Overall card rating

3.6
586 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Jan 30, 2021
Do not need a BOA account/prior relationship!
Credit Karma Member

I applied as a 21 year old with a 747 credit score and was scared cause I read reviews about others getting declined because of no prior relationship/bank account with BOA. I have never banked with BOA I got approved no problem. Just wanted to put others at ease who applied and checked the reviews and realized they might get declined because of never banking with them.

Helpful66
Not Helpful2
Comment3
Flag

Most helpful negative review

Dec 23, 2020
Avoid at all Costs. I can take a no this w/Absurd!
Credit Karma Member

I applied for something I was assured would be a high opening limit, and an instant answer and approval. 835 Credit Score - Perfect Profile for a Creditor. I was denied because I had an inquiry 6 months ago and because I don't have a checking account with Bank of America. There are far better cards and frankly when most of your cards have a 35,000 revolving line and they start you at 1,500 - Do your Homework, this is a loser in my book

Helpful158
Not Helpful33
Comment11
Flag


Member ratings


All member reviews (586)

234
79
41
41
191

Oct 08, 2022
Worst card in my wallet
Credit Karma Member

Read the ToS on the Bill Pay. It's horrible. Do not use it! Unlike other cards I can't just pay online without signing up for Bill Pay. In order to sign up for Bill Pay you have to agree to the horrible Terms. This means that I had to buy checks & pay in person or by mail every month. After the introductory rate expires this card will never be used again. The BoA locations in my city have only ONE teller which means minimum 20 minutes waiting to pay my bill. Not worth it.

Helpful1
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Oct 03, 2022
Poor Customer Service
Credit Karma Member

They don't send statements and then charge you late fees for not paying

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment1
Flag

Sep 09, 2022
A hassle
Credit Karma Member

Their activation process isn’t as easy as they make it out to be. I can’t even use the thing and it’s a hassle.

Helpful1
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Sep 06, 2022
EXCELLENT CHANCE OF APROVAL! NOT!
Credit Karma Member

Credit Karma says my chance of approval is excellent yet when I applied the denied me. I have Excellent credit at 760+ Beware people!

Helpful7
Not Helpful0
Comment1
Flag

Aug 05, 2022
Just got accepted
Credit Karma Member

I applied thru credit karma and got accepted. It was easy but it took a Lil longer cause my credit is on fraud protection from having a fraud alert a while back. So boa called and made sure I applied and was very nice and pleasant to tell me I was accepted and to look for it in the mail. So I will give another later review after I get the card but as for the application part and customer service was great

Helpful3
Not Helpful2
Comment0
Flag

Jun 28, 2022
Did BofA ask you to apply?
Credit Karma Member

I have a BofA credit card that get's monthly use, is always paid on time, and carries no balance. For the last month, BofA has been emailing me pre-screened offers, about 3 a week, asking me to apply for this new 'customized cash rewards' credit card. I finally applied (my credit score is excellent with no negative reporting, and I'm prescreened, so why not?) DENIED, is why not. Now I have a pointless hard pull on my credit report, harming my score. BofA: Don't barrage customers with prescreened offers if you're regularly denying applicants who have excellent credit.

Helpful36
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Jun 02, 2022
STILL IN LIMBO
Credit Karma Member

I applied for this card because Credit Karma say "Good" I filled out applications my credit score is 725 & 720. Why am I still waiting on them to review my application. I also applied to my credit union the same day I was approved instantly with a 10,000 limit as far as I am concerned Bank of America can KICK ROCKS!!!!!

Helpful23
Not Helpful1
Comment1
Flag

May 25, 2022
Terrible credit card benefits and services
Credit Karma Member

I filed a claim and they took forever to process. No communication whatsoever. I had to keep calling and calling them. Al most three months to process the claim properly. Really ridiculous.

Helpful13
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

May 18, 2022
MULLAAA
Credit Karma Member

JUST APPLIED AND GOT APPROVED!! BIG AMOUNT

Helpful7
Not Helpful10
Comment0
Flag

Apr 20, 2022
Worst
Credit Karma Member

Worst card

Helpful6
Not Helpful9
Comment0
Flag

1-10 of 586

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.