Bank of America® Cash Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
83 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Billing Cycles on any balance transfers made in the first 60 days
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 04, 2018
good as 3% back on gas card...
AKJohnny47 Cardholder

2% back on groceries... link with your BoA checking or savings and get bonus 10% added to your cash back rewards... not a bad deal.  why credit karma lists my approval odds as fair of getting one of these when I already have one is beyond me

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 29, 2018
Worst customer service ever
Tundra2436 Cardholder

Be prepared to have them lock your card multiple times without notifying you until your standing in line with a cart full of groceries at checkout.  My wife and I have excellent credit and account is and was in good standing.  Apparently BOA fraud thinks that grocery purchases are suspicious.  It takes 6 months before they can learn your spending behavior. Until then you will be blocked without warning then have to spend over an hour on the phone only to re verify your identity to each of the 5 customer service representatives who you speak to.  The will provide you with mis information more than once, and play phone games laughing at the situation offering no resolution.  To me a credit card that you can’t use for daily purchases is useless.  Unless you want to call BOA and sit on hold for hours to ask permission to buy something.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 24, 2019
Very easy to use and love the app!
shoushangi Cardholder

I'm able to always easily pay for my account by transferring funds into it through the Bank of America app. I can easily see in real-time all the purchases I make and choose what I want to get the most cash back on. Also, whenever I've needed some assistance I just use the call a specialist button on the app and it very quickly gets me talking to representative and it's super easy.

more ...
Apr 20, 2019
Great cash back card.
SiderealSauce Cardholder

You can choose 3% category but customer service is something to be desired

more ...
Apr 12, 2019
Excellent cash back card
SiderealSauce Cardholder

Card is great but Bank of America customer service leaves some to be admired.

more ...
Apr 09, 2019
Very nice welcome bonus and good rewards
MrTichy Cardholder

I received a very nice welcom bonus and the cash back program is good. I pay my bills in full every month so I can’t comment on interest and fees. 

Good card to have if you are looking for rewards. BoA mobile app has rotating list of merchants that will give you extra rewards. For example Starbucks is frequently there with 10% casback. 

The card is a great deal for reward seekers paying bills in full every month.

more ...
Apr 05, 2019
I love my BOA CC
Elevation2972 Cardholder

I started out as a secured BOA cc in 2013. Within 8 months I was graduated to a non secure credit card. Their fraudulent dept is stellar. The 3,2,1 % cash back deals have added up tremendously for me and the Bank Amerideals have been generous too. I’ve never had any issues with my card or services or BOA. 

more ...
Mar 27, 2019
SMon1 Cardholder

This card is fine as a credit card, BUT:

I requested my first cash back check. I never received the check and called about it. They apparently re-issued the check, which is a situation in and of itself. Never received that. I called again and they said the second check was fraudulently cashed. They said they would send a letter to take to the bank where it was fraudulently cashed. The letter would contain explanation and check images from BOA. 

I never received that letter. What’s more than that is that they immediately told me that the check was fraudulently signed. I’m curious as to how they knew that off the cuff. No one told me that they had looked up my signature or anything to compare. 

This all all seemed very strange to me. I’m not sure what to think, but I’ve moved all my purchases to my other brand cash back card.

Very disappointed. 

more ...
Mar 17, 2019
Keeps Getting Better
Rsmy123 Cardholder

Now they offer flexible reward categories. That's great. I went into my account to try to redeem rewards, fully expecting as usual that it cannot be done until you reach $25. Nope, not this time. I redeemed $12. Minimum redemption went from $25 to 1 cent. Excellent change.

more ...
Mar 17, 2019
Tis a test2
hey35665 Cardholder

testtesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttest

more ...
Mar 17, 2019
Absolutely AWFUL...
Stargeek29 Cardholder

I closed this card without thinking twice! Get ready to wait on hold for over 20-30 minutes consistently... only to get transferred to another customer service rep. Also, customer service representatives need training, they don't know the intangibles of their job and have a difficult time understanding you and answering basic questions. Extremely frustrating to deal with. Don't expect them to ever lower your APR or reinburse a late fee even after years of perfect standing with the company. Chase, Discover, and Citi all are much better options and much better to communicate with. You HAVE been warned...

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Bank of America® Cash Rewards Credit Card