BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
105 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles on qualifying transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable

Our Take

The BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ credit card is a solid cash back option for people with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

The BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ credit card offers 3% cash back on gas and 2% cash back at grocery stores and wholesale clubs for the first $2,500 in combined grocery stores, wholesale club, and gas purchases each quarter. You can earn 1% cash back on all other purchases, and get a $100 cash rewards bonus after $500 in purchases in the first 90 days.

Look Out For

You’ll pay a 3% or $10 fee on any balance transfers whichever is greater, as well as a 3% fee on foreign transactions. If you’re late on a payment, you could be subject to a high penalty APR that may overshadow any rewards earnings.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 11, 2016
A Must Have Cash Back Card
APowderBlue Cardholder

This is a real and detailed review.
Personally, I hate Bank of America as a bank, but their credit card department is completely different. Applied online with about a 720 score. I was instantly approved for $5000. I noticed people with better scores than mine got turned down, but perhaps they don't have a good enough income to debt ratio. Then I also went to a bank branch to open a Checking Acct to take advantage of the extra 10% cash transfer bonus.
If you are like me and only like Cash Back cards, this is a must have.
First, the phone app is so much better than other bank apps (I also have Wells Fargo and Citi). The app has the fingerprint sign-in which is very neat.
I originally got this card with the intent of only using it as my gas card, and I still do, but then I discovered the Special Offers section on the app. Here, I sign up for several awesome deals. My favorite is getting 5% Cash Back on my Starbucks coffee. There's 10% at Autozone. And many more awesome offers to sign up for. Soooo, now it isn't just a gas card anymore. Discover card has something similar, but only good for online store offers, not in store offers.
This card does not have all the small benefits that my other 2 cards have like extends product warrantees, price protection, and product buy back and more. So I suggest you only use this card for gas and consumables.

If you are a Cash Back junky like me the 3 best cards to have in your collection are these: Discover It, Citi Double Cash, and this one. Please avoid the American Express Blue at all cost, absolutely the worst card from a dying company.

I use this Bank of America card for gas and special offers. I use Discover it for their 5% on quarterly deals (currently it's 5% on gas, so it's my current gas card), and for large purchases I need extra protection on. I use my Citi Double Cash for 2% on everything else since the other 2 cards only offer 1% on everything else, so I get nothing less 2% cash back.

Sorry if I'm rambling, but hopefully this helps someone build confidence in this card. I don't suggest anyone use it as a "everything else" cash back card, get the Citi Double Cash. The app is nice and BofA Credit card department is very good, nothing like the treatment you get from the checking and savings account department.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 24, 2015
BEWARE Cards from Bank of America!
Jennyreviewergirltx Cardholder

I recently decided to pay down my balance on my Platinum Bank of America Visa credit card that I've had since 2007. My available credit line was $3,500 and I had carried a balance on it for years that I was slowly paying off. I decided to make a $1,500 payment reducing what was owed on the card down to less than $800.

Guess what happened?

The very next day Bank of America did a "Periodic review of my credit" and decided to reduce my credit line down to $800!!! What's worse is they didn't even notify me! 

When I questioned it customer service and the supervisor said that my credit wasn't good enough for the credit line I had. But I have the best credit I've had in years! They spun lines of BS and tried to tell me that the "periodic review" had nothing to do with me paying my card down and that they had no intention of fixing the issue, ever. 

So what's really happening?

Bank of America is doing something known as "chasing the balance" in order to  increase their profits. Now if I don't make a large enough payment I'll be over my credit line and be subject to fees. 

If I make to big of a payment they'll reduce my credit line even further! 

If you want to be able to use your credit card and pay off the balance eventually, stay away from Bank of America! 

-Unethical Business Practices. 

-Lying Customer Service Center

-Terrible Treatment of Long Term Customers

BEWARE:  Stay clear of Bank of America Credit Cards! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 18, 2017
GARBAGE
IVIRV Cardholder

I had a card with them with a 9k limit for about a year,a checking acct with 25k and 50k or so in savings account.Every month i would use the card for 2-8k and every month I paid it in full early ...then on the 11th month after I paid a 7k bill they lowered my limit to $600 !!! What a slap in the face. Rude customer service wouldn't give me a reason...so I closed ALL my account s and went to CHASE ! I wouldn't go to B of A again if they gave me 20% cash back! I value my dignity too much !

more ...
May 15, 2017
Good basic card
whistler34 Cardholder

This is my go to card in the USA. Recently moved my business to BofA from chase and am happy I did.

more ...
May 10, 2017
Great rewards!
Anonymous Cardholder

Has the best rewards % with no anual fee!

more ...
May 10, 2017
Best CC at BofA
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this card previously and then didn't for technical reasons and now I'm PCing it back to Cash Rewards. It's a good starter card but don't rely on it to make you a millionaire. 

T

more ...
May 06, 2017
You really get the rewards any way you w
Michael41328 Cardholder

It gives me twice the real rewards of my American Express.

more ...
May 06, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

best card ever

more ...
May 05, 2017
The best credit card the best bank ever
Anonymous Cardholder

The best ever god bless Bank of America 

more ...
May 04, 2017
Cash back is awesome
Anonymous Cardholder

Bill payment using other banks is little problematic.

more ...
May 01, 2017
Garbage customer service! STAY AWAY!!!
jdalonso Cardholder

Applied for this card in March 2016. Was declined because of a bankruptcy in 2009 despite 740 credit score (did not have BofA account at the time, so BofA wasn't included in bankruptcy). Called reconsideration and was offered a secured version ($500 credit line with a $100 deposit) with an annual fee ($39). Accepted card (didn't wanted to waste the hard pull). Card graduated to unsecured card around January 2017. Knowing BofA doesn't do soft pulls for credit line increase, I did a hard pull for a credit line increase. Credit line increased to $1600 ($1100 raise) on a $10,000 request. I presently have income of around $100k, and scores at around 740. Have close to $90k in credit lines. All other credit cards are annual fee free and have offered me generous credit lines and increases when applicable. Called BofA reconsideration for this CLI recon. Explained income, situation with other credit companies, and desire to utilize this card more while keeping a low utilization ratio on a monthly basis (thus the reason for the CLI request). I pay my balances in full each month on all my credit cards (presently, 2% utilization ratio at the time of CLI request). I was denied reconsideration of CLI because card "recently graduated" from a secured to unsecured card, and BofA wants to see more utilization history with the card (not to confuse with utilization rate). Now I'm stuck paying $39 a year for a measly $1600 credit line. With other credit cards I have an average of $10k per card and ZERO annual fee. Guess I'll stash the card away, wait a year or two, and close the card. Garbage customer service unfortunately, especially the reconsideration department. Even asked about waiving the annual fee if I spent a minimal annual amount and was told "no": I would have to close this account and open a new one to see if I qualify for a zero annual fee account (and mess up AAOA and another HP to my credit score/report in the process). No thanks BofA. !!!STAY AWAY!!! BofA has absolutely no inclination to do business with willing and able customers. More generous credit companies for your consideration: Citi, PenFed, USAA, Capital One, Barclays, Discover, Amex, Wells Fargo, or Chase.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 10, 2017

JDalonso,

If it helps at all, I had a similar situation to you. I called to inquire about the AF since I thought unsecured cards didn't carry them. Long story short, the rep offered a PC and it worked!

Try that if you haven't already done so.

 
May 01, 2017
Go for it!
2cuteasabutton Cardholder

I was reluctant because it said my chances were "fair" for this card, American Express Blue & Citi. I have an excellent pay history, prior bankruptcy from years ago & credit score 700 & was APPROVED by ALL three cards! Credit limit from 4k to 13k. I am so glad I applied & customer service is the best!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card