USAA® Rewards™ American Express® Card

Overall card rating

4.5
33 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 05 2013
USAA AMEX
Credit Karma Member

This card is awesome. I was able to get bumped up to a 13.5k limit. Customer service is the best in class. They really take pride at what they do at USAA and the employees are top notch. Also, did you know that if you have a any credit card with USAA, if you are late on a payment. They DO NOT report a delinquent payments until 60 days past due.. Awesome company.. They really set tha bar for sure.


Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 18 2018
Don't do it
Credit Karma Member

Unless you're willing to deal with a company that holds your credit card payments for up to 10 days. Get an American Express card directly from American Express instead. USAA's payment hold policies are awful and violate the federal Truth in Lending Act. 7 to 10 day holds for payments to reflect is unacceptable, artificially increases credit utilization as reported to the bureaus as well as makes your CL inaccessible. No other credit card issuer I know of holds payments that long. The only response from customer service is to read the fine print regarding how long they "can" hold a payment or a recommendation to change banks to USAA for faster payment processing (which does not work).


Additional ratings


All Reviews

27
2
0
0
4
  • Highest rated
  • Most helpful
  • Least helpful
  • Newest
  • Oldest

Nov 11 2019
So far, so good
Credit Karma Member

App process was easy enough, payment process was fast and also easy enough, only took two days to process before payment posted. I used another account not associated with USAA to make payments and have had no issues at all... CS associate/person was polite, professional at all times. Expect this card will do all I want/need it too.


Jan 24 2019
Great rewards
Credit Karma Member

Great rewards rates for restaurants and gas/groceries.


Nov 18 2018
Don't do it
Credit Karma Member

Unless you're willing to deal with a company that holds your credit card payments for up to 10 days. Get an American Express card directly from American Express instead. USAA's payment hold policies are awful and violate the federal Truth in Lending Act. 7 to 10 day holds for payments to reflect is unacceptable, artificially increases credit utilization as reported to the bureaus as well as makes your CL inaccessible. No other credit card issuer I know of holds payments that long. The only response from customer service is to read the fine print regarding how long they "can" hold a payment or a recommendation to change banks to USAA for faster payment processing (which does not work).


Mar 08 2018
Great card to have...
Credit Karma Member

I have had no issues with with this card.


Feb 21 2018
The worst customer service of all time.
Credit Karma Member

My husband is active duty military. we have been usaa members for seven years with flawless history. I got the rewards american express card a little over a year ago, mainly because we bank with them and they offer 4% APR during PCS or deployment. Well we PCSed (moved) this past summer and I have applied for the benefits several times and reps keep telling me "oh sorry, his orders must not have uploaded all the way, or they got lost or blah blah blah". it was always something. I submitted his orders once a month for six months! Finally today I call because I am suppose to hear an answer in 30 days. It has been 35. I called and the first rep put me on hold and proceeded to hang up on me. I guess the call could have disconnected on accident, benefit of the doubt. I call back and i get another guy who says that I don't qualify for the reduced APR because I am not the service member. HOW THE ACTUAL HELL CAN USAA SAY THEY WILL NOT EXTEND THE SAME BENEFITS TO ME AS THEY WILL HIM! I am on his orders. He then proceeds to tell me of several times in my account that have been notated that other reps have told me this. NO ONE HAS EVER TOLD ME THIS BEFORE! Customer service reps were trying to cover their own butts when they didn't want to look into a question. I waited on hold with this guy because I told him I wanted to speak to a supervisor because that is ludacris when they can confirm that he is active duty and that I am his spouse. I waited on hold and SURPRISE: HE HUNG UP ON ME. I am paying off this card today and canceling it tomorrow. A waste of space in my wallet. Capital one, Chase, and Citi all extend their military benefits to spouses, my business is staying with them.


Feb 20 2017
Too difficult
Credit Karma Member

I've been with USAA for more than 10 years. A few days ago, I applied online for an American Express credit card, and I was denied. I've had a secured American Express for more than 4 years, and I've had excellent payment history. I think 4+ years of payment history is sufficient enough to establish that I am ready to graduate to an unsecured AMEX. But, instead, they presented an offer to open another secured American Express, and didn't even offer their classic American Express. What will I do with two secured American Express cards? I spoke to a supervisor, and he said that the denial is to protect its members. When that was said, I felt like an outsider. My grandfather closed his accounts a few years ago, and USAA tried to bargain with him. I do not have millions of dollars invested in USAA, so they were not concerned when I proposed closing my accounts. I wish I would've known that USAA was so conservative. I've had an unsecured Visa credit card for 3 years, and I haven't received one credit limit increase. My credit cards have a zero balance, and I have excellent payment history. I understand now that members are not treated equally. My grandfather had millions of dollars invested in USAA, and he was a general. Anyone who says that USAA treats its members equally is naive, because there is no doubt that money and rank played a part in pleading and bargaining with my grandfather to not close his account -- versus offering to help me close mine.


May 07 2016
Credit Karma Member

I'm still rebuilding my credit after a short sale 6 years ago and missued payments on a credit card 13 months ago. However, I was instantly approved for 2k with a credit score around 650 across the board. I have 9 credit cards total to include all store cards, and 26 (I know.... really high! I recently looked for credit for a car) credit inquiries. I know that at times AMEX has promotions at times so this is the LAST card I wanted. Now I just plan to build this card and all of my others.


Jan 06 2016
Perfect
Credit Karma Member

Great points for cash back or rewards! Outstanding customer service! No annual fee! USSA is a throwback and understands the importance of taking care of its members!


Dec 17 2015
So happy to be out of toy card limits
Credit Karma Member

CK TU 688 EQ 746 - 20K No collections No late pays


Oct 15 2015
Generous limit - great benefits
Credit Karma Member

Was pre-approved though USAA mobile app, applied, and was approved instantly - has huge cash rewards for fuel, easy integration in the mobile app with my other accounts, so managing card activity and making payments is very simple - generous credit line and legendary customer service - glad to have a top notch additional card available.

1-10 of 33

See Approval Odds and pre-approved offers before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

USAA® Rewards™ American Express® Card

USAA® Rewards™ American Express® Card


These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.