Bank of America® Cash Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.1 out of 5 stars
63 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Billing Cycles on balance transfers made in the first 60 days
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99% - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99% - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 16, 2019
Good beginner card. Poor customer servic
Jeff3328 Cardholder

Expect to wait on hold for a while and have a person tell you they cant do anything on it without a managers approval.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 27, 2018
Don’t do it!!!
davisal419 Cardholder

I’ve been with Bank of America on the banking side for over 20 years and the credit card side for over 5 years. I had surgery on my wrist a few days ago and my husband forgot to pay the credit card bill, which was due on Christmas Eve. He ended up paying it a few hours past the cut off time and we were hit with a late fee. I called today to get the fee waived, they said no. They said they don’t do courtesy anything. 5 years and I’ve never missed a payment or been late and they won’t refund me $25 and my credit will reflect late. Now I’ve read the paperwork and it says if your payment falls on a holiday it’s due the next business day. Well they were closed Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. So the next business day is today. So according to the paperwork I’m not late. Nope! According to the manager I’m late after 8 pm EST on Christmas Eve. So now my credit is dinged behind 55 minutes. So I called the banking side and told them the situation and they begged us to stay. Nope! You’re losing a long standing customer because your credit department doesn’t courtesy anything. I’ve already started moving my assets over to Discover Bank. I’ve had them for a while but just as a spending money kind of account. Since BoA is not the same customer service it was when I signed up we’re going to Discover where the service is top notch. Happy freaking holidays. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 12, 2019
Horrible
Iwanttowin Cardholder

Worst bank ever! I’ve never seen such horrible penny pincher bank nickel and dime loyal customers that pay their bill on time. 

more ...
Sep 05, 2019
Great Introductory Deal
pbenbrown Cardholder

When I signed up last month, I was offered a $200 bonus if I spent $1,000 in the first 90 days. It was easy to change a few of my automated bill payments over from the prior bank card, making it easy to meet the purchase requirements. I also get a 5% match when I use it for dining, which will end up being its main use for me once I've gotten my joining bonus. What's not to love?

more ...
Sep 01, 2019
the worst for rewards
mikeyf451 Cardholder

this Card was approved fro me by a Bank Manager at Bank of america even though i was perfectly happen with my Virgin Atlantic Mastercard.

Once you have this card you can not get ride of it because it would ding your credit score. you have to spend about $2500 dollars or more to get a lousy $25 dollar 

reward that can only be applied to your Balance on the card  and then that process alone take about 2-3 weeks to get the credit on the account.

Chase or a credit Union is so much better

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 04, 2019

Why don't you use it for the 3% on a selected category of your choice? You can redeem at a minimum of 1 cent, not 25 dollars. You aren't stating facts.

 
Aug 20, 2019
Anonymous Cardholder

Terrible customer service. Would never open another Bank of America card again. Highly recommend Discover.

more ...
Aug 18, 2019
MukulSinghal Cardholder

If you ask me the company that offers the worst credit card customer service, i wouldn't even think twice to name Bank of America. I wasted over an hour to get a credit card replacement. When i go through BOA application, it ask me to call on customer service number. When i call on number, it takes me to Erica in Mobile App and when i reach out to Erica, it takes me to mobile application phone number. I am very frustrated and disappointed from Bank of America who is not able to help me with such a small request. In all the credit cards I own, these requests are a click away and wasting an hour on such a small request is not justifiable. Also, they have a very poor judgement in giving you a credit limit. When others are offering you 10k+, they will offer <1k as your limit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 31, 2019

You could have just login online and request a new card..

 
Aug 02, 2019
Great for easy cash back!
AstroTime Cardholder

This is a great cash back card, my wife and I both have one under separate accounts. They let you choose a 3% category each month, so having the two accounts allows us 2 categories with 3% cash back. We usually do online shopping and dining, which gets us a lot of cash back. It’s great that there is no annual fee, and the app is relatively easy to use. 

more ...
Jul 28, 2019
nice worthlless piece of plastic!!!
HMCMike Cardholder

took 8 to ten days for charity donation (monthly) to be processed and paided.  Not less then 20 to 28 minutes to reach  customer service rep: web/automated does not do requests???  Automated pay in full monthly; took payment immediately no on day specified; customer service rep; forwarded to tech rep 6 minmute hold no answer;  reutrned to customer service rep ten days and 20 minutes later;CANCELLED CARD- good choice NO?

more ...
Jul 26, 2019
WORST BANK/CARD I HAVE EVER HAD

Great credit scores and I have about 12 years of realationships with various banks and lenders Bank of America randomly closed my account without ANY explanation. I was told there was nothing that could be done to reinstate the account and offered zero explanation why this happened. I have seen similar stories online. Again, this has never happened with any other creditor.

I think the problem was that I earned my bonus and I pay off any debt on time beore they can charge me fees. If they can't charge me fees, they don't want me. I get it, they need to profit, but they are doing this on a MASS SCALE though and they are not being fair to the consumers who do right.

more ...
Jul 14, 2019
BOA is terrible as a company

May be the wrong card but still BOA so this is my review. This was my very first credit card. Opened almost 3 years ago with a $400 security deposit. My Transunion was 510 when I opened this card and my income was at 20K. My Transunion is now 690 and my Experian is in the 700s and my income is now over 50K. I never missed a payment on this card and was never late at all. Always paid more than minimum or paid in full whenever I let a balance carry over. I never requested a credit line increase because I was so focused on trying to use this card responsibly to get them to graduate it to an unsecured card and return my security deposit. It didn’t matter anyway because they never once raised my limit and have continually denied my graduation request regardless of my stellar payment history with them and the fact that my financial portfolio has grown since first opening this card. 34 months of excellent payment history literally means nothing to them. I recently applied for my fourth graduation request last week after getting denied the last time in January and they denied me again so I finally closed this card, as well as my checking and my savings account that I had open with them since 2009 and IT FELT GREAT. I don’t feel appreciated as a customer with them and paying interest and annual fees on your own money is never fun. I know for a fact there are better cards and companies out here for me so I don’t think I will ever look at Bank of America as an option in anything I do going forward. Looking forward to getting my little security deposit back in the mail though :) 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 23, 2019

good for you

 
Jun 24, 2019
Mnort78 Cardholder

Don’t wast your time!!!! I applied for this card because I had heard some good things and didn’t have a card with Bank of America.  I was instantly approved, then when I get the card in the mail it has a worthless $500 credit limit.  The lowest card I currently have is $5,500 up to $18,000, making $100,000 plus a year.  What good does a $500 credit limit do me? I called them and they gave a robo answer about algorithms and formulas and then said “just use the card for 5-6 months and call us back and we will look at possibly raising the limit.”  I cancelled immediately, I’m not taking a credit hit by letting this new account lower my overall credit length for that tiny amount.  Go to Chase; far better customer service and they don’t screw you over.

more ...
Jun 30, 2019

Same thing happened to me...

 
Jul 01, 2019

Not the case for everyone. Everything is case by case. I have 8 cards. My highest limit is Double Cash card at 40K. Then it's this card, 35,800. My lowest is Wells Fargo Propel 12K.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Bank of America® Cash Rewards Credit Card