Citi® Double Cash Card Reviews

Citi® Double Cash Card Reviews
3.5 out of 5 stars
90 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 27, 2019
Free cash, no fees, just pay it off!
RipVanW75 Cardholder

It's simple.  I pay this card off every month to a zero balance. I get 2% cash back on everything I buy.  I use this now instead of my debit card entirely, and my annual cash back is well over $500.  I also used it when they offered a zero percent promo on a balance transfer, paid that off within the 15 month promo period, so again, zero cost to me. 

If you complain about their high interest rate on balances, you're doing it wrong, but I understand not everyone can pay the balance off every mo. In that case, get a card with a very low interest rate.

My credit limit went from $1500 to $3000 to $7500 to $15500 to $20000.  I've had the card for 4 yrs.  Website is super easy to navigate, online payments are processed instantly, and I've had no issue with their call center resolving any problems.  Overall, I am very satisfied.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 24, 2019
Awful
ClearwaterDreams Cardholder

I applied for this card and was approved instantly for a $1500 limit which was shocking. I’ve now had this card for over 5 years and have worked my way up to a $3500 limit. I have two other cards; each started out much higher than where I am now and both have over $20k limit. I asked for an increase once and was automatically declined because of a missed payment. I’ve never missed a payment or made a late payment. I applied again and was automatically declined because my score was too low. It was 747 at the time and my limit was $1800-I already had the two other cards over $10k at that point. So I put my car insurance and gym membership on the card this year and let it auto pay. It was going well and they bumped me up to $3500. Yay right? Well the next month, I get an email that I never paid my bill. But it’s on autopay so that’s weird. Sure enough, autopay was still on but they never withdrew the funds. So I got hit with a $25 late fee and a ding in my credit. I paid the card off and locked it. I will let it sit until they cancel it but I do not trust Citi and have no idea how the card rates so highly when they have consistently screwed me over the length of time I’ve had the card. I’d suggest Chase and Discover—I love both of my cards with them and have never had any issues.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 11, 2020
Not Good
Sandro20 Cardholder

This card is not good you can't redeem your cash back when you wont and you need a minimum of 25 dollars to redeem your cash back and the fees are very high 

more ...
Feb 05, 2020
DON'T
CharminII Cardholder

DON'T GET INVOLVED WITH THIS BANK

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 08, 2020

Can you please elaborate as to the why?

 
Feb 04, 2020
Terrible card for soldiers and travelers
Thatguy9316 Cardholder

I have never had an issue with using my card, but I always have issues with the ability to make a payment.

1. I attempted to login to the mobile app and was prompted with the only option to verify being my American phone number or to call a representative.

2. I called a representative to get help, the answering machine was not able to verify me with my social security number. So then I finally got to speak to a representative.

3. Every representative I spoke to had a very thick accent and was difficult to understand, or maybe the mic they were using was terrible.

4. The representative told me that there is absolutely no way to verify me with my social security number, and there is absolutely no way to change my phone number to a German number. Guess they're not interested in customers that travel at all.

5. The representative told me that if they delete my online account and allow me to make a new one I'll be able to login and pay my bill. Awesome. He said while he did that he will have someone else set a travel notice... "Umm okay?"

6. The representative with the travel notice agency told me that the only way to verify my identity is to PHYSICALLY MAIL ME. It's 2020 and you're telling me that you can't verify my identity with an email, social security number or some other method?

7. The representative did not delete my account by the way and I asked, "well can I just pay my balance over the phone?" to which I was told no. You have to be verified in order to pay the balance.

I look forward to cutting this credit card in half when I get home.

more ...
Feb 03, 2020
Terrible customer service
Luv2shop3 Cardholder

There was fraud committed on my card in November 2019. I have spent countless hours dealing with this problem. The best part about it is that I caught it, not there so called Fraud Department!! As of January 2020, I am still dealing with it. There customer service department has a script and if you have an issue deviating from the script you are out of luck. I have had a Discover card for over 30 years and never had a problem!! Lesson learned...I will be closing this account and moving on!! 

more ...
Jan 29, 2020
terrible
nortoncrum Cardholder

Do not get this card,  terrible interest rates originally i was supposed to get a low interest rate now it jumped up and I called several times to straighten this out to no avail

more ...
Jan 28, 2020
Great 2% cash terrible everything else!
coolstuff40 Cardholder

Takes forever to get anything solved which sucks because they are the worst company for technical issues in the world!!! I've had this card about six months I've had four major technical problems with this company all of which took more than 3 or 4 hours on the phone to fix it several call backs and lots of waiting, fighting and try this try that!!! You have to have at least $25 worth of cash back to redeem every time and they will try and screw you out of your cash back so keep a close eye on it!

more ...
Jan 24, 2020
Adelva26 Cardholder

Good if you need help with lowering your debt but my credit score dropped DRAMATICALLY. I've never had anything below 720......I know it will go back up but sheesh. 

more ...
Jan 15, 2020
Good card!
cardi52 Cardholder

There is no limit on how much cash back you recieve and customer service is good. Good fraud department!

more ...
Jan 12, 2020
genobambino Cardholder

one accidental late payment and they cut my credit limit in half.  i called credit management and ask for reinstatement of my original limit and was denied.  BOO!  

more ...
Dec 24, 2019
Awful

I applied for this card and was approved instantly for a $1500 limit which was shocking. I’ve now had this card for over 5 years and have worked my way up to a $3500 limit. I have two other cards; each started out much higher than where I am now and both have over $20k limit. I asked for an increase once and was automatically declined because of a missed payment. I’ve never missed a payment or made a late payment. I applied again and was automatically declined because my score was too low. It was 747 at the time and my limit was $1800-I already had the two other cards over $10k at that point. So I put my car insurance and gym membership on the card this year and let it auto pay. It was going well and they bumped me up to $3500. Yay right? Well the next month, I get an email that I never paid my bill. But it’s on autopay so that’s weird. Sure enough, autopay was still on but they never withdrew the funds. So I got hit with a $25 late fee and a ding in my credit. I paid the card off and locked it. I will let it sit until they cancel it but I do not trust Citi and have no idea how the card rates so highly when they have consistently screwed me over the length of time I’ve had the card. I’d suggest Chase and Discover—I love both of my cards with them and have never had any issues.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 11, 2020

A lot of revolving lines tend to give you a prompt to make your next payment manually after enrolling in autopay. The autopay would kick in after the first/next due date passed. I suspect that is what happened here. Pro Tip: Don’t let the banks decide your credit fate when enrolling in autopay. Read the prompts and set a calendar reminder for the day after autopay should kick in to ensure the payment posted properly. Msg customer service right away if it hasn’t in order to cover your behind.

 
Dec 16, 2019
Use it every day. Pay off every month.
Gringochuck Cardholder

The rewards on this card are excellent. I've earned over $3,000 within the last three years. They're quick to payout too. My credit limit is $30,000; I started at $9,000.

more ...
Dec 17, 2019

I start at 1600 I hope I get somewhere high credit limted with them like you this is my go to card for everything

 
Dec 17, 2019

he started with 9000 you started with 1600 its safe to say thats not going to happen lol he clearly has a way bigger income than you

 
Jan 12, 2020

quit gloating fool! who cares!

 
Dec 13, 2019
Very Happy

I have about 1 year and 5 months that I started building my credit with a 684 Transunion and 688 Experian I receive a mail that I was pre-qualified for this card but in CK I have fair approval odds but I decided to apply and I got approved by 2000 credit limit this is m first card having more than 1000 dollars I'm very happy and very exited to use it to see how the cash back works! Thank you Citi Bank 

more ...
Dec 08, 2019
Easy application, great starting limit!
victoradewunmi Cardholder

Today I applied to the Citi Double CB card after having very good approval odds accoring to Credit Karma. TU - 708 and Equifax - 775. March 14th of this year my score was a 601! After focused effort on my credit and two new Capital One cards, I can finally say I am taking my credit in the right direction. Capital One started me on the QS 1 with a 1500 limit and after 5 months increased it by 3000 to 4500. Still focused on buidling my credit activity, in October I applied to Capital One's Journey Student rewards card (even though I am years removed from being a student) and was approved for a 3000 limit. So far things are going well. I called Capital One to see if I qualified for an upgrade. I have a goal of minimizing my annual fees. The QS1 had a $39 annual fee which requires me to spend on it just to break even! Good news, they upgraded me to the Venture One card and let me transfer my total cash back rewards to the Journey card so that I would not lose my $113+ in cash. Now I have a new every day spend card in Citi! I would caution though that you apply to the Citi card on their actual website because the CK app timed out and I didn't get to create user ID or get my card number info. Overall I am looking forward to this card and I will provide any updates as I continue to use it. Oh and I searched online for typical starting limits for Citi Double Cash cards, I wasn't looking forward to alot but they surprisingly approved me for a limit of 6900!

more ...
Dec 06, 2019
Super simple super easy cashback card.
Theateteus Cardholder

It's no frills and doesn't have the best cashback in any one category but it's a staple card for when you don't have a card at hand with a better return.

more ...
Dec 04, 2019
Angbaby1 Cardholder

I have a fico score of 727 and was only approved for $500 CL . What are the best credit cards for higher credit limits with my score?

more ...
Dec 08, 2019

How much you're approved for isnt based solely on your score.. if you dont make enough money you wont get approved for more

 
Dec 24, 2019

Apply for a capital one card because that’s a very low CL and your credit is good.

 
Dec 30, 2019

Chase freedom unlimited starts pretty high limits we ith God score like yours

 
Dec 30, 2019

With good score's , stupid autocorrect LoL

 
Jan 12, 2020

Apply chase sapphire starting limit is 5000

 
Jan 23, 2020

Apply for quick silver,my credit score is only 644,and they approved me for 5,500 within seconds😊

 
Nov 27, 2019
xyz411 Cardholder

Excellent card, I don't know why some are fussing.  You buy something (1% cash back) then in the next day or so, log on and pay that item off (1% cash back for paying it off) and there's your 2%.  I will not use this card travelliing internationally as there is a 3% foreign transaction fee, however there are other options for that.   If you can pay your balances in full and know how to manage your finances, then this card is well worth it.  

more ...
Nov 26, 2019
deceived about a lot of important info
Grufdee Cardholder

Look into ALL FINE PRINT!

I didn't no anything about the lack of car rental insurance.  With CITIBANK!!! Use CHASE for ALL IMPORTANT THINGS!  They are Very reliable as always!

more ...
Nov 25, 2019
Charged interest and not sure why.

I was charged interest on my bill when I paid MORE than the new charges that month. I also made an additional payment and thought it would go to the balance I transfered with a 0% APR for 6 months but it went to the current charges instead. The customer service rep explained why but it didn't make any sense. I never had that problem with any other credit cards. Plus there is NO option to apply the payment to your transferred balance so your payment always goes to the current balance, even if you don't want it to.

more ...
Nov 26, 2019

Yea same thing happened to me. First time ever being charged intrest and I have like 7 other cards I use

 
Dec 16, 2019

Payments always go to the highest interest rate. That's pretty common practice.

 
Dec 24, 2019

I forgot to add your point to my review. I pay my card off monthly yet I am charged interest. Utter nonsense.

 
Nov 23, 2019
Instant Approval

I was approved for this card with TU and EQ both 746. FICO 707. Starting CL $6,600. I have good credit, on time payments, around 10% util, but low average account ages. Discover denied me another card for the low account ages, so I went to CITI and got approved instantly. 

more ...
Nov 22, 2019
Yes! Better tha Capital One
MedinaRut Cardholder

I applied with a 6++ credit scores on transunion and equafax.
Instantly approved for 1,500 with 0% APR for 12 months.
I mainly needed to transfer a balance and to my suprise i was approved for a 0% APR on balance transfers plus NO TRANSFER FEE!!!
Yes! That was just what i was looking for. Days letter i got another offer thru mail. Applied and I got Approved for a better promotion 0% APR for 18 Months!!!!
Again i needed it for a balance tranfers and eventhou this time it came with a 3% charge fee for transfers i was okay with it since they aready have given me great promotions!
Capital one gave me a 6 month 0% APR when i first got their card and nothing compares to whatt CITI has done for me !!!
By far the BEST Credut Card to apply for!!!

more ...
Nov 07, 2019
Just approved
MissSapphire Cardholder

I had poor odds on CK but was approved. 670 FICO TU at time of application. $1500 CL. Will be able to update about customer service, CLI, etc after have had the card a while. 

more ...
Nov 15, 2019

For people who are new to all of this some abbreviations are not understood. For a review to be helpful you have to understand it.

 
Nov 18, 2019

What is your yearly income when receiving a CL of $1,500?

 
Nov 04, 2019
Great Cash back, Poor Customer Service
Jw12ace1 Cardholder

I never carry a balance and always pay it off.  Cash back is awesome.  Had the number compromised so ended up with a new card. Every time I've had an issue it takes 2-3 times to resolve the same issue. The customer service is a waste of time on the weekends. 

more ...
Oct 23, 2019
Great all around card!
TexMex9000 Cardholder

I was on the fence about this card because of the bad reviews on the customer service end but decided to grab it anyways. When I first got it they gave me something low. I believe a 5k line. I applied for higher limit through their customer service the following week and got approved for an extra 10k on the spot. I've had no issues with customer service or the card itself. Great all around card!

more ...
Nov 04, 2019

What was you score when you applied?

 
Nov 06, 2019

so when they increased your limit - did they rechecked your profile second time by adding a hard inquiry?

 
Nov 12, 2019

Which bureau did they check?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 585
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Citi® Double Cash Card Reviews

Citi® Double Cash Card