Bank of America® Cash Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.1 out of 5 stars
88 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Billing Cycles on balance transfers made in the first 60 days
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 13, 2018
Excellent card - Fraud detection rocks
Odyssey045 Cardholder

I had someone hack into my walmart.com account, where i had this card setup along with chase sapphire. The chase transactions went through without any roadblocks, but boa dutifully alerted me suspecting fradulent transactions through text messages. It made me reply "YES" or "NO" to confirm authenticity. Once i replied "NO", the transactions were blocked and my card was restricted. Then i logged on to the website, i had an option to block the current card, and a new one issued. Breeze, compared to chase ,where i had to spend 20 minutes with customer support to do the same.. No tthat it was bad, but the process in BOA is far better.. Their cashback deals are also good once in a while.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 29, 2018
Worst customer service ever
Tundra2436 Cardholder

Be prepared to have them lock your card multiple times without notifying you until your standing in line with a cart full of groceries at checkout.  My wife and I have excellent credit and account is and was in good standing.  Apparently BOA fraud thinks that grocery purchases are suspicious.  It takes 6 months before they can learn your spending behavior. Until then you will be blocked without warning then have to spend over an hour on the phone only to re verify your identity to each of the 5 customer service representatives who you speak to.  The will provide you with mis information more than once, and play phone games laughing at the situation offering no resolution.  To me a credit card that you can’t use for daily purchases is useless.  Unless you want to call BOA and sit on hold for hours to ask permission to buy something.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 15, 2019
Alldone1 Cardholder

Not easy to deal with. Customer service the worse. Beware they have got to big 

more ...
Jan 14, 2019
Getting Better and Better
Rsmy123 Cardholder

They upgraded their rewards program. First they added coins and made it easier to track rewards. Within the last week, they now have flexible 3% categories (gas, online, restaurants, travel, etc) that can be changed at the beginning of each month. I use the card more and more now.

more ...
Jan 14, 2019
Good rewards and no Annual Fee
ChellyA Cardholder

I've had this card for over 2 years.  If you pay your card off every month, it's a great way to get free money back.  3% gas, 2% groceries, 1% everything else.  (BTW, 7-11 convenience stores are considered "gas".)  If you have a Bank of America account already and transfer the rewards into your savings account, you get an extra 10% added on.  The rewards are paid quarterly.  I have seen some reviews criticizing customer service, but I have not had any reason to contact them so I can't critique their helpfulness.  To recap, if you already have a B of A account, I think you cannot go wrong with this card.

more ...
Jan 01, 2019
Low Limits
Zosimus Cardholder

I got a pre-approved offer in the mail, and I let it sit for a few weeks while I mulled it over. Then I pulled the trigger. The online application was a breeze, but when I got my $500 limit I was displeased. I have 14 tradelines and, until BofA came along my lowest was $1000. I got my welcome bonus and called it quits on the card. I'd rather use my Citi Simplicity card with a $5,300 limit.

more ...
Jan 06, 2019

Citi Simplicity isn't a rewards card through lol.

 
Jan 08, 2019

You already have too much like open already. Closed some of your other cards, which I’m sure your not using some of them, so you could ask to increase it.

 
Dec 28, 2018
Fast $200, high limit!
Katiedid1986 Cardholder

I got this card with scores around 750, 30% util, at this time 2 medical collections and got an instant $14,000 credit line!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 17, 2019

I completely think that this is a false review. I seriously doubt BOA gave them a credit limit of $14,000 and they have two accounts in collections. With a credit score in the 750's. Someone bumped their head into a dream world.

 
Dec 27, 2018
Don’t do it!!!
davisal419 Cardholder

I’ve been with Bank of America on the banking side for over 20 years and the credit card side for over 5 years. I had surgery on my wrist a few days ago and my husband forgot to pay the credit card bill, which was due on Christmas Eve. He ended up paying it a few hours past the cut off time and we were hit with a late fee. I called today to get the fee waived, they said no. They said they don’t do courtesy anything. 5 years and I’ve never missed a payment or been late and they won’t refund me $25 and my credit will reflect late. Now I’ve read the paperwork and it says if your payment falls on a holiday it’s due the next business day. Well they were closed Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. So the next business day is today. So according to the paperwork I’m not late. Nope! According to the manager I’m late after 8 pm EST on Christmas Eve. So now my credit is dinged behind 55 minutes. So I called the banking side and told them the situation and they begged us to stay. Nope! You’re losing a long standing customer because your credit department doesn’t courtesy anything. I’ve already started moving my assets over to Discover Bank. I’ve had them for a while but just as a spending money kind of account. Since BoA is not the same customer service it was when I signed up we’re going to Discover where the service is top notch. Happy freaking holidays. 

more ...
Dec 28, 2018

Enter Your Reply

 
Dec 30, 2018

Sorry this happened to you. It really sucks

But those terms usually mean, that if your payment was due the 25th then you could have paid the 26

Because the actual Holliday is the 25 and no the 24

 
Nov 24, 2018
Really good card.
TonysWallet Cardholder

Had this card for over a year with no issues whatsoever. 

more ...
Nov 21, 2018
Great rewards but minimum $25 to reedem
AleksR Cardholder

This is like any other card except that they only allow you to redeem your rewards of do you have $25 in them so if you have less and you don’t want to use the card you will lose those rewards. Payments also take a few days to post but overall the cart is OK. 

more ...
Nov 16, 2018
Very happy with World MC
Aviviam Cardholder

I love this card.  It so happens that I opened a checking account with Bank of America a few months before applying for this card.  I was approved online instantly.  I applied to get the (then) $150 bonus after 3 months with $500 of spending.  Because I have the deposit account, I can get a 10% bonus on cashback if I have it deposited into the checking account.  I got the initial bonus plus cashback, just had to claim it online, with no problem.  Took little time, even less than they'd projected.  This card works excellently for me because most of my spending in life is at the grocery store, and I don't know of a better cashback on that than 2%.  It's not hard to spend $500 on groceries in 3 months.  I have Savor card too, but don't get the 10% bonus with that.  I would use the card for 3% back on gas, but it's hardly worth it to risk a gas pump credit card theft.  I do that when Chase Freedom offers 5% back ;)  The Bank of America World Mastercard could be better if there were no foreign transaction fee.  Capital One Savor does not charge a foreign transaction fee, therefore I use it for purchases which could incur such a charge.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 18, 2018

There really is no risk for you at the pump. I had my card number stolen at the pump, but I was reissued a new card from BoA within a week. I would never use a debit card at the pump though.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Bank of America® Cash Rewards Credit Card