Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

USAA Rewards™ American Express®

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 10.15% - 26.15%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 10.15% - 26.15%* Variable

Reviews (38)

Add Review
May 16, 2016

I just applied for this card and I was approved right away with 7000 limit. There is no hussle in applying for this card. Im glad that USAa is my bank.

more ...
May 07, 2016
Msroby168 Cardholder

I'm still rebuilding my credit after a short sale 6 years ago and missued payments on a credit card 13 months ago. However, I was instantly approved for 2k with a credit score around 650 across the board. I have 9 credit cards total to include all store cards, and 26 (I know.... really high! I recently looked for credit for a car) credit inquiries. I know that at times AMEX has promotions at times so this is the LAST card I wanted. Now I just plan to build this card and all of my others.

more ...
Feb 12, 2016
My family trusts USAA
Anonymous Cardholder

I've been using USAA for credit cards, home insurance, car insurance, etc.  for 35+ years. USAA has the friendliest employees I've ever worked with, face-to-face, on the telephone, or on-line. Any issue (and there have been only a few) is resolved quickly, politely and satisfaction. Thanks, USAA!

more ...
Jan 06, 2016
Matty441 Cardholder

Great points for cash back or rewards! Outstanding customer service! No annual fee! USSA is a throwback and understands the importance of taking care of its members! 

more ...
Dec 23, 2015
member since 1992
Anonymous Cardholder

Best bank ever, approved in seconds.

more ...
Dec 17, 2015
So happy to be out of toy card limits
youngins Cardholder

CK TU 688 EQ 746 - 20K

No collections

No late pays

more ...
Nov 08, 2015
Recently Approved

Just tried and was approved interest 15.9% wihth $7,000 limit to 60 seconds just wanted an amex card to add to wallet comre with experion credit score in card app on website great tool. Now i know my score from all three bureaus i took a 32 point drop on eqifax score though. I want to kno is my interest to hight exp 683 eq 642 trans 682.

more ...
May 30, 2016

No, that's about right.

Oct 14, 2016

32 point drop for a credit pull? that doesn't seem right, my score dips 3-4 points every time I use it

Oct 15, 2015
Generous limit - great benefits
JClem33432 Cardholder

Was pre-approved though USAA mobile app, applied, and was approved instantly - has huge cash rewards for fuel, easy integration in the mobile app with my other accounts, so managing card activity and making payments is very simple - generous credit line and legendary customer service - glad to have a top notch additional card available.

more ...
Aug 12, 2015

Been improving my credit for a while now. 397 after graduating and defaluting on SL and debt during 07 crisis. Now at 670 across the board been just looking for a card with high limit and low rate.  Had the the cash back MC @ 24% for well over a year now they approved my limit from 2000 to 6000 so I said Ill apply for this card since i dont really car about rewards. Got approved for 15,000 limit with 12%, also applied for the rate advantage visa and got 15000 @ 9%. Ive had insurance with them for a while and I also took advantage of free $300 for having direct deposit setup during a crtian time. I do love free money.  Plan on closing all my other cards once the benifits of the intro period expire. Sorry cap one/citi. 


The benifits of being a USAA member completely outweigh the rewards of any CC.

more ...
Jun 15, 2016

Do not close all of your other credit card accounts. That would be credit score suicide. Use them all sparingly if they don't have much benefit. Just don't let them get closed for being inactive. Your score will go down a whole lot due to loss of credit history and your CC limit utilization will suffer immensely.

Jun 03, 2015

USAA truly does what other banks claim to do for the military, current and retired.  My wife and I were just approved for this card.  Amazing rewards!  We took the route of sub-prime lenders due to some medical bills in the past, but glad to be in the prime market again.  Switched our car insurance and saved a bunch also.  Love USAA

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

USAA Rewards™ American Express®

38 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i