Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
116 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles on qualifying transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

The BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ credit card is a solid cash back option for people with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

The BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ credit card offers 3% cash back on gas and 2% cash back at grocery stores and now at wholesale clubs for the first $2,500 in combined grocery stores, wholesale club, and gas purchases each quarter. You can earn 1% cash back on all other purchases, and get a $100 cash rewards bonus after $500 in purchases in the first 90 days.

Look Out For

You’ll pay a 3% or $10 fee on any balance transfers whichever is greater, as well as a 3% fee on foreign transactions. If you’re late on a payment, you could be subject to a high penalty APR that may overshadow any rewards earnings.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 23, 2016
A must have for any cashback enthusiast!
glpstrat Cardholder

THE MOST IMPORTANT THING I want to say in my review is something I couldn’t find in ANY reviews. The 3% cash back on gas applies to ANY purchase made at any GAS STATION, not just the gas. The advertisement makes it sound like this is good for the gas only, but I didn’t think that could be so & found out it isn’t.

My stats when applying for BoA: 742 CK score (TU & Equifax both), lowest utilization grade, 100% payment history,  0 derogatory marks, Avg credit age of 1 Yr (totally incorrect in reality, I'm close to 10 years on every other report, idk where CK gets this from...), 9 total accounts, inquiries at 2.

I was only given 'good' odds at being approved for this card yet was given 'very high' odds for my Chase Freedom & Citi Double Cash cards with almost a 50 point lower score. I've wanted this card for a while but I've read that BoA is picky, so I held out til I was confident I’d be approved.

The application process was mostly easy except for the required employment selection. They had NOTHING related to my field, so I had to call BoA to find out what to choose. The call was completely smooth & the rep was very helpful.

The BoA online banking GUI is average at best, especially compared to the Chase & Citi online banking GUIs. The BoA GUI just has a cheap feeling to it & I honestly expected it to be closer to the quality of the others, if not better due to how long they’ve been around. 

Finally, with the 2 other cards I mentioned, this one rounds out the 3 top cash back cards in my opinion. Chase Freedom is great for the 5% rotating categories, BoA is good for the 3% gas bonus, & Citi is good for a minimum of 2% on all other purchases. I love free money, & you just can’t beat getting paid to buy things you’re already going to have to buy anyway!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 27, 2016
All about the profit. AVOID.
Anonymous Cardholder

Bank of America will ding your credit in a heartbeat and lower your score. They play games with payment dates and will wait to withdraw funds days after you approve them from your bank. If you are late just one day they will report your late to credit bureaus and reduce your payment percentage. This card has lowered my 100% payment rating t0 75%! I just paid the entire balance, and magically a $9.00 charge showed up from LAST WEEK. I just approved that payment and when it shows zero I am going to dump this card. Capital One has the best cards of all.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 04, 2016
Good credit card
Anonymous Cardholder

Have this card for 13 months . Good reward card and also customer service is excellent way better than ***** Citi bank .

more ...
Nov 09, 2016
They support the Dakota pipeline.
nodapl Cardholder

So you would be supporting the removal of Native Americans from the land we gave them in a treaty  to put in a tar sands pipeline. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 23, 2016

This is a website aimed at helping people build, repair, and monitor their credit. Keep your sjw crap off of here and stick to reddit please

 
Nov 08, 2016
Verry bad
deekrum Cardholder

Customer support, poor. Linking with my checking account with TD bank was never approved. It must have been known I was in the process of closing out, moving to Canada or? Because my checking account I opened in high school was closed out of nowhere and in the end I was being charged interest arbitrarily on different days of the month. So numbers would add up pretty. For me first credit card, they taugt me nothing. Just, bad

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
Easy apply, process and great benefits!
Missy566 Cardholder

I went off of the recommendation of KK and applied for this card.  I called in, applied with a rep and was approved in less than 2 minutes for $7500.  My scores are 690 and 685 with KK but 792 Fico with Experian.  Not sure what they use, but nonetheless no issues with the app or approval process.  I did a balance transfer same day to take advantage of the 0% for 12 months promo.  I received the card in about a week and am excited about the cash back rewards and interest free rates for the next year.  I plan on using the card for gas, groceries and bills each month to earn rewards and then paying it off by due date. I don't earn cash back when using my checking account to pay for these items, so want to give this method a try.  All in all, very easy process and the agents I've talked to so far have all been very helpful.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I got approved for this card w/a 650 score, and my only having student loans and two old cancelled cards on my credit history.

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
Great card for BofA clients
GeoffDu Cardholder

You get better rewards if you are a BofA client. Transfer your cashback on a BofA checking account and you'll get better rewards.

more ...
Oct 30, 2016
A no frills card for everyday use
Anonymous Cardholder

Handy card for quick / small purchases. Easy payments if you are a BOA customer. Quick posting times. 

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Great card , all should have it

more ...
Oct 27, 2016
Best card for everyone
RSeng Cardholder

My wife and I share this card. We mainly use it for gas and groceries. And get paid for it! Best of all, no annual fee!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card