Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles on qualifying transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 11, 2016
A Must Have Cash Back Card
APowderBlue Cardholder

This is a real and detailed review.
Personally, I hate Bank of America as a bank, but their credit card department is completely different. Applied online with about a 720 score. I was instantly approved for $5000. I noticed people with better scores than mine got turned down, but perhaps they don't have a good enough income to debt ratio. Then I also went to a bank branch to open a Checking Acct to take advantage of the extra 10% cash transfer bonus.
If you are like me and only like Cash Back cards, this is a must have.
First, the phone app is so much better than other bank apps (I also have Wells Fargo and Citi). The app has the fingerprint sign-in which is very neat.
I originally got this card with the intent of only using it as my gas card, and I still do, but then I discovered the Special Offers section on the app. Here, I sign up for several awesome deals. My favorite is getting 5% Cash Back on my Starbucks coffee. There's 10% at Autozone. And many more awesome offers to sign up for. Soooo, now it isn't just a gas card anymore. Discover card has something similar, but only good for online store offers, not in store offers.
This card does not have all the small benefits that my other 2 cards have like extends product warrantees, price protection, and product buy back and more. So I suggest you only use this card for gas and consumables.

If you are a Cash Back junky like me the 3 best cards to have in your collection are these: Discover It, Citi Double Cash, and this one. Please avoid the American Express Blue at all cost, absolutely the worst card from a dying company.

I use this Bank of America card for gas and special offers. I use Discover it for their 5% on quarterly deals (currently it's 5% on gas, so it's my current gas card), and for large purchases I need extra protection on. I use my Citi Double Cash for 2% on everything else since the other 2 cards only offer 1% on everything else, so I get nothing less 2% cash back.

Sorry if I'm rambling, but hopefully this helps someone build confidence in this card. I don't suggest anyone use it as a "everything else" cash back card, get the Citi Double Cash. The app is nice and BofA Credit card department is very good, nothing like the treatment you get from the checking and savings account department.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 24, 2015
BEWARE Cards from Bank of America!
Jennyreviewergirltx Cardholder

I recently decided to pay down my balance on my Platinum Bank of America Visa credit card that I've had since 2007. My available credit line was $3,500 and I had carried a balance on it for years that I was slowly paying off. I decided to make a $1,500 payment reducing what was owed on the card down to less than $800.

Guess what happened?

The very next day Bank of America did a "Periodic review of my credit" and decided to reduce my credit line down to $800!!! What's worse is they didn't even notify me! 

When I questioned it customer service and the supervisor said that my credit wasn't good enough for the credit line I had. But I have the best credit I've had in years! They spun lines of BS and tried to tell me that the "periodic review" had nothing to do with me paying my card down and that they had no intention of fixing the issue, ever. 

So what's really happening?

Bank of America is doing something known as "chasing the balance" in order to  increase their profits. Now if I don't make a large enough payment I'll be over my credit line and be subject to fees. 

If I make to big of a payment they'll reduce my credit line even further! 

If you want to be able to use your credit card and pay off the balance eventually, stay away from Bank of America! 

-Unethical Business Practices. 

-Lying Customer Service Center

-Terrible Treatment of Long Term Customers

BEWARE:  Stay clear of Bank of America Credit Cards! 

more ...
 

Reviews (305)

Add Review
Jun 29, 2016
Horrible
CorpCrMgr Cardholder

I had the card and a almost 20 year relationship with BoA. One time and one time only I had an issue. I wrote to BoA according to its requirement and heard nothing. I wrote again. I heard nothing. I wrote a third time after I stopped paying for the item which I was being charge, but had never receivedThis time I sent it return receipt. BoA closed the card after finally giving me my credit. Depending on the source my score is well over 700 (almost 800 FICO) yet BoA refuses to grant me a new card. If they would have removed the charge immediately this would not have happened. Their executive office could care less. BoA broke US mail regulations by sending out false billings. They broke FTC rules by not responding to my earlier inquiries.

more ...
Jun 28, 2016
Approved with 675 equifax and 700 trans

Approval odds were very good got instantly approved for $1500

more ...
Jun 26, 2016
Not the best but "ok"
JUNI760 Cardholder

Follow up on last review this card was listed as fair chance got it with a 711 credit score for 2k not bad to start. I give it 3 stars because customer service is seriously a weak point every time i tried to call between 10 and 15 min wait expected or leave your number for a call back when youre up next not very helpful when you are in a hurry or on the go with the kids. If it was only ounce it would be no big deal but 3 times not so good. Also they take a while processing your cash rewards i have used this card over 5 times the stuff has processed and ive paid the balance if full 3 times about to be 4 and still trying to process rewards not impressed at this point with quicksilver id of already cashed out ny rewards now im stuck here waiting. So far ok but not at all wowed by this card maybe it will change but so far just "ok".

more ...
Jun 26, 2016
Instantly approved with score 726
tkhr11 Cardholder

I have Bank of America Checking, Money Market Savings. Store clerk always asks me to apply for credit card, but I denied a couple of months until I make my score little higher. 

Started receving promotional emails and personalized offer in online account, the first one I saw was secured card which I had no interest at all. Waited, then started receiving 0 annual fee Cash Rewards promotion. I applied through the promotional link, then instantly approved with limit 1,500 USD. This is fine with me as I pay frequently and can keep the balance available for purchasing anything expensive.

So far I like this card and using this for grocery store, wholesales, gas purchase.

more ...
Jun 26, 2016
Stay away from BoA
Lianicolr09 Cardholder

I've had this card since November 2014 with a $2000 credit line. The rewards are pretty great, but it's just not worth it to have to deal with Bank of America. I had a checking and savings account opened with them in addition to this credit account, which I have since closed. Their customer service is horrendous. Every time that I've had to call in to talk to someone regarding my account, I've been greeted with a rude customer service agent who could barely speak English and have been disconnected many times. They have shut my card off four times for "fraudulent activity" and not bothered to notify me of the card cancellation and I have had to find out by my card being declined at a store. Then, when I've called to see why, and when I'll be receiving a new card, I was told that it was already sent out and to wait the 7-10 business days. Be prepared to wait. And wait. And wait. Finally after three weeks of not receiving my card, I call to find out that they never actually sent it. This has happened every time they've shut the card off. Will be gladly cutting this card up once I make the final payment on it. 

more ...
Jun 24, 2016
Strange approval
Anonymous

I have a credit score of 698 and my debt to income ratio is great, I needed to get a new card because I will be driving a lot for work and I liked that I got cash back on gas purchases, when I applied I was immediantly denied, and this is the only credit card I have ever been denied for.

I still needed a card for work related expenses and applied for the chase freedom unlimited which gives 1.5% on all purchases and was approved immediantly with a $3,000 limit.

more ...
Jun 24, 2016

My score is 728... I applied for the CHASE Freedom Unlimited crap about 1 hour ago and I did not get an instant approval! It says a decision will be made within 30 days and a letter will be sent to me... At the moment I have a $300 MT Bank Visa, $500 Citi Best Buy Visa which I just opened 2 weeks ago and a $1000 US Bank SECURED Visa Card ... After seeing that decision with CHASE, I went ahead and applied for the BANK OF AMERICA Cash Rewards Card and instantly got approved for $5,000!!!

more ...
Jun 22, 2016
Maybe not as good of odds as they state

I wasn't even in the market for a new card. I noticed my credit score went down because an old account fell off and I had less accounts reported. In an effort to not over-extend myself I kept my number of accounts low. I saw there were "very good" odds for this card, and I have been very responsible with my spending over the past 5 years. I figured I'd go ahead just to add another account to my report to bump up my account numbers which would benefit my overall debt ratio and bump my credit score back up. However, I was denied. Now I have another inquiry on my report for an account I didn't even really want/need. Annoying. 

more ...
Jun 29, 2016

Write a letter telling them to remove their inquiry

 
Jun 22, 2016
BankAmericard Cash Rewards Denied

Credit karma stated odds of approval are very good, TU 733/ EQ 735, BK7 discharged in 7/2012, have been establishing good credit ever since but I was denied.  I have 1 mortgage, 1 car note and 1 Capital One credit card with a $9500 limit and $800 balance.  After reading other reviews, I guess my BK wasn't old enough for a major credit card yet.... 

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Bank of America offers a variety of high-value credit cards, like the BankAmericard Cash Rewards™, BankAmericard Travel Rewards® and BankAmericard® Visa® cards, featuring competitive rates.

Bank of America is one of the world's largest financial institutions, serving individual consumers, small- and middle-market businesses and large corporations with a full range of banking, investing, asset management and other financial and risk management products and services. The company provides unmatched convenience in the United States, serving approximately 57 million consumer and small business relationships with approximately 5,700 retail banking offices and approximately 17,250 ATMs and award-winning online banking with 30 million active users.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card