Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles on qualifying transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 11, 2016
A Must Have Cash Back Card
APowderBlue Cardholder

This is a real and detailed review.
Personally, I hate Bank of America as a bank, but their credit card department is completely different. Applied online with about a 720 score. I was instantly approved for $5000. I noticed people with better scores than mine got turned down, but perhaps they don't have a good enough income to debt ratio. Then I also went to a bank branch to open a Checking Acct to take advantage of the extra 10% cash transfer bonus.
If you are like me and only like Cash Back cards, this is a must have.
First, the phone app is so much better than other bank apps (I also have Wells Fargo and Citi). The app has the fingerprint sign-in which is very neat.
I originally got this card with the intent of only using it as my gas card, and I still do, but then I discovered the Special Offers section on the app. Here, I sign up for several awesome deals. My favorite is getting 5% Cash Back on my Starbucks coffee. There's 10% at Autozone. And many more awesome offers to sign up for. Soooo, now it isn't just a gas card anymore. Discover card has something similar, but only good for online store offers, not in store offers.
This card does not have all the small benefits that my other 2 cards have like extends product warrantees, price protection, and product buy back and more. So I suggest you only use this card for gas and consumables.

If you are a Cash Back junky like me the 3 best cards to have in your collection are these: Discover It, Citi Double Cash, and this one. Please avoid the American Express Blue at all cost, absolutely the worst card from a dying company.

I use this Bank of America card for gas and special offers. I use Discover it for their 5% on quarterly deals (currently it's 5% on gas, so it's my current gas card), and for large purchases I need extra protection on. I use my Citi Double Cash for 2% on everything else since the other 2 cards only offer 1% on everything else, so I get nothing less 2% cash back.

Sorry if I'm rambling, but hopefully this helps someone build confidence in this card. I don't suggest anyone use it as a "everything else" cash back card, get the Citi Double Cash. The app is nice and BofA Credit card department is very good, nothing like the treatment you get from the checking and savings account department.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 24, 2015
BEWARE Cards from Bank of America!
Jennyreviewergirltx Cardholder

I recently decided to pay down my balance on my Platinum Bank of America Visa credit card that I've had since 2007. My available credit line was $3,500 and I had carried a balance on it for years that I was slowly paying off. I decided to make a $1,500 payment reducing what was owed on the card down to less than $800.

Guess what happened?

The very next day Bank of America did a "Periodic review of my credit" and decided to reduce my credit line down to $800!!! What's worse is they didn't even notify me! 

When I questioned it customer service and the supervisor said that my credit wasn't good enough for the credit line I had. But I have the best credit I've had in years! They spun lines of BS and tried to tell me that the "periodic review" had nothing to do with me paying my card down and that they had no intention of fixing the issue, ever. 

So what's really happening?

Bank of America is doing something known as "chasing the balance" in order to  increase their profits. Now if I don't make a large enough payment I'll be over my credit line and be subject to fees. 

If I make to big of a payment they'll reduce my credit line even further! 

If you want to be able to use your credit card and pay off the balance eventually, stay away from Bank of America! 

-Unethical Business Practices. 

-Lying Customer Service Center

-Terrible Treatment of Long Term Customers

BEWARE:  Stay clear of Bank of America Credit Cards! 

more ...
 

Reviews (268)

Add Review
May 26, 2016
Smbo15 Cardholder

I had an unauthorized charge by a merchant.  I made a claim for the charge.  Bank of America sided with the merchant and asked me for a receipt. They rejected my claim.  I asked them to show me the receipt from the merchant.  They hadn't even contacted them.  I asked for a copy but the merchant refuses to send a receipt. Bank of America says it's the merchants right to ignore the request. This is the kind of customer support you should expect.  I have never known a company to work against its own customers.  Welcome to bank of America.  You have been warned.  Apply with caution.  

more ...
May 23, 2016
Cash back

I have a credit score of 706 and 4 credit cards.  They did not approve me because they said I did not have enough revolving credit cards and I needed to add more!  My approval odds were "Very Good" and now I have a hard inquiry on my report.  

more ...
May 19, 2016
Bank of america cash rewards card NO GO

690 score and stated a letter will be sent.  No late payments etc.  Only three cards with balances , 1200, 600 and 200.   Very disappointed that I allowed a hard inquiry on my credit only to be declined.  

more ...
May 14, 2016
Must have, great offers, and great tech
alexjmanero Cardholder

This card is easily a 5% card. Application process is simple, standard questions. I was approved on the spot for 15k limit (score 750). Do note BOA/FIA Card Services pulls from Experien. So on to the card:

3% on Gas

2% on Groceries (excludes Walmart, Target, and Wholesale)

Up to 1500 combined on those two at those %ages, then reverts back to 1%.

1% everywhere else.

This cash is redeemable in a variety of ways: statement credit, check, or deposited into a BOA account

As mentioned if you have an account you get a 10% at redemption time. If you have 25k-50k with BOA you get a 25% instead of 10%. 50-100k you get 50%, and over 100k you get a 75% bonus. I get 25% currently which is nice. The card can be Visa Plat or Sig, depending on what you qualify for. Contrary to what others had said Visa Signature administrates all the extra benefits (rental car, extended warrenty, etc) so you DO get those with Visa Signature.

As some have also noted BankAmeriDeal is a variety of offers that work on top of the cash back rewards. They can include: 10% at Starbucks, 10% at Hilton Hotels, and many others. These are online OR in person offers which makes them unique. These deals can be very lucrative.

The BOA app is exceptional. Very easy to use and fingerprint signin is a huge plus. Highly recommend this card A++ must have if you value cash rewards.

more ...
May 12, 2016

I applied for this card and i received a counter offer more expensive with annual fee and High APR. Of course they didn't approved my original application. But anyway i am very happy withy Citi Double Cash better benefits, better issuer by far. 

more ...
May 10, 2016
Nothing to complaint about it.
Anonymous Cardholder

BankofAmerica offered me this card as soon as I have arrived to USA. My credit history and score were 0 and even though they gave me the card.
Rewards are fair, easy to redeem.

So far no problem or complaint about it.

more ...
May 10, 2016
Great card with great reward program!
leogeo968 Cardholder

My credit has recently dropped from a 655 to a 625. Received a pre screened offer in the mail so I applied. I said my application was under review, when I called they approved me on the spot with an $1000 credit limit. I  believe that if I would of applied with out the pre screening, I definatly wouldn't have gotten approved.. 

more ...
May 06, 2016
Great card with good cash back and easy.
tdb1985 Cardholder

You get a 75% bonus on cash back if you have investments or banking totaling 100k.

Love how all the bad reviews are people who got declined.

more ...
May 03, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied ck said poor chance bankruptcy april of 2015. Have account with them for 8 years. Cs is 639/621. Current cards quicksilver 3500. Platinum cap 1 500 and discover 1200. I check the pre-qualify before i applied and resulteks qas to apply for this one. Will come back after 6months of use

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Bank of America offers a variety of high-value credit cards, like the BankAmericard Cash Rewards™, BankAmericard Travel Rewards® and BankAmericard® Visa® cards, featuring competitive rates.

Bank of America is one of the world's largest financial institutions, serving individual consumers, small- and middle-market businesses and large corporations with a full range of banking, investing, asset management and other financial and risk management products and services. The company provides unmatched convenience in the United States, serving approximately 57 million consumer and small business relationships with approximately 5,700 retail banking offices and approximately 17,250 ATMs and award-winning online banking with 30 million active users.

† We look at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there’s no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card