Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.9 out of 5 stars
109 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles on qualifying transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable

Our Take

The BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ credit card is a solid cash back option for people with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

The BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ credit card offers 3% cash back on gas and 2% cash back at grocery stores and wholesale clubs for the first $2,500 in combined grocery stores, wholesale club, and gas purchases each quarter. You can earn 1% cash back on all other purchases, and get a $100 cash rewards bonus after $500 in purchases in the first 90 days.

Look Out For

You’ll pay a 3% or $10 fee on any balance transfers whichever is greater, as well as a 3% fee on foreign transactions. If you’re late on a payment, you could be subject to a high penalty APR that may overshadow any rewards earnings.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 23, 2016
A must have for any cashback enthusiast!
glpstrat Cardholder

THE MOST IMPORTANT THING I want to say in my review is something I couldn’t find in ANY reviews. The 3% cash back on gas applies to ANY purchase made at any GAS STATION, not just the gas. The advertisement makes it sound like this is good for the gas only, but I didn’t think that could be so & found out it isn’t.

My stats when applying for BoA: 742 CK score (TU & Equifax both), lowest utilization grade, 100% payment history,  0 derogatory marks, Avg credit age of 1 Yr (totally incorrect in reality, I'm close to 10 years on every other report, idk where CK gets this from...), 9 total accounts, inquiries at 2.

I was only given 'good' odds at being approved for this card yet was given 'very high' odds for my Chase Freedom & Citi Double Cash cards with almost a 50 point lower score. I've wanted this card for a while but I've read that BoA is picky, so I held out til I was confident I’d be approved.

The application process was mostly easy except for the required employment selection. They had NOTHING related to my field, so I had to call BoA to find out what to choose. The call was completely smooth & the rep was very helpful.

The BoA online banking GUI is average at best, especially compared to the Chase & Citi online banking GUIs. The BoA GUI just has a cheap feeling to it & I honestly expected it to be closer to the quality of the others, if not better due to how long they’ve been around. 

Finally, with the 2 other cards I mentioned, this one rounds out the 3 top cash back cards in my opinion. Chase Freedom is great for the 5% rotating categories, BoA is good for the 3% gas bonus, & Citi is good for a minimum of 2% on all other purchases. I love free money, & you just can’t beat getting paid to buy things you’re already going to have to buy anyway!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 14, 2016
Limits on cash back?
Duramax2500 Cardholder

I happen to be looking at my cash back deals and it has maximums! I am a big spender and this is a BIG problem! It's a pretty card but that only gets you so far. Not a card or big spenders! I would pick this card if I spent no more than $200 a week on groceries and no more than $100 a week on fuel. I drive a diesel truck and spend about $200 a week on fuel. My cash back is better with my cap1 spark cash. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 14, 2017
My everyday card
Anonymous Cardholder

I use this card everyday for purchases and pay it off pretty fast.  I always use it for gas to get 3% cash back, then transfer the cash back to my checking account to get the 10% bonus, then use it to make a payment on the card.  Very happy.

more ...
Feb 12, 2017
Great, easy to use, 3-2-1 for BoA custom
Anonymous Cardholder

This was my first credit card after being a BoA checking customer for a long time. It is convenient to use on their website, easy to redeem cash back when the cash back balance is above $25 (any amount over $25 redeemable unlike American Express which requires $25 increments) and if you have $20k+ assets with BoA/Merrill, they will multiply your cash back with their Preferred Rewards program. This is a great cards for everyday spending, especially for BoA/Merrill customers

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
Great Credit Builder
Anonymous Cardholder

I love this card!! I couldn't get a credit card because I had no credit score. So my mom cosigned it with me. I had no interest for 12 months and a 1000 credit limit. I recieved cash back on everything and an extra 10% when deposited into my BOFA saving account. I really love this card. I missused it at first, but with BOFA help I was able to pay off my balance with no interest. My credit score great for a 22 college student. I would totally recommend. If you have a BOFA account, paying your credit card makes it so much easier. Some BOFA ATM let you pay the credit card on their ATM. 

I tend to travel a lot. On the APP it lets you add where you are traveling to. You can cancel your card or pause it as well. 

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
Great Credit Builder
Anonymous Cardholder

I love this card!! I couldn't get a credit card because I had no credit score. So my mom cosigned it with me. There was interest for 12 cycle months. I recieved cash back on everything and an extra 10% when deposited into my BOFA saving account. I really love this card. I missused it at first, but with BOFA help I was able to pay off my balance with no interest. My credit score great for a 22 college student. I would totally recommend. If you have a BOFA account, paying your credit card makes it so much easier. Some BOFA ATM let you pay the credit card on their ATM. 

I tend to travel a lot. On the APP it lets you add where you are traveling to. You can cancel your card or pause it as well. 

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Generous credit line, Great rewards!
Anonymous Cardholder

Set up an online account and Bank of America has everything you need to pay bills, link accounts, redeem rewards, etc all in one convenient stop!

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Love BOA
Arabus1987 Cardholder

I've been wtih BOA for since July 2016 and they've been really good to me.  I have three cards with them.  My credit limits started out as $5,000, $5000 & $3,000 and they've grown to $12,000, $10,000 and $15,000. Customer service has been great to work with.  Rewards system is pretty straight forward.  I will continue to build my financial relationship with them.  The only negative thing I can say so far is I don't like the HP for CLI.  Other than.  Love my cards.

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
LOVE LOVE LOVE
titliest72 Cardholder

I have had this card since 2010 (now 2017) and I can tell you that I am impressed. Low APR, great points system and generous limit increases (when you request online within your account). I have had no issue with this card other than one. Any listen to me closely on this....You may have 0% APR for 18 months then it goes to 7%. BOA will send you random special offers for 0% interest for another 2 years but in the fine print your APR goes from 7% to 23%. I get these offers every other month from BOA for this darn card. No thank you. This is a great card. Dont get if the interest is going to be high though depending on your credit history and remember to read the fine print on APR because I find BOA likes to try and trick you. Other than those annoying 0% APR offers, I LOVE this card. Great rewards. The phone app is easy to use as well as online portal. I have never had to call BOA in these 7yrs because I can do everything online or on the app. And I love the fingerprint login the app now offers. Oh, I recall the application process, they did call my work to verify employment which was a first for me from a card issuer.

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I Am. Satisfied user of this card

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
spkicker30 Cardholder

Worse card, worse customer service, and would close it if it wouldnt hurt my credit history length. I have had this card for going on 3 years and never missed a payment. They never do credit limit increase and will not help on the phone.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 13, 2017

Same here

 
Jan 09, 2017
$150 bonus promotion
WiseSpending Cardholder

Transunion score of of 778.  I had this card before the "Preferred rewards" program rollled out.  I cancelled the card when I got Discover It and BOA travel rewards.  BOA ran a limited promo recently for $150 bonus if you spend $500 in the first 90 days that only BOA customers see.  I couldn't help myself and jumped on the offer.  Now that I am in the Gold Preferred rewards status, it amplifies the card's benefits 25% (3% on gas is bumped up to 3.75% when redeemed).  Surprised they gave me $15,000 credit limit when the travel rewards card only got $12,000 credit limit.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card