Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Card

Approval Odds
Application Process
Customer Service
3.5 5
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

Card Details

Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 12 billing cycles* on qualifying transfers
Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.99% – 22.99%* Variable
Purchase Intro APR 0% intro for 12 billing cycles*
Purchase Regular APR 12.99% – 22.99%* Variable
Annual Fee $0

How Credit Karma Can Help

Thinking about applying? Credit Karma can estimate your Approval Odds based on your credit profile. Get your information for free and get started.
  • Credit Scores
  • Credit Reports
  • Personalized Offers

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 15, 2015

Good Cash rewards card
Helpful to 43 out of 49 people

I started in 2010 on a secured card with a  $300 limit. About a year later I was switched to cash rewards and was approved for $1500. A year later I requested and was approved $5000. Just last week while checking my credit score I noticed I was moved to $7000 on an automatic approval. I called and was told sometimes they do this I really had no idea. As long as those payments come in on time BOA will move your limit up rather quickly it would seem.

Read More
 

Most Helpful Critical Review

Mar 08, 2015

Can be harmful to your credi
Helpful to 84 out of 104 people

Be forewarned that this card will show up on your credit report as a Flexible Spending Account. I wish I'd known that in advance. Essentially, a flexible spending account does not report the cards credit limit and will instead just show your highest balance & current balance which will appear as if your credit utilization is at the limit since there is no balance reported. The purpose of this kind of card is so that if you go over your credit limit on the card but manage to pay off the difference before your closing statement, you won't be penalized by the credit card company for going over your balance. However, should you only have 1 other credit card or low limit credit cards, this card will totally screw you big time. I think I will avoid Visa signature cards henceforth & also research in advance if the card I have interest in will report my CL.

Also...

I had 2 Bank of America cards, this being 1 of them, and I decided to merge the accounts to simplify things. The other card was a AAA rewards card that BofA were basically phasing out. BofA ran a credit inquiry just to add the balance of the AAA card to this 1.

Read More

IDKman3's review was:    

 

Reviews (119)

Apr 25, 2015

Adequate CB but a means to an ...
Helpful to 2 out of 2 people

.. to an end !

Just a little background, I've been a Bank of America credit card holder for about twelve years, through the economic downturn and right back to the top. I currently hold two credit cards through them and I can honestly say I've seen the good and the bad.

The Nutshell: Good card for fair credit, not such a great insurance program and watch their fee schedule. Don't ever be late on a payment or their throw you in the APR penalty box.

Application Process: I got this card shortly after graduating from college and its served me well. I would STRONGLY encourage you to read carefully the terms of service because it is riddled with exceptions and fees that aren't immediate apparent. This goes for all BofA products, it is possible to not get hit with a fee, I haven't paid a fee to the bank in five years but you have to play their game and by their rules. Approval process is usually straight forward, they either grant you credit or not - there is not in-between here (at least not without significant effort).

Customer Service: I can probobly count on one hand how many times I've called customer no-service usually I don't have any problems. Sometimes its best to use the "chat" feature since I sometimes make more progress with them on there than on the phone. Other times, they make you call. I will often write via snail mail if I want anything important done since they are very responsive to letters received at their PO Box. Not an instant answer, but hey it can work.

Credit Limit: I will say that they are very conservative with credit limits (I have a mid-750's credit score and they haven't really increased my limit ... ever and did decrease the limit during the recession). They will also watch your credit reports and credit card usuage like hawks and if you have anything that freaks them out, they will not hesitiate to cut your limit. I haven't really asked for a increase but they haven't offerred me one compared to other issuers.

Balance Transfers: I haven't really received any 0% offers, I get lots of 3% - 5% promotional offers but that then includes a balance transfer fee which I view as a 8-10% APR (if you add the transfer fee to the promotional APR).

My bottom line: Use them and lose them when it doesn't serve your interests anymore. A true back-of-the-wallet card. I don't get excited with this card, its good for "fair" credit but if you have "good to excellent" credit, move on to greener pasturers. Stingey with credit limit increases, APR jail & fees, along with a rewards program that really isn't anything to write home about. I sometimes view BofA as a bank that cateres to lower income individuals and sometimes takes advantage of their ignorance. I'd get this card only as a stepping stone to a better card like Chase Saphire or Barclays Arrival+ for travel (both with annual fees) or the Citi Double Cash (no annual fee) a few years later.

Read More

Takotsubo's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Apr 25, 2015

Adequate for fair credit as a means ..
Helpful to 2 out of 2 people

... to an end !

Just a little background, I've been a Bank of America credit card holder for about twelve years, through the economic downturn and right back to the top. I currently hold two credit cards through them and I can honestly say I've seen the good and the bad.

The Nutshell: Good card for fair credit, not such a great insurance program and watch their fee schedule. Don't ever be late on a payment or their throw you in the APR penalty box.

Application Process: I got this card shortly after graduating from college and its served me well. I would STRONGLY encourage you to read carefully the terms of service because it is riddled with exceptions and fees that aren't immediate apparent. This goes for all BofA products, it is possible to not get hit with a fee, I haven't paid a fee to the bank in five years but you have to play their game and by their rules. Approval process is usually straight forward, they either grant you credit or not - there is not in-between here (at least not without significant effort).

Customer Service: I can probobly count on one hand how many times I've called customer no-service usually I don't have any problems. Sometimes its best to use the "chat" feature since I sometimes make more progress with them on there than on the phone. Other times, they make you call. I will often write via snail mail if I want anything important done since they are very responsive to letters received at their PO Box. Not an instant answer, but hey it can work.

Credit Limit: I will say that they are very conservative with credit limits (I have a mid-750's credit score and they haven't really increased my limit ... ever and did decrease the limit during the recession). They will also watch your credit reports and credit card usuage like hawks and if you have anything that freaks them out, they will not hesitiate to cut your limit. I haven't really asked for a increase but they haven't offerred me one compared to other issuers.

Balance Transfers: I haven't really received any 0% offers, I get lots of 3% - 5% promotional offers but that then includes a balance transfer fee which I view as a 8-10% APR (if you add the transfer fee to the promotional APR).

My bottom line: Use them and lose them when it doesn't serve your interests anymore. A true back-of-the-wallet card. I don't get excited with this card, its good for "fair" credit but if you have "good to excellent" credit, move on to greener pasturers. Stingey with credit limit increases, APR jail & fees, along with a rewards program that really isn't anything to write home about. I sometimes view BofA as a bank that cateres to lower income individuals and sometimes takes advantage of their ignorance. I'd get this card only as a stepping stone to a better card like Chase Saphire or Barclays Arrival+ for travel (both with annual fees) or the Citi Double Cash (no annual fee) a few years later.

Read More

Takotsubo's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Apr 24, 2015

BEWARE Cards from Bank of America!
Helpful to 3 out of 4 people

I recently decided to pay down my balance on my Platinum Bank of America Visa credit card that I've had since 2007. My available credit line was $3,500 and I had carried a balance on it for years that I was slowly paying off. I decided to make a $1,500 payment reducing what was owed on the card down to less than $800.

Guess what happened?

The very next day Bank of America did a "Periodic review of my credit" and decided to reduce my credit line down to $800!!! What's worse is they didn't even notify me! 

When I questioned it customer service and the supervisor said that my credit wasn't good enough for the credit line I had. But I have the best credit I've had in years! They spun lines of BS and tried to tell me that the "periodic review" had nothing to do with me paying my card down and that they had no intention of fixing the issue, ever. 

So what's really happening?

Bank of America is doing something known as "chasing the balance" in order to  increase their profits. Now if I don't make a large enough payment I'll be over my credit line and be subject to fees. 

If I make to big of a payment they'll reduce my credit line even further! 

If you want to be able to use your credit card and pay off the balance eventually, stay away from Bank of America! 

-Unethical Business Practices. 

-Lying Customer Service Center

-Terrible Treatment of Long Term Customers

BEWARE:  Stay clear of Bank of America Credit Cards! 

Read More

Jennyreviewergirltx's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Apr 15, 2015

SECURED
Helpful to 0 out of 3 people

I wasnt approved for the card but i didn't to be since i had zero credit at the time. i decided on the secured version and am currently waiting to reach 12 months in june and receive a graduation into the unsecured as well as a CLI. i'll report back then for an update.

Read More

brolysadvocate's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Apr 11, 2015

Customer service mess!
Helpful to 4 out of 5 people

Bank of America credit card services is a disorganized mess with departments who have no idea why other departments do something. When there is a mistake due to their many IT errors, it took days out of my life to finally talk to someone who could fix it. I also had an interesting experience where I filed a claim for a company that had access to my credit card number illegally billing me. BoA decided in my favor and credited me. Then months later I get a letter from them requesting a written reply from me in 3 DAYS or they will forfeit my claim. I mailed it that day, but 2 weeks later BoA claimed they hadn't received it. They actually re-billed me for that amount and said there was nothing they could do! I've had many credit cards, and this is by far the most disorganized and "IT-error" riddled of them all. That's their blanket statement for all their problems... "IT error." Please do not get this card.

Read More

gravityovlove's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Mar 19, 2015

Worth it for only the first 90 days
Helpful to 26 out of 38 people

I've had this card for several years when I first had it it was 3% back on gas for the first 90 days. After that, it was 1% on all transactions exept for certain online retailers. I loved their customer service if you lose your card or have any transaction disputes there available 24 hours. However, there offers to use it on retailers for extra points are only to the most redicoulsly expensive stores that I've never of. I'm not a big spender nor shop online much so it takes up to a year to accumulate enough points for casual usuage to get any cash back. My final cash back transaction was to use it to pay a remaining 25 dollar balance and after that I was done. I've found better cash back cards since then.

Read More

cmg341986's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Mar 16, 2015

Great rewards... plus bonus
Helpful to 22 out of 27 people

I ordered something online and obviously it was a scan.. I did not receive the product and after a month I emailed the company that sold it to me.. I got an "auto reply" they were on vacation.... VACATION??  This was supposedly a big company.  I called BOA and they immediately refunded my money and started an investigation.  While they are working on it, I do not have to pay.  Great company... I have never had ANY trouble and they are very helpful when I call for a  question.  

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Mar 11, 2015

the best credit card
Helpful to 16 out of 31 people

wow,I have $17900.00 credit limit,I transfer the balance to my checking account and use it for home purchase.only 3% transfer fee.18month 0%apr

Read More

zxpyly's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Mar 08, 2015

Can be harmful to your credi
Helpful to 84 out of 104 people

Be forewarned that this card will show up on your credit report as a Flexible Spending Account. I wish I'd known that in advance. Essentially, a flexible spending account does not report the cards credit limit and will instead just show your highest balance & current balance which will appear as if your credit utilization is at the limit since there is no balance reported. The purpose of this kind of card is so that if you go over your credit limit on the card but manage to pay off the difference before your closing statement, you won't be penalized by the credit card company for going over your balance. However, should you only have 1 other credit card or low limit credit cards, this card will totally screw you big time. I think I will avoid Visa signature cards henceforth & also research in advance if the card I have interest in will report my CL.

Also...

I had 2 Bank of America cards, this being 1 of them, and I decided to merge the accounts to simplify things. The other card was a AAA rewards card that BofA were basically phasing out. BofA ran a credit inquiry just to add the balance of the AAA card to this 1.

Read More

IDKman3's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Mar 04, 2015

This company is truly evil.
Helpful to 63 out of 95 people

Applied for this card and received it but after my first payment- which was an automatic payment of $44.00- was processed for $4,400.00.  In other words, Bank of America stole $4,356.00 from my checking account for nearly ten business days which spanned over two weeks of Bank of America apologizing for the "technical glitch" in which they gave themselves a free loan of $4,356.

**** this company.

Read More

DanielPlainview's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards

Add Your Review Of BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Card

Rate this product

Rate your application experience (Optional)

Application Process

Customer Service

What is your experience with this product?

I Have It

I Used To Have It

I Applied For It

Write your review:

Profile Image
Anonymous

Company Overview

Bank of America offers a variety of high-value credit cards, like the BankAmericard Cash Rewards™, BankAmericard Travel Rewards® and BankAmericard® Visa® cards, featuring competitive rates.

Bank of America is one of the world's largest financial institutions, serving individual consumers, small- and middle-market businesses and large corporations with a full range of banking, investing, asset management and other financial and risk management products and services. The company provides unmatched convenience in the United States, serving approximately 57 million consumer and small business relationships with approximately 5,700 retail banking offices and approximately 17,250 ATMs and award-winning online banking with 30 million active users.

† These Approval Odds represent Credit Karma's estimation of how likely you are to be approved for a product based on a comparison of your profile with data about Credit Karma members who have been approved for the product in the past (if available). There is no guarantee that you will be approved by the lender or that credit will be extended to you.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Approval Odds

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Card

Balance Transfer Purchase Intro APR Regular APR
12 Billing Cycles 12 Billing Cycles  

0% intro

0% intro

12.99% – 22.99%*

Variable