BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.9 out of 5 stars
98 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles on qualifying transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% intro for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.74% - 23.74%* Variable

Our Take

The BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ credit card is a solid cash back option for people with good to excellent credit.

What to Like

The BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ credit card offers 3% cash back on gas and 2% cash back at grocery stores and wholesale clubs for the first $2,500 in combined grocery stores, wholesale club, and gas purchases each quarter. You can earn 1% cash back on all other purchases, and get a $150 cash rewards bonus after $500 in purchases in the first 90 days.

Look Out For

You’ll pay a 3% or $10 fee on any balance transfers whichever is greater, as well as a 3% fee on foreign transactions. If you’re late on a payment, you could be subject to a high penalty APR that may overshadow any rewards earnings.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 11, 2016
A Must Have Cash Back Card
APowderBlue Cardholder

This is a real and detailed review.
Personally, I hate Bank of America as a bank, but their credit card department is completely different. Applied online with about a 720 score. I was instantly approved for $5000. I noticed people with better scores than mine got turned down, but perhaps they don't have a good enough income to debt ratio. Then I also went to a bank branch to open a Checking Acct to take advantage of the extra 10% cash transfer bonus.
If you are like me and only like Cash Back cards, this is a must have.
First, the phone app is so much better than other bank apps (I also have Wells Fargo and Citi). The app has the fingerprint sign-in which is very neat.
I originally got this card with the intent of only using it as my gas card, and I still do, but then I discovered the Special Offers section on the app. Here, I sign up for several awesome deals. My favorite is getting 5% Cash Back on my Starbucks coffee. There's 10% at Autozone. And many more awesome offers to sign up for. Soooo, now it isn't just a gas card anymore. Discover card has something similar, but only good for online store offers, not in store offers.
This card does not have all the small benefits that my other 2 cards have like extends product warrantees, price protection, and product buy back and more. So I suggest you only use this card for gas and consumables.

If you are a Cash Back junky like me the 3 best cards to have in your collection are these: Discover It, Citi Double Cash, and this one. Please avoid the American Express Blue at all cost, absolutely the worst card from a dying company.

I use this Bank of America card for gas and special offers. I use Discover it for their 5% on quarterly deals (currently it's 5% on gas, so it's my current gas card), and for large purchases I need extra protection on. I use my Citi Double Cash for 2% on everything else since the other 2 cards only offer 1% on everything else, so I get nothing less 2% cash back.

Sorry if I'm rambling, but hopefully this helps someone build confidence in this card. I don't suggest anyone use it as a "everything else" cash back card, get the Citi Double Cash. The app is nice and BofA Credit card department is very good, nothing like the treatment you get from the checking and savings account department.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 24, 2015
BEWARE Cards from Bank of America!
Jennyreviewergirltx Cardholder

I recently decided to pay down my balance on my Platinum Bank of America Visa credit card that I've had since 2007. My available credit line was $3,500 and I had carried a balance on it for years that I was slowly paying off. I decided to make a $1,500 payment reducing what was owed on the card down to less than $800.

Guess what happened?

The very next day Bank of America did a "Periodic review of my credit" and decided to reduce my credit line down to $800!!! What's worse is they didn't even notify me! 

When I questioned it customer service and the supervisor said that my credit wasn't good enough for the credit line I had. But I have the best credit I've had in years! They spun lines of BS and tried to tell me that the "periodic review" had nothing to do with me paying my card down and that they had no intention of fixing the issue, ever. 

So what's really happening?

Bank of America is doing something known as "chasing the balance" in order to  increase their profits. Now if I don't make a large enough payment I'll be over my credit line and be subject to fees. 

If I make to big of a payment they'll reduce my credit line even further! 

If you want to be able to use your credit card and pay off the balance eventually, stay away from Bank of America! 

-Unethical Business Practices. 

-Lying Customer Service Center

-Terrible Treatment of Long Term Customers

BEWARE:  Stay clear of Bank of America Credit Cards! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 21, 2017
Terrible service, Stupid personal
mandrusha Cardholder

I recived this card 2 months ago. And when I tried to add my checking account for I can pay my bills, it's had some fault. So now my account is locked and nobody can't change it, I called to help desk and customer service 5 times, they every time told "we fixed it", but it still here, I was in branch, they also can't solve it, I sent 2 letters to credit department with required information (they asked about some information and I can only use mail for it, it's STUPID), and anyway problem still here.

So I just paid my bill by check to credit card, cutted this card and put it to trash. I don't wish anymore use service this bank.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 24, 2017

You also need to call the stupid personnel one more time and request that they close your account. This way, whatever credit amount you were granted will come off your total credit amount on your credit score and other ways that information is used. Just one more call and then you're done... Actually, this should be done before destroying the card, as they might actually ask you for the CVV (secret) number on your card. Great feedback!

 
Jun 20, 2017
There's additional cash back opportunity
acuratl06 Cardholder

Bank of America offers an additional 25%, 50% or 75% cash back bonus. Depends on your relationship with them! It's based off your balances so check with your local banker.

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Best cash Back Card I 've Found
Hogroamer Cardholder

Had this card for years, only issue is they tend to shut it off when I travel out of state. They do have a system so you can notify them in advance though. Good they are protecting themselves and me I guess. In addition to the cash back, if you have a BAC savings/checking and sweep your rewards back into that, they add an additional 10% of the rewards to the account. I know hating the big banks is popular but this is my card of choice.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 24, 2017

I would never keep this card. Any company that "shut if off" when you travel out of state... is not going to have me for a customer. When a card embarrasses me, I'm done.

 
Jun 16, 2017
Card wasnt bad......customer service suc
JLP1954 Cardholder

Shut my card off while I was on vacation, and because my mobile number wasnt "registered in my name" they couldn't verify my identity to turn the card back on. I had to drive 150 miles to a BOA branch to get "verified" after I was "verified" I took some scissors off the rep's desk, cut the card into as many tiny pieces as possible, left them in a pile on his desk and walked out

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 24, 2017

Bravo! I would have done the same thing! As I said above, a card that embarrasses me is gone....

 
Jun 15, 2017
Awesome
Anonymous Cardholder

They would raise your credit line.

more ...
Jun 15, 2017
Tons of fees they tried to charge
danlins Cardholder

BoA had a class action because they illegally charged fees years back.  Well, clearly they haven't changed much since then.  It's a good credit card until they try to sneak up on you anc charge you for their fault, like deleting your auto pay from account and not letting you know until the statement hits to charge late fees and interest.  Their customer service was very rude and tried to push back on the charges.  I closed my account in the end tired of constantly dealing with the charges they put on my account illegally.  The customer service supervisor had to apologize after his manager reviewing the case and realized it was illegal charges to call me back and refund me all the money they charged.  It only took 4 months for the money to be refunded.  

There are lots of other cards out there.  Save your time and energy dealing with them!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 24, 2017

Good for you!

 
Jun 09, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Too high interest rates 

more ...
Jun 02, 2017
a long 7 days
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied for this card thinking I was going to get denied but got approved.  My CK score is TU 654 EQ 648.  I applied and the card told me to wait for a decision.  Waited 7 days and got a email saying I had been approved.  It didn't show a balance but the next day it popped up at $2,000.  I am on the road to rebuilding credit and thanks BOA for giving me a shot.  Also I had been a member with BOA since 2012.  Idk if that had anything to do with it.  

more ...
May 31, 2017
Perfect credit buidler
LKKY Cardholder

Know one thing, this card is not your "hotshot." I've had it for 5 years now on a 4k CL - 2 advances solicited and 2 granted. It's bate bones basic for today's standard. Good cash-back, low %APR if running above 690 and now FICO score for free. I got this card when I was 19 at 300 CL secured with no previous credit history. Now I run 760 average on TU EX etc, and have a 20k CL with other cards. All because of this little can-do card.
Stay on your payments and you'll be good!

more ...
May 27, 2017
Absolutely love this credit card.
DontDream Cardholder

No complaints on this credit card, it's the only credit card I actually have since I opened a BoA account in 2006 along with a checking account. I love the 1 2 and 3% cash back I use it everyday and at the end of the month I pay it in full so I don't pay interest and I accumulate the cash back. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

BankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Credit Card