Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
112 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles on qualifying transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable

Our Take

The BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ credit card is a solid cash back option for people with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

The BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ credit card offers 3% cash back on gas and 2% cash back at grocery stores and now at wholesale clubs for the first $2,500 in combined grocery stores, wholesale club, and gas purchases each quarter. You can earn 1% cash back on all other purchases, and get a $100 cash rewards bonus after $500 in purchases in the first 90 days.

Look Out For

You’ll pay a 3% or $10 fee on any balance transfers whichever is greater, as well as a 3% fee on foreign transactions. If you’re late on a payment, you could be subject to a high penalty APR that may overshadow any rewards earnings.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 23, 2016
A must have for any cashback enthusiast!
glpstrat Cardholder

THE MOST IMPORTANT THING I want to say in my review is something I couldn’t find in ANY reviews. The 3% cash back on gas applies to ANY purchase made at any GAS STATION, not just the gas. The advertisement makes it sound like this is good for the gas only, but I didn’t think that could be so & found out it isn’t.

My stats when applying for BoA: 742 CK score (TU & Equifax both), lowest utilization grade, 100% payment history,  0 derogatory marks, Avg credit age of 1 Yr (totally incorrect in reality, I'm close to 10 years on every other report, idk where CK gets this from...), 9 total accounts, inquiries at 2.

I was only given 'good' odds at being approved for this card yet was given 'very high' odds for my Chase Freedom & Citi Double Cash cards with almost a 50 point lower score. I've wanted this card for a while but I've read that BoA is picky, so I held out til I was confident I’d be approved.

The application process was mostly easy except for the required employment selection. They had NOTHING related to my field, so I had to call BoA to find out what to choose. The call was completely smooth & the rep was very helpful.

The BoA online banking GUI is average at best, especially compared to the Chase & Citi online banking GUIs. The BoA GUI just has a cheap feeling to it & I honestly expected it to be closer to the quality of the others, if not better due to how long they’ve been around. 

Finally, with the 2 other cards I mentioned, this one rounds out the 3 top cash back cards in my opinion. Chase Freedom is great for the 5% rotating categories, BoA is good for the 3% gas bonus, & Citi is good for a minimum of 2% on all other purchases. I love free money, & you just can’t beat getting paid to buy things you’re already going to have to buy anyway!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 06, 2016
Decent cash back card
thb227 Cardholder

If you have a Bank of America checking, savings, or brokerage account you should get this card. The 3% on gas, 2% on groceries, and 1% on everything else is boosted depending upon the balance in your accounts. If you spend a moderate amount of money on gas or groceries this is a no brainer, but if you spend a lot more than the quarterly cap you should look elsewhere. The Amex Blue Cash Preferred or Citi Double Cash comes to mind.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 18, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I Am. Satisfied user of this card

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
spkicker30 Cardholder

Worse card, worse customer service, and would close it if it wouldnt hurt my credit history length. I have had this card for going on 3 years and never missed a payment. They never do credit limit increase and will not help on the phone.

more ...
Jan 09, 2017
$150 bonus promotion
WiseSpending Cardholder

Transunion score of of 778.  I had this card before the "Preferred rewards" program rollled out.  I cancelled the card when I got Discover It and BOA travel rewards.  BOA ran a limited promo recently for $150 bonus if you spend $500 in the first 90 days that only BOA customers see.  I couldn't help myself and jumped on the offer.  Now that I am in the Gold Preferred rewards status, it amplifies the card's benefits 25% (3% on gas is bumped up to 3.75% when redeemed).  Surprised they gave me $15,000 credit limit when the travel rewards card only got $12,000 credit limit.  

more ...
Jan 02, 2017
Outstanding card!

I have been banking with BoA for about 2 years. I recieved this card in the mail, didn't apply but had around a 670 CS. Has been a great, reliable card. Never had a late payment! Never had any issues, will definitely keep banking here and using their credit card! Rewards are pretty good, if you spend about $2,000 in everyday purchases, in a month, you'll probably get around $40-$50 in cash back.

more ...
Dec 24, 2016
Denied, called recon, then approved.
Pinpuku Cardholder

Credit Karma rated this as "poor" chances of approval for me. I'm a student with a part time job, have 1 year of credit history, a 687 experian score, and no derogs. I already have a Chase Freedom and decided to apply for this card. I got flat out denied by their online system but decided to call their backdoor reconsideration numbers. The rep on the phone said she would review my case and call me back. A day later she called back and said she approved me for this card. I also asked to get the card expedited and I got it less than 24 hours later. All in all, they were very lenient in giving me credit. I thought they were going to suggest for me to apply for the student version of this card but they didn't. I had a great experience with getting this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 03, 2017

What kind of limit did they give you?

 
Dec 20, 2016
i charge you hidden fees
Anonymous Cardholder

I charge you hidden fees, I do not recommend it even if you do not use it as you want, they charge you

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 21, 2016

What type of hidden fees?

 
Dec 16, 2016
Great card for rewards
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card with a 678 cs and fair approval. They denied me and hit me with a counter offer for $100 dollars deposit with a $500 cl and 39 dollars annual fee with all the rewards.
Glad they gave me a chance.

more ...
Dec 10, 2016
Excellent all around card and cash back
phonejunkie25 Cardholder

I have a personalized version of this card with my college alumni association as the image which permits the alumni association to get a donation for my purchases. The process for applying was easy and I have had the card nearly 2 years now. The biggest thing to know about BoA is they always pull a hard check for customer requested CLI. However they are generous in their limits. I was started at $5000 as it is a signature visa and after about 3 months was increased to $7500 and upon my last 2 CLI requests have been increased to $12500. My credit history is about 2 years and 2 months as I had applied for all my cards in a short period. BoA is a great bank with customer service. I even encountered a rep on the phone that lived in St Louis but has family down here in MS so you can find some good conversation with their reps while they assist you with any questions you have. If I had a BoA branch near me I would definitely open an account with them too.

more ...
Dec 04, 2016
Good credit card
Anonymous Cardholder

Have this card for 13 months . Good reward card and also customer service is excellent way better than ***** Citi bank .

more ...
Nov 09, 2016
They support the Dakota pipeline.
nodapl Cardholder

So you would be supporting the removal of Native Americans from the land we gave them in a treaty  to put in a tar sands pipeline. 

more ...
Nov 23, 2016

This is a website aimed at helping people build, repair, and monitor their credit. Keep your sjw crap off of here and stick to reddit please

 
Dec 08, 2016

What does the Dakota pipeline have to do with credit cards. You are way off base. Please use this site for what it was intended for

 
Jan 05, 2017

I bet you have purple hair and no boyfriend.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card