Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles on qualifying transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 11, 2016
A Must Have Cash Back Card
APowderBlue Cardholder

This is a real and detailed review.
Personally, I hate Bank of America as a bank, but their credit card department is completely different. Applied online with about a 720 score. I was instantly approved for $5000. I noticed people with better scores than mine got turned down, but perhaps they don't have a good enough income to debt ratio. Then I also went to a bank branch to open a Checking Acct to take advantage of the extra 10% cash transfer bonus.
If you are like me and only like Cash Back cards, this is a must have.
First, the phone app is so much better than other bank apps (I also have Wells Fargo and Citi). The app has the fingerprint sign-in which is very neat.
I originally got this card with the intent of only using it as my gas card, and I still do, but then I discovered the Special Offers section on the app. Here, I sign up for several awesome deals. My favorite is getting 5% Cash Back on my Starbucks coffee. There's 10% at Autozone. And many more awesome offers to sign up for. Soooo, now it isn't just a gas card anymore. Discover card has something similar, but only good for online store offers, not in store offers.
This card does not have all the small benefits that my other 2 cards have like extends product warrantees, price protection, and product buy back and more. So I suggest you only use this card for gas and consumables.

If you are a Cash Back junky like me the 3 best cards to have in your collection are these: Discover It, Citi Double Cash, and this one. Please avoid the American Express Blue at all cost, absolutely the worst card from a dying company.

I use this Bank of America card for gas and special offers. I use Discover it for their 5% on quarterly deals (currently it's 5% on gas, so it's my current gas card), and for large purchases I need extra protection on. I use my Citi Double Cash for 2% on everything else since the other 2 cards only offer 1% on everything else, so I get nothing less 2% cash back.

Sorry if I'm rambling, but hopefully this helps someone build confidence in this card. I don't suggest anyone use it as a "everything else" cash back card, get the Citi Double Cash. The app is nice and BofA Credit card department is very good, nothing like the treatment you get from the checking and savings account department.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 24, 2015
BEWARE Cards from Bank of America!
Jennyreviewergirltx Cardholder

I recently decided to pay down my balance on my Platinum Bank of America Visa credit card that I've had since 2007. My available credit line was $3,500 and I had carried a balance on it for years that I was slowly paying off. I decided to make a $1,500 payment reducing what was owed on the card down to less than $800.

Guess what happened?

The very next day Bank of America did a "Periodic review of my credit" and decided to reduce my credit line down to $800!!! What's worse is they didn't even notify me! 

When I questioned it customer service and the supervisor said that my credit wasn't good enough for the credit line I had. But I have the best credit I've had in years! They spun lines of BS and tried to tell me that the "periodic review" had nothing to do with me paying my card down and that they had no intention of fixing the issue, ever. 

So what's really happening?

Bank of America is doing something known as "chasing the balance" in order to  increase their profits. Now if I don't make a large enough payment I'll be over my credit line and be subject to fees. 

If I make to big of a payment they'll reduce my credit line even further! 

If you want to be able to use your credit card and pay off the balance eventually, stay away from Bank of America! 

-Unethical Business Practices. 

-Lying Customer Service Center

-Terrible Treatment of Long Term Customers

BEWARE:  Stay clear of Bank of America Credit Cards! 

more ...
 

Reviews (324)

Add Review
Jul 23, 2016
BOA really doesn't give anyone a break!

I applied like three times this year and they still only give a recommendation for a secure card with a deposit of $99. I been with them for years and I got an approval letter once and I ignore it and lost the chance to get a real card with them and ever since they never approve for an actual card. Anyways I gave in and gave the $99 so I can have the cash back rewards.

more ...
Jul 17, 2016
Excellent Card/Bank
MicheleNML Cardholder

I've been a BofA customer for about 6 years. I wne through a bad divorce and my credit tanked. It was 525.  I couldn't even get a Nordstrom debit card. In 2014 I decided it was time to start rebuilding. I turned to BofA for a secured credit card in April of 2014. 500 deposit and 500 CL. I always make my payments on time and only carried a balance for one month. I increased my deposit to 1000 and a 1000 CL in November of 2015. I have fair credit 642. This month they returned my security deposit and raised my CL to 2500. Love the cash back without a fee. I use this card for everything now.

more ...
Jul 17, 2016
Very less and not so useful rewards.
abhi9cr7 Cardholder

The good thing is that, Even though you dont have an SSN you can get this card. But for getting approved that way, you should be an international student and have a BOFA bank account I assume. After 1month of opening my Bank account, I applied for this card through the branch located in my University and was instantly approved for 900$ credit limit which is pretty good for someone without an SSN(No credit score at all). The best part about this is that there is no hard enquiry at all even after I updated my SSN(after acquiring one). However, this is the card which I never used. 1% cash back for purchases and 2% at gas stations (Really?). While student credit cards like Discover are giving 5% cashback, BOFA is still struck with 1% cashback and there is no free credit monitoring thing with this card. With almost every other credit card, you get the credit monitoring service for free.

more ...
Jul 15, 2016
JYROSS Cardholder

Great starter card. I've had it for 3 years now. Love the 25% increase as a boa preferred customer!

more ...
Jul 14, 2016
Limits on cash back?
Duramax2500 Cardholder

I happen to be looking at my cash back deals and it has maximums! I am a big spender and this is a BIG problem! It's a pretty card but that only gets you so far. Not a card or big spenders! I would pick this card if I spent no more than $200 a week on groceries and no more than $100 a week on fuel. I drive a diesel truck and spend about $200 a week on fuel. My cash back is better with my cap1 spark cash. 

more ...
Jul 14, 2016
STUPID
Anonymous

Credit Karma said I had a "VERY GOOD" chance... And I was declined.  I'm questioning CK integrity.  

more ...
Jul 14, 2016
Ridiculous !!!
Anonymous

I have an equifax credit score of 766.  Credit Karma said "very good" that they'd approve me.  I was offered a "secured card" but I had to deposit $99 in one of their bank accounts in order to qualify, and I could draw against the money in my account, in essence, no credit at all.  I applied to Chase and got a 1.5% rewards card with a $10,000 limit. Bank of America sucks!

more ...
Jul 12, 2016

Do not apply if you do not have a lengthy history denied ..
:-(

more ...
Jul 14, 2016

I applied with credit history of 5 months and got approved

 
Jul 11, 2016
it's a credit card.
antjm Cardholder

the rewards take long to show up compared to other companies and there is a $25 redemption minimum. you can make large over payments while charges are still pending or even before which is cool since i like to pay as soon as i charge. credit hovers around 770 and still only have a 2k limit.

more ...
Jul 10, 2016
Phenomenal
westside0097 Cardholder

Listen  people credit is a game you have to lean to play. If you make 40k ,you put 80k  and give yourself some room. It's a numbers game. I make 180k and so I put 260k because that is what I make before tax and with my investments. 

more ...
Jul 10, 2016

Helpful tip. Thanks.

 
Jul 13, 2016

Hmm... Couldn't that potentially backfire if they request proof of income?

 

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Bank of America offers a variety of high-value credit cards, like the BankAmericard Cash Rewards™, BankAmericard Travel Rewards® and BankAmericard® Visa® cards, featuring competitive rates.

Bank of America is one of the world's largest financial institutions, serving individual consumers, small- and middle-market businesses and large corporations with a full range of banking, investing, asset management and other financial and risk management products and services. The company provides unmatched convenience in the United States, serving approximately 57 million consumer and small business relationships with approximately 5,700 retail banking offices and approximately 17,250 ATMs and award-winning online banking with 30 million active users.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card