Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.3476 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 15, 2015
Good Cash rewards card
Anonymous Cardholder

I started in 2010 on a secured card with a  $300 limit. About a year later I was switched to cash rewards and was approved for $1500. A year later I requested and was approved $5000. Just last week while checking my credit score I noticed I was moved to $7000 on an automatic approval. I called and was told sometimes they do this I really had no idea. As long as those payments come in on time BOA will move your limit up rather quickly it would seem.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 11, 2015
Customer service mess!
gravityovlove Cardholder

Bank of America credit card services is a disorganized mess with departments who have no idea why other departments do something. When there is a mistake due to their many IT errors, it took days out of my life to finally talk to someone who could fix it. I also had an interesting experience where I filed a claim for a company that had access to my credit card number illegally billing me. BoA decided in my favor and credited me. Then months later I get a letter from them requesting a written reply from me in 3 DAYS or they will forfeit my claim. I mailed it that day, but 2 weeks later BoA claimed they hadn't received it. They actually re-billed me for that amount and said there was nothing they could do! I've had many credit cards, and this is by far the most disorganized and "IT-error" riddled of them all. That's their blanket statement for all their problems... "IT error." Please do not get this card.

more ...
 

Reviews (210)

Add Review
Feb 08, 2016
Constant fraud false alarms
xerotherma Cardholder

The features of this card are okay. I was stuck with the solid 1% cash back version of this card for years, and they wouldn't convert me to the 1-2-3% version. They finally converted me last month after I'd been trying to change over for quite some time. The thing that bothers me SO much about this card are the constant "fraud risks." At least once a year, I get a new card in the mail because somewhere I used this card apparently had a fraud risk. This is strange, because my Capital One and AmEx do not have this same problem, and I use those far more. I've stopped using this card for autopay, because every time I get a new card, I have to re-enter everything. I can't book hotels on this card because if they send me a new card after I book it, I can't check in. I can't buy concert tickets on this card in case I need the puchaser's card to pick them up at will call. It's frustrating. Also, BofA flags numerous transactions from overseas vendors I use regularly, but on the rare occasion that there IS a fradulent charge, they don't catch it. Meh. I only keep it around because it raises my overall credit limit.

more ...
Feb 08, 2016

I have to agree 100%, I always get new credit cards atleast every year too. So annoying, as my gym membership was set to autopay and I totally forgot I had gotten a new card in the mail the day before. Boom. $25 dllr late fee from my gym!!

 
Feb 07, 2016
Denied with a very good Fico score.

I received an invitation to apply for this card via the mail. Credit Karma stated my odds were good so I thought what the heck. Have never had a problem being approved by other banks for loans, credit cards etc... Went to their web site and after about 45 seconds it came back denied with no reason given other than they would send a letter stating the reason. Now my true Fico scores are EQ 753, TU 742, EX 747, these are true Fico scores off of the Fico website not Faco scores. Guess I don't have a problem with being denied ( I have heard BankofAmerica is weird with there credit) but at least they could have told me why right away. I didn't really need the card and was searching for a lower interest rate credit card I could possible use for an everyday type of deal. 

The only reason I can think of for this denial was I have 2 previous hard hit inquires from Chase and Synchrony bank within the last 6 months. I am only utilizing about 1% of my available credit and have had no late payments in the past 5 years.

Guess my only suggestion for anyone applying for a credit card through BankOfAmerica is it is a crap shoot. You may get approved and you may not and I do not think it is approved or denied based on your credit score. If you have a few hard inquires on your report my suggestion woudl be to stay away from applying until 1 or more fall off. 

I have never been a BankOfAmerica customer and will have to seriously consider it before applying or opening an account with them in the future.

more ...
Feb 05, 2016
WORST CARD

I just went online to apply for it. REJECTED!!! TU FICO score from DICOVER IT 745. 4% total Utilization from 9 Credit Cards. Total Credit Line $25,000+. Never a late payment. I have 2 Cap one C.C., AMEX Blue Cash Everyday, Discover It, Chase Freedom............I just want the $100 bonus from them. 10 days they will let me know in the Mail. They can go F themselves! I don't need their F...ing Card! They can go suck an egg!!!

more ...
Feb 05, 2016
WORST CARD

I just went online to apply for it. REJECTED!!! TU FICO score from DICOVER IT 745. 4% total Utilization from 9 Credit Cards. Total Credit Line $25,000+. Never a late payment. I have 2 Cap one C.C., AMEX Blue Cash Everyday, Discover It, Chase Freedom............I just want the $100 bonus from them. 10 days they will let me know in the Mail. They can go F themselves! I don't need their F...ing Card! They can go suck an egg!!!

more ...
Feb 04, 2016
Applied and approved

My credit score is not perfect nor horrible. My transunion is a 662 and equifax is 630. I was approved with a $2000 limit automatically. I did my application over the phone with a rep. 

more ...
Jan 31, 2016
Updat review on denied application

I applied on 01/25/2016 with an Experian score of 666 and $50k income. They pull Experian, if you're curious, and I warn you that it's an 11 point drop with that hard inquiry. YES, 11 points! I pay for Experian monthly, so I know that's a true score which also matches the MyFico score I also pay for monthly. They denied my application, but immediately updated my banking "deals and offers" section with a pre-selected secured cash rewards offer for a $500 limit with a refundable $99 deposit at a  20.45% APR. Not worth it. Quite frankly, I'm not willing to apply for that lame offer just for ANOTHER 11 point drop. Forget it. I just got approved a week before that for an Amex Every Day card with an unsecured $1k limit (that btw was only a 2 point Experian inquiry) and have a $6,500 limit between three unsecured capital one cards (one of which is due for an increase next month) amongst other larger limits with other banks like Fingerhut, Credit One, and CFNA bank. No thanks, BofA. That would not only be my lowest card limit, but my first and only secured card which is absurd. After 7 years of faithful banking with them, I expected better. Customer service rep was very disinterested and not very concerned with my switching banks. Can't wait to mention that when they're kissing my rear when closing my bank accounts with them.

more ...
Jan 28, 2016
very good
Anonymous Cardholder

Have this card for 3 months now and I already got my $100.00 cash back rewad and used it toward statment credit . Truely nothing bad to say about it at all .

more ...
Jan 26, 2016
7 Year Banking Customer - 665 EXP score

Denied. I have a combined credit limit of 11k between other cads, one of which is a new Amex Everyday. All accounts are in good standing with no lates, and credit card utilization is at 29%. Won't be applying with them again, and might even consider switching banks to Wells Fargo.

more ...
Jan 24, 2016
Surprise
Anonymous

I have had bad credit in my young stupid years. I ttook me a long time to overcome it. Im 44 now. I have two cap one cards which are good.and one which is very high end . I bank with bofa and have plenty of cash with them but Credit Karma said my credit was poor to apply with but my credit is 725. I  bit the dust, and guess what? I was approved for $3,500. I will be paying off my cap one cards and use them as needed but this will be my main credit card, I was pleasently shocked. I applied right through BOFA THOUGH. It helps when your already a customer and have money in your account. Heads up. 

more ...
Jan 23, 2016
Don't listen to Credit Karma

Credit Karma said my odds were poor. I went to BOA website for their pre-qualifer tool and was matched up with this. Since I bank with them all of my info was pre-filled and I sat there for a second contemplating hitting the submit button. Finally I said screw it, hit the submit button and got a congraulations! You're approved for 1K! I was hoping for a higher limit as i have capital one cards with higher limits. But i'll take the card and use the rewards.

more ...
Feb 01, 2016

If you dont mind me asking what was your credit score?

 
Feb 06, 2016

my score at the tine was 640 TU and 650 EQ. However when I got the card they said they used my Experian score which is according to their report 637.

 

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Bank of America offers a variety of high-value credit cards, like the BankAmericard Cash Rewards™, BankAmericard Travel Rewards® and BankAmericard® Visa® cards, featuring competitive rates.

Bank of America is one of the world's largest financial institutions, serving individual consumers, small- and middle-market businesses and large corporations with a full range of banking, investing, asset management and other financial and risk management products and services. The company provides unmatched convenience in the United States, serving approximately 57 million consumer and small business relationships with approximately 5,700 retail banking offices and approximately 17,250 ATMs and award-winning online banking with 30 million active users.

† We look at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there’s no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card