Bank of America® Cash Rewards credit card Reviews

Bank of America® Cash Rewards credit card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
62 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Billing Cycles on balance transfers made in the first 60 days
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.74% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.74% - 25.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 16, 2019
Good beginner card. Poor customer servic
Jeff3328 Cardholder

Expect to wait on hold for a while and have a person tell you they cant do anything on it without a managers approval.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 14, 2019
BOA is terrible as a company
MyCredetJourney Cardholder

May be the wrong card but still BOA so this is my review. This was my very first credit card. Opened almost 3 years ago with a $400 security deposit. My Transunion was 510 when I opened this card and my income was at 20K. My Transunion is now 690 and my Experian is in the 700s and my income is now over 50K. I never missed a payment on this card and was never late at all. Always paid more than minimum or paid in full whenever I let a balance carry over. I never requested a credit line increase because I was so focused on trying to use this card responsibly to get them to graduate it to an unsecured card and return my security deposit. It didn’t matter anyway because they never once raised my limit and have continually denied my graduation request regardless of my stellar payment history with them and the fact that my financial portfolio has grown since first opening this card. 34 months of excellent payment history literally means nothing to them. I recently applied for my fourth graduation request last week after getting denied the last time in January and they denied me again so I finally closed this card, as well as my checking and my savings account that I had open with them since 2009 and IT FELT GREAT. I don’t feel appreciated as a customer with them and paying interest and annual fees on your own money is never fun. I know for a fact there are better cards and companies out here for me so I don’t think I will ever look at Bank of America as an option in anything I do going forward. Looking forward to getting my little security deposit back in the mail though :) 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 09, 2019
VTL1180D86 Cardholder

I had this card and it was closed by the bank due to inactivity. If you're choosing a credit card to have not to use routinely this is not the card for you. I would suggest using another bank/credit card company for your credit card needs if this is your case. They made no phone calls inquiring if I'd like to keep the account open being it's been inactive. They just arbitrarily closed it which obviously impact your credit as a closed account. I definitely would not suggest applying for this card if your intentions aren't to use it every day. Just food for thought don't wanna see anybody taking a negative credit hit because of this.

more ...
Oct 30, 2019
Awesome!!
badge36 Cardholder

I use it for everything. I never caryy a balance and so far this year I have paid zero finance charges and had almost $500 in cash rewards deposited in my checking account.

more ...
Oct 17, 2019
AVOID AT ALL COSTS
BIZGURU Cardholder

B of A has the absolute WORST website, customer service and overall experience I have ever had in my life. No exaggeration. Absolutely the worst in every regard. They made errors on our accounts and then shut the accounts down. It took 14 people, yes, 14 people to get to someone who could correct this. The correction caused more problems. Their website is poorly linked to their customer service -- they do nnot see or link the  same information. 

I could write two pages about how horrible working with them has been. I will simply say -- AVOID!!! Don't say you weren't warned.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 10, 2019

I had BoA cards for 10+ years, without a single problem.
Customer service is a little slow, but I almost never need to call.

I can write 2 pages about all the good things, like flexible categories, deals, etc. No card is perfect, but BoA is certainly not a bad card at all.

 
Oct 13, 2019
Use as my major credit card!
maitai9 Cardholder

Have NEVER had problems with Bank of America for anything. Receive $40-$50 cash back monthly credited to my account. Use exclusively for all on-line purchases. Have to know how to use card ti your benefit.

more ...
Oct 13, 2019
Is my major credit card used.
maitai9 Cardholder

Have NEVER had a problem with anything on this card. Get at least $40-$50 credited to my account monthly for purchases made. Highly recommend. Have to know how to use your card for best benefits.

more ...
Sep 27, 2019
Terrible customer service

Well the $200 bonus is completely off because they will give it to you 3 mos later the account opened and they did not mentioned it to me at first. When I called the customer service they had me wait for 30 minutes and this happens all the time. I would not recommend this card but if you want to build your credit I think it would be great start. 

more ...
Oct 19, 2019

It’s clearly outlined in the offer details

 
Oct 24, 2019

My experience has been entirely different. I got mine when the first statement was generated when I exceeded the required 1000 for the free 200.

 
Sep 24, 2019
a good monthly use card
Aardvark98 Cardholder

Benefits are accumulated and offered for application to your statement or in a check to be mailed to your billing address. They must be in increments of $25. I use my card a lot and still only to manage a  reward every two months. There must be a better way.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 19, 2019

Make sure to update your 3% category monthly on your app

 
Sep 24, 2019
Excellent Credit Card
Lana1996 Cardholder

This is the best card ever! The rewards are awesome if you are a Preferred Member. I am loving it! 

more ...
Sep 12, 2019
Horrible
Iwanttowin Cardholder

Worst bank ever! I’ve never seen such horrible penny pincher bank nickel and dime loyal customers that pay their bill on time. 

more ...
Sep 16, 2019

The review is supposed to be about the card, not the bank. I've never paid a nickle or a dime to them, but I pay in full each month.

 
Oct 13, 2019

Have never had problem with this credit card nor any of their others. Use as my primary credit card and pay in full each month for major benefits.

 
Sep 05, 2019
Great Introductory Deal
pbenbrown Cardholder

When I signed up last month, I was offered a $200 bonus if I spent $1,000 in the first 90 days. It was easy to change a few of my automated bill payments over from the prior bank card, making it easy to meet the purchase requirements. I also get a 5% match when I use it for dining, which will end up being its main use for me once I've gotten my joining bonus. What's not to love?

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Bank of America® Cash Rewards credit card Reviews

Bank of America® Cash Rewards credit card