Great for elite travel perks††
See card detail
See card detail
Rewards rate

1x - 2x Miles per dollar


Welcome bonus

50,000 Miles


Annual fee

$450



Overall card rating

2.8
10 Reviews
from Credit Karma members in the last year

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 09 2018
Excellent for certain AA Travelers
Credit Karma Member

I view this credit card more as a travel tool than I do a financial tool (balences are always paid in full anyway). I applied for it based on a 75K AAdvantage bonus point offer that was advertised in the Admiral's Club and a desire to consolidate my air travel from three airlines to one airline. I think the bonus required $7500 in 3 months. I fly quite a bit (mostly corporate travel), but not enough to be a top tier flyer, and that is the niche this card fits (as I see it). It offers an array of beneifts that lets non-high tier passengers get some of the perks of the high tier passengers (priority check in, lounge access, waived bag fees, etc). How you value the benefits is your own decision, but I felt the Admirial's Club was worth it (I fly at least 1-2 times/month - nearly always with a connection). The card will also pay for TSA pre-check when I need to renew it, so that is nice to have. The "enhanced airport experience" sounds great but - unless I am missing something - really only seems to benefit users who do not qualify at even the lowest tier of AAdvantage (Gold). All three remaining US legacy carriers seemed to have devalued their frequent flyer programs over the last few years, but at least on paper this card has a benefit to offset that to some degree ("Reduced Mileage Awards"). I have not yet used this feature so I cannot comment on it further. The card comes with a number of features that aren't unique but useful to have (concierge, no forigen transaction fees, travel insurance, etc). I have these benefits with other cards, and I suspect they are standard for many travel cards. When I applied, I was instantly approved. If I recall, the credit limit was NOT instnatly displayed; the card arrived about a week later (it was about 7 months ago). There was a dealy getting website access for whatever reason (I was eager to get proof I had the card for some upcoming flights and to know the credit limit). This was my first account with Citi. They offered terms (credit limit, intrest rate, cash advance, etc) consistent with my accounts at other financial institutions. For those who worry about the packaging and other disposable items, yes, it does come in a pretty box. Honestly they could have just sent it in a plain envelope and saved the money but I digress. After approximately six months, the card has delivered on every promise. Their website is pretty good, and the app works well. I am still happy I paid the steep price as this travel tool has indeed made my travel more comfortable. Oh one last note - the annual fee was due on the first statement. I hope you find my experience useful.


Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 09 2018
Very slow processing of charges
Credit Karma Member

Takes them days longer than any other card Ive had to process charges and payments. Nothing moves on the weekend. It looks like they have manual human processes required that only happen monday to friday.


Additional ratings


All Reviews

3
1
1
1
4
  • Highest rated
  • Most helpful
  • Least helpful
  • Newest
  • Oldest

Oct 11 2019
Great card for AA frequent flyers!
Credit Karma Member

Great card if you are an AA frequent flyer and enjoy having Admirals Club access. The admirals clubs have been getting better and better, serving more food and offering a comfortable escape from the terminal madness. My only complaint about this card is that it seems the other AA city branded cards offer a lot more benefits that they seem to have left off of the executive card. And I will say cutting the trip delay / cancelation insurance was a bad move, I found it really helpful and I was sad to see it go.


Oct 08 2019
NO ADVANTAGE to having this card
Credit Karma Member

There is no advantage to having this credit card. As a member you pay $99. a year for the credit card, on top of the high interest rate. They give you 60 days to cancel the membership, I was 1 day over and they couldn't reimburse the account, even after I closed it out. It's a SCAM... stay away.


Oct 08 2019
Worst CC ever!
Credit Karma Member

There is no advantage to having this credit card. You get no benefits from having this card. The rates are too high! The $99 membership fee is a scam. They give you 60 days to cancel; I was 1 day over and they would not reimburse my account since I was closing it out. Customer Service Representatives are liars!! One represtative said that she could reimburse and close out the account. That didn't happen, and when I called back the other representative said that it's a strick policy not to reimburse the membership fee. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this useless card.


Sep 09 2018
Very slow processing of charges
Credit Karma Member

Takes them days longer than any other card Ive had to process charges and payments. Nothing moves on the weekend. It looks like they have manual human processes required that only happen monday to friday.


Jan 09 2018
Excellent for certain AA Travelers
Credit Karma Member

I view this credit card more as a travel tool than I do a financial tool (balences are always paid in full anyway). I applied for it based on a 75K AAdvantage bonus point offer that was advertised in the Admiral's Club and a desire to consolidate my air travel from three airlines to one airline. I think the bonus required $7500 in 3 months. I fly quite a bit (mostly corporate travel), but not enough to be a top tier flyer, and that is the niche this card fits (as I see it). It offers an array of beneifts that lets non-high tier passengers get some of the perks of the high tier passengers (priority check in, lounge access, waived bag fees, etc). How you value the benefits is your own decision, but I felt the Admirial's Club was worth it (I fly at least 1-2 times/month - nearly always with a connection). The card will also pay for TSA pre-check when I need to renew it, so that is nice to have. The "enhanced airport experience" sounds great but - unless I am missing something - really only seems to benefit users who do not qualify at even the lowest tier of AAdvantage (Gold). All three remaining US legacy carriers seemed to have devalued their frequent flyer programs over the last few years, but at least on paper this card has a benefit to offset that to some degree ("Reduced Mileage Awards"). I have not yet used this feature so I cannot comment on it further. The card comes with a number of features that aren't unique but useful to have (concierge, no forigen transaction fees, travel insurance, etc). I have these benefits with other cards, and I suspect they are standard for many travel cards. When I applied, I was instantly approved. If I recall, the credit limit was NOT instnatly displayed; the card arrived about a week later (it was about 7 months ago). There was a dealy getting website access for whatever reason (I was eager to get proof I had the card for some upcoming flights and to know the credit limit). This was my first account with Citi. They offered terms (credit limit, intrest rate, cash advance, etc) consistent with my accounts at other financial institutions. For those who worry about the packaging and other disposable items, yes, it does come in a pretty box. Honestly they could have just sent it in a plain envelope and saved the money but I digress. After approximately six months, the card has delivered on every promise. Their website is pretty good, and the app works well. I am still happy I paid the steep price as this travel tool has indeed made my travel more comfortable. Oh one last note - the annual fee was due on the first statement. I hope you find my experience useful.


Jan 01 2018
Cool, but not approved
Credit Karma Member

I was 657 credit score and this was suggested from CK for good approval odds and i was denied all together.


Oct 12 2017
Credit Karma Member

OMG. I can't afford to look at this card


Nov 06 2016
$450 annual fee?
Credit Karma Member

Just stop.


Jul 22 2016
Great benefits if you travel with AA
Credit Karma Member

My score (FICO, Amex FICO, Barclay FICO, Credit Karma, etc) fluctuates between 835 and 850. I've got a 2-3% avg credit utilization and I was approved immediately. I had an inner struggle trying to justify the $450/yr annual fee, but I've decided to close out some rarely used cards which charge annual fees to cover most of the $450. I was able to transfer available credit to other cards I'm keeping within the same issuing bank (Amex & Citi) , so that my overall available credit doesn't decrease and my utilization doesn't increase. The Admirals Club membership , for primary and additional cardholders is an incredible benefit. Non-elite AA members would pay over $500/year just for the individual membership. The card also gives you a $100 credit evert 5 years for Global Entry, priority boarding and security screening, and 10k EQM's with $40k spend every year, Happy traveling!


Jun 26 2016
Not approved with score 726
Credit Karma Member

I applied the card online when my score is 726 but unfortunately the application was not approved. Admirals Club membership costs 500 USD per year, I still get Admirals Club access with this card membership plus more benefits, why not applying this card instead of just paying for Admirals Club membership? For anyone making or trying to make AA as the primary airline company and wanted to have Admirals Club access, with more benefit, this card makes sense. Application process is very simple through online. I talked with customer service, the representative is very friendly, it's nothing they can do to make my application approved. I will re-try again once I have higher score.

1-10 of 10

See Approval Odds and pre-approved offers before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
Great for elite travel perks††
See card detail
See card detail
Rewards rate

1x - 2x Miles per dollar


Welcome bonus

50,000 Miles


Annual fee

$450




These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.