thats a plus for me!
I really don't have anything bad to say about this card or the company and all the people I see complaining on here just sound like they dont know how to manage their money properly or they just dont understand how applying for a credit card works.... either way I highly recommend this card and this company!

more ...
Dec 28, 2019
Great for rebuilding credit!

Let me start out by saying that I was approved for this card at the young age of 20 with a horrible credit score....
Also, might I add when I was 18 I had two cards with capital one that I let go by not paying the balance, so they charged them off as bad debt as expected!
So, Yes two years later I was pre approved for another two set of Capitol one cards which I still hold current to this day 6 years later!
They are willing to work with anyone in my experience the 6 years I've held this card.
The apr was not great because of my past charge off with them but i knew that going into to it.... I mean (just control your finances better) and it shouldn't be a problem!
They do give a pretty decent raise in credit and give you the option to request a higher limit in the app itself... So thats a plus for me!
I really don't have anything bad to say about this card or the company and all the people I see complaining on here just sound like they dont know how to manage their money properly or they just dont understand how applying for a credit card works.... either way I highly recommend this card and this company!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 964
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Capital One® Quicksilver® Cash Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Capital One® Quicksilver® Cash Rewards Credit Card